Les Enfants Terribles

★★★☆☆
  • 37 Canal St

    New York, NY 10002

    Cross street: at Ludlow St.

    Map & Directions
  • 212-777-7518

About Les Enfants Terribles

Hours
Mon-Sat 9am-4pm, 5:30pm-12am Sun 9am-4pm, 5:30pm-11pm

Food

Food
More choices in New York:
Resultset_next

Azza

137 E 55th New York, NY

Resultset_next

Le Souk--CLOSED

47 Avenue B New York, NY

3.0 32
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Les Enfants Terribles was?
Write a Review
.

You either like the place or you don't. I had a great time but that now always the case.

3
★★★★★

You either like the place or you don't. I had a great time but that now always the case.

.

We recenlty went to Les Enfants for drinks. We used to go there a lot last year, best is Sudnay late afternoon, before the crowds come. This time the host asked us to move tables because he had some other guests with better revenue prospects. I can't believe this is happening to me, how can I be so bad in judging a place. Anyway, when I complained he almost started a fight with me and said if I don't like it I should leave. I don't understand where they find hosts like that, but please don't go there with kids, it will not be fun. Well, I guess the canal street hood will never take off if places like that still do business. Not recommended

0
★☆☆☆☆

We recenlty went to Les Enfants for drinks. We used to go there a lot last year, best is Sudnay late afternoon, before the crowds come. This time the host asked us to move tables because he had some other guests with better revenue prospects. I can't believe this is happening to me, how can I be so bad in judging a place. Anyway, when I complained he almost started a fight with me and said if I don't like it I should leave. I don't understand where they find hosts like that, but please don't go there with kids, it will not be fun. Well, I guess the canal street hood will never take off if places like that still do business. Not recommended

Pros: Nice sitting outside

Cons: Arrogant Host

.

The food is all French colonial (think African / South American), great flavors and spices, cooked nicely. Drinks are also exotic. The atmosphere is also really cool, with music blasting and a hip-looking crowd at the bar.

Recommended for the flavors and the vibe, but be aware of the potential hassle: You'll probably have to wait and may be hurried to get up once you finish eating. It's also not cheap and **is cash only**.

3
★★★☆☆

The food is all French colonial (think African / South American), great flavors and spices, cooked nicely. Drinks are also exotic. The atmosphere is also really cool, with music blasting and a hip-looking crowd at the bar.

Recommended for the flavors and the vibe, but be aware of the potential hassle: You'll probably have to wait and may be hurried to get up once you finish eating. It's also not cheap and **is cash only**.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This saturday night me and 4 friends went here for a celebration dinner. Just as a lot of the comments below indicated, the food was good (not great), but we were treated absolutely horribly. We made a reservation, ordered apps, bottles of wine, cocktails and entrees. Five minutes after our entrees were finished, the host (bald, french accent) came over and said we really had to leave the table, he had someone waiting for it. I've been asked to leave tables before, generally after either finishing dessert or declining it, and usually with a sort of sheepish, apologetic tone. Actually, more than once I've been encouraged to step to the bar where the host offered to buy a round of drinks. But I've never been:
A.) asked to leave before even seeing the dessert menu
B.) asked to leave 5 minutes after plates were cleared
C.) asked to leave w/o any forewarning: it's not like they said 'oh, and btw, we need this table at 10:00.' this came out of the blue.
Needless to say, we refused to leave, we ordered dessert, and we stayed another 30 minutes. Our waitress was good, so we didn't penalize her with a bad tip. But we will penalize the management by never going back! BTW, look closely at some of the good comments below--they sure look like shills from staff or friends, not like real citysearch comments.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This saturday night me and 4 friends went here for a celebration dinner. Just as a lot of the comments below indicated, the food was good (not great), but we were treated absolutely horribly. We made a reservation, ordered apps, bottles of wine, cocktails and entrees. Five minutes after our entrees were finished, the host (bald, french accent) came over and said we really had to leave the table, he had someone waiting for it. I've been asked to leave tables before, generally after either finishing dessert or declining it, and usually with a sort of sheepish, apologetic tone. Actually, more than once I've been encouraged to step to the bar where the host offered to buy a round of drinks. But I've never been:
A.) asked to leave before even seeing the dessert menu
B.) asked to leave 5 minutes after plates were cleared
C.) asked to leave w/o any forewarning: it's not like they said 'oh, and btw, we need this table at 10:00.' this came out of the blue.
Needless to say, we refused to leave, we ordered dessert, and we stayed another 30 minutes. Our waitress was good, so we didn't penalize her with a bad tip. But we will penalize the management by never going back! BTW, look closely at some of the good comments below--they sure look like shills from staff or friends, not like real citysearch comments.

