Salon Cuvee & Day Spa

★★★☆☆
  • 4601 H St

    Sacramento, CA 95819

    Map & Directions
  • 916-452-4600

About Salon Cuvee & Day Spa

Details
Hours
Mon 10:00-20:00, Tue 9:00-20:00, Wed 9:00-20:00, Thu 9:00-20:00, Fri 9:00-20:00, Sat 8:00-18:00, Sun closed

Personal Services

Personal Services
More choices in Sacramento:
Resultset_next

Blue Sky Day Spa

4250 H St 1 Sacramento, CA

Resultset_next

Fountain of Health Medi Spa

3014 Freeport Blvd Sacramento, CA

3.1538 26
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Salon Cuvee & Day Spa was?
Write a Review
.

Salon Cuvee has it all!! From the moment you leave the busy noise of H St and enter the door, the Zen-like ambiance enfolds you. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the stylists are at the top of their game.My hair is not easy to cut yet I always have people ask me where I have it done and I usually run out of cards before my next visit. It is truly a joy to visit Salon Cuvee and the experience always leaves me feeling and looking great!

5
★★★★★

Salon Cuvee has it all!! From the moment you leave the busy noise of H St and enter the door, the Zen-like ambiance enfolds you. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the stylists are at the top of their game.My hair is not easy to cut yet I always have people ask me where I have it done and I usually run out of cards before my next visit. It is truly a joy to visit Salon Cuvee and the experience always leaves me feeling and looking great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I was just in to see Renee for a CosMedix facial, and I absolutely loved it! I usually use the Yonka products, but I bought the CosMedix Benefit Clean, and I absolutely LOVE it!The salon is very open and welcoming, with tons of natural light. They carry all of my favorite hair products, Kerastase, Bumble and Bumble and Tigi, as well as styling tools. I am excited to try the Stylists and Nail techs now too!

5
★★★★★

I was just in to see Renee for a CosMedix facial, and I absolutely loved it! I usually use the Yonka products, but I bought the CosMedix Benefit Clean, and I absolutely LOVE it!The salon is very open and welcoming, with tons of natural light. They carry all of my favorite hair products, Kerastase, Bumble and Bumble and Tigi, as well as styling tools. I am excited to try the Stylists and Nail techs now too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate it!! You Rock
.

I bought a gift card for a person who I thought would have a wonderful pampered experience. What she got was an experience from the dark side.
She walked up to the reception desk and waited, and waited, and waited for the receptionist to be through with what appeared to be a phone call the receptionist seemed to be turning pages which my friend assumed was an appointment book. After a lengthy wait my friend noticed the receptionist was not talking so my friend stepped closer and said "excuse me" and at that point noticed the receptionist was listening to music and reading a magazine! The receptionist showed her irritation at being disturbed by being quite short in her "can I help you" routine. What followed next was the worst hair cut ever. Lwt this serve as a warning to you going to Cuvee is a great example of BUYER BEWARE!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I bought a gift card for a person who I thought would have a wonderful pampered experience. What she got was an experience from the dark side.
She walked up to the reception desk and waited, and waited, and waited for the receptionist to be through with what appeared to be a phone call the receptionist seemed to be turning pages which my friend assumed was an appointment book. After a lengthy wait my friend noticed the receptionist was not talking so my friend stepped closer and said "excuse me" and at that point noticed the receptionist was listening to music and reading a magazine! The receptionist showed her irritation at being disturbed by being quite short in her "can I help you" routine. What followed next was the worst hair cut ever. Lwt this serve as a warning to you going to Cuvee is a great example of BUYER BEWARE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am truly sorry you had this expirence in my salon and spa. I am quite sure that person no longer works for Salon Cuvee any more. I hope my services providers were wonderful and I am again sorry my receptionist at that time ruined your visit with us. WE WILL DO BETTER!!!!
.

I got a decent cut here from Carly. She was basically indifferent and tuned out, but competent nonetheless. I was a bit annoyed that she didn't dry my hair before flat-ironing it, as this could have caused some damage. I was willing to let this go though, because I had told her I was in a hurry. The front desk receptionist on the other hand was borderline rude. She looked at me with open contempt when I came in. Then when I was coming out to pay, she said in a rude voice, "Can I help you?" Uh yeah, you can take my money for the hair cut I just had done. She said there were a lot of people there and she couldn't recognize me. After an hour and a half being there? Wow. She is either mentally challenged or just plain rude. Maybe both. Don't go here if you want to feel welcome.

