Goddess Dance Studio

★★★☆☆
  • 1300 Yeamans Hall Rd

    Hanahan, SC 29410

    Map & Directions
  • 843-225-3262

Sports & Recreation

Sports & Recreation
More choices in Hanahan:
Resultset_next

Select Fitness Llc

7800 Rivers Ave # B North Charleston, SC

Resultset_next

Ladies Choice Fitness Ctr

10055 Dorchester Rd Summerville, GA

2.8571 14
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Goddess Dance Studio was?
Write a Review
.

You know the saying about the two left feet, right? Well, it gives a pretty good picture of what I am capable of when it comes down to dancing. Still I found myself taking classes here in order to improve my coordination. Or let's say to gain any... Overall I must admit it was a great idea. I learned to enjoy dancing and not to pay attention to what other people may think. The staff were welcoming and kind. The class schedules were easy to navigate thru with my hectic schedule. Have fun, that's it!

5
★★★★★

You know the saying about the two left feet, right? Well, it gives a pretty good picture of what I am capable of when it comes down to dancing. Still I found myself taking classes here in order to improve my coordination. Or let's say to gain any... Overall I must admit it was a great idea. I learned to enjoy dancing and not to pay attention to what other people may think. The staff were welcoming and kind. The class schedules were easy to navigate thru with my hectic schedule. Have fun, that's it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I feel very sorry for the client who was not given a refund when there was a death in the family. I had a similar situation but it was not about the money. I was going through such a sad time in the life. The owner just played games with me. I would have taken no for an answer and understood that they were not going to refund me. I did not even care about the money. It just bothered me that they told me many times they sent a refund and they never did. Just a game for the owner. Not funny for me. It is just sad.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I feel very sorry for the client who was not given a refund when there was a death in the family. I had a similar situation but it was not about the money. I was going through such a sad time in the life. The owner just played games with me. I would have taken no for an answer and understood that they were not going to refund me. I did not even care about the money. It just bothered me that they told me many times they sent a refund and they never did. Just a game for the owner. Not funny for me. It is just sad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This studio is to be avoided. I had to leave out of town for several weeks due to a sudden tragic suicide death in my family out of state. No refunds made. After the six weeks were up, I could not sign up for another round. Perhaps it is in the contract/ rules that I could not get a refund, but if you are dealing with a death, this is the least you could do for one that is battling a lot.

2
★★☆☆☆

This studio is to be avoided. I had to leave out of town for several weeks due to a sudden tragic suicide death in my family out of state. No refunds made. After the six weeks were up, I could not sign up for another round. Perhaps it is in the contract/ rules that I could not get a refund, but if you are dealing with a death, this is the least you could do for one that is battling a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Usually the first thing people do when they walk into the Goddess Dance studio is remark upon what a fun space it is. With its high ceilings, beautiful wood colored floors, tall windows and teal accents you can't help but think you're lucky to dance somewhere so lovely. A converted dance studio in an old building, there are little cubbies for storing personal belongings safely out of the way. Big mirrors. The dance hall often smells of cleaning products and fresh which makes me feel pleased. The space is well-lit and features a staff that care enough to watch you to your car after dark.

Goddess Dance offers many different kinds of specialty dance and fitness classes such as American Tribal Style (ATS) bellydance, hula, pole from beginner's to advanced, aerial hoop/lyra and much more. I have taken mainly pole dancing and extreme conditioning at Goddess Dance since September of 2012. I have lost 42 pounds.

I have found all the instructors to be very knowledgeable, professional while at the same time extremely playful, sensational with their girl's next door charm and very welcoming.

I discovered after taking classes at another pole dancing place that all the local pole dancing studio owners in the Charleston area started out at Goddess Dance studio first and nearly all of their staff were customers of Goddess Dance studio. I took three five week workshops at another place and after feeling angered once I heard from a friend I developed there that we were paying different rates I grew to open my eyes about other bits of trappings. Upon talking with the more advanced classes, they told me that they and the owner all started out at Goddess Dance first and that they loved it there. Upon changing over to Goddess Dance studio I learned that the experience and knowledge of pole maneuvers was unparalleled.

