Ace Rent-A-Car

★★☆☆☆
27.9522 -82.5285
Map and Directions to Ace Rent-A-Car

813-287-1872

5002 W Cypress St

Tampa, FL

33607

Get Directions

About Ace Rent-A-Car

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Tampa:
Resultset_next

Alamo Rent A Car

5311 Airport Service Road Tampa, FL

Resultset_next

Hertz Rent a Car

651 Channelside Dr Tampa, FL

2.125 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Ace Rent-A-Car was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 8 of 8.
.

Worst car rental company.
Ok, I keep it short for you guys.
I rent a van for a week so here are the issues:
1/ Quote price online not granted, the price at the counter a lot more. I am FL resident, they limite to 150 miles a day.
2/ When the van get flat tires, they don't have any road side assistance. This is the biggest issues. THERE IS NO ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE!!!! So I ended up take care myself, cost hundreds of dollars.
3/ I had the $5 tolls that don't know off, they charged me $55. $5 toll and $50 fees. That is rediculous fees.
4/ When you call them, nobody there to answer your phone.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Worst car rental company.
Ok, I keep it short for you guys.
I rent a van for a week so here are the issues:
1/ Quote price online not granted, the price at the counter a lot more. I am FL resident, they limite to 150 miles a day.
2/ When the van get flat tires, they don't have any road side assistance. This is the biggest issues. THERE IS NO ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE!!!! So I ended up take care myself, cost hundreds of dollars.
3/ I had the $5 tolls that don't know off, they charged me $55. $5 toll and $50 fees. That is rediculous fees.
4/ When you call them, nobody there to answer your phone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

When we arrived to ace, the first overall look was horrible. It looked like the building and lot hadn't been up kept in years. There were 4 cars on the lot that were visible. Three of them were ford mustangs. Once it was our turn at the counter, behind one very dissatisfied couple, we began talking to the only guy in the place, who also happened to be the manager. He was very carefree and didn't conduct himself all too well, especially with the issue with the coupe before us. To get to the point, on Priceline, I was shown a price of 130 with a 15 a day fee for being under 25. The rental would have been for 6 days, so total price would have been 220. I was informed that the fee I read was wrong, and that I needed their insurance. No other way around it. The total price they wanted to rent an economy car for 6 days was almost 400 dollars. Needless to say we left. Hidden fees, and an overall awful looking business. I wouldn't reccomend to anyone.

1
★☆☆☆☆

When we arrived to ace, the first overall look was horrible. It looked like the building and lot hadn't been up kept in years. There were 4 cars on the lot that were visible. Three of them were ford mustangs. Once it was our turn at the counter, behind one very dissatisfied couple, we began talking to the only guy in the place, who also happened to be the manager. He was very carefree and didn't conduct himself all too well, especially with the issue with the coupe before us. To get to the point, on Priceline, I was shown a price of 130 with a 15 a day fee for being under 25. The rental would have been for 6 days, so total price would have been 220. I was informed that the fee I read was wrong, and that I needed their insurance. No other way around it. The total price they wanted to rent an economy car for 6 days was almost 400 dollars. Needless to say we left. Hidden fees, and an overall awful looking business. I wouldn't reccomend to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

DO NOT RENT FROM THIS COMPANY!! Booked a rental without the car insurance. When we got there, we showed them our insurance card and and STATED WE DID NOT WANT THE INSURANCE Upon returning car, realized we were charged and extra $70-80 for insurance (told we were waited on by the manager at time of rental). Of course, manager not available at that time. Told to call back this week. Called back today, but manager would not refund money, stating it was some other insurance in case we wrecked the car and it was out of service, we wouldn't be charged. NEVER TOLD ABOUT THIS AT TIME OF RENTAL. Did not want this or any kind of insurance! Must have initialed somewhere to allow this, BUT VERY UNFAIR/UNACCEPTABLE BUSINESS PRACTICES, AFTER RESERVING AND STATING IN PERSON, NO INSURANCE WANTED!! Verbal information and reservation should be honored!!! COULD HAVE RENTED RIGHT AT THE AIRPORT FOR LESS MONEY AND NOT HAVE TO BE SHUTTLED TO GET THE CAR. DO NOT GO HERE!! Manager states he will try to help us out next time, when will that be?, not sure when we will be back to TAMPA, maybe never, but won't rent from Ace again. NOT SATISFACTORY! Also, don't buy the full tank of gas, you can fill up right next door before returning the car.