.

fine. ok if in neighborhood

1
★★★☆☆

fine. ok if in neighborhood

Pros: atmosphere

Cons: service

.

Les Enfants was such a pleasant surprise. I didn't know what to expect, but from the moment we walked in I knew it would be a good night. It's a super small place, but you don't feel crowded. I was part of a party of 6, and we were sat in the back corner (just like is recommended). The people who work there seem to have so much fun. Everyone was dancing and singing. The music was sick. The food was just as great. Everyone had a hard time choosing an item off the menu. We each ordered apps and entrees and ended up sharing everything. The Les Enfant salad is light and refreshing. The zucchini and goat cheese app is super delicious. 2 of us had the filet mignon special which was super yummy. The lamb is really tender. And the fish is light but tasty. I always have space for dessert, but I was so full and content that we skipped. We decided to leave and get drinks somewhere, but realized that it was way more fun in there. So we walked back in and continued to drink and eat. I highly recommend it!

2
★★★★★

Les Enfants was such a pleasant surprise. I didn't know what to expect, but from the moment we walked in I knew it would be a good night. It's a super small place, but you don't feel crowded. I was part of a party of 6, and we were sat in the back corner (just like is recommended). The people who work there seem to have so much fun. Everyone was dancing and singing. The music was sick. The food was just as great. Everyone had a hard time choosing an item off the menu. We each ordered apps and entrees and ended up sharing everything. The Les Enfant salad is light and refreshing. The zucchini and goat cheese app is super delicious. 2 of us had the filet mignon special which was super yummy. The lamb is really tender. And the fish is light but tasty. I always have space for dessert, but I was so full and content that we skipped. We decided to leave and get drinks somewhere, but realized that it was way more fun in there. So we walked back in and continued to drink and eat. I highly recommend it!

Pros: food, environment, energy

.

The terribly rude Assie owner of this restaurant ruined an otherwise pleasant experience. My girlfriends and I were looking for a relaxed restaurant to enjoy on a Friday night. We arrived rather early and decided to start with a drink at the bar. Then, we moved to a table and enjoyed appetizers and a nice dinner. We had just ordered another drink, when the owner came up to us and asked if we planned to order any more food or dessert and we said that we just wanted to enjoy one last drink after our meal. She informed us that she needed our table for some people who had a reservation. We looked around and noticed that it had become kind of busy and decided to leave as soon as we finished our drink. Fifteen minutes later, the owner came back to our table, stopped my friend mid-sentence as she was telling a story, and despite us not having yet finished our drinks, curtly informed us that it was time for us to go. She said, "I gave you a time warning earlier, you've had this table for two hours and I need this table NOW." My friends and I were literally astounded at the rude tone she had with us. We had spent nearly $200 at her restaurant, tipped our waiter well, etc., but were basically being kicked out before we had even finished our drinks! We hurriedly gulped down our drinks and started to gather our things. On our way out the door, my friend told the owner that she really could have been a little more polite with us and that there was no need to be rude. The owner's response was, "I am the owner and if you have any problems you can call tomorrow to talk to me. If you have issues, you need to go home and sort yourself out ." I'm afraid my friends and I aren't the ones who need "sorting out". Needles to say, we will never step foot in this restaurant again. I highly suggest spending your valuable time and money at an establishment that actually appreciates and values its customers.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The terribly rude Assie owner of this restaurant ruined an otherwise pleasant experience. My girlfriends and I were looking for a relaxed restaurant to enjoy on a Friday night. We arrived rather early and decided to start with a drink at the bar. Then, we moved to a table and enjoyed appetizers and a nice dinner. We had just ordered another drink, when the owner came up to us and asked if we planned to order any more food or dessert and we said that we just wanted to enjoy one last drink after our meal. She informed us that she needed our table for some people who had a reservation. We looked around and noticed that it had become kind of busy and decided to leave as soon as we finished our drink. Fifteen minutes later, the owner came back to our table, stopped my friend mid-sentence as she was telling a story, and despite us not having yet finished our drinks, curtly informed us that it was time for us to go. She said, "I gave you a time warning earlier, you've had this table for two hours and I need this table NOW." My friends and I were literally astounded at the rude tone she had with us. We had spent nearly $200 at her restaurant, tipped our waiter well, etc., but were basically being kicked out before we had even finished our drinks! We hurriedly gulped down our drinks and started to gather our things. On our way out the door, my friend told the owner that she really could have been a little more polite with us and that there was no need to be rude. The owner's response was, "I am the owner and if you have any problems you can call tomorrow to talk to me. If you have issues, you need to go home and sort yourself out ." I'm afraid my friends and I aren't the ones who need "sorting out". Needles to say, we will never step foot in this restaurant again. I highly suggest spending your valuable time and money at an establishment that actually appreciates and values its customers.

