Haru Gramercy Park

★★★★☆
Gramercy Park location of Japanese fusion mini-chain serving sushi, rolls and other hot and cold dishes.
  • 220 Park Ave S

    New York, NY 10003

    Cross street: 18th Street

    Map & Directions
  • 646-428-0989

About Haru Gramercy Park

Hours
Monday: 12:00-10:15pm Tuesday-Friday: 12:00-11:15pm Saturday: 2:00-11:15pm Sunday: 2:00-10:15pm

Food

Food
More choices in New York:
Resultset_next

Sushi Samba Park

245 Park Ave S New York, NY

Resultset_next

Nobu

195 Broadway 1 New York, NY

3.6 20
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Haru Gramercy Park was?
Write a Review
.

The inside of this Japanese restaurant is quaint and cozy with white lights strung through birch trees lining the walls. The happy hour drinks were half off and the selection was creative. We shared several sushi dishes and appetizers with the table. I don't eat fish at all but I found myself trying the seared ahi tuna (and it was DELICIOUS!) and the black cod (also good, but for a non-fish eater I must take baby steps). Although the AC was broken and it got a bit too warm inside, the servers handed out cold towels that made up for it.

2
★★★★☆

The inside of this Japanese restaurant is quaint and cozy with white lights strung through birch trees lining the walls. The happy hour drinks were half off and the selection was creative. We shared several sushi dishes and appetizers with the table. I don't eat fish at all but I found myself trying the seared ahi tuna (and it was DELICIOUS!) and the black cod (also good, but for a non-fish eater I must take baby steps). Although the AC was broken and it got a bit too warm inside, the servers handed out cold towels that made up for it.

Pros: Great sushi and plates for sharing

Cons: The AC wasn't working in the middle of June...

.

The sushi here is good (not great). However, the fun environment and super convenient location make this a good place for dinner.

2
★★★★☆

The sushi here is good (not great). However, the fun environment and super convenient location make this a good place for dinner.

.

From the minute you walk in, the Park Avenue Haru comes off as an extremely typical new york sushi bar. However, upon further examination, it becomes clear that their attention to detail and quality service make the experience phenomenal. Between the electronic jellyfish occupying the tanks and the hot towels you upon entry, the staff makes you feel extremely comfortable. The sushi is also fantastic and not comparably pricey for a new york restaurant.

4
★★★★☆

From the minute you walk in, the Park Avenue Haru comes off as an extremely typical new york sushi bar. However, upon further examination, it becomes clear that their attention to detail and quality service make the experience phenomenal. Between the electronic jellyfish occupying the tanks and the hot towels you upon entry, the staff makes you feel extremely comfortable. The sushi is also fantastic and not comparably pricey for a new york restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Really great sake, just in case you thought they were all alike. This is a very popular spot for congenial gatherings - a place to see famous people while enjoying a very good meal. There is also a dining room available for private parties and celebrations. Located in Gramacy Park it's a sure bet for modern Asian cuisine.

4
★★★★☆

Really great sake, just in case you thought they were all alike. This is a very popular spot for congenial gatherings - a place to see famous people while enjoying a very good meal. There is also a dining room available for private parties and celebrations. Located in Gramacy Park it's a sure bet for modern Asian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My friend and I stumbed across this sushi restaurant while looking for a place to eat in the city. We loved it! Enjoyed eating outdoors when the weather was nice. The staff was very polite and friendly. The presentation of food was superb.

2
★★★★★

My friend and I stumbed across this sushi restaurant while looking for a place to eat in the city. We loved it! Enjoyed eating outdoors when the weather was nice. The staff was very polite and friendly. The presentation of food was superb.

Pros: Try the Field Green Salad & Shrimp Tempura - It's delicious!

.

The rolls they served me looked like they were made yesterday. The chicken teriyaki was dry... I have gone here a few times and I think i can find a better sushi restaurant in the area.. the restaurant is attractive but the food is SUB PAR...my miso soup is always luke warm and the service is always spotted!