The owners, managers and pole dancing instructors always try to make Goddess Dance a truly friendly and safe place to learn to dance. It is clear they love what they do and strive to build a community around the love of dance. They are graceful dancers and a perceptive teachers. I have truly enjoyed each instructors' different ways of teaching and how they all have a gentle style of teaching while at the same direct honesty. I have never felt self-conscious in classes, only encouraged and challenged. They are strict on work ethic, discipline and do not allow skipping steps or cheating with the use of grip aids unlike the last place I was at.

Whether you are new to pole dance or are already an experienced dancer, you will find something that appeals to you. From weekly classes geared towards beginners to high-level advanced workshops, there is truly something for everyone.

5
★★★★★

Usually the first thing people do when they walk into the Goddess Dance studio is remark upon what a fun space it is. With its high ceilings, beautiful wood colored floors, tall windows and teal accents you can't help but think you're lucky to dance somewhere so lovely. A converted dance studio in an old building, there are little cubbies for storing personal belongings safely out of the way. Big mirrors. The dance hall often smells of cleaning products and fresh which makes me feel pleased. The space is well-lit and features a staff that care enough to watch you to your car after dark.

Goddess Dance offers many different kinds of specialty dance and fitness classes such as American Tribal Style (ATS) bellydance, hula, pole from beginner's to advanced, aerial hoop/lyra and much more. I have taken mainly pole dancing and extreme conditioning at Goddess Dance since September of 2012. I have lost 42 pounds.

I have found all the instructors to be very knowledgeable, professional while at the same time extremely playful, sensational with their girl's next door charm and very welcoming.

I discovered after taking classes at another pole dancing place that all the local pole dancing studio owners in the Charleston area started out at Goddess Dance studio first and nearly all of their staff were customers of Goddess Dance studio. I took three five week workshops at another place and after feeling angered once I heard from a friend I developed there that we were paying different rates I grew to open my eyes about other bits of trappings. Upon talking with the more advanced classes, they told me that they and the owner all started out at Goddess Dance first and that they loved it there. Upon changing over to Goddess Dance studio I learned that the experience and knowledge of pole maneuvers was unparalleled.

The owners, managers and pole dancing instructors always try to make Goddess Dance a truly friendly and safe place to learn to dance. It is clear they love what they do and strive to build a community around the love of dance. They are graceful dancers and a perceptive teachers. I have truly enjoyed each instructors' different ways of teaching and how they all have a gentle style of teaching while at the same direct honesty. I have never felt self-conscious in classes, only encouraged and challenged. They are strict on work ethic, discipline and do not allow skipping steps or cheating with the use of grip aids unlike the last place I was at.

Whether you are new to pole dance or are already an experienced dancer, you will find something that appeals to you. From weekly classes geared towards beginners to high-level advanced workshops, there is truly something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Goddess Dance Studio is by far the best out there! The instructors are great with everyone, the curriculum is outstanding, and everyone that goes there leaves with a HUGE smile on their face and having developed skills they didn't have before. Goddess Dance Studio gets five stars and two huge thumbs up! :)

5
★★★★★

Goddess Dance Studio is by far the best out there! The instructors are great with everyone, the curriculum is outstanding, and everyone that goes there leaves with a HUGE smile on their face and having developed skills they didn't have before. Goddess Dance Studio gets five stars and two huge thumbs up! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Having been a member since 2008, I'm pleased to support Goddess Dance Studio. They're a small family run business with a deep understanding of how to take care of clientele. They choose to only cater to women that understand what they're trying to accomplish: female empowerment & staying active.

I've seen where they have offered tuition assistance for those that have been long term customers whom hit difficulties, where they have enforced the strictest of safety regimes and also encouraged women to be cautious in our pole experience. This proves how these women are interested in helping those truly in need. I've witnessed nothing but direct honest virtues from the people that run this business: Cammie, Elizabeth, Ashley, Morgan, Candise, and Jessica are my favorites.

The classes are limited to adult women only which allows us to let our hair down.

