Rusty Pelican

★★★★☆
  • 3201 Rickenbacker Causeway

    Key Biscayne, FL 33149

    Map & Directions
  • 305-361-5123

Food

Food
More choices in Key Biscayne:
Resultset_next

Joe's Stone Crab

11 Washington Ave Miami Beach, FL

Resultset_next

Touch

910 Lincoln Rd Miami Beach, FL

3.5 44
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Rusty Pelican was?
Write a Review
.

THIS IS NOT THE SAME RESTAURANT THAN USED TO BE ANYMORE! Today My husband and I were invited by our very good friends to Rusty Pelican restaurant at Key Biscayne in Miami, FL. We've been there a few times before, and food, services and

3
★★★★★

THIS IS NOT THE SAME RESTAURANT THAN USED TO BE ANYMORE! Today My husband and I were invited by our very good friends to Rusty Pelican restaurant at Key Biscayne in Miami, FL. We've been there a few times before, and food, services and

.

I have been to the restaurant many times prior to renovation. Our family went recently for my daughter's birthday. The new renovation is beautiful, very modern mid century. I will first say that the starters were delicious and we ordered

3
★★★★★

I have been to the restaurant many times prior to renovation. Our family went recently for my daughter's birthday. The new renovation is beautiful, very modern mid century. I will first say that the starters were delicious and we ordered

.

I ve been to the restaurant a couple of times with my family last year before the renovation but this was my boyfriends first time going there. After making a reservation a week and a half in advance and calling in the same day to confirm

3
★★★★★

I ve been to the restaurant a couple of times with my family last year before the renovation but this was my boyfriends first time going there. After making a reservation a week and a half in advance and calling in the same day to confirm

.

This a beautiful venue. A rustic setting, nestled away from the traffic, surrounded by tropical flowering and a breathtaking view of the sea from every angle. Beautiful fireplaces, wooded flooring - nice country setting. The staff was

3
★★★★★

This a beautiful venue. A rustic setting, nestled away from the traffic, surrounded by tropical flowering and a breathtaking view of the sea from every angle. Beautiful fireplaces, wooded flooring - nice country setting. The staff was

.

We held our daughter's wedding on 1/1/11 using the patio for the ceremony and the left lounge for the buffet reception. The customer service provided by Elsa and Kimberly was fantastic along with the banquet manager who kept the event

3
★★★★★

We held our daughter's wedding on 1/1/11 using the patio for the ceremony and the left lounge for the buffet reception. The customer service provided by Elsa and Kimberly was fantastic along with the banquet manager who kept the event

.

I have no comeplaints about the rusty pelican.... not one the service is excelent the food is good also but the view over looking biscayne bay is in my opinion,sexy check it out.

2
★★★★☆

I have no comeplaints about the rusty pelican.... not one the service is excelent the food is good also but the view over looking biscayne bay is in my opinion,sexy check it out.

.

We made dinner reservations for 8pm, Christmas Eve. We were seated and ordered our appetizers & entrees by about 8:20pm. At about 9:45pm we started to question the waitress about our food and she said it was coming "right away." 10pm came by and NO FOOD~ A man came to our table and asked us if the manager had come by our table to speak with us, "we said no." Bottom line, no food, we walked out at 10:10pm... No dinner, no explanation as to what was going on! NEVER AGAIN!!!
They just extended their lease for another 20 years, I don't think they will be around that long.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We made dinner reservations for 8pm, Christmas Eve. We were seated and ordered our appetizers & entrees by about 8:20pm. At about 9:45pm we started to question the waitress about our food and she said it was coming "right away." 10pm came by and NO FOOD~ A man came to our table and asked us if the manager had come by our table to speak with us, "we said no." Bottom line, no food, we walked out at 10:10pm... No dinner, no explanation as to what was going on! NEVER AGAIN!!!
They just extended their lease for another 20 years, I don't think they will be around that long.

Cons: incompetent waiters & management

.

Better meal at McDonalds!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Better meal at McDonalds!!

.

Despite the negative reviews posted here, I've yet to have a bad meal at the Rusty Pelican. The new menu is a major step up from previous offerings. Give it a try.

2
★★★★★

Despite the negative reviews posted here, I've yet to have a bad meal at the Rusty Pelican. The new menu is a major step up from previous offerings. Give it a try.

Pros: View, Value and suprisingly good food

Cons: None

.

Waiters with attitude, incompetent front desk and poor quality food, Don't complain they will get upset

0
★☆☆☆☆

Waiters with attitude, incompetent front desk and poor quality food, Don't complain they will get upset

.

