Emma's Food For Life Inc

★★★★☆
  • 11 S Market St

    Selinsgrove, PA 17870

    Map & Directions
  • 570-374-0178

About Emma's Food For Life Inc

Hours
Tue-Sat 11am-9pm

Food

Food
More choices in Selinsgrove:
Resultset_next

Villa Teresa

1 Susquehanna Valley Mall A10 Selinsgrove, PA

Resultset_next

Kind Cafe

16 N Market St Selinsgrove, PA

3.9333 15
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Emma's Food For Life Inc was?
Write a Review
.

I love to eat at Emma's! Last Friday I had the Penne Pipeline ,WOW, that was great. It is smoked salmon w/ pasta & spinich in a nice creamy sauce (some may find it a bit salty, I like it that way)- It came with bread and butter that had a touch of honey. I ran out of bread but they brought another slice. A great meal! So.. I went back Saturday night. They were sold out of my favorite Mushroom Lasagna so I tried the shrimp w/ snow peas. That was very good. For dessert I got the last piece of Blueberry pie, Oh, lucky me! It was marvelous, blueberries with a taste of lemon.
Well it's Friday, and I have to decide what I want to get... The Olive Tapanade Burger is scrumptious but.. maybe I'll have the Mushroom Lasagna, that is truly my favorite!
Supporting local business that in turn support local farmers and hire people from our area is an excellent way to make this a better place for all of us to live together, and here you are rewarded with good healthy food and the knowlege that your money isn't blowing out some exhaust pipe dragging lettuce from California, It's staying right here where it belongs.

5
★★★★★

I love to eat at Emma's! Last Friday I had the Penne Pipeline ,WOW, that was great. It is smoked salmon w/ pasta & spinich in a nice creamy sauce (some may find it a bit salty, I like it that way)- It came with bread and butter that had a touch of honey. I ran out of bread but they brought another slice. A great meal! So.. I went back Saturday night. They were sold out of my favorite Mushroom Lasagna so I tried the shrimp w/ snow peas. That was very good. For dessert I got the last piece of Blueberry pie, Oh, lucky me! It was marvelous, blueberries with a taste of lemon.
Well it's Friday, and I have to decide what I want to get... The Olive Tapanade Burger is scrumptious but.. maybe I'll have the Mushroom Lasagna, that is truly my favorite!
Supporting local business that in turn support local farmers and hire people from our area is an excellent way to make this a better place for all of us to live together, and here you are rewarded with good healthy food and the knowlege that your money isn't blowing out some exhaust pipe dragging lettuce from California, It's staying right here where it belongs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Glad you love it! Visit our facebook page to see a picture of our future food! Thanks!
.

I've read the reviews and thought I knew what to expect: Locally grown food, portion sizes that would satiate but not overwhelm, and a comfortable, relaxed environment. Let's put that out there right away. I was NOT expecting an all-you-can-eat buffet, and I do know the costs associated with humanely raised meat and locally grown (sometimes organic) produce. Still, my experiences (yes, there have been multiple) at Emma's have become increasingly disappointing. The service, while never great, has deteriorated to the point that it's now a running joke in our group to see how long it takes to get the basics (can they not see the empty glass?!). The portions, again, never over the top in size, seem to have been made even smaller during the past year. Yes, the food is good (although, again, lately that's gone downhill in our opinion), and that's the only reason I'll give 2 stars instead of 1. I'm aware there's been a recession, and granted, many restaurants have cut back on portion size, but when I commit to spending my dining dollars at a small, locally owned restaurant, I do not expect to walk away hungry and dissatisfied with the service. Such a shame.

2
★★☆☆☆

I've read the reviews and thought I knew what to expect: Locally grown food, portion sizes that would satiate but not overwhelm, and a comfortable, relaxed environment. Let's put that out there right away. I was NOT expecting an all-you-can-eat buffet, and I do know the costs associated with humanely raised meat and locally grown (sometimes organic) produce. Still, my experiences (yes, there have been multiple) at Emma's have become increasingly disappointing. The service, while never great, has deteriorated to the point that it's now a running joke in our group to see how long it takes to get the basics (can they not see the empty glass?!). The portions, again, never over the top in size, seem to have been made even smaller during the past year. Yes, the food is good (although, again, lately that's gone downhill in our opinion), and that's the only reason I'll give 2 stars instead of 1. I'm aware there's been a recession, and granted, many restaurants have cut back on portion size, but when I commit to spending my dining dollars at a small, locally owned restaurant, I do not expect to walk away hungry and dissatisfied with the service. Such a shame.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

The restaurant is never open when I (the owner) am not there. I either wait on tables or cook. For the past several months, both owners of the business have been available at almost all times. No one has ever made us aware of any dissapointing experiences and had they done so, we would have done our best to remedy the situation. We have free refills on all of our teas and we have 48 different kinds on our tea menu. I have not been aware that anyone sits with an empty glass unless they have said they don't want a refill. Our portion sizes have not changed at all and I am working constantly with farmers and other providers to keep top quality, fresh food available to our customers at all times. There is no reason to walk away dissatified. I am always available to help with any problem that might arise. I am probably the one waiting on your table! It is my passion to provide local food to the public for a reasonable cost and will do what it takes to make my customers happy. I am sincerely sorry that you were not happy with your experience.
.