1
★★☆☆☆

I got a decent cut here from Carly. She was basically indifferent and tuned out, but competent nonetheless. I was a bit annoyed that she didn't dry my hair before flat-ironing it, as this could have caused some damage. I was willing to let this go though, because I had told her I was in a hurry. The front desk receptionist on the other hand was borderline rude. She looked at me with open contempt when I came in. Then when I was coming out to pay, she said in a rude voice, "Can I help you?" Uh yeah, you can take my money for the hair cut I just had done. She said there were a lot of people there and she couldn't recognize me. After an hour and a half being there? Wow. She is either mentally challenged or just plain rude. Maybe both. Don't go here if you want to feel welcome.

Pros: The cut was pretty good

Cons: The receptionist was rude

.

I just returned from Salon Cuvee and checked out my hair again. Yep, I still LOVE it!! It didn't come easy though. When I first sat down I was given a consultation and she cut my hair the length I had pointed out. Well, after the complete A-line was cut, I realized I wanted it shorter than I had told her. I was a little apprehensive to ask her to recut it, but she could see something was up. I told her I liked the cut and I'd come back and have her do it shorter the next time, but she insisted I leave happy and cut it exactly the way I wanted it. Really, I am so happy she read my mind. Thanks so much!!!

5
★★★★★

I just returned from Salon Cuvee and checked out my hair again. Yep, I still LOVE it!! It didn't come easy though. When I first sat down I was given a consultation and she cut my hair the length I had pointed out. Well, after the complete A-line was cut, I realized I wanted it shorter than I had told her. I was a little apprehensive to ask her to recut it, but she could see something was up. I told her I liked the cut and I'd come back and have her do it shorter the next time, but she insisted I leave happy and cut it exactly the way I wanted it. Really, I am so happy she read my mind. Thanks so much!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking your time for a wonderful review. We will spend the time it takes to make you happy. Thank you for giving us a chance!
.

To begin with, I really liked the vibe of the salon. This was my first time inside, and it was everything I expected from an East Sac salon. It is upscale, but thankfully not pretentious (except for possibly the receptionist, but she warmed up). To say the least, my hair needed a lot of work. I had too many different colors going on, and the texture was embarrassing. My stylist gave me a consultation and told me I could leave today with evenly colored hair that would be managable. Well, after a great shampoo, fun conversation, a glass of wine, and an awesome blowout, she was right! I am so excited. My hair is a beautiful auburn that's soft and shiny (you can't know how this feels unless your hair has been processed to death like mine) Another plus, they carry great hair products like Bumble and Bumble and Kerastase (also a lot of cosmetics that I didn't have time to check out, but will next time I'm in). I left with a shampoo and conditioner recommended by my stylist. Don't miss out on this salon!

2
★★★★★

To begin with, I really liked the vibe of the salon. This was my first time inside, and it was everything I expected from an East Sac salon. It is upscale, but thankfully not pretentious (except for possibly the receptionist, but she warmed up). To say the least, my hair needed a lot of work. I had too many different colors going on, and the texture was embarrassing. My stylist gave me a consultation and told me I could leave today with evenly colored hair that would be managable. Well, after a great shampoo, fun conversation, a glass of wine, and an awesome blowout, she was right! I am so excited. My hair is a beautiful auburn that's soft and shiny (you can't know how this feels unless your hair has been processed to death like mine) Another plus, they carry great hair products like Bumble and Bumble and Kerastase (also a lot of cosmetics that I didn't have time to check out, but will next time I'm in). I left with a shampoo and conditioner recommended by my stylist. Don't miss out on this salon!

Pros: they have a dedicated parking lot, felt pampered

.

I received one of the worst haircuts I've had in 20 years. I have fine hair with a wave that never should have been cut with a razor; it took out all the wave. The cut itself had no style and was not properly balanced: one side was very layered, the other side wasn't. This was REALLY an amateur job which will take me a couple of months to grow out. You should also know that the stylists who are employees at Salon are MUCH less experienced than the stylists who rent a chair from the salon. I'd be on my guard! You may want to keep searching for a salon that ALWAYS lives up to its reputation.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I received one of the worst haircuts I've had in 20 years. I have fine hair with a wave that never should have been cut with a razor; it took out all the wave. The cut itself had no style and was not properly balanced: one side was very layered, the other side wasn't. This was REALLY an amateur job which will take me a couple of months to grow out. You should also know that the stylists who are employees at Salon are MUCH less experienced than the stylists who rent a chair from the salon. I'd be on my guard! You may want to keep searching for a salon that ALWAYS lives up to its reputation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

