Colonial K-9

★★★★★
Monday through Friday - 6 am to 7 pm Saturday and Sunday - 8 am to 6 pm
  • 30 Big Spring Ln

    Stafford, VA 22554

    Map & Directions
  • 540-657-4597

About Colonial K-9

Categories
  • Kennels
  • Pet Trainers
  • Pet Sitting
  • Dog Trainers
  • Pet Grooming
Details
  • Clicker Training
Hours
M-F 6am-7pm, Sa-Su 8am-6pm
Special Offer
Call Today !
Emails
  • colonialk9@hotmail.com
Phones
  • Fax (540-657-4598)
Year Established
  • 2000
Products
  • Guide Dog Training
  • Seminars
  • Clicker Training
  • Feedings
  • Transportation Services
  • Consultations
  • Kennels
  • Day Care
  • Dog Walking
  • Pet Sitting

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Stafford:
Resultset_next

White Oak Animal Hospital

10 Walsh Ln Fredericksburg, IA

Resultset_next

White Oak Animal Hospital

10 Walsh Ln Fredericksburg, IA

4.625 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Colonial K-9 was?
Write a Review
.

Teresa did a fantastic job with my Pit Bull and with us. She was suffering with leash aggression and I did not want her to have a bad reputation. I'm very pleased with her outcome and most of her issues were cleared in 1 day of training.

5
★★★★★

Teresa did a fantastic job with my Pit Bull and with us. She was suffering with leash aggression and I did not want her to have a bad reputation. I'm very pleased with her outcome and most of her issues were cleared in 1 day of training.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have taken my dogs to the owner of Colonial K9 for 6 years. I will never take them anywhere else. I love the attention they give my 2 black labs. I have also used them or obedience training. Let me tell you it has made a world of difference in their behavior and how they interact with my family. I would recommend colonial K9 to everyone.

4
★★★★☆

I have taken my dogs to the owner of Colonial K9 for 6 years. I will never take them anywhere else. I love the attention they give my 2 black labs. I have also used them or obedience training. Let me tell you it has made a world of difference in their behavior and how they interact with my family. I would recommend colonial K9 to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This business is top notch! I was told by another "Trainer" in the area to put my GSD dog down. He was not trainable! Put him down! I was devastated! At my last hope someone told me about Colonial K-9. Right before I thought about putting him down- I called and asked to speak to the trainers. Rather than charging me for long enduring training- they asked if we could do a one hour private lesson for $50. I love my dog alot more than that- so I gave it a try. Within one hour- all of my training problems were covered! My dog was dog agressive and human agressive. After the session my dog was walking with other dogs and sitting for petting with people. It inspired me where other trainers said my dog was worthless and I should just "put it down". Thank you at Colonial K-9- I will forever be in your debt!

5
★★★★★

This business is top notch! I was told by another "Trainer" in the area to put my GSD dog down. He was not trainable! Put him down! I was devastated! At my last hope someone told me about Colonial K-9. Right before I thought about putting him down- I called and asked to speak to the trainers. Rather than charging me for long enduring training- they asked if we could do a one hour private lesson for $50. I love my dog alot more than that- so I gave it a try. Within one hour- all of my training problems were covered! My dog was dog agressive and human agressive. After the session my dog was walking with other dogs and sitting for petting with people. It inspired me where other trainers said my dog was worthless and I should just "put it down". Thank you at Colonial K-9- I will forever be in your debt!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I just want everyone to know that I have boarded EVERY PLACE in Stafford and Colonial K-9 is the BEST! They do treat your dogs like they are their own! I have 2 Great Danes and a Beagle and I boarded all of them there! They were so well kept that they weren't even that excited to see me when I picked them up after a 2 week vacation in Florida. They were still playing in the large play runs in the back of the kennel like they were puppies. The kennel staff sent me pics of my very large Danes going in and out of the dog doors. They fed them on time on top of the medications that needed to be given. I have had numerous other experiences with the other local kennels that were less than a quarter as good. I would never consider going anywhere else. Their kennels are top-notch and the staff is too. A+ rating for them

