Rainbow Gardens

★★★☆☆
  • 117 Broad St

    Milford, CT 06460

    Map & Directions
  • 203-878-2500

About Rainbow Gardens

Hours
Mon. 11am - 3pm;Tue. - Fri. 11am - 9pm;Sat. 11am - 10pm;Sun. 4pm - 8pm
3.1111 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Rainbow Gardens was?
Write a Review
.

excellent. !! everything my husband & I have ordered we just loved. the spring rolls, calamari, I crave the dogwood blossom salad & the rasberry expolsion salad. shrimp wrap is great, burgers, steak & lobster tail. The menu is huge, something for everyone. Love sitting at the tables in the bar, large glass windows looking out over the green. Great drinks too. We have become regulars, worth the drive and wait. Have recommend to family & friends. Try it you will be so satisfied. & great wine list too.

5
★★★★★

excellent. !! everything my husband & I have ordered we just loved. the spring rolls, calamari, I crave the dogwood blossom salad & the rasberry expolsion salad. shrimp wrap is great, burgers, steak & lobster tail. The menu is huge, something for everyone. Love sitting at the tables in the bar, large glass windows looking out over the green. Great drinks too. We have become regulars, worth the drive and wait. Have recommend to family & friends. Try it you will be so satisfied. & great wine list too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Isn't interesting that the favorable review has only the initials R.G. hmmmm could that be Rainbow Gardens? Writing your own reviews isn't going to help what is going on inside.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Isn't interesting that the favorable review has only the initials R.G. hmmmm could that be Rainbow Gardens? Writing your own reviews isn't going to help what is going on inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Approaching this restaurant is a treat in itself. The Victorian house both inside and out is most inviting. The real treat comes with the wonderful food that is served. It is the half-way point between my home and the home of a friend and we often meet there usually for lunch but occasionally for dinner as well. We have never been disappointed with the food nor with the service. Since we don't see each other as often as we would like we often linger after eating, just "catching up", and always felt comfortable doing so. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

2
★★☆☆☆

Approaching this restaurant is a treat in itself. The Victorian house both inside and out is most inviting. The real treat comes with the wonderful food that is served. It is the half-way point between my home and the home of a friend and we often meet there usually for lunch but occasionally for dinner as well. We have never been disappointed with the food nor with the service. Since we don't see each other as often as we would like we often linger after eating, just "catching up", and always felt comfortable doing so. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

It is unfortunate that anyone with an opinion won't stand behind it. Anonymous reviews should be ignored. If you can't take responsibility for your opinions why offer it?

As for Rainbow Gardens in Milford Ct. Having dined there numerous times, if have found the service very good. Sometimes you have to wait due to the high volume of business. I have always been treated with respect and a jovial attitude. On the off occasion when something isn't right, it is always immediately corrected with pleasure.

I have always found the food very good, the service excellent and the managers choice of Simon Cowell like tight tee shirts amusing.

There is no time like the present to fix problems. Why wait to anonymously send a bad review.

4
★★★★☆

It is unfortunate that anyone with an opinion won't stand behind it. Anonymous reviews should be ignored. If you can't take responsibility for your opinions why offer it?

As for Rainbow Gardens in Milford Ct. Having dined there numerous times, if have found the service very good. Sometimes you have to wait due to the high volume of business. I have always been treated with respect and a jovial attitude. On the off occasion when something isn't right, it is always immediately corrected with pleasure.

I have always found the food very good, the service excellent and the managers choice of Simon Cowell like tight tee shirts amusing.

There is no time like the present to fix problems. Why wait to anonymously send a bad review.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I frequent this restaurant and all I can say is totally "memorable". They have expanded over the years yet kept the quaint charm and cozy appeal. It is an Inn and Spa as well but separate and away from the restaurant. What a great area of town it is in...right on the Milford Green in the center of town ~ really lovely. Fun atmosphere, too! It first appears expensive until you get your meal. I always, ALWAYS have leftovers so that is how I justify the cost. I sure have been to pricier establishments and left hungry...gone looking for a quick fix from someplace else like "Friendly's". What does that say???

Portion sizes at Rainbow Gardens are just HUGE! That is all I can say in describing the meals. Don't go prepared to eat everything or you will leave sick....But DO be prepared to enjoy some of the most delicous food you have yet to experience....THAT IS IT! You are really going to EXPERIENCE this restaurant's cuisine! ENJOY and delight in it! The owners' are most accommodating, too...

5
★★★★★

I frequent this restaurant and all I can say is totally "memorable". They have expanded over the years yet kept the quaint charm and cozy appeal. It is an Inn and Spa as well but separate and away from the restaurant. What a great area of town it is in...right on the Milford Green in the center of town ~ really lovely. Fun atmosphere, too! It first appears expensive until you get your meal. I always, ALWAYS have leftovers so that is how I justify the cost. I sure have been to pricier establishments and left hungry...gone looking for a quick fix from someplace else like "Friendly's". What does that say???