If you judge a salon only by its coffee, home-baked cookies and array of hair products for sale, then go to Salon Cuvee. If you're looking for a great haircut, then try another place. There are two kinds of stylists on the floor: employee stylists and those who rent a chair. The salon pushes the employees, saying that they "just had a cancellation" and can take you. I requested someone who had a chair, but didn't get that person. I got a terrible hair cut from an employee. I then spoke with the owner, who was very pleasant to me, and who offered to have someone who cuts her hair--another employee, fix my hairstyle. While there was some improvement, the cut was extremely mediocre. I'm from San Francisco and moved to the Central Valley a few years ago. I didn't want to keep commuting the the City, so when I heard about Salon Cuvee, I was pleased to find a place closer to my home. What a mistake! I won't be going back. As I see it, a new client has a 50/50 chance of getting a good haircut from them, and statistically--that's nothing more than 'chance. ' My suggestion would be to spend your money where you are certain that you will get excellent results. Salon Cuvee, in my opinion, is not a sound investment.

0
★☆☆☆☆

If you judge a salon only by its coffee, home-baked cookies and array of hair products for sale, then go to Salon Cuvee. If you're looking for a great haircut, then try another place. There are two kinds of stylists on the floor: employee stylists and those who rent a chair. The salon pushes the employees, saying that they "just had a cancellation" and can take you. I requested someone who had a chair, but didn't get that person. I got a terrible hair cut from an employee. I then spoke with the owner, who was very pleasant to me, and who offered to have someone who cuts her hair--another employee, fix my hairstyle. While there was some improvement, the cut was extremely mediocre. I'm from San Francisco and moved to the Central Valley a few years ago. I didn't want to keep commuting the the City, so when I heard about Salon Cuvee, I was pleased to find a place closer to my home. What a mistake! I won't be going back. As I see it, a new client has a 50/50 chance of getting a good haircut from them, and statistically--that's nothing more than 'chance. ' My suggestion would be to spend your money where you are certain that you will get excellent results. Salon Cuvee, in my opinion, is not a sound investment.

Pros: Staff was friendly and accommodating

Cons: My first haircut was a disaster; the redo was mediocre

.

I've been looking for a change and my co-worker recommended Kara Turner @ Salon Cuvee.
I was so impressed with her skill ,knowledge and advanced training . My new color and cut is the best I've ever had, Kara your Amazing! I will be back, and recommending you highly.

2
★★★★★

I've been looking for a change and my co-worker recommended Kara Turner @ Salon Cuvee.
I was so impressed with her skill ,knowledge and advanced training . My new color and cut is the best I've ever had, Kara your Amazing! I will be back, and recommending you highly.

.

I was going here for years because my mom went there and I was happy with my hair but needed a change and wasn't really getting anything new. I finally tried a new salon that just opened and I have never had an experience like this!! It's been so long since I tried anything new that I had no idea what I was missing. Elon at Deeda salon spent so much time with me. Somehow she understood me and completely changed my hair color and cut to something i have never done before but I LOVE IT! I can't believe I was wearing my hair any other way!!! Should definitely check it out if you are not in love with what you get at Cuvee

1
★★★☆☆

I was going here for years because my mom went there and I was happy with my hair but needed a change and wasn't really getting anything new. I finally tried a new salon that just opened and I have never had an experience like this!! It's been so long since I tried anything new that I had no idea what I was missing. Elon at Deeda salon spent so much time with me. Somehow she understood me and completely changed my hair color and cut to something i have never done before but I LOVE IT! I can't believe I was wearing my hair any other way!!! Should definitely check it out if you are not in love with what you get at Cuvee

.

I moved to Sacramento from LA two months ago and have finally found a salon that I'm happy with. In the 9 years I lived down in LA, I didn't have as many awful experiences in salon's then I have in Sacramento in the last two months. I scheduled a appointment with Bella Vita Salon for a Friday afternoon cut, the customer service was awful and the hair cut was even worse.

Aside from the terrible salons I have been to in Sacramento, I am very happy to say I have found the Salon I have been searching for since I left Southern California. The idiot that butchered my hair at Bella, had me crying on my way home from the appointment because I had a big date with my boy friend the next day. When I got home, I opened up the yellow pages and came across Salon Cuvee. I set up a emergency appointment for early the next day, my savior was a girl named Jessica V. From the moment I walked into Cuvee, I felt like I was back in LA from the great customer service and the LA look the salon had going on. Back to my savior Jessica, she was very creative and gave me a new, hot, sexy, exotic look that was just what the doctor ordered. I love this girl for saving my ass, THANK YOU JESSICA V.

