The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern

★★★☆☆
  • 1298 Friess Lake Rd

    Hubertus, WI 53033

    Map & Directions
  • 262-628-1111

Food

Food
More choices in Hubertus:
Resultset_next

Lohmanns Steak House

W183n9609 Appleton Ave Germantown, IL

Resultset_next

Nardos Passport Inn

W204N11498 Goldendale Rd Germantown, IL

3.3143 35
Hi! Sign in to let us know how The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern was?
Write a Review
.

Our party of 10 ate at the Fox & Hounds on Saturday evening. The place was packed. The line to the front desk was out the door. If this place is as bad as some of these reviews, they wouldn't have such a huge following. Each of us had a

3
★★★★★

Our party of 10 ate at the Fox & Hounds on Saturday evening. The place was packed. The line to the front desk was out the door. If this place is as bad as some of these reviews, they wouldn't have such a huge following. Each of us had a

.

We ate at the Fox & Hounds tonight, we arrived early 4pm. I had the steak and lobster $36.99 and my husband had the porterhouse $32.99. The lobster was stringy and the steak was so tough it was hard to cut and even harder to chew. My

3
★★★★★

We ate at the Fox & Hounds tonight, we arrived early 4pm. I had the steak and lobster $36.99 and my husband had the porterhouse $32.99. The lobster was stringy and the steak was so tough it was hard to cut and even harder to chew. My

.

I am astonished by the reviews posted here.\r
\r
I was just thinking about what to gift for the holidays and thought about Fox N Hounds gift certificates since my husband and I always enjoy dining there.\r
\r
We haven't tried the Prime Rib

3
★★★★★

I am astonished by the reviews posted here.\r
\r
I was just thinking about what to gift for the holidays and thought about Fox N Hounds gift certificates since my husband and I always enjoy dining there.\r
\r
We haven't tried the Prime Rib

.

Read the reviews before dining. But were in area and went Fri. night around 4:30. I thought the atmosphere was great. The staff was friendly. They need to improve the quality of food rather than offer 2 for 1 deals. That is a red flag !!

3
★★★★★

Read the reviews before dining. But were in area and went Fri. night around 4:30. I thought the atmosphere was great. The staff was friendly. They need to improve the quality of food rather than offer 2 for 1 deals. That is a red flag !!

.

In order for Fox and Hounds to make money on the 2 for 1 deal, they purchase sub-par quality food. My husband and I both ordered steak (filet and strip) and both were extremely tough and had no flavor. The salad was very watery and the

3
★★★★★

In order for Fox and Hounds to make money on the 2 for 1 deal, they purchase sub-par quality food. My husband and I both ordered steak (filet and strip) and both were extremely tough and had no flavor. The salad was very watery and the

.

I'm forced to give 1 star out of 5 because of manipulative business practices. I enjoyed the food, but I was very shocked to be charged for 5 sodas costing $2 each. Little did I know that there were no free-refills which is pretty standard

3
★★★★★

I'm forced to give 1 star out of 5 because of manipulative business practices. I enjoyed the food, but I was very shocked to be charged for 5 sodas costing $2 each. Little did I know that there were no free-refills which is pretty standard

.

I came in on this past Sunday @ 1pm with 5 other people one being my mother in law (we were there for her birthday lunch).
I have not been to the Fox and Hounds since the 80's and I was curious to see the place, so I recommended going

3
★★★★★

I came in on this past Sunday @ 1pm with 5 other people one being my mother in law (we were there for her birthday lunch).
I have not been to the Fox and Hounds since the 80's and I was curious to see the place, so I recommended going

.

I never worked for fox and hounds but I am a career waitress. I can say this, that is typical of any restaurant to have such policy.

3
★★★★★

I never worked for fox and hounds but I am a career waitress. I can say this, that is typical of any restaurant to have such policy.

.

The food is great, atmosphere enjoyable, and price very reasonable. The candied mushrooms are THE BEST! The steak is great, flavorful, juicy, and cooked to your liking. They gave us an 8oz. when we ordered a 12 oz. by accident and gave us

3
★★★★★

The food is great, atmosphere enjoyable, and price very reasonable. The candied mushrooms are THE BEST! The steak is great, flavorful, juicy, and cooked to your liking. They gave us an 8oz. when we ordered a 12 oz. by accident and gave us

.

