Once Upon A Child

★★☆☆☆
We BUY AND SELL New & Gently Used Items Related to Children. We Pay CASH on the Spot.
37.6732 -121.035
Map and Directions to Once Upon A Child

209-575-3554

2225 Plaza Parkway Suite M3

Modesto, CA

95350

Get Directions Photos

About Once Upon A Child

Categories
Details
Hours
Mon.-Fri. 10am-7pm Sat. 10am-6pm Sun. 11am-5pm

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Modesto:
Resultset_next

Kidlands Youth Furniture

531 Mchenry Ave Modesto, CA

Resultset_next

Target

3405 Mchenry Ave Modesto, CA

1.9474 19
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Once Upon A Child was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 19 of 19.
.

I've visited this store a number of times, bought stuff here as well as sold stuff, and every time I have found the staff to be rude, unfriendly and not very helpful. That's a shame because a store should create a welcoming environment for its customers and customer service should be their top priority. This store does not. I hope they take a cue from all the negative reviews and try to improve their business demeanor. I've since taken my business elsewhere, to another consignment store that knows the value of good customer service.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I've visited this store a number of times, bought stuff here as well as sold stuff, and every time I have found the staff to be rude, unfriendly and not very helpful. That's a shame because a store should create a welcoming environment for its customers and customer service should be their top priority. This store does not. I hope they take a cue from all the negative reviews and try to improve their business demeanor. I've since taken my business elsewhere, to another consignment store that knows the value of good customer service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Everyone has their own experiences in all situations and it's always a good idea to generate an experience from your own perspective. As the manager of this store I feel there is no better way than to treat others as you would want to be treated. I enjoy coming to work because of the atmosphere and the community that supports our locally owned business.

5
★★★★★

Everyone has their own experiences in all situations and it's always a good idea to generate an experience from your own perspective. As the manager of this store I feel there is no better way than to treat others as you would want to be treated. I enjoy coming to work because of the atmosphere and the community that supports our locally owned business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

On June 8th I purchased a summer infant 3 stage super seat. I got it home, put my son in it, and part of the tray fell off in his lap and he almost fell out of the seat but I caught him. So I called the next day as they were already closed. The owner, Marilyn Corona, not only didn't apologize but told me it was my fault and I should have have checked it before putting my son in it, never once apologizing and refused to give me a refund as their policy is store credit or exchange only and hung up on me. So I called back Monday June 11th, and talked to the store manger, Jamie, who told me over the phone to come in and she'd take care of me no problem. I did make it clear to her on the phone Marilyn refused me a refund and that was part of the reason I was upset. So I went to the store on 6-12-12 and talked to Jamie and she refused to give me a refund also even though it was their error in not ensuring the seat was safe. She also claimed they could "fix" the seat, which she did by putting 2 screws in the seat that were not from the manufacturers and were a tad too small, and asked if I wanted to keep the seat then. Again, I said no due to safety since these clearly were not the right screws. Obviously this store cares more about sales than it does what may be safe for a child. She excused them missing this being broken by saying sometimes they "are rushed". I understand the item is used but I also feel like this being a store that specializes in this type of merchandise, they should be safer and more trustworthy than say, a yard sale or Craigslist. I told her I would be willing to do an exchange if they had another one of these seats that I could check for safety but they did not have another or anything comparable. I also think their customer service should be better considering they should have caught this and never purchased the seat to resell to begin with. I could not find a palce in their store that the return policy was posted except the receipt, catch being once you've bought the item to see the policy, it's too late. The worst part is not the $26.84 in store credit I will NEVER use, it is the fact that they have placed this same seat with the incorrect screws back on their sales floor for another Mom to take home! As a Mom, I would want to know if this happened to someone so I could avoid shopping there to protect my child. When I told her I would never use the store credit she recommened I "sell it" to someone who would want it.

