Froggy's Topanga Fish Market

★★★★☆
  • 1105 N Topanga Canyon Blvd

    Topanga, CA 90290

    Map & Directions
  • 310-455-1728

About Froggy's Topanga Fish Market

Hours
Sun-Thu 5:00 - 9:30 Fri-Sat 5:00 - 10:00

Food

Food
More choices in Topanga:
Resultset_next

Zabies

3003 Ocean Park Blvd Santa Monica, CA

Resultset_next

The Lobster

1602 Ocean Ave Santa Monica, CA

3.875 16
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Froggy's Topanga Fish Market was?
Write a Review
.

Do not go there if you have children under the age of 5. We had a terrible experience tonight. As we were walking out, my 3 year old son, had a tantrum at the door, I was telling him to stand up so we could leave. After 20 seconds or even

3
★★★★★

Do not go there if you have children under the age of 5. We had a terrible experience tonight. As we were walking out, my 3 year old son, had a tantrum at the door, I was telling him to stand up so we could leave. After 20 seconds or even

.

Went there tonight. Wife hated it. I am old school Froggy's from the "near the lumber yard days" and have been to the current location a few times. I love Froggy's. There was a computer glitch tonight with their order printer and it took

3
★★★★★

Went there tonight. Wife hated it. I am old school Froggy's from the "near the lumber yard days" and have been to the current location a few times. I love Froggy's. There was a computer glitch tonight with their order printer and it took

.

Just had my birthday dinner at Froggy's last night - My family and I live on the Topanga end of Malibu and Froggy's is our favorite place to eat and hang out. I think the food is amazing (meet Chef Bob). This place is our home away from home. It is very casual with a relaxed atmosphere. In the winter you have the huge fireplace to cozy up to and all year long there is the patio area where guests love to eat sitting above the creek (it feels like you??re up in a huge tree house) listening to the ??froggies?. The food service is very fast, but you do need to stand in line to order your food, pick up your drinks at the bar, and then your food is delivered to wherever you have chosen to land. If you live any where in Los Angeles and need to ??get away? it is just a 45 minute to hour drive and you??re in another world! Try the artichoke appetizer, and one of our favorites after work is the Caesar salad with salmon. You can??t buy salmon and cook it yourself at this price!

2
★★★★★

Just had my birthday dinner at Froggy's last night - My family and I live on the Topanga end of Malibu and Froggy's is our favorite place to eat and hang out. I think the food is amazing (meet Chef Bob). This place is our home away from home. It is very casual with a relaxed atmosphere. In the winter you have the huge fireplace to cozy up to and all year long there is the patio area where guests love to eat sitting above the creek (it feels like you??re up in a huge tree house) listening to the ??froggies?. The food service is very fast, but you do need to stand in line to order your food, pick up your drinks at the bar, and then your food is delivered to wherever you have chosen to land. If you live any where in Los Angeles and need to ??get away? it is just a 45 minute to hour drive and you??re in another world! Try the artichoke appetizer, and one of our favorites after work is the Caesar salad with salmon. You can??t buy salmon and cook it yourself at this price!

.

This place is so down to earth, whimsical, cozy, fun and relaxing. I've been going to Froggy's for years the food is awsome, my favorite food is there are the fish tacos, there cheese burger is the best I have ever had, ribs are amazing and the margaritas are very good, ect.

The service is very good, servers are sweet. You do have to stand in a small line to make your order, no big deal. They bring the food to you and you pick up your drinks at the bar.

It has good energy there. It's a nice place to go to when you want to be out in nature and feel like you are away from the energy of LA.

2
★★★★★

This place is so down to earth, whimsical, cozy, fun and relaxing. I've been going to Froggy's for years the food is awsome, my favorite food is there are the fish tacos, there cheese burger is the best I have ever had, ribs are amazing and the margaritas are very good, ect.

The service is very good, servers are sweet. You do have to stand in a small line to make your order, no big deal. They bring the food to you and you pick up your drinks at the bar.

It has good energy there. It's a nice place to go to when you want to be out in nature and feel like you are away from the energy of LA.

Pros: Sweet people, great food, beautiful nature, singing frog's.

Cons: No cons it's my favorite place to be at.