Pros: Atmosphere, Food

Cons: Incredibly Rude Service from the Restaurant Owner

.

I had been to this restaurant several times in the past, and while its flaky service used to be charming, they have taken bad service to a new low. I spent two hours there this evening, and did not eat a single thing. There was nothing wrong with the food we were served...because we weren't served any. After two hours, the rather obnoxious and self-righteous manager came over to let us know that there had been some sort of "mix-up" with our order, and it would be up in five minutes. Ten minutes later, he brought over an appetizer that I can best describe as resembling dog food with a side of salad. And, adding insult to injury, it wasn't even the appetizer we had ordered. When we finally decided that we had had enough of this game that he was playing, we left some cash for our estimate of the bill, and he kindly offered to call the police on us for walking out on a meal. I really used to love this place, and had been looking forward to this night...I WILL NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I had been to this restaurant several times in the past, and while its flaky service used to be charming, they have taken bad service to a new low. I spent two hours there this evening, and did not eat a single thing. There was nothing wrong with the food we were served...because we weren't served any. After two hours, the rather obnoxious and self-righteous manager came over to let us know that there had been some sort of "mix-up" with our order, and it would be up in five minutes. Ten minutes later, he brought over an appetizer that I can best describe as resembling dog food with a side of salad. And, adding insult to injury, it wasn't even the appetizer we had ordered. When we finally decided that we had had enough of this game that he was playing, we left some cash for our estimate of the bill, and he kindly offered to call the police on us for walking out on a meal. I really used to love this place, and had been looking forward to this night...I WILL NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN.

Pros: the memory of a great place

Cons: everything else

.

The service was almost non-existant from the moment we got here last saturday night. We basically seated ourselves at the only availble table which was outside. Eventually our waitress comes. We had the Tassili Shepherd which was very good except that it was so small. Yes, i know it's an appetizer but it was literally 3 slivers of zucchini on a plate. We shared the Koroghofefemugu which was a nice pc of steak. I really liked the cassava fries but my friend and sister did not. My friend had the Black Beer(?) which was tasted great. The mood of the place is laidback but still very lively. If the service was a more attentive, this place would be a must. I do plan on coming back though.

2
★★★★☆

The service was almost non-existant from the moment we got here last saturday night. We basically seated ourselves at the only availble table which was outside. Eventually our waitress comes. We had the Tassili Shepherd which was very good except that it was so small. Yes, i know it's an appetizer but it was literally 3 slivers of zucchini on a plate. We shared the Koroghofefemugu which was a nice pc of steak. I really liked the cassava fries but my friend and sister did not. My friend had the Black Beer(?) which was tasted great. The mood of the place is laidback but still very lively. If the service was a more attentive, this place would be a must. I do plan on coming back though.

Pros: food, mood

Cons: service

.

I loved this place! The atmosphere was fun, not full of hipsters but not old, and the staff was great! It was my first time there- my sister was visiting and a friend of mine suggested we check it out. We fought our way to the bar and ordered cocktails from the frazzled, hung over bartender (he qualified himself as hung over, but was clearly frazzled) while we waited for our table. We had made 9:30 reservations, but if we had waited another 1/2 hour, we would not have needed them. Once seated, I got an amazing pureed carrot and ginger soup, my sister had their nice house salad. I ordered the potato crusted bass (tender, moist), while my sister had the mussels (nothing extrordinary, but good). And then a banana creme brulee for dessert. We had a nice bottle of rose wine with dinner. Our server (who may have been a host or a manager) was friendly and efficient. Depite not being able to find a host to tell that we were there for our reservation, the wait to get the bartender's attention for drinks, and the really odd part of the LES (this was the only thing open within sight), the crowd was friendly, the small staff was busy but not angry about it, I would absolutely go back, if only to try the steak, and check out their specials!

