Sweet Home Design Co

★★★★☆
Your Vision~Our Care~Your Dream
  • 4934 Stanley Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

    Map & Directions

Home & Garden

Home & Garden
More choices in Downers Grove:
Resultset_next

Holland Hardware

46 Harrison Pl Hinsdale, IL

Resultset_next

Buikema's Ace Hardware

90 E Loop Rd Wheaton, IL

4.0 12
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Sweet Home Design Co was?
Write a Review
.

Larry Majewski and Sweet Home Design have really done a great job renovating my whole main living area. They removed two walls, placed a beam in the ceiling to support the roof, redid the entire kitchen, threaded in oak flooring to match the rest of the house sanded and stained it all, replaced the stair railing system, tiled the hall, and drywalled and painted everything in the upstairs.

The cabinets were purchased from Sweet Home Design and they are the best quality, most beautiful cabinets I have seen.

The workers hired for my job have all been easy to talk to, polite and very accommodating. Some did not speak English perfectly,
but all were very easy to work with. They sometimes were in my home until late at night, but considering the amount of time it took from gut to finish was only six weeks...I do not mind!

We plan to ask Sweet Home Design to come back next year to redo our bathroom. They are reasonably priced, and the workmanship is top notch.

I don't know who wrote all the negative reviews, but they are all the same on each site...Makes me think they were done by one person with a vendetta...

I would highly recommend Sweet Home Design to anyone considering a home renovation.

5
★★★★★

Larry Majewski and Sweet Home Design have really done a great job renovating my whole main living area. They removed two walls, placed a beam in the ceiling to support the roof, redid the entire kitchen, threaded in oak flooring to match the rest of the house sanded and stained it all, replaced the stair railing system, tiled the hall, and drywalled and painted everything in the upstairs.

The cabinets were purchased from Sweet Home Design and they are the best quality, most beautiful cabinets I have seen.

The workers hired for my job have all been easy to talk to, polite and very accommodating. Some did not speak English perfectly,
but all were very easy to work with. They sometimes were in my home until late at night, but considering the amount of time it took from gut to finish was only six weeks...I do not mind!

We plan to ask Sweet Home Design to come back next year to redo our bathroom. They are reasonably priced, and the workmanship is top notch.

I don't know who wrote all the negative reviews, but they are all the same on each site...Makes me think they were done by one person with a vendetta...

I would highly recommend Sweet Home Design to anyone considering a home renovation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I used them after a recommendation from a friend because she was so satisfied with their work and the experience. I had quite a bit more work done than she did and cannot say anything but great things about this company. Timely, professional, great crew (we almost missed them when they were gone :)) Will definitely use them again!

5
★★★★★

I used them after a recommendation from a friend because she was so satisfied with their work and the experience. I had quite a bit more work done than she did and cannot say anything but great things about this company. Timely, professional, great crew (we almost missed them when they were gone :)) Will definitely use them again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We had our kitchen done by Larry and his crew. They were easy to work with and did a thoroughly professional job. We LOVE it. Those bad reviews are from the type of customer who can't be pleased. The kind you wish had never called you in the first place. We have shown our kitchen to potential clients of Larry.

5
★★★★★

We had our kitchen done by Larry and his crew. They were easy to work with and did a thoroughly professional job. We LOVE it. Those bad reviews are from the type of customer who can't be pleased. The kind you wish had never called you in the first place. We have shown our kitchen to potential clients of Larry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

Sweet Home remodeled our small 8x5 kids bathroom. They helped us design the space and guided us through the process from start to finish. The interesting part was that we decided to go on vacation while the work was being done. We arrived home 7 days later and the job was done to perfedtion. no mess no fuss! Great Job!

