Defining Line Salon

★★★☆☆
  • 420 A St

    Idaho Falls, ID 83402

    Map & Directions
  • 208-523-2229

About Defining Line Salon

Categories
  • Beauty Salons
Details
  • Wedding Supplies

Personal Services

Personal Services
More choices in Idaho Falls:
Resultset_next

Just Nails

380 N Holmes Ave. Idaho Falls, ID

Resultset_next

Skyline Beauty Salon

1574 W Broadway St Idaho Falls, ID

2.7143 7
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Defining Line Salon was?
Write a Review
.

There are some important things that impress me about this salon, above any others.
#1. The consultations from the stylists are a priority. They are thorough. I have brought in a picture or just described a vague idea, and the stylist makes sure to spend enough time to figure out what I like about the style, why I like it, and how it can work best for me with my facial structure, hair type, time commitment, etc. Other salons would look at the picture for ten seconds, do their thing, and I'd be disappointed.

#2. All the staff members have beautiful hair. I am always apprehensive at a salon when the staff is sporting weird asymmetrical, spikey, hot pink hair dos. The women at The Defining Line understand classic beauty, modern and relevant styles, and true femininity.

#3. All the stylists are trained in the same techniques. Chairs are not rented out. You will not get different a different experience or different products or different advice with a different stylist. They are all cohesive and work as a team. There is no backbiting if you switch stylists. They are all trained through Bumble & Bumble academy in New York and you can tell. Their service is way above par compared to any other salon in the area.

#4. I have been going exclusively for 5 years. My hair has never been healthier, looked better, behaved better, or gotten more compliments. My hair was so damaged before, it took a year long damage control plan to get it healthy. These stylists know what they are doing.

#5. There have been two times in the past 5 years that I haven't been happy with my hair. It's uncomfortable, but I've always spoken up. I deserve it and they appreciate it - they do want me to be happy! And they've always readdressed the problem at my convenience at no charge.

#6. The atmosphere and service of the Defining Line is exceptional. From complimentary tea and cocoa to soothing massages to free fringe trims, they know they are in the customer service industry and, unlike many other salons, they actually behave that way.

#7. This is an upscale salon with high quality products and services. If you want a $10 hair color, buy a box of home color at Walmart. Like all things in life, you get what you pay for. They are on par with (and usually less than) many Bumble & Bumble/Aveda salons in the country. In fact, they aren't even the most expensive salon in town. You will truly love your hair if you give Defining Line a chance. And for what they charge, the daily confidence and beauty you experience is a total bargain and worth way more than the cost of a hair cut.

#8. This is a locally owned salon. The owner is a self-made woman. She is involved in the betterment of the community. She is on many boards and committees to improve our town. This says a lot to me.
This is the best salon in the southeast Idaho area. A lot of times, satisfied customers never speak up - only the disgruntled make noise. So I just wanted to post this. You will love the pampering, the care, the attention to detail, and the outcome of your hair at the Defining Line salon.

5
★★★★★

There are some important things that impress me about this salon, above any others.
#1. The consultations from the stylists are a priority. They are thorough. I have brought in a picture or just described a vague idea, and the stylist makes sure to spend enough time to figure out what I like about the style, why I like it, and how it can work best for me with my facial structure, hair type, time commitment, etc. Other salons would look at the picture for ten seconds, do their thing, and I'd be disappointed.

#2. All the staff members have beautiful hair. I am always apprehensive at a salon when the staff is sporting weird asymmetrical, spikey, hot pink hair dos. The women at The Defining Line understand classic beauty, modern and relevant styles, and true femininity.

#3. All the stylists are trained in the same techniques. Chairs are not rented out. You will not get different a different experience or different products or different advice with a different stylist. They are all cohesive and work as a team. There is no backbiting if you switch stylists. They are all trained through Bumble & Bumble academy in New York and you can tell. Their service is way above par compared to any other salon in the area.

#4. I have been going exclusively for 5 years. My hair has never been healthier, looked better, behaved better, or gotten more compliments. My hair was so damaged before, it took a year long damage control plan to get it healthy. These stylists know what they are doing.

#5. There have been two times in the past 5 years that I haven't been happy with my hair. It's uncomfortable, but I've always spoken up. I deserve it and they appreciate it - they do want me to be happy! And they've always readdressed the problem at my convenience at no charge.

