The Orrmont

★★★☆☆
We provide an outdoor/tent facility for weddings and receptions. As such we are by appointment only so as not to intrude on someone's wedding or rehearsal.

About The Orrmont

Categories
  • Banquet Rooms
  • Reception Centers
  • Religious Organizations
  • Wedding Sites
2.6667 3
Hi! Sign in to let us know how The Orrmont was?
Write a Review
.

If you enjoy additional stress and an added layer of planning complexity to your special day then this venue is the place for you. The estate is beautiful which is the reason that we selected the location. They owners take good care of the lawn and trees to make it look great. The downside to the venue is the owners are not understanding or compromising one bit. They seem to have no inspiration to actually hold weddings at their house and don??t make you feel comfortable and relaxed. They have tight restrictions on the hours of operations for decorating the day before and day of your wedding. Many vendors from our wedding said they would never do business with a wedding party that at the Orrmont. I would recommend going to another location that is more accommodating and understanding as a business, you might fall in love with the beauty a year out from your date, but will be dissatisfied leading up to your wedding day.

2
★★☆☆☆

If you enjoy additional stress and an added layer of planning complexity to your special day then this venue is the place for you. The estate is beautiful which is the reason that we selected the location. They owners take good care of the lawn and trees to make it look great. The downside to the venue is the owners are not understanding or compromising one bit. They seem to have no inspiration to actually hold weddings at their house and don??t make you feel comfortable and relaxed. They have tight restrictions on the hours of operations for decorating the day before and day of your wedding. Many vendors from our wedding said they would never do business with a wedding party that at the Orrmont. I would recommend going to another location that is more accommodating and understanding as a business, you might fall in love with the beauty a year out from your date, but will be dissatisfied leading up to your wedding day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Brad O. thank you for your honest review, though we don't recognize you as a groom? We, at The Orrmont Estate, lay out what we will do and put it in the contract. Unfortunately, people often expect beyond what is included in the contract. The contract clearly states the time for decorating as well as the event, and what to do if you require more time. If you aren't comfortable with the terms of the contract and aren't willing to abide by it, then the agreement should have never been entered, and a more suitable location found. We do not pressure anyone into booking with us and are very realistic in what we provide, even when "selling" to a bride. We want a great experience for the bride and groom, not to mention the guests and us as well. We do what we can to make that happen. It saddens us when people hold us to a standard that we never agreed to provide, and then review us poorly due to their unrealistic expectations.
.

WoW! What a wonderful time we had just this past weekend having my daughters wedding at The Orrmont Estate 10-4-08. Tim and Janelle were so professional and just went I would have a question there Tim was. He seemed to appear just when I needed him. He even asked me what I wanted him to wear. Tim directed the traffic and made sure anyone with disabilities had no problem getting around. I was very happy with every aspect of having my daughters wedding outside at the Estate. We had several strange requests and Tim and Janelle both had help full suggestions that made my stress just disappear. They were more than willing to help with any situation that was presented. We had an ice cream machine and a very big wooden wall/backdrop that were excepted with no problem. We were blessed with beautiful weather and just in case we could have had the ceremony in the tent. Our wedding guest (all 220 of them) were just amazed that a place so beautiful was hiding in little old Piqua Ohio. I was asked several times how did you find this place....the Internet. Not only will I recommend The Orrmont but so will my wedding guests. As a matter of fact I came home tonight to a message on my recorder from someone who know someone who came to our wedding and they wanted Tim and Janelle's phone number. I will say You Both Pleased ME and my Family and guests with your welcoming attitude. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. But most importantly the Bride had a wonderful experience with no Drama. What more can you ask for on such an emotion filled day. Thanks Tim and Janelle for your part in making my daughters day so beautiful and calm.

5
★★★★★

WoW! What a wonderful time we had just this past weekend having my daughters wedding at The Orrmont Estate 10-4-08. Tim and Janelle were so professional and just went I would have a question there Tim was. He seemed to appear just when I needed him. He even asked me what I wanted him to wear. Tim directed the traffic and made sure anyone with disabilities had no problem getting around. I was very happy with every aspect of having my daughters wedding outside at the Estate. We had several strange requests and Tim and Janelle both had help full suggestions that made my stress just disappear. They were more than willing to help with any situation that was presented. We had an ice cream machine and a very big wooden wall/backdrop that were excepted with no problem. We were blessed with beautiful weather and just in case we could have had the ceremony in the tent. Our wedding guest (all 220 of them) were just amazed that a place so beautiful was hiding in little old Piqua Ohio. I was asked several times how did you find this place....the Internet. Not only will I recommend The Orrmont but so will my wedding guests. As a matter of fact I came home tonight to a message on my recorder from someone who know someone who came to our wedding and they wanted Tim and Janelle's phone number. I will say You Both Pleased ME and my Family and guests with your welcoming attitude. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. But most importantly the Bride had a wonderful experience with no Drama. What more can you ask for on such an emotion filled day. Thanks Tim and Janelle for your part in making my daughters day so beautiful and calm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! We so enjoyed your group! Each wedding is different (like the ice cream machine-who knew?) and we love to be a part of helping making it a special day for the bridal party and family. Thanks for the glowing review!
.