In closing, Jessica V. is a genius with the scissors. She will be getting my business for many years to come. She is also very nice and willing to work with you, witch is something that is very hard to come by. In addition, salon Cuvee is very laid back, professional and seems to attract young, old, female and male clientele. The prices are great, unless your cheat and don't care about quality. I'm telling everyone I know about this place because its by far the best salon in Sacramento and I would know.

5
★★★★★

I moved to Sacramento from LA two months ago and have finally found a salon that I'm happy with. In the 9 years I lived down in LA, I didn't have as many awful experiences in salon's then I have in Sacramento in the last two months. I scheduled a appointment with Bella Vita Salon for a Friday afternoon cut, the customer service was awful and the hair cut was even worse.

Aside from the terrible salons I have been to in Sacramento, I am very happy to say I have found the Salon I have been searching for since I left Southern California. The idiot that butchered my hair at Bella, had me crying on my way home from the appointment because I had a big date with my boy friend the next day. When I got home, I opened up the yellow pages and came across Salon Cuvee. I set up a emergency appointment for early the next day, my savior was a girl named Jessica V. From the moment I walked into Cuvee, I felt like I was back in LA from the great customer service and the LA look the salon had going on. Back to my savior Jessica, she was very creative and gave me a new, hot, sexy, exotic look that was just what the doctor ordered. I love this girl for saving my ass, THANK YOU JESSICA V.

In closing, Jessica V. is a genius with the scissors. She will be getting my business for many years to come. She is also very nice and willing to work with you, witch is something that is very hard to come by. In addition, salon Cuvee is very laid back, professional and seems to attract young, old, female and male clientele. The prices are great, unless your cheat and don't care about quality. I'm telling everyone I know about this place because its by far the best salon in Sacramento and I would know.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your expirence with us. We really appreciate your kind words.
.

I was really excited to find a place that claimed to be an expert at color. And the fact that they were a full service salon opened up doors for full days of pampering. When I called to make my appointment I asked to be paired with their most experienced color expert, as I really wanted to settle down with a colorist who could take me to any color I wanted. When I arrived for my appointment the place was decent looking....like a little cottage. They had a coffee and coacoa machine which was really nice. When my stylist was ready I went back for my consultation (I had made it only for a consultation just to be sure). She told me everything I wanted to hear and I was excited for our next meeting. I felt like I had done everything I could do avert a color catastrophe. So at the next meeting she did my hair....the cut was good.....but she totally turned my hair pink!!! I couldn't see it because the place is really dimly lit. But she kept saying that it didn't turn out how she wanted it and if I didn't like it I could come back and she would fix it. I went to my car and looked in my sunshade mirror and sure enough....I was pink! I went back in and asked her to fix it and she just put some more color over it (hiding all of my blonde highlights I had worked several sessions to get with my previous colorist). Then she has another customer come so I had to sit with wet hair for 20 minutes before she had time to dry me. It was still pink when she was done, and she said to come back if it didn't wash out. But really...how many chances can I give a person to fix their mistake. My scalp hurt and I was over being there. And why do hairdressers always cover your forehead and ears in dye and then wait until your ready to wash to get it off? Why not get it off BEFORE it makes you look like you have a horrible skin disease!?

0
★☆☆☆☆

I was really excited to find a place that claimed to be an expert at color. And the fact that they were a full service salon opened up doors for full days of pampering. When I called to make my appointment I asked to be paired with their most experienced color expert, as I really wanted to settle down with a colorist who could take me to any color I wanted. When I arrived for my appointment the place was decent looking....like a little cottage. They had a coffee and coacoa machine which was really nice. When my stylist was ready I went back for my consultation (I had made it only for a consultation just to be sure). She told me everything I wanted to hear and I was excited for our next meeting. I felt like I had done everything I could do avert a color catastrophe. So at the next meeting she did my hair....the cut was good.....but she totally turned my hair pink!!! I couldn't see it because the place is really dimly lit. But she kept saying that it didn't turn out how she wanted it and if I didn't like it I could come back and she would fix it. I went to my car and looked in my sunshade mirror and sure enough....I was pink! I went back in and asked her to fix it and she just put some more color over it (hiding all of my blonde highlights I had worked several sessions to get with my previous colorist). Then she has another customer come so I had to sit with wet hair for 20 minutes before she had time to dry me. It was still pink when she was done, and she said to come back if it didn't wash out. But really...how many chances can I give a person to fix their mistake. My scalp hurt and I was over being there. And why do hairdressers always cover your forehead and ears in dye and then wait until your ready to wash to get it off? Why not get it off BEFORE it makes you look like you have a horrible skin disease!?