2
★★★★★

I loved this place! The atmosphere was fun, not full of hipsters but not old, and the staff was great! It was my first time there- my sister was visiting and a friend of mine suggested we check it out. We fought our way to the bar and ordered cocktails from the frazzled, hung over bartender (he qualified himself as hung over, but was clearly frazzled) while we waited for our table. We had made 9:30 reservations, but if we had waited another 1/2 hour, we would not have needed them. Once seated, I got an amazing pureed carrot and ginger soup, my sister had their nice house salad. I ordered the potato crusted bass (tender, moist), while my sister had the mussels (nothing extrordinary, but good). And then a banana creme brulee for dessert. We had a nice bottle of rose wine with dinner. Our server (who may have been a host or a manager) was friendly and efficient. Depite not being able to find a host to tell that we were there for our reservation, the wait to get the bartender's attention for drinks, and the really odd part of the LES (this was the only thing open within sight), the crowd was friendly, the small staff was busy but not angry about it, I would absolutely go back, if only to try the steak, and check out their specials!

Pros: Original flavors

Cons: Location

.

This place has a great ambiance, but unfortunately, the dinner just isn't good, especially for the price they're charging. I used to enjoy brunch but have had too many bad experiences with the service being slow to practically non-existent. I now go only for the occasional cocktail which is still fun.

1
★★★☆☆

This place has a great ambiance, but unfortunately, the dinner just isn't good, especially for the price they're charging. I used to enjoy brunch but have had too many bad experiences with the service being slow to practically non-existent. I now go only for the occasional cocktail which is still fun.

Pros: Good for drinks

Cons: Dinner isn't great.

.

The waiting staff was gracious and very hospitable at this establishment. My lamb was described as tastegasmic, but the steaks were a little over cooked. The frites are delish. Recommended, but large groups will be cramped in this tiny establishment. Good for romantic date.

2
★★★★☆

The waiting staff was gracious and very hospitable at this establishment. My lamb was described as tastegasmic, but the steaks were a little over cooked. The frites are delish. Recommended, but large groups will be cramped in this tiny establishment. Good for romantic date.

Pros: The lamb, the staff

Cons: the cramped quarters

.

I'm surprised by the bad reviews, both the food and the service were great. Sure the waiters were a bit rushed and the orders had to be repeated loudly to be heard through the cocophony of voices, but afterall, this is a fun bistro in Chinatown, not a haute French restaurant where everything is whispered. But there was nothing rude about the service nor was there any snobby attitude (which is often present in other 'hipster' bistros like Le Souk and Casimir).
The food was surprisingly delicious. Popular trendy places rarely place emphasis on the food, hoping the ambience and status will do the job. This one is clearly different. Everything was superb (especially for the prices). Standout appetizer- escargot in a fragrant pastry- was incredibly savoury. Steak tartare was done just right, with the right amount of salt and spice. The entrees were equally as good (except the steak which was good but not exceptional). Scallops on a sweet bed of corn were really delicious. So were the medium-rare duck medallions. My favorite was the leg of lamb- an amazing and subtle mix of buttery french cooking with more balanced, slightly bitter african spices.
And the wine list? It can use some improvement, however , there are some pretty good wines there. I was disappointed by the cheaper Rioja, but the Cote de Nuis was very good.

2
★★★★★

I'm surprised by the bad reviews, both the food and the service were great. Sure the waiters were a bit rushed and the orders had to be repeated loudly to be heard through the cocophony of voices, but afterall, this is a fun bistro in Chinatown, not a haute French restaurant where everything is whispered. But there was nothing rude about the service nor was there any snobby attitude (which is often present in other 'hipster' bistros like Le Souk and Casimir).
The food was surprisingly delicious. Popular trendy places rarely place emphasis on the food, hoping the ambience and status will do the job. This one is clearly different. Everything was superb (especially for the prices). Standout appetizer- escargot in a fragrant pastry- was incredibly savoury. Steak tartare was done just right, with the right amount of salt and spice. The entrees were equally as good (except the steak which was good but not exceptional). Scallops on a sweet bed of corn were really delicious. So were the medium-rare duck medallions. My favorite was the leg of lamb- an amazing and subtle mix of buttery french cooking with more balanced, slightly bitter african spices.
And the wine list? It can use some improvement, however , there are some pretty good wines there. I was disappointed by the cheaper Rioja, but the Cote de Nuis was very good.