5
★★★★★

I just want everyone to know that I have boarded EVERY PLACE in Stafford and Colonial K-9 is the BEST! They do treat your dogs like they are their own! I have 2 Great Danes and a Beagle and I boarded all of them there! They were so well kept that they weren't even that excited to see me when I picked them up after a 2 week vacation in Florida. They were still playing in the large play runs in the back of the kennel like they were puppies. The kennel staff sent me pics of my very large Danes going in and out of the dog doors. They fed them on time on top of the medications that needed to be given. I have had numerous other experiences with the other local kennels that were less than a quarter as good. I would never consider going anywhere else. Their kennels are top-notch and the staff is too. A+ rating for them

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My husband and I were very happy with the care our 2 Rottweilers received while boarding and training at Colonial K9. Theresa did a great job of helping us identify and correct training problems with our puppy. We boarded for 2 weeks and dogs came home happy and did not seemed stressed. Kennel was clean and organized. The only suggestion for improvement would be returning phone calls in a more timely manner. I would recommend this facility! And I am very picky when it comes to my pups!

5
★★★★★

My husband and I were very happy with the care our 2 Rottweilers received while boarding and training at Colonial K9. Theresa did a great job of helping us identify and correct training problems with our puppy. We boarded for 2 weeks and dogs came home happy and did not seemed stressed. Kennel was clean and organized. The only suggestion for improvement would be returning phone calls in a more timely manner. I would recommend this facility! And I am very picky when it comes to my pups!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Our Golden has been going to their doggie daycare for months now. She loves it their and supposely loves everyone there as well. It's a great facility and the whole staff there is top notch. They have even opened a few minutes earlier in the AM to help with both our hectic work schedules. We are so happy they have helped us out and are so convienent. Hope this care continues since we'll always be a regular there.

5
★★★★★

Our Golden has been going to their doggie daycare for months now. She loves it their and supposely loves everyone there as well. It's a great facility and the whole staff there is top notch. They have even opened a few minutes earlier in the AM to help with both our hectic work schedules. We are so happy they have helped us out and are so convienent. Hope this care continues since we'll always be a regular there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I've boarded here for years, and they are awesome. The two owners are a wonderful couple who just love animals and have a very new, clean and modern facility. They train dogs and do police dog training too, plus obedience training for my pup! The runs are long and nice and they're very easy to get to off of Route 1 and Interstate 95 in Stafford, VA.

3
★★★☆☆

I've boarded here for years, and they are awesome. The two owners are a wonderful couple who just love animals and have a very new, clean and modern facility. They train dogs and do police dog training too, plus obedience training for my pup! The runs are long and nice and they're very easy to get to off of Route 1 and Interstate 95 in Stafford, VA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

My wife and I took our dog out of CK-9's facility after a series of events that illustrated all too obviously that no dog in that facility was getting the level of care and observation/interraction they require.

First Clue! By the second week it had already become common place for us to just show up, put the dog in the play pens and then get her ourselves in the afternoon after work because there was hardly ever a person around supervising. When we first got our pup and began using CK-9's facility, I would send normal email updates to the owner/business email address after every visit with the vet since I figured it would be good for them to know as well as to how her treatments were going for the worms and mange (rescue pup... not contagious after treatment began). Several times I wrote emails and left voice mails asking specific questions about our pup, how she was doing, any observations, our general concerns regarding her stool, etc. And not once did we receive a response.