The restaurant itself is something that has to be seen. Very historic and rather charming. The service on the other hand leaves something to be desired. We had an 8:30 reservation and by 9:15 we still hadn't been seated. The young ladies at the podium acted less than concerned, almost like it was a common occurrence. We decided to leave and dine elsewhere. I would not recommend this restaurant. The drinks that we had while we were waiting were good but over-priced.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The restaurant itself is something that has to be seen. Very historic and rather charming. The service on the other hand leaves something to be desired. We had an 8:30 reservation and by 9:15 we still hadn't been seated. The young ladies at the podium acted less than concerned, almost like it was a common occurrence. We decided to leave and dine elsewhere. I would not recommend this restaurant. The drinks that we had while we were waiting were good but over-priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

It was my first time back at the restaurant since my parents had their rehearsal dinner there back in 1996 (back when it had original owners) It is such a shame that Fox and Hounds was ever sold! I remember it being grand on the inside with fantastic food and wonderful service... Now it is all garbage. The new owners who also manage the Mineshaft in Hartford have turned this once charming elegant restaurant into a trashy dump. It really is disheartening. Hopefully one day it will be restored back to what it was in the past!

1
★☆☆☆☆

It was my first time back at the restaurant since my parents had their rehearsal dinner there back in 1996 (back when it had original owners) It is such a shame that Fox and Hounds was ever sold! I remember it being grand on the inside with fantastic food and wonderful service... Now it is all garbage. The new owners who also manage the Mineshaft in Hartford have turned this once charming elegant restaurant into a trashy dump. It really is disheartening. Hopefully one day it will be restored back to what it was in the past!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Four special friends with us for a rare evening out...after all, it was a 2 for 1 night and much to our surprise, this included their steak and lobster dinner. So four of us ordered the special and the other couple ordered something less expensive. Turns out the meal was marginal, the meat was tough, and the lobster watery, but what do you want for 1/2 price? When we were ready for the bill we were told that the 2 for 1 applied to the entire table and not on separate checks for 3 couples. I f we would have sat at three different tables and dined separately, each table would have qualified for a 2 for 1 discount, but since we dined 6 at a table, the lowest priced 3 meals were free. Now our waitress neglected to mention this when we ordered but afterward, when we asked about separate checks, she told us that this policy is printed in the menu. True, but she still should have informed us in advance. It certainly made those marginal meals even less appealing. So beware, you're not really getting a 2 for 1, you're getting an overpriced marginal dinner and you're getting misled by deceptive advertising. Or, just have your friends sit at separate tables!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Four special friends with us for a rare evening out...after all, it was a 2 for 1 night and much to our surprise, this included their steak and lobster dinner. So four of us ordered the special and the other couple ordered something less expensive. Turns out the meal was marginal, the meat was tough, and the lobster watery, but what do you want for 1/2 price? When we were ready for the bill we were told that the 2 for 1 applied to the entire table and not on separate checks for 3 couples. I f we would have sat at three different tables and dined separately, each table would have qualified for a 2 for 1 discount, but since we dined 6 at a table, the lowest priced 3 meals were free. Now our waitress neglected to mention this when we ordered but afterward, when we asked about separate checks, she told us that this policy is printed in the menu. True, but she still should have informed us in advance. It certainly made those marginal meals even less appealing. So beware, you're not really getting a 2 for 1, you're getting an overpriced marginal dinner and you're getting misled by deceptive advertising. Or, just have your friends sit at separate tables!

.

I'VE EATEN IN MOST RESTRAUNTS IN THE PAST 60 YEARS AS I TRAVEL 100,000 MILES PER YEAR IN WISCONSIN. LAST FRIDAY I HAD A POLOCK FISHFRY AT THE F & H's. IT WAS THE BEST EVER AND A REASONABLE PRICE.
I SHALL RETURE WHEN EVER I'M WITHIN 50 MILES OF THE F & H's.

THE BAD REVIEWS MUST BE FROM COMPETORS FOR THEIR REVIEWS ARE TRASH.

2
★★★★★

I'VE EATEN IN MOST RESTRAUNTS IN THE PAST 60 YEARS AS I TRAVEL 100,000 MILES PER YEAR IN WISCONSIN. LAST FRIDAY I HAD A POLOCK FISHFRY AT THE F & H's. IT WAS THE BEST EVER AND A REASONABLE PRICE.
I SHALL RETURE WHEN EVER I'M WITHIN 50 MILES OF THE F & H's.

THE BAD REVIEWS MUST BE FROM COMPETORS FOR THEIR REVIEWS ARE TRASH.

.

6/2010

First off, the bottom review must have been left when the original owners were the proprietor of the restaurant. Since roughly 2005(?) it was bought by the owners of the dreaded Mineshaft restaurant owners.... A very sad day, folks..

I've eaten twice and I'm not very sure I'd go back. I'd recommend though to see for yourself.

The view in some of the rooms are excellent. The atmosphere is fine but a bit too gamey. They offer a "buy one get one" most days of the week. Don't let the gimmick fool you though, as they just overprice one entree' and it makes you thing you are getting a great deal. It's really not. Since I'm on that subject, I went for someone's birthday and we got 4 entree's (buy one get one) and the bill was still huge. I had their Sesame chicken, it was tasty, don't get me wrong but for over $21?! I've had much better at Chinese (real ones) that made this dish look bad. However, again, it was good. You get a scrapy salad or a very small "cup" of soup. The soup was good. Bread accompanies the entrees and it's served with cinnabutter.