I LOVE The Goddess Dance Studio. The facilities are wonderful and always so clean. The teachers are super nice and we always love seeing them. The classes are so valuable because we learn not only athletic skills, but athletic and empowerment skills as well. They also have fun parties - such as the Halloween party and extra practice times. Definitely check out Goddess Dance Studio!

5
★★★★★

Having been a member since 2008, I'm pleased to support Goddess Dance Studio. They're a small family run business with a deep understanding of how to take care of clientele. They choose to only cater to women that understand what they're trying to accomplish: female empowerment & staying active.

I've seen where they have offered tuition assistance for those that have been long term customers whom hit difficulties, where they have enforced the strictest of safety regimes and also encouraged women to be cautious in our pole experience. This proves how these women are interested in helping those truly in need. I've witnessed nothing but direct honest virtues from the people that run this business: Cammie, Elizabeth, Ashley, Morgan, Candise, and Jessica are my favorites.

The classes are limited to adult women only which allows us to let our hair down.

I LOVE The Goddess Dance Studio. The facilities are wonderful and always so clean. The teachers are super nice and we always love seeing them. The classes are so valuable because we learn not only athletic skills, but athletic and empowerment skills as well. They also have fun parties - such as the Halloween party and extra practice times. Definitely check out Goddess Dance Studio!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The owner contacted me on January 2, 2013 and demanded the original review to be changed or things would get ugly. If you would like experience from a client who attended of over a year, please contact me.

Cons:
-When I advanced to a certain level, the price increased
-Only had one day to chose from for a level 4 class at one point which was inconvenient if you had to miss a class and needed to reschedule because you would have to reschedule for a level 1, 2, or 3 class which was cheaper than the level 4 class -- so you ended up paying extra for a level 2 class.
-No refunds offered (As a military member with a constantly changing schedule and deployments, this created an obstacle and caused me to miss a lot of events offered as I did not want to loose out on alot of money to reserve a spot only to be deployed, which ended up happening once due to the owner changing the date of an event)

2
★★☆☆☆

The owner contacted me on January 2, 2013 and demanded the original review to be changed or things would get ugly. If you would like experience from a client who attended of over a year, please contact me.

Cons:
-When I advanced to a certain level, the price increased
-Only had one day to chose from for a level 4 class at one point which was inconvenient if you had to miss a class and needed to reschedule because you would have to reschedule for a level 1, 2, or 3 class which was cheaper than the level 4 class -- so you ended up paying extra for a level 2 class.
-No refunds offered (As a military member with a constantly changing schedule and deployments, this created an obstacle and caused me to miss a lot of events offered as I did not want to loose out on alot of money to reserve a spot only to be deployed, which ended up happening once due to the owner changing the date of an event)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Jeanette, you were contacted b/c your post included things that were not factual and were slanderous. I was trying to save you from getting yourself into trouble legally. We all know that in the legal world, only the attorneys win and if I could save us from having to go that direction, I wanted to try. If you felt that your post was 100% factual, I feel you would have kept the post up and not edited it. I'm deeply disappointed that you left unhappy after being a client however I've always believed if something makes you unhappy, then stop going and move on. I and all the staff at GDS tried very hard to give you the best customer service possible. In response to your cons about GDS, we had not raised our prices at GDS in over four years. Sadly due to increasing costs of operations, we had to raise them while you were a client. Your comment about our company not offering refunds is also false. We have always had a refund policy which has always been posted inside the front door of the studio you attended, inside the handbook you signed that you would read and also on our website. You never moved away from Charleston nor supplied paperwork stating that you were being deployed for any such term of time. Additionally, the event that changed dates that you spoke of here... had to change dates due to a third party vendor that we could not control. You only paid $37.50 to book that spot which was half down. We could not offer you a refund since we had to pay out to third party vendors but I did try to make it up to you by offering you a free spot in a Holiday Bootcamp of which you attended (and enjoyed) at the expense of the company at $75 plus a free catered lunch.
.

