Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital

★★★★☆
Call Today to Make an Appointment!
39.6184 -104.772
Map and Directions to Hauser Wendy Dvm - Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital

720-949-7345

18525 E Smoky Hill Rd

Aurora, CO

80015

Get Directions Photos
3.5714 21
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 21 of 21.
.

I have been to Coal Creek many times with my three dogs. Dr. Hauser has always been nothing but amazing! I have read other other reviews, which prompted this review. I have NEVER felt pressured in anyway to do tests. The reason I continue to go to Dr. Hauser is because I am presented with all the options and feel extremely well informed before I make my decision on what tests to do or not to do. I have been to many, many vets over the years and Dr. Hauser is absolutely one of the best!!!

5
★★★★★

I have been to Coal Creek many times with my three dogs. Dr. Hauser has always been nothing but amazing! I have read other other reviews, which prompted this review. I have NEVER felt pressured in anyway to do tests. The reason I continue to go to Dr. Hauser is because I am presented with all the options and feel extremely well informed before I make my decision on what tests to do or not to do. I have been to many, many vets over the years and Dr. Hauser is absolutely one of the best!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback about our practice. We strive to have informed pet owners, and your feedback shows that we've done our best to do this for you (and all our clients). We know that we are not always what all pet parents are looking for but your response is what makes us sure that providing this type of communication is truly the best medicine!
.

Dr Hauser welcomed me into her practice with kindness, and experience. My dog was near terminal, had lost half of her body weight and had severe eye problems. care has progressed for ten weeks. My dog has regained her weight, has insulin controland her eye disease is not causing her any pain .
All treatments are discussed and the cost is clear up front. I never feel pressured or judged. our communication is open and honest. Despite the fact that I might move faster on my own,I've trusted Dr. Hauser and my dog has beneffitted from that trust.
I would recommend this practice to anyone looking for a professional practice with a warm, supportive staff.

5
★★★★★

Dr Hauser welcomed me into her practice with kindness, and experience. My dog was near terminal, had lost half of her body weight and had severe eye problems. care has progressed for ten weeks. My dog has regained her weight, has insulin controland her eye disease is not causing her any pain .
All treatments are discussed and the cost is clear up front. I never feel pressured or judged. our communication is open and honest. Despite the fact that I might move faster on my own,I've trusted Dr. Hauser and my dog has beneffitted from that trust.
I would recommend this practice to anyone looking for a professional practice with a warm, supportive staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad that you know how much we care about your pet and that our goal is to help you and not judge you. We have also been thrilled to see her progress so well, and that has a lot to do with you! We might give you the treatment plan, but following it can be the toughest piece of the puzzle and you have done a wonderful job. Trust is the most important part of our relationship and can make a huge difference.
.

The is the last vet I would ever consider taking my pet to. After a completely hellacious experience, one that my dog was given extreme burns during a routine teeth cleaning surgery and numerous lipoma removal., Imagine heating a bag of fluid in the microwave that was so hot it would cause burns that were so severe my dog had to have additional surgery to remove infected necrotic (dead) tissue. How could you even touch the bag and not know how hot it was?? This bag of HOT fluid was to keep the dog warm during surgery(Sounds like they have the latest in equipment, doesn't it?)To add insult to injury I had the unfortunate opportunity to have to pay $1000.00 for the primary surgery after she almost killed my dog. And no she did not offer a refund, only to take care of the damage that she and her staff did. Needless to say I did not have another $1000 to spend so I felt I had no options but to get treatment for the damage they caused. Rest assured we will NEVER step foot in there again. I completely relate to the above review that Dr. Hauser is all about the money, My dog has scars with missing fur as a constant reminder about the abuse she was subjected to at Coal Creek. Beware of this business

1
★☆☆☆☆

The is the last vet I would ever consider taking my pet to. After a completely hellacious experience, one that my dog was given extreme burns during a routine teeth cleaning surgery and numerous lipoma removal., Imagine heating a bag of fluid in the microwave that was so hot it would cause burns that were so severe my dog had to have additional surgery to remove infected necrotic (dead) tissue. How could you even touch the bag and not know how hot it was?? This bag of HOT fluid was to keep the dog warm during surgery(Sounds like they have the latest in equipment, doesn't it?)To add insult to injury I had the unfortunate opportunity to have to pay $1000.00 for the primary surgery after she almost killed my dog. And no she did not offer a refund, only to take care of the damage that she and her staff did. Needless to say I did not have another $1000 to spend so I felt I had no options but to get treatment for the damage they caused. Rest assured we will NEVER step foot in there again. I completely relate to the above review that Dr. Hauser is all about the money, My dog has scars with missing fur as a constant reminder about the abuse she was subjected to at Coal Creek. Beware of this business