Pros: great food, fun atmosphere

Cons: can be noisy and very crowded

.

The bartender there on a slow rainy Saturday night was a miserable S.O.B. After waiting forever for 2 glasses of corked wine and 2 beers, I had to wait another 5 minutes to get said bartenders attention to get a different wine. What was a simple matter of opening a new bottle and pouring replacements became the perfect opportunity for the bartender to scold the stupid American for ordering the wrong wine or whatever he was muttering under his breath and then, UGH! these too were also undrinkable. Finished the beers and went next door for a MUCH better time that was free of attitude and silly hipster music. It seems that this place thrives on living up to the stereotype of the French as arrogant, condescending, American-hating snobs. If you enjoy paying to be ignored and insulted you'd be hard-pressed to find a place that does it better than this hipper-than-thou hell hole.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The bartender there on a slow rainy Saturday night was a miserable S.O.B. After waiting forever for 2 glasses of corked wine and 2 beers, I had to wait another 5 minutes to get said bartenders attention to get a different wine. What was a simple matter of opening a new bottle and pouring replacements became the perfect opportunity for the bartender to scold the stupid American for ordering the wrong wine or whatever he was muttering under his breath and then, UGH! these too were also undrinkable. Finished the beers and went next door for a MUCH better time that was free of attitude and silly hipster music. It seems that this place thrives on living up to the stereotype of the French as arrogant, condescending, American-hating snobs. If you enjoy paying to be ignored and insulted you'd be hard-pressed to find a place that does it better than this hipper-than-thou hell hole.

.

unfortunately, a very disappointing experience.
as in "seinfeld", "they know how to take a reservation, but do not know how to hold a reservation". not only they don't honor your reservation they tell you that they don't care if you leave because they are so busy anyway. there are many restaurants in the city, no need to go to a place that doesn't value its patrons. oh, by the way, the food is mediocre at best. overall, not for people with discriminating tastes. however, for people looking for the "anti-french" attitude, fits the bill:)

0
★☆☆☆☆

unfortunately, a very disappointing experience.
as in "seinfeld", "they know how to take a reservation, but do not know how to hold a reservation". not only they don't honor your reservation they tell you that they don't care if you leave because they are so busy anyway. there are many restaurants in the city, no need to go to a place that doesn't value its patrons. oh, by the way, the food is mediocre at best. overall, not for people with discriminating tastes. however, for people looking for the "anti-french" attitude, fits the bill:)

Pros: none

Cons: many

.

I went there last night for Valentine's Day and had the best time ever!! They had a great prix fixe menu which included half a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. The music was great and we ended up staying there dancing until 3 a.m. Just wonderful. The bartender was so much fun and the crowd is easy and fun and you can make a million one night best friends.The service can be a little slow, but it's warm and friendly. And they end the night with free shots of something strong and great. The food is delicious and it's just wonderful. The organic syrah is great. I just love the place, I've never had a bad time. It is small, very small, but that just adds to the charm.

2
★★★★★

I went there last night for Valentine's Day and had the best time ever!! They had a great prix fixe menu which included half a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. The music was great and we ended up staying there dancing until 3 a.m. Just wonderful. The bartender was so much fun and the crowd is easy and fun and you can make a million one night best friends.The service can be a little slow, but it's warm and friendly. And they end the night with free shots of something strong and great. The food is delicious and it's just wonderful. The organic syrah is great. I just love the place, I've never had a bad time. It is small, very small, but that just adds to the charm.

Pros: affordable, creative menu, good cocktails, ambience, great bartender

.

A truly unique place. It's a cozy almost cramped space, where, once settled in, you're treated to a delicious selection of french/african dishes and well-picked wine or cocktails. The djs play a fine selection of international dance music and the waiters are friendly and never pushy. A lovely spot for a late night drink too, especially when they open the large windows facing the street.

2
★★★★☆

A truly unique place. It's a cozy almost cramped space, where, once settled in, you're treated to a delicious selection of french/african dishes and well-picked wine or cocktails. The djs play a fine selection of international dance music and the waiters are friendly and never pushy. A lovely spot for a late night drink too, especially when they open the large windows facing the street.