Beware ladies. I dumped so much money into GDS. The Business does not maintain there poles. During the dance instruction, the instructor is often too busy answering the phones. So they will just tell the class to freestyle. There is too much dirty talk during the class. I got sick of it.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Beware ladies. I dumped so much money into GDS. The Business does not maintain there poles. During the dance instruction, the instructor is often too busy answering the phones. So they will just tell the class to freestyle. There is too much dirty talk during the class. I got sick of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We have never had a customer named "Lynn L." at this chapter so we're uncertain whom this may be however... when you pay for a fitness workout, you are investing in your health not dumping money away. 100% of our clientele that attend our program as it is meant to be utilized, experience slimmer physiques and more defined muscle tone after working out in our program. Our equipment does require maintenance and upkeep however, we have always had our equipment maintained within a two week time period. Freestyle is necessary to help develop a sense of confidence. No one ever freestyles in our classes for longer than five minute intervals. In response to your comment about "dirty talk", GDS is a private women's only club. When you get a group of women together it at times can be like a locker room with discussions. Freedom of speech is something that we promote along with freedom of expression.
.

Studio is in bad shape, poles are broken a lot, some staff is questionably ethical/bad manners (too many F-bombs), and they try to pump money out of you any way possible. I understand liability contracts, but if you bought 6 weeks of classes, twisted your ankle on wk1 and need to be off it for 4 wks and can't get a refund- that is BS! They started L4 classes again, but that was at an attempt to retain longterm clientele in response to a competitor opening (Amorous dance studio). The owner is very threatened and very narcissistic- go elsewhere. I joined studioveena.com and love it, plus i like the privacy.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Studio is in bad shape, poles are broken a lot, some staff is questionably ethical/bad manners (too many F-bombs), and they try to pump money out of you any way possible. I understand liability contracts, but if you bought 6 weeks of classes, twisted your ankle on wk1 and need to be off it for 4 wks and can't get a refund- that is BS! They started L4 classes again, but that was at an attempt to retain longterm clientele in response to a competitor opening (Amorous dance studio). The owner is very threatened and very narcissistic- go elsewhere. I joined studioveena.com and love it, plus i like the privacy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Tiffany if you would like to tell me about your specific situation, I would love to hear about it as we have never had a Tiffany D. in our classes that I nor the team leader are aware of. Additionally, our illness policy speaks of very clearly that as long as you provide a doctor's note, we'd be happy to reschedule your classes later down the road when the doctor releases you. According to the State of SC, we are not required to issue any refund for services unless and doctor certifies a person as being permantely disabled.
.

I do not feel that they have my safety in mind..... I understand "pushing" your clients to do better but it should be done safely.... not with reckless abandonment...

1
★☆☆☆☆

I do not feel that they have my safety in mind..... I understand "pushing" your clients to do better but it should be done safely.... not with reckless abandonment...

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are very saddened and disappointed by this post. GDS has maintained the highest levels of safety for our clientele. None of our clientele have been injured from our coaching down at the studios. Our staff always make certain that our clientele learn to walk before they can run when it comes to acrobatics on the pole. Safety is paramount at GDS.
.

Personally it's been almost a year and I LOVE Goddess Dance Studio. I attend the Mt. Pleasant studio and have had nothing but the most respectable and professional enteraction with the staff.

5
★★★★★

Personally it's been almost a year and I LOVE Goddess Dance Studio. I attend the Mt. Pleasant studio and have had nothing but the most respectable and professional enteraction with the staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Im not sure what ya'll are having a problem with at the stuidos..... I have been there for over 6 months and within my first 6 weeks I had better results than 6 weeks of a personal trainer. They are very encouraging and fun! best workout I have found for me, I know everyone is different but there is no reason to be so bitter...just sayin.

