T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc.

★★☆☆☆
  • 1445 E 7th St

    Charlotte, NC 28204

    Map & Directions
  • 704-414-2000

About T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc.

Hours
Mon. - Fri. 9am - 5pm;Sat. - Sun. CLOSED

Real Estate

Real Estate
More choices in Charlotte:
Resultset_next

The Real Estate Specialists

927 15th St Batesville, AR

Resultset_next

Property Shoppe

949 Batesville Blvd Batesville, AR

1.5 6
Hi! Sign in to let us know how T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc. was?
Write a Review
.

TR Lawing has the most prejudice and unethical asspciates working for them. Me and my husband and my brother has been looking for a home, so first we sent my sister over to the leasing agency to get a key to the house and put the deposit in. The first reaction was, "do you even make that much money?" my sister was annoyed and said "yes".. and she tooked the keys.
The next day we called back and let them know we were interested in the house, they told us it was already approved but was still listed on the site for lease.
So we sent my husband over to the leasing office to get additional keys for more housing that were available, only to get hounded and question by an older man who asked him 3 times, if he can afford it and make 3 times the rent for that 1700 a month home. My husband stated that the man asked him 3 times, and looked him dead in the eyes and stated that he was lying and wanted to knwo the address of the home. My husband didnt know the address on the top of his head because who nowadays knows an address of a home that they did not live in and has only been there once.

THIS IS THE MOST UNETHICAL PRACTICE AND GOES AGAINST THE FAIR HOUSING ACT.

Prejudice and JUDGEMENTAL!

By the way we are asians.

1
★☆☆☆☆

TR Lawing has the most prejudice and unethical asspciates working for them. Me and my husband and my brother has been looking for a home, so first we sent my sister over to the leasing agency to get a key to the house and put the deposit in. The first reaction was, "do you even make that much money?" my sister was annoyed and said "yes".. and she tooked the keys.
The next day we called back and let them know we were interested in the house, they told us it was already approved but was still listed on the site for lease.
So we sent my husband over to the leasing office to get additional keys for more housing that were available, only to get hounded and question by an older man who asked him 3 times, if he can afford it and make 3 times the rent for that 1700 a month home. My husband stated that the man asked him 3 times, and looked him dead in the eyes and stated that he was lying and wanted to knwo the address of the home. My husband didnt know the address on the top of his head because who nowadays knows an address of a home that they did not live in and has only been there once.

THIS IS THE MOST UNETHICAL PRACTICE AND GOES AGAINST THE FAIR HOUSING ACT.

Prejudice and JUDGEMENTAL!

By the way we are asians.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

TR Lawing provided my family with one of the worst rental experiences possible. I could literally write a book about the despicable customer service provided by our property manager, Peggy Malabuyoc, and the rest of her cronies over at the rental office. Last summer, 2011, our air conditioning went out during the heat wave, raising the reading on our thermostat to a consistent 90 degrees during the day. I contacted Peggy and the maintenance department the day that the unit went out and got a response several days later saying that they would contact a repair company. A week passed with no resolution, and so I contacted them again. Peggy informed me that the owner was between bids trying to find a better price for the repair. Meanwhile my wife and one year old son are stuck in a 90 degree house with no AC for what ended up being two full weeks. It took me emailing every single person on the executive board of the company before something was finally done. We did not even get as much as an apology from the company.

Fastforward to this year, I got a job transfer to Florida and we began planning our move. We gave notice that we would be leaving, moved out on time and began the slow wait for our deposit check. On the 30th day after our move out date (Which was actually 6 weeks after we were out... we had to pay the additional two weeks rent to fulfill our 30 day notice, but were gone long before then), we received a statement of deposit informing us that TR Lawing would be keeping our full deposit and charging us an additional $1200 for repairs. These repairs included charges of $150 for the replacement of 5 mini blinds, none of which had been damaged beyond normal wear and tear, and all of which retailed for under $7 individually, $60 to "Scrub the driveway," and $1500 for the replacement of a small section of siding that we had, admittedly, melted with our BBQ one night when it was too close to the back of the house. I, of course, called and emailed Peggy the next day to find out what these charges were all about, only to receive an out of office reply that she was on vacation for ten days and nothing could be done until her return. We waited patiently for her return and finally made contact. She was pleasant on the phone and agreed that if we could find cheaper estimates for the repairs she would look into them. The FIRST contractor that I called told me that he could do the siding repair for $200... a full $1300 less than what Peggy had estimated. He sent me a written estimate within a day or so and I forwarded it to Peggy. Everything's good right? Wrong. By this point we had been out of the house for a month and a half without our deposit and were waiting to settle the issue before committing to a new lease not knowing what we would be getting back. Peggy Malabuyoc and TR Lawing failed to respond to multiple contact attempts for another 2 and a half months and absolutely nothing was done. Finally, I got a second out of office replay stating that Peggy had gone on another extended vacation and our situation was still not resolved. Of course, nobody else in the office could or would take care of us. She somehow found the time to take two vacations within a 4 month period, but could not take the time to do her job and contract out the repairs necessary to bring closure to our situation. Finally, four months after we moved out and two and a half months after Matt Cournet at Atlantic Construction Solutions (Awesome, by the way) submitted an estimate, did she contact me to let me know that she was going to accept the initial bid.