Emma's is a true dining experience! The food is amazing and even before i sat down i felt right at home. The meals are reasonably priced and i left full and extremely satisfied! Emma's is a real treat!

4
★★★★☆

Emma's is a true dining experience! The food is amazing and even before i sat down i felt right at home. The meals are reasonably priced and i left full and extremely satisfied! Emma's is a real treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! Our goal is to make people feel at home!
.

Owned/operated by one of the nicest folk you will ever meet, Emma's serves a fresh, local blend of traditional favorites (for central PA meat-n-potato diehards) and more adventurous items for those so inclined. Some prices may seem slightly higher, but very high quality food, produced sustainably without the usual government subsidies, does indeed cost a bit more. A 1/3 pound grass-fed specialty cheeseburger and hand-cut fries is $8.50--comparable to Applebees but better in many ways. You can also get a filling and comforting $10 vegetarian entree of falafel curry unlikely to be found anywhere else locally. Portions are perfectly adequate, but some might seem smaller compared to the supersized doggy-bag platters to which many are unfortunately accustomed. Vegan-friendly, but not pretentiously so. Try the olive tapenade (spread) -- it's wonderful! Limited hours (a recession necessity), so check the website or Facebook.

4
★★★★☆

Owned/operated by one of the nicest folk you will ever meet, Emma's serves a fresh, local blend of traditional favorites (for central PA meat-n-potato diehards) and more adventurous items for those so inclined. Some prices may seem slightly higher, but very high quality food, produced sustainably without the usual government subsidies, does indeed cost a bit more. A 1/3 pound grass-fed specialty cheeseburger and hand-cut fries is $8.50--comparable to Applebees but better in many ways. You can also get a filling and comforting $10 vegetarian entree of falafel curry unlikely to be found anywhere else locally. Portions are perfectly adequate, but some might seem smaller compared to the supersized doggy-bag platters to which many are unfortunately accustomed. Vegan-friendly, but not pretentiously so. Try the olive tapenade (spread) -- it's wonderful! Limited hours (a recession necessity), so check the website or Facebook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks for your appreciation! Providing fresh, local food to our customers is my passion!
.

I was first made aware of Emma's when it catered a women's forum in the area. The food was seasonal, using locally grown and raised products, and good. Since then I have eaten at the restaurant almost a dozen times . I enjoy the food, think it's great that the restaurant introduces new specials each month that are season-appropriate, and I don't eat anywhere else when I visit Selinsgrove. The pizza's are great, my sister loves their burgers too. Great to know that we have a local restaurant like Emma's supporting local growers!

4
★★★★☆

I was first made aware of Emma's when it catered a women's forum in the area. The food was seasonal, using locally grown and raised products, and good. Since then I have eaten at the restaurant almost a dozen times . I enjoy the food, think it's great that the restaurant introduces new specials each month that are season-appropriate, and I don't eat anywhere else when I visit Selinsgrove. The pizza's are great, my sister loves their burgers too. Great to know that we have a local restaurant like Emma's supporting local growers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Supporting local growers and keeping our dollars local is the only way to keep our food security. Thanks for your support of us!
.

The food was delicious, and the server was very helpful and concerned about my partner's food allergies. The downside is that is that with an entree there are no extras, I thought an entree would be accompanied with bread and/or salad. The portions sizes are very small, especially considering the price. The taste of the food is superior, though, and I will go back.

3
★★★☆☆

The food was delicious, and the server was very helpful and concerned about my partner's food allergies. The downside is that is that with an entree there are no extras, I thought an entree would be accompanied with bread and/or salad. The portions sizes are very small, especially considering the price. The taste of the food is superior, though, and I will go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

The entree does normally come with bread, but not a salad. I may revisit that for the next menu update. Thanks for the criticism. Sorry you didn't recieve your bread. Valentine's is really busy for us. Please, in the future, make us aware of your needs when you are at the restaurant. I (Emma) am always there when we are open and would be glad to help you with any problems that you might have.
.

