Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists

★★★★☆
  • 200 Commerce St

    Williston, VT 05495

    Map & Directions
  • 802-863-2387

3.5263 19
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists was?
Write a Review
.

While vacationing in Burlington this passed Sept., my geriatric Brittany Spaniel became acutely ill in the night. Our Dixie had a bad heart, liver problems and most likely, Cushings Disease at the age of 13.. We knew her days were numbered, but as long as she ate and functioned, we would not put her down. However, Dixie decided that it WAS her time. After a call to our hometown Vet in NC, we were recommended to BEVS - it was a Sunday morning that we had to seek them out. We phoned ahead that we were on our way. When we entered, there was a gurney waiting for Dixie, and we were immediately taken to a private room with our precious love. We were not only treated with proffessionalism, but also with the utmost of care, concern and compassion and respect; but, even more, they treated our Dixie VERY humanely. We were both terribly distraugt, and extremely upset being so far away from home, and having to put our best friend down, then to have to leave her.. Everyone that we dealt with that sad morning was much more than understanding and kind. The office and lobby was very clean.- I could not have been more impressed with our overall experience. We were in a bit of shock to find that the total fee for euthanization and crematiion, including the beautiful wooden urn, and the costs of shipping Dixie back home to us was much MORE than reasonable..In my book, the very highest of ratings is the only score I would give to BEVS.. They were there when we needed them the most. I am so VERY thankful and appreciative to them

5
★★★★★

While vacationing in Burlington this passed Sept., my geriatric Brittany Spaniel became acutely ill in the night. Our Dixie had a bad heart, liver problems and most likely, Cushings Disease at the age of 13.. We knew her days were numbered, but as long as she ate and functioned, we would not put her down. However, Dixie decided that it WAS her time. After a call to our hometown Vet in NC, we were recommended to BEVS - it was a Sunday morning that we had to seek them out. We phoned ahead that we were on our way. When we entered, there was a gurney waiting for Dixie, and we were immediately taken to a private room with our precious love. We were not only treated with proffessionalism, but also with the utmost of care, concern and compassion and respect; but, even more, they treated our Dixie VERY humanely. We were both terribly distraugt, and extremely upset being so far away from home, and having to put our best friend down, then to have to leave her.. Everyone that we dealt with that sad morning was much more than understanding and kind. The office and lobby was very clean.- I could not have been more impressed with our overall experience. We were in a bit of shock to find that the total fee for euthanization and crematiion, including the beautiful wooden urn, and the costs of shipping Dixie back home to us was much MORE than reasonable..In my book, the very highest of ratings is the only score I would give to BEVS.. They were there when we needed them the most. I am so VERY thankful and appreciative to them

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We are sorry for your loss of Dixie. Our thoughts are with your family during this difficult time.
.

I've been here a few times: once for my dog, once to bring a friend & her dog that had to be euthanized, and most recently, when I found a cat that had been hit by a car.

It's a huge relief that they are here. I don't find staff to be the warmest but have always found them to be professional. And I really appreciate that they accept strays! That definitely increases my respect for the practice.

4
★★★★☆

I've been here a few times: once for my dog, once to bring a friend & her dog that had to be euthanized, and most recently, when I found a cat that had been hit by a car.

It's a huge relief that they are here. I don't find staff to be the warmest but have always found them to be professional. And I really appreciate that they accept strays! That definitely increases my respect for the practice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks for your honest feedback, we appreciate it!
.

They saw my sick cat on short notice, and they were wonderful throughout the entire process! Everyone was incredibly friendly, and my cat is already feeling better. Cost around $191, but it was well worth it to see my cat happy and healthy again later that night. Thanks!

5
★★★★★

They saw my sick cat on short notice, and they were wonderful throughout the entire process! Everyone was incredibly friendly, and my cat is already feeling better. Cost around $191, but it was well worth it to see my cat happy and healthy again later that night. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy your cat feels better!
.

I cannot understand why this website rates this as 4 stars when if you read the other websites on this business you can read the REAL up to date HORROR stories. Let it also be noted that there have been a lot of derogatory and true

3
★★★★★

I cannot understand why this website rates this as 4 stars when if you read the other websites on this business you can read the REAL up to date HORROR stories. Let it also be noted that there have been a lot of derogatory and true

.

