Santa Barbara Consignment

★★★★☆
34.4208 -119.698
Map and Directions to Santa Barbara Consignment Company

805-568-1425

530 State St, Unit D Where La Sumida Nursery Used To Be.

Santa Barbara, CA

93101

Get Directions Photos

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Santa Barbara:
Resultset_next

Opportunity Shop

516 E Gutierrez St # C Santa Barbara, CA

Resultset_next

Robin Jones Appraisal Svc Antq

402 Plaza Rubio Santa Barbara, CA

4.0435 23
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Santa Barbara Consignment was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 23 of 23.
.

Im not sure what all the fuss is about with these negative Nelly's. This store would not have survived so long if they didn't have great customer service and great selection/prices. They always have time to greet me, they remember what is happening in my life etc. I think there are just people out there who are all about themselves, when you read their reviews it's me me me I I I. Yikes! These gals run an incredibly hard to manage shop with hundreds and hundreds of consignors and I've never heard a bad thing from my friends or anyone else I've told. I hope they stay in business here in town! They are a local institution and have a great business model! Good luck with the "crazy ones"!!!

5
★★★★★

Im not sure what all the fuss is about with these negative Nelly's. This store would not have survived so long if they didn't have great customer service and great selection/prices. They always have time to greet me, they remember what is happening in my life etc. I think there are just people out there who are all about themselves, when you read their reviews it's me me me I I I. Yikes! These gals run an incredibly hard to manage shop with hundreds and hundreds of consignors and I've never heard a bad thing from my friends or anyone else I've told. I hope they stay in business here in town! They are a local institution and have a great business model! Good luck with the "crazy ones"!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I went in to deliver some merchandise and a very rude young man was at the desk. Rather than saying hello and asking me what he could do for me, he reluctantly asked me if I was a member? He seemed very put out that I was even there and trying to do business with him. Then he said I would have to fill out the paperwork to become a member and proceeded to go through all the don'ts of their contract...they don't contact you when something is sold...they don't contact when your contract is expired...there don't take things without an email photo and there is a waiting list. He then told me to bring my items in from the car and unload them and take off any stickers that were left from my garage sale....and mind you he didn't offer to help or be of any assistance whatsoever!! I then got a phone call that they didn't take bedding anymore and had to go back the next day to pick it up..again without any assistance from him or the other employee working. I will never step foot in there again and think they have a very bad attitude for a retail store that depends on local business.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I went in to deliver some merchandise and a very rude young man was at the desk. Rather than saying hello and asking me what he could do for me, he reluctantly asked me if I was a member? He seemed very put out that I was even there and trying to do business with him. Then he said I would have to fill out the paperwork to become a member and proceeded to go through all the don'ts of their contract...they don't contact you when something is sold...they don't contact when your contract is expired...there don't take things without an email photo and there is a waiting list. He then told me to bring my items in from the car and unload them and take off any stickers that were left from my garage sale....and mind you he didn't offer to help or be of any assistance whatsoever!! I then got a phone call that they didn't take bedding anymore and had to go back the next day to pick it up..again without any assistance from him or the other employee working. I will never step foot in there again and think they have a very bad attitude for a retail store that depends on local business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The owner was very rude. I looked up the company's website. It says that no appointment is needed to bring in items. When I brought in some items, the store only had one customer and the owner was just talking to an employee about a topic unrelated to the business. The first thing the owner said to me was she did not have time to look at my items and I needed to come back some other time. The nice employee said he would look through my items, but the owner said "no", I could just come back. I won't be going back.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The owner was very rude. I looked up the company's website. It says that no appointment is needed to bring in items. When I brought in some items, the store only had one customer and the owner was just talking to an employee about a topic unrelated to the business. The first thing the owner said to me was she did not have time to look at my items and I needed to come back some other time. The nice employee said he would look through my items, but the owner said "no", I could just come back. I won't be going back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

