Cochrane Property Management

★★★☆☆
  • 102 W Arrellaga St

    Santa Barbara, CA 93101

    Map & Directions
  • 805-965-2887

About Cochrane Property Management

Reservations
Make A Reservation

Real Estate

Real Estate
More choices in Santa Barbara:
Resultset_next

Century 21 Butler Realty, Inc.

1635 State St Santa Barbara, CA

Resultset_next

Mike Richardson, Realtors

1806 Cliff Dr C Santa Barbara, CA

3.25 12
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Cochrane Property Management was?
Write a Review
.

Is Cochrane Property Management currently looking for Property Managers?

3
★★★★★

Is Cochrane Property Management currently looking for Property Managers?

.

I found several apartments on their website that I was interested in. I paid the application fee online through paypal. I had not received a response in almost two weeks. They did not return phone calls or emails. I received a phone call only after I threatened to report them for fraud. Justin said I was approved for the apartment. He was pushy. He tried to get me to rent it over the phone without having seen it. He said he only goes to Lompoc once a week. I told him when I would be available to look at it and he agreed. When I called and emailed back to set up a time, he never returned my messages. I called and emailed two other people at his office, Alonso and Dee. Nobody returned my messages. I had another friend apply for the same apartment. He paid the application fee on paypal. He waited a week before contacting them and was told he was approved as well. He tried to make an appointment to see the property and was told to call back. Justin has not returned calls to either of us nor has anyone else at Cochrane. The apartment is still listed on their site for rent. I believe they are collecting multiple application fees on properties that may not even be available.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I found several apartments on their website that I was interested in. I paid the application fee online through paypal. I had not received a response in almost two weeks. They did not return phone calls or emails. I received a phone call only after I threatened to report them for fraud. Justin said I was approved for the apartment. He was pushy. He tried to get me to rent it over the phone without having seen it. He said he only goes to Lompoc once a week. I told him when I would be available to look at it and he agreed. When I called and emailed back to set up a time, he never returned my messages. I called and emailed two other people at his office, Alonso and Dee. Nobody returned my messages. I had another friend apply for the same apartment. He paid the application fee on paypal. He waited a week before contacting them and was told he was approved as well. He tried to make an appointment to see the property and was told to call back. Justin has not returned calls to either of us nor has anyone else at Cochrane. The apartment is still listed on their site for rent. I believe they are collecting multiple application fees on properties that may not even be available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hello Miranda C. We apologize for your experience, it seems there was some miscommunication along the way. If you are not able to reach our leasing agents by phone, as they are often out in the field, you can always dial zero to speak to someone at the front desk. We are more than happy to return your application fees if you send us the receipt of payment. Our records show there were 3 applications submitted with the same name for the same property, but no fees received. We had quite the influx of applications for this particular property, and unfortunately if we don't receive a security deposit to hold the unit or a callback within 24 hours, we will keep accepting applications until the unit is rented. We always tell applicants that it can take at least 4-5 business days for a response back on their application, as long as the application, copies of drivers licenses, proof of income, and application fees are all submitted at the same time. We are not able to fully process the applications until all of these documents are accounted for. This is all clearly explained on our website. Again, we apologize for the negative experience you had, but we are more than happy for you to contact us and let us return your application fees. There is time and money required to process all applications. The application fees are normally nonrefundable, but it is not our intent to to create unhappy customers. Good luck in your apartment search. Thank you, Cochrane Property Mgmt, Inc. www.cochranepm.com
.

I found several apartments on their website that I was interested in. I paid the application fee online through paypal. I had not received a response in almost two weeks. They did not return phone calls or emails. I received a phone call

3
★★★★★

I found several apartments on their website that I was interested in. I paid the application fee online through paypal. I had not received a response in almost two weeks. They did not return phone calls or emails. I received a phone call

.

I would like to put aside the (less than 8) negative reviews for the following reasons: I have been renting from Cochrane Property Management since 2008 and I have found that they respond to the needs of the tenants promptly if and when reported. Now, this has been somewhat of an issue because not everyone wants to report or get involved so Cochrane can not respond as quick as others would like. They run a business; with that said, all tenants should have a on site manager to advise of issues when they arise. Here at my apartment, I am the On Site Manager and we have a very nice, beautiful and peaceful community at Kinman Apartments. Why, you ask? because I care about the tenants here and if I don't have problems its because (a) we don't have any or (b) people do not report them. I on the other hand will take care of any problem as soon as I am aware of it via Cochrane Property Management. Come or visit Kinman Apartment's, see for yourself.