Knowledgable staff who worked exceptionally
hard to take care of my pet. In house diagnostics and 24 hr care was invaluable. caring, compassionate and prices reflected services received in the middle of the night. Thank you for being there

5
★★★★★

Knowledgable staff who worked exceptionally
hard to take care of my pet. In house diagnostics and 24 hr care was invaluable. caring, compassionate and prices reflected services received in the middle of the night. Thank you for being there

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased you had such a positive experience.
.

The only vet open late at night in vermont.... brought my dog there after being hit by a car late at night.

2
★★☆☆☆

The only vet open late at night in vermont.... brought my dog there after being hit by a car late at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope your dog is healing well.
.

Quoted $145 for emergency service for my cat. I was there less than an hour and they couldn't find the problem and sent me to my regular vet. Total spent, just under $500. Another $350 to my regular vet (but they kept my cat overnight until he recovered). Bad enough that humans can't afford health care. Now we can't afford health care for pets either.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Quoted $145 for emergency service for my cat. I was there less than an hour and they couldn't find the problem and sent me to my regular vet. Total spent, just under $500. Another $350 to my regular vet (but they kept my cat overnight until he recovered). Bad enough that humans can't afford health care. Now we can't afford health care for pets either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.
.

This place does injustice to veternarians everywhere. I have never been treated with such disrespect and lack of compassion in my life. Having worked in a veternarians office, I do realize that it is important to distance yourself, emotionally, to some degree from both animal and owner, however when you call me in the middle of the night to tell me that my animal has taken a turn for the worse and you laugh when you tell me that it would be best to put him to sleep please expect a back lash. Then when I go to retrieve my animal so that I can bury him on my property and you tell me that is not possible because he is under a pile of other dead animals you are really going to hear it (finally, I was given the option of private cremation, after I created a scene). I really do not have any words for this place, it is just horrible and I have talked to countless others that have experienced very similar behavior from the staff. Do not go here unless you absolutely have to!

1
★☆☆☆☆

This place does injustice to veternarians everywhere. I have never been treated with such disrespect and lack of compassion in my life. Having worked in a veternarians office, I do realize that it is important to distance yourself, emotionally, to some degree from both animal and owner, however when you call me in the middle of the night to tell me that my animal has taken a turn for the worse and you laugh when you tell me that it would be best to put him to sleep please expect a back lash. Then when I go to retrieve my animal so that I can bury him on my property and you tell me that is not possible because he is under a pile of other dead animals you are really going to hear it (finally, I was given the option of private cremation, after I created a scene). I really do not have any words for this place, it is just horrible and I have talked to countless others that have experienced very similar behavior from the staff. Do not go here unless you absolutely have to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.
.