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We do understand that you are unhappy about the fact that your pet was injured during surgery, just as we were heartsick about the situation. The use of hot water bottles is a common practice in veterinary medicine to keep patients warm during surgery. We had used hot water bottles for 10 years prior, without incident. After this occurred we immediately discontinued the use of them and paid a boarded anesthesiologist to come in and train our staff on other options for patient warming. We were completely transparent about the incident and covered over $1100 in expenses, not including the daycare we provided. We feel that covering these costs was important since the incident was due to our use of the hot water bottles. The expense from the initial surgery was not covered due to the fact that all those services were performed in full, and while the incident was related, it was not a result of the surgical services provided. This was a very unfortunate incident and we felt we offered you an honest & caring approach. We never claim we are without fault, and just hate that this happened at all. We have had no other incidents in the nine months since this occurred.
.

Great Place! Been going there since they opened some 12+ years ago. If you consider your pet more like a family member then this is the place to go.

They are extremely thorough in their diagnostics and recommendations. Costs a bit more, but I know my dogs are getting the best possible treatment and I know what options are available to me.

5
★★★★★

Great Place! Been going there since they opened some 12+ years ago. If you consider your pet more like a family member then this is the place to go.

They are extremely thorough in their diagnostics and recommendations. Costs a bit more, but I know my dogs are getting the best possible treatment and I know what options are available to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your experience with our hospital. Your pets are part of our family as well and hope that we aid in keeping them happy and healthy for many years to come!
.

I had been to this vet several times before and really had no problems other then having ot fork out quite a bit of money. It was over due treatment at those appointments, so I felt pretty satisfied at the care I recieved. However, today I went in to have a wart checked out that my dog had ripped on something over the weekend. I wanted to make sure that it was not infected and to have it cleaned up. I was at the appointment for 2 hours of which the vet was with me for maybe 20 minutes of. They wanted to charge me $450 to remove the wart. They provided me estimates of some other work that would have costs over $1000 and had nothing to do with the wart. I finally had to stop them in their money tracks and tell them that all I wanted was for the wart to be cleaned up and to get out of there. They charged me $133 for it. The bandaging alone was $41, which was maybe a foot of athletic tape. I am so upset at this vet. I will not be back and I warn anyone to check exactly what they charge before seeing them. I would recommend to check out all options before going to this place.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I had been to this vet several times before and really had no problems other then having ot fork out quite a bit of money. It was over due treatment at those appointments, so I felt pretty satisfied at the care I recieved. However, today I went in to have a wart checked out that my dog had ripped on something over the weekend. I wanted to make sure that it was not infected and to have it cleaned up. I was at the appointment for 2 hours of which the vet was with me for maybe 20 minutes of. They wanted to charge me $450 to remove the wart. They provided me estimates of some other work that would have costs over $1000 and had nothing to do with the wart. I finally had to stop them in their money tracks and tell them that all I wanted was for the wart to be cleaned up and to get out of there. They charged me $133 for it. The bandaging alone was $41, which was maybe a foot of athletic tape. I am so upset at this vet. I will not be back and I warn anyone to check exactly what they charge before seeing them. I would recommend to check out all options before going to this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us feedback. Your cost for cleaning and bandaging the wound does not only include supplies, but our staff and doctors time and knowledge as well. We also provided an estimate prior to conducting any services so we can avoid any mis-communication about price. I do apologize for the length of your appointment and feel that it would have been better for us to send you home and call you to go over future treatment plans versus having you wait. A lot of the time you spend waiting was to create a variety of options for you to choose from to provide the desired result of removing your pets growth removal. The treatment plans all ranged very close, so I think there is some misunderstanding about the prices you listed, and would be happy to discuss them further. I am sorry that our efforts to be clear about cost and options to you was misinterpreted as wanting you to spend more money. I assure you that it was all done to offer the best care for your pet and provide you with the options to allow you to make the final decision.
.

