Tu Casa Restaurant

★★★☆☆
  • 11905 Metropolitan Ave

    Kew Gardens, NY 11415

    Map & Directions
  • 718-441-6363

About Tu Casa Restaurant

Hours
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:30 pm, Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Food

Food
More choices in Kew Gardens:
Resultset_next

Ivo & Lulu

558 Broome St New York, NY

Resultset_next

Boca Chica

13 1st Ave New York, NY

3.25 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Tu Casa Restaurant was?
Write a Review
.

forget the tip, just don't go. hated it.

3
★★★★★

forget the tip, just don't go. hated it.

.

My fiance and I had just moved to the area and wanted to try Tu Casa for dinner One night. THE SERVICE WAS THE WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. The food was TERRIBLE. The prices would be reasonable if they actually served FOOD and not the burnt slab of something they called steak. I joined this website just to write this review because honestly, 100 PERCENT of the experience was horrible. I hope the $2 tip i gave the waitress on our 80 dollar bill helped her realize how much she sucked. Thanks! DONT GO THERE!

0
★☆☆☆☆

My fiance and I had just moved to the area and wanted to try Tu Casa for dinner One night. THE SERVICE WAS THE WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. The food was TERRIBLE. The prices would be reasonable if they actually served FOOD and not the burnt slab of something they called steak. I joined this website just to write this review because honestly, 100 PERCENT of the experience was horrible. I hope the $2 tip i gave the waitress on our 80 dollar bill helped her realize how much she sucked. Thanks! DONT GO THERE!

.

I purchased a Restaurantdot gift certificate for a friend 3 weeks ago. Tu Casa would not honor the certificate last week even though they are still selling the same gift certificates on the resturantdot web site! I tried emailing the restaurant itself and restaurantdot.I have received no response from Tu Casa!!! Restaurantdot was very responsive and issued me another free certifcate in place of the one for Tu Casa. You can bet I WILL NEVER visit Tu Casa and will be sure to tell everyone I know of their ridiculously poor service!!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I purchased a Restaurantdot gift certificate for a friend 3 weeks ago. Tu Casa would not honor the certificate last week even though they are still selling the same gift certificates on the resturantdot web site! I tried emailing the restaurant itself and restaurantdot.I have received no response from Tu Casa!!! Restaurantdot was very responsive and issued me another free certifcate in place of the one for Tu Casa. You can bet I WILL NEVER visit Tu Casa and will be sure to tell everyone I know of their ridiculously poor service!!!!

.

Would not recommend this place to anyone. Went to have my birthday dinner at this restaurant, food is good,service was ok until the end. I had a $25 gift certificate from restaurantcom and when it was applied to the bill they charged me 40% gratuity and they tried to explain to me that, that was there policy. Even the owner tried to explain to me that they automatically charge you 20% for a party of 6 or more people and additional 20% for using the gift certificate. Of course I was not going to pay that much so I had to argue with them before they took it off. Very unprofessional, the waitress just tried to rip me off and the manager was in agreeance with her. DOn't bother going there not worth the headache. I was not trying to get anything for free and also not trying to pay more than what I had to. Its a shame because just for trying to be slick they lost a hand full of customers. God only knows how many other people they have done this scheme to.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Would not recommend this place to anyone. Went to have my birthday dinner at this restaurant, food is good,service was ok until the end. I had a $25 gift certificate from restaurantcom and when it was applied to the bill they charged me 40% gratuity and they tried to explain to me that, that was there policy. Even the owner tried to explain to me that they automatically charge you 20% for a party of 6 or more people and additional 20% for using the gift certificate. Of course I was not going to pay that much so I had to argue with them before they took it off. Very unprofessional, the waitress just tried to rip me off and the manager was in agreeance with her. DOn't bother going there not worth the headache. I was not trying to get anything for free and also not trying to pay more than what I had to. Its a shame because just for trying to be slick they lost a hand full of customers. God only knows how many other people they have done this scheme to.

.

I've been here a few times, with my father and with my girlfriend. The service has been friendly. While parking right in front might be hard to find, parking might be found further east. Yet, this is not as busy a restaurant zone of Metropolitan Avenue immediately west and east of Forest Park. Bus service is easy, as the frequent Q10 Lefferts Boulevard bus is half a block away.\n\nThe cuisine is Ecuadoran/Peruvian, you're more likely to find steak or fish here, rather than Mexican fare.\nThe soups are tasty, and meat and fish dishes have been cooked to our satisfaction, tasty as well, with interesting sauces.\nIt's nice that you can come on a weekend night and there is not a long wait to be seated. The place is a neighborhood places, with couples and families.\nThe owner or manager was one night at the bar, and on a quieter night he gently said that he hoped that we enjoyed our meal. I thought that was a nice personal touch. We''ll definitely be back.\n

2
★★★★☆

I've been here a few times, with my father and with my girlfriend. The service has been friendly. While parking right in front might be hard to find, parking might be found further east. Yet, this is not as busy a restaurant zone of Metropolitan Avenue immediately west and east of Forest Park. Bus service is easy, as the frequent Q10 Lefferts Boulevard bus is half a block away.\n\nThe cuisine is Ecuadoran/Peruvian, you're more likely to find steak or fish here, rather than Mexican fare.\nThe soups are tasty, and meat and fish dishes have been cooked to our satisfaction, tasty as well, with interesting sauces.\nIt's nice that you can come on a weekend night and there is not a long wait to be seated. The place is a neighborhood places, with couples and families.\nThe owner or manager was one night at the bar, and on a quieter night he gently said that he hoped that we enjoyed our meal. I thought that was a nice personal touch. We''ll definitely be back.\n

Pros: Terrific food, food is served quickly

Cons: You might need to park a block away.