Now the 1st time I ate there, I had the supposed great fish fry. Folks, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY on it!!! For the crowd that somehow likes the Mineshaft, you will like it here. However, for people that really love fish and would like a good fry, STAY AWAY!!!! It's the same flimsy garbage the Shaft uses. It's below average quality but they charge you $9.99 for it! It's gross and so what if it's all you can eat. I would NEVER recommend the fry to anyone and I mean that wholeheartedly.

Waitstaff was good and the bar seemed to do OK....

Cons--Price and average at best food
Pros--Can't really think of any

3
★★★☆☆

6/2010

First off, the bottom review must have been left when the original owners were the proprietor of the restaurant. Since roughly 2005(?) it was bought by the owners of the dreaded Mineshaft restaurant owners.... A very sad day, folks..

I've eaten twice and I'm not very sure I'd go back. I'd recommend though to see for yourself.

The view in some of the rooms are excellent. The atmosphere is fine but a bit too gamey. They offer a "buy one get one" most days of the week. Don't let the gimmick fool you though, as they just overprice one entree' and it makes you thing you are getting a great deal. It's really not. Since I'm on that subject, I went for someone's birthday and we got 4 entree's (buy one get one) and the bill was still huge. I had their Sesame chicken, it was tasty, don't get me wrong but for over $21?! I've had much better at Chinese (real ones) that made this dish look bad. However, again, it was good. You get a scrapy salad or a very small "cup" of soup. The soup was good. Bread accompanies the entrees and it's served with cinnabutter.

Now the 1st time I ate there, I had the supposed great fish fry. Folks, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY on it!!! For the crowd that somehow likes the Mineshaft, you will like it here. However, for people that really love fish and would like a good fry, STAY AWAY!!!! It's the same flimsy garbage the Shaft uses. It's below average quality but they charge you $9.99 for it! It's gross and so what if it's all you can eat. I would NEVER recommend the fry to anyone and I mean that wholeheartedly.

Waitstaff was good and the bar seemed to do OK....

Cons--Price and average at best food
Pros--Can't really think of any

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

THIS PLACE HAS NO CLUE ABOUT PLATE PRESENTATION OR SERVING GOOD FOOD !! WAY, WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE DOG CRAP THAT IS SERVED. WE HAD TO GIVE IT A TRY BECAUSE OF THE BOGO AND WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. I THINK THEY'RE SO BUSY AND FEEL THAT THEY WERE DOING ME A FAVOR BECAUSE OF THE BOGO. I DON'T THINK ANYBODY GIVES A CRAP ! OUR PRIME RIB LAST WEEK WAS SO CHEWY AND TOUGH I ALMOST BROKE THE KNIFE THEY GAVE ME. I HAVE ALWAYS HEARD GOOD THINGS ABOUT THE PRIME RIB BUT SOMETHING HAS CHANGED ! THIS MUST BE SOME REAL CHEAP CRAP FROM US. FOODSERVICE OR REINHART. DEFINITLY NOT FROM A MEAT PROVEYOR. I WILL NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN AND NEVER RECOMMEND PRIME RIB FROM " THE NEW FOX AND HOUNDS !!

0
★☆☆☆☆

THIS PLACE HAS NO CLUE ABOUT PLATE PRESENTATION OR SERVING GOOD FOOD !! WAY, WAY OVER PRICED FOR THE DOG CRAP THAT IS SERVED. WE HAD TO GIVE IT A TRY BECAUSE OF THE BOGO AND WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. I THINK THEY'RE SO BUSY AND FEEL THAT THEY WERE DOING ME A FAVOR BECAUSE OF THE BOGO. I DON'T THINK ANYBODY GIVES A CRAP ! OUR PRIME RIB LAST WEEK WAS SO CHEWY AND TOUGH I ALMOST BROKE THE KNIFE THEY GAVE ME. I HAVE ALWAYS HEARD GOOD THINGS ABOUT THE PRIME RIB BUT SOMETHING HAS CHANGED ! THIS MUST BE SOME REAL CHEAP CRAP FROM US. FOODSERVICE OR REINHART. DEFINITLY NOT FROM A MEAT PROVEYOR. I WILL NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN AND NEVER RECOMMEND PRIME RIB FROM " THE NEW FOX AND HOUNDS !!

.

We have dined at the Fox 'n Hounds for the last time. Service was horrible, table in a poor location, food was mediocre at best.

I've been at this restaurant when they try to handle a large group on Friday night...........don't ever get stuck in that situation........the poor service becomes HORRIBLE service.

This restaurant was much better under the old management. It's such a pretty restaurant, it's a shame someone doesn't own it who would return it to the grand restaurant it used to be.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We have dined at the Fox 'n Hounds for the last time. Service was horrible, table in a poor location, food was mediocre at best.