1
★☆☆☆☆

DO NOT RENT FROM THIS COMPANY!! Booked a rental without the car insurance. When we got there, we showed them our insurance card and and STATED WE DID NOT WANT THE INSURANCE Upon returning car, realized we were charged and extra $70-80 for insurance (told we were waited on by the manager at time of rental). Of course, manager not available at that time. Told to call back this week. Called back today, but manager would not refund money, stating it was some other insurance in case we wrecked the car and it was out of service, we wouldn't be charged. NEVER TOLD ABOUT THIS AT TIME OF RENTAL. Did not want this or any kind of insurance! Must have initialed somewhere to allow this, BUT VERY UNFAIR/UNACCEPTABLE BUSINESS PRACTICES, AFTER RESERVING AND STATING IN PERSON, NO INSURANCE WANTED!! Verbal information and reservation should be honored!!! COULD HAVE RENTED RIGHT AT THE AIRPORT FOR LESS MONEY AND NOT HAVE TO BE SHUTTLED TO GET THE CAR. DO NOT GO HERE!! Manager states he will try to help us out next time, when will that be?, not sure when we will be back to TAMPA, maybe never, but won't rent from Ace again. NOT SATISFACTORY! Also, don't buy the full tank of gas, you can fill up right next door before returning the car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Renter beware!!!!

This business is not ran honestly. I rented a car from them in Nov. for a week and was saddend by how they operated their business. They will offer you everything and not disclose certain facts about what they are offering. For instance they will ask you if you would like to pre-purchase a full tank of gas at a reduced price. What they don't tell you if you don't ask is that if you bring the car back let's say 3/4 tank full you will still be charged for a full tank. Dishonest! In my case I was sent my final bill for toll fees that I aquired while I was there and was told that I could not pay these myself and that they would pay them when they came to them and that was it, Okay. When I recieved my final charge in the mail I had $23.00 in tolls and a $50.00 processing fee to pay the tolls. This fee is located on the back of the contract in fine print. It is up to you to find it and ask questions because you can be sure that they will not tell you about it. $50.00 to pay tolls! What kind of business does that? I think you know what kind. I have ran my own business before and know about being honest. I am sad and disapointed when I encounter people and business that are ran this way.

2
★★☆☆☆

Renter beware!!!!

This business is not ran honestly. I rented a car from them in Nov. for a week and was saddend by how they operated their business. They will offer you everything and not disclose certain facts about what they are offering. For instance they will ask you if you would like to pre-purchase a full tank of gas at a reduced price. What they don't tell you if you don't ask is that if you bring the car back let's say 3/4 tank full you will still be charged for a full tank. Dishonest! In my case I was sent my final bill for toll fees that I aquired while I was there and was told that I could not pay these myself and that they would pay them when they came to them and that was it, Okay. When I recieved my final charge in the mail I had $23.00 in tolls and a $50.00 processing fee to pay the tolls. This fee is located on the back of the contract in fine print. It is up to you to find it and ask questions because you can be sure that they will not tell you about it. $50.00 to pay tolls! What kind of business does that? I think you know what kind. I have ran my own business before and know about being honest. I am sad and disapointed when I encounter people and business that are ran this way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The Ace Rent-A-Car is an example of a car rental company that is actually doing the right thing from a business point of view. Many times when I rent a car, it is a necessary evil in order to have transportation but by no means an easy or stress free experience. Not so with my experience in Tampa.

I made a booking well in advance for a car. The confirmation e-mail came through with no difficulty and I had all my papers in order just in case as well. Our flight arrived in Tampa a little late, but not very. I was at this point resigned anyway to the car either not being ready or having been given to someone else due to the flight delay as has happened at other car rental offices.

