Bean, Diane, Dvm - Chiquita Animal Hospital

★★☆☆☆
26.5832 -82.007
Map and Directions to Bean Diane Dvm - Chiquita Animal Hospital

239-945-2279

3714 Chiquita Blvd S

Cape Coral, FL

33914

Get Directions Photos

About Bean, Diane, Dvm - Chiquita Animal Hospital

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Cape Coral:
Resultset_next

Kroll William R Dvm - Viscaya-Prado Veterinary Hosp

920 Country Club Blvd Cape Coral, FL

Resultset_next

Staff Members

1327 Ne Pine Island Rd # 110 Cape Coral, FL

2.0 18
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Bean, Diane, Dvm - Chiquita Animal Hospital was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 18 of 18.
.

I have been going to Chiquita Animal Hospital for years. I have always found the front staff to be very pleasant even though I see how busy they can be. Sometimes I think it's a little much and don't see how the girls keep smiling after some of the things that occur up front. I have been to more than one vet at their hospital and have found them all to be very informative and nice. The tech's are very gentle and kind to my. They know how much of a "crazy" pet owner I am. : ) I will continue to go to their animal hospital despite the negative reviews because I know what I have expereinced there!

5
★★★★★

I have been going to Chiquita Animal Hospital for years. I have always found the front staff to be very pleasant even though I see how busy they can be. Sometimes I think it's a little much and don't see how the girls keep smiling after some of the things that occur up front. I have been to more than one vet at their hospital and have found them all to be very informative and nice. The tech's are very gentle and kind to my. They know how much of a "crazy" pet owner I am. : ) I will continue to go to their animal hospital despite the negative reviews because I know what I have expereinced there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Thank you for the kind words Ann, We certainly appreciate that you've taken the time to write a review of our services! We know that things can be somewhat hectic from time to time and we are working towards developing solutions that will make your experience that much better. We're also concerned that too much excitement and extended waits can create more stress for your pets. We hope that you will see some of those changes soon! Again, we thank you for taking the time to post something positive about your experiences with us!
.

I honestly don't understand how Chiquita Animal Hospital has received any bad reviews. I had a great experience when I took my pet there. Prices were very reasonable and no one tried to get more money from me by any means. Chiquita Animal Hospital was clean, everyone was very friendly and the veterinarian was very informative and helpful. I will most definitely be going back as I was very pleased with my experience!

5
★★★★★

I honestly don't understand how Chiquita Animal Hospital has received any bad reviews. I had a great experience when I took my pet there. Prices were very reasonable and no one tried to get more money from me by any means. Chiquita Animal Hospital was clean, everyone was very friendly and the veterinarian was very informative and helpful. I will most definitely be going back as I was very pleased with my experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hi Christie! Thank you so much for your very positive review of our services, staff, and facility! We very much appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to post a comment about your experience. We do try our best to accomodate the needs of everyone, and our primary responsibility is to the safety and well being of your pet. Thank you again for your gracious commentary!
.

Excellent staff and service provided to my family members. My dog had a broken leg (hit by car) and the Dr. immediatly cared for my dogs pain. X-rays were taken and surgery performed over the few days. My dogs can use his leg and the experience caused him little pain and was using the leg within a few days. The staff did physical rehabilitation on me dog over the next few weeks and now he looks forward to going to the veterinarian. I was particularly impressed by the care and concern that the staff took in performing rehabilitation over the three weeks following surgery. They care .

5
★★★★★

Excellent staff and service provided to my family members. My dog had a broken leg (hit by car) and the Dr. immediatly cared for my dogs pain. X-rays were taken and surgery performed over the few days. My dogs can use his leg and the experience caused him little pain and was using the leg within a few days. The staff did physical rehabilitation on me dog over the next few weeks and now he looks forward to going to the veterinarian. I was particularly impressed by the care and concern that the staff took in performing rehabilitation over the three weeks following surgery. They care .

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello John, Thank you for your comments and we're very happy to hear that things worked out well for you and your pet! It's always nice to know that our staff responded favorably and you felt you had a positive experience with us, even though the circumstances were difficult at best. We'r ealso glad to hear that you felt the rehabilitation services were helpful. We look forward to seeing you soon!
.