I've been at this restaurant when they try to handle a large group on Friday night...........don't ever get stuck in that situation........the poor service becomes HORRIBLE service.

This restaurant was much better under the old management. It's such a pretty restaurant, it's a shame someone doesn't own it who would return it to the grand restaurant it used to be.

Pros: atmosphere

Cons: cost (even with BOGO), crowded.........too many to list

.

I took my Wife out to the " New Fox n' Hounds " on Saturday February 13th to celebrate our 20th anniversary to be a little disappointed.

1 - Paper Napkin Given - Used to clean up slop on my plate that was given to me - Only 1 napkin given
2 - My wife got a steak knife and I didn't ?
3 - My wife's dish came with a garnish, mine didn't ?
4 - Veggies way overcooked and way to much liquid
5 - Steak under cooked
6 - Lobster over cooked
7 - Plates covered with Au Jus
8 - Salad Dressing in a portion cup ?
9 - Soup was slopped all over the cups
10 - Waitress had no name tag or the kid that brought us our food ?

This to me seems that if they weren't given away food for free, this place wouldn't be busy. Even with this buy one get one, the 2 of us dropped $80.00 including tip. For that kid of money I think this place could of done a lot better. Sometimes being too busy can be a bad thing if all you're doing is slopping and dropping food on a plate. I work hard for my money and if I would of spent anymore for the same food, I'd bet business will go bad real quick. As long as there is competition, the New Fox N Hounds needs to improve. Being a glorified Mineshaft sums it up. Keep in mind; most people don't take the time to complain but will spread it via word of mouth. Food for thought ?

1
★★☆☆☆

I took my Wife out to the " New Fox n' Hounds " on Saturday February 13th to celebrate our 20th anniversary to be a little disappointed.

1 - Paper Napkin Given - Used to clean up slop on my plate that was given to me - Only 1 napkin given
2 - My wife got a steak knife and I didn't ?
3 - My wife's dish came with a garnish, mine didn't ?
4 - Veggies way overcooked and way to much liquid
5 - Steak under cooked
6 - Lobster over cooked
7 - Plates covered with Au Jus
8 - Salad Dressing in a portion cup ?
9 - Soup was slopped all over the cups
10 - Waitress had no name tag or the kid that brought us our food ?

This to me seems that if they weren't given away food for free, this place wouldn't be busy. Even with this buy one get one, the 2 of us dropped $80.00 including tip. For that kid of money I think this place could of done a lot better. Sometimes being too busy can be a bad thing if all you're doing is slopping and dropping food on a plate. I work hard for my money and if I would of spent anymore for the same food, I'd bet business will go bad real quick. As long as there is competition, the New Fox N Hounds needs to improve. Being a glorified Mineshaft sums it up. Keep in mind; most people don't take the time to complain but will spread it via word of mouth. Food for thought ?

Pros: Nice Setting

Cons: Long Drive

.

I went to this restaurant for my birthday on February 13th 2010 for the buy one get one free special and was a little dissappointed on the presentation of the plate and the vegtables that were served with the food. I had the BBQ ribs and the sauce was everywhere. There was sauce on the bottom of the plate and all over the top. My veggies were served on the side and were Mushy & Over Cooked !! My husband had the Salmon which he said was dry,sauce all over the edge of the plate,had no lemon, his veggies were cold and looked like other plates were sitting on top off it. My daughter had a grilled cheese which had cold fries and no pickle. We asked the waitress to get us one and she never did. The other 2 people at our table had the prime rib and everything was great. There veggies were even crispy. Not sure how this happens, but just wanted to voice my opinion.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I went to this restaurant for my birthday on February 13th 2010 for the buy one get one free special and was a little dissappointed on the presentation of the plate and the vegtables that were served with the food. I had the BBQ ribs and the sauce was everywhere. There was sauce on the bottom of the plate and all over the top. My veggies were served on the side and were Mushy & Over Cooked !! My husband had the Salmon which he said was dry,sauce all over the edge of the plate,had no lemon, his veggies were cold and looked like other plates were sitting on top off it. My daughter had a grilled cheese which had cold fries and no pickle. We asked the waitress to get us one and she never did. The other 2 people at our table had the prime rib and everything was great. There veggies were even crispy. Not sure how this happens, but just wanted to voice my opinion.

Pros: Great Atmosphere

.

We had a party 10 adults and 5 children and it went very smoothly. The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoy the rustic atmosphere so much that the drive is worth it even on a snowy night.

2
★★★★☆

We had a party 10 adults and 5 children and it went very smoothly. The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoy the rustic atmosphere so much that the drive is worth it even on a snowy night.

Pros: Very good food at reasonable price w/ 2 for 1.

Cons: Distance from Milw....

.

We have been to the Fox & Hounds several times in the last three months, most recently last night (a Saturday).