5
★★★★★

Sweet Home remodeled our small 8x5 kids bathroom. They helped us design the space and guided us through the process from start to finish. The interesting part was that we decided to go on vacation while the work was being done. We arrived home 7 days later and the job was done to perfedtion. no mess no fuss! Great Job!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Using Sweet Home Design Company for our bathroom remodeling and kitchen reface was a perfect match for what we needed.
We had a very outdated bathroom that needed to be gutted and rebuilt from the studs up. Sweet Home Design handled it all start to finish. We are now mold free, and have replaced our pink and black (yes pink and black) ceramic tiles with gorgeous travertine. We have a walk-in 6 jet shower that makes us feel like we are at a spa (the only problem is we spend twice as long showering)! It's really the type of bathroom you would see in a magazine - we love it!
We then spoke with Larry about our kitchen. Rather than telling us we needed a total "redo" and being sensitive to our finances he recommended a cabinet reface. You would never know we were previously living with a dark (think 1960's meditterean) stained oak with wrought iron hardware. Our kitchen is a honey stained Maple and looks brand new! We have solid hardwood doors that are Amish made and we paid a fraction of what we expected to spend on our kitchen. Hardwood flooring in the kitchen replaced bad linoleum tile which we also had Sweet Home extend into our entry foyer.
Excellent bathroom remodelers - fantastic kitchen face-lift - expert floor laying sums up our experience with Sweet Home Design - Five Stars and then some!

2
★★★★★

Using Sweet Home Design Company for our bathroom remodeling and kitchen reface was a perfect match for what we needed.
We had a very outdated bathroom that needed to be gutted and rebuilt from the studs up. Sweet Home Design handled it all start to finish. We are now mold free, and have replaced our pink and black (yes pink and black) ceramic tiles with gorgeous travertine. We have a walk-in 6 jet shower that makes us feel like we are at a spa (the only problem is we spend twice as long showering)! It's really the type of bathroom you would see in a magazine - we love it!
We then spoke with Larry about our kitchen. Rather than telling us we needed a total "redo" and being sensitive to our finances he recommended a cabinet reface. You would never know we were previously living with a dark (think 1960's meditterean) stained oak with wrought iron hardware. Our kitchen is a honey stained Maple and looks brand new! We have solid hardwood doors that are Amish made and we paid a fraction of what we expected to spend on our kitchen. Hardwood flooring in the kitchen replaced bad linoleum tile which we also had Sweet Home extend into our entry foyer.
Excellent bathroom remodelers - fantastic kitchen face-lift - expert floor laying sums up our experience with Sweet Home Design - Five Stars and then some!

Pros: Expert tiling, flooring and cabinet refacing

.

Our experience with Sweet Home design has been one of the worst experiences we've ever had to go through. They kept delaying the installation of our kitchen, which was eventually finished 4 months behind schedule, and not in a very good condition.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Our experience with Sweet Home design has been one of the worst experiences we've ever had to go through. They kept delaying the installation of our kitchen, which was eventually finished 4 months behind schedule, and not in a very good condition.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

DON'T KNOW THIS CLIENT Sorry H.L. we don't have a client by that name. This is Nils Pedersen (N.K.) or (N.P.). He keeps posting under different names.
.

My girlfriend and I had a solid experience with Sweet Home Design. Responsive as can be,- beautiful kitchen design, GREAT cabinetry! The quality is five star as a company, and product line. We'll use them again without a doubt.
Thanks Larry & Lizz!
Kevin & Rachel W.
Burr Ridge

2
★★★★★

My girlfriend and I had a solid experience with Sweet Home Design. Responsive as can be,- beautiful kitchen design, GREAT cabinetry! The quality is five star as a company, and product line. We'll use them again without a doubt.
Thanks Larry & Lizz!
Kevin & Rachel W.
Burr Ridge

Pros: Responsive, fantastic quality cabinetry and workmanship

Cons: none

.

Finally after 5 years of living with a very dated bathroom. A full gut out was in order. I selected Sweet Home to design our bathroom after interviewing several companies. They provided great guidance throughout the project. They introduced us to excellent vendors such as Aquae Sulis and the Tile Shop to select our components. Once the construction started finished construction well ahead of schedule and did an awesome job.