4
★★★★☆

I would like to put aside the (less than 8) negative reviews for the following reasons: I have been renting from Cochrane Property Management since 2008 and I have found that they respond to the needs of the tenants promptly if and when reported. Now, this has been somewhat of an issue because not everyone wants to report or get involved so Cochrane can not respond as quick as others would like. They run a business; with that said, all tenants should have a on site manager to advise of issues when they arise. Here at my apartment, I am the On Site Manager and we have a very nice, beautiful and peaceful community at Kinman Apartments. Why, you ask? because I care about the tenants here and if I don't have problems its because (a) we don't have any or (b) people do not report them. I on the other hand will take care of any problem as soon as I am aware of it via Cochrane Property Management. Come or visit Kinman Apartment's, see for yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you Michael W. We very much appreciate your role as an onsite manager as our eyes on the property and the pride you take in your apartment complex! It is true that all properties with more than 14 units are required to have an onsite manager. It is also true that we won't know about the problem unless our tenants report them to us. That is why our tenants have the ability to submit maintenance requests online, or in the case of repair emergencies, they can contact us on our 24 hour emergency line after hours (805) 965-2887. If there are any issue or concerns at your property, please feel free to contact us & make us aware of the situation. Thank you!
.

ALL the people who gave these people more than one star are either liars or they work for the company, OR they are friends, etc.

My family is still looking for a property at a reasonable price that accepts pets. I came upon a property in Airway Heights, and it accepts pets, OR that is what the ad and Justin said. I called the number they gave and got Justin, he was a little nice, he felt like he was rushing me. I asked him what the pet restrictions are, and he asked what I had. I told him what we had, and he said, "That would be just fine." Well, after hearing that, I decided to put in an application right away. YES, we do not have a great credit score, but we have lived at the same place for 2 years, AND our landlord asked us if we wanted to stay another year, not to mention they gave us an incredible reference letter for our future landlord. We also have had the same job for OVER 2 years, so it shows that we are stable and we can prove we pay rent on time. WELL, regardless, of ALL that, Justin calls back and says that our credit score sucks. I told him I am sure it does because of me having medical problems and it ended up screwing other things over, so it crashed our credit. We said we are working on it, BUT we are good tenants, etc. He then continued, your credit score, and the fact that you have the two dogs. The owner is never going to approve you with the dogs you have. I was absolutely blown away. IF he knew already that the owner would not accept us with our dogs, then why did he say that our dogs would be just fine. After we paid them the $50 for the application fee, Justin was a TOTAL JERK!!!

DO NOT RENT FROM THEM!!!!! They just want your money and will lie to you to get your money. They do not care about you.

1
★☆☆☆☆

ALL the people who gave these people more than one star are either liars or they work for the company, OR they are friends, etc.

My family is still looking for a property at a reasonable price that accepts pets. I came upon a property in Airway Heights, and it accepts pets, OR that is what the ad and Justin said. I called the number they gave and got Justin, he was a little nice, he felt like he was rushing me. I asked him what the pet restrictions are, and he asked what I had. I told him what we had, and he said, "That would be just fine." Well, after hearing that, I decided to put in an application right away. YES, we do not have a great credit score, but we have lived at the same place for 2 years, AND our landlord asked us if we wanted to stay another year, not to mention they gave us an incredible reference letter for our future landlord. We also have had the same job for OVER 2 years, so it shows that we are stable and we can prove we pay rent on time. WELL, regardless, of ALL that, Justin calls back and says that our credit score sucks. I told him I am sure it does because of me having medical problems and it ended up screwing other things over, so it crashed our credit. We said we are working on it, BUT we are good tenants, etc. He then continued, your credit score, and the fact that you have the two dogs. The owner is never going to approve you with the dogs you have. I was absolutely blown away. IF he knew already that the owner would not accept us with our dogs, then why did he say that our dogs would be just fine. After we paid them the $50 for the application fee, Justin was a TOTAL JERK!!!

DO NOT RENT FROM THEM!!!!! They just want your money and will lie to you to get your money. They do not care about you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

This situation was responded to and dealt with in a satisfactory manner to the the applicant through the Better Business Bureau complaints section. The application fees were returned in full. This applicant was not approved in part because the dogs in question turned out to be the type of large & aggressive breed that the owners were not comfortable with, and did not allow at this Washington property. The best applicant was chosen for this property. We always take into account credit score, rental & job history, and a number of other factors when making our decisions.
.

