Booksmart Used Books

★★★★★

About Booksmart Used Books

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Cary:
Resultset_next

Volo Antique Mall

27640 Volo Village Rd Round Lake, IL

Resultset_next

Barnes & Noble Booksellers

1468 Springhill Mall Blvd Dundee, IL

4.5455 11
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Booksmart Used Books was?
Write a Review
.

Went in recently to check it out and to also see what I could get for my books in trade in. I agree with a previous poster that 2nd Chance offers better trade in prices. I also felt that the books for sale were overpriced (one example I

3
★★★★★

Went in recently to check it out and to also see what I could get for my books in trade in. I agree with a previous poster that 2nd Chance offers better trade in prices. I also felt that the books for sale were overpriced (one example I

.

I found this fantastic bookstore in mint condition with service, price and condition of books. Staff very pleasant and helpful. I'm glad I found this store. I also found medical books and saved a fortune. Good job Booksmart :)

5
★★★★★

I found this fantastic bookstore in mint condition with service, price and condition of books. Staff very pleasant and helpful. I'm glad I found this store. I also found medical books and saved a fortune. Good job Booksmart :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I (we're from Houston,TX) were visiting our grandchildren and could not find Booksmart. But delightful staffer from Daylight Donuts told us that the bookstore moved to the other end of the complex so we were relieved

3
★★★★★

My husband and I (we're from Houston,TX) were visiting our grandchildren and could not find Booksmart. But delightful staffer from Daylight Donuts told us that the bookstore moved to the other end of the complex so we were relieved

.

My friend recommended this book store because she loves it. And so I drove their today even though I live in Raleigh. She was right: the bookstore is terrific, has great selection of books in really very good condition and the staff is

3
★★★★★

My friend recommended this book store because she loves it. And so I drove their today even though I live in Raleigh. She was right: the bookstore is terrific, has great selection of books in really very good condition and the staff is

.

This place is GREAT! I had been searching for a place that sells Manga, and this bookstore by far, has a much wider selection than that of the other two in the area. The employees are always pleasant, and it is located right next to the best pizza place in the world! Highly recommended A+

2
★★★★★

This place is GREAT! I had been searching for a place that sells Manga, and this bookstore by far, has a much wider selection than that of the other two in the area. The employees are always pleasant, and it is located right next to the best pizza place in the world! Highly recommended A+

Pros: Pleasant employees, and a large selection

Cons: None

.

Maybe carygirl and tim down there are not regular patrons of other used book stores, but I shop almost exclusively used for books and this is a really great place and, at worst, has policies exactly like every other used book store I have ever been to in my entire life.
Used book stores are not the place to go if you're looking to make hundreds of dollars off old copies of books that were popular fifteen years ago or some bland book about introductory art or whatever. No bookstore is going to give you tons of cash for stuff like that.
This place has a very large, constantly shifting selection and the staff seem to really care and even if they can't give you an exactly answer about every book, they go out of their way to help.

2
★★★★★

Maybe carygirl and tim down there are not regular patrons of other used book stores, but I shop almost exclusively used for books and this is a really great place and, at worst, has policies exactly like every other used book store I have ever been to in my entire life.
Used book stores are not the place to go if you're looking to make hundreds of dollars off old copies of books that were popular fifteen years ago or some bland book about introductory art or whatever. No bookstore is going to give you tons of cash for stuff like that.
This place has a very large, constantly shifting selection and the staff seem to really care and even if they can't give you an exactly answer about every book, they go out of their way to help.

.

I brought in a box of books and was offered about $1 per book (they would mark them up 500% to sell them). I took them to 2nd Chance Books and they gave me three times what "Book Smart" offered. I highly recommend that you take your business to 2nd Chance.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I brought in a box of books and was offered about $1 per book (they would mark them up 500% to sell them). I took them to 2nd Chance Books and they gave me three times what "Book Smart" offered. I highly recommend that you take your business to 2nd Chance.

.

