HairapyPDX Organic Salon

★★★★☆
  • 4460 SW Garden Home Road

    Portland, OR 97219

    Map & Directions
  • 503-360-1324

About HairapyPDX Organic Salon

Categories
  • Beauty & Spa
  • Beauty Salons
  • Hair Care
  • Barbers
  • Skin Care Specialists
Hours
Monday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Friday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Saturday: 10:00 AM - 08:00 AM
Sunday: 10:00 AM - 06:00 AM

Personal Services

Personal Services
More choices in Portland:
Resultset_next

Aimee J'Adore

4716 SE Belmont Street Portland, OR

Resultset_next

Patricia L. Norris, MD

2222 NW Lovejoy St. Portland, OR

4.0 10
Hi! Sign in to let us know how HairapyPDX Organic Salon was?
Write a Review
.

I can't say enough good things about Ernest! This man really knows his stuff and he is passionate and dedicated to what he does. He is very knowledgeable about his products and procedures. He is a stylist that will actually teach you about your hair and won't simply say, "I think this will look nice on you" without backing it up. If you have frizzy or damaged hair, I highly recommend his Keragreen treatments. Never before had my hair been so smooth, soft and shiny!

5
★★★★★

I can't say enough good things about Ernest! This man really knows his stuff and he is passionate and dedicated to what he does. He is very knowledgeable about his products and procedures. He is a stylist that will actually teach you about your hair and won't simply say, "I think this will look nice on you" without backing it up. If you have frizzy or damaged hair, I highly recommend his Keragreen treatments. Never before had my hair been so smooth, soft and shiny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you Erika. Miss you and hope you come back soon. hugs
.

I received a gift for a Brazilian Blowout keratin treatment at HairapyPDX. Ernest is a very experienced and knowledgeable professional who excels at his craft. He keeps himself up to date through continual education and he specializes in organic, toxic free products - which is something that is important to me. Ernest is a honest, no nonsense, highly entertaining and passionate stylist that is dedicated to educating his clients and providing amazing results. I highly recommend Ernest to anyone who appreciates a professional stylist that provides beautiful results with toxic free products and who's integrity shows in everything he does.

5
★★★★★

I received a gift for a Brazilian Blowout keratin treatment at HairapyPDX. Ernest is a very experienced and knowledgeable professional who excels at his craft. He keeps himself up to date through continual education and he specializes in organic, toxic free products - which is something that is important to me. Ernest is a honest, no nonsense, highly entertaining and passionate stylist that is dedicated to educating his clients and providing amazing results. I highly recommend Ernest to anyone who appreciates a professional stylist that provides beautiful results with toxic free products and who's integrity shows in everything he does.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hugs for you Mary. Love having you.
.

I had such high hopes because Ernest was so friendly over the phone. But I feel pretty ripped off. I used a Groupon and was treated like a second class citizen, had to wait three months for an appointment because he doesn't give Groupon users normal appointments. He actually laughed at me when I saw that he had availability online and requested an earlier appointment. The Groupon was a $150. He charged an additional $50 for "extra product" even though my hair is fine and shoulder length. Then I find out that you don't even get long term results unless you buy the $187 products that go with the treatment, (not stated in the fine print) so I just paid $200 for a treatment that may or may not last about 4 weeks. Not to mention the attitude! Wow. He was a combination of very friendly and very judgmental. The whole thing was very confusing. And Ernest, I'm sure you'll respond to this. And I'm sure you have people who love what you do. I am unfortunately not one of them.

2
★★☆☆☆

I had such high hopes because Ernest was so friendly over the phone. But I feel pretty ripped off. I used a Groupon and was treated like a second class citizen, had to wait three months for an appointment because he doesn't give Groupon users normal appointments. He actually laughed at me when I saw that he had availability online and requested an earlier appointment. The Groupon was a $150. He charged an additional $50 for "extra product" even though my hair is fine and shoulder length. Then I find out that you don't even get long term results unless you buy the $187 products that go with the treatment, (not stated in the fine print) so I just paid $200 for a treatment that may or may not last about 4 weeks. Not to mention the attitude! Wow. He was a combination of very friendly and very judgmental. The whole thing was very confusing. And Ernest, I'm sure you'll respond to this. And I'm sure you have people who love what you do. I am unfortunately not one of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Yes Emily, of course I would respond, because part of what you are telling people here is just not true. Why you feel you need to do this I will not understand, but some people are super sensitive, and take things the wrong way. I am very nice and straight forward, so you always know what to expect with every service. The Groupon you had was up to a 350 dollar value for only 150, and your hair was extra long, so the Groupon says longer hair is extra, and I charged you 50 extra. This is normal, and not sure why your mentioning it. It is in the fine print. Re-read your Groupon. It also mentioned the product is extra, because everyone knows that you have to have supporting keratin product to keep the keratin in the hair. This is something I told you before we began. Sorry you took my straight forwardness as judgmental. Most people find it refreshing. I'm very honest and straight forward. Hope you find a good match.
.