.

From the spanish style decor to the tasty and luscious sangria Tu Casa has something for everyone to LOVE! \r\n\r\nThe owners are extremely attentive and super friendly. The staff is always smiling and always on their toes making sure that you have everything you need. \r\n\r\nThe rotisserie chicken here is to die for and their special green sauce tastes good on anything from the delcicious colombian sausage with tostones to the incredible flavor packed skirt steak. \r\n\r\nThe Sangria is probably one of the top 3 in NYC period and their wide selection of latin american and american beers is clutch when hanging with friends.\r\n\r\nThe atmosphere is warm, friendly and very super cozy which in turn keeps us there for hours at a time and always makes our meals an amazing time.\r\n\r\nIf you are ever in the Kew Gardens area of Queens then you should definitely check this gem out!

2
★★★★★

From the spanish style decor to the tasty and luscious sangria Tu Casa has something for everyone to LOVE! \r\n\r\nThe owners are extremely attentive and super friendly. The staff is always smiling and always on their toes making sure that you have everything you need. \r\n\r\nThe rotisserie chicken here is to die for and their special green sauce tastes good on anything from the delcicious colombian sausage with tostones to the incredible flavor packed skirt steak. \r\n\r\nThe Sangria is probably one of the top 3 in NYC period and their wide selection of latin american and american beers is clutch when hanging with friends.\r\n\r\nThe atmosphere is warm, friendly and very super cozy which in turn keeps us there for hours at a time and always makes our meals an amazing time.\r\n\r\nIf you are ever in the Kew Gardens area of Queens then you should definitely check this gem out!

Pros: Best Sangria and Skirt Steak in Queens!

Cons: no liquor but they have beer, sangria and wine!

.

I was there for Mother' s day with my daughter and everything was fine except the service. The owner is polite and attentive, he was nice enough to go around giving roses to the clients and I was so happy to get one, it was a special gesture. \r\nSince I'm Peruvian, I usually order Peruvian dishes, the food here is good, better than other places that offer Peruvian food; okay, not great authentic Peruvian but good enough considering is very hard to find fresh and authentic Peruvian food in NYC. \r\nI heard the steaks and grilled items are awesome.\r\nThe place was not very crowded but the waitress came to our table with an annoyed look in her face, \r\nShe did not greet us or even respond to my greeting and smile, she took the order, and walked away without saying anything not to come back to our table again. The server brought the food and \r\nwhen I needed to order something else she was too busy with other tables. It looked very clearly to me that she did not pay attention to us because it was only my daughter and I. All the other tables she paid so much attention to had couples and children. \r\nThey have a lot of take out orders leaving the restaurant. I wonder if this has anything to do with the service. With improved service, this restaurant has a lot of potential. \r\n

1
★★★☆☆

I was there for Mother' s day with my daughter and everything was fine except the service. The owner is polite and attentive, he was nice enough to go around giving roses to the clients and I was so happy to get one, it was a special gesture. \r\nSince I'm Peruvian, I usually order Peruvian dishes, the food here is good, better than other places that offer Peruvian food; okay, not great authentic Peruvian but good enough considering is very hard to find fresh and authentic Peruvian food in NYC. \r\nI heard the steaks and grilled items are awesome.\r\nThe place was not very crowded but the waitress came to our table with an annoyed look in her face, \r\nShe did not greet us or even respond to my greeting and smile, she took the order, and walked away without saying anything not to come back to our table again. The server brought the food and \r\nwhen I needed to order something else she was too busy with other tables. It looked very clearly to me that she did not pay attention to us because it was only my daughter and I. All the other tables she paid so much attention to had couples and children. \r\nThey have a lot of take out orders leaving the restaurant. I wonder if this has anything to do with the service. With improved service, this restaurant has a lot of potential. \r\n

Pros: great food,

Cons: no booths, unfriendly waitress.

.

TU Casa is a great place if you're in the mood for some real good spanish home cooking. It is no where near being mexican. They have a great array of dishes for all eaters. I can't say one bad thing about this place. Well except the chicken soup is cooked just like grandma's, it's got all of the chicken in there...LOL... i'm just spoiled and dont care for bones and such. I would highly recommend this place. o and order a pitcher of Sangria!

2
★★★★★

TU Casa is a great place if you're in the mood for some real good spanish home cooking. It is no where near being mexican. They have a great array of dishes for all eaters. I can't say one bad thing about this place. Well except the chicken soup is cooked just like grandma's, it's got all of the chicken in there...LOL... i'm just spoiled and dont care for bones and such. I would highly recommend this place. o and order a pitcher of Sangria!

Pros: Delicious ~ Great Staff ~ Price

Cons: Singer/Keyboard player

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Tu Casa Restaurant, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review