Emma's Closet

★★★☆☆
Tues - Sat 10AM-5PM

About Emma's Closet

Categories
  • Consignment Shops
  • Thrift Stores

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Germantown:
Resultset_next

Kaboodle Home Gallery

16801 Crabbs Branch Way Rockville, IN

Resultset_next

I Do I Do Wedding Gowns

15932 Luanne Dr Gaithersburg, MD

3.4 15
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Emma's Closet was?
Write a Review
.

This may be a good place to shop but it is a terrible place to consign. For a recent consignment I received 6.25% of the item's value. That is ridiculous! Not to mention I had no idea ahead of time. I would have gotten more satisfaction of taking the item to the Goodwill. Never again.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This may be a good place to shop but it is a terrible place to consign. For a recent consignment I received 6.25% of the item's value. That is ridiculous! Not to mention I had no idea ahead of time. I would have gotten more satisfaction of taking the item to the Goodwill. Never again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

great selection, great prices and super friendly staff. Would recommend and will be shopping here again.

5
★★★★★

great selection, great prices and super friendly staff. Would recommend and will be shopping here again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I find the consigning policies to be overly restrictive. for example, you have to drop off your items and then come back in a few days to get them, or else they're considered donated. you can't wait at the store for them to price it out, and you can't make an appointment. therefore, you are forced to make 2 trips. most likely, if you are consigning stuff at this store, you have kids and you are busy. the policy, whether intentional or not, encourages you to just let the stuff get donated if you can't make it back to the store again within a few days of the dropoff. also, if your items don't sell within a certain time frame, they are considered donated. i understand this part, as the store can't act as your storage unit. but i think allowing appointments for pricing items would be better so the consignor can make just one trip and take back the items that were not accepted.

also, the items do seem a bit overpriced. i found the staff person kind of snippy and not that friendly. don't know if this was the owner or just a staff person. i tried to consign a few items at this store, but since i wasn't able to make it back within the allotted time, all of my items are considered donated. also they have a yearly fee, so my account remains in the negative. i would not recommend consigning here.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I find the consigning policies to be overly restrictive. for example, you have to drop off your items and then come back in a few days to get them, or else they're considered donated. you can't wait at the store for them to price it out, and you can't make an appointment. therefore, you are forced to make 2 trips. most likely, if you are consigning stuff at this store, you have kids and you are busy. the policy, whether intentional or not, encourages you to just let the stuff get donated if you can't make it back to the store again within a few days of the dropoff. also, if your items don't sell within a certain time frame, they are considered donated. i understand this part, as the store can't act as your storage unit. but i think allowing appointments for pricing items would be better so the consignor can make just one trip and take back the items that were not accepted.

also, the items do seem a bit overpriced. i found the staff person kind of snippy and not that friendly. don't know if this was the owner or just a staff person. i tried to consign a few items at this store, but since i wasn't able to make it back within the allotted time, all of my items are considered donated. also they have a yearly fee, so my account remains in the negative. i would not recommend consigning here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

I am sorry that you find our policies to be restrictive. We try to be as accomodating as possible, but with the number of consignors that we have, we have to have rules. We have so many consignors on a daily basis, we can't price items while you wait. If we had appointments, it would be months before you could bring your items. Our policy lets you drop off on any day without having to make plans to bring items in. You do have several days to come back without your items being donated but for people who never come back, we have to donate for our lack of space. As for your items not selling, as stated in the contract, you are more then welcome to come back for your items that do not sell at the end of your consignment period. If you do not come back for them, then they are donated. I am sorry that the person working was not overly friendly. Please feel free to contact me to let me know when you were in and I will address this issue with the employee.
.

