Best Move

★★★★☆
  • 801 Mitchell Road, Unit 108

    Newberry Park, CA 91320

    Map & Directions
  • 805-375-2797

About Best Move

Hours
Sun 10am-2pm, Mon-Fri 8:30am-5:30pm, Sat 9am-3pm

Personal Services

Personal Services
More choices in Newberry Park:
Resultset_next

Anderson Carpet-Uphlstry Clnng

4725 Elderberry Ave Moorpark, CA

Resultset_next

Heaven's Best Carpet Cleaning Ventura CA

5235 Mission Oaks Blvd PMB145 Camarillo, CA

4.3333 6
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Best Move was?
Write a Review
.

In July of this year my family moved from Santa Barbara, CA to Spokane, WA. We decided to go with a moving company named "Movebuilder." They contract local movers to load a trailer and charge by the linear foot used in the trailer. We had some doubts about this arrangement but found out that Best Move would be doing the loading. We checked them out on BBB and found they had an A+ rating, so we decided to go ahead. In the end, it turned out to be a nightmare.

Gary Giordano (the nephew of the owner Lyn Maher) called me a couple days before the move. He was unaware that his movers were also going to pack us, as well as load the trailer. He was confident his guys - Stuart Hogg & Cliff Palmer - could do the job in one day. I informed him our small 2 bedroom apartment was literally overflowing with our belongings with little room to walk. In the end it took Stuart and Cliff two days to pack and load the trailer, and by the end of the second day, they were tired. By that time they had stopping wrapping things carefully. The trailer was loaded quickly leaving large holes where things could move around. By the time the trailer arrived in WA, there was at least $1000.00 of damage to our belongings.

But this wasn't the worst of it. Because they were rushed and didn't take the time to load the trailer properly, they ended up putting some of our belongings in front of the bulkhead. Movebuilder, in turn, charged us for the full 28 linear feet, instead of 16. Movebuilder charged us an additional $2289.39 for the extra 12 linear feet that was filled with only a few items (worth a couple hundred dollars at most) that could have been packed behind the bulkhead if the movers had taken their time and were properly prepared for the size of the move.

We are still in dispute with Movebuilder over these charges and requested that Best Move write us a letter stating that his movers - Stuart Hogg and Cliff Palmer - were at fault and also to pay for damages to our property. Over the course of 7 weeks, from July 22 to September 9, I called Best Move 18 times. They did not answer the phone once, even though they have 3 phone numbers listed on their website. I received 2 call backs from Gary Giordano. On July 26 Gary apologized for the situation with Movebuilder and his exact words were, "we are to blame" and "obviously our guy did it." He called again on August 11 to inform us that they were sending a check for $300.00, which they did. At that time I asked for a letter of support that I could submit to our credit card company showing that Best Move was accepting the blame (not necessarily financially). Gary Giordano said he would have Lyn Maher (the owner) write the letter. A month passed by and no letter. After August 11 their were 8 unanswered calls to Best Move and emails to the address on their website - but no response at all from Best Move.

So I submitted a complaint to the BBB, but in the end Lyn Maher was unwilling to write the letter that could save us $2289.39. Lyn Maher handled the BBB complaint himself, but he never had the decency to return a phone call and get the story directly from me. His understanding of the situation is filtered through second hand information from Gary Giordano and Stuart Hogg.

In the end, I cannot recommend Best Move. Why? Poor customer service, unanswered phone calls and emails, lack of preparation and bad decision making by the movers, and an unwillingness to write a one page letter that could save us $2289.39. In my opinion, Best Move is certainly not an A+ company.

1
★☆☆☆☆

In July of this year my family moved from Santa Barbara, CA to Spokane, WA. We decided to go with a moving company named "Movebuilder." They contract local movers to load a trailer and charge by the linear foot used in the trailer. We had some doubts about this arrangement but found out that Best Move would be doing the loading. We checked them out on BBB and found they had an A+ rating, so we decided to go ahead. In the end, it turned out to be a nightmare.