So we get our deposit check... And of course, it's short! They had failed to factor in an additional $60 that had been adjusted to our SOD for some other outrageous charge that Peggy had manufactured while trying to figure out a way to help pay off her credit card bills from all the vacations that she takes, and we had to wait another week for that check to come through.

In summary, NEVER EVER EVER do business with this company, and warn everyone that you know to steer clear. Horrible business practices, incompetent employees, inability to communicate, and downright thievery. They will hold your life hostage and take vacations while you're waiting to get it back.

1
★☆☆☆☆

TR Lawing provided my family with one of the worst rental experiences possible. I could literally write a book about the despicable customer service provided by our property manager, Peggy Malabuyoc, and the rest of her cronies over at the rental office. Last summer, 2011, our air conditioning went out during the heat wave, raising the reading on our thermostat to a consistent 90 degrees during the day. I contacted Peggy and the maintenance department the day that the unit went out and got a response several days later saying that they would contact a repair company. A week passed with no resolution, and so I contacted them again. Peggy informed me that the owner was between bids trying to find a better price for the repair. Meanwhile my wife and one year old son are stuck in a 90 degree house with no AC for what ended up being two full weeks. It took me emailing every single person on the executive board of the company before something was finally done. We did not even get as much as an apology from the company.

Fastforward to this year, I got a job transfer to Florida and we began planning our move. We gave notice that we would be leaving, moved out on time and began the slow wait for our deposit check. On the 30th day after our move out date (Which was actually 6 weeks after we were out... we had to pay the additional two weeks rent to fulfill our 30 day notice, but were gone long before then), we received a statement of deposit informing us that TR Lawing would be keeping our full deposit and charging us an additional $1200 for repairs. These repairs included charges of $150 for the replacement of 5 mini blinds, none of which had been damaged beyond normal wear and tear, and all of which retailed for under $7 individually, $60 to "Scrub the driveway," and $1500 for the replacement of a small section of siding that we had, admittedly, melted with our BBQ one night when it was too close to the back of the house. I, of course, called and emailed Peggy the next day to find out what these charges were all about, only to receive an out of office reply that she was on vacation for ten days and nothing could be done until her return. We waited patiently for her return and finally made contact. She was pleasant on the phone and agreed that if we could find cheaper estimates for the repairs she would look into them. The FIRST contractor that I called told me that he could do the siding repair for $200... a full $1300 less than what Peggy had estimated. He sent me a written estimate within a day or so and I forwarded it to Peggy. Everything's good right? Wrong. By this point we had been out of the house for a month and a half without our deposit and were waiting to settle the issue before committing to a new lease not knowing what we would be getting back. Peggy Malabuyoc and TR Lawing failed to respond to multiple contact attempts for another 2 and a half months and absolutely nothing was done. Finally, I got a second out of office replay stating that Peggy had gone on another extended vacation and our situation was still not resolved. Of course, nobody else in the office could or would take care of us. She somehow found the time to take two vacations within a 4 month period, but could not take the time to do her job and contract out the repairs necessary to bring closure to our situation. Finally, four months after we moved out and two and a half months after Matt Cournet at Atlantic Construction Solutions (Awesome, by the way) submitted an estimate, did she contact me to let me know that she was going to accept the initial bid.

So we get our deposit check... And of course, it's short! They had failed to factor in an additional $60 that had been adjusted to our SOD for some other outrageous charge that Peggy had manufactured while trying to figure out a way to help pay off her credit card bills from all the vacations that she takes, and we had to wait another week for that check to come through.