After collecting our bags, we looked for directions on how to get to the Ace Rent-A-Car office. We found the appropriate signs and headed off. Now, to get from the airport terminal to the Ace Rent-A-Car office, there is a monorail system. This was incredibly clean and efficient. There was a combination of maps above head level and spoken announcements telling you where the monorail was headed and where you were now. Basically, it appears that all of the car rental agencies are off site, as you would expect, but rather than each rental company having separate buses doing rounds of collecting passengers and dropping them off, all of this congestion and pollution is avoided by having one monorail system that serves everyone. It is a brilliant idea, and it works.

I was really impressed at how fast the monorail was, how clean and efficient it was, and how you never had to wait more than a few minutes for one to turn up.

Once we reached the stop for Ace Rent-A-Car, almost at the end of the line, we left the monorail and again followed clear and easy to follow instructions to get to the car collection area. Once out of the elevator, the first thing you see is a giant board with names of passengers picking up their cars that day and the location of their vehicle. Amazingly, our name was still up on the board, and the location of the car was merely a few steps away.

OK, there has to be something wrong with the car, maybe the wrong model, or something? We got to the car, it was the right model. The car was left open with the keys in the ignition and the contract hanging from the rear view mirror. Again, so far everything seemed in order, and the contract was correct. Also, we found that the car was spotless inside and out.

Throughout the week of rental, the car was excellent, it gave us no problems at all. As a bonus, it had Ace Rent-A-Car never lost, which we were not expecting, but were very grateful for, after getting lost a few times! We really had no complaints about the car at all.

If I could make one gripe, it was trying to find our way back to the car rental office prior to our flight. We tried following the directions both on the navigation device and on the road signs, but had several failed attempts before getting back to the office. It was like we could see the office just over the road or behind a fence, but couldn??t find a way to get there. One of the problems was we needed to fill the car with gas before returning it, and there are no gas stations that we could find nearby. This meant that even if we made it to the office on our first attempt, and I think it is likely we might have done, we had to then divert from our route to find a gas station. Once full of gas, that is when our real difficulties in trying to find our way back started.

All in all, as an example of a car rental office, this was a very good experience. I would have no problems renting from Ace Rent-A-Car.

5
★★★★★

The Ace Rent-A-Car is an example of a car rental company that is actually doing the right thing from a business point of view. Many times when I rent a car, it is a necessary evil in order to have transportation but by no means an easy or stress free experience. Not so with my experience in Tampa.

I made a booking well in advance for a car. The confirmation e-mail came through with no difficulty and I had all my papers in order just in case as well. Our flight arrived in Tampa a little late, but not very. I was at this point resigned anyway to the car either not being ready or having been given to someone else due to the flight delay as has happened at other car rental offices.

After collecting our bags, we looked for directions on how to get to the Ace Rent-A-Car office. We found the appropriate signs and headed off. Now, to get from the airport terminal to the Ace Rent-A-Car office, there is a monorail system. This was incredibly clean and efficient. There was a combination of maps above head level and spoken announcements telling you where the monorail was headed and where you were now. Basically, it appears that all of the car rental agencies are off site, as you would expect, but rather than each rental company having separate buses doing rounds of collecting passengers and dropping them off, all of this congestion and pollution is avoided by having one monorail system that serves everyone. It is a brilliant idea, and it works.

I was really impressed at how fast the monorail was, how clean and efficient it was, and how you never had to wait more than a few minutes for one to turn up.

Once we reached the stop for Ace Rent-A-Car, almost at the end of the line, we left the monorail and again followed clear and easy to follow instructions to get to the car collection area. Once out of the elevator, the first thing you see is a giant board with names of passengers picking up their cars that day and the location of their vehicle. Amazingly, our name was still up on the board, and the location of the car was merely a few steps away.

OK, there has to be something wrong with the car, maybe the wrong model, or something? We got to the car, it was the right model. The car was left open with the keys in the ignition and the contract hanging from the rear view mirror. Again, so far everything seemed in order, and the contract was correct. Also, we found that the car was spotless inside and out.

