Toyota Scion Marin

★☆☆☆☆
  • 445 Francisco Blvd E

    San Rafael, CA 94901

    Map & Directions
  • 415-578-7788

About Toyota Scion Marin

Hours
Mon-Sat : 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM Sun: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
1.0 1
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Toyota Scion Marin was?
Write a Review
.

This review is for the Toyota Marin Certified Used Car dealership on Rice Dr. in San Rafael. Sales managers and representatives at this dealership use pressure sales tactics and to talk to customers with no appreciation.
I saw a vehicle on the dealerships website and I took quite a bit of time out of my day to visit the dealership to see the vehicle. Without even giving me a chance to see vehicle a sales representative sat me at a desk and tried to up sell me into a vehicle that cost thousands of dollars more than vehicle I was interested in. I informed sales representative that I was only interested in vehicle that I had seen on their website. Sales representative then asked me how I was going to pay for vehicle? I informed sales representative that I would need to finance vehicle. Sales representative then walked over and talked to a sales manager and came back and asked ??how much do you have for a down payment?? And tried to pressure me into allowing dealership to order my credit report. I told sales representative I have no problem with my credit report being ordered but I first wanted to test drive and visually inspect vehicle to decide if even wanted vehicle. Bulleted below are concerns I had with dealership before I even was given a chance to see vehicle that I was interested in.
?Sales representative tried to up sell me into a vehicle that cost thousands of dollars more
?Sales representative did not ask me one question to learn about what I needed in a vehicle. Showed more interest in how much money I could put down.
?Sales representative tried to pressure me into letting dealership run my credit when we didn??t even know if I wanted vehicle. If I had let them order my credit report it would have negatively affected my credit score.
Sales representative finally gave me an opportunity to see the vehicle. While I inspected under the hood the sales representative walked into the main dealership office. About 5 minutes later an aggressive and rude little sales manager came out to assist the sales representative. The little sales manager did not introduce himself he just through him self into the picture. He was male and looked latin and had long black hair. Below is the communication I had with manager.
Me: (inspecting vehicle)
Sales manager: IS THIS GOING TO WORK FOR YOU OR WHAT!!!
Me: Or what?? Its to early to tell i have only been looking at vehicle for 5 minutes and have not even been given an opportunity to test drive vehicle.
Sales manager: (looks at me with a childish smirk on his face)
Me: (I don??t feel I can trust dealership due to persuasive and aggressive sales tactics that are being used on me.) I am not interested in vehicle. I see some things in it that don??t look right.
Sales manager: Just a few seconds ago you said it was to soon to tell!! The vehicles not perfect. (I was trying to be nice and did not want to tell him that I did no trust him).
Me: I understand its not perfect I did not come here looking for a perfect vehicle.
Sales manager: I didn??t say that you asked for a perfect vehicle!! (he didn??t say that but he implied it by saying ??its not perfect? . You wouldn??t expect a manager to talk so carelessly as he did. The vehicle actually looked okay the real reason I lost interest in vehicle was because I did not trust the little sales manager.)
Me: you shouldn??t talk to customers this way and I ask you not to say anything else to me and to go back into your office because I am not interested in doing business with this dealership.
I know for sure that I wont ever do business with this dealership. I do business with people that I can trust. If you do go to this dealership avoid dealing with the sales manager who I had to deal with it. He is unprofessional and careless and uses aggressive and persuasive sales tactics. Sorry I don??t have a name to give he did not introduce himself or give me a card. I gave a good description of him above.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This review is for the Toyota Marin Certified Used Car dealership on Rice Dr. in San Rafael. Sales managers and representatives at this dealership use pressure sales tactics and to talk to customers with no appreciation.