We have had a shrimp Alfredo dish, steaks, and the Settlers stew (a great dish !), all of which have been very good. I am an especially big fan of BBQ ribs, and have had their ribs two times and find them to be as good as any in the area. Very meaty and well prepared.
The only shortcoming I have found has been the veggies which are sometimes overcooked and the baked potatoes are a bit small but very tasty.
The service can be a little slow for refilling drinks, but has bee very good otherwise.

2
★★★★☆

We have been to the Fox & Hounds several times in the last three months, most recently last night (a Saturday).

We have had a shrimp Alfredo dish, steaks, and the Settlers stew (a great dish !), all of which have been very good. I am an especially big fan of BBQ ribs, and have had their ribs two times and find them to be as good as any in the area. Very meaty and well prepared.
The only shortcoming I have found has been the veggies which are sometimes overcooked and the baked potatoes are a bit small but very tasty.
The service can be a little slow for refilling drinks, but has bee very good otherwise.

Pros: a GREAT scenic location

Cons: the word is out and the wait can be long

.

We had a few couples join us for their all you can eat ship and shrimp and were very disappointed. In comparing the Fox and Hounds to the Golden Mast the Fox gets a 2 and the Mast gets a 10. If you want to impress freinds or customers I would highly recommend other restaurants in the area. After trying this restaurant three or four times since the new owners have opended all resulted in low quality food. Maybe they sould raise thier prices and upgrade the quality.

1
★★☆☆☆

We had a few couples join us for their all you can eat ship and shrimp and were very disappointed. In comparing the Fox and Hounds to the Golden Mast the Fox gets a 2 and the Mast gets a 10. If you want to impress freinds or customers I would highly recommend other restaurants in the area. After trying this restaurant three or four times since the new owners have opended all resulted in low quality food. Maybe they sould raise thier prices and upgrade the quality.

Cons: If you like everything dipfried - this is the place!

.

My husband and I go here quite often. We love the buy 1 get 1 free deal, and we have never had a bad experience. It shocks me to hear of what other people apparently experienced. We don't have to wait too long to get seated, the waitresses are always very friendly and gracious, and the food arrives promptly. I swear we have tried everything on the menu! No complaints! We always look forward to our night at the Fox and Hounds. What a beautiful setting outside and inside! I recommend it to everyone!!!!

2
★★★★☆

My husband and I go here quite often. We love the buy 1 get 1 free deal, and we have never had a bad experience. It shocks me to hear of what other people apparently experienced. We don't have to wait too long to get seated, the waitresses are always very friendly and gracious, and the food arrives promptly. I swear we have tried everything on the menu! No complaints! We always look forward to our night at the Fox and Hounds. What a beautiful setting outside and inside! I recommend it to everyone!!!!

Pros: good food, great service, awesome place

Cons: can't think of any cons

.

We went to this beautiful country side setting restaurant one Sunday in October. It is situated in a wooded environment close to Wisconsin's Holy Hill Shrine. We had an enjoyable brunch at around 12:30. The virgin bloody mary's with beer chaser's were just what the doctor ordered to get you started. The food was hot, well prepared, and delicious. The scrambled eggs were perfectly cooked (not runny), the bacon was thick and smokey, sausage links were some of the most tasty that we had ever eaten, the meat loaf was superb without being greasy, the deserts (no calories of course) were mouth watering and made at the restaurant. All in all a place we are planning to visit again.

2
★★★★★

We went to this beautiful country side setting restaurant one Sunday in October. It is situated in a wooded environment close to Wisconsin's Holy Hill Shrine. We had an enjoyable brunch at around 12:30. The virgin bloody mary's with beer chaser's were just what the doctor ordered to get you started. The food was hot, well prepared, and delicious. The scrambled eggs were perfectly cooked (not runny), the bacon was thick and smokey, sausage links were some of the most tasty that we had ever eaten, the meat loaf was superb without being greasy, the deserts (no calories of course) were mouth watering and made at the restaurant. All in all a place we are planning to visit again.

Pros: setting, bacon, meat loaf

Cons: busy on sundays

.

I went to this restuarant to get a steak dinner. They do not know how to cook a steak to your liking. I ordered a filet medium and it came out rare. So I had the server take it back and they put the same rare steak back on the grille and when she brought it back it was Med. Rare. I asked the server to take it back and told her that I did not want it on the grille for the third time and she took it and came back to offer me a dessart. I did not want a dessart I wanted a Steak the manager stated that since its buy one get one free that they would not make me a new one. My husband stated that we would pay full price and she did nothing. This was so disapointed that I will never go there again.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I went to this restuarant to get a steak dinner. They do not know how to cook a steak to your liking. I ordered a filet medium and it came out rare. So I had the server take it back and they put the same rare steak back on the grille and when she brought it back it was Med. Rare. I asked the server to take it back and told her that I did not want it on the grille for the third time and she took it and came back to offer me a dessart. I did not want a dessart I wanted a Steak the manager stated that since its buy one get one free that they would not make me a new one. My husband stated that we would pay full price and she did nothing. This was so disapointed that I will never go there again.

