Gordon James Grill

★★★☆☆
  • 110 N El Camino Real

    San Clemente, CA 92672

    Map & Directions
  • 949-498-9100

About Gordon James Grill

Categories
  • Food
  • Restaurants

Food

Food
More choices in San Clemente:
Resultset_next

Italian Cravings Restaurant

105 S Ola Vis San Clemente, CA

Resultset_next

Fisherman's Restaurants

611 Avenida Victoria San Clemente, CA

2.8889 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Gordon James Grill was?
Write a Review
.

I wonder where the chef here studied. I ordered Oso Bucco. I don't think the shanks were even veal and the meat was far from tender. I don't believe the shanks were braised.

And to top it off it was smothered in tomato sauce! Isn't Oso Bucco served with a veal stock reduction? These folks must think everyone in San Clemente is just thinking about the next wave.

My advice; go to the Vine. They have a real chef.

1
★★☆☆☆

I wonder where the chef here studied. I ordered Oso Bucco. I don't think the shanks were even veal and the meat was far from tender. I don't believe the shanks were braised.

And to top it off it was smothered in tomato sauce! Isn't Oso Bucco served with a veal stock reduction? These folks must think everyone in San Clemente is just thinking about the next wave.

My advice; go to the Vine. They have a real chef.

Pros: Good cocktails

Cons: No real chef

.

Owner is rude. Too bad.. we had a great waitress and the food was good but he asked "why we would bring a 2 yr old if we wanted a quiet meal after asking to be move into the main seating area away from a party of 25 that showed up.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Owner is rude. Too bad.. we had a great waitress and the food was good but he asked "why we would bring a 2 yr old if we wanted a quiet meal after asking to be move into the main seating area away from a party of 25 that showed up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We met our 22 month old's Godparents for dinner and we were seated at a nice table in the back room (perfect and quiet for a child and a nice Christmas meal. Soon after we ordered a group of 25 were seated in the same back room. Since the hostess was not at her station I asked the man, who I thought was the manager "why were we seated in a room that you knew was set up for a party of 25 when you have several booths and seats in the main area that is much more quiet and we were looking for something more intimate. He basically said too bad. Then he came to our table and said that you told the someone that you wanted to be in that room even when you were told about the large party. Well, that someone had made a mistake. The manager then realized he had mixed up the names, his fault and we were moved. (I was wondering who the first rude guy was but he just stood around and never once came over to the table and said sorry for the mix up. Later I brought to the hostesses attention that the only working wash basin (the other had a not in service tag on it) was in fact not working and this man walked back with us. I was just trying to be nice... but then he instructed me that he was the owner and that if I would have just asked to be moved there would have been no problem. Guess at this place you have to know who is who to get respect. I told him that indeed that is what I was expecting when I went to him. Then he said......... "if you were looking for a nice, intimate evening WHY WOULD YOU BRING A TWO YEAR OLD !!!". At that point I tipped the waitress $100.00 bucks (feeling so sorry for her having to work for a man like that) paid the bill and left. I will never step foot in that place again.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We met our 22 month old's Godparents for dinner and we were seated at a nice table in the back room (perfect and quiet for a child and a nice Christmas meal. Soon after we ordered a group of 25 were seated in the same back room. Since the hostess was not at her station I asked the man, who I thought was the manager "why were we seated in a room that you knew was set up for a party of 25 when you have several booths and seats in the main area that is much more quiet and we were looking for something more intimate. He basically said too bad. Then he came to our table and said that you told the someone that you wanted to be in that room even when you were told about the large party. Well, that someone had made a mistake. The manager then realized he had mixed up the names, his fault and we were moved. (I was wondering who the first rude guy was but he just stood around and never once came over to the table and said sorry for the mix up. Later I brought to the hostesses attention that the only working wash basin (the other had a not in service tag on it) was in fact not working and this man walked back with us. I was just trying to be nice... but then he instructed me that he was the owner and that if I would have just asked to be moved there would have been no problem. Guess at this place you have to know who is who to get respect. I told him that indeed that is what I was expecting when I went to him. Then he said......... "if you were looking for a nice, intimate evening WHY WOULD YOU BRING A TWO YEAR OLD !!!". At that point I tipped the waitress $100.00 bucks (feeling so sorry for her having to work for a man like that) paid the bill and left. I will never step foot in that place again.

Pros: The food is actually very good !!

Cons: The owner is just not a nice person..... if you like attitude maybe you should try it.

.