Gary Giordano (the nephew of the owner Lyn Maher) called me a couple days before the move. He was unaware that his movers were also going to pack us, as well as load the trailer. He was confident his guys - Stuart Hogg & Cliff Palmer - could do the job in one day. I informed him our small 2 bedroom apartment was literally overflowing with our belongings with little room to walk. In the end it took Stuart and Cliff two days to pack and load the trailer, and by the end of the second day, they were tired. By that time they had stopping wrapping things carefully. The trailer was loaded quickly leaving large holes where things could move around. By the time the trailer arrived in WA, there was at least $1000.00 of damage to our belongings.

But this wasn't the worst of it. Because they were rushed and didn't take the time to load the trailer properly, they ended up putting some of our belongings in front of the bulkhead. Movebuilder, in turn, charged us for the full 28 linear feet, instead of 16. Movebuilder charged us an additional $2289.39 for the extra 12 linear feet that was filled with only a few items (worth a couple hundred dollars at most) that could have been packed behind the bulkhead if the movers had taken their time and were properly prepared for the size of the move.

We are still in dispute with Movebuilder over these charges and requested that Best Move write us a letter stating that his movers - Stuart Hogg and Cliff Palmer - were at fault and also to pay for damages to our property. Over the course of 7 weeks, from July 22 to September 9, I called Best Move 18 times. They did not answer the phone once, even though they have 3 phone numbers listed on their website. I received 2 call backs from Gary Giordano. On July 26 Gary apologized for the situation with Movebuilder and his exact words were, "we are to blame" and "obviously our guy did it." He called again on August 11 to inform us that they were sending a check for $300.00, which they did. At that time I asked for a letter of support that I could submit to our credit card company showing that Best Move was accepting the blame (not necessarily financially). Gary Giordano said he would have Lyn Maher (the owner) write the letter. A month passed by and no letter. After August 11 their were 8 unanswered calls to Best Move and emails to the address on their website - but no response at all from Best Move.

So I submitted a complaint to the BBB, but in the end Lyn Maher was unwilling to write the letter that could save us $2289.39. Lyn Maher handled the BBB complaint himself, but he never had the decency to return a phone call and get the story directly from me. His understanding of the situation is filtered through second hand information from Gary Giordano and Stuart Hogg.

In the end, I cannot recommend Best Move. Why? Poor customer service, unanswered phone calls and emails, lack of preparation and bad decision making by the movers, and an unwillingness to write a one page letter that could save us $2289.39. In my opinion, Best Move is certainly not an A+ company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

This is the 4th time that I have responded to this complaint. As I said before, when we do a move through Movebuilder we are only responsible for performing the labor that Movebuilder schedules us to do. We never get involved in planning directly with the customer, because they are Movebuilder's customer and we work for Movebuilder on these moves. (probably about 10% of our monthly business is provided by Movebuilder, so on their moves they are our bosses!) So if Movebuilder only scheduled loading service and NOT packing service that's all we were aware of. If we subsequently find out that packing service is needed then we will go out of our way to get it done.....as we did! In regard to the items put in front of the bulkhead, Stuart had loaded what he thought was the last piece of furniture and before he put the bulkhead in place he asked the customer if he had gotten everything and he said YES, so he put the bulkhead in place and thought the load was complete and started to leave when this customer told him there were still a few pieces on the porch, so he put those pieces in front of the bulkhead as we had done several times on past loads with no problems. Some days later we find that there was a problem and addressed it at best we could. This was a misunderstanding that we felt "somewhat" responsible for so at the request of Movebuilder we sent this customer a check for $300. He subsequently asked me to write a letter saying that we were TOTALLY responsible for the problem which would make us 100% responsible for the $2289.39. I told him I would write a letter admitting partial responsibility and he said that wasn't enough. I said I was sorry and told him my offer still stands. As it still does today. I have answered this complaint several times and I feel like this is now bordering on harassment. Please discontinue these reviews Ken! Lyn Steven Maher Owner BEST MOVE Edit - Delete
.