Pros: food, service, music

Cons: a bit cramped

.

ok, so everyone says that the wait is atrocious, the place is tiny etc etc. but i think that is precisely its small quaintness that makes it charming. the music is FANTASTIC... perfect dinner music... even if you have to wait for a spot at the bar to wait for your table, the music and design of the space create an ambiance that is simultaneously chic and comfortable - something extraordinarily difficult to find in this city. i agree that the lack of waiting space is irritating and should be changed, but it is a tiny price to pay for such a wonderful experience.

p.s. the wine list is fab (although extraordinarily short) - all affordable and surprisingly delicious

2
★★★★★

ok, so everyone says that the wait is atrocious, the place is tiny etc etc. but i think that is precisely its small quaintness that makes it charming. the music is FANTASTIC... perfect dinner music... even if you have to wait for a spot at the bar to wait for your table, the music and design of the space create an ambiance that is simultaneously chic and comfortable - something extraordinarily difficult to find in this city. i agree that the lack of waiting space is irritating and should be changed, but it is a tiny price to pay for such a wonderful experience.

p.s. the wine list is fab (although extraordinarily short) - all affordable and surprisingly delicious

Pros: MUSIC, decor, food

Cons: no real waiting area

.

There are so many wonderful restaurants in NY that no one should bother with this place!
We made a reservation and waited 30 minutes to be seated and the staff was really rude to us!
After being seated, we waited for almost an hour to have something to eat and were really disappointed by the quality of the food!
Finally, if you don't want to waste a nice evening, definitely don't go there and don't foraget that in NY you have a huge choice of nice places...!

0
★☆☆☆☆

There are so many wonderful restaurants in NY that no one should bother with this place!
We made a reservation and waited 30 minutes to be seated and the staff was really rude to us!
After being seated, we waited for almost an hour to have something to eat and were really disappointed by the quality of the food!
Finally, if you don't want to waste a nice evening, definitely don't go there and don't foraget that in NY you have a huge choice of nice places...!

Cons: Very rude, bad service, very slow service

.

I went in on Sunday night alone and a recent transplant to the neighborhood. the waitress was great and the food was wonderful! It is going to be my Sunday dinner spot for sure. Thank you so much for making me feel welcome in the hood.

2
★★★★☆

I went in on Sunday night alone and a recent transplant to the neighborhood. the waitress was great and the food was wonderful! It is going to be my Sunday dinner spot for sure. Thank you so much for making me feel welcome in the hood.

Pros: nice ambience, excellent gazpacho, out doors

Cons: so far not a thing

.

Although we had a 9:30 reservation, when my boyfriend and I arrived promptly on time, we were told there was just "a bit of a wait." After an hour of waiting at an overcrowded bar with our coats in our hands and no room to move, I approached the host (who never bothered to give us an update throughout our wait) to ask him how much longer, He was incredibly rude and dismissed me with his hand and walked away from me while I was trying to talk to him! After paying a fortune for our drinks, we left without eating. No matter how good the food is, it can't be worth waiting in a tiny closet of a restaurant on the lower East Side and being treated like trash by the host.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Although we had a 9:30 reservation, when my boyfriend and I arrived promptly on time, we were told there was just "a bit of a wait." After an hour of waiting at an overcrowded bar with our coats in our hands and no room to move, I approached the host (who never bothered to give us an update throughout our wait) to ask him how much longer, He was incredibly rude and dismissed me with his hand and walked away from me while I was trying to talk to him! After paying a fortune for our drinks, we left without eating. No matter how good the food is, it can't be worth waiting in a tiny closet of a restaurant on the lower East Side and being treated like trash by the host.

Cons: rude host, long wait, overcrowded

.

What a welcome surprise to find this very different restaurant in the heart of Chinatown.
My guest had the impossible to pronounce steak - we both thought it passed as a good steak. I had fish. Dish was small but delicious. The casssava fries were just incredible. We ordered them twice. Not the place to go if you are looking for a great alcohol mixed drink but they did have their own house special drinks if you've tried them all and are in search of something new. Service was excellent and the atmosphere quite comfortable.

2
★★★★☆

What a welcome surprise to find this very different restaurant in the heart of Chinatown.
My guest had the impossible to pronounce steak - we both thought it passed as a good steak. I had fish. Dish was small but delicious. The casssava fries were just incredible. We ordered them twice. Not the place to go if you are looking for a great alcohol mixed drink but they did have their own house special drinks if you've tried them all and are in search of something new. Service was excellent and the atmosphere quite comfortable.

Pros: Wooden Interior, African ornaments, Cassava Fries

Cons: Drinks w/ no bite, Canal St East

.

we ordered four drinks, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and dessert -- all of which were interesting and delicious. best of all, it was a great value. we highly recommend.