#6. The atmosphere and service of the Defining Line is exceptional. From complimentary tea and cocoa to soothing massages to free fringe trims, they know they are in the customer service industry and, unlike many other salons, they actually behave that way.

#7. This is an upscale salon with high quality products and services. If you want a $10 hair color, buy a box of home color at Walmart. Like all things in life, you get what you pay for. They are on par with (and usually less than) many Bumble & Bumble/Aveda salons in the country. In fact, they aren't even the most expensive salon in town. You will truly love your hair if you give Defining Line a chance. And for what they charge, the daily confidence and beauty you experience is a total bargain and worth way more than the cost of a hair cut.

#8. This is a locally owned salon. The owner is a self-made woman. She is involved in the betterment of the community. She is on many boards and committees to improve our town. This says a lot to me.
This is the best salon in the southeast Idaho area. A lot of times, satisfied customers never speak up - only the disgruntled make noise. So I just wanted to post this. You will love the pampering, the care, the attention to detail, and the outcome of your hair at the Defining Line salon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I have never had a bad experience @ this salon. So many great experiences, for my wedding Amy and a few of the other stylists came in @ 8am on a Saturday on only a weeks notice to do my hair it was so amazing to me that even thongh I made the appt late and they didnt have any openings they made sure my wedding day was perfect now that is customer service that was over 2 yrs ago and since then I moved to pocatello. Not 2 long ago I stopped back in to get some product for my grandmother and amy recognized me after 2 yrs!! The girl that had done my hair previous in poky saw me 3 times and each time it was like I was a new client. Needless to say I now drive 45 mins just to go somewhere my business is apperciated. I have never left this salon anything but feeling beautiful and confidant. I always know that I will be able to do the exact hairstyle that I spent the money on that I ask for and want can't get a better salon than dls

5
★★★★★

I have never had a bad experience @ this salon. So many great experiences, for my wedding Amy and a few of the other stylists came in @ 8am on a Saturday on only a weeks notice to do my hair it was so amazing to me that even thongh I made the appt late and they didnt have any openings they made sure my wedding day was perfect now that is customer service that was over 2 yrs ago and since then I moved to pocatello. Not 2 long ago I stopped back in to get some product for my grandmother and amy recognized me after 2 yrs!! The girl that had done my hair previous in poky saw me 3 times and each time it was like I was a new client. Needless to say I now drive 45 mins just to go somewhere my business is apperciated. I have never left this salon anything but feeling beautiful and confidant. I always know that I will be able to do the exact hairstyle that I spent the money on that I ask for and want can't get a better salon than dls

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This salon gets a five star for being a good looking salon and the atmoshphere it brings to the clients but when it comes to prices they are way way beyond expensive! Prices for a color is expensive i got a consulation for a color and it was going to be 190.00 Just for a single process. they should really consider going down on prices due to the economy

1
★☆☆☆☆

This salon gets a five star for being a good looking salon and the atmoshphere it brings to the clients but when it comes to prices they are way way beyond expensive! Prices for a color is expensive i got a consulation for a color and it was going to be 190.00 Just for a single process. they should really consider going down on prices due to the economy

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I hate to say it but I received the worst haircut from this salon that I have received in a long time. I had to have a stylist at a diffrent salon correct what the owner at DLS did and what was sad is that I could see in her face that she knew I was not happy when I left.

2
★★☆☆☆

I hate to say it but I received the worst haircut from this salon that I have received in a long time. I had to have a stylist at a diffrent salon correct what the owner at DLS did and what was sad is that I could see in her face that she knew I was not happy when I left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I really like the salon, it is professional and they explain exactly what they are dong with the product and why they style the hair with the product. I feel that they are very educational and that helps me because would like to try it myself at home - always having the salon look :). it took me a while to get used to how the salon is ran because other salons just get you in and out without trying to explain anything about the products they are using....

4
★★★★☆

I really like the salon, it is professional and they explain exactly what they are dong with the product and why they style the hair with the product. I feel that they are very educational and that helps me because would like to try it myself at home - always having the salon look :). it took me a while to get used to how the salon is ran because other salons just get you in and out without trying to explain anything about the products they are using....