1
★★☆☆☆

The rolls they served me looked like they were made yesterday. The chicken teriyaki was dry... I have gone here a few times and I think i can find a better sushi restaurant in the area.. the restaurant is attractive but the food is SUB PAR...my miso soup is always luke warm and the service is always spotted!

Pros: Decor

Cons: Food

.

Don't usually write or really care about my nights out in NYC, but WOW. Haru at gramercy park.... YUMMMM! From the second I walked in the door.... Hot Guy in Tie! Yes he asked if I had a reso.. then said there is a wait. After I gathered myself , I said no and he told me that there was a bit of a wait. We went to the bar and met BENNY, soo fun. He makes a mean drink. After a short wait, Hot Guy in a Tie, CHRIS, took us to our table. This place is just FUN. The staff rocks, and the food is awesome!!! Tanty our server, recomended the crab cakes and the dream of an angel. WOW. Not on the menu, just ask. SOOOO fun sooo good. Chris, love the tie.

2
★★★★☆

Don't usually write or really care about my nights out in NYC, but WOW. Haru at gramercy park.... YUMMMM! From the second I walked in the door.... Hot Guy in Tie! Yes he asked if I had a reso.. then said there is a wait. After I gathered myself , I said no and he told me that there was a bit of a wait. We went to the bar and met BENNY, soo fun. He makes a mean drink. After a short wait, Hot Guy in a Tie, CHRIS, took us to our table. This place is just FUN. The staff rocks, and the food is awesome!!! Tanty our server, recomended the crab cakes and the dream of an angel. WOW. Not on the menu, just ask. SOOOO fun sooo good. Chris, love the tie.

Pros: a must

Cons: can be crowded

.

Where do I start? I heard about this place from a friend and she told me to check it out. ""Great food , Amazing cocktails, Great sake, Great vibe."" She was right. Although I wish I listened to her when she said to RSVP. We went on a Thursday at 8:00 and there was a wait. Could only imagine the crowd on a Fri or Sat. We were told 30 to 40 mins wait and almost left, but the guy at the door said that we could wait in the bar area and even get the full menu there, or just drink and wait for our table. We decided to take our chances and wait for our table. We got a cocktail table at the bar and ordered some drinks. WOW try the Leechee tini. AMAZING! The Hostest came and told us that our table was ready. We only waited 20 mins. Walking to our table was an event in itself. I don't think they let in UGLY people. So many beautiful women. Our sever (sugi) was awsome. He told us about the ""super dynomite"" and 2 items that are not on the menu, but are a must , the crab cake and the dream of an angel. Just ask about them. The food was sooo good. And not that expensive for NY. The music can be all over the place, from Zeplin to house we even heard some 80's classics. All in all, if you want great food, drinks, service, and atmosphere check this place out. RSVP's are a good idea but not ness. Sugi told us that in a week, the outdoor patio will be open. This place ROCKS!!! Well worth the trip.

2
★★★★☆

Where do I start? I heard about this place from a friend and she told me to check it out. ""Great food , Amazing cocktails, Great sake, Great vibe."" She was right. Although I wish I listened to her when she said to RSVP. We went on a Thursday at 8:00 and there was a wait. Could only imagine the crowd on a Fri or Sat. We were told 30 to 40 mins wait and almost left, but the guy at the door said that we could wait in the bar area and even get the full menu there, or just drink and wait for our table. We decided to take our chances and wait for our table. We got a cocktail table at the bar and ordered some drinks. WOW try the Leechee tini. AMAZING! The Hostest came and told us that our table was ready. We only waited 20 mins. Walking to our table was an event in itself. I don't think they let in UGLY people. So many beautiful women. Our sever (sugi) was awsome. He told us about the ""super dynomite"" and 2 items that are not on the menu, but are a must , the crab cake and the dream of an angel. Just ask about them. The food was sooo good. And not that expensive for NY. The music can be all over the place, from Zeplin to house we even heard some 80's classics. All in all, if you want great food, drinks, service, and atmosphere check this place out. RSVP's are a good idea but not ness. Sugi told us that in a week, the outdoor patio will be open. This place ROCKS!!! Well worth the trip.