Throughout the week of rental, the car was excellent, it gave us no problems at all. As a bonus, it had Ace Rent-A-Car never lost, which we were not expecting, but were very grateful for, after getting lost a few times! We really had no complaints about the car at all.

If I could make one gripe, it was trying to find our way back to the car rental office prior to our flight. We tried following the directions both on the navigation device and on the road signs, but had several failed attempts before getting back to the office. It was like we could see the office just over the road or behind a fence, but couldn??t find a way to get there. One of the problems was we needed to fill the car with gas before returning it, and there are no gas stations that we could find nearby. This meant that even if we made it to the office on our first attempt, and I think it is likely we might have done, we had to then divert from our route to find a gas station. Once full of gas, that is when our real difficulties in trying to find our way back started.

All in all, as an example of a car rental office, this was a very good experience. I would have no problems renting from Ace Rent-A-Car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I recently rented a minivan for a family vacation from ACE. It was one of the best experiences I have had in renting cars. The price was right and the staff was very professional. Plus they gave every member of the family a bottle of water. We will definitely use ACEvagain.

5
★★★★★

I recently rented a minivan for a family vacation from ACE. It was one of the best experiences I have had in renting cars. The price was right and the staff was very professional. Plus they gave every member of the family a bottle of water. We will definitely use ACEvagain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you!!
.

Bad customer service. Rude over the phone. Wanted to rent the car for an extra day and they wouldn't let me. Go with ANY OTHER car rental company. I travel frequently, and this was my worst experience ever.

ALSO - when we returned the car they said that due to the number of miles, we must have gone out of state and they charged us $500+ in ADDITION to our car rental fee. They never informed us of this AT ALL.

They are a complete scam. Go with any other car company - they are guaranteed to be more reputable.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Bad customer service. Rude over the phone. Wanted to rent the car for an extra day and they wouldn't let me. Go with ANY OTHER car rental company. I travel frequently, and this was my worst experience ever.

ALSO - when we returned the car they said that due to the number of miles, we must have gone out of state and they charged us $500+ in ADDITION to our car rental fee. They never informed us of this AT ALL.

They are a complete scam. Go with any other car company - they are guaranteed to be more reputable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

This Customer had called to extend for an extra day. We informed customer that they would need to come to the office to obtain a new contract. Customer informed us they were on a "road trip" therefore could not come in. We asked them where they were and they stated Washington. We informed customer that they were not allowed to take the car out of state. As stated on the front page of the contract "Authorized to drive in Florida" It also states on the policy information on Priceline which is the website they booked on. It also states on the back of the contact that car must remain in the state of Florida. We attempted to call customer several times while on their road trip leaving messages. We never received a call back. Customer put 3500 miles on the vehicle and was charged the $500 for violation of rental contact. According to back of contact, we could have charged them for $2.00 for each mile they drove during the rental period for violating the terms of the contract.

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Bad customer service. Rude over the phone. Wanted to rent the car for an extra day and they wouldn't let me. Go with ANY OTHER car rental company. I travel frequently, and this was my worst experience ever.

ALSO - when we returned the car they said that due to the number of miles, we must have gone out of state and they charged us $500+ in ADDITION to our car rental fee. They never informed us of this AT ALL.

They are a complete scam. Go with any other car company - they are guaranteed to be more reputable.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Bad customer service. Rude over the phone. Wanted to rent the car for an extra day and they wouldn't let me. Go with ANY OTHER car rental company. I travel frequently, and this was my worst experience ever.

ALSO - when we returned the car they said that due to the number of miles, we must have gone out of state and they charged us $500+ in ADDITION to our car rental fee. They never informed us of this AT ALL.

They are a complete scam. Go with any other car company - they are guaranteed to be more reputable.

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    Budget Truck Rental
    No reviews
    0.24 mi
  2. 2
    Enterprise Rent-A-Car
    6% ★★★★★ 1 review
    0.46 mi
  3. 3
    Dollar Rent A Car
    No reviews
    0.61 mi
  4. 4
    Thrifty Car Rental
    No reviews
    0.61 mi
  5. 5
    Alamo Rent A Car
    1% ★☆☆☆☆ 2 reviews
    0.91 mi