**UPDATE 6/20/2012**
THis is the response to the BBB filed by the store manager. This is how she talks to her customers and why there are so many negative reviews online for this store:
We will refund her $26.84 when we receive her Store Credit slip that was issued. She was never denied a store credit refund as it is our store policy. A check for $26.84 will be issued within 5 days of receiving her store credit receipt.
We are proud of our store, our employees and our customers. We are sorry that her experience was not pleasant.
The social media attack that she waged against the store is immature and lets everyone know how she goes about handling things. Perhaps this will be a learning experience for Shannon; treat others as you would like them to treat you.
We are kindly inviting her to never come back to our store again.

1
★☆☆☆☆

On June 8th I purchased a summer infant 3 stage super seat. I got it home, put my son in it, and part of the tray fell off in his lap and he almost fell out of the seat but I caught him. So I called the next day as they were already closed. The owner, Marilyn Corona, not only didn't apologize but told me it was my fault and I should have have checked it before putting my son in it, never once apologizing and refused to give me a refund as their policy is store credit or exchange only and hung up on me. So I called back Monday June 11th, and talked to the store manger, Jamie, who told me over the phone to come in and she'd take care of me no problem. I did make it clear to her on the phone Marilyn refused me a refund and that was part of the reason I was upset. So I went to the store on 6-12-12 and talked to Jamie and she refused to give me a refund also even though it was their error in not ensuring the seat was safe. She also claimed they could "fix" the seat, which she did by putting 2 screws in the seat that were not from the manufacturers and were a tad too small, and asked if I wanted to keep the seat then. Again, I said no due to safety since these clearly were not the right screws. Obviously this store cares more about sales than it does what may be safe for a child. She excused them missing this being broken by saying sometimes they "are rushed". I understand the item is used but I also feel like this being a store that specializes in this type of merchandise, they should be safer and more trustworthy than say, a yard sale or Craigslist. I told her I would be willing to do an exchange if they had another one of these seats that I could check for safety but they did not have another or anything comparable. I also think their customer service should be better considering they should have caught this and never purchased the seat to resell to begin with. I could not find a palce in their store that the return policy was posted except the receipt, catch being once you've bought the item to see the policy, it's too late. The worst part is not the $26.84 in store credit I will NEVER use, it is the fact that they have placed this same seat with the incorrect screws back on their sales floor for another Mom to take home! As a Mom, I would want to know if this happened to someone so I could avoid shopping there to protect my child. When I told her I would never use the store credit she recommened I "sell it" to someone who would want it.

**UPDATE 6/20/2012**
THis is the response to the BBB filed by the store manager. This is how she talks to her customers and why there are so many negative reviews online for this store:
We will refund her $26.84 when we receive her Store Credit slip that was issued. She was never denied a store credit refund as it is our store policy. A check for $26.84 will be issued within 5 days of receiving her store credit receipt.
We are proud of our store, our employees and our customers. We are sorry that her experience was not pleasant.
The social media attack that she waged against the store is immature and lets everyone know how she goes about handling things. Perhaps this will be a learning experience for Shannon; treat others as you would like them to treat you.
We are kindly inviting her to never come back to our store again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

first of all the workers are worst there. bad customer service. they talk crap about your stuffs that you sell. they rip you off when you sell your baby stuffs and give you the cheapest price and then when they sell it at store they sell it or expensive and rip people off not even worthed buying use stuffs from them. one time i sold them a adidas branded shoes and my son never used it they bought it for me for only $1.50 and when theyre selling it to people they marking the price for $10. thats way too expensive. theyre very picky too. I would never recommend customers buying here. very rude workers here!!!! I would never come here again! Worst store ever!

