Commodore Dining Events

★★★☆☆
  • 2394 Mariner Sq Dr Ste C

    Alameda, CA 94501

    Map & Directions
  • 510-337-9000

About Commodore Dining Events

Hours
Mon - Fri, 8am - 5:30pm; Sat, 10am - 3:30pm; Sun, closed

Hotels & Travel

Hotels & Travel
More choices in Alameda:
Resultset_next

Going Places Travel

1675 Shattuck Ave Berkeley, CA

Resultset_next

Hornblower Cruises & Events

33 Pier San Francisco, CA

2.5714 7
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Commodore Dining Events was?
Write a Review
.

I attended a wedding cruise on one of the Commodore boats last month and was very impressed! The boat was very striking from the outside and it was beautiful inside - I have been on other cruises in the bay and this yacht was the nicest by far. We had appetizers and a delicious buffet (the filet was excellent). The dance floor was the perfect size and the bar was close by, what more could you ask for? The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. It was a really intimate atmosphere and we all left very happy! I??d definitely recommend to anyone planning a special event.

5
★★★★★

I attended a wedding cruise on one of the Commodore boats last month and was very impressed! The boat was very striking from the outside and it was beautiful inside - I have been on other cruises in the bay and this yacht was the nicest by far. We had appetizers and a delicious buffet (the filet was excellent). The dance floor was the perfect size and the bar was close by, what more could you ask for? The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. It was a really intimate atmosphere and we all left very happy! I??d definitely recommend to anyone planning a special event.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We went with Commodore due to it's proximity to us and upon our visit we were immediately enamored with the charm, unpretentiousness and inviting warmth of the yachts. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and part of the experience. We did a private tasting and were waited on by the owner and head chef, and his love and passion is evident through everything from his service at the table to his artistry in the kitchen. We selected a custom menu for our cruise and everything was cooked to perfection! Commodore will be the place for our holiday partyfrom now on without a doubt. It is also perhaps the most romantic dining experience you may ever enjoy in SF.

5
★★★★★

We went with Commodore due to it's proximity to us and upon our visit we were immediately enamored with the charm, unpretentiousness and inviting warmth of the yachts. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and part of the experience. We did a private tasting and were waited on by the owner and head chef, and his love and passion is evident through everything from his service at the table to his artistry in the kitchen. We selected a custom menu for our cruise and everything was cooked to perfection! Commodore will be the place for our holiday partyfrom now on without a doubt. It is also perhaps the most romantic dining experience you may ever enjoy in SF.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I will start by stating my status. I have ten years of experience in restaurant reviews, restaurant management, and restaurant consulting. I have apple qualifications to leave a review. I would like to start with the food. First the o??dourves, I am certain they had bought them from Cisco/ Costco and they tasted like it but charged for it like they were made there. When the food came out it was about room temp, the chicken was made with 2oz of butter per 1oz of meat, the beef was way under cooked and cold, and the string beans had no flavor. The service was incredibly bad. I am really surprised that this company has stayed in business with the service they have. The crew was very good, however they seemed limited because when ever I would asked them for the simplest things they said it was not on the contract and the owners would not let them include it. There was an excuse for every thing, from the food, to bad lighting, and NO napkins. Last of all the owners are very rude, there costumer satisfaction is just horrible, and they never want to work with you. I would never book with them again.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I will start by stating my status. I have ten years of experience in restaurant reviews, restaurant management, and restaurant consulting. I have apple qualifications to leave a review. I would like to start with the food. First the o??dourves, I am certain they had bought them from Cisco/ Costco and they tasted like it but charged for it like they were made there. When the food came out it was about room temp, the chicken was made with 2oz of butter per 1oz of meat, the beef was way under cooked and cold, and the string beans had no flavor. The service was incredibly bad. I am really surprised that this company has stayed in business with the service they have. The crew was very good, however they seemed limited because when ever I would asked them for the simplest things they said it was not on the contract and the owners would not let them include it. There was an excuse for every thing, from the food, to bad lighting, and NO napkins. Last of all the owners are very rude, there costumer satisfaction is just horrible, and they never want to work with you. I would never book with them again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Don't be deceived by their advertisement in attention to detail and service. No one should experienced what I did after holding my daughter's wedding aboard their boat. Their fruit platter consists only of blueberries and strawberries. When I brought it to their attention the owner's comment was I was expecting too much!!! They didn't have a runner for the bridal party to walk on because it wasn't written on the contract though it was verbally understood that a runner would be a given for a wedding! Cake set up on the top deck was not served to guests on the lower decks because I did not ask (OK I know, don't assume they know what they're suppose to do despite being in business for how many years?). The buffet is NOT an actual buffet so beware!! Have your guests eat before they attend. We had chicken florentine and filet mignon for main entrees. Some guests had better appetites than others so there were not enough filet mignons. When I brought this to Commodore's attention, they blame my guests as having "bad behavior" and "poor mannerism" for having more than one 3oz piece on their plate! Seriously their portions of serving on main entree are for Weight Watchers! They had 400 pieces of 3oz beef for 310 guests. Mind you, this was supposed to be a buffet for a wedding celebration!! TOTALLY MISLEADING and you certainly don't need this kind of humiliation after such an expense!