5
★★★★★

Finally after 5 years of living with a very dated bathroom. A full gut out was in order. I selected Sweet Home to design our bathroom after interviewing several companies. They provided great guidance throughout the project. They introduced us to excellent vendors such as Aquae Sulis and the Tile Shop to select our components. Once the construction started finished construction well ahead of schedule and did an awesome job.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

.

My wife and I interviewed 8 different kitchen remodeling companies. We went and viewed 4 of their Amish made kitchens by Sweet Home Design and were very impressed. Our kitchen was finished for Christmas. I truly think Architectural Mag should take pics and publish the finished result. Fantastic job, Fantastic experience. Please email me if you'd like.

5
★★★★★

My wife and I interviewed 8 different kitchen remodeling companies. We went and viewed 4 of their Amish made kitchens by Sweet Home Design and were very impressed. Our kitchen was finished for Christmas. I truly think Architectural Mag should take pics and publish the finished result. Fantastic job, Fantastic experience. Please email me if you'd like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

.

We were extremely unfortunate when we picked Sweet Home Design Company to remodel our kitchen. The process from start to finish was fraught with delays and rework after rework due to poor craftsmanship. The entire process was supposed to take a couple of weeks, but Larry (the owner) left us with no kitchen for several months. A real nightmare when you have two small kids.

UPDATE: Larry Majewski has apparently responded to my review below and makes several false statements. Let me address them, one by one:
1. He claims I'm being "scrutinized", whatever that means. The only contractors I have ever had problems with was himself and one of his associates. Whatever "scrutinization" he claims, I have yet to hear from either of them, and I have certainly not stolen anything, much less any of their worthless "services". If anything, I've overpaid when paying the 50% down before start of job.
2. His next claim that I "hire contractors, has work completed and then refuses to pay" is downright libelous. The last 6 months I've had 7 different contractors in my home, 2 of them being Larry and his associate, and also the only 2 with which I've had problems. The other 5 contractors have done a great job and have all been paid on time. This is an indisputable fact and quite easy to prove.
3. "One company returned to his home and removed the materials". No company has ever come back to remove anything installed. Blatant falsehood.
4. "He only responded when my attorney was brought into the mix". I have never spoken to, nor been contacted by, Larry Majewski's attorney, if in fact he has any. Another blatant falsehood.
5. "Mr. Pedersen sabotagued his home and the work that had been completed then accused our company of having created the probems". Think about this one. Why on earth would I sabotage my own home? So I could pay another contractor to fix it? Which is what I ended up having to do, because Sweet Home Design was unable to fulfill their contractual obligations.
6. "No statement was ever made by me as to my workers not being capable". Larry wanted to dissolve the contract (which I have in writing), because his workers was incapable of finishing the kitchen, due to inexperience with the brand. This was Larry's exact statement.

2ND UPDATE:
Larry, I know very well what the word "scrutinized " mean. It was your usage of the word I questioned. If you were really interested in the English language, you would learn to spell "sabotagued" and "persued" properly.
To address your untruths:
7. Your associate refused to fix the uneven and oversized cutout, so I was left with no choice but to request them to remove the partially installed countertop, before they wasted anymore of my and their own time. Did you expect me to pay for an unprofessional cut? I even offered to pay for a separate piece, to minimize his loss, but he refused that too. Also, the invoice cost was $3500, not $5000+ as you incorrectly claim.

Larry, you talk about principles, yet you seem to have none yourself. If you had any, you would have resolved this matter per your own proposal. A proposal you rescinded before even talking to me. Instead you intimidated my wife when I was at work, pressuring her to sign an agreement she could not understand, nor was she in a legal capacity to sign it.
Unlike yourself Larry, I have very firm principles. One of them is not paying for work not finished. I think it's a principle I share with most people.
You have twice failed to live up to your own written words, a clear demonstration of lack of principle.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We were extremely unfortunate when we picked Sweet Home Design Company to remodel our kitchen. The process from start to finish was fraught with delays and rework after rework due to poor craftsmanship. The entire process was supposed to take a couple of weeks, but Larry (the owner) left us with no kitchen for several months. A real nightmare when you have two small kids.

