Baltimorean Apartments

★☆☆☆☆
  • 2905 North Charles St

    Baltimore, MD 21218

    Cross street: <p>Located in the Charles Village neighborhood minutes from Downtown Baltimore.</p>

    Map & Directions

About Baltimorean Apartments

Hours
Mon-Fri 9am-4:30pm

Real Estate

Real Estate
More choices in Baltimore:
Resultset_next

Village Chiropractic

Main Street Baltimore, MD

Resultset_next

Southern Management Corp

111 W Centre St Baltimore, MD

1.0 2
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Baltimorean Apartments was?
Write a Review
.

The only reason I stayed at the Baltimorean was because of its convenient location. Their prices are competitive, but what you get is what you see. Be sure to take a tour before signing the lease. The building itself is very old, the elevator is frequently out of order, the pipes make loud clanking noises, and the studios have really dirty floors with ratty carpets. Since it's an old building, they have lead issues. The paint peels easily so it gets a little scary. They do offer to re-paint so notify them immediately when you see peeling paint. The management office is never open the entire duration of their operating/"open" hours so it's hit-or-miss when you need to talk to someone. My main problem with the Baltimorean is the spotty and often rude management. The bottom line is, once they get your money, they don't really care anymore. Their communication is terrific when they want to remind you of bills to pay, but when you need maintenance or have other questions, don't expect to hear back from them soon. They like to take their sweet time when you need help most. Don't count on getting your security deposit back.

Read everything they give you extremely carefully. There are fees for all kinds of things.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The only reason I stayed at the Baltimorean was because of its convenient location. Their prices are competitive, but what you get is what you see. Be sure to take a tour before signing the lease. The building itself is very old, the elevator is frequently out of order, the pipes make loud clanking noises, and the studios have really dirty floors with ratty carpets. Since it's an old building, they have lead issues. The paint peels easily so it gets a little scary. They do offer to re-paint so notify them immediately when you see peeling paint. The management office is never open the entire duration of their operating/"open" hours so it's hit-or-miss when you need to talk to someone. My main problem with the Baltimorean is the spotty and often rude management. The bottom line is, once they get your money, they don't really care anymore. Their communication is terrific when they want to remind you of bills to pay, but when you need maintenance or have other questions, don't expect to hear back from them soon. They like to take their sweet time when you need help most. Don't count on getting your security deposit back.

Read everything they give you extremely carefully. There are fees for all kinds of things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Before signing the lease, all tenants are taken to the apartment to inspect the unit before signing. While the building, including the elevators, is old (built in 1927), it is well maintained. Some of the radiator pipes do make noise in the winter time while the heat is running. All buildings built before 1950 have lead paint and are required to register annually with the State of Maryland, as well as follow the current state laws regarding lead paint, which we are complying with. Our business hours are Monday-Friday 9-4:30 by appointment, however, there may be times when we are not in the office, due to showing apartments or running errands. We usually do have someone either in or near the leasing office during office hours, however, since we are a very small company, it is not always possible to have someone at the desk the entire time. We encourage tenants to send emails, drop off notes at the office or fill out the online maintenance request form. Emergency maintenance requests are taken care of right away; non-emergency requests are usually taken care of the following business day. Security deposits are refunded to tenants within 45 days of moving out, as required by Maryland law. Yes, we do have some extra fees, such as for air conditioner/TV/microwave rentals or for purchasing linens, which is outlined with our advertised rental rates.
.

I had a very bad experience with these people. Firstly, due to my schedule at work I wasnt able to collect the keys right on time. I requested them to stay for another 15 mins after 5 PM which they rudely said they cant. So, they charged me $75 extra for collecting keys on Sunday(which is fine). And, they made me wait for 2 hrs to give me keys to the apartment i had booked(i got it at 2PM but i had started at 11AM). That was dreadful bcz my parents and sister had to wait with me the whole time(after an international flight). And they asked the cleaner lady to do some math because they were lazy to come on a Sunday afternoon.. (finance settlement). At one time she threw a mobile of frustration which nearly missed me and she shushed me when i corrected her math while settling. She also made remarks that i am "not punctual" even though i explained her my situation on that day. In the end, they charged me $25 in pretext of dirty bathroom and kitchen. Believe me, i had cleaned everything before leaving. My friend did No. 2 on carpet in another apartment and he was charged $20.
The apartment was good to stay(other than the crappy elevator), but i have never dealt with such ignorant, rude people who have no respect for potential customers. I stayed there for 13 days making them a business of $800 and they treated me like this. They never came to check the sink leak when my dad went and complained. And moreover, I expected someone to come and clean atleast 1-2 times of 13 days because i was in a "guest house".

1
★☆☆☆☆

I had a very bad experience with these people. Firstly, due to my schedule at work I wasnt able to collect the keys right on time. I requested them to stay for another 15 mins after 5 PM which they rudely said they cant. So, they charged me $75 extra for collecting keys on Sunday(which is fine). And, they made me wait for 2 hrs to give me keys to the apartment i had booked(i got it at 2PM but i had started at 11AM). That was dreadful bcz my parents and sister had to wait with me the whole time(after an international flight). And they asked the cleaner lady to do some math because they were lazy to come on a Sunday afternoon.. (finance settlement). At one time she threw a mobile of frustration which nearly missed me and she shushed me when i corrected her math while settling. She also made remarks that i am "not punctual" even though i explained her my situation on that day. In the end, they charged me $25 in pretext of dirty bathroom and kitchen. Believe me, i had cleaned everything before leaving. My friend did No. 2 on carpet in another apartment and he was charged $20.
The apartment was good to stay(other than the crappy elevator), but i have never dealt with such ignorant, rude people who have no respect for potential customers. I stayed there for 13 days making them a business of $800 and they treated me like this. They never came to check the sink leak when my dad went and complained. And moreover, I expected someone to come and clean atleast 1-2 times of 13 days because i was in a "guest house".

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

The Baltimorean Apartments is an apartment building, not a hotel. We are not open 24 hours a day and we do not provide maid service. We do offer short and long term rentals. Our normal business hours are Monday-Friday 9-5. When someone makes a reservation, the reservation form very clearly states our normal business hours and lets the person know that there is an extra fee for after hour's arrivals. This fee is $75 ($150 if it is between 10:30 pm and 7 am or on a holiday weekend). This particular customer scheduled an arrival time of 3 pm on a Friday. When the office closed at 5 pm that day, he still had not arrived and we had not received any notification from him that he was still on his way. He left a phone message, after 5 pm, with our after hour's answering service. He also sent an email letting us know that he would be arriving on Sunday at 11 am. I did not receive this email until Sunday afternoon, since we do not normally check our email or phone messages on the weekends when the office is closed. At that time, I notified our maintenance person, who lives in the building, to watch for his arrival.
 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Baltimorean Apartments, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review