Bookholders

★★★☆☆
38.9816 -76.9376
Map and Directions to BookHolders

301-209-9313

4509 College Ave Ste A

College Park, MD

20740

Get Directions

About Bookholders

Hours
Mon - Thu, 10am - 7pm; Fri, 10am - 5pm; Sat - Sun, noon - 5pm

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in College Park:
Resultset_next

Prestige Auto Performance

4419 35th Street NW Washington, D.C.

Resultset_next

Politics & Prose Bookstore and Modern Times Coffeehouse

5015 Connecticut Ave NW Washington, D.C.

3.1765 17
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Bookholders was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 17 of 17.
.

DO NOT USE THEIR SHIPPING SERVICES. They sent me the WRONG book. I had to pay $4.18 in return shipping and they will not refund my costs for THEIR ERROR! The lady I talked to on the phone was horribly rude and didn't give a damn. They have their policies, whether they make the mistake or not. They won't even ship the correct book because they never had it!

1
★☆☆☆☆

DO NOT USE THEIR SHIPPING SERVICES. They sent me the WRONG book. I had to pay $4.18 in return shipping and they will not refund my costs for THEIR ERROR! The lady I talked to on the phone was horribly rude and didn't give a damn. They have their policies, whether they make the mistake or not. They won't even ship the correct book because they never had it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The book arrived promptly, in the condition stated, and for one of the lowest prices around. Great service.

5
★★★★★

The book arrived promptly, in the condition stated, and for one of the lowest prices around. Great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I ordered a book from Book Holders online via amazon.com and paid for expedited shipping which was good. However, they shipped the wrong book and refused to allow me to exchange the book before I purchased another one. I spoke to to people one was the general manager who said in order for me to get the correct book, I'd have to pay to ship it back and wait for a refund online or drive to the store and pay for a new book. This was totally their mistake and they admitted it was, yet told me I'd have to pay a total of $106 for a book that cost $44. I explained that I had an assignment due that week and that I had no money to buy another book, while I waited up to 10 days for them to refund my money and hold on to the book I ordered. What poor customer service, why should the customer pay a second time for a book ordered with express shipping that was shipped in error? That is rediculous! Never order a book from this company.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I ordered a book from Book Holders online via amazon.com and paid for expedited shipping which was good. However, they shipped the wrong book and refused to allow me to exchange the book before I purchased another one. I spoke to to people one was the general manager who said in order for me to get the correct book, I'd have to pay to ship it back and wait for a refund online or drive to the store and pay for a new book. This was totally their mistake and they admitted it was, yet told me I'd have to pay a total of $106 for a book that cost $44. I explained that I had an assignment due that week and that I had no money to buy another book, while I waited up to 10 days for them to refund my money and hold on to the book I ordered. What poor customer service, why should the customer pay a second time for a book ordered with express shipping that was shipped in error? That is rediculous! Never order a book from this company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

While we strive to accurately list every book, unfortunately errors can occasionally occur. When such a mistake occurs, we do offer a full refund as it was our error. In this case, the customer requested an exchange rather than a refund. We typically do not have an exchange policy due to the fact that many of the books that we are selling are on a consignment basis for other students so they must be accounted for on an individual basis. Hence why we must process the correct copy in a new transaction and fully refund the original transaction. However, after the customer first contacted us and discussed their situation with our General Manager, we decided to make an exception to our policy to accommodate her situation and the error that we made. We did offer the option to exchange the incorrect copy with the correct one that we had in stock. The customer chose not to take this option and we have since provided them a full refund of their costs. Again we apologize for the error and if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us as we would still like to ameliorate the situation.
.

My book arrived way faster than expected and in excellent condition! I would definitely do business with them again!

5
★★★★★

My book arrived way faster than expected and in excellent condition! I would definitely do business with them again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I ordered a workbook. The description said that it was in good condition with no writing in it. It arrived partial filled out.