So if you want to do business with an organization that can??t deliver and faults your guests for having a typical appetite, take this advice from someone who learned. HAVE EVERY LITTLE DETAIL WRITTEN no matter how simple because it??s you who will carry the memories. For Commodore Events, it??s just another profit day.

Overall, you??d appreciate this review.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Don't be deceived by their advertisement in attention to detail and service. No one should experienced what I did after holding my daughter's wedding aboard their boat. Their fruit platter consists only of blueberries and strawberries. When I brought it to their attention the owner's comment was I was expecting too much!!! They didn't have a runner for the bridal party to walk on because it wasn't written on the contract though it was verbally understood that a runner would be a given for a wedding! Cake set up on the top deck was not served to guests on the lower decks because I did not ask (OK I know, don't assume they know what they're suppose to do despite being in business for how many years?). The buffet is NOT an actual buffet so beware!! Have your guests eat before they attend. We had chicken florentine and filet mignon for main entrees. Some guests had better appetites than others so there were not enough filet mignons. When I brought this to Commodore's attention, they blame my guests as having "bad behavior" and "poor mannerism" for having more than one 3oz piece on their plate! Seriously their portions of serving on main entree are for Weight Watchers! They had 400 pieces of 3oz beef for 310 guests. Mind you, this was supposed to be a buffet for a wedding celebration!! TOTALLY MISLEADING and you certainly don't need this kind of humiliation after such an expense!

So if you want to do business with an organization that can??t deliver and faults your guests for having a typical appetite, take this advice from someone who learned. HAVE EVERY LITTLE DETAIL WRITTEN no matter how simple because it??s you who will carry the memories. For Commodore Events, it??s just another profit day.

Overall, you??d appreciate this review.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We had a great turnout - 151 students. The dining room was way too
tight for 157 or so of us. They literally squooshed the tables and chairs
together. It was so tight and crowded that Chaperones didn't have any
place to sit and eat. We, Chaperones, let all the kids eat first as this
was their party, and when a table was done, we recycled it. But by the
time we could find a table to sit, the buffet were OUT of MANY FOOD, that
were not being replenished, no additional silverware. Additionally, they did NOTcome to bus
our table with kids soiled dishes. We had to clear most of them off
ourselves. Then their servers were taking food out of the buffet (to eat
themselves) at the same time as chaperones were doing so. They should have
eaten AFTER we're all done.

We definitely didn't feel the "You will be treated to ?white glove service? including linens, glass goblets and china. Balloons and centerpieces will decorate your tables. Buffet includes Taco
and Pasta bars, Caesar salad, dessert bar and unlimited beverages." as was
advertised to us.
There were no Balloons & centerpieces??? was there?
The Dessert bar was awful. .Dinner was so-so and luke warm at best.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We had a great turnout - 151 students. The dining room was way too
tight for 157 or so of us. They literally squooshed the tables and chairs
together. It was so tight and crowded that Chaperones didn't have any
place to sit and eat. We, Chaperones, let all the kids eat first as this
was their party, and when a table was done, we recycled it. But by the
time we could find a table to sit, the buffet were OUT of MANY FOOD, that
were not being replenished, no additional silverware. Additionally, they did NOTcome to bus
our table with kids soiled dishes. We had to clear most of them off
ourselves. Then their servers were taking food out of the buffet (to eat
themselves) at the same time as chaperones were doing so. They should have
eaten AFTER we're all done.

We definitely didn't feel the "You will be treated to ?white glove service? including linens, glass goblets and china. Balloons and centerpieces will decorate your tables. Buffet includes Taco
and Pasta bars, Caesar salad, dessert bar and unlimited beverages." as was
advertised to us.
There were no Balloons & centerpieces??? was there?
The Dessert bar was awful. .Dinner was so-so and luke warm at best.

Pros: The initial embarkation was exciting

Cons: Bus your own table. What service??

.