UPDATE: Larry Majewski has apparently responded to my review below and makes several false statements. Let me address them, one by one:
1. He claims I'm being "scrutinized", whatever that means. The only contractors I have ever had problems with was himself and one of his associates. Whatever "scrutinization" he claims, I have yet to hear from either of them, and I have certainly not stolen anything, much less any of their worthless "services". If anything, I've overpaid when paying the 50% down before start of job.
2. His next claim that I "hire contractors, has work completed and then refuses to pay" is downright libelous. The last 6 months I've had 7 different contractors in my home, 2 of them being Larry and his associate, and also the only 2 with which I've had problems. The other 5 contractors have done a great job and have all been paid on time. This is an indisputable fact and quite easy to prove.
3. "One company returned to his home and removed the materials". No company has ever come back to remove anything installed. Blatant falsehood.
4. "He only responded when my attorney was brought into the mix". I have never spoken to, nor been contacted by, Larry Majewski's attorney, if in fact he has any. Another blatant falsehood.
5. "Mr. Pedersen sabotagued his home and the work that had been completed then accused our company of having created the probems". Think about this one. Why on earth would I sabotage my own home? So I could pay another contractor to fix it? Which is what I ended up having to do, because Sweet Home Design was unable to fulfill their contractual obligations.
6. "No statement was ever made by me as to my workers not being capable". Larry wanted to dissolve the contract (which I have in writing), because his workers was incapable of finishing the kitchen, due to inexperience with the brand. This was Larry's exact statement.

2ND UPDATE:
Larry, I know very well what the word "scrutinized " mean. It was your usage of the word I questioned. If you were really interested in the English language, you would learn to spell "sabotagued" and "persued" properly.
To address your untruths:
7. Your associate refused to fix the uneven and oversized cutout, so I was left with no choice but to request them to remove the partially installed countertop, before they wasted anymore of my and their own time. Did you expect me to pay for an unprofessional cut? I even offered to pay for a separate piece, to minimize his loss, but he refused that too. Also, the invoice cost was $3500, not $5000+ as you incorrectly claim.

Larry, you talk about principles, yet you seem to have none yourself. If you had any, you would have resolved this matter per your own proposal. A proposal you rescinded before even talking to me. Instead you intimidated my wife when I was at work, pressuring her to sign an agreement she could not understand, nor was she in a legal capacity to sign it.
Unlike yourself Larry, I have very firm principles. One of them is not paying for work not finished. I think it's a principle I share with most people.
You have twice failed to live up to your own written words, a clear demonstration of lack of principle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Beware all Contractors! This poster Nils Pedersen of Naperville has three (and counting?) reviews of my business on this site using different names...in fact he is the only questionable review I have ever received from a client. I can provide 100's of names of highly satisfied clients. Visit our website and you will see the quality of work our company does. This man wanted us to install chipboard cabinets he tried to build. He then attempted to steal our services and those of a granite company (who DID come in and remove their product from his home). He was also banned from posting his reviews on a site that has the true information on this man and his disreputable behavior.
.

I was so happy from the start to finish with Sweet Home. I am a very picky customer and I have shopped around quite a bit. I have also talked to friends who have used other companies that they were not happy with. Either the cabinets were not what was promised or the pricing changed after the first quote.

Anyway, Sweet Home Design came in and gave me the up front on pricing, what would be done and how it would be done. Larry (the owner of the company) came through on all fronts. What he said would be done was spot on. The pricing didn't change and the work was completed within a week of his promised date. (There were some serious structural issues with my house that created BIG challenges and they said they could correct them and they did). This by the way, scared other contractors off the job... (we have an older home in Naperville).

We were very pleased and will recommend Larry and Sweet Home Design.
Great job... great product....craftmanship

2
★★★★★

I was so happy from the start to finish with Sweet Home. I am a very picky customer and I have shopped around quite a bit. I have also talked to friends who have used other companies that they were not happy with. Either the cabinets were not what was promised or the pricing changed after the first quote.