Portion sizes at Rainbow Gardens are just HUGE! That is all I can say in describing the meals. Don't go prepared to eat everything or you will leave sick....But DO be prepared to enjoy some of the most delicous food you have yet to experience....THAT IS IT! You are really going to EXPERIENCE this restaurant's cuisine! ENJOY and delight in it! The owners' are most accommodating, too...

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The following is the email I sent the manager after my experience in Jan 08.
Immediately following it is his absolutely snide pompous flippant response to me...wouldn't ever give them another penny!

On Friday night, Jan. 4th, my sister and I had dinner at your restaurant, and we were served by Andrea in the front room/lounge area.
Although we are very impressed with the look and atmosphere of your very attractive restaurant, I thought the service and food quality were absolutely horrible, which is why I felt the need to send you this note.
After waiting for more than 10 mins. to just place a drink order, our server continued to ignore us throughout the evening, never checking to see if our food was alright or if we needed more drinks. We ordered an appetizer (garbage can
trio) and then our dinner entrees. After waiting for 30-40 mins, Andrea brought our dinner entrees to the table....no appetizer. She apologized, yet rather insincerely. My sister asked if, instead of the appetizer that we really wanted first, if we could just have a side-order of the sweet potato fries. BOTH of these items appeared on our bill...the appetizer we didn't get and the side of potatoes...I thought that was rather inappropriate. I ordered the 'Beauty and the Beef' filet of beef, and my sister ordered the Special sliced prime rib stuffed w/cheese and potatoes. Both dishes were utterly inedible.
The sliced prime rib rolls were completely dried out (under the broiler way too long) and both of our potatos tasted like instant powdered box potatoes! I was very disappointed, the taste was horrible and I could have made those myself for about 25 cents....but when you're charging $21.95 for a plate (with no side salad or anything?) at the very least I'd expect homemade mashed potatoes. And the meat was neither fresh nor high quality.
Our total bill was nearly $90 and I did not leave feeling like I had just had a great hundred-dollar meal or experience.
I'm sure that in your wonderful location right on the Milford Green and in that beautiful Victorian house, that you are doing a great business.
I just thought you should know that when your food quality and service declines -- no amount of dcor will make up for it.
I was very disappointed and the word I've been hearing around town from others is the food & service on the inside at Rainbow Gardens does not match the look of the outside.
I hope you will take this critique as constructive and hopefully rectify this situation.

The manager's response back to me:
I received your email from last Friday's experience in our restaurant.
I wanted to speak to Andrea before responding. I surely would have handled the missing appetizer situation differently, and have spoken to Andrea about it.
Thanks for bringing that to my attention.
As for your comments:
I am not sure how I can actually find anything kind or constructive about them.
We are a small family owned business and there is always an owner/manager on premise and available to customers like yourself.. If we do have a valid complaint we have found that customers who bring it to our attention at the moment it happens always seem to get the best results. Our customers satisfaction has always been a source of pride over the 20 years we have been in town. I am not going to go point for point on your email because I think we are too far apart to debate them.
We work very hard and continue to care and grow our business. I am sorry for your perception and again apologize for the missing appetizer.
Sincerely
John Profetto

1
★☆☆☆☆

The following is the email I sent the manager after my experience in Jan 08.
Immediately following it is his absolutely snide pompous flippant response to me...wouldn't ever give them another penny!

On Friday night, Jan. 4th, my sister and I had dinner at your restaurant, and we were served by Andrea in the front room/lounge area.
Although we are very impressed with the look and atmosphere of your very attractive restaurant, I thought the service and food quality were absolutely horrible, which is why I felt the need to send you this note.
After waiting for more than 10 mins. to just place a drink order, our server continued to ignore us throughout the evening, never checking to see if our food was alright or if we needed more drinks. We ordered an appetizer (garbage can
trio) and then our dinner entrees. After waiting for 30-40 mins, Andrea brought our dinner entrees to the table....no appetizer. She apologized, yet rather insincerely. My sister asked if, instead of the appetizer that we really wanted first, if we could just have a side-order of the sweet potato fries. BOTH of these items appeared on our bill...the appetizer we didn't get and the side of potatoes...I thought that was rather inappropriate. I ordered the 'Beauty and the Beef' filet of beef, and my sister ordered the Special sliced prime rib stuffed w/cheese and potatoes. Both dishes were utterly inedible.
The sliced prime rib rolls were completely dried out (under the broiler way too long) and both of our potatos tasted like instant powdered box potatoes! I was very disappointed, the taste was horrible and I could have made those myself for about 25 cents....but when you're charging $21.95 for a plate (with no side salad or anything?) at the very least I'd expect homemade mashed potatoes. And the meat was neither fresh nor high quality.
Our total bill was nearly $90 and I did not leave feeling like I had just had a great hundred-dollar meal or experience.
I'm sure that in your wonderful location right on the Milford Green and in that beautiful Victorian house, that you are doing a great business.
I just thought you should know that when your food quality and service declines -- no amount of dcor will make up for it.
I was very disappointed and the word I've been hearing around town from others is the food & service on the inside at Rainbow Gardens does not match the look of the outside.
I hope you will take this critique as constructive and hopefully rectify this situation.