UPDATE: just like I said, they are combative and insulting to anyone that voices their opinion about them, and I think I found out why. With some help with a friend with the S.B. Courts, I found two liens on them for breaking their lease (twice) in excess of over 200K!! Turns out, they open up, make some money, then skip on the rent. That will catch up with them sooner or latter and I for one, am glad I will have nothing in their store when the court comes to collect. :Original post: I've been in this store a few times and I finally gave up. How are they even still in business? One of the owners, the older lady, seems to be waiting for a confrontation with anyone. The four or five times I've been in there, I've seen it actually happen twice. I read on here the owner saying "odd ducks and drunks", but these people I saw did not seem odd or drunk. One thing that points to there attitude problems and lack of respect for their customers is there response to the negative reviews. It's never we are sorry, we will do better, it's your wrong, odd or drunk? Combative and shifty, that is how I discribe these people. Shop elsewhere.

1
★☆☆☆☆

UPDATE: just like I said, they are combative and insulting to anyone that voices their opinion about them, and I think I found out why. With some help with a friend with the S.B. Courts, I found two liens on them for breaking their lease (twice) in excess of over 200K!! Turns out, they open up, make some money, then skip on the rent. That will catch up with them sooner or latter and I for one, am glad I will have nothing in their store when the court comes to collect. :Original post: I've been in this store a few times and I finally gave up. How are they even still in business? One of the owners, the older lady, seems to be waiting for a confrontation with anyone. The four or five times I've been in there, I've seen it actually happen twice. I read on here the owner saying "odd ducks and drunks", but these people I saw did not seem odd or drunk. One thing that points to there attitude problems and lack of respect for their customers is there response to the negative reviews. It's never we are sorry, we will do better, it's your wrong, odd or drunk? Combative and shifty, that is how I discribe these people. Shop elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We are in still in business because we have thousands of happy customers and consignors. Sadly, in tins case , this person was likely impossible to please, we all know someone like this! He or she has not made any attempt to contact us regarding their issues and likely won't. Come in and see Santa Barbara's coolest store where you get insane prices, find amazing treasures and happy customers!!! You will see :)
.

Here is the truth about SB Consignment. If you bring in an item that the owners like, they will price it low so they can buy it themselves. If you have brought in an item and told it was in "storage" because lack of room, it's in their home where they have furnished it entirely by their "customers. The reason they jump from locations is because they skip on their lease. They claim it's because of the economy but that's not the whole truth. Their investor, a poor retired school teacher, never sees a dime of his investment. What they do is take all profits made and call it their "bonus" every other week. One of the owners, Jennifer (Adler) Pacella, is also involved with identity theft. I know this because it's my personal info she has stolen and is using in her scams. One of the scams is having items brought in, the customer not knowing it's valuable. They in turn, buy it themselves, then sell it on EBay for a large amount.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Here is the truth about SB Consignment. If you bring in an item that the owners like, they will price it low so they can buy it themselves. If you have brought in an item and told it was in "storage" because lack of room, it's in their home where they have furnished it entirely by their "customers. The reason they jump from locations is because they skip on their lease. They claim it's because of the economy but that's not the whole truth. Their investor, a poor retired school teacher, never sees a dime of his investment. What they do is take all profits made and call it their "bonus" every other week. One of the owners, Jennifer (Adler) Pacella, is also involved with identity theft. I know this because it's my personal info she has stolen and is using in her scams. One of the scams is having items brought in, the customer not knowing it's valuable. They in turn, buy it themselves, then sell it on EBay for a large amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Please disregard this person. He is no one I know but a complete stalker who is bent on putting me out of business.
.

As a consignor of several years with this shop, I have had good luck with selling my things. However, I've been a little
disconcerted lately when they don't give me a receipt for the items consigned. There is always some excuse.
Very brittle personalities!!!!!

3
★★★☆☆

As a consignor of several years with this shop, I have had good luck with selling my things. However, I've been a little
disconcerted lately when they don't give me a receipt for the items consigned. There is always some excuse.
Very brittle personalities!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Due to the HIGH volume of incoming items, when our consignors drop off their items, they are instructed to bring an inventory of their items if they would like a receipt. We will go through items and then sign off on the receipt. If anyone forgets their inventory, we have a special form they can use to create one. However, 99% of consignors opt not to do this because they trust us, our reputation is excellent and we are very respectful and caring about our consignors items. Once the items have been entered into a consignors account, the consignors receives a computerized inventory sheet. All reports are available anytime a consignor requests the information.
.

