Home Instead Oakmont

★★★☆☆
  • 661 Allegheny Ave

    Oakmont, PA 15139

    Map & Directions
  • 412-517-8337

Health & Medical

Health & Medical
More choices in Oakmont:
Resultset_next

Cenk Chiropractic

107 Gamma Dr 100 Pittsburgh, PA

Resultset_next

Emergency Denture Repair Svc

4475 McKnight Rd Pittsburgh, PA

2.6667 3
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Home Instead Oakmont was?
Write a Review
.

My Mother was a client with this agency for almost 4 years. Most of the caregivers were great, but if you told the staffing office that you really liked the girl they would pull her to a private pay client to make the agency look good. My mom was what you call a PDA Waiver, which her home care was paid for by the state. She was net entitled to care on Holidays, the aids were not allowed to go to Dr appointments, or even to the Hospital with her if an ambulance was needed. The just sent her to the Hospital alone, and I had to leave work to meet her there. Nice Huh, since my Mom had Alzheimers and if frightened if there no one around that she know, yet they say the agency is well trained in alzheimers care. My Mom worked hard all her life and because she needs help now and is helped thru the state they treated her as 2nd class. After almost 4 years of service they decided to drop my mom as a client because after my surgery I needed 24 hr care for my mom so I could recuperate. I complained about them sending all new caregiver except two that my mom is familar with. It was hard on my mom seeing new faces every 8 hours and on me because I had to instruct all the new girls as they came in instead of resting so I could heal. They had several girls that were familiar with my moms case, but instead of getting them they chose to have new girls come. They say their policy is to have new girls shadow with girls that know my moms case, but that was not done. Very unprofessional. The Supervisor didn't like the fact that I complained so she chose to just drop my mom instead of fixing the problem..

Daughter of the client

2
★★☆☆☆

My Mother was a client with this agency for almost 4 years. Most of the caregivers were great, but if you told the staffing office that you really liked the girl they would pull her to a private pay client to make the agency look good. My mom was what you call a PDA Waiver, which her home care was paid for by the state. She was net entitled to care on Holidays, the aids were not allowed to go to Dr appointments, or even to the Hospital with her if an ambulance was needed. The just sent her to the Hospital alone, and I had to leave work to meet her there. Nice Huh, since my Mom had Alzheimers and if frightened if there no one around that she know, yet they say the agency is well trained in alzheimers care. My Mom worked hard all her life and because she needs help now and is helped thru the state they treated her as 2nd class. After almost 4 years of service they decided to drop my mom as a client because after my surgery I needed 24 hr care for my mom so I could recuperate. I complained about them sending all new caregiver except two that my mom is familar with. It was hard on my mom seeing new faces every 8 hours and on me because I had to instruct all the new girls as they came in instead of resting so I could heal. They had several girls that were familiar with my moms case, but instead of getting them they chose to have new girls come. They say their policy is to have new girls shadow with girls that know my moms case, but that was not done. Very unprofessional. The Supervisor didn't like the fact that I complained so she chose to just drop my mom instead of fixing the problem..

Daughter of the client

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hello Kathy, I am sorry that you were disappointed with how Home Instead Senior Care’s services ended. Unfortunately, due to the Pennsylvania Department of Aging’s policies, we are forbidden from accompanying clients like your mother to the hospital or doctor’s appointments, and we have to work within the requirements placed upon us by them. I am sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations; we feel we did our best to ensure consistency and quality in providing care. Please contact our office at 412-517-8337; I would appreciate the opportunity to hear your complaints, fully explain our situation, and reach an amicable conclusion. Sincerely, Ann Larkin General Manager Home Instead Senior Care - Oakmont/Northeast Pittsburgh
.