I did not feel at all like my dog's life was valued, When I first walked in the door in walked the pizza delivery guy behind us. My dog had injested something that they said would kill him. My boyfriend and I were distraught, he is our baby. they took the pizza guy before checking us in. I had called 3 times before comming in, they complained about that. I did not feel comfortable leaving my baby there. the next day they complained about how much he barked the night before, he has high anxiety and has been abused. he is a rescue. I told them when he gets too anxious, my normal vet has me give him some benadryl, he breaks out in hives and freaks out. they also said he was a very aggressive dog because he growled when they attempted to force feed him charcoal. when i brought him back in that night after being at our hometown vet the nurse tried to shove him onto the scale, he had a cone on his head, he was tired, he was very stressed out. he growled at her when she tried to force him onto the scale, she told me he was unruly and aggressive, SHE FAXED THIS TO MY VET! my vet dissagreed and told me he was under alot of stress. they charged me 100 dollars for a sedative they gave him at 10pm on his chart. I came at 11 pm after work to give him a walk, he was not sleeping, I was there for a 1/2 hour, he wasnt even drowsy. one nurse told me to take him home there was nothing else to do with him, the doctor told me they still had a ton of stuff to do. the doctor critisized me for not taking care of my dogs mange, it was in his file that it was acne, he is on antibiotics and has a shampoo. there was one young woman who was very sweet. the others were condescending and rude. they charged me a large amount of money, i would have paid a million if I had to, I had to apply for care credit because I am 18 and work 40 hours on minimum wage, I was denied because I have no established credit. they refused to give me any advice until I could find a way to give them more money for their time. I was not welcome to call and check on him, I was treated as a hassle. I will NEVER go back here!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I did not feel at all like my dog's life was valued, When I first walked in the door in walked the pizza delivery guy behind us. My dog had injested something that they said would kill him. My boyfriend and I were distraught, he is our baby. they took the pizza guy before checking us in. I had called 3 times before comming in, they complained about that. I did not feel comfortable leaving my baby there. the next day they complained about how much he barked the night before, he has high anxiety and has been abused. he is a rescue. I told them when he gets too anxious, my normal vet has me give him some benadryl, he breaks out in hives and freaks out. they also said he was a very aggressive dog because he growled when they attempted to force feed him charcoal. when i brought him back in that night after being at our hometown vet the nurse tried to shove him onto the scale, he had a cone on his head, he was tired, he was very stressed out. he growled at her when she tried to force him onto the scale, she told me he was unruly and aggressive, SHE FAXED THIS TO MY VET! my vet dissagreed and told me he was under alot of stress. they charged me 100 dollars for a sedative they gave him at 10pm on his chart. I came at 11 pm after work to give him a walk, he was not sleeping, I was there for a 1/2 hour, he wasnt even drowsy. one nurse told me to take him home there was nothing else to do with him, the doctor told me they still had a ton of stuff to do. the doctor critisized me for not taking care of my dogs mange, it was in his file that it was acne, he is on antibiotics and has a shampoo. there was one young woman who was very sweet. the others were condescending and rude. they charged me a large amount of money, i would have paid a million if I had to, I had to apply for care credit because I am 18 and work 40 hours on minimum wage, I was denied because I have no established credit. they refused to give me any advice until I could find a way to give them more money for their time. I was not welcome to call and check on him, I was treated as a hassle. I will NEVER go back here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.
.

I had to bring my little Shih Tzu there because she was having an eye issue that kept recurring. I live 2 hours away and BEV was recommended by my Vet. We found everyone to be so caring and wonderful. They explained everything to me as they were doing it and treated my dog so wonderfully. I would go there again in a heartbeat. It's obvious that they care about animals. As far as price goes, it was a bit more expensive than my vet is but it was totally worth it to see a specialist. Thank you BEVS!

5
★★★★★

I had to bring my little Shih Tzu there because she was having an eye issue that kept recurring. I live 2 hours away and BEV was recommended by my Vet. We found everyone to be so caring and wonderful. They explained everything to me as they were doing it and treated my dog so wonderfully. I would go there again in a heartbeat. It's obvious that they care about animals. As far as price goes, it was a bit more expensive than my vet is but it was totally worth it to see a specialist. Thank you BEVS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are pleased that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us!
.