We ate at the Rusty Pelican for Sunday brunch. What a great buffet brunch. The buffet was displayed beautifully and had a great selection including seafood. The crab claws were our favorite. The setting was great with a beautiful view from Virginia Key across the water to the Miami skyline. The only negative was the parking. Parking was valet only. After waiting for our car for over 30 minutes with no help from the attendants (seems they misfiled our keys and had no idea where the car was), I went on a 15 minute walk to find the car - which I did. Unpleasant end to a great meal. Let's hope the lost car was a fluke.

3
★★★☆☆

We ate at the Rusty Pelican for Sunday brunch. What a great buffet brunch. The buffet was displayed beautifully and had a great selection including seafood. The crab claws were our favorite. The setting was great with a beautiful view from Virginia Key across the water to the Miami skyline. The only negative was the parking. Parking was valet only. After waiting for our car for over 30 minutes with no help from the attendants (seems they misfiled our keys and had no idea where the car was), I went on a 15 minute walk to find the car - which I did. Unpleasant end to a great meal. Let's hope the lost car was a fluke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I've been to RP Sunday brunch at least for 15 times times. 90% of the time the service was great and the food was good with great selection of fresh seafood: oysters, crab legs. Shrimps are little tastless. But there is so many choices of food, that if you don't like one, just move to another. Unlimited champaign or mimosas.
I don't know how this person with "terrible experience" can judge the place just by one visit in the busiest time as mother's day. Regular price for brunch I believe is $25.
I will keep coming to Rusty Pelican with my family and friends.

2
★★★★★

I've been to RP Sunday brunch at least for 15 times times. 90% of the time the service was great and the food was good with great selection of fresh seafood: oysters, crab legs. Shrimps are little tastless. But there is so many choices of food, that if you don't like one, just move to another. Unlimited champaign or mimosas.
I don't know how this person with "terrible experience" can judge the place just by one visit in the busiest time as mother's day. Regular price for brunch I believe is $25.
I will keep coming to Rusty Pelican with my family and friends.

Pros: food, value, view

.

The Rusty Pelican has been a Key Biscayne attraction forever. The view is spectacular and the food is very good. The view is beautiful and the ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. This is a nice place to go for a special evening out.

4
★★★★☆

The Rusty Pelican has been a Key Biscayne attraction forever. The view is spectacular and the food is very good. The view is beautiful and the ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. This is a nice place to go for a special evening out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

In reading the reviews below... wow, did we go to the same Rusty Pelican?

I recently had a private party celebrating my engagement. When I couldn't attending a tasting for our menu, my whole family was invited to Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent. A little crowded yes, but there weren't any "little old ladies grabbing shrimp with their bare hands". Tiso, our server was wonderful. I will always request him in the future. The service for our engagement dinner for 50 was impeccable. They were extremely accomodating to our guests, and very professional.
Perhaps, they aren't as prepared during special events such as Mother's Day or Valentine's Day, but I am surprised to read some of the comments for this restaurant.

2
★★★★★

In reading the reviews below... wow, did we go to the same Rusty Pelican?

I recently had a private party celebrating my engagement. When I couldn't attending a tasting for our menu, my whole family was invited to Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent. A little crowded yes, but there weren't any "little old ladies grabbing shrimp with their bare hands". Tiso, our server was wonderful. I will always request him in the future. The service for our engagement dinner for 50 was impeccable. They were extremely accomodating to our guests, and very professional.
Perhaps, they aren't as prepared during special events such as Mother's Day or Valentine's Day, but I am surprised to read some of the comments for this restaurant.

Pros: Excellent Service, especially for private dining

Cons: forced valet parking, and valet is also inefficient

.