.

We had a big family celebration here tonight and enjoyed it. After all the negative comments I was leary but there must be an agenda with those folks. I had a delicious 10 Oz Rib Eye that was tender to the last bite and most of the others had ribs. The ribs were fall off the bone tender. We got the buy one get one deal that makes my $26 rib eye a $13 meal. I don't know how you could complain about that. We loved it as did everyone around us. Everyone was happy and enjoying a nice relaxing meal in a beautiful location. Yes it is a new owner and NO they have a sign up saying they don't honor a gift certificate from the old owner five years ago. That's not worthy of a poor rating. This is a very good restaurant.

2
★★★★★

We had a big family celebration here tonight and enjoyed it. After all the negative comments I was leary but there must be an agenda with those folks. I had a delicious 10 Oz Rib Eye that was tender to the last bite and most of the others had ribs. The ribs were fall off the bone tender. We got the buy one get one deal that makes my $26 rib eye a $13 meal. I don't know how you could complain about that. We loved it as did everyone around us. Everyone was happy and enjoying a nice relaxing meal in a beautiful location. Yes it is a new owner and NO they have a sign up saying they don't honor a gift certificate from the old owner five years ago. That's not worthy of a poor rating. This is a very good restaurant.

Pros: Friendly staff-Great food and resonable

Cons: Non

.

I went with a party of 12 for Easter brunch in 2009. We had a reservation but still waited for 1 1/2 hours for a table - in the coat room because it was so busy there was literally no where else to stand. Then we got seated in a hot room and had to wait 20 minutes for drinks. I was especially insulted by the note on the table asking guest to leave within 1 hour because they were so busy. The food wasn't bad, but TOTALLY overpriced and the lines were hugely long. Then we waited 20 minutes for our check to get settled. So we couldn't have limited ourselves to one hour. Our waitress seemed irritated with the entire day, and we felt her angst. She was just a little less than outright rude. We spent hundreds of dollars, never got an apology for waiting, and never got a thank you. I'll NEVER go back and I hope that other people read this. Bad management on their part does not give them the right to be rude to customers. Especially during a recession.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I went with a party of 12 for Easter brunch in 2009. We had a reservation but still waited for 1 1/2 hours for a table - in the coat room because it was so busy there was literally no where else to stand. Then we got seated in a hot room and had to wait 20 minutes for drinks. I was especially insulted by the note on the table asking guest to leave within 1 hour because they were so busy. The food wasn't bad, but TOTALLY overpriced and the lines were hugely long. Then we waited 20 minutes for our check to get settled. So we couldn't have limited ourselves to one hour. Our waitress seemed irritated with the entire day, and we felt her angst. She was just a little less than outright rude. We spent hundreds of dollars, never got an apology for waiting, and never got a thank you. I'll NEVER go back and I hope that other people read this. Bad management on their part does not give them the right to be rude to customers. Especially during a recession.

Pros: Not enough to make up for everything else.

Cons: The WORST dining experience I've ever had.

.

Ordered a special of a 12 oz prime rib and instead received a 8 oz ribeye steak. Tried to return the steak and the chef said this was prime rib and grilled on both sides. According to information you are not suppose to grill prime rib. Also i asked where the juice was and the waitress said the cook already poured it over the steak. Your are suppose to get the juice yourself. One more observation the so called prime rib did not have much fat around it and was tough. The waitress also said that we can not order the prime rib medium rare. So for $23.95 prime rib specail instead i got a $7.95 ribeye steak......hmmm

1
★★☆☆☆

Ordered a special of a 12 oz prime rib and instead received a 8 oz ribeye steak. Tried to return the steak and the chef said this was prime rib and grilled on both sides. According to information you are not suppose to grill prime rib. Also i asked where the juice was and the waitress said the cook already poured it over the steak. Your are suppose to get the juice yourself. One more observation the so called prime rib did not have much fat around it and was tough. The waitress also said that we can not order the prime rib medium rare. So for $23.95 prime rib specail instead i got a $7.95 ribeye steak......hmmm

.

The Fox and Hounds was the former scene of our office Christmas parties in the 70's and early 80's.
I remember it being a class act with great food in a beautiful wooded location.
I returned this past weekend, after a 20 year absence, to celebrate my wife's birhtday.
The loaf of warm bread with the honey butter was a nice touch. The salads were standard but good.
My sirloin steak was well prepared and tasty, the garlic mashed potatoes were okay.
My wife's salmon was overcooked with an inedible hard spot. Both of us received sides of an overcooked mushy vegetable medley which was a big disappointment.

Service was prompt and attentive, but for the price, I did not think it was worthwhile.