Dr. Bean is phenomenal. A super compassionatevet with expertise as well. She has been fantisitic with all of pets. Four dogs and four cats in all. We have recently lost two of the dogs and three of our cats, all due to old age except one kitty. She had a thyroid disorder which was controled for several years with meds, but she had suffered a debilitating stroke one night and was seen first thing the next morning. Dr. Bean makes difficult decisions alot easier by giving you the facts. She had offered to make home visits for euthanasia for our dogs. In the end it was not needed as they went peacefully on their own. She helped us to make them as comfortable as possible when those final hours were among us.
I thoroughly trust her professional oppinion and am thankful for her compassion.
I have been a pet owner for 35+ years in several different states.

4
★★★★☆

Dr. Bean is phenomenal. A super compassionatevet with expertise as well. She has been fantisitic with all of pets. Four dogs and four cats in all. We have recently lost two of the dogs and three of our cats, all due to old age except one kitty. She had a thyroid disorder which was controled for several years with meds, but she had suffered a debilitating stroke one night and was seen first thing the next morning. Dr. Bean makes difficult decisions alot easier by giving you the facts. She had offered to make home visits for euthanasia for our dogs. In the end it was not needed as they went peacefully on their own. She helped us to make them as comfortable as possible when those final hours were among us.
I thoroughly trust her professional oppinion and am thankful for her compassion.
I have been a pet owner for 35+ years in several different states.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello Jenni, Thank you for your kind comments regarding Dr. Bean! We certainly agree that she is a very kind and caring doctor. We are sorry to hear about the loss of your dogs, as that is often a very difficult time. We home to see you again soon and again, thank you for the kind comments!
.

I am very surprised of the comments that I have read because I only have good reviews for Chiquita Animal Hospital. we took our cat Paloma to the hospital Saturday before Easter; Paloma had been in another hospital for two days after she ingested a piece of shoe string; we took her there because in the first hospital after several different test and almost $1500 they were asking us $1800 more to perform exploratory surgery. We have the best pet insurance for our two cats, but the other hospital wanted all the money upfront and my husband is unemployed right now, and after paying them the first $1500 we couldn't afford the other $1800; we told them so and show them our insurance, but they said that they were sorry but without money they couldn't do anything for Paloma. The people of Chiquita hospital gave us a quote of $1000 less than the other place.
We arrived at Chiquita Animal Hospital without an appointment, and Dr Hollembeck took care of Paloma right away, it was Saturday and she told us that she had to perform the surgery immediately. They only asked us for half of the money upfront. She performed the surgery and she took Paloma to her house during the weekend, and kept us informed of everything that was going on calling us several times during the weekend. The office people were very helpful with all the insurance paperwork and they were polite to us and compassionate with Paloma. We couldn't ask for better care for Paloma and my husband and I strongly recommend anybody to take their pets there. Dr Hollembeck was the best, I wish many people's doctors would be as good and compassionate as she was with Paloma.

5
★★★★★

I am very surprised of the comments that I have read because I only have good reviews for Chiquita Animal Hospital. we took our cat Paloma to the hospital Saturday before Easter; Paloma had been in another hospital for two days after she ingested a piece of shoe string; we took her there because in the first hospital after several different test and almost $1500 they were asking us $1800 more to perform exploratory surgery. We have the best pet insurance for our two cats, but the other hospital wanted all the money upfront and my husband is unemployed right now, and after paying them the first $1500 we couldn't afford the other $1800; we told them so and show them our insurance, but they said that they were sorry but without money they couldn't do anything for Paloma. The people of Chiquita hospital gave us a quote of $1000 less than the other place.
We arrived at Chiquita Animal Hospital without an appointment, and Dr Hollembeck took care of Paloma right away, it was Saturday and she told us that she had to perform the surgery immediately. They only asked us for half of the money upfront. She performed the surgery and she took Paloma to her house during the weekend, and kept us informed of everything that was going on calling us several times during the weekend. The office people were very helpful with all the insurance paperwork and they were polite to us and compassionate with Paloma. We couldn't ask for better care for Paloma and my husband and I strongly recommend anybody to take their pets there. Dr Hollembeck was the best, I wish many people's doctors would be as good and compassionate as she was with Paloma.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hi Lourdes, Thank you so much for taking the time to talk about your experience with the clinic. I'm happy to hear that Dr. Hollenbeck was so caring and empathetic to your sitiation. We do feel that all of our doctors and staff have the best interest of our patients, and we are fortunate to have each of them working with us. I do hope things are going well for Paloma and you and we hope to see you soon.
.