The horrible online reviews are true ? STAY AWAY. I arrived at Rusty Pelican, Key Biscayne, for Mother?s Day to discover they were doing offsite parking and shutting everyone over like herds of cattle in the 91 degree heat. The tables were all numbered and extremely difficult to get in and out of. The lines for the food were ridiculously long and old women were grabbing shrimp out of the buffet bowl with their bare hands. The waiters were serving everyone mimosas without checking ID. They filled up my 16 year old nephew?s glass with champagne. Last time I checked champagne was still considered alcohol. When the bill arrived I realized why they were serving so many Mimosa?s and getting everyone drunk. The advertised price of $32.95 had been increased to $45.00 and the manager, Chris Marmanillo, refused to offer the online price. He had nothing to say when I asked why the mother?s day brunch was posted on the website but the price had not been updated as well. He said he had nothing to do with the website. Conveniently the website is not mobile designed so I could not pull it up on my phone to show him and he refused to let me use the internet to show him. When I got home to view the website, the Mother?s Day event had been removed completely from the site. Why is the price increased for the same food, worse service and a horrible atmosphere? He did remove one person from the total price of the bill, but that was after arguing for 15 minutes and didn?t compensate for the increased cost. TERRIBLE FOOD AND HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO ENJOY THE VIEW.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The horrible online reviews are true ? STAY AWAY. I arrived at Rusty Pelican, Key Biscayne, for Mother?s Day to discover they were doing offsite parking and shutting everyone over like herds of cattle in the 91 degree heat. The tables were all numbered and extremely difficult to get in and out of. The lines for the food were ridiculously long and old women were grabbing shrimp out of the buffet bowl with their bare hands. The waiters were serving everyone mimosas without checking ID. They filled up my 16 year old nephew?s glass with champagne. Last time I checked champagne was still considered alcohol. When the bill arrived I realized why they were serving so many Mimosa?s and getting everyone drunk. The advertised price of $32.95 had been increased to $45.00 and the manager, Chris Marmanillo, refused to offer the online price. He had nothing to say when I asked why the mother?s day brunch was posted on the website but the price had not been updated as well. He said he had nothing to do with the website. Conveniently the website is not mobile designed so I could not pull it up on my phone to show him and he refused to let me use the internet to show him. When I got home to view the website, the Mother?s Day event had been removed completely from the site. Why is the price increased for the same food, worse service and a horrible atmosphere? He did remove one person from the total price of the bill, but that was after arguing for 15 minutes and didn?t compensate for the increased cost. TERRIBLE FOOD AND HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO ENJOY THE VIEW.

.

$550.00 for 9 people on Mother?s Day included a shuttle bus in the heat from offsite parking, horrible food, cramped conditions and rude management. All of the meats: pork, roast beef, ham; were extremely dry and tasteless. The table with the oysters, shrimp and crab legs was hidden in the back corner and designed to limit access. With the crowds of people it was impossible to get to the table. The restaurant supplied 1 tong for the crab legs, 1 tong for the oysters and 1 tong for the shrimp to limit access. Everyone was grabbing the food with their bare hands. Yuck . . .bacteria and raw oysters is never a good combination. I can think of many, many better places to spend my next Mother?s Day. DON?T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON BAD FOOD.

0
★☆☆☆☆

$550.00 for 9 people on Mother?s Day included a shuttle bus in the heat from offsite parking, horrible food, cramped conditions and rude management. All of the meats: pork, roast beef, ham; were extremely dry and tasteless. The table with the oysters, shrimp and crab legs was hidden in the back corner and designed to limit access. With the crowds of people it was impossible to get to the table. The restaurant supplied 1 tong for the crab legs, 1 tong for the oysters and 1 tong for the shrimp to limit access. Everyone was grabbing the food with their bare hands. Yuck . . .bacteria and raw oysters is never a good combination. I can think of many, many better places to spend my next Mother?s Day. DON?T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON BAD FOOD.

.

500 people crowded into a hot, noisy room . . .does that sound like a fun Mother?s day? Once it?s all over get in line for the shuttle bus to take you back to your car ? was that supposed to be fine dining or an amusement park? Don?t waste your money on this horrible place. Terrible food and even worse management.

0
★☆☆☆☆

500 people crowded into a hot, noisy room . . .does that sound like a fun Mother?s day? Once it?s all over get in line for the shuttle bus to take you back to your car ? was that supposed to be fine dining or an amusement park? Don?t waste your money on this horrible place. Terrible food and even worse management.

.

WORST MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH EVER. The website advertised mother?s day brunch for $32.95. This is a reasonable price for Miami and so despite awful reviews online my family decided to give it a try. We arrived at 11 am and had to be shuttled in from offsite parking. The place was extremely crowded and very difficult to get in and out of the table. When the bill came it was $45.00 per person and when I mentioned it to the server he said they always charge $45.00 despite the website price of $32.95. The catering manager was sent over to my table. She was very rude and said ?did you come here for the price or for the food? (terrible food). She said they told people when they made reservations what the ?real price? is but no one told me. I would never have given the Rusty Pelican a chance despite awful reviews if I had known it would be $45.00 per person. GO SOMEWHERE NICE FOR $45.00 PER PERSON.

