AR Salon

★★★★☆
Voted Southbay's Best Salon!
  • 1046 Hermosa Ave

    Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

    Map & Directions
  • 310-374-4896

About AR Salon

Categories
Hours
Mon, 11am - 5pm; Tue - Fri, 10am - 7pm; Sat, 9am - 5pm; Sun, closed
Reservations
Make A Reservation

Personal Services

Personal Services
More choices in Hermosa Beach:
Resultset_next

Tropical Waters Spa & Salon

1559 Pacific Coast Hwy Ste 200 Hermosa Beach, CA

Resultset_next

Maximus Hair Color Studio

419 Pier Ave Hermosa Beach, CA

4.0 4
Hi! Sign in to let us know how AR Salon was?
Write a Review
.

I absolutely love this salon. I've been a client for more than 10 years, way before Arnel and Rodilyn moved to Hermosa. I would't dream of going anywhere else! The staff is friendly, and they don't mind when I bring my kids which is a big plus. Keep up the great work! There are two new stylists there that are good too. Joe gives a great shampoo and blowdry and Ashley has cut my kids hair and they love her!

2
★★★★★

I absolutely love this salon. I've been a client for more than 10 years, way before Arnel and Rodilyn moved to Hermosa. I would't dream of going anywhere else! The staff is friendly, and they don't mind when I bring my kids which is a big plus. Keep up the great work! There are two new stylists there that are good too. Joe gives a great shampoo and blowdry and Ashley has cut my kids hair and they love her!

Pros: friendly, close to the beach, kid friendly

Cons: can't tip on credit cards, meter parking

.

I had been going to AR Salon off and on for a couple years, to see Rodilyn Basco who was nice at first then her cuts /colors and overall treatment of customers progressively got worse. While she would be working on you, she almost always was working on at least one other client and chatting with the other stylists; generally ignoring you and talking a lot of trash and cruel gossip about a lot of other people.

Eight months ago she did my color, not how I had described and had given her a photo of, but she did what she wanted to do. I had gone in specifically after box dying my hair and asked if she could fix it, which she said she could do. Instead of coloring all my hair like I asked she highlighted it claiming it would be better. It came out terrible, this ugly streaky yellow-orange color, I was immediately unhappy with it, I was advised to come back and they would fix it. She bleached it worse, it was less ugly yellow but still not what I had wanted, and the beach on my hair made it feel like straw, and it broke easily after that. Then she charged me AGAIN, to fix her mistake. (I ended up getting it died shortly afterwards, the color was that bad)

Unfortunately, I was so shocked, I paid for it. I called the very next day told her I didn't feel right about being charged to fix her mistake, and she and the co-owner said that she would not cash my check. She did, and I had to put a stop payment on it. For a month she sent me many rude and harassing text messages and phone calls telling me that I was a liar, that I cheated her out of money, that I didn't know what I wanted, and they only became more harassing after that. I did not want anything to do with this salon and its crazy stylist, and have had no contact with them since. Then, 8 months later she cashed my check, AFTER she stated in a text message and with the salon??s co-owner that she would not, due to a bank loophole that she must have known about. Seems incredibly vindictive and spiteful if you wait 8 months to cash someone??s check waiting for it to be valid again, even though she said it would be torn up.

Even worse, as I found out later, several of my friends and co-workers have had some poor experiences with her as well. One had her change a number on the check she had written her so she would get more money. Another had her admit to forgetting about her and she bleached her whole head platinum blond to the point her hair was ruined and she had to go to another salon to fix it, and took her more than a year to tone down the damage.

Overall, if you go to this salon, beware. I'm sure some of the people in there are good, but stay away from this chick.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I had been going to AR Salon off and on for a couple years, to see Rodilyn Basco who was nice at first then her cuts /colors and overall treatment of customers progressively got worse. While she would be working on you, she almost always was working on at least one other client and chatting with the other stylists; generally ignoring you and talking a lot of trash and cruel gossip about a lot of other people.

Eight months ago she did my color, not how I had described and had given her a photo of, but she did what she wanted to do. I had gone in specifically after box dying my hair and asked if she could fix it, which she said she could do. Instead of coloring all my hair like I asked she highlighted it claiming it would be better. It came out terrible, this ugly streaky yellow-orange color, I was immediately unhappy with it, I was advised to come back and they would fix it. She bleached it worse, it was less ugly yellow but still not what I had wanted, and the beach on my hair made it feel like straw, and it broke easily after that. Then she charged me AGAIN, to fix her mistake. (I ended up getting it died shortly afterwards, the color was that bad)

Unfortunately, I was so shocked, I paid for it. I called the very next day told her I didn't feel right about being charged to fix her mistake, and she and the co-owner said that she would not cash my check. She did, and I had to put a stop payment on it. For a month she sent me many rude and harassing text messages and phone calls telling me that I was a liar, that I cheated her out of money, that I didn't know what I wanted, and they only became more harassing after that. I did not want anything to do with this salon and its crazy stylist, and have had no contact with them since. Then, 8 months later she cashed my check, AFTER she stated in a text message and with the salon??s co-owner that she would not, due to a bank loophole that she must have known about. Seems incredibly vindictive and spiteful if you wait 8 months to cash someone??s check waiting for it to be valid again, even though she said it would be torn up.