1
★★☆☆☆

The Fox and Hounds was the former scene of our office Christmas parties in the 70's and early 80's.
I remember it being a class act with great food in a beautiful wooded location.
I returned this past weekend, after a 20 year absence, to celebrate my wife's birhtday.
The loaf of warm bread with the honey butter was a nice touch. The salads were standard but good.
My sirloin steak was well prepared and tasty, the garlic mashed potatoes were okay.
My wife's salmon was overcooked with an inedible hard spot. Both of us received sides of an overcooked mushy vegetable medley which was a big disappointment.

Service was prompt and attentive, but for the price, I did not think it was worthwhile.

.

In October 2008, I visited the restaurant and presented a Gift Certificate that was given to me a few years ago. When the certificate was presented, they told me it would NOT be honored because the restaurant was sold during that time. The certificate had NO Expiration Date listed / nothing stating that if business was sold it could only be honored for 1 year. We were told they honored it only 1 year after the restaurant was sold - obviously the new owners do not care that they will be losing future business. Word travels - let's see how many more people will be made aware of the New owner's pratices!! As for me and the rest of my party - we will certainly be choosing another restaurant to go to.

1
★☆☆☆☆

In October 2008, I visited the restaurant and presented a Gift Certificate that was given to me a few years ago. When the certificate was presented, they told me it would NOT be honored because the restaurant was sold during that time. The certificate had NO Expiration Date listed / nothing stating that if business was sold it could only be honored for 1 year. We were told they honored it only 1 year after the restaurant was sold - obviously the new owners do not care that they will be losing future business. Word travels - let's see how many more people will be made aware of the New owner's pratices!! As for me and the rest of my party - we will certainly be choosing another restaurant to go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The previous review said it all. This place is bad. The owners own another local restaurant called The Mineshaft and it IS the same food just fancier prices. Don't bother going. Bad food, scummy silverware and very bad service. From what I could tell, the place was being run by teenagers and not very well. The Mineshaft has gone way downhill in recent years and Fox & Hounds is worse because of it's prices. McDonald's or Culver's would make better choices.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The previous review said it all. This place is bad. The owners own another local restaurant called The Mineshaft and it IS the same food just fancier prices. Don't bother going. Bad food, scummy silverware and very bad service. From what I could tell, the place was being run by teenagers and not very well. The Mineshaft has gone way downhill in recent years and Fox & Hounds is worse because of it's prices. McDonald's or Culver's would make better choices.

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

.

We arrived early on a Saturday, with a party for 3 (myself, my husband and daughter). We were seated in a "casual" area, by ourselves, at a "rustic" table with paper napkins, while all of the other patrons were seated in a "nicer" dining room with tablecloths and cloth napkins. I don't know if it was because we had a child with us, but we felt we were put in a less than nice location. Mind you, it's the same menu (and prices) as the "nicer" dining room. Then, while we were sitting there waiting for our food, a number of servers started spraying cleaner on the chairs and tables around us (this is 5:30 on a SATURDAY NIGHT, during dinner service), like we weren't even there. Then when our food arrived, I asked one of the people doing the spraying if they minded not doing that while we were eating, she said "oh sure" and then kept on doing it, but just sprayed the cloth instead of the chair. The food was bland, tasteless. My husband said his steak was chemically tenderized and gristly. My daughter's french onion soup tasted as if it came from a box mix and it was topped with MOZZARELLA CHEESE. Then, finally as we were getting ready to leave, a few other diners got seated in the cheap seats near us, and the waitress spilled hot soup which then splattered all over me. And on top of it, it cost us $60. It's shameful when we think of how nice this place was when it was owned by the Ratsch's. It's a beautiful location with a lot of potential, but the food, and the treatment, was horrible. It's like it's run by a bunch of amateurs who have cheaped out on the quality of food and neglected to properly train their staff. We will never, ever, return, and will tell everyone we can what a poor experience it was so no one else has to waste money like we did.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We arrived early on a Saturday, with a party for 3 (myself, my husband and daughter). We were seated in a "casual" area, by ourselves, at a "rustic" table with paper napkins, while all of the other patrons were seated in a "nicer" dining room with tablecloths and cloth napkins. I don't know if it was because we had a child with us, but we felt we were put in a less than nice location. Mind you, it's the same menu (and prices) as the "nicer" dining room. Then, while we were sitting there waiting for our food, a number of servers started spraying cleaner on the chairs and tables around us (this is 5:30 on a SATURDAY NIGHT, during dinner service), like we weren't even there. Then when our food arrived, I asked one of the people doing the spraying if they minded not doing that while we were eating, she said "oh sure" and then kept on doing it, but just sprayed the cloth instead of the chair. The food was bland, tasteless. My husband said his steak was chemically tenderized and gristly. My daughter's french onion soup tasted as if it came from a box mix and it was topped with MOZZARELLA CHEESE. Then, finally as we were getting ready to leave, a few other diners got seated in the cheap seats near us, and the waitress spilled hot soup which then splattered all over me. And on top of it, it cost us $60. It's shameful when we think of how nice this place was when it was owned by the Ratsch's. It's a beautiful location with a lot of potential, but the food, and the treatment, was horrible. It's like it's run by a bunch of amateurs who have cheaped out on the quality of food and neglected to properly train their staff. We will never, ever, return, and will tell everyone we can what a poor experience it was so no one else has to waste money like we did.