0
★☆☆☆☆

WORST MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH EVER. The website advertised mother?s day brunch for $32.95. This is a reasonable price for Miami and so despite awful reviews online my family decided to give it a try. We arrived at 11 am and had to be shuttled in from offsite parking. The place was extremely crowded and very difficult to get in and out of the table. When the bill came it was $45.00 per person and when I mentioned it to the server he said they always charge $45.00 despite the website price of $32.95. The catering manager was sent over to my table. She was very rude and said ?did you come here for the price or for the food? (terrible food). She said they told people when they made reservations what the ?real price? is but no one told me. I would never have given the Rusty Pelican a chance despite awful reviews if I had known it would be $45.00 per person. GO SOMEWHERE NICE FOR $45.00 PER PERSON.

.

About 15 years ago, this place had a fabulous selection of fresh breads, a house salad that was memorable, and that was just for starters. It's changed hands at least once and gone downhill in the process. However, the food is decent if not up to its former glory. (Try the Salmon stuffed with crab imperial with champagne caviar butcher sauce, and the Coconut Shrimp). The mixed drinks and service are OK, but not remarkable. The saving grace of this place remains the view. Even from indoor seating its absolutely breathtaking! So breathtaking that it pushes the rating from 2 to 3 stars. The magnificent panoramic ocean view makes it all worthwhile, and therefore a great choice to take guests who are visiting South Florida. It really shows off this city, especially at night, when you can still see the water, but also the city lights in the distance.

3
★★★☆☆

About 15 years ago, this place had a fabulous selection of fresh breads, a house salad that was memorable, and that was just for starters. It's changed hands at least once and gone downhill in the process. However, the food is decent if not up to its former glory. (Try the Salmon stuffed with crab imperial with champagne caviar butcher sauce, and the Coconut Shrimp). The mixed drinks and service are OK, but not remarkable. The saving grace of this place remains the view. Even from indoor seating its absolutely breathtaking! So breathtaking that it pushes the rating from 2 to 3 stars. The magnificent panoramic ocean view makes it all worthwhile, and therefore a great choice to take guests who are visiting South Florida. It really shows off this city, especially at night, when you can still see the water, but also the city lights in the distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I was there on 2/14/08 with my fiance and another couple only because they wanted to go. I had previously been there for mother's day 2 years ago and the food was not that great that time either, apart from the chaotic service. This time however, it didn't seem so chaotic except that the food was really bad. The menu was too small to choose from and way too $$$$ for the quality that it was. The salmon was totally dry and so was the filet mignon. Between the four of us, the bill came out to $400.00 including tip which the waiter did not earn. I had to ask him for water 5 times. It was a shame that between me and my fiance we had to pay $200.00 for a meal of that caliber. I suggest you fire your chef. That place has a lot of potential but the food is really crappy. I should have went somewhere else, let me tell you I'm really sorry I wasted miles, gas and the money for the meal. Not to mention the $50.00 tip that the waiter DID NOT EARN. This is the second and last time I ever go back there. Thanks for the mediocre cuisine. Oh and one more thing, they don't do well on holidays. I guess they can't handle the traffic. You're better off going to Burger King or something.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I was there on 2/14/08 with my fiance and another couple only because they wanted to go. I had previously been there for mother's day 2 years ago and the food was not that great that time either, apart from the chaotic service. This time however, it didn't seem so chaotic except that the food was really bad. The menu was too small to choose from and way too $$$$ for the quality that it was. The salmon was totally dry and so was the filet mignon. Between the four of us, the bill came out to $400.00 including tip which the waiter did not earn. I had to ask him for water 5 times. It was a shame that between me and my fiance we had to pay $200.00 for a meal of that caliber. I suggest you fire your chef. That place has a lot of potential but the food is really crappy. I should have went somewhere else, let me tell you I'm really sorry I wasted miles, gas and the money for the meal. Not to mention the $50.00 tip that the waiter DID NOT EARN. This is the second and last time I ever go back there. Thanks for the mediocre cuisine. Oh and one more thing, they don't do well on holidays. I guess they can't handle the traffic. You're better off going to Burger King or something.

Pros: The view and only the view.

Cons: Food, Service, Price

.

First things first, we were told we would see the sunset from our table when we asked the hostes and the waiter three times they all said yes, but as the sun went the down we had to go outside to see it. Next the two stakes were over cooked and the sea bass was was over cooked and gamey in an Ocean type of way. We were over charged for the lobster and stake.

0
★☆☆☆☆

First things first, we were told we would see the sunset from our table when we asked the hostes and the waiter three times they all said yes, but as the sun went the down we had to go outside to see it. Next the two stakes were over cooked and the sea bass was was over cooked and gamey in an Ocean type of way. We were over charged for the lobster and stake.

