Eye Doctors of Washington

★★☆☆☆
  • 4600 North Park Ave Plaza North

    Chevy Chase, MD 20815

    Map & Directions
  • 301-979-7824

About Eye Doctors of Washington

Categories
  • Ophthalmologists
  • Laser Eye Surgeons
  • Optical Goods Stores
  • Contact Lenses
  • Opticians
  • Optometrists
Hours
M-F 8am-4:30pm, Sa-Su Closed
Emails
  • youreyeteam@edow.com
Keywords
  • cataract surgery
  • laser cataract surgery
  • BOTOX
  • dermal fillers
  • dry eye
  • dry eye disease
  • lipiflow
  • astigmatism
  • keratoconus
  • presbyopia
  • pterygium
  • glaucoma
  • glaucoma treatment
  • dry eye treatment
  • retina specialist
  • retinal disease
  • macular degeneration
  • Obagi
  • PRK
  • LASIK
  • laser eye surgery
  • vision correction surgery
  • refractive lens exchange
  • RLE
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • Cash
  • Check
  • Discover
  • Financing
  • MasterCard
  • Visa
Services
  • Cataract Surgery
  • Laser Cataract Surgery
  • LASIK
  • Photo-refractive Keratectomy (PRK)
  • Refractive Lens Exchange (RLE)
  • Corneal Surgery
  • Corneal Crosslinking
  • Pterygium Removal
  • Corneal Transplant Surgery
  • Glaucoma Surgery
  • Selective Laser Trabeculectomy (SLT)
  • Minimally-Invasive Glaucoma Surgery (MIGS)
  • iStent
  • Blepharoplasty (Eyelid Lift)
  • BOTOX and Injectables
  • Dermal Fillers
  • Retinal Surgery

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Chevy Chase:
Resultset_next

Optique Gallery

1150 18TH St NW Washington, AR

Resultset_next

Virginia Vision Associates

3800 Fairfax Dr 1 Arlington, AL

2.375 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Eye Doctors of Washington was?
Write a Review
.

I never much minded wearing glasses until my eyesight got so bad that I needed my glasses to find my glasses. I decided to investigate Lasik surgery and went to Eye Doctors of Washington for a consult. It was that eye exam that Dr. Clinch told me that I was in the early stages of cataract development. After speaking with Dr. Clinch, we decided I would wait a year and see how my cataracts progressed. During that initial consultation we discussed the pros and cons of replacing my lens with a single focus or multi-focus lens. I returned a year later anddecided to have Dr. Clinch perform my cataract surgery replacing my lens with the Restor multi-focus lens. ??Best decision ever!? Within days I was able to read the small print on the back of the mash potato box, see the numbers on the alarm clock from my side of the bed and see long distance while driving. Over the next several weeks my vision continues to get better and better. It??s been about two months now and I still wake up looking for my glasses, but then I realize I don??t need them. I look younger, I feel younger. Multi-focal rocks. I saw Dr. Clinch at every appointment before my surgery and my initial follow up. Dr Ludwig saw me for several visits after that and was super fantastic.

4
★★★★☆

I never much minded wearing glasses until my eyesight got so bad that I needed my glasses to find my glasses. I decided to investigate Lasik surgery and went to Eye Doctors of Washington for a consult. It was that eye exam that Dr. Clinch told me that I was in the early stages of cataract development. After speaking with Dr. Clinch, we decided I would wait a year and see how my cataracts progressed. During that initial consultation we discussed the pros and cons of replacing my lens with a single focus or multi-focus lens. I returned a year later anddecided to have Dr. Clinch perform my cataract surgery replacing my lens with the Restor multi-focus lens. ??Best decision ever!? Within days I was able to read the small print on the back of the mash potato box, see the numbers on the alarm clock from my side of the bed and see long distance while driving. Over the next several weeks my vision continues to get better and better. It??s been about two months now and I still wake up looking for my glasses, but then I realize I don??t need them. I look younger, I feel younger. Multi-focal rocks. I saw Dr. Clinch at every appointment before my surgery and my initial follow up. Dr Ludwig saw me for several visits after that and was super fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This is a surgery factory that puts people through the system like cattle. They are wonderful until they get your money, but once your surgery is over, so is the service. I showed up early for surgery, as they requested, and had to wait well past my appointment time before they even started prepping me. There were 3 or 4 people lined up for surgery with the same doctor and I literally felt like I was in an assembly line.

I had a 1:00pm follow-up appointment a few months later and Dr. Ludwig walked in the door (presumably from lunch) at 1:05. I didn't see him until over an hour and a half later. I calculated that the AVERAGE time it has taken me to see a doctor is 45 minutes AFTER my appointment time.

A few months after that I tried to call and make another follow-up appointment. A robot said I was 4th in line and my wait would be about 3 minutes. However, once the robot told me I was the next caller, 30 seconds later it sent me to voicemail. This happened 2 more times. So, basically, these idiots kept me waiting almost 5 minutes just to leave a message.

I'm sure there are plenty of good eye doctors in the area who can do as good of a job with your eyes, but with MUCH better service.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This is a surgery factory that puts people through the system like cattle. They are wonderful until they get your money, but once your surgery is over, so is the service. I showed up early for surgery, as they requested, and had to wait well past my appointment time before they even started prepping me. There were 3 or 4 people lined up for surgery with the same doctor and I literally felt like I was in an assembly line.

I had a 1:00pm follow-up appointment a few months later and Dr. Ludwig walked in the door (presumably from lunch) at 1:05. I didn't see him until over an hour and a half later. I calculated that the AVERAGE time it has taken me to see a doctor is 45 minutes AFTER my appointment time.