I am Roy Long the owner of BookSmart Used Books and I am glad Timothy G. and his family enjoyed our little store enough to visit with us twice a month. They must have loved our great selection of gently used books, clean unscratched audiobooks, CDs and of course the DVDs, which I gather is what they purchased. I wasn?t at the store when they came in, so I have not met these people in person.
Here is what happened: My employee called me and said a lady was in with a DVD and wanted a refund. She said the receipt indicated that she had bought the DVD two weeks earlier. In spite of the ?No Refund, No Exchange? policy of the store (which all used bookstores have as far as I know), I instructed the young lady to exchange the item and we ended the conversation. Apparently, the woman refused the exchange and left. Then, moments later, a man came storming into the store, screaming and yelling at the young girl behind the counter. Said that he was a ?local celebrity and was going to make us pay.? My employee described the man as out of control and she was frightened.
What kind of a person does something like that over a $4.00 DVD?
We have thousands of satisfied customers and have just moved to a larger location a few doors down from where we were. If we are so poor, then why are we growing so quickly?
If you are looking for a place to save a few dollars, want clean gently used books and a great selection, then come on in and give use a try. We are at 1258 NW Maynard Rd, near Highhouse, next door to Brooklyn Boy?s Pizza and across the street from Kroger. Please, mention that you read this response and receive a 10% discount off your purchase.
Thanks,

Roy Long,
BookSmart Used Books

2
★★★★★

I am Roy Long the owner of BookSmart Used Books and I am glad Timothy G. and his family enjoyed our little store enough to visit with us twice a month. They must have loved our great selection of gently used books, clean unscratched audiobooks, CDs and of course the DVDs, which I gather is what they purchased. I wasn?t at the store when they came in, so I have not met these people in person.
Here is what happened: My employee called me and said a lady was in with a DVD and wanted a refund. She said the receipt indicated that she had bought the DVD two weeks earlier. In spite of the ?No Refund, No Exchange? policy of the store (which all used bookstores have as far as I know), I instructed the young lady to exchange the item and we ended the conversation. Apparently, the woman refused the exchange and left. Then, moments later, a man came storming into the store, screaming and yelling at the young girl behind the counter. Said that he was a ?local celebrity and was going to make us pay.? My employee described the man as out of control and she was frightened.
What kind of a person does something like that over a $4.00 DVD?
We have thousands of satisfied customers and have just moved to a larger location a few doors down from where we were. If we are so poor, then why are we growing so quickly?
If you are looking for a place to save a few dollars, want clean gently used books and a great selection, then come on in and give use a try. We are at 1258 NW Maynard Rd, near Highhouse, next door to Brooklyn Boy?s Pizza and across the street from Kroger. Please, mention that you read this response and receive a 10% discount off your purchase.
Thanks,

Roy Long,
BookSmart Used Books

.

I am Roy Long the owner of BookSmart Used Books and I??m am glad Timothy G. and his family enjoyed our little store enough to visit with us twice a month. They must have loved our great selection of gently used books, clean unscratched audiobooks, CDs and of course the DVDs, which I gather is what they purchased. I wasn??t at the store when they came in, so I have not met these people in person.
Here is what happened: My employee called me and said a lady was in with a DVD and wanted a refund. She said the receipt indicated that she had bought the DVD two weeks earlier. In spite of the ??No Refund, No Exchange? policy of the store (which all used bookstores have as far as I know), I instructed the young lady to exchange the item and we ended the conversation. Apparently, the woman refused the exchange and left. Then, moments later, a man came storming into the store, screaming and yelling at the young girl behind the counter. Said that he was a ??local celebrity and was going to make us pay.? My employee described the man as out of control and she was frightened.
What kind of a person does something like that over a $4.00 DVD?
We have thousands of satisfied customers and have just moved to a larger location a few doors down from where we were. If we are so poor, then why are we growing so quickly?
If you are looking for a place to save a few dollars, want clean gently used books and a great selection, then come on in and give use a try. We are at 1258 NW Maynard Rd, near Highhouse, next door to Brooklyn Boy??s Pizza and across the street from Kroger. Please, mention that you read this response and receive a 10% discount off your purchase.
Thanks,

Roy Long,
BookSmart Used Books

5
★★★★★

I am Roy Long the owner of BookSmart Used Books and I??m am glad Timothy G. and his family enjoyed our little store enough to visit with us twice a month. They must have loved our great selection of gently used books, clean unscratched audiobooks, CDs and of course the DVDs, which I gather is what they purchased. I wasn??t at the store when they came in, so I have not met these people in person.
Here is what happened: My employee called me and said a lady was in with a DVD and wanted a refund. She said the receipt indicated that she had bought the DVD two weeks earlier. In spite of the ??No Refund, No Exchange? policy of the store (which all used bookstores have as far as I know), I instructed the young lady to exchange the item and we ended the conversation. Apparently, the woman refused the exchange and left. Then, moments later, a man came storming into the store, screaming and yelling at the young girl behind the counter. Said that he was a ??local celebrity and was going to make us pay.? My employee described the man as out of control and she was frightened.
What kind of a person does something like that over a $4.00 DVD?
We have thousands of satisfied customers and have just moved to a larger location a few doors down from where we were. If we are so poor, then why are we growing so quickly?
If you are looking for a place to save a few dollars, want clean gently used books and a great selection, then come on in and give use a try. We are at 1258 NW Maynard Rd, near Highhouse, next door to Brooklyn Boy??s Pizza and across the street from Kroger. Please, mention that you read this response and receive a 10% discount off your purchase.
Thanks,

Roy Long,
BookSmart Used Books

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My wife and I would visit this store two or more times a month with our Son, often spending as much as $40 at a time. On one visit we bought a DVD for our son, actually he bought it with his own money, he is 8 years old. It was not the movie we had hoped it would be and tried to return it one week later. We live a few towns away and did not wish to make a speacial trip.