Last year on Christmas eve my cat (7 years old, healthy) started acting very strange, like he was in a lot of pain, crying noises I've never heard an animal make. My sister and I rush him in around 11 at night and see the vet pretty quickly. They decide he has a bladder blockage, which they remove but keep him overnight. The next day I get a call at 1 am that he is doing better. Around 7 in the morning, I get another call saying he took a turn for the worse. At this point they think he has heart disease and it's already a $1000 bill. I make the call to go in and talk to the vet myself. After discussing the situation, which is that if it his heart disease, we're talking maybe 6 more months to live, as an indoor cat (he was indoor/outdoor, but he LOVED going outside) and another $2000 in expenses for those 6 months. Since this is not something I can afford, I made the difficult decision to put him down, since they were pretty sure. They also said that because of the fluid in his lungs it's either heart disease or cancer, basically a death sentence (at this point they mention if it's a clear liquid, which it turned out to be, it would indicate heart disease). I had him since he was 6 weeks old, he was my first pet and I was incredibly attached. The vet didn't want to put him down, wanted to keep doing more tests. I said I couldn't afford it, so please, I'd like him put down. No, no we should keep doing tests. It's 7 in the morning on Christmas, I'm crying and all this guy cared about was doing more tests, charging more money. I told him if he wanted to take responsibility for my cat and do more tests, then by all means go ahead but I couldn't afford it. I finally had to get hysterical and raise my voice to get anything done. I was incredibly sad, humiliated and my Christmas had been ruined. The vet never once expressed sympathy or condolances. To top it all off, they gave me a hard time about paying with a check. I don't have the words to express how negative my experience with them was. I left humiliated and depressed. I do not have one good thing to say about them, except for one vet tech who tried to comfort me when I was crying. The rest of the staff either ignored or glared at me. They should be ashamed.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Last year on Christmas eve my cat (7 years old, healthy) started acting very strange, like he was in a lot of pain, crying noises I've never heard an animal make. My sister and I rush him in around 11 at night and see the vet pretty quickly. They decide he has a bladder blockage, which they remove but keep him overnight. The next day I get a call at 1 am that he is doing better. Around 7 in the morning, I get another call saying he took a turn for the worse. At this point they think he has heart disease and it's already a $1000 bill. I make the call to go in and talk to the vet myself. After discussing the situation, which is that if it his heart disease, we're talking maybe 6 more months to live, as an indoor cat (he was indoor/outdoor, but he LOVED going outside) and another $2000 in expenses for those 6 months. Since this is not something I can afford, I made the difficult decision to put him down, since they were pretty sure. They also said that because of the fluid in his lungs it's either heart disease or cancer, basically a death sentence (at this point they mention if it's a clear liquid, which it turned out to be, it would indicate heart disease). I had him since he was 6 weeks old, he was my first pet and I was incredibly attached. The vet didn't want to put him down, wanted to keep doing more tests. I said I couldn't afford it, so please, I'd like him put down. No, no we should keep doing tests. It's 7 in the morning on Christmas, I'm crying and all this guy cared about was doing more tests, charging more money. I told him if he wanted to take responsibility for my cat and do more tests, then by all means go ahead but I couldn't afford it. I finally had to get hysterical and raise my voice to get anything done. I was incredibly sad, humiliated and my Christmas had been ruined. The vet never once expressed sympathy or condolances. To top it all off, they gave me a hard time about paying with a check. I don't have the words to express how negative my experience with them was. I left humiliated and depressed. I do not have one good thing to say about them, except for one vet tech who tried to comfort me when I was crying. The rest of the staff either ignored or glared at me. They should be ashamed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.
.

Although we really appreciated their hours and availability to see our sick pet, we were certainly taken back by how rude they were to us. Our pet is quite old and is really not in good health. Instead of being sensitive in this very delicate time, the vet there was extremely judgemental of us, in particular Dr Tom Hecimovich. They ran tons of tests, charged us hundreds of dollars - to find no answers. If your pet is suffering and there is no other place to go, certainly go there. However, if it can be avoided, I would not recommend.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Although we really appreciated their hours and availability to see our sick pet, we were certainly taken back by how rude they were to us. Our pet is quite old and is really not in good health. Instead of being sensitive in this very delicate time, the vet there was extremely judgemental of us, in particular Dr Tom Hecimovich. They ran tons of tests, charged us hundreds of dollars - to find no answers. If your pet is suffering and there is no other place to go, certainly go there. However, if it can be avoided, I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.
.

The place has a price but it is well worth it. All but one staff member was amazing to our dog and us. Our dog is sick with cancer and is not going to make it much longer. Each person that works there knows this and really encouraged us to call when ever we wanted...even just to know how she was doing.

You can call to see if you can stop by and as long as they are not treating something major they said 'come on in'. We could go in the back and sit right in her crate with her for as long as we wanted. 1am or 6am they let us come see her,and we did!

The reason for the higher price tag is your pet is getting 24 hour care. They are right in front of the staff to keep and eye on all day and all night.

4
★★★★☆

The place has a price but it is well worth it. All but one staff member was amazing to our dog and us. Our dog is sick with cancer and is not going to make it much longer. Each person that works there knows this and really encouraged us to call when ever we wanted...even just to know how she was doing.

You can call to see if you can stop by and as long as they are not treating something major they said 'come on in'. We could go in the back and sit right in her crate with her for as long as we wanted. 1am or 6am they let us come see her,and we did!

The reason for the higher price tag is your pet is getting 24 hour care. They are right in front of the staff to keep and eye on all day and all night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are pleased that you had such a positive experience with our caring staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your story.
.