My husband and I love Emma's. We drive almost an hour from Montoursville at least once a month to eat there. The special we had tonight-empanadas with mushrooms, spinach, feta cheese and a brandy cream sauce was creamy and delicious and the chocolate pecan tart was even better. High quality, tasty food with reasonable portion sizes so you can enjoy without overdoing it...and using local produce...and different things on special every month...definitely give it a try.

5
★★★★★

My husband and I love Emma's. We drive almost an hour from Montoursville at least once a month to eat there. The special we had tonight-empanadas with mushrooms, spinach, feta cheese and a brandy cream sauce was creamy and delicious and the chocolate pecan tart was even better. High quality, tasty food with reasonable portion sizes so you can enjoy without overdoing it...and using local produce...and different things on special every month...definitely give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! Great to have you as part of our family.
.

If you are looking for a healthy choice away from your own kitchen, Emma's is the place to go. I choose to eat all natural, organic, non-processed foods as much as possible and everything I have ever eaten at Emma's fits this order. Everything is prepared fresh so the restaurant does not serve "Fast Food"! It is always worth the wait. If you are in a hurry call ahead with your order. I enjoy the clean, casual atmosphere with local artists pictures on display.

4
★★★★☆

If you are looking for a healthy choice away from your own kitchen, Emma's is the place to go. I choose to eat all natural, organic, non-processed foods as much as possible and everything I have ever eaten at Emma's fits this order. Everything is prepared fresh so the restaurant does not serve "Fast Food"! It is always worth the wait. If you are in a hurry call ahead with your order. I enjoy the clean, casual atmosphere with local artists pictures on display.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks! Everything we make is from "scratch", just like my mother and grandmother.
.

My experiences at Emma' have always been positive. The food has been wholesome and delicious. Service for me has always been good; however, I am now a customer who lets the service staff know what I expect.
Support of local farmers is a great concept. The food is fresher. The impact on the environment is minimized.
I try to make it in whenever I'm passing through.
The occasional live entertainment has been enjoyable. It is low key and provides a nice background for dining. We're fortunate to have Emma's.

5
★★★★★

My experiences at Emma' have always been positive. The food has been wholesome and delicious. Service for me has always been good; however, I am now a customer who lets the service staff know what I expect.
Support of local farmers is a great concept. The food is fresher. The impact on the environment is minimized.
I try to make it in whenever I'm passing through.
The occasional live entertainment has been enjoyable. It is low key and provides a nice background for dining. We're fortunate to have Emma's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks for loving local food!
.

I have truly come to love Emma's because of many things. First and foremost is the fine food that is prepared. Being a vegetarian for the last 20 years, it has been a challenge to find quality restuarants that provide tasty options for me. I also enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the small dining room, the pictures by local photographers on the walls and the ongoing dedication to local produce and meats. I also have grown to respect Emma's desire to give back to her community through her free monthly community dinners. My personal experience has been really wonderful. I love the meals, enjoy the atmosphere and respect the ideals that Emma holds to. I encourage all to stop in and taste this whole, organic experience.

5
★★★★★

I have truly come to love Emma's because of many things. First and foremost is the fine food that is prepared. Being a vegetarian for the last 20 years, it has been a challenge to find quality restuarants that provide tasty options for me. I also enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the small dining room, the pictures by local photographers on the walls and the ongoing dedication to local produce and meats. I also have grown to respect Emma's desire to give back to her community through her free monthly community dinners. My personal experience has been really wonderful. I love the meals, enjoy the atmosphere and respect the ideals that Emma holds to. I encourage all to stop in and taste this whole, organic experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! Community dinners exemplify the very reason why we are doing what what we are doing; to give back to the community.
.

We had visited Emma's Food for Life a year or so ago and found it to be pretty good, especially considering the limited options in Selinsgrove (namely, the Brewery, which hasn't changed its menu in a decade). So when we found ourselves visiting the town again last week, we decided to make a return visit. How disappointing. I don't know if the owner has changed suppliers, chefs/cooks or both, but the food quality has definitely deteriorated. Our burgers were pretty much on par with something you'd find at any chain restaurant...not good considering the wait for them plus the price. The service was also slow and didn't seem to have any prior serving experience; we had to ask repeatedly for the basics (water and tea refills especially), and it was that it was busy. In fact, there were no other diners there. We're sorry this place has gone downhill, but when we mentioned it to our friends who live there, they said they've stopped going for the very same reasons. Too bad. We won't go back.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We had visited Emma's Food for Life a year or so ago and found it to be pretty good, especially considering the limited options in Selinsgrove (namely, the Brewery, which hasn't changed its menu in a decade). So when we found ourselves visiting the town again last week, we decided to make a return visit. How disappointing. I don't know if the owner has changed suppliers, chefs/cooks or both, but the food quality has definitely deteriorated. Our burgers were pretty much on par with something you'd find at any chain restaurant...not good considering the wait for them plus the price. The service was also slow and didn't seem to have any prior serving experience; we had to ask repeatedly for the basics (water and tea refills especially), and it was that it was busy. In fact, there were no other diners there. We're sorry this place has gone downhill, but when we mentioned it to our friends who live there, they said they've stopped going for the very same reasons. Too bad. We won't go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am sorry you had this experience. We have never changed the quality or size of our burgers or other food for that matter. We did, however, have a part-time cook that was meant to give me a break. That didn't work, so I am back to being at the restaurant at all times when it is open. Hope you will come back and see us in the future and make us aware of any problems you have while you are there. We will correct them however we can.
.