Pros: Free hot coacoa, nice location

Cons: Not color experts, make you pay even when you are not satisfied

.

I have been going to Salon Cuvee for 3 years because I like one of their stylists (Marta). She is excellent. However, I have found the front desk employees consistently rude and snotty. They may get their cues from the owner who was openly dismissive of clients' complaints that the salon was too hot and (another time) that their hot water was broken. I go there only for Marta.

1
★★☆☆☆

I have been going to Salon Cuvee for 3 years because I like one of their stylists (Marta). She is excellent. However, I have found the front desk employees consistently rude and snotty. They may get their cues from the owner who was openly dismissive of clients' complaints that the salon was too hot and (another time) that their hot water was broken. I go there only for Marta.

.

Today I used a $50 gift card and spent $65 in addition on my credit card, and am so very sad about it, I could just cry.
The manicure I got is terrible. I don??t like to be the one who asks someone to redo their job, but I did, and she redid my nails. One of the nails, she redid 3 times, and my nails still look terrible. I got white tips, and they are not painted on straight. They??re curvy, they??ve got spots missing in the middle, and there are pink blotches of nail polish over them, so half my nails look pink, the other half white.
The pedicure is just as bad, I had to ask for everything to be done (can you get that spot? Can you file that part?) in order to get it. Finally, I had been there for 2 hours and couldn??t stay any longer, and had to leave with the polish on my toes messed up, because she bumped them while putting a flip-flop on. So even my toe nails polish is ruined in addition to my nails.
So, I feel that what I did today was to throw $65 down the drain, and that is a lot of money to me.
In addition, I had taken off my wedding rings at the manicurist??s request, and she had accidentally thrown them away. So I also had to wait in panic while she searched the laundry basket and all the trash cans for my wedding rings, which were eventually found.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Today I used a $50 gift card and spent $65 in addition on my credit card, and am so very sad about it, I could just cry.
The manicure I got is terrible. I don??t like to be the one who asks someone to redo their job, but I did, and she redid my nails. One of the nails, she redid 3 times, and my nails still look terrible. I got white tips, and they are not painted on straight. They??re curvy, they??ve got spots missing in the middle, and there are pink blotches of nail polish over them, so half my nails look pink, the other half white.
The pedicure is just as bad, I had to ask for everything to be done (can you get that spot? Can you file that part?) in order to get it. Finally, I had been there for 2 hours and couldn??t stay any longer, and had to leave with the polish on my toes messed up, because she bumped them while putting a flip-flop on. So even my toe nails polish is ruined in addition to my nails.
So, I feel that what I did today was to throw $65 down the drain, and that is a lot of money to me.
In addition, I had taken off my wedding rings at the manicurist??s request, and she had accidentally thrown them away. So I also had to wait in panic while she searched the laundry basket and all the trash cans for my wedding rings, which were eventually found.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Sounds like your day was all wrong. I am truly sorry you had this expirence at my salon. White tips are a challenge and thank goodness new products have come out to make this service more flawless on natural nails. I now believe you would love the new OPI shellac french manicure. I know we do!
.

Seriously live up to the claim "the color experts'. i worked here as a massage therapist for nearly 2 years and loved every minute of it. I still won't trust anyone else to color my hair but Brenna's team because having been an employee there i know first hand just how much time and money they spend on education, advanced training, and high-quality products.

As for the negative reviews here, there is no question there were a few years where the front-desk staff was hit-and-miss, but these days I think they have some really sweet girls up there. This is a very large and busy salon and spa, and the girls up there work tremendously hard to manage such a large team and stream of clients. i think the snobs are those who walk in like THEY own the place just because they are getting their hair cut.

Finally, about the payment issues... I have ZERO sympathy for someone who doesn't ask questions when they book an appointment at a new place for the first time. If a 'renter' chooses not to accept credit cards, that's their decision - so back off the poor girl at the front desk.

I loved working here, I still love getting pampered here. And I cannot recommend it highly enough for those who are serious about quality in beauty services and products.

2
★★★★★

Seriously live up to the claim "the color experts'. i worked here as a massage therapist for nearly 2 years and loved every minute of it. I still won't trust anyone else to color my hair but Brenna's team because having been an employee there i know first hand just how much time and money they spend on education, advanced training, and high-quality products.

As for the negative reviews here, there is no question there were a few years where the front-desk staff was hit-and-miss, but these days I think they have some really sweet girls up there. This is a very large and busy salon and spa, and the girls up there work tremendously hard to manage such a large team and stream of clients. i think the snobs are those who walk in like THEY own the place just because they are getting their hair cut.