My dog was impaled by an underwater tree in a lake on a hiking trip, and there was a pretty significant time lapse before I could get him off the mountain and to Burlington (the local vet referred me up there for emergency surgery, since he was, incredibly, stable enough to move and would have a full staff up there).

He was given pain medication very quickly, once they assessed him they gave him pain meds and let me stay with him until they'd treated an immediately life-threatening situation with another dog (and let me sit in his cage with him, which was huge, clean, softly bedded, etc.), and continued to let me stay with him, talking to him and patting him, until his anesthesia kicked in.

The vet irrigated out huge pieces of tree, bark, etc., had to cut out large pieces of his shredded muscle, stitched him in three layers, put in a drain, then closed him up with seven staples. When his surgery was done the tech came out and promptly told me how well it had gone and was very sensitive to my feelings both of worry and wishing I could have prevented the accident. The vet came out shortly after that and did the same.

His follow up care was with his regular vet, but the surgery BEVS did has left him with no infection, no problems, no limp, and three weeks later his incision is barely visible.

My experience with BEVS was excellent: he received an extremely high quality of care and was treated with gentleness and compassion, and the staff were communicative and focused on his well-being.

5
★★★★★

My dog was impaled by an underwater tree in a lake on a hiking trip, and there was a pretty significant time lapse before I could get him off the mountain and to Burlington (the local vet referred me up there for emergency surgery, since he was, incredibly, stable enough to move and would have a full staff up there).

He was given pain medication very quickly, once they assessed him they gave him pain meds and let me stay with him until they'd treated an immediately life-threatening situation with another dog (and let me sit in his cage with him, which was huge, clean, softly bedded, etc.), and continued to let me stay with him, talking to him and patting him, until his anesthesia kicked in.

The vet irrigated out huge pieces of tree, bark, etc., had to cut out large pieces of his shredded muscle, stitched him in three layers, put in a drain, then closed him up with seven staples. When his surgery was done the tech came out and promptly told me how well it had gone and was very sensitive to my feelings both of worry and wishing I could have prevented the accident. The vet came out shortly after that and did the same.

His follow up care was with his regular vet, but the surgery BEVS did has left him with no infection, no problems, no limp, and three weeks later his incision is barely visible.

My experience with BEVS was excellent: he received an extremely high quality of care and was treated with gentleness and compassion, and the staff were communicative and focused on his well-being.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are pleased that you had such a positive experience. We are happy to hear your dog healed so quickly! Thank you for taking the time to share your story.
.

Kind, caring, efficient staff. Very reasonable fees for excellent service. Our cat declined rapidly on a Sunday morning. Upon calling our vet's answering service BEVS was recommended. Our cat was taken into an examination room before we even had him all the way through the door. The staff treated us and our cat very kindly and compassionately. The vet and techs we saw gave us all the information we needed to make an informed decision. They also gave us plenty of time to say goodbye without any interruptions or rush. I hope we never have need of their services again, but if we do I wouldn't hesitate to bring my animals there.

5
★★★★★

Kind, caring, efficient staff. Very reasonable fees for excellent service. Our cat declined rapidly on a Sunday morning. Upon calling our vet's answering service BEVS was recommended. Our cat was taken into an examination room before we even had him all the way through the door. The staff treated us and our cat very kindly and compassionately. The vet and techs we saw gave us all the information we needed to make an informed decision. They also gave us plenty of time to say goodbye without any interruptions or rush. I hope we never have need of their services again, but if we do I wouldn't hesitate to bring my animals there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your story, we are sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Glad we could be of service when you needed us.
.

On one of the worst days of my life my best friend (dog) of 12 years had a rapid decline due to cancer. My regular vet's office was closed for the evening, so I went to BEVS. My dog had become paralyzed and was having seizures. The only choice was to euthanize her. The techs and the veterinarian were incredibly professional and compassionate. They explained my options very clearly, gave me advice, responded very rapidly to my dog's distress, gave me as much time as I needed with her after she had died. They all seemed to understand how difficult this was for me, some even had tears in their eyes. They even showed concern for my safety driving home, and made sure that I was in a good condition to drive. It was a terrible situation for me, but the people at BEVS made it as good as it could be. I had great faith in them from the moment I walked in, and they never let me down.