My wife and I brought our dog in for shots and Dr. Hauser told us she needed every test under the sun just to make sure she was healthy. Our dog is 7 and doesn't have any problems. We agreed to the first $200 of tests (in addition to the $125 of exam and shots) but then the technician came in and told us that we needed another $175 of tests and we got suspicious. It was like a bait and switch. When we said we wanted time to think about it and would come back for all the tests, they sent the Dr. back in to try to convince us the tests were necessary. We stuck to our guns and refused the tests. The Dr. looked at us like we didn't care about our dog at all and there was so much tension in the air. When we were at Cherry Creek Res, I mentioned my experience to a woman there who also had a lab and she told me that Coal Creek is famous for pushing tests and they just want the money. We'll find someplace else to go--someplace that doesn't just want our money.

1
★☆☆☆☆

My wife and I brought our dog in for shots and Dr. Hauser told us she needed every test under the sun just to make sure she was healthy. Our dog is 7 and doesn't have any problems. We agreed to the first $200 of tests (in addition to the $125 of exam and shots) but then the technician came in and told us that we needed another $175 of tests and we got suspicious. It was like a bait and switch. When we said we wanted time to think about it and would come back for all the tests, they sent the Dr. back in to try to convince us the tests were necessary. We stuck to our guns and refused the tests. The Dr. looked at us like we didn't care about our dog at all and there was so much tension in the air. When we were at Cherry Creek Res, I mentioned my experience to a woman there who also had a lab and she told me that Coal Creek is famous for pushing tests and they just want the money. We'll find someplace else to go--someplace that doesn't just want our money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Client Education & Preventative Care Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on our practice. We feel it is our job to give you the best recommendations for your pet and preventative care is our focus here at Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital. It sounds like we gave you a lot of information and you felt pushed to follow those recommendations. While we never want to be pushy we are passionate about what we do and want to make sure we've given you all the information you need to make an informed decision on your pets care. If we didn't give you enough information that I feed we would not be doing our job as advocates for our furry friends.
.

I had never been there before and I needed my 16 yr old cat to be put to sleep. Form the phone call to set up the appointment (where i cried and cried, and the receptionist was SO understanding) to going through the process of letting my kitty go, the whole staff was amazing. Everyone was so kind and thoughtful and respectful of what I was going through. They made a terrible time for me as comfortable as they could have. There is not one thing more I can think of that they could have done. I even received a card a few days later with heartfelt sympathy signed by everyone. Truly outstanding service. Thank you!!!!

5
★★★★★

I had never been there before and I needed my 16 yr old cat to be put to sleep. Form the phone call to set up the appointment (where i cried and cried, and the receptionist was SO understanding) to going through the process of letting my kitty go, the whole staff was amazing. Everyone was so kind and thoughtful and respectful of what I was going through. They made a terrible time for me as comfortable as they could have. There is not one thing more I can think of that they could have done. I even received a card a few days later with heartfelt sympathy signed by everyone. Truly outstanding service. Thank you!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Love and Care We are so glad that you felt compassion from all members of our team during this most difficult time. All of our team feels the loss when we have to say goodbye to a loved companion and hope that you will consider attending our pet memorial service that we hold twice a year. It is a great time to tell all the happy times we've had with our pets that we've had to say goodbye to. Our next memorial service is to be held on April 28th at 7pm. Please watch your mailbox for a personalized invitation.
.

I had to put down my cat of almost 21 years. Although a heartbreaking experience, Dr. Hauser was very caring and compasionate. I am VERY please with their staff and happy I chose her as our vet. The doctor even followed up with a phone call to see how the family is doing. I recommend if you have a pet you deeply love.

5
★★★★★

I had to put down my cat of almost 21 years. Although a heartbreaking experience, Dr. Hauser was very caring and compasionate. I am VERY please with their staff and happy I chose her as our vet. The doctor even followed up with a phone call to see how the family is doing. I recommend if you have a pet you deeply love.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Deepest Sympathy We are so glad that we were able to provide you with a good experience during one of the most difficult times we all face as pet parents. We believe that the love and support that we can provide in this situation is one of the most important things that we do. Thank you for your positive words. We also hope that you will consider attending our pet memorial service on April 28th. Please watch your mailbox for a personalized invitation.
.