I saw a vehicle on the dealerships website and I took quite a bit of time out of my day to visit the dealership to see the vehicle. Without even giving me a chance to see vehicle a sales representative sat me at a desk and tried to up sell me into a vehicle that cost thousands of dollars more than vehicle I was interested in. I informed sales representative that I was only interested in vehicle that I had seen on their website. Sales representative then asked me how I was going to pay for vehicle? I informed sales representative that I would need to finance vehicle. Sales representative then walked over and talked to a sales manager and came back and asked ??how much do you have for a down payment?? And tried to pressure me into allowing dealership to order my credit report. I told sales representative I have no problem with my credit report being ordered but I first wanted to test drive and visually inspect vehicle to decide if even wanted vehicle. Bulleted below are concerns I had with dealership before I even was given a chance to see vehicle that I was interested in.
?Sales representative tried to up sell me into a vehicle that cost thousands of dollars more
?Sales representative did not ask me one question to learn about what I needed in a vehicle. Showed more interest in how much money I could put down.
?Sales representative tried to pressure me into letting dealership run my credit when we didn??t even know if I wanted vehicle. If I had let them order my credit report it would have negatively affected my credit score.
Sales representative finally gave me an opportunity to see the vehicle. While I inspected under the hood the sales representative walked into the main dealership office. About 5 minutes later an aggressive and rude little sales manager came out to assist the sales representative. The little sales manager did not introduce himself he just through him self into the picture. He was male and looked latin and had long black hair. Below is the communication I had with manager.
Me: (inspecting vehicle)
Sales manager: IS THIS GOING TO WORK FOR YOU OR WHAT!!!
Me: Or what?? Its to early to tell i have only been looking at vehicle for 5 minutes and have not even been given an opportunity to test drive vehicle.
Sales manager: (looks at me with a childish smirk on his face)
Me: (I don??t feel I can trust dealership due to persuasive and aggressive sales tactics that are being used on me.) I am not interested in vehicle. I see some things in it that don??t look right.
Sales manager: Just a few seconds ago you said it was to soon to tell!! The vehicles not perfect. (I was trying to be nice and did not want to tell him that I did no trust him).
Me: I understand its not perfect I did not come here looking for a perfect vehicle.
Sales manager: I didn??t say that you asked for a perfect vehicle!! (he didn??t say that but he implied it by saying ??its not perfect? . You wouldn??t expect a manager to talk so carelessly as he did. The vehicle actually looked okay the real reason I lost interest in vehicle was because I did not trust the little sales manager.)
Me: you shouldn??t talk to customers this way and I ask you not to say anything else to me and to go back into your office because I am not interested in doing business with this dealership.
I know for sure that I wont ever do business with this dealership. I do business with people that I can trust. If you do go to this dealership avoid dealing with the sales manager who I had to deal with it. He is unprofessional and careless and uses aggressive and persuasive sales tactics. Sorry I don??t have a name to give he did not introduce himself or give me a card. I gave a good description of him above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Singh, we are very sorry to hear that your experience with our dealership was so unsatisfactory. We pride ourselves on our transparent, hassle-free buying experience at Toyota Marin which is why we have our 10 point value guarantee which includes an unconditional 3-day return policy. We put that in place so no one will free pressured, but we obviously failed to deliver during your visit with us and for that I am truly sorry. My understanding of the situation was that the year of the truck you were interested in made it very difficult to arrange financing. It was not concerning your credit. Again I apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding, and I would invite you to further reach out and contact me personally so that we can discuss the matter further and possibly bring about some resolution. Regards, Mike Christian - General Manager mikechristian@toyotamarin.com

Message from Toyota Scion Marin

Toyota Presidents Award β?? Named 2009 Best Car Dealer in β??Best of Marinβ? by the Pacific Sun

Named San Rafael Business of the Year

Service Excellence award from Toyota



More about Toyota Scion Marin

With a large inventory of Toyotas including, 4Runner, RAV4, Camry, Venza, Highlander, Tacoma and Tundra models, we have the vehicle you want. We even provide you a 3-day/250 mile Money Back Guarantee.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Toyota Scion Marin, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review