I have rented from Cochrane since June of 2008. Justin himself said that I was a "great tenant." When initially renting from them they lost my deposit and had an 'oh well' attitude, In my 2nd rental I began finding mold all over the apartment. The maintenance was always prompt, and Sergio and his team are the ONLY good thing about this company. When I transferred apartments, they tried to charge ME for plumbing for "hair" in shower drain. Report did not say "excess hair," in fact, if a shower had no hair down the drain then I would be surprised. The office personnel have been consistently rude, insinuating and insulting; they act as if they do not have time for you. They are saying now that they never received rent for January, it is the 14th, but it was withdrawn from my account on the 24th of December. (Maybe they should check their desks which is where they found my deposit back in June 2008) As far as property managements go, rent from Tower, Plus or Preferred if you are in the Lompoc area. Cochrane has been nothing but a headache!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have rented from Cochrane since June of 2008. Justin himself said that I was a "great tenant." When initially renting from them they lost my deposit and had an 'oh well' attitude, In my 2nd rental I began finding mold all over the apartment. The maintenance was always prompt, and Sergio and his team are the ONLY good thing about this company. When I transferred apartments, they tried to charge ME for plumbing for "hair" in shower drain. Report did not say "excess hair," in fact, if a shower had no hair down the drain then I would be surprised. The office personnel have been consistently rude, insinuating and insulting; they act as if they do not have time for you. They are saying now that they never received rent for January, it is the 14th, but it was withdrawn from my account on the 24th of December. (Maybe they should check their desks which is where they found my deposit back in June 2008) As far as property managements go, rent from Tower, Plus or Preferred if you are in the Lompoc area. Cochrane has been nothing but a headache!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Dear Michelle, We apologize for the negative experiences you had, it appears there was some miscommunication. According to your lease, it is clearly stated that if a plumbing charge is considered caused by the tenant (this includes hair or debris clogging the drains), the tenant is responsible for that charge. Future tenants, please always read your lease, and always keep receipts of your rent payments. Starting in 2012 we introduced the option for tenants to pay their rent online for free. This is a secure and easy way to pay your rent, and definitely helps prevent any potential lost checks. Thank you.
.

I don't know who these people are, but I have a hunch they are what I call "What have you done for me later people". These are persons who feel they are so special that nothing ever pleases them. The imperfect ones who think that they are perfect. I have relied on Cochrane Management for two different properties. I find them to reasonble, accomodating and willing to work with reasonable people. If you can not afford $20.00 for the cost of a credit check am I sure they will except a current report from you. Although I am sure that those who tend to complain allot are short on friends who can run a report for free. I have been in property management for over twenty years and there are always those who can not be satisfied no matter what you do for them because it is never enough. If you are seeking a rental in Santa Barbara Cochrane Management is your best bet as a Management Company to find something fast, efficiently and drama free.
John J
No this is not John Cochrane, I am positive he has better things to do with his time.

4
★★★★☆

I don't know who these people are, but I have a hunch they are what I call "What have you done for me later people". These are persons who feel they are so special that nothing ever pleases them. The imperfect ones who think that they are perfect. I have relied on Cochrane Management for two different properties. I find them to reasonble, accomodating and willing to work with reasonable people. If you can not afford $20.00 for the cost of a credit check am I sure they will except a current report from you. Although I am sure that those who tend to complain allot are short on friends who can run a report for free. I have been in property management for over twenty years and there are always those who can not be satisfied no matter what you do for them because it is never enough. If you are seeking a rental in Santa Barbara Cochrane Management is your best bet as a Management Company to find something fast, efficiently and drama free.
John J
No this is not John Cochrane, I am positive he has better things to do with his time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Good service, friendly staff, they do try very hard to work with tenants and keep everyone happy, apartment rental prices are good (sometimes there are move in specials) especially in Ventura and Lompoc, and they have a 24 hour emergency maintenance service, they'll try to take care of your plumbing issues on the weekend, which is rare...and you can always reach someone by their extension or email...they are a well known family-run business in the tri-counties for 20 years..

4
★★★★☆

Good service, friendly staff, they do try very hard to work with tenants and keep everyone happy, apartment rental prices are good (sometimes there are move in specials) especially in Ventura and Lompoc, and they have a 24 hour emergency maintenance service, they'll try to take care of your plumbing issues on the weekend, which is rare...and you can always reach someone by their extension or email...they are a well known family-run business in the tri-counties for 20 years..

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I rented with Cochrane for the past 15 years. I have moved 3 times. Each time I look for a property run by Cochrane. They take care of me. They have treated myself and my neighbors fairly, kept the property up, responded to all repairs, and check on our property very often. Thank you Cochrane

2
★★★★★

I rented with Cochrane for the past 15 years. I have moved 3 times. Each time I look for a property run by Cochrane. They take care of me. They have treated myself and my neighbors fairly, kept the property up, responded to all repairs, and check on our property very often. Thank you Cochrane

.

The First review by John C is bogus, it is probably John Cochrane writing about his own company! Respond immediately, yeah right!

I have found a few properties in my search to move to downtown SB that are rented by Cochrane Prop. Mgmt. and I have tried many times to contact their office to speak to Jason or Alonso with no luck. For the first place I called 3 times to talk to Jason about a property. He never answered his phone, returned messages or answered his email. When I found another place I liked and noticed it was a Cochrane property, I had doubts that this one would not work out either. This place had a different rep. Alonso, I thought i would have better luck. This is not the case at all!