5
★★★★★

On one of the worst days of my life my best friend (dog) of 12 years had a rapid decline due to cancer. My regular vet's office was closed for the evening, so I went to BEVS. My dog had become paralyzed and was having seizures. The only choice was to euthanize her. The techs and the veterinarian were incredibly professional and compassionate. They explained my options very clearly, gave me advice, responded very rapidly to my dog's distress, gave me as much time as I needed with her after she had died. They all seemed to understand how difficult this was for me, some even had tears in their eyes. They even showed concern for my safety driving home, and made sure that I was in a good condition to drive. It was a terrible situation for me, but the people at BEVS made it as good as it could be. I had great faith in them from the moment I walked in, and they never let me down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your story, we are sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Glad we could be of service.
.

I have had to bring my Bernese Mountain Dog to BEVS twice, once after he opened his neutering sutures (about 5 minutes after my regular vet's office closed!) and a second time when he contracted pneumonia.

Each time I was at BEVS I was impressed from start to finish with the
personable, professional service. The waiting room is spotless and
roomy. With the stitches issue, we did not have to wait more than a couple of minutes before being brought to an exam room. The vet tech was very friendly to my dog and the vet (who also attended to us right away) took the time to explain what had to be done (sedate Calvin so he could be restitched) and how long it would take. Because Calvin would be there for a couple of hours, needing time to wake up from sedation following the procedure, I opted to leave and come back. When I phoned to see how he was doing, the vet tech patiently described how Calvin was doing and how well the procedure had gone. Calvin
received the same caring, professional service when he had to stay
overnight because of the pneumonia. I was told I could call at
any time during the night to check on him. Yes, emergency vet
visits are expensive, but I was very appreciative of the service!

More recently, I took a baby cottontail bunny to BEVS which had been
slightly injured. I learned that BEVS does not treat wild animals, but the vet tech gave me a long list of animal rehabilitator names and let me use an office phone line to contact a rehabilitator immediately.

I would not hesitate to use BEVS again, although I hope, for my
animal's sake, I won't have to.

5
★★★★★

I have had to bring my Bernese Mountain Dog to BEVS twice, once after he opened his neutering sutures (about 5 minutes after my regular vet's office closed!) and a second time when he contracted pneumonia.

Each time I was at BEVS I was impressed from start to finish with the
personable, professional service. The waiting room is spotless and
roomy. With the stitches issue, we did not have to wait more than a couple of minutes before being brought to an exam room. The vet tech was very friendly to my dog and the vet (who also attended to us right away) took the time to explain what had to be done (sedate Calvin so he could be restitched) and how long it would take. Because Calvin would be there for a couple of hours, needing time to wake up from sedation following the procedure, I opted to leave and come back. When I phoned to see how he was doing, the vet tech patiently described how Calvin was doing and how well the procedure had gone. Calvin
received the same caring, professional service when he had to stay
overnight because of the pneumonia. I was told I could call at
any time during the night to check on him. Yes, emergency vet
visits are expensive, but I was very appreciative of the service!

More recently, I took a baby cottontail bunny to BEVS which had been
slightly injured. I learned that BEVS does not treat wild animals, but the vet tech gave me a long list of animal rehabilitator names and let me use an office phone line to contact a rehabilitator immediately.

I would not hesitate to use BEVS again, although I hope, for my
animal's sake, I won't have to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are pleased that you have had such positive experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your stories. We hope your bunny is doing well!
.

After dealing with the local vet (Tanenberger) who seemed to not care about our emergency, we called BEVS @ 10:30pm. They took our sick cat right away. Everyone seemed to care deeply about our cat Sebastien who wouldn't eat for a whole week. They took a blood test right away and we had results within a half hour where as Tanenberger screwed up our blood test and wouldn't get our cat in again for a week to take another one. Unfortunatly, the results came back that our 15 year old cat had cancer and he probably was not going to make it for very much longer. The BEVS vet explained our options and was very up front with us and was very sympathetic as well. We left our cat overnight with them to get fluids in hopes that he would bounce back a little. I came back in the next morning @ 8 am to check in on him and give him a little company. To my suprise the vet and her staff stayed with him all night long. They had taken him out of his kennel and played with him too. The atmosphere in the kennel was very pleasant. They maintained a warm temperature in there and had a cd of nature sounds playing in the background to calm the animals, and after I left the room I noticed that one of the staff members was talking to Sebastien and petting him. I was truly impressed with this operation. I only wish that I could find a primary veterinary office that executed at this level. I will definatly recomend this staff again!!