1
★☆☆☆☆

first of all the workers are worst there. bad customer service. they talk crap about your stuffs that you sell. they rip you off when you sell your baby stuffs and give you the cheapest price and then when they sell it at store they sell it or expensive and rip people off not even worthed buying use stuffs from them. one time i sold them a adidas branded shoes and my son never used it they bought it for me for only $1.50 and when theyre selling it to people they marking the price for $10. thats way too expensive. theyre very picky too. I would never recommend customers buying here. very rude workers here!!!! I would never come here again! Worst store ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

First let me start by saying bad workers they dont say hi or welcome i been going for year to buy my first baby stuff i bought mostley everything from them but now my baby is a year old i went to sale them the new born stuff that dont fit her well i went to look around and i heard the girls saying bad things about the stuff i had well anyways i went back they took alot of new stuff with tags it was more than ten items and all they gave me was nine dollers. Well if i was the owner of that store i will fire all those girls and rehire new ones and teach them how to make people welcome and to go again of 1 to 10 ten being highest it will be a -10 yes its that bad at least i know i aint the only one that feels that way...........

1
★☆☆☆☆

First let me start by saying bad workers they dont say hi or welcome i been going for year to buy my first baby stuff i bought mostley everything from them but now my baby is a year old i went to sale them the new born stuff that dont fit her well i went to look around and i heard the girls saying bad things about the stuff i had well anyways i went back they took alot of new stuff with tags it was more than ten items and all they gave me was nine dollers. Well if i was the owner of that store i will fire all those girls and rehire new ones and teach them how to make people welcome and to go again of 1 to 10 ten being highest it will be a -10 yes its that bad at least i know i aint the only one that feels that way...........

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

In the past I have given this store a lot of business by referral and by members of my family...both buying and selling. Today my youngest daughter went to the store to sell some outgrown baby clothes and while she was in the store shopping around and waiting for them to look over her items, she heard the staff members talking about her and her clothing items, trashing her as a customer and everything about her! This is absolutely uncalled for! You do not ever run a business like this. Now, because of this, I will not be returning to this store and neither will anyone that I know or any of my family members. They have no excuse for conducting a business with this unbelievably horrible customer service! Do not give these people your business if they want to hire and keep employees that would be so incredibly rude!

1
★☆☆☆☆

In the past I have given this store a lot of business by referral and by members of my family...both buying and selling. Today my youngest daughter went to the store to sell some outgrown baby clothes and while she was in the store shopping around and waiting for them to look over her items, she heard the staff members talking about her and her clothing items, trashing her as a customer and everything about her! This is absolutely uncalled for! You do not ever run a business like this. Now, because of this, I will not be returning to this store and neither will anyone that I know or any of my family members. They have no excuse for conducting a business with this unbelievably horrible customer service! Do not give these people your business if they want to hire and keep employees that would be so incredibly rude!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Pure couriosity,I checked it out , Prices are very high for used clothes! same prices as buying new ! Checkout the mall, the sales are fantastic!! 50-60-70% 0ff!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Pure couriosity,I checked it out , Prices are very high for used clothes! same prices as buying new ! Checkout the mall, the sales are fantastic!! 50-60-70% 0ff!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I called the day before to find out what their requirements were & I was told they were taking items 24 mos-16 (no size 10 girls). I was not told that they would not take things that weren't "in style." A few of the items were retro, but the majority were purchased within the last year and certainly classic in style. I specifically did not take stuff that was worn, but was told many of the items were "worn." Out of 7 boxes, they bought a stroller and three pairs of pants for $13. It cost me more to have the items laundered.I will not return as a customer or to sell. I have since heard many other complaints.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I called the day before to find out what their requirements were & I was told they were taking items 24 mos-16 (no size 10 girls). I was not told that they would not take things that weren't "in style." A few of the items were retro, but the majority were purchased within the last year and certainly classic in style. I specifically did not take stuff that was worn, but was told many of the items were "worn." Out of 7 boxes, they bought a stroller and three pairs of pants for $13. It cost me more to have the items laundered.I will not return as a customer or to sell. I have since heard many other complaints.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

This place is SUPER PICKEY. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO NO ONE!!!
They are expecting to buy clothes that have never been woren or washed but yet they say the buy use clothes. Very Upset!!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