Pros: Beautiful location

Cons: Food, service, value

.

Fox and Hounds has been around for along time very respected.The food is good but the prices are alittle high.The views are beautiful close to Holy Hill so the drive is great best in Fall.

4
★★★★☆

Fox and Hounds has been around for along time very respected.The food is good but the prices are alittle high.The views are beautiful close to Holy Hill so the drive is great best in Fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We visited on a beautiful Fall afternoon with a group. On the way to the front door, a gentleman standing in front of the place asked us if we knew about the patio. We didn't and thought a patio is exactly what we wanted on a terrific fall day. The guy--an owner or manager--personally walked us around the building (versus giving directions) and the patio was lovely. The bartender was very helpful and the appetizers we ordered were delicious. Can't say anything about the meals, but we felt our service and food were great.

2
★★★★☆

We visited on a beautiful Fall afternoon with a group. On the way to the front door, a gentleman standing in front of the place asked us if we knew about the patio. We didn't and thought a patio is exactly what we wanted on a terrific fall day. The guy--an owner or manager--personally walked us around the building (versus giving directions) and the patio was lovely. The bartender was very helpful and the appetizers we ordered were delicious. Can't say anything about the meals, but we felt our service and food were great.

Pros: Nice patio, good service, good appetizers

.

We went there to celebrate a birthday and could not have been more disappointed. No one came to acknowledge us at what appeared to be the hostess stand for the longest time. We finally saw a waitress in an adjacent room clearing a table and asked if we seat ourselves (it was lunch time). Just as she said someone will seat you, a person (I'm sorry I can't say gentleman) approached us and with a poor attitude said, "I'll be seating you." We were then seated at the worst table in the restaurant (behind a pillar with the bar directly behind us and the entrance to the kitchen to the left; there was absolutely no view and it was extremely noisy). There were many open tables in the restaurant. I went to the hostess area to ask if we could be seated elsewhere; the person who seated us turns out was the manager who walked back to the dining area with me with another couple behind him, and when I asked if we could be seated over there (pointing to another table), he said, "I'll be seating these people there" and then walked away. Completely ignored our request to be seated elsewhere and when we informed the waitress that we were not pleased with the table, she said he was the manager and that she couldn't do anything about it or move us because he would be mad. It took everything for us to not walk out, but we had driven an hour to dine there and we were not familiar with any other restaurants in the area!! Our food arrived after others who were seated after us received theirs; I had the chicken breast sandwich that was warm at best and very dry. My friend had the reuben that she said would have been better hot. I tried to contact the owners because we were so appalled at the manager's behavior and service but I have yet to hear from them.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We went there to celebrate a birthday and could not have been more disappointed. No one came to acknowledge us at what appeared to be the hostess stand for the longest time. We finally saw a waitress in an adjacent room clearing a table and asked if we seat ourselves (it was lunch time). Just as she said someone will seat you, a person (I'm sorry I can't say gentleman) approached us and with a poor attitude said, "I'll be seating you." We were then seated at the worst table in the restaurant (behind a pillar with the bar directly behind us and the entrance to the kitchen to the left; there was absolutely no view and it was extremely noisy). There were many open tables in the restaurant. I went to the hostess area to ask if we could be seated elsewhere; the person who seated us turns out was the manager who walked back to the dining area with me with another couple behind him, and when I asked if we could be seated over there (pointing to another table), he said, "I'll be seating these people there" and then walked away. Completely ignored our request to be seated elsewhere and when we informed the waitress that we were not pleased with the table, she said he was the manager and that she couldn't do anything about it or move us because he would be mad. It took everything for us to not walk out, but we had driven an hour to dine there and we were not familiar with any other restaurants in the area!! Our food arrived after others who were seated after us received theirs; I had the chicken breast sandwich that was warm at best and very dry. My friend had the reuben that she said would have been better hot. I tried to contact the owners because we were so appalled at the manager's behavior and service but I have yet to hear from them.

.

I have been to the Fox & Hounds many times and each time gets better and better. The help is always caring and experienced. They make you feel right at home. This is not a quick bite to eat. Go there to calm down and take the time to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The food is always great! I will go many times in the future

2
★★★★☆

I have been to the Fox & Hounds many times and each time gets better and better. The help is always caring and experienced. They make you feel right at home. This is not a quick bite to eat. Go there to calm down and take the time to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The food is always great! I will go many times in the future

Pros: nice drive, friendly staff, atmosphere

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review