I bought the most beautiful French plant stand from this company. I found the store had a great variety of merchandise, reasonable prices and the gals were very friendly and helpful.

5
★★★★★

I bought the most beautiful French plant stand from this company. I found the store had a great variety of merchandise, reasonable prices and the gals were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I loved that plant stand. I hope you are enjoying it!
.

Wow. Great Store! Amazing prices and so many items. I lost my house in the Tea Fire and now I have my insurance money to spend and I got an amazing deal on some Stickley furniture. I paid about 1/8th of retail. I'm furnishing my new house here for sure. No question. My money will go much further in a store like this. : ) Thanks SB Consignment Co.

5
★★★★★

Wow. Great Store! Amazing prices and so many items. I lost my house in the Tea Fire and now I have my insurance money to spend and I got an amazing deal on some Stickley furniture. I paid about 1/8th of retail. I'm furnishing my new house here for sure. No question. My money will go much further in a store like this. : ) Thanks SB Consignment Co.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Oh the Stickley was gorgeous. I'm so happy you got a good deal, I can't believe how much you saved on those items. Fabulous. Hope all is going well with your new place.
.

I have purchased several items from this store over the last several years and have been extremely happy with my purchases. The condition was perfect and the prices were very reasonable. The owners have a very good eye for high quality items in really good condition. It makes shopping second hand classy. I highly recommend them to family, friends and people I meet on the street. Thanks for a great and fun store, something Santa Barbara is lacking lately.

5
★★★★★

I have purchased several items from this store over the last several years and have been extremely happy with my purchases. The condition was perfect and the prices were very reasonable. The owners have a very good eye for high quality items in really good condition. It makes shopping second hand classy. I highly recommend them to family, friends and people I meet on the street. Thanks for a great and fun store, something Santa Barbara is lacking lately.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

This store is so cool. I"ve been coming for almost 5 years and every time I come in it looks different. These girls know how to work it, decorate it and price it. Thanks for always being just a really fun place to go.

5
★★★★★

This store is so cool. I"ve been coming for almost 5 years and every time I come in it looks different. These girls know how to work it, decorate it and price it. Thanks for always being just a really fun place to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Girls, you have out done yourselves. This store is just amazing. I appreciate the attention to detail, the quality of the items you allow and best of all the prices. Thank you for making consignment shopping a step up and a total pleasure. I look forward to seeing what treasures you have each time and how much I can save when I come in! Keep up the good work! :) And I find you both to be wonderful people and always nice and pleasant to chat with. See you soon...

5
★★★★★

Girls, you have out done yourselves. This store is just amazing. I appreciate the attention to detail, the quality of the items you allow and best of all the prices. Thank you for making consignment shopping a step up and a total pleasure. I look forward to seeing what treasures you have each time and how much I can save when I come in! Keep up the good work! :) And I find you both to be wonderful people and always nice and pleasant to chat with. See you soon...

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The store was overpriced. There were several items that were priced higher than you could buy them new. And, while I was there, the owner got into an argument with another customer and was really rude. I wasn't privy to the disagreement, but I felt very uncomfortable having to hear it. Having said all that, I did buy one thing that was cool, but I think I did overpay :( Most likely I won't be back.

2
★★☆☆☆

The store was overpriced. There were several items that were priced higher than you could buy them new. And, while I was there, the owner got into an argument with another customer and was really rude. I wasn't privy to the disagreement, but I felt very uncomfortable having to hear it. Having said all that, I did buy one thing that was cool, but I think I did overpay :( Most likely I won't be back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We price items at about 1/2 of retail. Generally speaking our pricing is about 1/2 or 1/4 of retail. For example, Henredon French Country Secretary which cost $7000 retail for less than $1000 or a gorgeous Pottery Barn sofa brand new for 450? I'm not sure what the disagreement was, we don't argue with customers, however we have had a few odd ducks, such as a drunken consignor claiming items were hers when they belonged to someone else. Thats the only disagreement we can think of which caused a commotion. Ahhh gotta love retail! We wouldn't change it for anything. : )
.