Pros: NONE I think there was a Pro in the bathroom.

Cons: Don't go...

.

Too many flies, poor service. Asked staff to remove a brunch item after a child picked it up, bit it and returned the item to the tray. Staff appeared flustered and did not address the issue. Great location, eat somewhere else

1
★★☆☆☆

Too many flies, poor service. Asked staff to remove a brunch item after a child picked it up, bit it and returned the item to the tray. Staff appeared flustered and did not address the issue. Great location, eat somewhere else

Pros: Great View

Cons: SERVICE IS POOR

.

This was the worst service experience I've had at any restaurant in United States. We put our names first on the hostess' list and waited in the bar while group after group were called ahead of us. After waiting 1hr, I asked for the manager who's only response was "oh, I'll get you a table". By this time it was too late and my wife and I left. The staff was hispanic and indifferent. All of the groups that arrived after us and were seated before us were hispanic. I would not recommend this establishment. The environment was as unwelcoming as it could be, almost like you had to beg them to please let you pay for the priveledge of eating their over priced food. It was just a terrible and unwelcoming experience.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This was the worst service experience I've had at any restaurant in United States. We put our names first on the hostess' list and waited in the bar while group after group were called ahead of us. After waiting 1hr, I asked for the manager who's only response was "oh, I'll get you a table". By this time it was too late and my wife and I left. The staff was hispanic and indifferent. All of the groups that arrived after us and were seated before us were hispanic. I would not recommend this establishment. The environment was as unwelcoming as it could be, almost like you had to beg them to please let you pay for the priveledge of eating their over priced food. It was just a terrible and unwelcoming experience.

.

The food and service are excellent. However, who would think that the 4th of July is a holiday where they have a set menu. I was really looking forward to their regular menu. The entees' were very good. The Coconut Shrimp was delicious and fresh. My wife had the lamb, it was cooked to perfection. The Key Lime Pie was one of the best I have ever had.

If you want a nice scenic dinner, this is the place, however avoid it on holidays.

2
★★★★☆

The food and service are excellent. However, who would think that the 4th of July is a holiday where they have a set menu. I was really looking forward to their regular menu. The entees' were very good. The Coconut Shrimp was delicious and fresh. My wife had the lamb, it was cooked to perfection. The Key Lime Pie was one of the best I have ever had.

If you want a nice scenic dinner, this is the place, however avoid it on holidays.

Pros: Excellent food

Cons: Parking

.

Yes The Rusty Pelican is situated in a very beautiful location on the water. Which is where the good part of this review comes to hault. The service is horrible, you have to flag down your waiter and continue reminding them anything and everything your asking for. Sunday brunch seems like a great idea, all you can eat/drink for 28 bucks. However the food is nothing out of this world on top of the fact that this past Sunday the 7th of January I went to this brunch to find WORMS swiggling around in our plates of Oysters and crab legs. Three little worms, after we had already consumed several plates. We told our waiter to see the manager to which the manager relayed our waiter back to us telling us that he was busy an to comp the meal. Comp the meal? with not even an apology or a visit from the manager? We pushed further to speak with him. The manager finally came with an, "The foods on us"...I was very dissatisfied to say the very least. Free food after eating parasitic worms did not make me happy especially the fact that it was fairly obvious his desire for the worm situation to be a contained one with the hopes that no one else would notice these parasites crawling around in there food and into there mouths. We took the liberty of informing everyone around us of the worms and noticed that they just kept the food coming. You would think atleast they would have stopped serving the items that were the possible hosts of these parasites but instead they just wanted to maintain the flow of the restaurant. All in all I would definitely NEVER go back to this establishment.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Yes The Rusty Pelican is situated in a very beautiful location on the water. Which is where the good part of this review comes to hault. The service is horrible, you have to flag down your waiter and continue reminding them anything and everything your asking for. Sunday brunch seems like a great idea, all you can eat/drink for 28 bucks. However the food is nothing out of this world on top of the fact that this past Sunday the 7th of January I went to this brunch to find WORMS swiggling around in our plates of Oysters and crab legs. Three little worms, after we had already consumed several plates. We told our waiter to see the manager to which the manager relayed our waiter back to us telling us that he was busy an to comp the meal. Comp the meal? with not even an apology or a visit from the manager? We pushed further to speak with him. The manager finally came with an, "The foods on us"...I was very dissatisfied to say the very least. Free food after eating parasitic worms did not make me happy especially the fact that it was fairly obvious his desire for the worm situation to be a contained one with the hopes that no one else would notice these parasites crawling around in there food and into there mouths. We took the liberty of informing everyone around us of the worms and noticed that they just kept the food coming. You would think atleast they would have stopped serving the items that were the possible hosts of these parasites but instead they just wanted to maintain the flow of the restaurant. All in all I would definitely NEVER go back to this establishment.