A few months after that I tried to call and make another follow-up appointment. A robot said I was 4th in line and my wait would be about 3 minutes. However, once the robot told me I was the next caller, 30 seconds later it sent me to voicemail. This happened 2 more times. So, basically, these idiots kept me waiting almost 5 minutes just to leave a message.

I'm sure there are plenty of good eye doctors in the area who can do as good of a job with your eyes, but with MUCH better service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The front desk staff was very nice. I did have a short wait, but it was WELL worth it! Very curtous and friendly staff. And best of all Dr Gaasterland saved my eyesight!

5
★★★★★

The front desk staff was very nice. I did have a short wait, but it was WELL worth it! Very curtous and friendly staff. And best of all Dr Gaasterland saved my eyesight!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have never been so disappointed with a doctors office. They clearly didn't address the issue upon my first visit, only to schedule another visit to do the test that was needed upon my first visit. It was blatant money grubbing practices, leaving me with less cash and delaying the surgery I needed for my eye.
My surgery was then postponed further when they made me an appointment with the wrong doctor, this mistake was not reconciled when i called in to ask about any precautions I should take for my upcoming surgery.
Additionally the wait time for each visit was absurd. I waited for over an hour each time.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have never been so disappointed with a doctors office. They clearly didn't address the issue upon my first visit, only to schedule another visit to do the test that was needed upon my first visit. It was blatant money grubbing practices, leaving me with less cash and delaying the surgery I needed for my eye.
My surgery was then postponed further when they made me an appointment with the wrong doctor, this mistake was not reconciled when i called in to ask about any precautions I should take for my upcoming surgery.
Additionally the wait time for each visit was absurd. I waited for over an hour each time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My family has gone to EDOW for years now. My son saw Dr. Vicente for his poor vision as a child. My husband has LASIK performed by Dr. Clinch, and I recommended my grandmother see the glaucoma doc for her eye pressure. The front desk staff have always been professional and courteous. I've never had any trouble with billing. I feel very comfortable having them care for my entire family. It's a shame the few people with bad experiences are the ones who post comments. I know plenty of people in the Bethesda area who use this practice and love it.

5
★★★★★

My family has gone to EDOW for years now. My son saw Dr. Vicente for his poor vision as a child. My husband has LASIK performed by Dr. Clinch, and I recommended my grandmother see the glaucoma doc for her eye pressure. The front desk staff have always been professional and courteous. I've never had any trouble with billing. I feel very comfortable having them care for my entire family. It's a shame the few people with bad experiences are the ones who post comments. I know plenty of people in the Bethesda area who use this practice and love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you Beth, Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you and your family soon! EDOW
.

Do not go here. They are very nice and helpful until they perform the surgery and get the money. Then they don't return your calls and could care less if you have problems resulting from the surgery.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Do not go here. They are very nice and helpful until they perform the surgery and get the money. Then they don't return your calls and could care less if you have problems resulting from the surgery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The eye doctors tried to convince me that I needed a specialty procedure to cure my dry eye syndrome--a problem that I have never had any symptoms for. I saw the doctor on two occasions for less than five minutes each, which he used to sell me the procedure. When I complained that I had been left to be diagnosed solely by the intern he pretended not to hear me.

Worse, they double billed me and my insurance, accepting full payments from both. Only after 5 calls and threats to file action with the medical board did they refund me the money.

I don't recommend this group.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The eye doctors tried to convince me that I needed a specialty procedure to cure my dry eye syndrome--a problem that I have never had any symptoms for. I saw the doctor on two occasions for less than five minutes each, which he used to sell me the procedure. When I complained that I had been left to be diagnosed solely by the intern he pretended not to hear me.

Worse, they double billed me and my insurance, accepting full payments from both. Only after 5 calls and threats to file action with the medical board did they refund me the money.

I don't recommend this group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Went in for an annual exam to get new contacts. Waited over an hour in the waiting room as they over-book appointments. Saw the doctor for less than 15 minutes while he did standard tests. No real complaints...until I got my bill. They charged me and my health insurance exorbitant fees, way beyond anything else I've ever been charged. When I called to complain, I was told that I had a pre-existing condition and therefore had to pay out-of-network fees (something that doesn't even exist with my health insurance carrier). When I inquired about this pre-existing condition I told that I had been diagnosed with "dry eyes syndrome". I said that I don't have dry eyes, nor was this "condition" ever mentioned during my appointment. Three phone calls later I finally got the charge reduced down to a normal fee. I was told there had been a billing error. It was not until I threatened to call my health insurance company and file a fraud claim was my bill adjusted to the correct amount. I would absolutely NOT recommend.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Went in for an annual exam to get new contacts. Waited over an hour in the waiting room as they over-book appointments. Saw the doctor for less than 15 minutes while he did standard tests. No real complaints...until I got my bill. They charged me and my health insurance exorbitant fees, way beyond anything else I've ever been charged. When I called to complain, I was told that I had a pre-existing condition and therefore had to pay out-of-network fees (something that doesn't even exist with my health insurance carrier). When I inquired about this pre-existing condition I told that I had been diagnosed with "dry eyes syndrome". I said that I don't have dry eyes, nor was this "condition" ever mentioned during my appointment. Three phone calls later I finally got the charge reduced down to a normal fee. I was told there had been a billing error. It was not until I threatened to call my health insurance company and file a fraud claim was my bill adjusted to the correct amount. I would absolutely NOT recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Message from Eye Doctors of Washington

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Eye Doctors of Washington, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review