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

love the salon, the atmosphere and the stylists are good. BUT, they are really super pushy on selling the products. no thank you, i like the products i already use. they are really pushy and it gives me the impression they are on commission to sell their aveda/bumble hair products. i like to go to a salon and get a nice haircut in a RELAXING atmosphere. not someplace where i'm hounded and harassed to buy $40 hair spray! leave me alone! just cut my hair, please?!

1
★☆☆☆☆

love the salon, the atmosphere and the stylists are good. BUT, they are really super pushy on selling the products. no thank you, i like the products i already use. they are really pushy and it gives me the impression they are on commission to sell their aveda/bumble hair products. i like to go to a salon and get a nice haircut in a RELAXING atmosphere. not someplace where i'm hounded and harassed to buy $40 hair spray! leave me alone! just cut my hair, please?!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

you loved everthing, but... Thank you. We value every review. Customer service for us is a HUGE priority. I am thrilled that you loved the salon and your hair. It sounds like you loved everything about your visit except for the way the styling portion of the appointment was communicated to you. I am very sorry that you felt pressured. It really effected your opinion of your experience! The purpose of our communication about take home products is for you to be able to re-create your desired look. We like you to feel empowered and confident about your hair as you plan to do it yourself until we see you again. It sounds like our communication with you missed that target. Our salon is not about money, it is about heart. We all love people and love hair. As the owner, I will make this up to you and help your next experience be absolutely fabulous. Since it sounds like a hairspray that was recommended to you, I will buy you 1 Bb or Aveda hairspray. (Sprays range from $5-25.) Please come in and we will assist you in getting the spray that works best for you. For future visits, please speak up if you feel uncomfortable or overwhelmed in any way, we are here to help! I hope to see you soon! ~Amy
.

If you want your hair cut and styled, this salon is probably all right, but definitely NOT for a perm. I paid $180.00 for a frizz perm that was improperly rolled and broke half of my hair off! Not to mention the spots where the perm solution did not find its way to the hair and some strands had no curl at all! Absolutely horrible experience!

In re: of "defining line"s" response: There was no "mis-understanding, Amy"--you did not even see my hair after your assistant dried it because you were tending to your baby. I definitely did NOT love my hair as you are suggesting (I DID love the way you had styled it BEFORE you gave me the perm).

1
★☆☆☆☆

If you want your hair cut and styled, this salon is probably all right, but definitely NOT for a perm. I paid $180.00 for a frizz perm that was improperly rolled and broke half of my hair off! Not to mention the spots where the perm solution did not find its way to the hair and some strands had no curl at all! Absolutely horrible experience!

In re: of "defining line"s" response: There was no "mis-understanding, Amy"--you did not even see my hair after your assistant dried it because you were tending to your baby. I definitely did NOT love my hair as you are suggesting (I DID love the way you had styled it BEFORE you gave me the perm).

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We guarantee everything we do! Annette! I was sorry you had to cancel your complementary follow-up visit for your new style! This could have been resolved! I was also excited to use Aveda haircolor on you because you are so Organic! (It is 99% plant derived!) We guarantee everything that we do. Please come in for a consultation and we will make this right for you! Let's get to the bottom of this! I did not see these problems when you left! Last I talked to you, you were loving your hair, loving the curl product, and looking forward to coming back in. I love perms, do tons of them on clients, and have had one in my hair for over 5 years. I believe we have a mis-understanding. Please call the salon. I promise we will make it right.

Message from Defining Line Salon

Mission Statement:

The Defining Line Salon is a creative company with quality standards and progressive vision for our industry to perpetually evolve. Our dedication to customer service, continuing education and teamwork combine to integrate trust, respect, and skill into the art of hair dressing and the world of beauty. Our success is measured by how much you love your hair, and love your salon. __ __ __ __ __





A note especially for you from the owners:__ __ __ __ __ __

We are a busy shop full of life, energy, and passion. In this industry, you are doing your job if people leave looking and feeling great, excited to live life, and excited to return. Everyone that walks in joins into something that feels really special. As an AVEDA salon, we offer complementary Aveda sensory rituals with your appointment. As a Bumble and bumble treatment salon, you receive complementary treatments for your hair and scalp. Our price range is perfect for every budget. We are constantly furthering our skills through ongoing education to meet our commitment to our client's needs. We guarantee every service, and every product. We warmly welcome you and promise to give you the best that our industry has to offer.

In peace, Amy and Davin

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Defining Line Salon, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review