We are San Clemente locals and do not mind spending a little extra money for a good meal. Dinner for two was $118 dollars, and $119 with tip. We were very disappointed with Gordon James. While at dinner, the waitress made an error in our order which was brought to management's attention. The "not-caring" attitude and the arrogance of the management were very shocking. There are several good restaurants in SC we would recommend, such as White Horse, The Vine, Beachfire and Iva Lee's.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We are San Clemente locals and do not mind spending a little extra money for a good meal. Dinner for two was $118 dollars, and $119 with tip. We were very disappointed with Gordon James. While at dinner, the waitress made an error in our order which was brought to management's attention. The "not-caring" attitude and the arrogance of the management were very shocking. There are several good restaurants in SC we would recommend, such as White Horse, The Vine, Beachfire and Iva Lee's.

Pros: Trendy

Cons: Service, parking

.

My filet mignon was cooked to perfection, medium rare. The sauce my filet was served in was truly superb as were the fresh sauteed baby vegetables. My companion ordered the evening's special apple-smoked bacon wrapped scallops that were so huge he had to take a doggie-bag. The doggie bag was due to his overindulgence in the New England clam chowder and warm, fresh sourdough bread served with plenty of softened butter prior to his dinner arriving.
My friend and I were in a completely unfamiliar area and we had a friend search us out a restaurant online, we were more than pleasantly surprised!

2
★★★★★

My filet mignon was cooked to perfection, medium rare. The sauce my filet was served in was truly superb as were the fresh sauteed baby vegetables. My companion ordered the evening's special apple-smoked bacon wrapped scallops that were so huge he had to take a doggie-bag. The doggie bag was due to his overindulgence in the New England clam chowder and warm, fresh sourdough bread served with plenty of softened butter prior to his dinner arriving.
My friend and I were in a completely unfamiliar area and we had a friend search us out a restaurant online, we were more than pleasantly surprised!

Pros: All thumbs up!

.

This San Clemente restaurant had the best wild salmon, cooked perfectly, over wild rice with fresh baby vegetables. My husband had the fish and chips... not just any fish, but tasty halibut was used and definitely enough french fries to share. The menu had a nice variety from casual dining to larger, fancier steaks. There were more children that we expected, but we went early so shouldn't have been too surprised. Gordon James is known for their fried green bean appetizer and we saw many being served- they looked great. Except for our squeaky voiced waitresss, who didn't have that attention to detail that great servers should have, the restaurant and evening were very good.

2
★★★★☆

This San Clemente restaurant had the best wild salmon, cooked perfectly, over wild rice with fresh baby vegetables. My husband had the fish and chips... not just any fish, but tasty halibut was used and definitely enough french fries to share. The menu had a nice variety from casual dining to larger, fancier steaks. There were more children that we expected, but we went early so shouldn't have been too surprised. Gordon James is known for their fried green bean appetizer and we saw many being served- they looked great. Except for our squeaky voiced waitresss, who didn't have that attention to detail that great servers should have, the restaurant and evening were very good.

Pros: fresh fish

.

I have had several things on the menu (my wife loves the pasta), but the thing that keeps me coming back is the Kobe Burger. It is fantastic. The only downside is they are only open for lunch T-F.

4
★★★★☆

I have had several things on the menu (my wife loves the pasta), but the thing that keeps me coming back is the Kobe Burger. It is fantastic. The only downside is they are only open for lunch T-F.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

First off, the only real problem with Gordon James is how popular it's gotten. It used to be easy to get a table with a reservation; however as of lately you'll be looking at an hour wait, even on a weeknight!The steaks are all exceptional, there isn't one I'd recommend over any other. I highly recommend, however, the fried peas as an appetizer. You'll see everyone else getting them and they're better than they look. You'll leave full and happy and eager to come back!

4
★★★★☆

First off, the only real problem with Gordon James is how popular it's gotten. It used to be easy to get a table with a reservation; however as of lately you'll be looking at an hour wait, even on a weeknight!The steaks are all exceptional, there isn't one I'd recommend over any other. I highly recommend, however, the fried peas as an appetizer. You'll see everyone else getting them and they're better than they look. You'll leave full and happy and eager to come back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Great ambience and good food at reasonable price. Very friendly and responsive service. It does get very crowded on dinner time. It is recommended to arrive early or make reservation.

4
★★★★☆

Great ambience and good food at reasonable price. Very friendly and responsive service. It does get very crowded on dinner time. It is recommended to arrive early or make reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Gordon James Grill, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review