Coal Creek Veterinary is the BEST. You won't find a better equipped surgery, where your fur kids are monitored constantly by a loving, caring, professional staff. Dr. Hauser is the most honest doctor and caring professional I've had the pleasure to deal with, as is Dr. Weldon. If they feel tests are in order, then please know that those tests are always necessary to determine what is wrong with your pet. Remember, your pets can't tell you what's wrong. My pets are members of my family, therefore I want the best care available. Four years ago our beloved dog Shadow was diagnosed with cancer. Dr. Hauser removed the tumor and recommended further treatment...chemo. Well, my sweet Shadow is still with us thanks to Dr. Hauser and Shadow's oncologist. That's why I choose CCVH!

5
★★★★★

Coal Creek Veterinary is the BEST. You won't find a better equipped surgery, where your fur kids are monitored constantly by a loving, caring, professional staff. Dr. Hauser is the most honest doctor and caring professional I've had the pleasure to deal with, as is Dr. Weldon. If they feel tests are in order, then please know that those tests are always necessary to determine what is wrong with your pet. Remember, your pets can't tell you what's wrong. My pets are members of my family, therefore I want the best care available. Four years ago our beloved dog Shadow was diagnosed with cancer. Dr. Hauser removed the tumor and recommended further treatment...chemo. Well, my sweet Shadow is still with us thanks to Dr. Hauser and Shadow's oncologist. That's why I choose CCVH!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Yeah Shadow! Thank you for your encouraging words and thoughtful feedback. We are so glad that Shadow is doing well. We also want to give you a big pat on the back because Shadow's success is also due to the loving home he has! We think you are the BEST too!
.

I have been taking my dogs to Coal Creek for seven years. They have ALWAYS been kind, thoughtful and helpful with my animals and with my husband and I. We had a dog with an extended illness and I spoke with Dr. Hauser quite frequently. She is a wonderful person and an outstanding vet! She cares for your animals as she would her own. The bottom line is that she is not a miracle worker. It is not inexpensive to own and properly care for pets. If you want the cheapest possible solution and only the bare minimum in care for your animals this is probably not the place for you. If, however, you want the best then this is the place to take your pets.

5
★★★★★

I have been taking my dogs to Coal Creek for seven years. They have ALWAYS been kind, thoughtful and helpful with my animals and with my husband and I. We had a dog with an extended illness and I spoke with Dr. Hauser quite frequently. She is a wonderful person and an outstanding vet! She cares for your animals as she would her own. The bottom line is that she is not a miracle worker. It is not inexpensive to own and properly care for pets. If you want the cheapest possible solution and only the bare minimum in care for your animals this is probably not the place for you. If, however, you want the best then this is the place to take your pets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you! We appreciate your postive words and realistic outlook on the expense of animal health care. We strive to give you 200% everytime. Thank you.
.

My wife and I own two dachshunds and since we currently do not have any kids, they fill the place.

During an annual checkup on our older dog, Dr Weldon found a chipped tooth with the root exposed. An appointment was setup for the tooth extraction, they went over the cost and gave us a price list with the recommended and required services.

The day of the surgery the nurses and Dr Weldon answered every question we had including making sure we were comfortable with the procedure.

They did recommend getting a full mouth x-ray, rather than just a single x-ray for the chipped tooth. Cost wise it made since since it was almost $30/tooth and it was $90/mouth. We made the ultimate decision to have a full mouth x-ray.

I'm glad we did, because they did find another abscessed (Sp) tooth on the other side. By spending a little more up front and taking their recommendation, it saved us more money in the long run. Since the dog was already under, we save on anesthetic, medications, etc.

When we take out dogs to Coal Creek, we know they are in excellent hands.

We have been to other vets, the customer service and affection to our dogs is no where near Coal Creek.

Thanks Coal Creek.

5
★★★★★

My wife and I own two dachshunds and since we currently do not have any kids, they fill the place.

During an annual checkup on our older dog, Dr Weldon found a chipped tooth with the root exposed. An appointment was setup for the tooth extraction, they went over the cost and gave us a price list with the recommended and required services.

The day of the surgery the nurses and Dr Weldon answered every question we had including making sure we were comfortable with the procedure.

They did recommend getting a full mouth x-ray, rather than just a single x-ray for the chipped tooth. Cost wise it made since since it was almost $30/tooth and it was $90/mouth. We made the ultimate decision to have a full mouth x-ray.

I'm glad we did, because they did find another abscessed (Sp) tooth on the other side. By spending a little more up front and taking their recommendation, it saved us more money in the long run. Since the dog was already under, we save on anesthetic, medications, etc.

When we take out dogs to Coal Creek, we know they are in excellent hands.