2
★★☆☆☆

I ordered a workbook. The description said that it was in good condition with no writing in it. It arrived partial filled out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

i rented a book from them and upon returning it they said the quality was less than when they gave it to me. i barely opened the book during the semester! what a rip off. obviously they are going to try to charge me for the book. not pleased at all. do not rent. buy international editions on ebay

1
★☆☆☆☆

i rented a book from them and upon returning it they said the quality was less than when they gave it to me. i barely opened the book during the semester! what a rip off. obviously they are going to try to charge me for the book. not pleased at all. do not rent. buy international editions on ebay

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

When I heard the Bookholders advertisement it sounded too good to be true. Almost three times more than a regular book store? Well, after going to see for myself, I found out it was.

The high price is NOT a buyback price... it is a consignment price. Basically they expect you to give them your book and you will get the money IF and WHEN they sell it, and take their commission out of it.

When I brought this up to the unshaven dude who was helping me he gave me the look of a kid getting caught with their hand in the cookie jar. He quickly recovered and talked down at me about how he can't believe I'd rather take my book back.

The cash now is admittedly a few bucks higher than the other stores... but not much. You get paid for the hassle of having a third party sell your book, which could take a while. If you can wait for someone to buy the book, sell it online yourself and keep 100% of the profit instead of giving away 15% to these "Bookholders"

2
★★☆☆☆

When I heard the Bookholders advertisement it sounded too good to be true. Almost three times more than a regular book store? Well, after going to see for myself, I found out it was.

The high price is NOT a buyback price... it is a consignment price. Basically they expect you to give them your book and you will get the money IF and WHEN they sell it, and take their commission out of it.

When I brought this up to the unshaven dude who was helping me he gave me the look of a kid getting caught with their hand in the cookie jar. He quickly recovered and talked down at me about how he can't believe I'd rather take my book back.

The cash now is admittedly a few bucks higher than the other stores... but not much. You get paid for the hassle of having a third party sell your book, which could take a while. If you can wait for someone to buy the book, sell it online yourself and keep 100% of the profit instead of giving away 15% to these "Bookholders"

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

To date it has been 8 - Counte em 8 days since I paid for 2 books and haven't recieved them. Sent emails called. I have received no response.

They call them book holders for a reason... because they hold onto your books! UNless you can pic kup in person I would stay away.

1
★☆☆☆☆

To date it has been 8 - Counte em 8 days since I paid for 2 books and haven't recieved them. Sent emails called. I have received no response.

They call them book holders for a reason... because they hold onto your books! UNless you can pic kup in person I would stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I ordered a textbook by ISBN.

When it came in, the CD case (which is bound inside the textbook) had been opened, and the CD was missing.

I called the company and spoke with everyone from the first person who answers the phone, on up to the company manager. Each person along the way had the same answer: they claimed that because the listing for the book did not say "w/ CD" that I couldn't realistically expect the CD to be in there.

Of course, by definition, the ISBN that I ordered refers to a book/CD package--not just the book.

Saying that they didn't specifically say "w/ CD" and therefore can't expect it is like saying it didn't say "w/ page 235" and therefore a book missing that page is the customer's problem.

They told me I could pay to send the book back (having already paid $6.99 to have it shipped to me) and when they received it they would credit only the purchase price of the book. It would cost at least another $6.99 to ship it back.

The error was theirs, not mine, but they wanted me to pay for their mistake--and still wouldn't fix the problem.

Beware of ordering from this company, as they misrepresent the products they sell and will not rectify their mistakes. They tried to shirk their responsibility to me by claiming that they're a used bookstore and therefore "couldn't possibly know what the books contained."

I will never order from this company again. Ever.

(I have however contacted my credit card company; they are stopping the charge.)

1
★☆☆☆☆

I ordered a textbook by ISBN.

When it came in, the CD case (which is bound inside the textbook) had been opened, and the CD was missing.

