Beckett Furniture Repair

★★★★☆
Teacher to the Amish
  • 521 Carolyn Dr

    Miamisburg, OH 45342

    Map & Directions
  • 937-866-2121

Home & Garden

Home & Garden
More choices in Miamisburg:
Resultset_next

Original Mattress Factory

32 Fiesta Ln Miamisburg, OH

Resultset_next

Alley Cat Chic

2205 S Smithville Rd Kettering, OH

3.5 2
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Beckett Furniture Repair was?
Write a Review
.

Awful experience. Cannot speak to quality since I refused to put up with anymore of their hostile behavior before I arranged for repairs. First, they increased the price from the estimate for repairs they provided me. Second, they were

3
★★★★★

Awful experience. Cannot speak to quality since I refused to put up with anymore of their hostile behavior before I arranged for repairs. First, they increased the price from the estimate for repairs they provided me. Second, they were

.

I cannot speak to the quality of work. I never got that far due to the treatment I received.

For those that want proof, keep reading.

I requested and received an estimate for furniture repair for damage incurred during a military move. Four months later, I e-mailed the business and requested the business contact me to arrange for repair. I did not receive a reply so I e-mailed a second time, and left a voicemail, requesting the business contact me to make arrangements. In response, I received the e-mail below the cut line. As you see, the business seems very upset that I contacted them a second time after they failed to respond to my initial inquiry.

--------------Cut Line--------------
Yes we received your E-mails and the phone messages, we will contact you when we are ready to pick it up and get it into the rotation.
We are not going to pick up the table until its its turn in line.
Its going to be about two weeks before we can get to it, we have other work that was already scheduled.
Your table top has been put on the work calender and will get picked up about a week or less before we start on it.
We will be in touch to schedule the pick up.
* also please be aware that in January we were hit with a price increase on the refinishing supplies we use from our supplier and also the EPA required disposal and license fees we have to renew each January went up (dam near doubled).
So the refinishing cost for your table top has to be increased by $75.00, we are sorry but its un-avoidable.
If you had contacted us before the first part of January that you were still interested in having the top repaired, refinished then the original quote would have been locked in.
If you still want to proceed, let us know and we will contact you when we are ready to pick up the table top.
Thank You . . .
------------------------------------
Although I was not happy with the tone of the e-mail, I decided to try and have the work done by that company because they already provided us an estimate. So, I sent the e-mail below the next cut-line.
-----------Cut Line--------------
Mr. Beckett,
I don't need to have the table picked up. I will drop it off at your location. Please let me know when you are ready to receive it and the location I need to take it to. I will then bring it to you. that will save me the $75 pick-up cost and help with the unexpected price increase.
As an aside, I looked at the original estimate and it didn't have an expiration date on it. I certainly understand estimates are only good for a reasonable period of time if the expiration date isn't stated. I believed a reasonable period would last more than the 4 months it took for me to return from my deployment (I arrived home last week) and receive my repair money for the government. I recommend expiration dates for estimates be placed on the estimate. It would save some hard feelings due to unexpected price increases. For reference, I included your original estimate below the cut-line.
In addition to the table, I also want to have our living room furniture repaired (brown loveseat, coffee table, and end tables) repaired. You said that could be done in-home. When you are ready to schedule that appointment, please let me know and we can do that. Thanks for your reply below!
Respectfully,
---------------------------
In response, I received an even more incredulous e-mail from Beckett Furniture, which I pasted below the next cut line.

--------Cut Line----------
I can not control price increases from our suppliers nor can I control unreasonable licensing and permit increases that the good old EPA (aka Obama
administration) have slaped on
small businesses.
We can not afford to eat those size of increases.
How were we to know you were out of the country ? and just returned.
Our repair shop is not a walk in business that is open to the general public, that type of business requires a whole different type of liability insurance be carried to cover potential customer accidents that could accrue on that premise.
Our insurance covers "employees only".
Now I'm sorry that this all has up-set you, but I'm not responsible for the government's out of control regulations that cost us out the ass and the insurance industries high rates that are imposed on us to cover all the frivolous law-suits from people who claim they fell and hurt themselves.
We just have to pay for it and pay and pay.
Please feel free to contact another furniture repair, refinishing shop since we have made you mad because we are trying not to loose money.
If we had been kept up to date on your deployment, that you were out of the country until just recently then we could have worked something out.
As far as we knew you just could have decided not to get the items fixed or purchased new.