Pros: restaurant meets lounge, great food, amazing cocktails, =FUN

Cons: expecting to leave after dinner but wanting to stay

.

This place gets you lively feeling: lights, waterfalls, curves and noises ? all changing, running, moving and sizzling ? close your eyes and imagine jungle floor. Menu is huge and innovative. Japanese Draft beer worth waiting. Ambience saves the day if food is slightly inconsistent. Never made me disappointed.

2
★★★★☆

This place gets you lively feeling: lights, waterfalls, curves and noises ? all changing, running, moving and sizzling ? close your eyes and imagine jungle floor. Menu is huge and innovative. Japanese Draft beer worth waiting. Ambience saves the day if food is slightly inconsistent. Never made me disappointed.

Pros: ambience

Cons: can get noisy when crowded

.

Great food, great music, and a lively night-life atmospher. I go to Haru at least once a week and I have never left disappointed. The food, music and staff all combine to make it a great night out in NYC. On one paticular occassion I showed up on Friday night at 8 and the place was packed. My friends and I almost decided to go somewhere else to avoid a long wait. The man at the door told us it may be about 40 minutes before we could sit at a table to have dinner. He then suggested the cockt ail tables as an option to sit right away and have the full menu. We decided to take his advice and were all more then pleased with the choice we had made. The Bartender who waited on us (Hana) was amazing, she provided us with top-notch service and made us all feel welcomed and appreciated. The food and drinks were excellent, and her smile and wit made us all feel right at home. I have never been to a place quite like Haru. This place has it all, food, atmosphere and a staff that makes you want to come back for more. The lemon grass soup with shrimp and scallops was fantastic, it set the tone for things to come. We shared a bunch of appetizers( a fantastic lobster ceviche was my favorite) and a large Sushi and Sashimi platter for the main course, it had a beautiful assortment of different fish and rolls. I ablolutely cant wait to go back again!

2
★★★★★

Great food, great music, and a lively night-life atmospher. I go to Haru at least once a week and I have never left disappointed. The food, music and staff all combine to make it a great night out in NYC. On one paticular occassion I showed up on Friday night at 8 and the place was packed. My friends and I almost decided to go somewhere else to avoid a long wait. The man at the door told us it may be about 40 minutes before we could sit at a table to have dinner. He then suggested the cockt ail tables as an option to sit right away and have the full menu. We decided to take his advice and were all more then pleased with the choice we had made. The Bartender who waited on us (Hana) was amazing, she provided us with top-notch service and made us all feel welcomed and appreciated. The food and drinks were excellent, and her smile and wit made us all feel right at home. I have never been to a place quite like Haru. This place has it all, food, atmosphere and a staff that makes you want to come back for more. The lemon grass soup with shrimp and scallops was fantastic, it set the tone for things to come. We shared a bunch of appetizers( a fantastic lobster ceviche was my favorite) and a large Sushi and Sashimi platter for the main course, it had a beautiful assortment of different fish and rolls. I ablolutely cant wait to go back again!

Pros: Sushi, staff, music, atmosphere

Cons: can be very crowded

.

Food- mainly sushi, if you are real sushi lover this is not a place. I had some appetizers but everything I tried (including sushi) was flavorless and not quite fresh.\r
Drink - Unique cocktails, yet two (Momotini and Berries & Bubbles)I had were not tasty.\r
Music - House, too loud, maybe it was the same song the entire time?\r
Service - friendly but mediocre. Some plates were not clean. \r
Overall - There are far better Japanese restaurants in the city. Maybe I shouldn't have looked for ""quality"" at this restaurant??