Even worse, as I found out later, several of my friends and co-workers have had some poor experiences with her as well. One had her change a number on the check she had written her so she would get more money. Another had her admit to forgetting about her and she bleached her whole head platinum blond to the point her hair was ruined and she had to go to another salon to fix it, and took her more than a year to tone down the damage.

Overall, if you go to this salon, beware. I'm sure some of the people in there are good, but stay away from this chick.

Pros: Close to the Beach

Cons: Parking, Stylists that ignore you and chat with eachother

.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience. This is a full explanation of why you were charged:

You colored your own hair box color- gold. It did not look bad and you did not express that you did not like it. You came in for a partial highlight and haircut. I gave you that. The next day you explained that your hair was still too gold. The highlights were not gold, your hair that you colored was. I would have gladly given you a few more highlights to make you more blond. That would have been no charge at all! But when you came in, you decided you wanted a full head of highlights. That costs more than a partial obviously and I charged you the difference. That was it. Had you just gotten some more blond up top, I would not have charged you, but the service you got the next day was not the original service you asked for. I did not over-charge you. When you had a problem about it, you wouldn't speak with me. You only wanted to speak to my partner who didn't know what happened. I did not cash your check to be vindictive. I cashed your check because you stiffed me the difference of what was owed. I did not damage your hair yet you now say it was breaking and that you had to get it redone soon after. If that were true, your hair wouldn't have been in any condition to be colored again. It is unfortunate that you do not understand why I charged you and I am sorry for that. My apologies!

2
★★★★★

I am sorry that you had a bad experience. This is a full explanation of why you were charged:

You colored your own hair box color- gold. It did not look bad and you did not express that you did not like it. You came in for a partial highlight and haircut. I gave you that. The next day you explained that your hair was still too gold. The highlights were not gold, your hair that you colored was. I would have gladly given you a few more highlights to make you more blond. That would have been no charge at all! But when you came in, you decided you wanted a full head of highlights. That costs more than a partial obviously and I charged you the difference. That was it. Had you just gotten some more blond up top, I would not have charged you, but the service you got the next day was not the original service you asked for. I did not over-charge you. When you had a problem about it, you wouldn't speak with me. You only wanted to speak to my partner who didn't know what happened. I did not cash your check to be vindictive. I cashed your check because you stiffed me the difference of what was owed. I did not damage your hair yet you now say it was breaking and that you had to get it redone soon after. If that were true, your hair wouldn't have been in any condition to be colored again. It is unfortunate that you do not understand why I charged you and I am sorry for that. My apologies!

.

Christine at AR has been my stylist for a couple of years now. Not only does she do an amazing job everytime, she is very personable and always remembers what is going on in my life. She really listens to what you have to say and always takes her time. Her haircuts grow out so well as does her color. I feel like I can go longer between hair appointments then with my last stylist. She was prior to this Salon at the Londoner in Manhattan Beach which has a good name for itself but personaly I enjoy the atmosphere at this salon way better. I love the mellow beach attitude and the raised ceilings are my favorite. All the stylists are so nice and don't have that snoby hair dresser feel I felt at the Londoner. I will fallow Christine no matter where she moves. I highly recommend you going to see Christine for a satisfactory change!

2
★★★★★

Christine at AR has been my stylist for a couple of years now. Not only does she do an amazing job everytime, she is very personable and always remembers what is going on in my life. She really listens to what you have to say and always takes her time. Her haircuts grow out so well as does her color. I feel like I can go longer between hair appointments then with my last stylist. She was prior to this Salon at the Londoner in Manhattan Beach which has a good name for itself but personaly I enjoy the atmosphere at this salon way better. I love the mellow beach attitude and the raised ceilings are my favorite. All the stylists are so nice and don't have that snoby hair dresser feel I felt at the Londoner. I will fallow Christine no matter where she moves. I highly recommend you going to see Christine for a satisfactory change!

Pros: Great service anytime!

Cons: Parking on the weekends! Arrive early and make a day out of it!

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used AR Salon, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review