Finally, about the payment issues... I have ZERO sympathy for someone who doesn't ask questions when they book an appointment at a new place for the first time. If a 'renter' chooses not to accept credit cards, that's their decision - so back off the poor girl at the front desk.

I loved working here, I still love getting pampered here. And I cannot recommend it highly enough for those who are serious about quality in beauty services and products.

Pros: Highly Skilled, high quality products, free wine and cookies

Cons: One of the higher priced in town, but still worth it.

.

I went to Salon Cuvee this morning to get my hair cut. I was quite happy with the haircut I received from Erin, who did a great job. However, the experience I had at the counter afterward was somewhat bizarre.

As I pulled my credit card from my bag to pay, I was told that, because the stylist is renting a chair, I needed to pay with cash or a check. I don't recall being told this when I made the appointment. I don't carry cash or my checkbook with me as a general rule. I was sent to the liquor store across the street(!) where, theoretically, there was an ATM. In fact, there was no ATM, just a guy with a cash register and a $40.00 maximum on ATM card withdrawals-- which wasn't enough, as the cut was $55.00 - not cheap.

Eventually I was sent home with an addressed envelope so that I could put my payment in the mail. I had to ask them to stamp it for me, which probably cost more than the credit card processing would have cost . Now, I've been in business myself, and I know that merchant account fees for credit card processing are not free, but, at the very least, the ownership of this establishment could go a long way toward conveniencing the customer by providing this very basic and inexpensive service for their subcontractors. It wouldn't be *that* expensive. They are obviously doing a good business; they just punched a doorway through a wall in order to expand into another room.

Verdict: The styist did a nice job, but I will not be back. This was a bizarre experience. It's just basic business sense to make doing business easy on the customer, and Salon Cuvee fails at this basic measure. For the amount they charge for services, they should be bending over backwards to make doing business as easy as possible.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I went to Salon Cuvee this morning to get my hair cut. I was quite happy with the haircut I received from Erin, who did a great job. However, the experience I had at the counter afterward was somewhat bizarre.

As I pulled my credit card from my bag to pay, I was told that, because the stylist is renting a chair, I needed to pay with cash or a check. I don't recall being told this when I made the appointment. I don't carry cash or my checkbook with me as a general rule. I was sent to the liquor store across the street(!) where, theoretically, there was an ATM. In fact, there was no ATM, just a guy with a cash register and a $40.00 maximum on ATM card withdrawals-- which wasn't enough, as the cut was $55.00 - not cheap.

Eventually I was sent home with an addressed envelope so that I could put my payment in the mail. I had to ask them to stamp it for me, which probably cost more than the credit card processing would have cost . Now, I've been in business myself, and I know that merchant account fees for credit card processing are not free, but, at the very least, the ownership of this establishment could go a long way toward conveniencing the customer by providing this very basic and inexpensive service for their subcontractors. It wouldn't be *that* expensive. They are obviously doing a good business; they just punched a doorway through a wall in order to expand into another room.

Verdict: The styist did a nice job, but I will not be back. This was a bizarre experience. It's just basic business sense to make doing business easy on the customer, and Salon Cuvee fails at this basic measure. For the amount they charge for services, they should be bending over backwards to make doing business as easy as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am sorry you were not informed of the difference between employee and renter within the salon industry. It is an issue with the seperation between employees and independant contractors and is mandated by our goverment. I am sorry you got tied up in the confusion. It sends me for a loop on occasion. We always abide by the honor system and give you an envelope to mail your payment in so you do not have to go thru the trouble at the time of service. Taking credit cards is up to the renter and cannot be put thru the salons till legally. Thank goodness for technology some renters take cards on their I Phones now!!! YEA for clients.
.

I went to Salon Cuvee this morning to get my hair cut. I was quite happy with the haircut I received from Erin, who did a great job. However, the experience I had at the couner afterward was somewhat bizarre.

As I pulled my credit card from my bag to pay, I was told that, because the stylist is renting a chair, I needed to pay with cash or a check. I don't recall being told this when I made the appointment. I don't carry cash or my checkbook with me as a general rule-- who does anymore? I haven't for years. When I explained this, I was sent *to the liquor store across the street(!)* where, theoretically, there was an ATM.

In fact there was no ATM, just a guy with a cash register and a $40.00 maximum on ATM withdrawals-- which wasn't enough, as the cut was $55.00 - not cheap.

Eventually I was sent home with an addressed envelope (I had to ask them to stamp it for me) so that I could put my payment in the mail.