Pros: View

Cons: Service, Food

.

I love going here on Sundays for Brunch, it is the best!-they serve everything from pastries to waffles to seafood its oustanding, the mimosas are excellent and to finish dessert table with a variety of choices that makes it really diffucult to choose and the lastest a 3 tier chocolate fountain to die for!!!!!!!! ... the view is spectacular and very romantic.

2
★★★★☆

I love going here on Sundays for Brunch, it is the best!-they serve everything from pastries to waffles to seafood its oustanding, the mimosas are excellent and to finish dessert table with a variety of choices that makes it really diffucult to choose and the lastest a 3 tier chocolate fountain to die for!!!!!!!! ... the view is spectacular and very romantic.

.

Best waterfront view, had a lovely romantic evening, peaceful, calming experience, I havent been to such a mesmerizing restarant in a while. They offer both outside as well as inside seating. I would choose outside seating which faces the bay and tables are next to fireplaces. You can even carry your chairs to the fireplace and sip your wine oh so romantically.

2
★★★★★

Best waterfront view, had a lovely romantic evening, peaceful, calming experience, I havent been to such a mesmerizing restarant in a while. They offer both outside as well as inside seating. I would choose outside seating which faces the bay and tables are next to fireplaces. You can even carry your chairs to the fireplace and sip your wine oh so romantically.

Pros: Great food, Great service, Great ambience

.

How can a seafood restaurant on the coast mess up boiled shrimp? They overcook it until it is dry and stringy. Don't go for the food. Maybe a drink and the view and thats it. Don't eat there.

0
★☆☆☆☆

How can a seafood restaurant on the coast mess up boiled shrimp? They overcook it until it is dry and stringy. Don't go for the food. Maybe a drink and the view and thats it. Don't eat there.

.

The view is great, but I think I would rather go sit on a pier with a picnic basket, at least it would have smelled better; Rusty Pelican smelled like a musty basement. We had reservations and arrived on time, but had to wait almost an hour before being seated. Two unfortunate souls decided to have their wedding party there. The place was so loud, pumping annoying wedding reception tunes such as "YMCA". The lobster I ordered was tough and chewy. The valet had a horrible system of getting cars: they took a bunch of tickets at the same time, but didn't keep them in order, so someone that was 10 people behind you in line could get their car before you. We had to wait over 30 minutes on the cheesy washed-out-disneylandesque bridge. I definately will never be coming back on any of my future trips to Miami.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The view is great, but I think I would rather go sit on a pier with a picnic basket, at least it would have smelled better; Rusty Pelican smelled like a musty basement. We had reservations and arrived on time, but had to wait almost an hour before being seated. Two unfortunate souls decided to have their wedding party there. The place was so loud, pumping annoying wedding reception tunes such as "YMCA". The lobster I ordered was tough and chewy. The valet had a horrible system of getting cars: they took a bunch of tickets at the same time, but didn't keep them in order, so someone that was 10 people behind you in line could get their car before you. We had to wait over 30 minutes on the cheesy washed-out-disneylandesque bridge. I definately will never be coming back on any of my future trips to Miami.

Pros: Hostess, View

Cons: Loud, Valet, Cheesy

.

The Sunday Brunch is excellent. Dinner is also delicious. It is a huge restaurant right on the water, so it offers enough space for a large party AND the views for an intimate night out. Again, the Sunday brunch is a "must try"

2
★★★★★

The Sunday Brunch is excellent. Dinner is also delicious. It is a huge restaurant right on the water, so it offers enough space for a large party AND the views for an intimate night out. Again, the Sunday brunch is a "must try"

Pros: Sunday brunch, Great water views, Excellent food

Cons: Toll for Key Bisc.

.

this srestauran offer a very good service and attention for part of the employees, also offer great lobster and crabs, the price is just for the food.

PROS: great for dinner
CONS: large files

5
★★★★★

this srestauran offer a very good service and attention for part of the employees, also offer great lobster and crabs, the price is just for the food.