5
★★★★★

After dealing with the local vet (Tanenberger) who seemed to not care about our emergency, we called BEVS @ 10:30pm. They took our sick cat right away. Everyone seemed to care deeply about our cat Sebastien who wouldn't eat for a whole week. They took a blood test right away and we had results within a half hour where as Tanenberger screwed up our blood test and wouldn't get our cat in again for a week to take another one. Unfortunatly, the results came back that our 15 year old cat had cancer and he probably was not going to make it for very much longer. The BEVS vet explained our options and was very up front with us and was very sympathetic as well. We left our cat overnight with them to get fluids in hopes that he would bounce back a little. I came back in the next morning @ 8 am to check in on him and give him a little company. To my suprise the vet and her staff stayed with him all night long. They had taken him out of his kennel and played with him too. The atmosphere in the kennel was very pleasant. They maintained a warm temperature in there and had a cd of nature sounds playing in the background to calm the animals, and after I left the room I noticed that one of the staff members was talking to Sebastien and petting him. I was truly impressed with this operation. I only wish that I could find a primary veterinary office that executed at this level. I will definatly recomend this staff again!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are pleased that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your story.
.

Our 6 year old rottweiler was diagnosed in December 2005 with cancer. We brought him to BEVS on March 6th, 2006 because he was experiencing labored breathing and his gums were pale. He'd lost alot of weight and was pretty lethargic and it was clear that his time left with us was coming to an end. The vet tech didn't want him to lick her face and said to us "I don't allow dogs to lick me. I like cats better." I told the tech that I wanted to pick his remains up at their office.Today is March 13th and I returned home to find my dog's ashes on my porch -in the rain. When I called BEVS to ask them about the mix up I was treated rudely and spoke to the same vet tech we saw the week before .The tech told me "I just don't like dogs to lick my face. Is that okay with you?" I am waiting for the owner to return my call. I can't believe they could be so insensitive and indifferent to someone experiencing a loss such as this.

PROS: Open nights, holidays and weekends for emergencies
CONS: $95.00 to walk in the door. Insensitive and rude vet techs.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Our 6 year old rottweiler was diagnosed in December 2005 with cancer. We brought him to BEVS on March 6th, 2006 because he was experiencing labored breathing and his gums were pale. He'd lost alot of weight and was pretty lethargic and it was clear that his time left with us was coming to an end. The vet tech didn't want him to lick her face and said to us "I don't allow dogs to lick me. I like cats better." I told the tech that I wanted to pick his remains up at their office.Today is March 13th and I returned home to find my dog's ashes on my porch -in the rain. When I called BEVS to ask them about the mix up I was treated rudely and spoke to the same vet tech we saw the week before .The tech told me "I just don't like dogs to lick my face. Is that okay with you?" I am waiting for the owner to return my call. I can't believe they could be so insensitive and indifferent to someone experiencing a loss such as this.

PROS: Open nights, holidays and weekends for emergencies
CONS: $95.00 to walk in the door. Insensitive and rude vet techs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Our doctors and staff of Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists are dedicated to our client??s satisfaction and the health of their pets. We welcome you to contact us directly to further address your specific concerns. Please feel free to contact our Publicity Coordinator at, whitbier@bevsvt.com.

More about Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists

You and your pet will benefit from the collaboration of our Internal Medicine, Surgery and 24/7 Emergency departments. Board-certified radiologists are available 24/7 for consultation on radiographs. We offer advanced procedures including but not limited to ultrasound, TPLO, orthopedic and soft tissue surgery, radioiodine (131I) therapy, rhinoscopy, endoscopy, arthroscopy and laparoscopy. We are the only hospital in Chittenden County with a veterinarian and certified technicians on premise 24/7 so your pet will never be left alone. Our board-certified internal medicine specialist and surgeon are available by appointment Monday through Thursday 8AM??5PM.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Burlington Emergency & Veterinary Specialists, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review