McDonough Animal Hospital

★★★★☆
Providing Quality Veterinary Care in Henry County Since 1950
  • 123 Jonesboro Rd

    McDonough, GA 30253

    Map & Directions
  • 770-957-3927

About McDonough Animal Hospital

Hours
Mon-Tue 9am-5pm, Thu-Fri 9am-5pm, Wed 9am-8pm, Sat 9am-12am
Special Offer
10% off first visit

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Mcdonough:
Resultset_next

Eastlake Veterinary Hospital

86 Claire Ct Mcdonough, GA

Resultset_next

East Lake Veterinary Hospital

95 Crumbley Rd Mcdonough, GA

3.9 10
Hi! Sign in to let us know how McDonough Animal Hospital was?
Write a Review
.

Very friendly and helpful!!! They always offered us the choice of letting us in the room for shots or having our dogs taken back... The front office staff has always been very helpful and friendly as well!!! They always answer all my questions and fully explain what their doing to my dogs... and any side effects my dogs might have... I wouldn't trade this vet office for any other!!!!!

5
★★★★★

Very friendly and helpful!!! They always offered us the choice of letting us in the room for shots or having our dogs taken back... The front office staff has always been very helpful and friendly as well!!! They always answer all my questions and fully explain what their doing to my dogs... and any side effects my dogs might have... I wouldn't trade this vet office for any other!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This vet is a joke! If your dog got run over by a car, the first thing they'll do is give your dogs fluids! If your dog were hit by a stray missile from North Korea, the first thing they'd do is give your dog fluids. The wait at this vet is ridiculous. If you have an appointment at 9am, plan on staying there until at least 1pm. Also, I do not agree with this joke of a vet bringing your pet back, behind closed doors, to vaccinate it. You don't know what they're doing back there or how they're treating your beloved pet. I felt very uneasy when they brought my dog to the back to get his annual vaccinations. I had him vaccinated twice at McDonough Vet, then decided to choose a vet that'll openly vaccinate your pet right in front of you. I find it easier to trust vets that don't hide anything. If I had to choose between my pet dying, or bringing it to McDonough Vet, I'm sorry, but I'd have to let my pet die, rather than prolong its death by admitting it to McDonough Animal Hospital. If you love your pet, DO NOT GO TO McDONOUGH ANIMAL HOSPITAL!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

This vet is a joke! If your dog got run over by a car, the first thing they'll do is give your dogs fluids! If your dog were hit by a stray missile from North Korea, the first thing they'd do is give your dog fluids. The wait at this vet is ridiculous. If you have an appointment at 9am, plan on staying there until at least 1pm. Also, I do not agree with this joke of a vet bringing your pet back, behind closed doors, to vaccinate it. You don't know what they're doing back there or how they're treating your beloved pet. I felt very uneasy when they brought my dog to the back to get his annual vaccinations. I had him vaccinated twice at McDonough Vet, then decided to choose a vet that'll openly vaccinate your pet right in front of you. I find it easier to trust vets that don't hide anything. If I had to choose between my pet dying, or bringing it to McDonough Vet, I'm sorry, but I'd have to let my pet die, rather than prolong its death by admitting it to McDonough Animal Hospital. If you love your pet, DO NOT GO TO McDONOUGH ANIMAL HOSPITAL!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been using McDonough Animal hospital for about 6 years now, and I have never had an unpleasant experience with them. They have been there for everything my dogs, cats, and horses have been through, from parvo in a puppy to hives on a horse. They are always friendly and respectful, and are not afraid to state the obvious. The building itself is very clean, as are the staff. The vets are very informative in what they are doing, as I like to hear what is being done to my animals while they are doing it. Dr. King was available when I needed help with a horse that broke out into hives, and was very helpful in the process, and talked me through the entire thing. I love that this vet does NOT have a nasty attitude about the well being of other peoples animals, and will show sympathy with losses. Unlike another local vet that is real quick to put an animal down for reasons that can be treated.
I am a client for life!
I recommend this vet to everybody, let them be first pick over all else, even if some of their prices are more than others.

5
★★★★★

I have been using McDonough Animal hospital for about 6 years now, and I have never had an unpleasant experience with them. They have been there for everything my dogs, cats, and horses have been through, from parvo in a puppy to hives on a horse. They are always friendly and respectful, and are not afraid to state the obvious. The building itself is very clean, as are the staff. The vets are very informative in what they are doing, as I like to hear what is being done to my animals while they are doing it. Dr. King was available when I needed help with a horse that broke out into hives, and was very helpful in the process, and talked me through the entire thing. I love that this vet does NOT have a nasty attitude about the well being of other peoples animals, and will show sympathy with losses. Unlike another local vet that is real quick to put an animal down for reasons that can be treated.
I am a client for life!
I recommend this vet to everybody, let them be first pick over all else, even if some of their prices are more than others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Great people here, been using them for 16+ years for dogs, cats, goats, and horses. We've been through the major and minor, from shots to surgeries, and I have never once had a complaint. Love the staff and the vets!