PROS: great for dinner
CONS: large files

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I don't know who or why complained about the service here. I must have been to this place at least 30 times for Happy Hours, Lunch, Dinner and of course, one of the best, if not the best Sunday Brunch in South Florida. Yes, I know the views add a lot, and Miami lacks restaurants with this type of view, which alone make it a great place to go to. But the service....I have never encountered anything but extremely pleasant, willing to go the extra-mile-over-deliver-we-want-to-make-this-a-wonderful-experience-for-you type service. If I was to ever consider opening a restaurant, I'd raid their staff to insure my success.

2
★★★★★

I don't know who or why complained about the service here. I must have been to this place at least 30 times for Happy Hours, Lunch, Dinner and of course, one of the best, if not the best Sunday Brunch in South Florida. Yes, I know the views add a lot, and Miami lacks restaurants with this type of view, which alone make it a great place to go to. But the service....I have never encountered anything but extremely pleasant, willing to go the extra-mile-over-deliver-we-want-to-make-this-a-wonderful-experience-for-you type service. If I was to ever consider opening a restaurant, I'd raid their staff to insure my success.

Pros: Great Views, Great Service, Great Brunch

Cons: Toll (into K.Bsc), No boat dockage

.

My first visit was,with the city of Miami. And i went there with this girl after couple weeks.She did not tell me anything about the restaurant.she went and tell her friends about the Pelican. I think this is the best place to take a real or high class female.

2
★★★★★

My first visit was,with the city of Miami. And i went there with this girl after couple weeks.She did not tell me anything about the restaurant.she went and tell her friends about the Pelican. I think this is the best place to take a real or high class female.

.

I have visited the restaurant in varies occasions one of them it was my husbands birthday and the server which was very nice an old cuban gentleman sorry i dont remember his name told the 3 gentleman thant were playing the accordion and the violins that it was my husbands birthday and they came over to the table thant was very nice and a surprise for my husband, the other two occasions i took the whole family for brunch and my mother loves this place. odalys

2
★★★★★

I have visited the restaurant in varies occasions one of them it was my husbands birthday and the server which was very nice an old cuban gentleman sorry i dont remember his name told the 3 gentleman thant were playing the accordion and the violins that it was my husbands birthday and they came over to the table thant was very nice and a surprise for my husband, the other two occasions i took the whole family for brunch and my mother loves this place. odalys

Pros: romantic, good service, waiter very attentati

.

An incredible restaurant. I have been there for dinner and it was a great and very romantic experience. I got married @ the Rusty Pelican and I could not be happier ... the food was amazing, the service was great and the view was breathtaking. I got more compliments on my choice of location than you can imagine. I cannot wait to go back for my anniversary. No complaints. Everything was perfect!!!

2
★★★★★

An incredible restaurant. I have been there for dinner and it was a great and very romantic experience. I got married @ the Rusty Pelican and I could not be happier ... the food was amazing, the service was great and the view was breathtaking. I got more compliments on my choice of location than you can imagine. I cannot wait to go back for my anniversary. No complaints. Everything was perfect!!!

Pros: Food, Service, View

Cons: None

.

Yes, the Rusty Pelican is expensive, but no more so than any comparable restaurant in Miami; and the view cannot be found anywhere else in the city (believe me, we looked while planning our wedding). The food is good, the bar/lounge is a nice place to relax and have a drink, and the staff is friendly and accomodating. We're getting married there, and I can't wait to see the look on the faces of my out-of-town guests when they see the view from both the ceremony and the ballroom.

2
★★★★★

Yes, the Rusty Pelican is expensive, but no more so than any comparable restaurant in Miami; and the view cannot be found anywhere else in the city (believe me, we looked while planning our wedding). The food is good, the bar/lounge is a nice place to relax and have a drink, and the staff is friendly and accomodating. We're getting married there, and I can't wait to see the look on the faces of my out-of-town guests when they see the view from both the ceremony and the ballroom.

Pros: the view, ambiance, food

.

You can't beat the downtown view, and the food was great. I took my girlfriend for Valentine's Day, and was pleased with their efficiency on the busy night. The food was great, but the rice was disappointing compared to the rest of the meal. There was a delay in our entrees, and was disappointed in the service when we had to pack our own leftovers.

2
★★★★☆

You can't beat the downtown view, and the food was great. I took my girlfriend for Valentine's Day, and was pleased with their efficiency on the busy night. The food was great, but the rice was disappointing compared to the rest of the meal. There was a delay in our entrees, and was disappointed in the service when we had to pack our own leftovers.

.

honestly i thought the food and pricing was good considering the location and the crowd and the food (seafood) it was worth my money. the food in general is good but not to die for ... then again ive never ate at a restaurant that i felt was the best restaurant ever and would recomend it hands down... the rusty pelican is good for dinner if you plan to have a big group i highly consider you call with anticipation and to save up for it because plates range crom $20-$50 roughly mainly in the $30's. tip is included and there really nothing spectacular about it but nice for a special evening with the miami skyline.