I called the company and spoke with everyone from the first person who answers the phone, on up to the company manager. Each person along the way had the same answer: they claimed that because the listing for the book did not say "w/ CD" that I couldn't realistically expect the CD to be in there.

Of course, by definition, the ISBN that I ordered refers to a book/CD package--not just the book.

Saying that they didn't specifically say "w/ CD" and therefore can't expect it is like saying it didn't say "w/ page 235" and therefore a book missing that page is the customer's problem.

They told me I could pay to send the book back (having already paid $6.99 to have it shipped to me) and when they received it they would credit only the purchase price of the book. It would cost at least another $6.99 to ship it back.

The error was theirs, not mine, but they wanted me to pay for their mistake--and still wouldn't fix the problem.

Beware of ordering from this company, as they misrepresent the products they sell and will not rectify their mistakes. They tried to shirk their responsibility to me by claiming that they're a used bookstore and therefore "couldn't possibly know what the books contained."

I will never order from this company again. Ever.

(I have however contacted my credit card company; they are stopping the charge.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Received correct book, and in perfect shape. I did have it mailed, and when I didn't received it after several days, I emailed, and then called, and then called after 7 days, and at 13 days. Each time they tried to convince me it had been mailed promptly. But I guess they finally checked it out as it showed up in the post office notification the following day.

2
★★☆☆☆

Received correct book, and in perfect shape. I did have it mailed, and when I didn't received it after several days, I emailed, and then called, and then called after 7 days, and at 13 days. Each time they tried to convince me it had been mailed promptly. But I guess they finally checked it out as it showed up in the post office notification the following day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Last semester I had a couple of textbooks (from some of my history classes) that the Book Exchange and University of Maryland store wouldn't buy back from me. They told me that they would take it but I would get no money for it (when I had paid quite a bit for them). Bookholders was the only one to actually offer me money (and like more than $20 for one book) so I would definitely recommend them. And I know that many of my friends have gone through the same frustration of book stores not buying back textbooks or only giving them like a buck or two for a $50 textbook, and Bookholders was always the store that in the end we would sell to as they just gave us the most money for our books.

5
★★★★★

Last semester I had a couple of textbooks (from some of my history classes) that the Book Exchange and University of Maryland store wouldn't buy back from me. They told me that they would take it but I would get no money for it (when I had paid quite a bit for them). Bookholders was the only one to actually offer me money (and like more than $20 for one book) so I would definitely recommend them. And I know that many of my friends have gone through the same frustration of book stores not buying back textbooks or only giving them like a buck or two for a $50 textbook, and Bookholders was always the store that in the end we would sell to as they just gave us the most money for our books.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

On 3/27 I purchased a Lab-book and asked twice if they check for missing pages, since this being a lab book, I was skeptical.

They said that they check many times and that they do not sell any books with missing pages.

On 3/28, not 24 hours later, the first time opening the book, I find missing IMPORTANT pages (pages that are required for me to pull out and turn in)

I call and ask for an exchange. I don't want my money back, I just want an honest exchange. After all, they sold me a faulty product less than 24 hours ago.

Their response? No. I have to sell it back to them (which they won't buy, since pages are missing, DUH!) with a 15% price loss, and not only that, I will not receive the money until they sell it online.

Their reasoning? They told me that it could have been me that ripped out the pages. IF THIS WAS THE CASE, WHY WOULD I ASK FOR AN EXCHANGE? After all, wouldn't I want a cash refund if I had ripped the pages out?

Is this how they treat their customers? Selling faulty books, after they re-assured me twice that there would be no problems, and then not rectifying it?

Anyway, I just wanted to vent. If you have any sons/daughters, or if you're in the area, do not do business with these people.

5
★★★★★

On 3/27 I purchased a Lab-book and asked twice if they check for missing pages, since this being a lab book, I was skeptical.

They said that they check many times and that they do not sell any books with missing pages.