0
★☆☆☆☆

Food- mainly sushi, if you are real sushi lover this is not a place. I had some appetizers but everything I tried (including sushi) was flavorless and not quite fresh.\r
Drink - Unique cocktails, yet two (Momotini and Berries & Bubbles)I had were not tasty.\r
Music - House, too loud, maybe it was the same song the entire time?\r
Service - friendly but mediocre. Some plates were not clean. \r
Overall - There are far better Japanese restaurants in the city. Maybe I shouldn't have looked for ""quality"" at this restaurant??

Cons: food & music

.

Aside from the fact that the food was mediocre (rock shrimp tempura was bad Chinese food quality shrimp), the waiter dumped an ENTIRE tray of salads and hot miso soup on the back of my shirt, my pants and my briefcase. The manager promptly came over and informed us that ""they would comp some stuff on our bill"" which turned out to be $16 dollars worth of appetizers off of a bill of $110. When we complained further, i.e., that they should take care of more than the paltry $16, the manager replied that he thought it was just salad and that another customer was to blame. The manager then told us that they ""would take care of us next time we came in."" What, next time they would dump hot sake all over us (actually happened at a nearby table not five minutes after our episode), no thank you! The level of service was absolutely deplorable!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Aside from the fact that the food was mediocre (rock shrimp tempura was bad Chinese food quality shrimp), the waiter dumped an ENTIRE tray of salads and hot miso soup on the back of my shirt, my pants and my briefcase. The manager promptly came over and informed us that ""they would comp some stuff on our bill"" which turned out to be $16 dollars worth of appetizers off of a bill of $110. When we complained further, i.e., that they should take care of more than the paltry $16, the manager replied that he thought it was just salad and that another customer was to blame. The manager then told us that they ""would take care of us next time we came in."" What, next time they would dump hot sake all over us (actually happened at a nearby table not five minutes after our episode), no thank you! The level of service was absolutely deplorable!!

.

I went there for my friend's birthday. We were a little late because of traffic and what not. We called prior to our reservation time and said we'll be late due to traffic. The girl on the phone said no problem. When we had arrived, they gave our seats to another group and said that we had to wait. There is a guy there who is pretty tall... who I believe is some sort of manager. He yelled at my friend and told her that they were giving the table away. I was in a crappy mood to begin with and he didn't make anything better. Aside from the bad experience, our server was very nice. We were seated in 10 minutes. Our food was awesome. I love their decor and ambience. I would go there again... hopefully I will not run into the guy.

2
★★★★☆

I went there for my friend's birthday. We were a little late because of traffic and what not. We called prior to our reservation time and said we'll be late due to traffic. The girl on the phone said no problem. When we had arrived, they gave our seats to another group and said that we had to wait. There is a guy there who is pretty tall... who I believe is some sort of manager. He yelled at my friend and told her that they were giving the table away. I was in a crappy mood to begin with and he didn't make anything better. Aside from the bad experience, our server was very nice. We were seated in 10 minutes. Our food was awesome. I love their decor and ambience. I would go there again... hopefully I will not run into the guy.

Pros: Food, ambience, decor, music...

Cons: Rude management

.

i try haru park and dont like it and i dont like this restaurant.the food same thing(blah),the place okay the service also bad.never ever want to go to haru again.\r

1
★★★☆☆

i try haru park and dont like it and i dont like this restaurant.the food same thing(blah),the place okay the service also bad.never ever want to go to haru again.\r

Cons: food bad and the service also bad

.

I usually have loved every Haru I have gone to but when I went to the Gramercy one, I was horrified with the service. We had to move seats twice! The waiter brought us the wrong food. Needless to say, by the end of the dinner I was ready to get out of there!

1
★★☆☆☆

I usually have loved every Haru I have gone to but when I went to the Gramercy one, I was horrified with the service. We had to move seats twice! The waiter brought us the wrong food. Needless to say, by the end of the dinner I was ready to get out of there!