The young lady who works at the stor on Saturdays knew who we are, but had to call her boss for permission to give us a refund. Her boss is the owner, Roy Long, who would work the store sometimes when we were their. He is not friendly, not the least bit engaging, and gave us a bad 'vibe'... if you understand what I meen?

Anyway, he would not OK our refund, nor give us a store credit. Even when his employee seemed to agrue our case for this with him on the phone.

Now, I will not tell you NOT to go to this store, but I will tell you this...

If I could, I ould return every item we have ever bought at Roy Long's store, and take the money and spend it at another store! WE WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH HIM OR HIS STORE AGAIN!

Shame on you Roy Long!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

My wife and I would visit this store two or more times a month with our Son, often spending as much as $40 at a time. On one visit we bought a DVD for our son, actually he bought it with his own money, he is 8 years old. It was not the movie we had hoped it would be and tried to return it one week later. We live a few towns away and did not wish to make a speacial trip.

The young lady who works at the stor on Saturdays knew who we are, but had to call her boss for permission to give us a refund. Her boss is the owner, Roy Long, who would work the store sometimes when we were their. He is not friendly, not the least bit engaging, and gave us a bad 'vibe'... if you understand what I meen?

Anyway, he would not OK our refund, nor give us a store credit. Even when his employee seemed to agrue our case for this with him on the phone.

Now, I will not tell you NOT to go to this store, but I will tell you this...

If I could, I ould return every item we have ever bought at Roy Long's store, and take the money and spend it at another store! WE WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH HIM OR HIS STORE AGAIN!

Shame on you Roy Long!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

I??m glad Timothy G. and family enjoyed our store enough to visit twice a month. Must have loved our selection of gently used books, audiobooks, CDs and DVDs. I wasn??t at the store when they came in, so I have not met these people in person. Here is what happened: My employee called me and said a lady wanted a refund on a DVD and the receipt indicated she had bought the DVD two weeks earlier. In spite of our ??No Refund, No Exchange? policy, I instructed the her to exchange the item. Apparently, the woman refused the exchange and left. Moments later, a man came storming into the store, screaming and yelling at my employee. Said he was a ??local celebrity and would make us pay.? My employee described the man as out of control. She was frightened. What kind of a person does something like that over a $4.00 DVD? We have thousands of satisfied customers. If you want to save a few dollars, get clean gently used books and great selection, give use a try. We are at 1258 NW Maynard Rd, near Highhouse, next to Brooklyn Boy??s Pizza and across the street from Kroger. Mention this response and receive a 10% discount off your purchase. Thanks, Roy Long, BookSmart Used Books
.

My husband and I found Booksmart Used Books when we got our Saturday morning donuts from Daylight Donuts. This is truly an amazing used bookstore. The store has a fantastic selection of books, CDs, DVDs, and audiobooks. Everything is very well organized with each item in an almost brand-new condition - except the price! Booksmart Used Books is truly the best bookstore in Cary: it's the bookstore we in Cary have been waiting for! The store has a fantastic selection, with many unique items. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, pleasant and always there to assist. The owner, Roy, is one of the nicest persons I've met in a long time. You will love buying items at this wonderful store and at a fraction of the original cost. Their user-friendly trade policy is second to none!

2
★★★★★

My husband and I found Booksmart Used Books when we got our Saturday morning donuts from Daylight Donuts. This is truly an amazing used bookstore. The store has a fantastic selection of books, CDs, DVDs, and audiobooks. Everything is very well organized with each item in an almost brand-new condition - except the price! Booksmart Used Books is truly the best bookstore in Cary: it's the bookstore we in Cary have been waiting for! The store has a fantastic selection, with many unique items. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, pleasant and always there to assist. The owner, Roy, is one of the nicest persons I've met in a long time. You will love buying items at this wonderful store and at a fraction of the original cost. Their user-friendly trade policy is second to none!

Pros: Organization, quality of items, service, giftcards, user friendly trade policy

Cons: none

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Booksmart Used Books, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review