2
★★★★★

we ordered four drinks, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and dessert -- all of which were interesting and delicious. best of all, it was a great value. we highly recommend.

Pros: great food, great drinks, good value

.

There is a reason why the wait is what it is...the food is delicious and the atmosphere is adorable. I love the fact that its small and cozy.
The music helps too. Where else can you go and listen to Fela Kuti one minute and The Star Wars Cantina song the next?
That steak is so spectacular. You, know, the one with the name that no one can pronounce. When you ask for medium rare, it always comes out medium rare...not rare, not medium, but medium rare. And those fries....
Good times kids.

2
★★★★★

There is a reason why the wait is what it is...the food is delicious and the atmosphere is adorable. I love the fact that its small and cozy.
The music helps too. Where else can you go and listen to Fela Kuti one minute and The Star Wars Cantina song the next?
That steak is so spectacular. You, know, the one with the name that no one can pronounce. When you ask for medium rare, it always comes out medium rare...not rare, not medium, but medium rare. And those fries....
Good times kids.

Pros: , Delicious food

Cons: , cute staff

.

What's the point fo making reservations for this place? We arrived on time and were made to wait next to an overburdened bar area full of drunken frat boys that should have been cut off hours before. After an hour waiting and what seemed like a "what do we care" attitude from the staff, we left and went to eat elsewhere. Lousy service!

0
★☆☆☆☆

What's the point fo making reservations for this place? We arrived on time and were made to wait next to an overburdened bar area full of drunken frat boys that should have been cut off hours before. After an hour waiting and what seemed like a "what do we care" attitude from the staff, we left and went to eat elsewhere. Lousy service!

Pros: Has potential

Cons: , Loud, Poor service

.

We waited almost an hour to be seated for our 8:30 reservation even though we were told it would be only 20 minutes when we walked in. Given that there is basically no room whatsoever to sit or stand near the bar, it was one of the most uncomfortable hours of my life. Once we did get seated, we asked for bread and water 3 or 4 times before someone finally brought them over. While the food was actually good, it was not worth the uncomfortable wait and substandard service.

1
★★☆☆☆

We waited almost an hour to be seated for our 8:30 reservation even though we were told it would be only 20 minutes when we walked in. Given that there is basically no room whatsoever to sit or stand near the bar, it was one of the most uncomfortable hours of my life. Once we did get seated, we asked for bread and water 3 or 4 times before someone finally brought them over. While the food was actually good, it was not worth the uncomfortable wait and substandard service.

Cons: , service

.

My four friends and I waited almost two hours after our 8:00 pm reservation and finally walked out without eating. The rude and unaccomodating hostess (who we later learned was the manager) repeatedly promised us "the next table" but never offered to buy us a drink while we waited. The drinks we eventually purchased ourselves (the barstaff was incredibly inattentive) were puny and overpriced. To top it off, when we finally left, they would not give us our coats unless we paid a coat-check fee. And many other parties left that night without getting seated despite having reservations. It was a terrible experience.

0
★☆☆☆☆

My four friends and I waited almost two hours after our 8:00 pm reservation and finally walked out without eating. The rude and unaccomodating hostess (who we later learned was the manager) repeatedly promised us "the next table" but never offered to buy us a drink while we waited. The drinks we eventually purchased ourselves (the barstaff was incredibly inattentive) were puny and overpriced. To top it off, when we finally left, they would not give us our coats unless we paid a coat-check fee. And many other parties left that night without getting seated despite having reservations. It was a terrible experience.

Cons: , Poorly managed

.

I have been to many "new and eclectic" places in NY and I have to admit this is in line with places like Esperanto, BAO, Casimire and Paladar (etc.) If you like an energetic atmosphere in addition to a possitive crowd and funky-gormet (meaning traditional meats/bases with innovative spices) then this is the place. The fact that it out of the way only adds to it's personality and mystique. Believe me - if you're a new yorker, you will enjoy the tight, crowded, friendly and crazy space. Something to remember.

2
★★★★★

I have been to many "new and eclectic" places in NY and I have to admit this is in line with places like Esperanto, BAO, Casimire and Paladar (etc.) If you like an energetic atmosphere in addition to a possitive crowd and funky-gormet (meaning traditional meats/bases with innovative spices) then this is the place. The fact that it out of the way only adds to it's personality and mystique. Believe me - if you're a new yorker, you will enjoy the tight, crowded, friendly and crazy space. Something to remember.