Terrible place to go. Say their only concern is for your pet but they place money over treatments. Our lab had surgery with them back in 2007.....not willing to work with us, money up front before they would do anything. Luckily it was only 1300 and we worked it out. Now our lab tore his left cruciate ligament. We had not went to them in a couple of years due to unfriendly staff and appearing to not care for pets as much as they say they do. Always wanting to sell you something for top dollar. Well our regular vet doesnt do ortho surgery so back we went to chiquita when they said Dr John Kaykoyonis has done cruciate ligament repair and could do it. Consult with him and he said he could do it. Gave price of 2800 to 3200 dollars. Well thats a big chunk of change but it needed to be done. Worked with labrador lifeline which approved a 500 donation towards our labs surgery but only pays when surgery complete and invoice sent to them. Well first chiquita wants us to pay low end up front and will reimburse us when they receive the 500, which is not part of the agreement with lab lifeline and if i had the 500, i wouldnt need their help. Then they finally agree to half down and the rest at discharge minus 500 which lab lifeline will pay. Day of surgery, with dog already taken back to get ready, we are told by the office manager, Jennifer Frank, in a rude tone, that we have to pay the 3200 up front before they will do the surgery. Needless to say, the surgery didnt happen and we left very upset with a vet that says "your pet is our main concern". yeah as soon as you pay us first is more like it. The office manager wouldnt let me speak with the doctor. She came out and said "doctor recommends you go somewhere else because this has been too much". Meanwhile, some of the other staff working with us, disply verbally how they cannot believe how she is conducting business but aloud must act like they agree with her. Then i am told Dr Kaykoyonis owns the business. Now one surgery 3 years ago, paid in full. Few return visits until we couldnt take the coldness from them, back for a nother surgery. wouldnt take payments. money up front or too bad for your pet......................I DO NOT RECOMMEND CHIQUITA ANIMAL HOSPITAL. THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND COULD CARE LESS ABOUT YOUR LOVED ONE.

Had surgery yesterday in Tampa Florida by Dr Hay at vet surgical services and they worked with us and lab lifeline and truly are compassionate for animals.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Terrible place to go. Say their only concern is for your pet but they place money over treatments. Our lab had surgery with them back in 2007.....not willing to work with us, money up front before they would do anything. Luckily it was only 1300 and we worked it out. Now our lab tore his left cruciate ligament. We had not went to them in a couple of years due to unfriendly staff and appearing to not care for pets as much as they say they do. Always wanting to sell you something for top dollar. Well our regular vet doesnt do ortho surgery so back we went to chiquita when they said Dr John Kaykoyonis has done cruciate ligament repair and could do it. Consult with him and he said he could do it. Gave price of 2800 to 3200 dollars. Well thats a big chunk of change but it needed to be done. Worked with labrador lifeline which approved a 500 donation towards our labs surgery but only pays when surgery complete and invoice sent to them. Well first chiquita wants us to pay low end up front and will reimburse us when they receive the 500, which is not part of the agreement with lab lifeline and if i had the 500, i wouldnt need their help. Then they finally agree to half down and the rest at discharge minus 500 which lab lifeline will pay. Day of surgery, with dog already taken back to get ready, we are told by the office manager, Jennifer Frank, in a rude tone, that we have to pay the 3200 up front before they will do the surgery. Needless to say, the surgery didnt happen and we left very upset with a vet that says "your pet is our main concern". yeah as soon as you pay us first is more like it. The office manager wouldnt let me speak with the doctor. She came out and said "doctor recommends you go somewhere else because this has been too much". Meanwhile, some of the other staff working with us, disply verbally how they cannot believe how she is conducting business but aloud must act like they agree with her. Then i am told Dr Kaykoyonis owns the business. Now one surgery 3 years ago, paid in full. Few return visits until we couldnt take the coldness from them, back for a nother surgery. wouldnt take payments. money up front or too bad for your pet......................I DO NOT RECOMMEND CHIQUITA ANIMAL HOSPITAL. THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND COULD CARE LESS ABOUT YOUR LOVED ONE.