This place is SUPER PICKEY. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO NO ONE!!!
They are expecting to buy clothes that have never been woren or washed but yet they say the buy use clothes. Very Upset!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

It was horrible I took in 2 plastic bins and a big garbage bag full of clothes.They bought about 5 things from me including a Bumbo seat with tray, Jonny-Jump-Up, And a safety electric strip cover. I got $17.50 for that and some clothes and they are now sellin the Bumbo seat for $18 and the tray for $5 the Jump up is going for $12 you would think they would have given me a couple more dollars.

They also offered me $6 dollars for a $50 princess walker which they would probably sell for $30 the walker was used for mabey 2 months it had nothin wrong with it!!

So i went in the next day AFTER i washed all the clothes over again and used color bleach and took out anything i saw with even a little discloaration and i still had two crates of clothes some of which still had tags! They took 4 items!! Gave me $2.50!! They discarded the items with tags cause they said it was out of style. My daughter is in 18 month clothes these item`s were 3-6, and 6-9 month clothes i dont think baby clothes go out of style that fast! So yeah i advise to NEVER EVER go there worst service ever and they were very RUDE too, they need to learn what customer servie is !!

1
★☆☆☆☆

It was horrible I took in 2 plastic bins and a big garbage bag full of clothes.They bought about 5 things from me including a Bumbo seat with tray, Jonny-Jump-Up, And a safety electric strip cover. I got $17.50 for that and some clothes and they are now sellin the Bumbo seat for $18 and the tray for $5 the Jump up is going for $12 you would think they would have given me a couple more dollars.

They also offered me $6 dollars for a $50 princess walker which they would probably sell for $30 the walker was used for mabey 2 months it had nothin wrong with it!!

So i went in the next day AFTER i washed all the clothes over again and used color bleach and took out anything i saw with even a little discloaration and i still had two crates of clothes some of which still had tags! They took 4 items!! Gave me $2.50!! They discarded the items with tags cause they said it was out of style. My daughter is in 18 month clothes these item`s were 3-6, and 6-9 month clothes i dont think baby clothes go out of style that fast! So yeah i advise to NEVER EVER go there worst service ever and they were very RUDE too, they need to learn what customer servie is !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

So disappointed. I was riped off. I bought a bag of cars. That had a 9 dollar tag on it. they charged me 15 also I was told a taped up item was full of cars. Liar there was only 20 cars in a 100 slot car box . I paid enough for it. I didn't realize this until I got home and I live 30 miles away. I am so disappointed I will NEVER go back or recommend to anyone.

1
★☆☆☆☆

So disappointed. I was riped off. I bought a bag of cars. That had a 9 dollar tag on it. they charged me 15 also I was told a taped up item was full of cars. Liar there was only 20 cars in a 100 slot car box . I paid enough for it. I didn't realize this until I got home and I live 30 miles away. I am so disappointed I will NEVER go back or recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Misunderstanding Our intentions are never to rip anyone off..that is harsh, first of all..and we are here for you (our customers). So in response to your posting we are sorry you felt the way you did about your purchase we always take returns within 7 days of the purchase, in order for you to be happy with your purchase. Again, in no way, shape or form are we wanting to upset any of our customers.
.

This store claims to purchase items with original parts, that are clean and in good condition. The Graco stroller I took met of their "so called" buyer policy, however it was turned away due to a non-visible, extremely small hole. To make matters worse, there were two other strollers on display for $75 each that both had holes that were more visible. The owner's response for this was that whoever purchased those strollers with the holes must have been tired and overlooked it. She still however did not offer to purchase my stroller or have the decency to at least apologize.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This store claims to purchase items with original parts, that are clean and in good condition. The Graco stroller I took met of their "so called" buyer policy, however it was turned away due to a non-visible, extremely small hole. To make matters worse, there were two other strollers on display for $75 each that both had holes that were more visible. The owner's response for this was that whoever purchased those strollers with the holes must have been tired and overlooked it. She still however did not offer to purchase my stroller or have the decency to at least apologize.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