Pros: food, MUSIC, people

Cons: , cash only or Amex

.

I made a reservation at Les Enfants Terribles but had to wait for 20 minutes after the reservation time, only to be crammed into a tiny table between two other tiny tables. My date, next to the wall, fared well, but I was continually elbowed by the patrons at the bar, which was only a few feet away. Our waitress' visits to our table were few and far between. The food was excellent, but it wasn't worth the lack of intimacy and uncomfortably close quarters.

1
★★☆☆☆

I made a reservation at Les Enfants Terribles but had to wait for 20 minutes after the reservation time, only to be crammed into a tiny table between two other tiny tables. My date, next to the wall, fared well, but I was continually elbowed by the patrons at the bar, which was only a few feet away. Our waitress' visits to our table were few and far between. The food was excellent, but it wasn't worth the lack of intimacy and uncomfortably close quarters.

Pros: Great food, Eclectic, Good value

Cons: , Understaffed, Long wait time

.

I'm amazed at how positive these reviews are. We had made reservations for a friend's birthday dinner, but as they seated us, the hostess told us we could only have our table for 40 minutes. "What?" we asked. She couldn't be serious. Well, throughout our mediocre meal, the same hostess came back to glare at us and make us feel uncomfortable about conversing. When she came to ask if we wanted anything else and we told her "just the check" (by that point, we'd decided to get dessert elsewhere), she grabbed the plates off the table and left BEFORE WE WERE EVEN FINISHED! The ambience is cool, and the cocktails might be worth coming by, but head somewhere else for dinner. It's just not worth the 'tude.

1
★★★☆☆

I'm amazed at how positive these reviews are. We had made reservations for a friend's birthday dinner, but as they seated us, the hostess told us we could only have our table for 40 minutes. "What?" we asked. She couldn't be serious. Well, throughout our mediocre meal, the same hostess came back to glare at us and make us feel uncomfortable about conversing. When she came to ask if we wanted anything else and we told her "just the check" (by that point, we'd decided to get dessert elsewhere), she grabbed the plates off the table and left BEFORE WE WERE EVEN FINISHED! The ambience is cool, and the cocktails might be worth coming by, but head somewhere else for dinner. It's just not worth the 'tude.

Pros: cool ambience

Cons: , witch of a hostess, underwhelming cuisine

.

We had 10 pm reservations last weekend and arrived early in hopes of getting seated sooner. While we (a party of 4 girls) were promised the next table available, a group of men came in who were given the next available seats. We had spoken to them casually at the bar as they waited, and they suggested they had slipped the maitre'd some money. So they got seated ahead of us, and as a result, we didn't get seated until ten of midnight, which was ten minutes before the kitchen closed. The maitre'd did give us some free appetizers and champagne, but we were pretty frustrated. The food, however, was very good.

1
★★☆☆☆

We had 10 pm reservations last weekend and arrived early in hopes of getting seated sooner. While we (a party of 4 girls) were promised the next table available, a group of men came in who were given the next available seats. We had spoken to them casually at the bar as they waited, and they suggested they had slipped the maitre'd some money. So they got seated ahead of us, and as a result, we didn't get seated until ten of midnight, which was ten minutes before the kitchen closed. The maitre'd did give us some free appetizers and champagne, but we were pretty frustrated. The food, however, was very good.

Pros: good food, interesting ambience

Cons: , disorganized service

.

Despite of the warm and pleasing ambiance of the place, you will be disappointed by a pushy service and a not as good as it looks food.
On busy nights, you really feel they're trying to make you eat and pay as fast as they can.

Staff that is trying to make a buck, I understand, but as long as I enjoy my dinner.
Too bad for a place that has such an atmosphere...

1
★★☆☆☆

Despite of the warm and pleasing ambiance of the place, you will be disappointed by a pushy service and a not as good as it looks food.
On busy nights, you really feel they're trying to make you eat and pay as fast as they can.

Staff that is trying to make a buck, I understand, but as long as I enjoy my dinner.
Too bad for a place that has such an atmosphere...

Editorial from

The Scene
This worldly little bistro, filled with palm fronds, primitive masks and sand-colored leather banquettes, is an oasis of cool in an otherwise culture-deprived block, where the LES meets Chinatown. Creative cocktails…

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Les Enfants Terribles, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review