This is where my husband and I were married. We were extremely unhappy with the lack of services they provided. This is husband wife team who actually live at the estate. They were rude to us and to our DJs. They were very picky about everything we wanted to do. Our DJs have claimed that they will never return to the Orrmont for another gig.
I, my husband, and our families stayed to clean up after the wedding. They charged us extra time for cleaning up and extra money later claiming that there was still thrash everywhere. Don't plan on getting your deposit back.
On top of that, we paid extra in advance for them to hire extra help because our wedding was large. We found out later that they did not hire extra help and in fact one of them left for several hours while we were there. Our other help (caterers, photographer, and DJs) had to help with the basic services that the Orrmont staff was supposed to supply.
The property had a back hoe and a large old truck sitting for sale right outside the entrance to the estate and nothing was done about it until they sold.
Although it is a place to get married outside, there is no real landscaping on the property. The pond in front of the house was smelly and had a layer of green algae covering it. All the vegetation is overgrown and very old. There are also poisonous vines (ivy and Virginia creeper) lining the walking path from the parking lot to the house.
The bathrooms aren't completely finished; there is not an ice machine to use on really hot days. There isn't even a room for the bride to change other than the small bathroom.
I would never recommend the Orrmont. There service was terrible, they were rude, the grounds really aren't as impressive as they should be for the price, and they find ways to charge extra money by taking advantage of their clients' special day.
Find a better place.

It took the owners over a year to respond to this review. They are slow, unorganized, and unconcerned about their clients' satisfaction.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This is where my husband and I were married. We were extremely unhappy with the lack of services they provided. This is husband wife team who actually live at the estate. They were rude to us and to our DJs. They were very picky about everything we wanted to do. Our DJs have claimed that they will never return to the Orrmont for another gig.
I, my husband, and our families stayed to clean up after the wedding. They charged us extra time for cleaning up and extra money later claiming that there was still thrash everywhere. Don't plan on getting your deposit back.
On top of that, we paid extra in advance for them to hire extra help because our wedding was large. We found out later that they did not hire extra help and in fact one of them left for several hours while we were there. Our other help (caterers, photographer, and DJs) had to help with the basic services that the Orrmont staff was supposed to supply.
The property had a back hoe and a large old truck sitting for sale right outside the entrance to the estate and nothing was done about it until they sold.
Although it is a place to get married outside, there is no real landscaping on the property. The pond in front of the house was smelly and had a layer of green algae covering it. All the vegetation is overgrown and very old. There are also poisonous vines (ivy and Virginia creeper) lining the walking path from the parking lot to the house.
The bathrooms aren't completely finished; there is not an ice machine to use on really hot days. There isn't even a room for the bride to change other than the small bathroom.
I would never recommend the Orrmont. There service was terrible, they were rude, the grounds really aren't as impressive as they should be for the price, and they find ways to charge extra money by taking advantage of their clients' special day.
Find a better place.

It took the owners over a year to respond to this review. They are slow, unorganized, and unconcerned about their clients' satisfaction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

A Grain of Salt... Unfortunately, everyone is not happy all the time, although we do try. Our decision to charge for extra time as stated in our contract is sometimes held against us, as in this case (over two extra hours were used and we charged for only one). Most of her complaints are exaggerated at best, so take the review with a grain of salt! We are very upfront about what services we provide so prospective brides and grooms can make an informed decision on whether or not we are the right venue for them. We want the bride & groom to be happy with their choice, no matter who it is. We have had their DJ back since this wedding-they enjoy coming out and they have no issues with us.

Message from The Orrmont

Dates fill up fast so call early!

More about The Orrmont

In our package we provide the facility with restrooms, tables, chairs, 5-8 pm on Friday for rehearsal, decorating, etc. and eight hours on Saturday. We also set up the tables and chairs for you so all you do is decorate.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used The Orrmont, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review