We have been to other vets, the customer service and affection to our dogs is no where near Coal Creek.

Thanks Coal Creek.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Your Welcome! We are so glad that you know that we care about your pet as if it were our own. Thank you for your positive words and appreciation for what we do.
.

I have to disagree with the negative comments I read here about Coal Creek. Before we started using Coal Creek, I had visited 5 other vets in the area that seemed to just rip people off. Most of the other vets had no clue as to how to treat my Saint Bernard. Coal Creek was by far the best Vet experience we have had with all 3 of our dogs (St Bernard, Husky, and Shiba Inu mix).
Unfortunately we had to put our Titus (the Saint Bernard) down due to health issues and Coal Creek was very understanding and made that tragic moment for us as comforting as possible. They could have easily charged us more and tried to prolong his life and charge us a bundle, but they believe in good quality of life for the animals and made us feel that we did the right thing by Euthanizing of beloved Titus.
I would recommend Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital to any one that cares about their pets.

5
★★★★★

I have to disagree with the negative comments I read here about Coal Creek. Before we started using Coal Creek, I had visited 5 other vets in the area that seemed to just rip people off. Most of the other vets had no clue as to how to treat my Saint Bernard. Coal Creek was by far the best Vet experience we have had with all 3 of our dogs (St Bernard, Husky, and Shiba Inu mix).
Unfortunately we had to put our Titus (the Saint Bernard) down due to health issues and Coal Creek was very understanding and made that tragic moment for us as comforting as possible. They could have easily charged us more and tried to prolong his life and charge us a bundle, but they believe in good quality of life for the animals and made us feel that we did the right thing by Euthanizing of beloved Titus.
I would recommend Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital to any one that cares about their pets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Importance of Quality of Life We are so glad that we were able to help during this difficult time. Quality of Life is a high priority in our practice and prolonging a poor quality of life is never okay with our doctors and animal health care team. Thank you for your positive comments.
.

I was going to call them for apt but on a Monday Morning last week, some gal answered and was very very snotty sounding and I don't deal with arrogant people, don't know if she was the manager or what Jamie but she needs to be more friendly if they want customers. You would think I was talking to Miss Princess!

2
★★☆☆☆

I was going to call them for apt but on a Monday Morning last week, some gal answered and was very very snotty sounding and I don't deal with arrogant people, don't know if she was the manager or what Jamie but she needs to be more friendly if they want customers. You would think I was talking to Miss Princess!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Phone Welcome Thank you for this valuable feedback. All areas of customer service are important to us and we relay on feedback from our clients to keep this performance area top notch, so it is important to know if we've been less then welcoming and friendly to all customers. We notify all of our staff about review and survey results, so your feedback will be discussed and truly taken to heart. Thanks again!!
.

I think most of these negative reviews are here for two reasons, one being angry people are more likely to bother to comment online and people don't realize that these vets do all the tests they need to, instead of guessing and hoping your animal gets better. Follow up appointments because the vet didn't do a good job the first time ends up to be more expensive although it causes less sticker shock. I have refused certain tests before on a check up because of the cost, but I know to tell ANY vet before hand that you are planning to do this so they can suggest which tests are the most important. No other of the several vets I have been to have come even close in explaining the science behind what they are telling you and why it is important.

5
★★★★★

I think most of these negative reviews are here for two reasons, one being angry people are more likely to bother to comment online and people don't realize that these vets do all the tests they need to, instead of guessing and hoping your animal gets better. Follow up appointments because the vet didn't do a good job the first time ends up to be more expensive although it causes less sticker shock. I have refused certain tests before on a check up because of the cost, but I know to tell ANY vet before hand that you are planning to do this so they can suggest which tests are the most important. No other of the several vets I have been to have come even close in explaining the science behind what they are telling you and why it is important.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks for your honesty Thank you for understanding the review process and letting us know how we've fulfilled your needs. We focus on communication in our practice and hope to always give the why behind our recommendations.
.