2
★★★★☆

honestly i thought the food and pricing was good considering the location and the crowd and the food (seafood) it was worth my money. the food in general is good but not to die for ... then again ive never ate at a restaurant that i felt was the best restaurant ever and would recomend it hands down... the rusty pelican is good for dinner if you plan to have a big group i highly consider you call with anticipation and to save up for it because plates range crom $20-$50 roughly mainly in the $30's. tip is included and there really nothing spectacular about it but nice for a special evening with the miami skyline.

Pros: view, good seafood

Cons: expensive, tight seating

.

Although this restaurant is incredibly beautiful both on the outsides and insides, the food, service and quality are horrible. My family and I decided to go there as a goodbye present for some out of town relatives, and that experience ruined our goodbye. First of all when we go there it took the waiters around 20 minutes to seat us, that is considerably long since the whole restaurant was empty. Then when we ordered they served around 2 people before us that had gotten there post our arrival, the plates were chipped and the food was mistaken for another order and was intolerably spicy... they didnt ask for a dessert order and then they added in the tip with the check......I would have to say that this had been my worst dining experience EVER!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Although this restaurant is incredibly beautiful both on the outsides and insides, the food, service and quality are horrible. My family and I decided to go there as a goodbye present for some out of town relatives, and that experience ruined our goodbye. First of all when we go there it took the waiters around 20 minutes to seat us, that is considerably long since the whole restaurant was empty. Then when we ordered they served around 2 people before us that had gotten there post our arrival, the plates were chipped and the food was mistaken for another order and was intolerably spicy... they didnt ask for a dessert order and then they added in the tip with the check......I would have to say that this had been my worst dining experience EVER!!!

Pros: Beautiful View

Cons: Bad Food, Dirty Plates, Terrible Service

.

I went to this restaurant for my birthday a year ago and I cannot wait to go back. The view is fantastic and the food is even better. I loved it!

2
★★★★☆

I went to this restaurant for my birthday a year ago and I cannot wait to go back. The view is fantastic and the food is even better. I loved it!

Pros: Good Parking, Awesome view, Great food

Cons: Expensive

.

Just can't say enough about the fantastic atmosphere of dining while overlooking the bay and enjoying a grand variety of succulent appetizers. Besides all that, they have the best early bird menu in town including a mouthwatering cheese cake that's big enough for two. Enjoy the sunset Happy Hour, if possible. A great experience!

2
★★★★☆

Just can't say enough about the fantastic atmosphere of dining while overlooking the bay and enjoying a grand variety of succulent appetizers. Besides all that, they have the best early bird menu in town including a mouthwatering cheese cake that's big enough for two. Enjoy the sunset Happy Hour, if possible. A great experience!

Pros: Early Bird menu

Cons: Parking crowded

.

Beautiful and very romantic spot to dine outside by the open fire.

2
★★★★★

Beautiful and very romantic spot to dine outside by the open fire.

.

The best date I ever had with the most beautiful woman I ever met. An exotic lunch full of afrodisiac dishes, which made of that old-big house a castle of love and romanticism and created an environment which would allow to hold your princess in your arms and swear endless love while enjoying the beautiful sunset falling behing the distant-huge buildings raising from the sea. The breeze coming from the ocean and the shadows created by the fireplaces around the house seemed to dance together at the rhythm of a sweet Jamaican tune. It's a place for Love, and as far as I'm alive, every September 16th, I'll be there. together with my Sweetheart,remembering our first date at the charming-old house full of magic.

2
★★★★★

The best date I ever had with the most beautiful woman I ever met. An exotic lunch full of afrodisiac dishes, which made of that old-big house a castle of love and romanticism and created an environment which would allow to hold your princess in your arms and swear endless love while enjoying the beautiful sunset falling behing the distant-huge buildings raising from the sea. The breeze coming from the ocean and the shadows created by the fireplaces around the house seemed to dance together at the rhythm of a sweet Jamaican tune. It's a place for Love, and as far as I'm alive, every September 16th, I'll be there. together with my Sweetheart,remembering our first date at the charming-old house full of magic.

.

A perfect place for a Sunday Brunch. We had our wedding there during Sunday Brunch - it's that good!

2
★★★★★

A perfect place for a Sunday Brunch. We had our wedding there during Sunday Brunch - it's that good!

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Rusty Pelican, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review