Had surgery yesterday in Tampa Florida by Dr Hay at vet surgical services and they worked with us and lab lifeline and truly are compassionate for animals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Hello Duke, Thank you for your comments. I would be happy to address these with you personally if you would like to call our office and ask for the practice manager. I can tell that you are frustrated with the experiences you had with our clinic and feel that perhaps you were treated unfairly. It would seem that most of your specific concerns center around the cost of care. As such, I can try and address those for you. Veterinarians do attempt to keep cost of care at an affordable level, however, the costs incurred from pharmaceutical companies, and equipment vendors are something that need to be considered when prices are set. As a small business, we also don't have the ability to offer a 'billing department' per say due to associated overhead costs, so the options in terms of defraying payment are usually minimal. I would suggest however, that you examine pet insurance policies to help defray the cost of unexpected veterinary bills. Most clients do not have pet insurance and as a result, cost of care is paid out of pocket entirely. That can be a burden. We do recommend you also look into CareCredit, or pet insurance (Trupanion is very reputable product designed for emergency care situations). I can assure you that our doctors and support staff do care great a deal for the pets they treat, but we must be able to collect payment for services rendered in a timely fashion or we wouldn't be able to continue to offer services ourselves. Again, I am sorry if you felt that you had a poor experience, and would be happy to discuss this with you or provide you with any information regarding payment alternatives for any future expenses you may have, whether here or with another practice.
.

The front counter is hit or miss in terms of friendliness and knowledge. The wait isn't too bad. The vets are okay -however, It seems likes every time I go there, they are trying to sell one thing or another - or request tests that aren't really necessary. It seems like they are very concerened about making money first. Especially in this economy a person has to think about every dime. But they think about taking every dime they can from you. The waiting room is jammed with pets, and it can be stressful for the pet. I am switching vets because I have to watch my money closer and can't spend money that isn't necessary . I would suggest you do the same. There are plenty of good vets in the area that understand how every dollar needs to be considered.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The front counter is hit or miss in terms of friendliness and knowledge. The wait isn't too bad. The vets are okay -however, It seems likes every time I go there, they are trying to sell one thing or another - or request tests that aren't really necessary. It seems like they are very concerened about making money first. Especially in this economy a person has to think about every dime. But they think about taking every dime they can from you. The waiting room is jammed with pets, and it can be stressful for the pet. I am switching vets because I have to watch my money closer and can't spend money that isn't necessary . I would suggest you do the same. There are plenty of good vets in the area that understand how every dollar needs to be considered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Hi Bethany, I am sorry to hear that you have chosen to leave the practice. I do however, understand your frustrations. Very often, we can be quite busy and we are working quite hard to improve both wait times, and management of pets once on site, because, as you referenced, it certainly can be quite stressful for the pets. To your points regarding the cost of care, I would tell you that the veterinarians and staff working here all subscribe to the generally accepted standards of care as promoted by AAHA (American Animal Hospital Association) and the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association). Those standards are based heavily on both preventative care and diagnostics to ensure a high quality of medicine. If you felt that you were being sold something unwarranted, I would suggest that it was likely not something your pet didn't need, but rather, the communication or presentation wasn't as effective as it could have been. We do know that we need to do a better job of properly communicating a need for these services and products so that you, the client, have a much clearer understanding of the actual value you are receiving. Hopefully, we'll have an opportunity to service you and your pets again in the future.
.