.

Had an ok meal here. That night, all 5 of us including a baby spent the night v0miting. We were sick for 2 days. 2 families.

I would only recommend this place for a cold beer and some chips. Food is scary as per the other reviews.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Had an ok meal here. That night, all 5 of us including a baby spent the night v0miting. We were sick for 2 days. 2 families.

I would only recommend this place for a cold beer and some chips. Food is scary as per the other reviews.

Pros: Great Patio, beautiful atmosphere

Cons: Bad food, food handling unclean.

.

A friend of mine and I stumbled upon this gem on our way to the beach and absolutely loved it! The food was so fresh and delicious! The ambiance was amazing, cozy, yet seriously like dining outdoors in a tree-house. You have to try this place out for yourself because it is a very unique experience! I recommend the mahi mahi tacos :-) and the house beer on tap is awesome!

2
★★★★★

A friend of mine and I stumbled upon this gem on our way to the beach and absolutely loved it! The food was so fresh and delicious! The ambiance was amazing, cozy, yet seriously like dining outdoors in a tree-house. You have to try this place out for yourself because it is a very unique experience! I recommend the mahi mahi tacos :-) and the house beer on tap is awesome!

.

Hi, I went to Froggy's for the first time last week. I am still so bummed out by my experience. Which is what led me to this review. Anyway, I am a total foodie. I eat a ton. I drink a ton. My tivo is set to foodnetwork and travelnetwork (tony bourdain and andrew zimmner) 24/7 and I spend most of my spare time researching food. I am a 28yr old, blonde, educated caucasian, female. The food at this place sucked! I would go back for drinks and to chill on the gorgeous back yard patio, but the nasty food and tummy ach arnt worth it. Not to mention the terrible service. The only reason I would go back for drinks is because you help yourself.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Hi, I went to Froggy's for the first time last week. I am still so bummed out by my experience. Which is what led me to this review. Anyway, I am a total foodie. I eat a ton. I drink a ton. My tivo is set to foodnetwork and travelnetwork (tony bourdain and andrew zimmner) 24/7 and I spend most of my spare time researching food. I am a 28yr old, blonde, educated caucasian, female. The food at this place sucked! I would go back for drinks and to chill on the gorgeous back yard patio, but the nasty food and tummy ach arnt worth it. Not to mention the terrible service. The only reason I would go back for drinks is because you help yourself.

Pros: Grat ambiance! Best place to hang in the canyon.

Cons: Terrible food, terrible service.

.

The last time I went to Froggy's will definitely be my last. I was out on the patio one afternoon a few weeks back when I saw the cook take a smoking break at the bar. Than I saw him go back into the kitchen and proceed with cooking his dishes without washing his hands. I was able to see this through the open kitchen area . I was watching closely because he looked really dirty to me and I had a feeling he wasn't going to wash his hands. To me that's just bad protocol not only to let the staff smoke in front of customer's while cooking but not washing the hands is just disgusting after having a cigarette in one's mouth. Maybe it's just me but the chef should be tidy and professional. I was meeting someone at the restaurant and so I put that aside and ate my meal against my better judgement. The food tasted okay but I ended up with a really bad stomach ache and was off for a couple days. The place may have a neat ambience but it needs to raise their standards and clean things up. Granted it's a casual place in the mountains but when it comes to food handling, some industry standards should apply. I have been there a few other times over the years and I never felt very well after a meal there.. This time I lfinally learned my lesson and I will never be going back.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The last time I went to Froggy's will definitely be my last. I was out on the patio one afternoon a few weeks back when I saw the cook take a smoking break at the bar. Than I saw him go back into the kitchen and proceed with cooking his dishes without washing his hands. I was able to see this through the open kitchen area . I was watching closely because he looked really dirty to me and I had a feeling he wasn't going to wash his hands. To me that's just bad protocol not only to let the staff smoke in front of customer's while cooking but not washing the hands is just disgusting after having a cigarette in one's mouth. Maybe it's just me but the chef should be tidy and professional. I was meeting someone at the restaurant and so I put that aside and ate my meal against my better judgement. The food tasted okay but I ended up with a really bad stomach ache and was off for a couple days. The place may have a neat ambience but it needs to raise their standards and clean things up. Granted it's a casual place in the mountains but when it comes to food handling, some industry standards should apply. I have been there a few other times over the years and I never felt very well after a meal there.. This time I lfinally learned my lesson and I will never be going back.