On 3/28, not 24 hours later, the first time opening the book, I find missing IMPORTANT pages (pages that are required for me to pull out and turn in)

I call and ask for an exchange. I don't want my money back, I just want an honest exchange. After all, they sold me a faulty product less than 24 hours ago.

Their response? No. I have to sell it back to them (which they won't buy, since pages are missing, DUH!) with a 15% price loss, and not only that, I will not receive the money until they sell it online.

Their reasoning? They told me that it could have been me that ripped out the pages. IF THIS WAS THE CASE, WHY WOULD I ASK FOR AN EXCHANGE? After all, wouldn't I want a cash refund if I had ripped the pages out?

Is this how they treat their customers? Selling faulty books, after they re-assured me twice that there would be no problems, and then not rectifying it?

Anyway, I just wanted to vent. If you have any sons/daughters, or if you're in the area, do not do business with these people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I sold my books there and got about 75% of the retail price up front...I did not want to wait for my books to sell or take up space in my house. They're honest, and won't try to rip you off. Student-owned. The Towson location is closest to me and the store has self-service booths.

5
★★★★★

I sold my books there and got about 75% of the retail price up front...I did not want to wait for my books to sell or take up space in my house. They're honest, and won't try to rip you off. Student-owned. The Towson location is closest to me and the store has self-service booths.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

When it comes to selling your books back, this IS NOT the place to go.
They don't ever give you close to the value they will sell the book for.
The store is also inconveniently designed. You have to walk all the way to the back, to get to the bottom floor. It was really designed to prevent theft and not the good customer service in mind. Books are also overpriced. Parking is far as well.

PROS: good place for Maryland items
CONS: pricey, its hard to get to lower-level

3
★★★☆☆

When it comes to selling your books back, this IS NOT the place to go.
They don't ever give you close to the value they will sell the book for.
The store is also inconveniently designed. You have to walk all the way to the back, to get to the bottom floor. It was really designed to prevent theft and not the good customer service in mind. Books are also overpriced. Parking is far as well.

PROS: good place for Maryland items
CONS: pricey, its hard to get to lower-level

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I went here often to buy and sell back my books. After someone bought your book they called to tell you the check was ready or mailed you the check. Very convenient for the college student. Located near University of Maryland, it's very accessible for anyone from DC and VA also. Book holders usually has the best prices for textbooks. You will most likely find what you need here. Highly recommended for their wide selection and convenient services.

5
★★★★★

I went here often to buy and sell back my books. After someone bought your book they called to tell you the check was ready or mailed you the check. Very convenient for the college student. Located near University of Maryland, it's very accessible for anyone from DC and VA also. Book holders usually has the best prices for textbooks. You will most likely find what you need here. Highly recommended for their wide selection and convenient services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

The selection available here varies, depending on the books students want to sell. They will buy your textbooks for cash or you can give it to them to sell for you, at your price. They do take commission. The only bad part is if you want to see the book before you buy, they give it to you hesitantly. You can search their inventory online.

4
★★★★☆

The selection available here varies, depending on the books students want to sell. They will buy your textbooks for cash or you can give it to them to sell for you, at your price. They do take commission. The only bad part is if you want to see the book before you buy, they give it to you hesitantly. You can search their inventory online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Ordered a text book that is missing pages. However, it's not until the 6th chapter that this was noticed and it's beyond the vendor return period. I contact the seller for a resolution and the response was they would help me sell it back.

6
★★★★★

Ordered a text book that is missing pages. However, it's not until the 6th chapter that this was noticed and it's beyond the vendor return period. I contact the seller for a resolution and the response was they would help me sell it back.

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    Maryland Book Exchange
    3% ★★★☆☆ 5 reviews
    0.04 mi
  2. 2
    Vertigo Books
    4% ★★★★☆ 1 review
    0.10 mi
  3. 3
    Big Planet Comics
    No reviews
    0.12 mi
  4. 4
    0.69 mi