Now, I've been in business myself, and I know that merchant fees are not free, but, at the very least, the ownership of this establishment could go a long way toward conveniencing the customer by providing this very basic and inexpensive service for their subcontractors. It wouldn't be *that* expensive. They are obviously doing a good business; they just punched a doorway through a wall in order to expand into another room.

Verdict: The styist did a nice job, but I will not be back. This was a bizarre experience. It's just basic business sense to treat a customer better than I was treated.

1
★★☆☆☆

I went to Salon Cuvee this morning to get my hair cut. I was quite happy with the haircut I received from Erin, who did a great job. However, the experience I had at the couner afterward was somewhat bizarre.

As I pulled my credit card from my bag to pay, I was told that, because the stylist is renting a chair, I needed to pay with cash or a check. I don't recall being told this when I made the appointment. I don't carry cash or my checkbook with me as a general rule-- who does anymore? I haven't for years. When I explained this, I was sent *to the liquor store across the street(!)* where, theoretically, there was an ATM.

In fact there was no ATM, just a guy with a cash register and a $40.00 maximum on ATM withdrawals-- which wasn't enough, as the cut was $55.00 - not cheap.

Eventually I was sent home with an addressed envelope (I had to ask them to stamp it for me) so that I could put my payment in the mail.

Now, I've been in business myself, and I know that merchant fees are not free, but, at the very least, the ownership of this establishment could go a long way toward conveniencing the customer by providing this very basic and inexpensive service for their subcontractors. It wouldn't be *that* expensive. They are obviously doing a good business; they just punched a doorway through a wall in order to expand into another room.

Verdict: The styist did a nice job, but I will not be back. This was a bizarre experience. It's just basic business sense to treat a customer better than I was treated.

.

I was really thrilled to finally book several services; I had been looking forward to checking out Salon Cuvee. The services and technicians performing them were excellent. The estheticians were fun, warm and friendly. However, the big turn-off were the girls at the front desk who were incredibly (and stupidly) snotty and condescending. When I first walked in, they did not greet me and instead ignored me until their database (or whatever) task was done. I felt as if my presence was an annoyance or inconvenience. I don't like to feel patronized when I am treating myself, so I won't be back. That simple. Word to owners/managers: get a clue. This is smaller community. Ditch the attitude and be friendly. Since I live less than a mile from Salon Cuvee, I would have been a customer for years. Now I drive across town.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I was really thrilled to finally book several services; I had been looking forward to checking out Salon Cuvee. The services and technicians performing them were excellent. The estheticians were fun, warm and friendly. However, the big turn-off were the girls at the front desk who were incredibly (and stupidly) snotty and condescending. When I first walked in, they did not greet me and instead ignored me until their database (or whatever) task was done. I felt as if my presence was an annoyance or inconvenience. I don't like to feel patronized when I am treating myself, so I won't be back. That simple. Word to owners/managers: get a clue. This is smaller community. Ditch the attitude and be friendly. Since I live less than a mile from Salon Cuvee, I would have been a customer for years. Now I drive across town.

.

The staff are very friendly, service is excellent whether getting hair treatment or having a relaxing pedicure/massage. This is definitely a salon where you get what you pay for in terms of a truly personal and enjoyable experience.

2
★★★★★

The staff are very friendly, service is excellent whether getting hair treatment or having a relaxing pedicure/massage. This is definitely a salon where you get what you pay for in terms of a truly personal and enjoyable experience.

Pros: Nice atmosphere, warm and inviting. Treated with respect.

Cons: Bathrooms are a little small.

.

I get my hair done at the salon and get all my skin care services at the spa. My stylist does a great job with the color and the cut of my hair. The skin care staff seem very knowledgeable and they are all very friendly.
However, the spa area isn't much for pampering as far as the atmosphere so if you are looking for a day of pampering I wouldn't suggest it. BUT if you just want to take great care of your skin and look great this IS the place for you.

2
★★★★☆

I get my hair done at the salon and get all my skin care services at the spa. My stylist does a great job with the color and the cut of my hair. The skin care staff seem very knowledgeable and they are all very friendly.
However, the spa area isn't much for pampering as far as the atmosphere so if you are looking for a day of pampering I wouldn't suggest it. BUT if you just want to take great care of your skin and look great this IS the place for you.

Pros: parking, knowledgeable staff

.

the best facial I have ever had I went on a monday the salon was really nice and my estitician (kimberley) was the best I am definately going back for another facial and maybe a wax as well

2
★★★★★

the best facial I have ever had I went on a monday the salon was really nice and my estitician (kimberley) was the best I am definately going back for another facial and maybe a wax as well

.