I went to shop last Friday 11/20/10 for toys at Emma's Closet and the experience was disappointing . The lady on the counter refused to let me look at everything i needed to see ; claiming that all items were in the open. I had to convince her that i spotted the toy i was looking for under behind her before she show it to me. Lastly i asked to hold two other items so that i can go and some money to pay for it , her response was i cannot do that because someone else might want to buy it before you comeback.
Poor customer service and very high priced used item.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I went to shop last Friday 11/20/10 for toys at Emma's Closet and the experience was disappointing . The lady on the counter refused to let me look at everything i needed to see ; claiming that all items were in the open. I had to convince her that i spotted the toy i was looking for under behind her before she show it to me. Lastly i asked to hold two other items so that i can go and some money to pay for it , her response was i cannot do that because someone else might want to buy it before you comeback.
Poor customer service and very high priced used item.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

For the lady that had a poor experience, I am sorry. I can say that my employee told me about what happened when you were in the shop. We have alot of toys that come in daily that have pieces to them (balls, dolls, etc) and we keep them in bags behind the counter. You were seeing toys in bags and to be honest, it would take a long time to track down the toy that it goes to as we just write a number on the bag - not where the actual toy is in the store. I'm sorry that we couldn't help you to find the toys - but we have so many toys that are all out on the shelves. As for items on hold, we do not hold items. It isn't fair for our consignors or customers. I am sorry that you had a bad experience and hope that you understand why it was a little hard for my employee to help you find the exact item.
.

I have been to other consignment stores in the area, especially the ones in Bethesda/Kensington and these prices can't be beat. I shopped for fall/winter clothes for my kids and got 2 HUGE bags of clothes for the price of 2 outfits at the other places. Our fall wardrobe is set. I like that each month is a different sale - and I always look for what is on sale. Good selection of larger boy sizes - which is so hard to find. There is a rack just devoted to large boys! Organized and fun to shop.

4
★★★★☆

I have been to other consignment stores in the area, especially the ones in Bethesda/Kensington and these prices can't be beat. I shopped for fall/winter clothes for my kids and got 2 HUGE bags of clothes for the price of 2 outfits at the other places. Our fall wardrobe is set. I like that each month is a different sale - and I always look for what is on sale. Good selection of larger boy sizes - which is so hard to find. There is a rack just devoted to large boys! Organized and fun to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Love this store! Have been shopping and consigning for over a year. The only complaint is that I spend all of the money that I make - but I guess that is a good thing. Totally recommend stopping in if you are in the area.

5
★★★★★

Love this store! Have been shopping and consigning for over a year. The only complaint is that I spend all of the money that I make - but I guess that is a good thing. Totally recommend stopping in if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

As an avid shopper, I love consignment stores. I have been shopping at Emma's Closet since they first opened and have been consigning for the last 3 years. I have come to know the ladies that work there, including the owner. I haven't figured out why there are bad reviews. I signed the contract and know their rules about consigning. I like that I don't have to make an appointment to drop off. I also know that if I want anything back that isn't accepted, I have to come back within 3 days. That is clearly written in the contract. As for the reviews of not knowing what they accepted, I always ask for a print out. I have never had a problem getting a print out of what is in my account. I think that the reviews that some people have left are not an accurate account of what goes on in the store. I love shopping there, I have made a nice amount of money there and I definatly am happy that they are around and have been for over 5 years. My advise for anyone that wants to consign with Emma's Closet - read the contract. If you don't agree with it, don't consign. Consignment is not for everyone.

5
★★★★★

As an avid shopper, I love consignment stores. I have been shopping at Emma's Closet since they first opened and have been consigning for the last 3 years. I have come to know the ladies that work there, including the owner. I haven't figured out why there are bad reviews. I signed the contract and know their rules about consigning. I like that I don't have to make an appointment to drop off. I also know that if I want anything back that isn't accepted, I have to come back within 3 days. That is clearly written in the contract. As for the reviews of not knowing what they accepted, I always ask for a print out. I have never had a problem getting a print out of what is in my account. I think that the reviews that some people have left are not an accurate account of what goes on in the store. I love shopping there, I have made a nice amount of money there and I definatly am happy that they are around and have been for over 5 years. My advise for anyone that wants to consign with Emma's Closet - read the contract. If you don't agree with it, don't consign. Consignment is not for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been shopping here since I discovered this place 8 months ago. I have always been able to find something and the staff is very friendly - they even help me to put outfits together or find a specific toy. My kids call it the "toy store" and love coming since they can play with the toys.