Amazing amount of stuff. Its all really good quality and clean. You can spend a long time looking at all the small items and then the furniture is always excellent quality, super clean and the prices are the best in all of Santa Barbara. You wouldn't know you were buying used furniture at all. The owners are always there and nice and very knowledgeable and helpful. I've purchased several items over the last 3 years including a sofa, chairs, dishes, a chandelier, some table lamps and artwork. I've even gotten great deals on delivery too. A must see store and one of the best stores in all of Santa Barbara.

5
★★★★★

Amazing amount of stuff. Its all really good quality and clean. You can spend a long time looking at all the small items and then the furniture is always excellent quality, super clean and the prices are the best in all of Santa Barbara. You wouldn't know you were buying used furniture at all. The owners are always there and nice and very knowledgeable and helpful. I've purchased several items over the last 3 years including a sofa, chairs, dishes, a chandelier, some table lamps and artwork. I've even gotten great deals on delivery too. A must see store and one of the best stores in all of Santa Barbara.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

We love the SB Consignment Co. I've bought a table, shelf recently and found their offerings in excellent shape and very good value. I'd recommend it to anyone and I've shopped consignment shops in the East before it became more "fashionable." So I think I'm a good judge of these types of businesses.

5
★★★★★

We love the SB Consignment Co. I've bought a table, shelf recently and found their offerings in excellent shape and very good value. I'd recommend it to anyone and I've shopped consignment shops in the East before it became more "fashionable." So I think I'm a good judge of these types of businesses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I have bought furniture pieces and smalls from Santa Barbara Consignment Shop. I go fairly often to keep up on the ever-changing array of goodies and almost always find something to take home with me. I think their prices are fair and it's always fun to search for treasures. You never know what you might find under the table or on the shelf!
The Staff has always been smiley and helpful and I am happy to (and do!) recommend them to anyone interested in "the hunt".

5
★★★★★

I have bought furniture pieces and smalls from Santa Barbara Consignment Shop. I go fairly often to keep up on the ever-changing array of goodies and almost always find something to take home with me. I think their prices are fair and it's always fun to search for treasures. You never know what you might find under the table or on the shelf!
The Staff has always been smiley and helpful and I am happy to (and do!) recommend them to anyone interested in "the hunt".

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

not nice people to work with. dishonest business practices. they don't always pay their sellers, so seller beware. lots of fine print and scamminess. too bad. we needed a good place to sell things in SB, but this is not it.

1
★☆☆☆☆

not nice people to work with. dishonest business practices. they don't always pay their sellers, so seller beware. lots of fine print and scamminess. too bad. we needed a good place to sell things in SB, but this is not it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

That's funny. We have over 2400 satisifed repeat consignors who receive their money on time and accuratly. This shop has been a staple in the community for 6 years and if we were dishonest or untruthful, we would have been out of business a long time ago. We carry thousands upon thousands of quality items. We also have NO "Joan F" as a consignor. Please decide for yourself, come in and meet us.
.

Hi,

My name is Carrie and I am a second hand junkie!

I have traveled the world in search of treasures and I can honestly say that the Santa Barbara Consignment Company is the BEST consignment store in the U.S.A.!

The store is huge, clean, and packed with beautifully displayed, high quality merchandise. The inventory is ever-changing and I hate to miss a week for fear of missing a treasure. The merchandise is priced to move!

The owners, Jennifer and Susan, are very helpful and FUN too!

5
★★★★★

Hi,

My name is Carrie and I am a second hand junkie!

I have traveled the world in search of treasures and I can honestly say that the Santa Barbara Consignment Company is the BEST consignment store in the U.S.A.!

The store is huge, clean, and packed with beautifully displayed, high quality merchandise. The inventory is ever-changing and I hate to miss a week for fear of missing a treasure. The merchandise is priced to move!