(Shortened for size limit): Wife & I went out on largest boat, Galaxy Commodore, for 2008 New Year's dinner cruise. Cost $350/couple, slightly less than cost of Hornblower Cruise price (SF Belle vessel). Overall were quite satisfied with outing. Been on a company event on the California Hornblower; in comparison, that boat a bit more plush & meal more refined and served to you at private tables in contrast to buffet style on Commodore; however, pay quite a lot more ($500 vs $350), & one irritation with Hornblower is compressed time on water whereas Commodore boat stayed out for a lengthier time; this is, in part, due to Comm having to go all the way back to Alameda dock after fireworks in contrast to Hornblower boat which docks right at SF Embarcadero. First the positives: the staff was consistently friendly, helpful. Boat was clean, had good amenities (comfortable lounge w/ leather sofas, clean spacious bathrooms (by boat standards), nice large dance floor, nice large viewing windows & plenty of outside space for people if they could brave the cold), good drinks from adequate (though somewhat spartan, decor-wise) bar). The buffet meal was much better than I'd expected and was good: prime rib, chicken goulash with cream/mushroom sauce, rice pilaf, nice caesar salad, and tasty, crunchy (i.e. not overcooked) string beans completed with adequate, if not stellar, desserts (chocolate cake, pumpkin/cinamon pie, cheesecake). As mentioned, the cruise was leisurely, departing sometime after 9:15 with roundtrip up to Golden Gate and back, excellent viewing of the fireworks, returning sometime past 1am. Just a few negatives: packed boat with some people sitting at temporary long folding tables on the dance floor; some staff somewhat young and discombobulated; buffet layout somewhat cramped with loud, bingo-like cattle-call system for table# by table# turns for getting food, desserts straight out of cold fridge, ... overall nothing to ruin a very pleasant evening.

2
★★★★☆

(Shortened for size limit): Wife & I went out on largest boat, Galaxy Commodore, for 2008 New Year's dinner cruise. Cost $350/couple, slightly less than cost of Hornblower Cruise price (SF Belle vessel). Overall were quite satisfied with outing. Been on a company event on the California Hornblower; in comparison, that boat a bit more plush & meal more refined and served to you at private tables in contrast to buffet style on Commodore; however, pay quite a lot more ($500 vs $350), & one irritation with Hornblower is compressed time on water whereas Commodore boat stayed out for a lengthier time; this is, in part, due to Comm having to go all the way back to Alameda dock after fireworks in contrast to Hornblower boat which docks right at SF Embarcadero. First the positives: the staff was consistently friendly, helpful. Boat was clean, had good amenities (comfortable lounge w/ leather sofas, clean spacious bathrooms (by boat standards), nice large dance floor, nice large viewing windows & plenty of outside space for people if they could brave the cold), good drinks from adequate (though somewhat spartan, decor-wise) bar). The buffet meal was much better than I'd expected and was good: prime rib, chicken goulash with cream/mushroom sauce, rice pilaf, nice caesar salad, and tasty, crunchy (i.e. not overcooked) string beans completed with adequate, if not stellar, desserts (chocolate cake, pumpkin/cinamon pie, cheesecake). As mentioned, the cruise was leisurely, departing sometime after 9:15 with roundtrip up to Golden Gate and back, excellent viewing of the fireworks, returning sometime past 1am. Just a few negatives: packed boat with some people sitting at temporary long folding tables on the dance floor; some staff somewhat young and discombobulated; buffet layout somewhat cramped with loud, bingo-like cattle-call system for table# by table# turns for getting food, desserts straight out of cold fridge, ... overall nothing to ruin a very pleasant evening.

Pros: Pretty good price compared to other dining cruises

Cons: Not quite as private and romantic as more expensive California Hornblower boat

.

I was so excited to go on the yatch for Mother's Day. When we got there, there were not not any table for 6 of us. Were we told to wait. After 20 minutes of waiting with along with a couple who just walk in, we were told they are short of tables. They have to set up a new table. As soon as I saw they pull an urgly folding rectangle table on the dance floor, I told my husband that I lost my appetide. We left. I felt like we were some kind of uninvited guests that they didn't expect even though we reserved days ahead. If they could not even properly take care of guests with reservation, why are they taking walkins? What a horrible experience!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I was so excited to go on the yatch for Mother's Day. When we got there, there were not not any table for 6 of us. Were we told to wait. After 20 minutes of waiting with along with a couple who just walk in, we were told they are short of tables. They have to set up a new table. As soon as I saw they pull an urgly folding rectangle table on the dance floor, I told my husband that I lost my appetide. We left. I felt like we were some kind of uninvited guests that they didn't expect even though we reserved days ahead. If they could not even properly take care of guests with reservation, why are they taking walkins? What a horrible experience!

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Commodore Dining Events, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review