I have used Chiquita in the past. When Dr. Dutton owned it, it was the best Animal Hospital in Lee County. It has gone downhill terribly since then. The front office staff is incredibly unprofessional. They have loud, inappropriate conversations amongst themselves while a lobby full of people sit and listen to them. There was new help in there every time I went and it was always the same type. They were more suited to be working at a fast-food business than in the medical field. Sharon and Joellen were the only decent staff members they had while I was there. I have since switched Vets and I hope they have too.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have used Chiquita in the past. When Dr. Dutton owned it, it was the best Animal Hospital in Lee County. It has gone downhill terribly since then. The front office staff is incredibly unprofessional. They have loud, inappropriate conversations amongst themselves while a lobby full of people sit and listen to them. There was new help in there every time I went and it was always the same type. They were more suited to be working at a fast-food business than in the medical field. Sharon and Joellen were the only decent staff members they had while I was there. I have since switched Vets and I hope they have too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Hello Kristi, I am sorry to hear about your experience related to the service you received while frequenting our clinic. I do hope that the medical care and treatment were positive. I realize that this commentary is a few years old, and I know that the staff has changed substantially. We have focused on developing a more professional environment which is moe suitable to the various clientele that frequentr our clinic. I do hope that we have an opportunity to service you and your pets again in the future.
.

Recently my dog jumped over the fence, she was gone for 4 days & 3 nights. When we found her she was almost dead. If it wasn't for Dr. Bean we would have lost her. Dr. Bean was able to catch the problem before it had a chance to take our dog from us. I love this hospital and it's staff. Dr. Bean, however is the only vet. I go and see. I trust her explicitly, she saved Shelby's life. My dog has been nothing but better since our visit with Dr. Bean. Also, Shelby had gotten hit by a car when she was about 7 months old, and they made sure to take her in right away.

Thank you Chiquita Animal Hospital!

5
★★★★★

Recently my dog jumped over the fence, she was gone for 4 days & 3 nights. When we found her she was almost dead. If it wasn't for Dr. Bean we would have lost her. Dr. Bean was able to catch the problem before it had a chance to take our dog from us. I love this hospital and it's staff. Dr. Bean, however is the only vet. I go and see. I trust her explicitly, she saved Shelby's life. My dog has been nothing but better since our visit with Dr. Bean. Also, Shelby had gotten hit by a car when she was about 7 months old, and they made sure to take her in right away.

Thank you Chiquita Animal Hospital!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Thank you Jessica, I'm glad that things worked out for you and Shelby. We agree that Dr. Bean is an exceptional doctor and quite caring and empathetic. We do have 6 doctors on staff, all of whom are very good at what they do, and all very dedicated to working with pets. We're here for any of your future veterinary care needs and thank you for thinking so highly of us!
.