Anyway, Sweet Home Design came in and gave me the up front on pricing, what would be done and how it would be done. Larry (the owner of the company) came through on all fronts. What he said would be done was spot on. The pricing didn't change and the work was completed within a week of his promised date. (There were some serious structural issues with my house that created BIG challenges and they said they could correct them and they did). This by the way, scared other contractors off the job... (we have an older home in Naperville).

We were very pleased and will recommend Larry and Sweet Home Design.
Great job... great product....craftmanship

Pros: did what he said, price was as promised, beautiful amish cabinetry.... more than I could have hoped for.

Cons: ...... one week delay??? but our problem..... they discovered things that were problems. They fixed it and made our home more sound.

.

In the beginning of June 2007 we hired Sweet Home Design and owner Larry Majewski to remodel our kitchen. Things, however, didn't turn out as nicely as we had hoped.
Larry himself is not a hands-on guy, but employs an array of different people doing the various work that goes into a kitchen remodeling project. Most of the people we dealt with did not speak English, which was frustrating.
The project schedule quickly started to slip. Often, we would be told that the workers would show up around 9am, but then either never showed up that day, or showed up way past noon, and would then either leave early, or stay until 8-9pm.
We were also not impressed with the workmanship of some of Larry's people. Basic mistakes were made that we believe can only be from either inexperience or incompetence.
After problems with the cabinets, Larry admitted that his people were not skilled enough to put up the kitchen cabinets. At this point we agreed with Larry to hire another company, experienced with that type of kitchen, to finish the kitchen cabinet installation.
We still had issues with the tile floor and, probably in an attempt to cut his losses, Larry wrote up a contract dissolution agreement. It was delivered with a mention that he had several lawyers in the family and knew several judges.
I chose to disregard Larry's comments and called him two days later to arrange signing of the agreement. At that point he told me that he had rescinded the agreement and now stated that he wanted to finish the kitchen, well knowing that the other company had already finished the cabinet installation. At this point we had no faith left in Larry, his promises, or his ability to actually finish the kitchen. We were now in the second half of July 2007 on a project that several contractors told us should take no more than 1-2 weeks.
To this day, Larry refuses to sign his own contract dissolution agreement and has presented no new alternatives to terminate the still standing contract.

0
★☆☆☆☆

In the beginning of June 2007 we hired Sweet Home Design and owner Larry Majewski to remodel our kitchen. Things, however, didn't turn out as nicely as we had hoped.
Larry himself is not a hands-on guy, but employs an array of different people doing the various work that goes into a kitchen remodeling project. Most of the people we dealt with did not speak English, which was frustrating.
The project schedule quickly started to slip. Often, we would be told that the workers would show up around 9am, but then either never showed up that day, or showed up way past noon, and would then either leave early, or stay until 8-9pm.
We were also not impressed with the workmanship of some of Larry's people. Basic mistakes were made that we believe can only be from either inexperience or incompetence.
After problems with the cabinets, Larry admitted that his people were not skilled enough to put up the kitchen cabinets. At this point we agreed with Larry to hire another company, experienced with that type of kitchen, to finish the kitchen cabinet installation.
We still had issues with the tile floor and, probably in an attempt to cut his losses, Larry wrote up a contract dissolution agreement. It was delivered with a mention that he had several lawyers in the family and knew several judges.
I chose to disregard Larry's comments and called him two days later to arrange signing of the agreement. At that point he told me that he had rescinded the agreement and now stated that he wanted to finish the kitchen, well knowing that the other company had already finished the cabinet installation. At this point we had no faith left in Larry, his promises, or his ability to actually finish the kitchen. We were now in the second half of July 2007 on a project that several contractors told us should take no more than 1-2 weeks.
To this day, Larry refuses to sign his own contract dissolution agreement and has presented no new alternatives to terminate the still standing contract.

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Sweet Home Design Co, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review