In addition to the lack of communication, they expect for you to fill out an application and send them $20 to a PO box. Who in their right mind would do that without talking to someone about some details. I am not into sending people money for doing nothing!!!!!

They need to get their act together, because they have some nice properties but horrible service!! Who would want to rent from someone like this!

1
★☆☆☆☆

The First review by John C is bogus, it is probably John Cochrane writing about his own company! Respond immediately, yeah right!

I have found a few properties in my search to move to downtown SB that are rented by Cochrane Prop. Mgmt. and I have tried many times to contact their office to speak to Jason or Alonso with no luck. For the first place I called 3 times to talk to Jason about a property. He never answered his phone, returned messages or answered his email. When I found another place I liked and noticed it was a Cochrane property, I had doubts that this one would not work out either. This place had a different rep. Alonso, I thought i would have better luck. This is not the case at all!

In addition to the lack of communication, they expect for you to fill out an application and send them $20 to a PO box. Who in their right mind would do that without talking to someone about some details. I am not into sending people money for doing nothing!!!!!

They need to get their act together, because they have some nice properties but horrible service!! Who would want to rent from someone like this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I have known Cochrane Property Management team for 19 years and I guarantee they will respond immediately to any situation with the attitude the customer is alway right. Check it out for yourself.Rent something from them or ask them to manage your property. They have been a blessing to me and will be to you.

5
★★★★★

I have known Cochrane Property Management team for 19 years and I guarantee they will respond immediately to any situation with the attitude the customer is alway right. Check it out for yourself.Rent something from them or ask them to manage your property. They have been a blessing to me and will be to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I made the mistake of renting a storage facility from Cochrane Properties. The ordeal was so bad I was willing to move 20,000 books (again) in order to be out of there. To begin with there was a lot of fumbling. The guy they sent was trying to open the wrong door, etc. Then the keys were wrong and that was another delay. When I finally got in the place they let me move all the way in before whipping out the contract. In the meantime the key they gave me didn't work and I had to race around trying to get it (another tenant finally came) while my moving crew waited around on my dime. Once I was in they whipped out the contract which spells out stiff penalties for being late on the rent, excuses them for water damage and insists that you insure their building for a million bucks at your extra expense. The buiding is some ancient thing and if they are collecting a million from each person renting there.... That's around 6 million bucks or so. After setting this up then they rented a space to some folks who smoked and handed out cards (I have one if anyone doesn't believe this) advertising the place as an after the clubs hangout. Hmmm. Then your check is written out to get this: "Phantom Cargo." Nervous yet? There was no lease so I got out as fast as I could. I turned the place in a week early and called John Cochrane down to check me out. He said the place was fine but won't give me back my money. He said something about the law allowing him to keep my deposit for awhile as he was jumping into his Suburban.... Still today I don't have my money back and am having to try to figure out who their client is so I can get my money back from them. If you are considering renting from this guy or letting him manage your property, just try contacting him on the phone. I sure wasn't able to. Out of 10 tries I got his voice mail 10 times. Anyway.... Beware. Even the address above here is wrong. They have shifted offices to Arrellaga St.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I made the mistake of renting a storage facility from Cochrane Properties. The ordeal was so bad I was willing to move 20,000 books (again) in order to be out of there. To begin with there was a lot of fumbling. The guy they sent was trying to open the wrong door, etc. Then the keys were wrong and that was another delay. When I finally got in the place they let me move all the way in before whipping out the contract. In the meantime the key they gave me didn't work and I had to race around trying to get it (another tenant finally came) while my moving crew waited around on my dime. Once I was in they whipped out the contract which spells out stiff penalties for being late on the rent, excuses them for water damage and insists that you insure their building for a million bucks at your extra expense. The buiding is some ancient thing and if they are collecting a million from each person renting there.... That's around 6 million bucks or so. After setting this up then they rented a space to some folks who smoked and handed out cards (I have one if anyone doesn't believe this) advertising the place as an after the clubs hangout. Hmmm. Then your check is written out to get this: "Phantom Cargo." Nervous yet? There was no lease so I got out as fast as I could. I turned the place in a week early and called John Cochrane down to check me out. He said the place was fine but won't give me back my money. He said something about the law allowing him to keep my deposit for awhile as he was jumping into his Suburban.... Still today I don't have my money back and am having to try to figure out who their client is so I can get my money back from them. If you are considering renting from this guy or letting him manage your property, just try contacting him on the phone. I sure wasn't able to. Out of 10 tries I got his voice mail 10 times. Anyway.... Beware. Even the address above here is wrong. They have shifted offices to Arrellaga St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Cochrane Property Management, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review