I would not recommend them. It seems whenever we have an annual visit or illness, we are told to come right in. We pay big dollars and we ALWAYS have to return because the first treatment was not done properly. We went over seas approx. (6) months ago. Our pet had a problem with his ears prior to our leaving. The vets treated him a couple of times and Finally got the problem under control but told us to tell the In-house Pet Sitter to bring him in every 2-3 days to have his ears cleaned while we were gone. We gave Chiquita authorization in writing to have the pet sitter as an authorized person to seek treatment as needed in our absence. The first day she brought him in as instructed by the office (Chiquita) to have his ears cleaned during our absence, the girls told him she could do this at home and that she did not need to bring him in every couple of days while we were gone. Our pet sitter went and got help elsewhere while we were gone to get our pet properly treated. Our dog requires Annual Gland Expressions a couple of times a year. This past Saturday the procedure was done. (3) days later I am returning to Chiquita because OUR DOG IS SO UNCOMFORTABLE, it needs to be done again. I strongly believe it was not taken care of properly, (if they did the procedure at all). There was no evidence it had been done but the girl told me it had. They have had lots of new employees. Not sure what there problem is but this is an ongoing issue with having to return until illness and regular procedures are taken care of properly. I have 1 Dog and 4 Cats. They are so Expensive and we do not get any breaks in the fees. I strongly believe their prices keep rising and the service is failing terribly. We have been using them for approx. 120 years now. I have seen many changes in the Service and the Fees. We are in search of a new doctor for our fuzzy family members.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I would not recommend them. It seems whenever we have an annual visit or illness, we are told to come right in. We pay big dollars and we ALWAYS have to return because the first treatment was not done properly. We went over seas approx. (6) months ago. Our pet had a problem with his ears prior to our leaving. The vets treated him a couple of times and Finally got the problem under control but told us to tell the In-house Pet Sitter to bring him in every 2-3 days to have his ears cleaned while we were gone. We gave Chiquita authorization in writing to have the pet sitter as an authorized person to seek treatment as needed in our absence. The first day she brought him in as instructed by the office (Chiquita) to have his ears cleaned during our absence, the girls told him she could do this at home and that she did not need to bring him in every couple of days while we were gone. Our pet sitter went and got help elsewhere while we were gone to get our pet properly treated. Our dog requires Annual Gland Expressions a couple of times a year. This past Saturday the procedure was done. (3) days later I am returning to Chiquita because OUR DOG IS SO UNCOMFORTABLE, it needs to be done again. I strongly believe it was not taken care of properly, (if they did the procedure at all). There was no evidence it had been done but the girl told me it had. They have had lots of new employees. Not sure what there problem is but this is an ongoing issue with having to return until illness and regular procedures are taken care of properly. I have 1 Dog and 4 Cats. They are so Expensive and we do not get any breaks in the fees. I strongly believe their prices keep rising and the service is failing terribly. We have been using them for approx. 120 years now. I have seen many changes in the Service and the Fees. We are in search of a new doctor for our fuzzy family members.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello JK, I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with getting your pet serviced with our clinic. It seems there may have been a problem in terms of communication and administration. Often, it is difficult when working through a third party who is not the pet's direct owner. However, that is not an excuse and we need to do better. As for the other concerns you raised, I can address those as well. In almost every case where there is a medically related question about the status of a pet's health, we recommend the pet be brought in because we simply cannot conduct an examination over the phone. The doctor truly needs to conduct an examination of the pet to determine what to recommend. We cannot diagnose without seeing the pet. As for the increased cost of care, I can tell you that veterinarians work hard to keep the cost of care as low and affordable as possible. However, they do have increasing costs related to pharmaceuticals, and equipment, thus making it more expensive than ever today just to stay open. We do realize that cost of care can be difficult and often times large bills are unexpected. To that end, we do offer CareCredit, and also recommend pet insurance. Trupanion is a very good company and product designed to address the urgent care or unexpected scenarios. I do hope we have an opportunity to see you and your pets again in the future and wish you all the best.
.

I have 3 dogs, am a senior citizen and raising my great-grandson alone on my social security check. One of my dogs had a severe flea manifestation and I found capstar on line for half the price that Chiquita is charging. However, it was a Canadian company and they required a prescription. Would Chiquita animal hospital give me one??? NO!!!! Unless I brought the dog in for an exam! Give me a break. He has fleas. He needs something to help him!! I have spent many hundreds of dollars with them, but no more!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have 3 dogs, am a senior citizen and raising my great-grandson alone on my social security check. One of my dogs had a severe flea manifestation and I found capstar on line for half the price that Chiquita is charging. However, it was a Canadian company and they required a prescription. Would Chiquita animal hospital give me one??? NO!!!! Unless I brought the dog in for an exam! Give me a break. He has fleas. He needs something to help him!! I have spent many hundreds of dollars with them, but no more!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello Sandy, I am sorry to hear about your frustration with this situation. However, the state requires that in order for the clinic to dispense any scripts or medications at all, there must be what is considered a 'patient-doctor relationship'. This means that we would need to have seen your pet for an examination within one year to ensure the pet is healthy. The rationale of the state is that without the examination, you may be applying a prescription product (all of which could have side effects) to an un-healthy pet, causing much greater harm. Not only can the clinic find itself in trouble withe state for not adhering to the protocols, but it really isn't in keeping with standards of care and quality of medicine they practice as recommended by AAHA (American Animal Hospital Association) and the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association). I do hope things worked out well for you and your pet and you understand the reason why we couldn' simply provide you with a script.
.