This is a cute little salon with one chair, which gives you individual attention. The owner is also the stylist. While I enjoyed those aspects of the salon, I was disappointed with the outcome. The color I received was decent, but the highlights were loud, thick in the back, and are almost half an inch from my scalp in some areas. My hair cut is choppy, to say the least. Needless to say, no holiday photos this year! (well, maybe with a hat)

2
★★☆☆☆

This is a cute little salon with one chair, which gives you individual attention. The owner is also the stylist. While I enjoyed those aspects of the salon, I was disappointed with the outcome. The color I received was decent, but the highlights were loud, thick in the back, and are almost half an inch from my scalp in some areas. My hair cut is choppy, to say the least. Needless to say, no holiday photos this year! (well, maybe with a hat)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

If this is how you truly felt, then why did you not bring it to my attention? I would have been more than happy to discuss a different look for you. I always discuss everything I do before I do it to get the OK from YOU, the client. I am always open to a change if you are not happy. Sometimes it's hard to communicate what it is you are really looking for, and I understand that. I know my work and so do my 300 clients, and the work you are describing is not mine.
.

I have been doing the circuit of Great Clips, Mastercuts and the like until trying out Hairapy Salon and getting a haircut from Ernest recently. I was more than happy wih the results--great cut, pleasant surroundings, and nice stylist! I plan to go there regularly!

4
★★★★☆

I have been doing the circuit of Great Clips, Mastercuts and the like until trying out Hairapy Salon and getting a haircut from Ernest recently. I was more than happy wih the results--great cut, pleasant surroundings, and nice stylist! I plan to go there regularly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

It's always a pleasure to see you Ken, and thank you for choosing My Salon out of the many here in Portland.
.

Lets face it folks... Ernest, the owner does an amazing job! He is passionate and professional about what he does and it shows. The prices for a haircut are extremely affordable as well as the prices for the fine products lines that he carries. I enjoy his straight forward approach, and the end results he really cares about. If you are looking for a great local and professional Salon then you will not be disappointed!! Thanks Ernest!

5
★★★★★

Lets face it folks... Ernest, the owner does an amazing job! He is passionate and professional about what he does and it shows. The prices for a haircut are extremely affordable as well as the prices for the fine products lines that he carries. I enjoy his straight forward approach, and the end results he really cares about. If you are looking for a great local and professional Salon then you will not be disappointed!! Thanks Ernest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you to a fabulous chef. :o)
.

I recently moved to the area from L.A. and was looking for a great Brazilian Blow out stylist for my daughter's hair. There were a few to choose from in the Portland area, but Ernest's place said it was ammonia free and didn't use harsh chemicals. He returned my call promptly and charged exactly what he quoted over the phone. Not only did my daughter get great service and wonderful healthy looking hair, I didn't mind waiting around because there were no chemicals in the air. Ernest makes great genuine conversation. My daughter was delighted. I did buy a product - but we asked to purchase it. He was definitely not pushy in the least and was informative and sincere. If anyone has been to a salon in Los Angeles, it is almost a rule that the customer is bombarded with several pricey product pitches of the newest thing at every appointment. Not here. Would definitely recommend him.

5
★★★★★

I recently moved to the area from L.A. and was looking for a great Brazilian Blow out stylist for my daughter's hair. There were a few to choose from in the Portland area, but Ernest's place said it was ammonia free and didn't use harsh chemicals. He returned my call promptly and charged exactly what he quoted over the phone. Not only did my daughter get great service and wonderful healthy looking hair, I didn't mind waiting around because there were no chemicals in the air. Ernest makes great genuine conversation. My daughter was delighted. I did buy a product - but we asked to purchase it. He was definitely not pushy in the least and was informative and sincere. If anyone has been to a salon in Los Angeles, it is almost a rule that the customer is bombarded with several pricey product pitches of the newest thing at every appointment. Not here. Would definitely recommend him.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks Connie, and now with the new Certified Organic KeraGreen formula I use everyone can receive a beautiful long lasting smoothing treatment. Update Connie. The BBO was found to be safe, and I am now giving them again at my salon. Thank God too, because really they are the best smoothing system available.
.