Second clue! At the same time, when she first started going to daycare our pup was being fed (or suppose to be fed) at 12:00 noon everyday as part of her 3-meals per day diet regimen as recommended by the vet to ensure she gained weight since her breed burns calories quickly and she was already unerweight from being a rescue pup from a neglectful owner. A couple times we noticed that her food container had far too much food at the end of the week. After each time we left emails/voice mails again reminding the owner of the feeding schedule that was written down and taped to the container we provided, identifying the time and amount for her feeding. Again, our repeated attempts to communicate with them were ignored. Finally, I got a hold of the morning care provider in person and reminded him of the feeding schedule. Later that day I received a nasty and unprofessional email from the owner stating, in not so few words, that they normally don't feed any of the animals out of fear of food aggression. Okay, food aggression is certainly possible, but that's a really poor excuse in this situation. Not once did we ever see more than 4 dogs (in 3 large play pens) there at any one time with which they could not have separated one dog from another for feeding. Regardless, the fact they weren't feeding her could have been related to us simply by responding to any one of the number of emails I sent referencing and reminding them of the pup's vet-prescribed feeding schedule. Fortunately the vet stated we could go to a 2 x day feeding schedule (not that we had a choice), so we started feeding her in the morning and in the afternoon after we returned home from work.

Third Clue! ... our pup had issues with her stool from Christmas to mid- January that had us worried, and it eventually turned out to be Giardia. We related the fact she had Giardia and was being treated for it to the morning care provider (who now no longer works there). I was going to send an email to the owner, but I had learned by that point that to do so would be futile. The following week the owner came into the facility as we were picking up the pup and we mentioned that the pup's stool was getting better. It appears the owner was unaware and tried claiming that they had an "outbreak" of Giardia and was trying to figure out how it was spread. Now first off, our pup got Giardia from some other dog... she didn't just brew it up herself and bring it in her belly. Second, she couldn't have spread it to any of their dogs on the training compound because they are housed in a separate building/facility. And finally, if there was an outbreak of any kind, why is it that neither we nor any other person using the daycare facility received a notification from the owner that they had any concerns of a parasite spreading. We probably would have taken her into see the vet earlier if they had.

Fourth Clue ... the last week in January I show up having left work early one day and must have surprised the owner. The facility was locked (with the dogs inside barking). Less than five minutes later the owner shows up and unlocks/opens the door. In I walk and there are 3 piles of dog feces and several puddles. Obviously, nobody was supervising the dogs the entire day.

And finally, just two days after arriving to find horrible messes I show up to drop her off at daycare... as I said, we got into the habit of just dropping her off and picking her up ourselves since there is rarely a person in sight ever since the morning care provider left. Except this time, the door is locked and all lights are off. No note, notice, no email sent, no phone calls explaining that they would be closed, no emails or phone calls claiming that they were sorry for not being there.

Don't use this facility. They are unprofessional and I have serious doubts if they even care about animals to the slightest degree.

5
★★★★★

My wife and I took our dog out of CK-9's facility after a series of events that illustrated all too obviously that no dog in that facility was getting the level of care and observation/interraction they require.

First Clue! By the second week it had already become common place for us to just show up, put the dog in the play pens and then get her ourselves in the afternoon after work because there was hardly ever a person around supervising. When we first got our pup and began using CK-9's facility, I would send normal email updates to the owner/business email address after every visit with the vet since I figured it would be good for them to know as well as to how her treatments were going for the worms and mange (rescue pup... not contagious after treatment began). Several times I wrote emails and left voice mails asking specific questions about our pup, how she was doing, any observations, our general concerns regarding her stool, etc. And not once did we receive a response.