I will never take mine back there again. Way over priced and like others had said, they try and get you to get every diagnostic test under the sun. Our last visit was over $450 for an ear cleaning and antibiotics. WHOOOAAA! The doctors do know what they are doing, but my dogs are not my life and shouldn't cost me then a mortgage payment every year for vet care.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I will never take mine back there again. Way over priced and like others had said, they try and get you to get every diagnostic test under the sun. Our last visit was over $450 for an ear cleaning and antibiotics. WHOOOAAA! The doctors do know what they are doing, but my dogs are not my life and shouldn't cost me then a mortgage payment every year for vet care.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

High Level of Medicine Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at our hospital. We strive to provide the same experience to each and every client. This means that we offer and recommend the highest level of medical treatment for your petâ??s problem. We will never offer less than the ideal medical treatment because we operate on a philosophy of quality medicine and treating your pet like a member of your family. However, the final decision on what care we provide is up to the client by weather services presented on the estimate are accepted or declined. Yes, sometimes these treatments can be costly, but our goal is to treat problems effectively so that we avoid reoccurrence and hopefully prevent future problems that would result in multiple trips and increased expense to you and your family.
.

I believe the staff at Coal Creek to be knowledgeable and caring. However, they will recommend every test under the sun for your pet. Even for routine annual exams, they will suggest extra panels of blood work that other vets do not routinely order, and services I had previously been given gratis by other vets (trimming dog's nails) I was charged for. I have taken my dog there for a couple years, but we will be changing vets because I am frustrated by the constant badgering to add on costly services. I shouldn't have to psych myself up for assertively saying NO just to take my dog to her check ups!

2
★★☆☆☆

I believe the staff at Coal Creek to be knowledgeable and caring. However, they will recommend every test under the sun for your pet. Even for routine annual exams, they will suggest extra panels of blood work that other vets do not routinely order, and services I had previously been given gratis by other vets (trimming dog's nails) I was charged for. I have taken my dog there for a couple years, but we will be changing vets because I am frustrated by the constant badgering to add on costly services. I shouldn't have to psych myself up for assertively saying NO just to take my dog to her check ups!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your response and are glad that you found us knowledgeable and caring. We take our responsbility as veterinary professionals very seriously. This includes giving you all recommendations for your pet and what would be ideal in the way of diagnostics and treatment. We would also not be doing our job if we did not educate you on preventative care. Our mission is to provide high quality veterinary care in a manner compassionate to both you and your pet, striving to aid in the formation and preservation of the family-pet bond.
.

Our two cats, Shasta and Dumptruck, have been our children for over 4 years. We recently moved from Golden and the Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital was the closest vet clinic to us. When it was time to get our cats their annual shots, we took them there.

Never again.

I have never seen such inept, unexperienced, physically harmful treatment of animals. Our cats screamed and cried through the entire process, and they have NEVER acted that way before. Our old vet, who we've been to three times before, was good at his job. He treated them with gentle care and they were only minimally stressed during the process. This new vet is aweful.

I urge you to look elsewhere for veterinary services if you live in the area. The place we have gone to in the past and will CONTINUE to go to is the Golden Animal Hospital. Their address/phone number is:

17575 S Golden Rd
Golden, CO 80401
(303) 279-6601

1
★☆☆☆☆

Our two cats, Shasta and Dumptruck, have been our children for over 4 years. We recently moved from Golden and the Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital was the closest vet clinic to us. When it was time to get our cats their annual shots, we took them there.

Never again.

I have never seen such inept, unexperienced, physically harmful treatment of animals. Our cats screamed and cried through the entire process, and they have NEVER acted that way before. Our old vet, who we've been to three times before, was good at his job. He treated them with gentle care and they were only minimally stressed during the process. This new vet is aweful.

I urge you to look elsewhere for veterinary services if you live in the area. The place we have gone to in the past and will CONTINUE to go to is the Golden Animal Hospital. Their address/phone number is:

17575 S Golden Rd
Golden, CO 80401
(303) 279-6601

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that your pets were stressed during their examination. We do our best to provide an enviroment for pets that minimizes stress, however, we can sometimes not calm an already upset pet. Many things can cause a normally happy pet to become stressed, such as changes in their enviroment or different people in their household. We hope that you reconsider and find another hospital closer to your home, as the long drive to Golden might cause your cats to be stressed during future veterinary visits.
.

This vet hospital is close to my house, but I'll find another place to go from now on. I took my dog in beacuse he wasn't acting like himself and even though they couldn't find anything wrong, they convinced me to take xrays. The xrays were normal, so they told me now they have to do blood and urine tests. I told them I needed to wait because I already had a big bill and told them I wanted to talk to my husband before going any futher. Dr. Hauser (the owner of the hospital according to the web site) made me feel like I was being an irresponsible dog owner because I wouldn't give her a blank check. I was going to take the dog elsewhere for a second opinion, but the next day he was completely fine so I never went. I love my dog, but they wanted almost $500 for tests alone--as it was, I spent almost $300 and got no answers. I could have dealt without the judgemental attitude as well.