For a second hand store they are extremely picky on the items that you bring in. For example if there are just a little mark sometimes not noticeable they will not take the item(s). There attitude is terrible. I took a saucer in to sell it to them and they wouldn't take it because one little toy was missing, which you couldn't even tell that there was a toy with it, and a little bit of dust, (can't they wipe the dust off?). And a pair of shoes with just a little carpet dirt on the bottom, no one who is going to a second hand store is going to care about these things.

1
★☆☆☆☆

For a second hand store they are extremely picky on the items that you bring in. For example if there are just a little mark sometimes not noticeable they will not take the item(s). There attitude is terrible. I took a saucer in to sell it to them and they wouldn't take it because one little toy was missing, which you couldn't even tell that there was a toy with it, and a little bit of dust, (can't they wipe the dust off?). And a pair of shoes with just a little carpet dirt on the bottom, no one who is going to a second hand store is going to care about these things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Safety 1st Unfortunately we were unable to buy your items because we would much rather purchase them, for our customers. But according to our policy: toys, equipment, and furniture items must include all original parts, be clean, and in good working condition. For example, If somebody were shopping here they would like to purchase a complete item; knowing they got it for a good deal. We are picky because we have to monitor what comes in and what goes out. Following our policy is the best to get paid. Thank you OUAC Manager
.

Once Upon A Child sounds like a great idea for getting rid of your used clothing and equipment. After lugging all your stuff down there, you will find out that they are VERY PICKY about clothing and will reject most of it unless it really hasn't been worn at all and then they will offer just about nothing for the items they do accept. If you go in to purchase items, they are very over priced on their clothing.

2
★★☆☆☆

Once Upon A Child sounds like a great idea for getting rid of your used clothing and equipment. After lugging all your stuff down there, you will find out that they are VERY PICKY about clothing and will reject most of it unless it really hasn't been worn at all and then they will offer just about nothing for the items they do accept. If you go in to purchase items, they are very over priced on their clothing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

New mangement- This comments are from 2005 and things change along with time. If you feel obligated to remark on an experience make sure to experience that first hand, rather than hearing it from a source. We are normal people along with everyone else and we try hard to please everyone but as the saying goes, " you can please some of the people all the time but you can't please all of the people all of the time."
.

Ok i am not to fond of this store, i stopped going a long time ago for a few reasons...
1. They are rude, not friendly AT ALL!!
2. They dont give you much for your clothes (even though they are clean and nice)
3. And they are priced high for being used!!
Would NOT recommend.

2
★★☆☆☆

Ok i am not to fond of this store, i stopped going a long time ago for a few reasons...
1. They are rude, not friendly AT ALL!!
2. They dont give you much for your clothes (even though they are clean and nice)
3. And they are priced high for being used!!
Would NOT recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Prices are pretty high considering just about everything is used, but most of the items are name brand and definitely better than buying new at dept store prices.

However, they are horrible when it comes to you trading in or selling them your items. They go over everything with a fine toothed comb and generally don't buy much at all. You can go in there with a laundry basket overflowing with clothes that seem hardly worn to you, and out of that, they'll buy like 5pcs and give you $3. I'm not kidding! Also, they don't offer much AT ALL for your items. And I've heard conflicting stories of how much they truly pay for items. Once I heard 40% of what they will sell it for, another time 50%, and yet another time 35%. Also, after I've sold them items, I'll return to the store and see that they have it marked for about 60-70% what they paid me.

Also, another complaint is that they DO NOT tell you what they're giving you for your items unless you ask. For example, if you sell them 10 items, they'll just tell you an amount, they won't tell you what each item is worth. So, beware, I once found out (too late) that they only gave me .10 for a book I could've sold on ebay for a few dollars!