5
★★★★★

Im not sure what ya'll are having a problem with at the stuidos..... I have been there for over 6 months and within my first 6 weeks I had better results than 6 weeks of a personal trainer. They are very encouraging and fun! best workout I have found for me, I know everyone is different but there is no reason to be so bitter...just sayin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I love pole and feel it's a great workout. GDS loves $$$$$$ and that's it!!!! They do not care about the customers! They have a NO REFUND policy...that does not care if you??re sick, got into a wreck, had surgery, or got injured in their class, once you paid you can kiss that money good bye. They will lead you on with the hopes that you can soon be inverting and learning all the amazing stuff that you see on YouTube.....only to find that after spending loads of money on classes, GDS night outs, GDS pole parties, and much more....your level will be cut. They only want to keep level one classes. Some other random facts....their poles are in constant need of repair (usually meaning that a pole or two will be out of commission for weeks); the floors are horrible and will catch your shoes, your toes, your knees, and must constantly be kicked back into proper position; during the summer months it seems they prefer to save money and not turn on the air; also forget safety for inversions....these studios have NO SAFTEY MATS!!! It would be wiser and much cheaper to look up an online studio and pole at home with a spotter and safety mat.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I love pole and feel it's a great workout. GDS loves $$$$$$ and that's it!!!! They do not care about the customers! They have a NO REFUND policy...that does not care if you??re sick, got into a wreck, had surgery, or got injured in their class, once you paid you can kiss that money good bye. They will lead you on with the hopes that you can soon be inverting and learning all the amazing stuff that you see on YouTube.....only to find that after spending loads of money on classes, GDS night outs, GDS pole parties, and much more....your level will be cut. They only want to keep level one classes. Some other random facts....their poles are in constant need of repair (usually meaning that a pole or two will be out of commission for weeks); the floors are horrible and will catch your shoes, your toes, your knees, and must constantly be kicked back into proper position; during the summer months it seems they prefer to save money and not turn on the air; also forget safety for inversions....these studios have NO SAFTEY MATS!!! It would be wiser and much cheaper to look up an online studio and pole at home with a spotter and safety mat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

As the owner of one of the GDS chapters, I wish to address this post piece by piece. GDS is a business and it is of a business's best interest to earn an income to pay it's staff, overhead, taxes and the like. To try to attest that any business is not afforded such a measure is purely unreasonable. The pricing at GDS is very comparable to all the other options in Charleston such as yoga, pilates and personal trainers. Our classes start at $45 for a six week session and go up from there. Additionally, if you were to purchase a pair of dancer heels, you will find the average cost to be around $65 where as at GDS it is much less. At GDS, we have ALWAYS had refund and illness policies listed inside the front door of each chapter location, inside our handbooks (of which all clientele sign for stating that they will read upon registration) and also on our website. We can not force anyone to spend money on the highly enjoyable events that GDS offers. It is purely the choice of the individual. Only once in the history of GDS has a class been temporiarly cut from our schedule due to a need to update the class to insure we have the staff properly trained in safety and the newest teaching techniques. The class postponed was the advanced class which was postponed for only three rounds of classes. The floors of the studios are replaced on an annual basis and the poles are maintained regularly. During the Summer months here in the South, it is no secret that it is humid and hot however we NEVER turn off the air conditioning to "save money". All chapter studios that teach advanced acrobatics on the pole and aerial hoop all have gymnastic style safety mats.
.

Owned by same person as Summerville's studio, treatment is the same. See Summerville's review - this posted to the wrong location.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Owned by same person as Summerville's studio, treatment is the same. See Summerville's review - this posted to the wrong location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

More about Goddess Dance Studio

Goddess Dance Studio: The Active Lifestyle Experts At Goddess Dance Studio, our businesses work in concert to provide the energy that drives human athleticism and weight management progress. Explore Goddess Dance Inc.'s companies to learn how we use our global resources, determination and ingenuity to meet today’s complex fitness challenges. Goddess Dance Studio is one of the oldest pole dancing for fitness clubs in the World. Our staff are not only knowledgeable in personal training but also fitness, pole and weight loss. We offer classes from cardio pole fusion fitness for clients from beginner's to advanced, belly dancing, aerial hoop/lyra, acrobatics on the pole, acrobatic yoga, stretch and flex, extreme conditioning, open pole sessions, chair dancing and Polynesian hula. Our corporate policies include: a Dress Code to ensure proper safety, a Refund Policy as decitated by the State of SC, a Pole Reservation Policy to ensure there is no over booking, a Missed Class Policy to help the clientele during busy times, a Confidentiality Policy to help clientele feel safe about who knows you're taking pole, and more. We feel our policies help keep everyone honest. All the policies are listed inside the front foor of our chapter studios, inside our handbooks and also on our website.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Goddess Dance Studio, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review