5
★★★★★

Great people here, been using them for 16+ years for dogs, cats, goats, and horses. We've been through the major and minor, from shots to surgeries, and I have never once had a complaint. Love the staff and the vets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This is the place to take your animals for anything...I just recently went in there and was there all week everyday due to my dog having parvo, she had to receive 4 treatments and it was so scary not knowing if my baby would make it or not. I seen about 3 different vets, different ones everyday but they were all wonderful! They talked me through everything and they were very good with my dog. I had to take the treatment home with me since they were closed on the weekend and they made me feel very comfortable doing it...im writing this review because they deserve a 5 star from me with the hard work they do on a daily basis and most importantly, my dog is living happy right now and pulled through the horrible parvo disease! This hospital saved my babies life and im very grateful for it!

They don't charge outrageous fees and they also work with you on payments, it shows they care. The only 2 things I didn't care much for was sometimes the receptionist could be moody and rushes through everything but they have a few thats been there awhile and are nice, maybe this was a new woman and I might have caught her on a bad day and the other thing is the wait, some people might not like the wait.

If you don't mind waiting a little while, then this is a place to go, you have to wait only because they are always very busy and they take walk-in patients, so its understandable...the techs and veterinarians are amazing and worth it.

Highly recommended!!!

5
★★★★★

This is the place to take your animals for anything...I just recently went in there and was there all week everyday due to my dog having parvo, she had to receive 4 treatments and it was so scary not knowing if my baby would make it or not. I seen about 3 different vets, different ones everyday but they were all wonderful! They talked me through everything and they were very good with my dog. I had to take the treatment home with me since they were closed on the weekend and they made me feel very comfortable doing it...im writing this review because they deserve a 5 star from me with the hard work they do on a daily basis and most importantly, my dog is living happy right now and pulled through the horrible parvo disease! This hospital saved my babies life and im very grateful for it!

They don't charge outrageous fees and they also work with you on payments, it shows they care. The only 2 things I didn't care much for was sometimes the receptionist could be moody and rushes through everything but they have a few thats been there awhile and are nice, maybe this was a new woman and I might have caught her on a bad day and the other thing is the wait, some people might not like the wait.

If you don't mind waiting a little while, then this is a place to go, you have to wait only because they are always very busy and they take walk-in patients, so its understandable...the techs and veterinarians are amazing and worth it.

Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

We had just moved to our new farm when we had a tragic accident and our favorite mare was kicked by another horse and fractured her shoulder. Dr. King was the only vet in town willing to give our mare a fighting chance at recovery. He and his partner were always available for our questions, came to our farm at a moments notice (even in the middle of the night) and were compassionate and understanding through the entire ordeal. They earned a client for life, and we continue to use them for all of our needs on at our new Arabian farm. Unlike some of the other vets I've used, they will thoroughly research any issues before making hasty judgements and are not afraid to try new ideas. I wish all up and coming vets were as open minded and sensible. I wouldn't think about calling another vet for an emergency or routine visit!