Second clue! At the same time, when she first started going to daycare our pup was being fed (or suppose to be fed) at 12:00 noon everyday as part of her 3-meals per day diet regimen as recommended by the vet to ensure she gained weight since her breed burns calories quickly and she was already unerweight from being a rescue pup from a neglectful owner. A couple times we noticed that her food container had far too much food at the end of the week. After each time we left emails/voice mails again reminding the owner of the feeding schedule that was written down and taped to the container we provided, identifying the time and amount for her feeding. Again, our repeated attempts to communicate with them were ignored. Finally, I got a hold of the morning care provider in person and reminded him of the feeding schedule. Later that day I received a nasty and unprofessional email from the owner stating, in not so few words, that they normally don't feed any of the animals out of fear of food aggression. Okay, food aggression is certainly possible, but that's a really poor excuse in this situation. Not once did we ever see more than 4 dogs (in 3 large play pens) there at any one time with which they could not have separated one dog from another for feeding. Regardless, the fact they weren't feeding her could have been related to us simply by responding to any one of the number of emails I sent referencing and reminding them of the pup's vet-prescribed feeding schedule. Fortunately the vet stated we could go to a 2 x day feeding schedule (not that we had a choice), so we started feeding her in the morning and in the afternoon after we returned home from work.

Third Clue! ... our pup had issues with her stool from Christmas to mid- January that had us worried, and it eventually turned out to be Giardia. We related the fact she had Giardia and was being treated for it to the morning care provider (who now no longer works there). I was going to send an email to the owner, but I had learned by that point that to do so would be futile. The following week the owner came into the facility as we were picking up the pup and we mentioned that the pup's stool was getting better. It appears the owner was unaware and tried claiming that they had an "outbreak" of Giardia and was trying to figure out how it was spread. Now first off, our pup got Giardia from some other dog... she didn't just brew it up herself and bring it in her belly. Second, she couldn't have spread it to any of their dogs on the training compound because they are housed in a separate building/facility. And finally, if there was an outbreak of any kind, why is it that neither we nor any other person using the daycare facility received a notification from the owner that they had any concerns of a parasite spreading. We probably would have taken her into see the vet earlier if they had.

Fourth Clue ... the last week in January I show up having left work early one day and must have surprised the owner. The facility was locked (with the dogs inside barking). Less than five minutes later the owner shows up and unlocks/opens the door. In I walk and there are 3 piles of dog feces and several puddles. Obviously, nobody was supervising the dogs the entire day.

And finally, just two days after arriving to find horrible messes I show up to drop her off at daycare... as I said, we got into the habit of just dropping her off and picking her up ourselves since there is rarely a person in sight ever since the morning care provider left. Except this time, the door is locked and all lights are off. No note, notice, no email sent, no phone calls explaining that they would be closed, no emails or phone calls claiming that they were sorry for not being there.

Don't use this facility. They are unprofessional and I have serious doubts if they even care about animals to the slightest degree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Best Level of Care with a Professional Attitude I would have NEVER allowed a dog in daycare with any intestinal parasite until fully treated. He was told that we do not feed in daycare in fear of food aggression, asking him to feed AM & PM and we would feed the afternoon meal, which we did. He was made aware that training began at 7 pm and his dog may be left alone if not picked up by then. However, daycare is separated into three rooms and his dog would not be left with another dog unattended risking injury. The main issue that angers me is that his dog had Giardia and did NOT make us aware. It is highly contagious and can be spread by foot to any building. His dog just started daycare 3 weeks before my dogs started to have loose stools. The owner knowing she had worms and mange, but also brought Giardia. This cost me lots of $$$ to treat all my dogs. Finally, we stress to let us know drop off times and he was not on the schedule. Why pay someone to sit there for two hours if our first drop off is not until 8 am? We love our dogs here and treat them like our own. The pups in daycare are spoiled and loved. We rescue several dogs every year, yet we don't care about animals? I only pray that his is not being crated 13 hours a day.

Message from Colonial K-9

Virginia's Premier Facility for K-9 Training, Boarding, Daycare & Grooming. We strive to give you the cleanest kennels, the highest order of training and around the clock supervision. Our staff is kind and gentle with all breeds.We give it our all to provide you and your pooch with the best experience possible. Thank you from all of us at Colonial K-9.

More about Colonial K-9

Training, Boarding, Daycare, Grooming and Facility Rental. Training includes obedience (all levels), agility, flyball, protection sports, narcotics and tracking.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Colonial K-9, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review