3
★★★☆☆

Prices are pretty high considering just about everything is used, but most of the items are name brand and definitely better than buying new at dept store prices.

However, they are horrible when it comes to you trading in or selling them your items. They go over everything with a fine toothed comb and generally don't buy much at all. You can go in there with a laundry basket overflowing with clothes that seem hardly worn to you, and out of that, they'll buy like 5pcs and give you $3. I'm not kidding! Also, they don't offer much AT ALL for your items. And I've heard conflicting stories of how much they truly pay for items. Once I heard 40% of what they will sell it for, another time 50%, and yet another time 35%. Also, after I've sold them items, I'll return to the store and see that they have it marked for about 60-70% what they paid me.

Also, another complaint is that they DO NOT tell you what they're giving you for your items unless you ask. For example, if you sell them 10 items, they'll just tell you an amount, they won't tell you what each item is worth. So, beware, I once found out (too late) that they only gave me .10 for a book I could've sold on ebay for a few dollars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This is a great place to go to get money for your gently used baby items. The staff is friendly (for the most part) and they have a little play area for your kids to play while you wait for the total they will give you for your items, as well as while you shop around. The store is a little small so you tend to be done shopping before they are done with your trade-ins but you can come back if you want. The prices that they give you are fair considering you probably would have donated the items or sold them for dirt cheap at a yard sale anyways.

PROS: money for your used baby stuff, deals on other used baby stuff
CONS: takes awhile for them to look over your stuff, staff sometimes rude

4
★★★★☆

This is a great place to go to get money for your gently used baby items. The staff is friendly (for the most part) and they have a little play area for your kids to play while you wait for the total they will give you for your items, as well as while you shop around. The store is a little small so you tend to be done shopping before they are done with your trade-ins but you can come back if you want. The prices that they give you are fair considering you probably would have donated the items or sold them for dirt cheap at a yard sale anyways.

PROS: money for your used baby stuff, deals on other used baby stuff
CONS: takes awhile for them to look over your stuff, staff sometimes rude

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Once Upon a Child is alright. Prices are a little high for used clothing. They sell used carseats, which I don't recommend buying. I'd sold them a car seat/stroller set, and they didn't even bother asking if it had been in an accident. They were just concerned about it being clean. I would strongly advise one to buy a brand new car seat, as there is no way to tell what the ones they sell have been through. If you can get clothes on sale, then it's worth shopping there. Otherwise, hit up the garage sales and thrift stores.

3
★★★☆☆

Once Upon a Child is alright. Prices are a little high for used clothing. They sell used carseats, which I don't recommend buying. I'd sold them a car seat/stroller set, and they didn't even bother asking if it had been in an accident. They were just concerned about it being clean. I would strongly advise one to buy a brand new car seat, as there is no way to tell what the ones they sell have been through. If you can get clothes on sale, then it's worth shopping there. Otherwise, hit up the garage sales and thrift stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Just had my first but will not be my last visit to Once Upon A Child in Modesto. Found the store to be clean, well organized and the ladies were very friendly and helpful. Prices were great and found some clothes and a bouncey chair for

6
★★★★★

Just had my first but will not be my last visit to Once Upon A Child in Modesto. Found the store to be clean, well organized and the ladies were very friendly and helpful. Prices were great and found some clothes and a bouncey chair for

Message from Once Upon A Child

Here at Once Upon A Child we provide a fun convenient way to buy and sell NEW & GENTLY used kids stuff focusing on QUALITY, SAFETY & VALUE.

Provided by Citysearch

More about Once Upon A Child

Buy gently used children's items Sell gently used children's items Sell NEW items Sell size Preemie up to size 16 youth in boys & girls Many Name brands to choose from Equipment, Furniture, Toys wide variety

Editorial from

This recycling shop for "kids' stuff with previous experience" buys and sells gently used children's clothing, equipment and furniture.