My first encounter was that the front desk girls that were very rude and condescending. Then when I thought things were going to get better my massage therapist had me get in what I thought was nice clean bed but I got the soiled sheets and she cut my massage 10 mins Short reluctantly went on to my facial . I think it was her first she had know clue what she was doing (and I have had many great facials) but this was not. Even the towels thay use to on your face had lovely brown stains and by fer to hot !! the sheets don't even match.
$80 for a dirty .sheet massage & $120 for no experiences Not waist your time OR money

1
★★☆☆☆

My first encounter was that the front desk girls that were very rude and condescending. Then when I thought things were going to get better my massage therapist had me get in what I thought was nice clean bed but I got the soiled sheets and she cut my massage 10 mins Short reluctantly went on to my facial . I think it was her first she had know clue what she was doing (and I have had many great facials) but this was not. Even the towels thay use to on your face had lovely brown stains and by fer to hot !! the sheets don't even match.
$80 for a dirty .sheet massage & $120 for no experiences Not waist your time OR money

.

Hello - I know there was a Holly T. employeed in 2005 and I believe there is a new Holly working at the salon. Unfortunately, by naming the person the new Holly inaccurately gets the bad press. Holly R. is wonderful and it is unfortuante that she may be affected by the bad review.

2
★★★★★

Hello - I know there was a Holly T. employeed in 2005 and I believe there is a new Holly working at the salon. Unfortunately, by naming the person the new Holly inaccurately gets the bad press. Holly R. is wonderful and it is unfortuante that she may be affected by the bad review.

Pros: Parking, Ambience, Service

.

Salon Cuvee is a nice place, and the staff is really nice, but I don't think that they are as experienced as some other salons that will charge you the same price. They got my color a little bit wrong and then just tried to convince me that it looked great instead of offering to correct it. I ended up just leaving the salon and the color did grow on me, so I didn't really complain, but I wouldn't probably recommend this salon to anyone else.

3
★★★☆☆

Salon Cuvee is a nice place, and the staff is really nice, but I don't think that they are as experienced as some other salons that will charge you the same price. They got my color a little bit wrong and then just tried to convince me that it looked great instead of offering to correct it. I ended up just leaving the salon and the color did grow on me, so I didn't really complain, but I wouldn't probably recommend this salon to anyone else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Sorry you did not feel you got the best service you could get. I would have loved the opportunity to make you happy. Please know the stylist always wants you to be satified and if they are not a good fit for you I would find a better fit for your next visit.
.

I've gone twice for waxing (brow and lip) - both times the jobs weren't all that great. They thinned out the brows but made no effort to add some shape. Also, this was particularly painful waxing - I don't know if its the type of wax or what. I just can't recommend it.

1
★★☆☆☆

I've gone twice for waxing (brow and lip) - both times the jobs weren't all that great. They thinned out the brows but made no effort to add some shape. Also, this was particularly painful waxing - I don't know if its the type of wax or what. I just can't recommend it.

Pros: great hours, easy parking

Cons: the results

.

The staff are very friendly and very professional. Reasonable prices for the quality of service, very conversational staff and a very relaxing atmosphere. A nice place to spend an afternoon after that long day in the office. It's good to pamper yourself and this is the place to be. Excellent knowledge of beauty products, no hassle service.

2
★★★★★

The staff are very friendly and very professional. Reasonable prices for the quality of service, very conversational staff and a very relaxing atmosphere. A nice place to spend an afternoon after that long day in the office. It's good to pamper yourself and this is the place to be. Excellent knowledge of beauty products, no hassle service.

Pros: Staff, Decor, Fun

Message from Salon Cuvee & Day Spa

Hours to serve you

Monday 10-7

Tue-Friday 9-8

Saturday 8-6

We have a wonderful parking lot for your convenience and you can enjoy a beer in a frosted mug, wine and Ice tea along with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies during your stay with us.

More about Salon Cuvee & Day Spa

Highly educated and up to date stylists with an expertise in color and Kerastase treatments are a must with every appointment to make you hair feel wonderful. The spa professionals specialize in CosMedix Peels, relaxing Dermalogica facials and all waxing techniques. You can enjoy a spa massage from 30min to 90min and is a special treat if you are expecting. Our Nail department has wonderful pedicure chairs to enjoy a quick fix or stay longer for a Spa Pedi experience. We are an odor free natural nail establishment that includes the most popular OPI color gels and shellacs. We can take care of large groups for weddings, business gatherings or any celebrations you would like to enjoy with us.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Salon Cuvee & Day Spa, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review