In summary, NEVER EVER EVER do business with this company, and warn everyone that you know to steer clear. Horrible business practices, incompetent employees, inability to communicate, and downright thievery. They will hold your life hostage and take vacations while you're waiting to get it back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The services are terrible. I have been requesting maintenance request for the past 5 months and didn't provide me any service at all till i left the apartment. Above all they deducted $200 from my deposit for carpet cleaning even though i mentioned in the red sheet while i moved in the house that the carpet is dity and stained. They just take advantage.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The services are terrible. I have been requesting maintenance request for the past 5 months and didn't provide me any service at all till i left the apartment. Above all they deducted $200 from my deposit for carpet cleaning even though i mentioned in the red sheet while i moved in the house that the carpet is dity and stained. They just take advantage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Sanjo - Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to resolve your issues. We understand that this was over the $200 charge deducted from your deposit to have the carpets professionally cleaned when you vacated. I appreciate you providing me with the invoice where you had the carpets cleaned 6 months prior at a cost of $199. This did help validate that the $200 charge was not too high. We would have been able to resolve this easier if the invoice was provided when you vacated. As a result of providing that receipt, we were able to get the high traffic areas cleaned at a cost of only $80 and the owner agreed to reimburs you the remaining $120. I appreciate you providing me the information and acknowledging that you were satisfied with the outcome. Respectfully.
.

I give TR Lawing zero stars and there is one reason why: TED GANTT. I have never interacted with someone as rude, unintelligent, arrogant, UNPROFESSIONAL and audacious as he. I understand why the women who work up front all look so pissed off, if I had to work with a futile ass such as he I would be pissed off too. If you do choose to work with TR Lawing, do NOT work with Ted Gantt, you will regret it.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I give TR Lawing zero stars and there is one reason why: TED GANTT. I have never interacted with someone as rude, unintelligent, arrogant, UNPROFESSIONAL and audacious as he. I understand why the women who work up front all look so pissed off, if I had to work with a futile ass such as he I would be pissed off too. If you do choose to work with TR Lawing, do NOT work with Ted Gantt, you will regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Primo - I apologize for any unprofessional interractions with Ted Gantt. We do strive for professional attitudes each day in our business and a less than stellar attitude is not acceptable. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. On a lighter note, I did just check with the front office personnel and they were smiling and laughing. :)
.

STAY AWAY. they are nice and friendly at first but if you have any problems with the home you live in, they will not help you. They have many rude members in each department you go to.

1
★☆☆☆☆

STAY AWAY. they are nice and friendly at first but if you have any problems with the home you live in, they will not help you. They have many rude members in each department you go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

We use TR Lawing for property management on a rental property. We dont have anyone to compare
them to, but we have been fairly pleased with their services. They are very busy, so it is not easy to
get in direct contact with them immediately, but they typically return the call within the next couple of business days. The prices are reasonable 8% off the top of your monthly income and 50% of the first months rent. It is so worth it to not have to deal with hassle of fixing things and handling issues with the renter. For instance, our renter was late for two months, and they took him to court. He ended up paying and we didnt have to worry about filing documents, going to court, or pay any of the associated fees with that cost.

PROS: Thorough, good follow-through, good value
CONS: Could be better on leasing side

4
★★★★☆

We use TR Lawing for property management on a rental property. We dont have anyone to compare
them to, but we have been fairly pleased with their services. They are very busy, so it is not easy to
get in direct contact with them immediately, but they typically return the call within the next couple of business days. The prices are reasonable 8% off the top of your monthly income and 50% of the first months rent. It is so worth it to not have to deal with hassle of fixing things and handling issues with the renter. For instance, our renter was late for two months, and they took him to court. He ended up paying and we didnt have to worry about filing documents, going to court, or pay any of the associated fees with that cost.

PROS: Thorough, good follow-through, good value
CONS: Could be better on leasing side

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you Sarah for your positive review of T. R. Lawing Realty. We really do try to handle the stress of managing a rental home so that the owner doesn't have to. Only wish you gave us more stars. :0)

Message from T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc.

We Rent Charlotte .... One Home At A Time .... T. R. Lawing Realty Inc

More about T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc.

We have a new rental home for you! Whether itβ??s an uptown condo or a suburban ranch, with a private balcony or a fenced yard, with 500 or 5,000 square feet, we can help. From Davidson to Monroe and from Kannapolis to Gastonia, we offer the largest variety of rental houses, duplexes, condos and apartments in the Charlotte region. How may we help you?

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used T.R. Lawing Realty, Inc., leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review