I am very sorry that some individual had a bad experience with home instead care givers. I am a physically challenged woman that has been receiving help with my ADL's for approximately two years,and have been very satified with my caregivers. My suggestion is to give home instead a chance. The employees are always prompt and trustworthy

5
★★★★★

I am very sorry that some individual had a bad experience with home instead care givers. I am a physically challenged woman that has been receiving help with my ADL's for approximately two years,and have been very satified with my caregivers. My suggestion is to give home instead a chance. The employees are always prompt and trustworthy

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Please, if you care anything at all about your family member, do not use this agency. The inital phone contact was great. Sure, they told me, we can take great care of your grandmother (for a mere $20.50/hour). We'll send someone right over. Again, sure, we were told. We can do this. Oh, and by the way, we're going to need a $6888.00 deposit which will be applied toward your end balance. You didn't know this? Too bad.

But of course, all of our aides are highly trained, cerified in CPR, and are quite willing and able to provide what's needed in terms of bedpans, changing diapers, etc.

Hmmmm. One of the aides slept all night, and the following morning there was some money missing. Several of the aides do not know how to change diapers and/or use a bedpan. One of the aides told us she was NOT certified in CPR and told the agency when they called her for the job that she didn't know how to use a bedpan. They sent her anyway and asked me to train her.

One aide only knew how to change a certain brand of diapers, so I had to go out and buy them. Most of the aides talk about how much they dislike the agency, and how mistreated they are. They earn less than half of what the agency is paid.

This particular franchise lies about what they can and will provide. They will put your family member at risk so that they can make some cash. While a few of the caregivers are excellent, we were just lucky that they were available when called.

Clearly, this is an organization concerned with profit at any cost. The hospice nurse who witnessed some of the "care" they provided called in emergency assistance for our family.

Some of the "care" provided borders on abuse (due to lack of knowledge/training). This franchise has consistently sent in unqualified, untrained staff. When I have a minute to breathe, I'll be filing formal complaints against them.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Please, if you care anything at all about your family member, do not use this agency. The inital phone contact was great. Sure, they told me, we can take great care of your grandmother (for a mere $20.50/hour). We'll send someone right over. Again, sure, we were told. We can do this. Oh, and by the way, we're going to need a $6888.00 deposit which will be applied toward your end balance. You didn't know this? Too bad.

But of course, all of our aides are highly trained, cerified in CPR, and are quite willing and able to provide what's needed in terms of bedpans, changing diapers, etc.

Hmmmm. One of the aides slept all night, and the following morning there was some money missing. Several of the aides do not know how to change diapers and/or use a bedpan. One of the aides told us she was NOT certified in CPR and told the agency when they called her for the job that she didn't know how to use a bedpan. They sent her anyway and asked me to train her.

One aide only knew how to change a certain brand of diapers, so I had to go out and buy them. Most of the aides talk about how much they dislike the agency, and how mistreated they are. They earn less than half of what the agency is paid.

This particular franchise lies about what they can and will provide. They will put your family member at risk so that they can make some cash. While a few of the caregivers are excellent, we were just lucky that they were available when called.

Clearly, this is an organization concerned with profit at any cost. The hospice nurse who witnessed some of the "care" they provided called in emergency assistance for our family.

Some of the "care" provided borders on abuse (due to lack of knowledge/training). This franchise has consistently sent in unqualified, untrained staff. When I have a minute to breathe, I'll be filing formal complaints against them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Message from Home Instead Oakmont

There are many home care companies out there, but none can compare to the track record of Home Instead Senior Care. Operating since 1998, our CAREGivers go through extensive training, plus criminal background checks and drug tests. They are licensed, bonded and insured to protect you and your family. We do our best to match you or your loved one with a CAREGiver that meshes well with your needs, and if you don't feel that CAREGiver is working out, just let us know! We will find another one, no questions asked, no hard feelings on either side. With more than 250 CAREGivers on staff, we're confident we can find a good match for everyone. Our clients can reach a member of the office staff 24/7. No answering services here.



For a free consultation, call us at 412-517-8337. No contracts or long-term commitments are necessary.

More about Home Instead Oakmont

Our Home Instead CAREGivers come to your home to perform a wide range of non-medical tasks aimed at improving life for your senior loved one. Common tasks include light housekeeping, laundry, meal preparation, medication reminders, transportation, fall prevention, and personal care with other daily things we take for granted, but might be a challenge for a senior.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Home Instead Oakmont, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review