Pros: Nice Staff, every changing selection
Cons: sometimes a little cluttered (but more things to look at)

5
★★★★★

I have been shopping here since I discovered this place 8 months ago. I have always been able to find something and the staff is very friendly - they even help me to put outfits together or find a specific toy. My kids call it the "toy store" and love coming since they can play with the toys.

Pros: Nice Staff, every changing selection
Cons: sometimes a little cluttered (but more things to look at)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I am not one to leave reviews, but after seeing the review I just read, I felt compelled to. I have been shopping at Emma's Closet for a little over 3 years and started consigning about a year ago. I'm don't know the experience that the lady before me had, but my experience has been great. I know when I bring my stuff in that not all of it is going to be accepted. I choose to donate my items. I'm fine with whatever they take or not take. I can say that the one very positive thing about the store is their staff. One instance in particular, I was looking for a specific swing. I asked them to call me when one came in AND THEY DID. The swing was priced in the store for $60 and how excited was I when I went to buy the swing and had enough money on my account to cover the cost of it. They are picky with the items that they accept but they are so nice and helpful. I have recommended this store to all my friends and will continue to do so. - Nancy L. of Germantown

5
★★★★★

I am not one to leave reviews, but after seeing the review I just read, I felt compelled to. I have been shopping at Emma's Closet for a little over 3 years and started consigning about a year ago. I'm don't know the experience that the lady before me had, but my experience has been great. I know when I bring my stuff in that not all of it is going to be accepted. I choose to donate my items. I'm fine with whatever they take or not take. I can say that the one very positive thing about the store is their staff. One instance in particular, I was looking for a specific swing. I asked them to call me when one came in AND THEY DID. The swing was priced in the store for $60 and how excited was I when I went to buy the swing and had enough money on my account to cover the cost of it. They are picky with the items that they accept but they are so nice and helpful. I have recommended this store to all my friends and will continue to do so. - Nancy L. of Germantown

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I was a consigner with Emma's Closet for about a year before I realized she gave print outs for everything I brought in. I never got much money for my items and thought it was quite strange. One month I decided to ask for a print out. I had recently taken in 40 items (2 drops of 20 items) and these items weren't on my print out. Needless to say I never consigned with her again. She's a crook, do not take your items there unless you know what you take in each time and those items are reflected on your printout. I have no idea how many items of mine she pocketed or donated to her staff or friends while I trusted her as a business women. She actually told me once her daughter wore the same size as my daughter and she had "lots" of my used clothes at her house! Additionally, all of her items in store are overpriced. You can go to Target, Walmart, Marshalls, Carter's Outlet, and Osh Kosh Outlet and get brand new items for what her used items are selling for! This season I got entire outfits at Carter's for $6-10, and they are so cute!!!! Not to mention they always send you couons if you sign up for their mailing list.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I was a consigner with Emma's Closet for about a year before I realized she gave print outs for everything I brought in. I never got much money for my items and thought it was quite strange. One month I decided to ask for a print out. I had recently taken in 40 items (2 drops of 20 items) and these items weren't on my print out. Needless to say I never consigned with her again. She's a crook, do not take your items there unless you know what you take in each time and those items are reflected on your printout. I have no idea how many items of mine she pocketed or donated to her staff or friends while I trusted her as a business women. She actually told me once her daughter wore the same size as my daughter and she had "lots" of my used clothes at her house! Additionally, all of her items in store are overpriced. You can go to Target, Walmart, Marshalls, Carter's Outlet, and Osh Kosh Outlet and get brand new items for what her used items are selling for! This season I got entire outfits at Carter's for $6-10, and they are so cute!!!! Not to mention they always send you couons if you sign up for their mailing list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Responce to unhappy consignor I am sorry that you had a negative experience with Emma's Closet, but I can assure you that me nor my staff "pockets" any items. We do not accept everything that consignors drop off and every consignor has the option to pick up their unaccepted items. If you don't come back for your items, we do donate them. They do not go to our staff, they are donated weekly to area shelters, churches and the Montgomery County Social Services. As for me or my staff having "lots" of items at our homes, that is just untrue. Do we buy items from consignors? Absolutly, but we purchase them just like any other customer. All items are subject to our sales and discounts which we do on a montly basis but can honestly say have not had any complaints or concerns about our prices. For our "overpriced" items, we try to price items that is fair to the customer and to the consignor. If you have any other concerns, you are more then welcome to contact me for a better explanation. Again, I am sorry that had a negative experience.
.