5
★★★★★

We had just moved to our new farm when we had a tragic accident and our favorite mare was kicked by another horse and fractured her shoulder. Dr. King was the only vet in town willing to give our mare a fighting chance at recovery. He and his partner were always available for our questions, came to our farm at a moments notice (even in the middle of the night) and were compassionate and understanding through the entire ordeal. They earned a client for life, and we continue to use them for all of our needs on at our new Arabian farm. Unlike some of the other vets I've used, they will thoroughly research any issues before making hasty judgements and are not afraid to try new ideas. I wish all up and coming vets were as open minded and sensible. I wouldn't think about calling another vet for an emergency or routine visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I will NEVER take my dog back to this vet EVER AGAIN! When i called them they were originally nasty with me. I wanted to bring my dog in there to be spayed. My boyfriend had his one dog spayed there a few years ago so he trusted them plus they had a decent price. I had previously seen other vets for annual check ups and they noted my dog had a hernia and they said that when any vet does her spaying they would close up the hernia, because other wise it could be dangerous and lead to death. Well my dog has an ear infection now so I took her to another vet and it turns out that McDonough Animal Hospital did not close the hernia. Along with this, a week and a half ago, I brought my dog to get her stitches out and she still had some in her that I noticed yesterday so I had the new vet take them out. Along with this, the new vet said her scarring looked infected because it was really bumpy and red. I would not recommend this vet to anyone. Another thing that bothered me is that they had my drop my dog off and I didnt meet the vet at all, even when I picked her up the day after, and brought her back to get her stitches removed, I never met the actual vet, when getting her spayed there was my first time going to this animal hospital. I found this place to be somewhat moody, non-professional, and after all this new news about my puppy I am not happy!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I will NEVER take my dog back to this vet EVER AGAIN! When i called them they were originally nasty with me. I wanted to bring my dog in there to be spayed. My boyfriend had his one dog spayed there a few years ago so he trusted them plus they had a decent price. I had previously seen other vets for annual check ups and they noted my dog had a hernia and they said that when any vet does her spaying they would close up the hernia, because other wise it could be dangerous and lead to death. Well my dog has an ear infection now so I took her to another vet and it turns out that McDonough Animal Hospital did not close the hernia. Along with this, a week and a half ago, I brought my dog to get her stitches out and she still had some in her that I noticed yesterday so I had the new vet take them out. Along with this, the new vet said her scarring looked infected because it was really bumpy and red. I would not recommend this vet to anyone. Another thing that bothered me is that they had my drop my dog off and I didnt meet the vet at all, even when I picked her up the day after, and brought her back to get her stitches removed, I never met the actual vet, when getting her spayed there was my first time going to this animal hospital. I found this place to be somewhat moody, non-professional, and after all this new news about my puppy I am not happy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Unfortunate Communication Failure I personally spoke to this client after her pet's surgery and discussed this problem with her. Unfortunately, her dog was too aggressive to permit an examination prior to sedation, so the hernia was not noted. We had never seen this pet prior to this visit, although I understand she had been to several other veterinarians. This client failed to mention the hernia when she dropped the pet off, or any time prior to surgery. I offered to re-admit the pet and repair the hernia for the price of the herniorraphy alone (no charge for the second anesthesia). I am sorry we were unable to resolve this issue to the client's satisfaction, but we certainly did try to make amends.
.

I went at the behest of Bellsouth via another vendor to do some telephone work.
Having 4 dogs myself, Im very much concerned with the proper treatment and care of our four legged loved ones.
I met the doctor and many of the staff.
I was impressed with the facility and particulary Yogi who runs the front desk. I was there for six hours (not my fault) and I saw nothing but love and care for all the animals that came through the door. It was no wonder so many of them were immediately known by name as they were repeat customers.
You can go wrong choosing this facility for your pet.
I would certainly use them if I didnt live in Cumming GA.
They care because I know what "Care" means.

5
★★★★★

I went at the behest of Bellsouth via another vendor to do some telephone work.
Having 4 dogs myself, Im very much concerned with the proper treatment and care of our four legged loved ones.
I met the doctor and many of the staff.
I was impressed with the facility and particulary Yogi who runs the front desk. I was there for six hours (not my fault) and I saw nothing but love and care for all the animals that came through the door. It was no wonder so many of them were immediately known by name as they were repeat customers.
You can go wrong choosing this facility for your pet.
I would certainly use them if I didnt live in Cumming GA.
They care because I know what "Care" means.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have used McDonough Animal Hospital since I moved to GA in 1990 and I have never been dissatisfied with the quality of the care my animals have received. They care about the animals and explain what the problem is clearly when we have a sick dog or cat and are sure we know how to take care of them once we get them home.

There are times when the wait is quote long, however this is a very busy vet and they will work animals in without appointments if they are sick, which they have done for me many times.

This vet has spayed/neutered all of my families animals over the past 17 years and helped us keep them healthy and happy over time. In fact, two of the cats I have now I got from this vet and they spayed them for free.

McDonough Animal Hospital is a great place to have animals cared for and one I will continue to use.

4
★★★★☆

I have used McDonough Animal Hospital since I moved to GA in 1990 and I have never been dissatisfied with the quality of the care my animals have received. They care about the animals and explain what the problem is clearly when we have a sick dog or cat and are sure we know how to take care of them once we get them home.

There are times when the wait is quote long, however this is a very busy vet and they will work animals in without appointments if they are sick, which they have done for me many times.

This vet has spayed/neutered all of my families animals over the past 17 years and helped us keep them healthy and happy over time. In fact, two of the cats I have now I got from this vet and they spayed them for free.

McDonough Animal Hospital is a great place to have animals cared for and one I will continue to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

All the staff are nice, and concerned for the animals. The one thing they are not worried with, is keeping appointment times. Your appointment may be at 9:00am and you will not leave the office until past 11:00 am.

3
★★★☆☆

All the staff are nice, and concerned for the animals. The one thing they are not worried with, is keeping appointment times. Your appointment may be at 9:00am and you will not leave the office until past 11:00 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

More about McDonough Animal Hospital

Large and Small Animal Medicine, Surgery, and Dentistry Senior Citizen's Appreciation Day is Tuesday--10% discount on Products and Services

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used McDonough Animal Hospital, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review