Ernest works very well with hair and seems to care what your end result is. He still thinks he lives in San Diego and that he can charge the same prices that he charged when he lived there. He kept on tacking on additional charges and insisting that I had to purchase the products he carried to maintain my style. I left his salon feeling ripped off and would only visit him for a simple haircut in the future.

3
★★★☆☆

Ernest works very well with hair and seems to care what your end result is. He still thinks he lives in San Diego and that he can charge the same prices that he charged when he lived there. He kept on tacking on additional charges and insisting that I had to purchase the products he carried to maintain my style. I left his salon feeling ripped off and would only visit him for a simple haircut in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Sorry you feel that way. I love what I do, and Strive to be the best I can be, but i'm also very humble. If I recommend something to you during your service it is only the best recommendation. If you did not feel comfortable with my recommendation because of a dollar issue then why would you not say something? I never push anything on anyone. I only educate and recommend. You obviously loved the outcome of your hair. If you did not buy the products I recommended then your Brazilian Gloss would not have lasted as long. .
.

Hairapy is a great experience! Friendly atmosphere, great stylist, excellent prices! I love my hair color and my cut. I look 10 pounds thinner and 5 years younger! Don't hesitate to indulge yourself in the warm, nurturing and professional treatment you'll get. You won't be sorry!

5
★★★★★

Hairapy is a great experience! Friendly atmosphere, great stylist, excellent prices! I love my hair color and my cut. I look 10 pounds thinner and 5 years younger! Don't hesitate to indulge yourself in the warm, nurturing and professional treatment you'll get. You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you Beverly, and it's always a pleasure to see you. :o) Update: Sad you don't live here any more Bev. Come back to Oregon. :o)
.

Newer Salon in the Multnomah Village area. Small but great is what I have to say about Ernest and his staff. Great cut. Have been going there for a year now. Ernest comes to us from San Diego with many years of salon experience. Salon has two chairs and provides all services.

4
★★★★☆

Newer Salon in the Multnomah Village area. Small but great is what I have to say about Ernest and his staff. Great cut. Have been going there for a year now. Ernest comes to us from San Diego with many years of salon experience. Salon has two chairs and provides all services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks Linda. Hope your enjoying the New Year. Update: My salon has only One chair now and a large retail area. You can also schedule online.

Message from HairapyPDX Organic Salon

HI,

I'm Ernest, Stylist/Owner of HairapyPDX Organic Salon.

I got my License for Hair/skin/nails in California back in 1993, and have worked in Costa Rica, and Nicaragua, and Mexico as well as the State of Washington, and now Oregon. During my time as a Cosmetologist, I have Educated for Farouk Systems, INC, an Ammonia free color company, for 7 years, and I went to advanced training at Gene Juarez Acadamy for Haircutting in Seattle, WA., and now use Organic Color Systems, an ammonia free, certified organic color line. I love this business because it is an Artistic outlet for me. I have always been into color, drawing, painting, and have an eye for Art. My personality is one of Education, so my clientele always feel educated when they are with me having their hair designed by me. My goal is to be an asset to the community I embrace here in SW Portland, and to give exceptional service with an honest, sincere, artistic attitude.



My Salon & Spa is based on the belief that our customers needs are of the utmost importance, and that quality Ammonia free, certified Organic products are used. We also believe in health from the inside out, so we are committed to bringing you only the finest, Scientifically proven, and tested Hair, Skin, and Body products. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals.



We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.

More about HairapyPDX Organic Salon

With over 18 years experience in the industry, I specialize in Ammonia Free, Certified Organic/ Damage Free Color, Perms, Highlights, and more. I also provide the Brazilian Blowout Smoothing Treatment that lasts up to 3 mo. Online scheduling makes everything easy. Haircut's Men 30 Women 35+ Organic Color 70+ Hi-Lite's 60+ More on my Website.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used HairapyPDX Organic Salon, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review