8/14/08: Insider Pages sent me an email telling me Coal Creek had responded to my review. I hope people will notice that in their response to my review, no one disputed the judgemental attitude that I got simply because I didn't give them a blank check.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This vet hospital is close to my house, but I'll find another place to go from now on. I took my dog in beacuse he wasn't acting like himself and even though they couldn't find anything wrong, they convinced me to take xrays. The xrays were normal, so they told me now they have to do blood and urine tests. I told them I needed to wait because I already had a big bill and told them I wanted to talk to my husband before going any futher. Dr. Hauser (the owner of the hospital according to the web site) made me feel like I was being an irresponsible dog owner because I wouldn't give her a blank check. I was going to take the dog elsewhere for a second opinion, but the next day he was completely fine so I never went. I love my dog, but they wanted almost $500 for tests alone--as it was, I spent almost $300 and got no answers. I could have dealt without the judgemental attitude as well.

8/14/08: Insider Pages sent me an email telling me Coal Creek had responded to my review. I hope people will notice that in their response to my review, no one disputed the judgemental attitude that I got simply because I didn't give them a blank check.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Valuable Feedback We are glad to hear that your pet is doing better. As with any avenue of medicine it is not an exact science and sometimes the initial diagnostics do not give us the answers we need to diagnose the problem. We also must act in the best interest of our patient and that often requires recommending additional diagnostics so that we can provide some resolution to the problem. It would be much easier if they could just tell us what was wrong :) It is always difficult to have our four-legged children develop unexpected health concerns. We recommend pet health insurance to help with these unexpected situations.
.

We have never been to a vet where they show so much love toward our dogs. The bulldogs love Dr. Hauser and are never scared to go in. Not to mention the best care and service for our babies.

5
★★★★★

We have never been to a vet where they show so much love toward our dogs. The bulldogs love Dr. Hauser and are never scared to go in. Not to mention the best care and service for our babies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This vet hospital was the best I've ever been to. The staff is so nice and very caring! The doctors and nurses really know their stuff. They explain things well! Especially when I don't understand med terms. You get your moneys worth and their so informative on diseases especially ones that can harm my family!!! Thanks Coal Creek!

5
★★★★★

This vet hospital was the best I've ever been to. The staff is so nice and very caring! The doctors and nurses really know their stuff. They explain things well! Especially when I don't understand med terms. You get your moneys worth and their so informative on diseases especially ones that can harm my family!!! Thanks Coal Creek!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I love Coal Creek. The medical standard is so high. I feel as if they care about the well being of my animals. It is the only clinic that I would consider having my dog spayed at.

5
★★★★★

I love Coal Creek. The medical standard is so high. I feel as if they care about the well being of my animals. It is the only clinic that I would consider having my dog spayed at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Message from Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital

At Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital we appreciate, understand and acknowledge that your pet is a special friend. Our goal is to provide high quality veterinary care in a manner compassionate to both you and your pet, striving to aid in the formation and preservation of the family-pet bond. We believe that by acting in a pro-active manner, we will be able to maintain and extend the quality of your pet’s life. In order to achieve these goals we emphasize client education and preventive medicine. We strive to make your visit the best, allowing us to build a lasting relationship. We love what we do here and it truly shows in the quality of medicine we provide. We offer a wide variety of services at our facility. Just a few include: in-depth comprehensive exams, bi-annual senior exams, avian/reptile/rabbit/rodent/ferret medicine, vaccinations, dental care / dentistry, soft tissue surgery, in-house laboratory, radiology (including a board certified veterinary radiologist to review all of our films and perform ultrasounds when needed), full emergency services during normal business hours, anesthesia, prescription foods, in-house pharmacy, health care products, heartworm testing, microchipping, fecals, nutritional and behavioral counseling, and extensive puppy/kitten client education. We also offer a medical in-patient evaluation (drop off service) for clients with limited time and demanding schedules.

Provided by Felix

More about Coal Creek Veterinary Hospital

Our mission is to provide high quality veterinary care in a manner compassionate to both you and your pet, striving to aid in the formation and preservation of the family-pet bond. We've been practicing this same mission for over 12 years.

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    0.01 mi
  2. 2
    0.10 mi