.

Ordered a chicken quesadilla + a coke. Tipped the kid behind the counter, got a number, and some guy dropped a tiny quesadila to my table. When I asked about the soda, he said "Oh, it's probably on the counter at the bar, we're kind of a self-serve place here." implying I should go get it. One bite in and I knew something was wrong. I opened it up and discovered I was the lucky customer who got all those chicken parts other restaurants throw away. Not just that it was all dark meat, but what looked like giblets, chicken liver, etc. I wanted to get a refund. Waited in line, with a number of employees walking by, looking at my plate in my hand, saying and doing nothing. After about 15 minutes I got to the front. Told the kid behind the counter what happened, showed him the giblets, to which he replied "Do you want one with just white meat?" I told him no. He began yelling to the bar "I need help for a refund!" to which the manager replied "I'm busy!" (the same guy who dropped off my plate). When it occurred to him that no one would be ordering food until my refund was issued, the manager came around to help. While he was figuring out how to give a refund, I mentioned I had drank my soda, so please just refund the food. He laughed, and said "Oh, you drank it huh?". He told the kid to charge me $2 and walked away without as much as an apology or inquiry as to why I wanted a refund. The kid asked for $2, and I told him I had no cash. He had the business sense his boss lacked and said it was cool, don't worry about it. He then started to hand me a receipt, and then pulled it away, saying "whoops, that's not for you" I asked for some kind of receipt since they kept my original, and he he looked confused and printed out a copy of the receipt charging $2. The customers in the long line were getting restless, so I just walked away. I will be watching my bank statements closely, since there's a great chance they messed it all up somehow.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Ordered a chicken quesadilla + a coke. Tipped the kid behind the counter, got a number, and some guy dropped a tiny quesadila to my table. When I asked about the soda, he said "Oh, it's probably on the counter at the bar, we're kind of a self-serve place here." implying I should go get it. One bite in and I knew something was wrong. I opened it up and discovered I was the lucky customer who got all those chicken parts other restaurants throw away. Not just that it was all dark meat, but what looked like giblets, chicken liver, etc. I wanted to get a refund. Waited in line, with a number of employees walking by, looking at my plate in my hand, saying and doing nothing. After about 15 minutes I got to the front. Told the kid behind the counter what happened, showed him the giblets, to which he replied "Do you want one with just white meat?" I told him no. He began yelling to the bar "I need help for a refund!" to which the manager replied "I'm busy!" (the same guy who dropped off my plate). When it occurred to him that no one would be ordering food until my refund was issued, the manager came around to help. While he was figuring out how to give a refund, I mentioned I had drank my soda, so please just refund the food. He laughed, and said "Oh, you drank it huh?". He told the kid to charge me $2 and walked away without as much as an apology or inquiry as to why I wanted a refund. The kid asked for $2, and I told him I had no cash. He had the business sense his boss lacked and said it was cool, don't worry about it. He then started to hand me a receipt, and then pulled it away, saying "whoops, that's not for you" I asked for some kind of receipt since they kept my original, and he he looked confused and printed out a copy of the receipt charging $2. The customers in the long line were getting restless, so I just walked away. I will be watching my bank statements closely, since there's a great chance they messed it all up somehow.

Pros: View

Cons: Everything else.

.

The sounds of croaking and rustic surroundings welcome you as you enter the old legion hall, complete with large wood fireplace. Full of locals, you can't help but relax and order a hemp beer. Get the appetizers and burger. It's that kind of place and it's that kind of GOOD!