First of all it's one of the cleanest restaurants I have ever been to. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the service was great. All of my special requests were met without any hesitation. The food was delicious and filling. The concept of local grown food and the support of the local economy should make anybody that is even the slightest bit worried about the economic status to visit it to show their support while in turn getting a wonderful meal in a great atmosphere. I will definitely return to this restaurant.

5
★★★★★

First of all it's one of the cleanest restaurants I have ever been to. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the service was great. All of my special requests were met without any hesitation. The food was delicious and filling. The concept of local grown food and the support of the local economy should make anybody that is even the slightest bit worried about the economic status to visit it to show their support while in turn getting a wonderful meal in a great atmosphere. I will definitely return to this restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! You can't have great tasting food without a clean environment.
.

We had a mixed experience at a recent visit to Emma's Food for Life. I ordered a sandwich and my husband ordered the special. We reported that he was allergic to one of the ingredients that was not listed on the menu and the waitress was quick to apologize and take the meal from us. The cook, who we later learned from the newspaper clipping on the counter, was inapporpriately angry and we could hear her rant from the kitchen.

Our meals were delicious. The selection was wonderful. We were both impressed with the dedication to local farmers and producers. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner but wouldn't return because of the environment.

3
★★★☆☆

We had a mixed experience at a recent visit to Emma's Food for Life. I ordered a sandwich and my husband ordered the special. We reported that he was allergic to one of the ingredients that was not listed on the menu and the waitress was quick to apologize and take the meal from us. The cook, who we later learned from the newspaper clipping on the counter, was inapporpriately angry and we could hear her rant from the kitchen.

Our meals were delicious. The selection was wonderful. We were both impressed with the dedication to local farmers and producers. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner but wouldn't return because of the environment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am sorry you had this experience. The environment is normally serene and relaxing. I am not sure what happened during this occasion, but would hope that you would come back and try us again.
.

I am a good friend of Emma's but can assure you I am not biased when I say that the food at her restaurant is definitely some of the best I have ever tasted. Don't let the fact that it's healthy and organic scare you! The portions are plentiful and the cuisine very filling. I live in Harrisburg and don't think twice about making the drive to Selinsgrove when I crave a delectable meal in a nice, relaxing atmosphere.

5
★★★★★

I am a good friend of Emma's but can assure you I am not biased when I say that the food at her restaurant is definitely some of the best I have ever tasted. Don't let the fact that it's healthy and organic scare you! The portions are plentiful and the cuisine very filling. I live in Harrisburg and don't think twice about making the drive to Selinsgrove when I crave a delectable meal in a nice, relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! Glad you think us worth the drive!!
.

This is my current favorite restaurant. The food is healthy, delicious and interesting. I try to eat healthy and watch my weight but I never feel guilty about eating out when I got to Emma's!

4
★★★★☆

This is my current favorite restaurant. The food is healthy, delicious and interesting. I try to eat healthy and watch my weight but I never feel guilty about eating out when I got to Emma's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are honored to be your favorite!

Message from Emma's Food For Life Inc

Here at Emma‚??s we strive to serve only the freshest food made from local ingredients. We take pride in the quality of the food that we serve to you. We buy organic ingredients whenever they are available to us. Our beef, cheese, and dairy comes from grass fed cattle and our poultry products are free range whenever possible.

We buy local ingredients whenever possible because we hope to serve our community in a sustainable manner. Eating local food also connects us to our community and forces us to eat seasonally, the way nature intended. Enjoy!

More about Emma's Food For Life Inc

We provide our customers with the freshest possible local, seasonal food available in a relaxed atmosphere. We buy our food directly from the farmers in the central Susquehanna valley whenever possible.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Emma's Food For Life Inc, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review