This is a great store where you can find so many items for you child or child to be. This store carries maternity clothing, kids clothes (newborn to preteen), books, toys, videos, equipment and furniture. They get items in everyday and there is always something new. The prices are very reasonable and the staff is very friendly. Emma's Closet has many promotions that go on in the store. The frequent buyer club card was just started and you can save money every time you go. They also have coupons on their website as well as useful information.

5
★★★★★

This is a great store where you can find so many items for you child or child to be. This store carries maternity clothing, kids clothes (newborn to preteen), books, toys, videos, equipment and furniture. They get items in everyday and there is always something new. The prices are very reasonable and the staff is very friendly. Emma's Closet has many promotions that go on in the store. The frequent buyer club card was just started and you can save money every time you go. They also have coupons on their website as well as useful information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My wife cosigns with Emma's Closet and they always give her a reasonable price for things she brings in. They also have a great selection of reasonable price clothing in great condition.

4
★★★★☆

My wife cosigns with Emma's Closet and they always give her a reasonable price for things she brings in. They also have a great selection of reasonable price clothing in great condition.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Emma's Closet just opened fairly recently, and doesn't get much traffic. It's a little out of the way. Once you are in the store, you'll find that things are arranged in a good fashion. All the types of clothes are sorted (jeans on one rack, shirts on the other, etc). The prices leave a bit to be desired. They are higher than what you might find at the other consignment shops, however, they are still lower than the retail outlets. I wouldn't recommend bringing your kids along when you shop though.

3
★★★☆☆

Emma's Closet just opened fairly recently, and doesn't get much traffic. It's a little out of the way. Once you are in the store, you'll find that things are arranged in a good fashion. All the types of clothes are sorted (jeans on one rack, shirts on the other, etc). The prices leave a bit to be desired. They are higher than what you might find at the other consignment shops, however, they are still lower than the retail outlets. I wouldn't recommend bringing your kids along when you shop though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Kinda hard to find since it is on the side of a strip mall. Once inside the store is pretty big with an area for kids to play in while adults shop. Racks are so full you cannot really see the item and they are hard to pull out. Also prices are very high for a second hand store and the sales people ignored me while I shopped.

3
★★★☆☆

Kinda hard to find since it is on the side of a strip mall. Once inside the store is pretty big with an area for kids to play in while adults shop. Racks are so full you cannot really see the item and they are hard to pull out. Also prices are very high for a second hand store and the sales people ignored me while I shopped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Emma's closet is a children's consignment shop that offers good deals on clothes, toys and equipment. There is ample parking and a wide variety of labels in sizes newborn to kids size 14. They also carry a good selection of maternity clothing. All items are seasonal.

PROS: Good prices, good parking, adequate hours of operation.
CONS: Tends to be a little disorganized, not all items are a good value.

3
★★★☆☆

Emma's closet is a children's consignment shop that offers good deals on clothes, toys and equipment. There is ample parking and a wide variety of labels in sizes newborn to kids size 14. They also carry a good selection of maternity clothing. All items are seasonal.

PROS: Good prices, good parking, adequate hours of operation.
CONS: Tends to be a little disorganized, not all items are a good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Emma's Closet, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review