Best Move was really good! They confirmed the moving date with us two days before (which put my mind at ease) and were always there when I called with questions. On the day of the move they showed up on time and worked quickly! My husband and I were blown away at how strong they were. We had a huge, two dog, dog house in the back yard, that we thought we would have to break into pieces to get out to the truck, but Frank and Al lifted it over there heads and walked out through the gate to the front yard (I wouldn't of believed it if I hadn't seen them do it.....amazing!) We are very happy! Thanks

5
★★★★★

Best Move was really good! They confirmed the moving date with us two days before (which put my mind at ease) and were always there when I called with questions. On the day of the move they showed up on time and worked quickly! My husband and I were blown away at how strong they were. We had a huge, two dog, dog house in the back yard, that we thought we would have to break into pieces to get out to the truck, but Frank and Al lifted it over there heads and walked out through the gate to the front yard (I wouldn't of believed it if I hadn't seen them do it.....amazing!) We are very happy! Thanks

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We moved within Newbury Park and were looking for a local moving company and we found a really great company that happened to be family owned and honest.\r
\r
They bent over backwards to make us happy and they did! I can't say enough about

3
★★★★★

We moved within Newbury Park and were looking for a local moving company and we found a really great company that happened to be family owned and honest.\r
\r
They bent over backwards to make us happy and they did! I can't say enough about

.

They just helped us move a few heavy pieces of furniture from upstairs to downstairs but what I didn't know was that they do carpet & upholstery cleaning also. They came back later that same day and cleaned a couple of rooms of carpet and what blew us away was that they cleaned a sofa (that we were considering throwing away!) and brought it back to life!
Thank you BEST MOVE

Larry and Cathy S. Wood Ranch, CA

4
★★★★☆

They just helped us move a few heavy pieces of furniture from upstairs to downstairs but what I didn't know was that they do carpet & upholstery cleaning also. They came back later that same day and cleaned a couple of rooms of carpet and what blew us away was that they cleaned a sofa (that we were considering throwing away!) and brought it back to life!
Thank you BEST MOVE

Larry and Cathy S. Wood Ranch, CA

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Best Move did a fantastic job! They moved me from Moorpark to Westlake Village and hustled and got it done fast but also were very careful at the same time. The thing that impressed me the most was the way they handled my 65" LCD TV. First they put a huge flannel cover over it and then shrink wrapped around that and then they put it in a cart and rolled it out to the truck. When they got to our new house they just rolled it out unwrapped it and put it on the entertainment center. They didn't ding me for the cost of a crate that another company told me I would need. I'm very happy and would definitly use them again!

5
★★★★★

Best Move did a fantastic job! They moved me from Moorpark to Westlake Village and hustled and got it done fast but also were very careful at the same time. The thing that impressed me the most was the way they handled my 65" LCD TV. First they put a huge flannel cover over it and then shrink wrapped around that and then they put it in a cart and rolled it out to the truck. When they got to our new house they just rolled it out unwrapped it and put it on the entertainment center. They didn't ding me for the cost of a crate that another company told me I would need. I'm very happy and would definitly use them again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I spoke to Lyn (I think he's the owner) on the phone and he was unbelievably patient with me and my wife and answered all our questions. The Best Move crew was great!!! They were on time and did everything we asked them to do. It was such a relief when we saw that they knew what they were doing and they hustled.The move took less time than Lyn had estimated. One thing that my wife was concerned about was how they would move our mattress without getting it dirty........We were pleased to find out that they supply mattress bags, at no adittional charge, that they put the mattresses in to keep them clean. We have already recommended Best Move to 2 of our friends and they were happy as well!Best Move gets an A+ in our books!

2
★★★★★

I spoke to Lyn (I think he's the owner) on the phone and he was unbelievably patient with me and my wife and answered all our questions. The Best Move crew was great!!! They were on time and did everything we asked them to do. It was such a relief when we saw that they knew what they were doing and they hustled.The move took less time than Lyn had estimated. One thing that my wife was concerned about was how they would move our mattress without getting it dirty........We were pleased to find out that they supply mattress bags, at no adittional charge, that they put the mattresses in to keep them clean. We have already recommended Best Move to 2 of our friends and they were happy as well!Best Move gets an A+ in our books!

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Best Move, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review