Pros: food

Cons: Service

.

The food here is absoltuely ABOVE par for japanese in the city. There are only 5 sushi restaurants I will even eat at- those being Nobu, Samba, Bond Street, Haru, and Garden of Ono (but not necessarily in that order). Haru is by far out of all of these the best deal as it is the most inexpensive but has a great atmosphere. The loft-like restaurant on Park South is much more recommended than the others because it has a downtown feel and you will not feel the need to go anywhere else... The Strawberry mojitos, Green Tea Margaritas, seafood soup and jalapeno rolls are amazing...as is the tempura. Happy hour from 5-7 includes rolls and drinks for 5 and under!

2
★★★★☆

The food here is absoltuely ABOVE par for japanese in the city. There are only 5 sushi restaurants I will even eat at- those being Nobu, Samba, Bond Street, Haru, and Garden of Ono (but not necessarily in that order). Haru is by far out of all of these the best deal as it is the most inexpensive but has a great atmosphere. The loft-like restaurant on Park South is much more recommended than the others because it has a downtown feel and you will not feel the need to go anywhere else... The Strawberry mojitos, Green Tea Margaritas, seafood soup and jalapeno rolls are amazing...as is the tempura. Happy hour from 5-7 includes rolls and drinks for 5 and under!

.

Great happy hour specials up to 7 pm during the week, and the BEST leechey martini in the City!!!!!!!!

2
★★★★★

Great happy hour specials up to 7 pm during the week, and the BEST leechey martini in the City!!!!!!!!

.

From all of Haru, they are the best. Excellent design, nice bartender, nice atmosphere. The service ?, really different with 4 other Haru. I don't really know what they are doing ?. This place is supposed to be same quality with the other one, but it is not. It is really upscale, really great quality than their group. I was ok with the other Haru, but this place make me feel different, I feel not in Haru anymore.

2
★★★★☆

From all of Haru, they are the best. Excellent design, nice bartender, nice atmosphere. The service ?, really different with 4 other Haru. I don't really know what they are doing ?. This place is supposed to be same quality with the other one, but it is not. It is really upscale, really great quality than their group. I was ok with the other Haru, but this place make me feel different, I feel not in Haru anymore.

Pros: The best service from all Haru

Cons: Long long long lineee.....

.

My friend is a VIP at this terrible restaurnt, when I came in from out of town he insitead in having dinner there. The apps. came with are main course after waiting for one hour, they apoligze to us but that was it, so the main course was cold. We ordered from the restaurnt next door, who's ever heard of that and they could not time the food (do not do thing you cant m anage) our bill was $600 for 5 people with no discount after are terrible experince and my frioend goes there all the time. Lack of respect and terrible service. Never will be seen there again. p.s. sorry for the spilling errors, I dunt have spillcheck

1
★★★☆☆

My friend is a VIP at this terrible restaurnt, when I came in from out of town he insitead in having dinner there. The apps. came with are main course after waiting for one hour, they apoligze to us but that was it, so the main course was cold. We ordered from the restaurnt next door, who's ever heard of that and they could not time the food (do not do thing you cant m anage) our bill was $600 for 5 people with no discount after are terrible experince and my frioend goes there all the time. Lack of respect and terrible service. Never will be seen there again. p.s. sorry for the spilling errors, I dunt have spillcheck

.

I had the best time on Thursday night, I will recomened to have RSVP. because the place is packed. The food and service is great like at all Haru's but this also has the best music in NYC and the ambience is great, all my friend meet there before going out. Try it you won't regret it !!!!!!!

2
★★★★★

I had the best time on Thursday night, I will recomened to have RSVP. because the place is packed. The food and service is great like at all Haru's but this also has the best music in NYC and the ambience is great, all my friend meet there before going out. Try it you won't regret it !!!!!!!

Pros: Great service, Good Music, Hot ambience

Cons: Long Waits

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Haru Gramercy Park, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review