4
★★★★☆

The sounds of croaking and rustic surroundings welcome you as you enter the old legion hall, complete with large wood fireplace. Full of locals, you can't help but relax and order a hemp beer. Get the appetizers and burger. It's that kind of place and it's that kind of GOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

First time I went I fell in love with all of it except waiting in line to order. That is so not of concern now, as we make friends with the others. I return often and sit in different places: near the fireplace in the old school room, near the balcony, in the bar, by the library. It's like going somewhere new yet familiar. Certainly iconic, I hate to write good things about the place because I'm afraid the winding roads and/or remoteness will not be enough to slow the inevitable swarms. I'm probably one of that swarm. Good wine selection, could be more expansive, wonderful entrees - work on the coffee though. Thank you for leaving me with only good memories, history for me and my loved ones.
m

2
★★★★☆

First time I went I fell in love with all of it except waiting in line to order. That is so not of concern now, as we make friends with the others. I return often and sit in different places: near the fireplace in the old school room, near the balcony, in the bar, by the library. It's like going somewhere new yet familiar. Certainly iconic, I hate to write good things about the place because I'm afraid the winding roads and/or remoteness will not be enough to slow the inevitable swarms. I'm probably one of that swarm. Good wine selection, could be more expansive, wonderful entrees - work on the coffee though. Thank you for leaving me with only good memories, history for me and my loved ones.
m

Pros: food, personalities, wine, price, ambience, remote location, surrounding

Cons: may get too popular!!!

.

Have you ever eaten in a treehouse? I never have - but dining on the patio in the summertime is like eating in a treehouse. The vibe was very relaxed - and the food was very well prepared, and rather creative as well (e.g. the Lobster Beignets). Some menu items sell-out early on, so you may want to consider arriving early for the best selection. The indoor dining room looked like a cozy place to curl up with a good book with a nice glass of wine... if you don't have your own book - just pick one up at their library!

2
★★★★★

Have you ever eaten in a treehouse? I never have - but dining on the patio in the summertime is like eating in a treehouse. The vibe was very relaxed - and the food was very well prepared, and rather creative as well (e.g. the Lobster Beignets). Some menu items sell-out early on, so you may want to consider arriving early for the best selection. The indoor dining room looked like a cozy place to curl up with a good book with a nice glass of wine... if you don't have your own book - just pick one up at their library!

Pros: great food, relaxed setting

Cons: it closes rather early.

.

This was an unexpected treat. I was visiting a friend in L.A. and he drove me up to this great little hidden treasure. The atmosphere is fantastic, relaxed yet fun. It really put Topanga on the map for me.

2
★★★★★

This was an unexpected treat. I was visiting a friend in L.A. and he drove me up to this great little hidden treasure. The atmosphere is fantastic, relaxed yet fun. It really put Topanga on the map for me.

.

I took my fiance there for his birthday. Neither one of us had ever been. It's a great place, very eclectic. The pation looks awsome, w/ all the sleves full of books. The entire place is really great. And the food was really good. The shrimp was my favorite. This is the place to go for a midsummer hangout. Oh, and the Mojitos made w/ soju were yummy.

2
★★★★★

I took my fiance there for his birthday. Neither one of us had ever been. It's a great place, very eclectic. The pation looks awsome, w/ all the sleves full of books. The entire place is really great. And the food was really good. The shrimp was my favorite. This is the place to go for a midsummer hangout. Oh, and the Mojitos made w/ soju were yummy.

Pros: good value, great patio

Cons: remote

.

The view and scenery, plus the beautiful restaurant makes it a great place to hang out and relax. Locals seem to indulge in burgers, quesadillas and seem to know what the best bet is. Great wine selections, beers-all self serve. Very casual.

2
★★★★☆

The view and scenery, plus the beautiful restaurant makes it a great place to hang out and relax. Locals seem to indulge in burgers, quesadillas and seem to know what the best bet is. Great wine selections, beers-all self serve. Very casual.

Pros: Cool Place, Selection, Average Prices

.

Had an excellent time, just be very careful on the drinking. The winding roads up to and from are nerve racking enough without a few beers behind you. The food is great, and the staff is wonderful. The outside patio creates a unique ambiance in the beautiful mountainside setting.

2
★★★★☆

Had an excellent time, just be very careful on the drinking. The winding roads up to and from are nerve racking enough without a few beers behind you. The food is great, and the staff is wonderful. The outside patio creates a unique ambiance in the beautiful mountainside setting.

Pros: Beatiful Scenery

Cons: Winding Drive

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Froggy's Topanga Fish Market, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review