The manager's response back to me:
I received your email from last Friday's experience in our restaurant.
I wanted to speak to Andrea before responding. I surely would have handled the missing appetizer situation differently, and have spoken to Andrea about it.
Thanks for bringing that to my attention.
As for your comments:
I am not sure how I can actually find anything kind or constructive about them.
We are a small family owned business and there is always an owner/manager on premise and available to customers like yourself.. If we do have a valid complaint we have found that customers who bring it to our attention at the moment it happens always seem to get the best results. Our customers satisfaction has always been a source of pride over the 20 years we have been in town. I am not going to go point for point on your email because I think we are too far apart to debate them.
We work very hard and continue to care and grow our business. I am sorry for your perception and again apologize for the missing appetizer.
Sincerely
John Profetto

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

WOW!!!! I had a great experience. My Waitress was Michelle, she was on the ball and all over my order. Thank you so much. The food is excellent. I had a Portifino Palace. It was a Creamy Tortellini dish with a perfect blend. This is an excellent staff. The owners obviously know how to run a business. The price is a bit expensive but definitely worth the money. Compliments to the chef. The decorations are awesome. Also, they have just opened a new Cocktail Lounge. I reccomend their Rainbow Flirtini and Starry Starry Night. The painting job in the new lounge is phenominal. The job was also done by the owners themselves. This bar is made for a more professional crowd rather than rowdy collage students. ***** I definitely reccomend it. I would fly out from Florida just to eat there!

PROS: EVERYTHING!
CONS: NOTHING!!

5
★★★★★

WOW!!!! I had a great experience. My Waitress was Michelle, she was on the ball and all over my order. Thank you so much. The food is excellent. I had a Portifino Palace. It was a Creamy Tortellini dish with a perfect blend. This is an excellent staff. The owners obviously know how to run a business. The price is a bit expensive but definitely worth the money. Compliments to the chef. The decorations are awesome. Also, they have just opened a new Cocktail Lounge. I reccomend their Rainbow Flirtini and Starry Starry Night. The painting job in the new lounge is phenominal. The job was also done by the owners themselves. This bar is made for a more professional crowd rather than rowdy collage students. ***** I definitely reccomend it. I would fly out from Florida just to eat there!

PROS: EVERYTHING!
CONS: NOTHING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I believe their dinners are nicer than their lunches. The quality of food is nice. Nothing for lunch has really ever knocked my socks off. But it's such a pleasure dining there. Staff is friendly. As I said, I think the dinners are better. Lunches are pricey.

3
★★★☆☆

I believe their dinners are nicer than their lunches. The quality of food is nice. Nothing for lunch has really ever knocked my socks off. But it's such a pleasure dining there. Staff is friendly. As I said, I think the dinners are better. Lunches are pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The food here is okay. It's nice. Nothing more. Nothing special. So I do not understand why the prices are SKY HIGH! Fifteen to twenty bucks for a fancy salad? The atmosphere is nice, but nothing special. They have some lovely pieces, but the decorator obviously dosn't know how to decorate this place with true Victoriana to make it zing! Right now it has a few great Victorian pieces (the old time photos on the stairs) but the rest is all cheap country crafts (and not good country crafts, but cheap ones!) The staff was polite, but not warm & friendly. I see they just expanded and put a huge addition on the front of the place.... let's hope the get the right designer to decorate! And someone needs to make the most of the gardens outside! Put in a Victorian walk or a water feature and professionally landscape this place and you'd have a gem! The chairs in the restaurant are SO uncomfortable... cheap oak windsor chairs from K-Mart.
The food is nice, but it's NOT worth the money! Want your money's worth for true Victorian atmosphere? Try the White Lilac Tearoom on Main Street in Stratford (just call ahead).

PROS: This Place Has So Much Aesthetic Potential
CONS: Prices are sky high, not worth food.

2
★★☆☆☆

The food here is okay. It's nice. Nothing more. Nothing special. So I do not understand why the prices are SKY HIGH! Fifteen to twenty bucks for a fancy salad? The atmosphere is nice, but nothing special. They have some lovely pieces, but the decorator obviously dosn't know how to decorate this place with true Victoriana to make it zing! Right now it has a few great Victorian pieces (the old time photos on the stairs) but the rest is all cheap country crafts (and not good country crafts, but cheap ones!) The staff was polite, but not warm & friendly. I see they just expanded and put a huge addition on the front of the place.... let's hope the get the right designer to decorate! And someone needs to make the most of the gardens outside! Put in a Victorian walk or a water feature and professionally landscape this place and you'd have a gem! The chairs in the restaurant are SO uncomfortable... cheap oak windsor chairs from K-Mart.
The food is nice, but it's NOT worth the money! Want your money's worth for true Victorian atmosphere? Try the White Lilac Tearoom on Main Street in Stratford (just call ahead).

PROS: This Place Has So Much Aesthetic Potential
CONS: Prices are sky high, not worth food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Rainbow Gardens, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review