The owners, Jennifer and Susan, are very helpful and FUN too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks for the positive review! Thanks for the positive review!
.

The store is HUGE and beautiful. The best part is that it is different every time you walk in so you never get bored, the inventory changes daily and there is always something great to chose from. The owners are very nice and friendly as well as the rest of the crew. I tell everyone I can think of to stop by and enjoy the view. Did I mention the prices are out of this world too. Especially in a time that we are all watching our budgets and trying to be green and recycle. Happy shopping, you will not be disappointed I promise.

5
★★★★★

The store is HUGE and beautiful. The best part is that it is different every time you walk in so you never get bored, the inventory changes daily and there is always something great to chose from. The owners are very nice and friendly as well as the rest of the crew. I tell everyone I can think of to stop by and enjoy the view. Did I mention the prices are out of this world too. Especially in a time that we are all watching our budgets and trying to be green and recycle. Happy shopping, you will not be disappointed I promise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

I can't get over how much stuff is in the store. It's beautifully displayed, clean and high quality merchandise, great customer service, and I find something every time I shop there.

5
★★★★★

I can't get over how much stuff is in the store. It's beautifully displayed, clean and high quality merchandise, great customer service, and I find something every time I shop there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

The store is HUGE and there is a ton of stuff to see from furniture to small items so make sure you set aside enough time to see everything. Excellent quality and selection. Easy to get to, park etc. Great prices too.

Customer service is really good. No pressure sales tactics.

They give you free cider and cookies as well. I will be back. This is definetly the best consignment store I've ever been in - and I travel the all over the US and make it a point to go to consignment shops.

5
★★★★★

The store is HUGE and there is a ton of stuff to see from furniture to small items so make sure you set aside enough time to see everything. Excellent quality and selection. Easy to get to, park etc. Great prices too.

Customer service is really good. No pressure sales tactics.

They give you free cider and cookies as well. I will be back. This is definetly the best consignment store I've ever been in - and I travel the all over the US and make it a point to go to consignment shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

I was "helped" by an older woman with glasses and short blonde hair. She was incredibly RUDE. When I asked her the price of an item on display, she told me it wouldn't be priced for a "couple" of days. Her attitude was snotty, and she was

6
★★★★★

I was "helped" by an older woman with glasses and short blonde hair. She was incredibly RUDE. When I asked her the price of an item on display, she told me it wouldn't be priced for a "couple" of days. Her attitude was snotty, and she was

.

The reviewer "daveadler" is the email address of the owner! What a scammer to pretend that they are a customer! These people are dishonest and unethical. They often do not pay when sales are made. You have to fight to get your money. Run

6
★★★★★

The reviewer "daveadler" is the email address of the owner! What a scammer to pretend that they are a customer! These people are dishonest and unethical. They often do not pay when sales are made. You have to fight to get your money. Run

.

I love this store, it's amazing. The customer service is great, the prices are so good. You can find all kinds of stuff, antiques, mid-century, asian etc. Lots of nooks and crannies to spend lots of time. Go! all I'm going to say!\r

6
★★★★★

I love this store, it's amazing. The customer service is great, the prices are so good. You can find all kinds of stuff, antiques, mid-century, asian etc. Lots of nooks and crannies to spend lots of time. Go! all I'm going to say!\r

Pros: Variety, Prices, Parking, Ambiance

Cons: Need lots of time to shop and take it all in.

Message from Santa Barbara Consignment

Santa Barbara Consignment now carries live plants, nursery items, and garden furniture and accessories! Come by and check us out, you won't leave disappointed.

More about Santa Barbara Consignment

4000sf of Home Consignments. We have gently owned furniture and accessories along with small amounts of retail store closeouts. Antiques, collectibles, estate jewelry, clothing and art too! It's a must see!

Editorial from

This consignment shop allows customers to buy and sell quality items in a welcoming atmosphere.

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    0.55 mi
  2. 2
    Opportunity Shop
    4% ★★★★☆ 3 reviews
    0.57 mi
  3. 3
    Montecito Treasures
    No reviews
    0.65 mi