Thank You . . . .
---------------
Upon receiving that response, I chose not to do business with Mr. Beckett.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I cannot speak to the quality of work. I never got that far due to the treatment I received.

For those that want proof, keep reading.

I requested and received an estimate for furniture repair for damage incurred during a military move. Four months later, I e-mailed the business and requested the business contact me to arrange for repair. I did not receive a reply so I e-mailed a second time, and left a voicemail, requesting the business contact me to make arrangements. In response, I received the e-mail below the cut line. As you see, the business seems very upset that I contacted them a second time after they failed to respond to my initial inquiry.

--------------Cut Line--------------
Yes we received your E-mails and the phone messages, we will contact you when we are ready to pick it up and get it into the rotation.
We are not going to pick up the table until its its turn in line.
Its going to be about two weeks before we can get to it, we have other work that was already scheduled.
Your table top has been put on the work calender and will get picked up about a week or less before we start on it.
We will be in touch to schedule the pick up.
* also please be aware that in January we were hit with a price increase on the refinishing supplies we use from our supplier and also the EPA required disposal and license fees we have to renew each January went up (dam near doubled).
So the refinishing cost for your table top has to be increased by $75.00, we are sorry but its un-avoidable.
If you had contacted us before the first part of January that you were still interested in having the top repaired, refinished then the original quote would have been locked in.
If you still want to proceed, let us know and we will contact you when we are ready to pick up the table top.
Thank You . . .
------------------------------------
Although I was not happy with the tone of the e-mail, I decided to try and have the work done by that company because they already provided us an estimate. So, I sent the e-mail below the next cut-line.
-----------Cut Line--------------
Mr. Beckett,
I don't need to have the table picked up. I will drop it off at your location. Please let me know when you are ready to receive it and the location I need to take it to. I will then bring it to you. that will save me the $75 pick-up cost and help with the unexpected price increase.
As an aside, I looked at the original estimate and it didn't have an expiration date on it. I certainly understand estimates are only good for a reasonable period of time if the expiration date isn't stated. I believed a reasonable period would last more than the 4 months it took for me to return from my deployment (I arrived home last week) and receive my repair money for the government. I recommend expiration dates for estimates be placed on the estimate. It would save some hard feelings due to unexpected price increases. For reference, I included your original estimate below the cut-line.
In addition to the table, I also want to have our living room furniture repaired (brown loveseat, coffee table, and end tables) repaired. You said that could be done in-home. When you are ready to schedule that appointment, please let me know and we can do that. Thanks for your reply below!
Respectfully,
---------------------------
In response, I received an even more incredulous e-mail from Beckett Furniture, which I pasted below the next cut line.

--------Cut Line----------
I can not control price increases from our suppliers nor can I control unreasonable licensing and permit increases that the good old EPA (aka Obama
administration) have slaped on
small businesses.
We can not afford to eat those size of increases.
How were we to know you were out of the country ? and just returned.
Our repair shop is not a walk in business that is open to the general public, that type of business requires a whole different type of liability insurance be carried to cover potential customer accidents that could accrue on that premise.
Our insurance covers "employees only".
Now I'm sorry that this all has up-set you, but I'm not responsible for the government's out of control regulations that cost us out the ass and the insurance industries high rates that are imposed on us to cover all the frivolous law-suits from people who claim they fell and hurt themselves.
We just have to pay for it and pay and pay.
Please feel free to contact another furniture repair, refinishing shop since we have made you mad because we are trying not to loose money.
If we had been kept up to date on your deployment, that you were out of the country until just recently then we could have worked something out.
As far as we knew you just could have decided not to get the items fixed or purchased new.

Thank You . . . .
---------------
Upon receiving that response, I chose not to do business with Mr. Beckett.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Beckett Furniture Repair, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review