My puppy had been a patient with Chiquita for over a year. She has had several allergy problems and had all her routine care there -I've paid the bill in full each time. My puppy recently became very ill and had to go to the ER over the weekend, the week prior I had spent quite a bit on allergy meds and special dog food at Chiquita. When I called to ask if they would make a payment arrangement for the follow up ER care they refused. Absolutely no compassion for my very ill puppy and no loyalty or concern to a good customer for over a year - very disappointing when you find that money is the ONLY motivating factor and no regards for the animal or the owner.;

1
★☆☆☆☆

My puppy had been a patient with Chiquita for over a year. She has had several allergy problems and had all her routine care there -I've paid the bill in full each time. My puppy recently became very ill and had to go to the ER over the weekend, the week prior I had spent quite a bit on allergy meds and special dog food at Chiquita. When I called to ask if they would make a payment arrangement for the follow up ER care they refused. Absolutely no compassion for my very ill puppy and no loyalty or concern to a good customer for over a year - very disappointing when you find that money is the ONLY motivating factor and no regards for the animal or the owner.;

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello JM, I'm very sorry to hear that you felt you had a poor experience with our clinic. On the whole, it does seem that you were in fact, pleased, and that you had one unfortante event that led to your overall feeling. I can tell you that the staff here are all very caring and empathetic and have a high level of cocnern for both the patients and the clients. To address your more pressing concern as it relates to cost of care and lack of payment program, I can tell you that you are correct in that we do not offer a payment program. Most small businesses do not offer this option as the time and man hours required to mange it would ultimately lead to cost increases for all clients, which we would rather not do. We do offer CareCredit - I'm not certain whether this was something that was offered to you or not. It is a third party credit lending group. I would also encourage you to look into pet insurance. Trupanion is a wonderful product that addresses predominantly urgent care needs. I do hope we have the opportunity to service you and your pet again at some point.
.

I took my cats for their annual here. They were terrified and one of them did bite me. But she bites me often during playtime so I didn't think anything of it. The vet reported my cat to Animal services who came to my home two days later and took my cat from me for 10 days. While in "quarantine" my cat developed a severe respitory infection and I thought I was going to lose her.

The staff was rude, inconsiderate and they lied to me several times. I wouldn't go back if you paid me.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I took my cats for their annual here. They were terrified and one of them did bite me. But she bites me often during playtime so I didn't think anything of it. The vet reported my cat to Animal services who came to my home two days later and took my cat from me for 10 days. While in "quarantine" my cat developed a severe respitory infection and I thought I was going to lose her.

The staff was rude, inconsiderate and they lied to me several times. I wouldn't go back if you paid me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Dear Anonymous, I am sorry for the experience you had with your pet. I'm sure this was quite difficult. I'm not sure if this was communicated to you at the time or not, but the county requires veterinary clinics and medical staff to report any bites from any pets, regardless whether the pet bites the owner, or anyone else for that matter. It's a county safety regulation and we would be placing ourselves in a very difficult situation if we chose to ignore this scenario. We are legally required to notate all such activity on patient records and those records are routinely audited. As you didn't provide your name I cannot ascertain the history of your specific case within the clinic. I can tell you however, that feral cats are both more likely to bite, and also more likely to transmit rabies. As a result of the studies and data related to that, and the county government requirements to keep the local population safe, veterinarians are obligated to adhere strictly to these guidelines. I am sorry for the difficulty this may have caused you, but I can assure you that the staff at the clinic were performing their job under the direction of the county and in most of these cases, the staff truly do not enjoy the circumstances. They all however, accept their responsibility to the public.
.

If you are just looking for an affordable vet for routine services, such as shots, etc. then this is the place. If your pet has a special or serious medical condition, such as cancer, etc. this is not the place. The veterinarians lack training, skills, and knowledge in many areas. You will leave their office with a hefty bill in medication and treatment charges that do not diagnose or address the problem.

The doctors can be quite rude. Very few of the clerks can be nice; however, there are a few that are very rude and will not hesitate to argue with the clients. Bringing any problems to their superiors is useless because they will back up their staff and has only served to re-enforce the bad behavior.

Affordable veterinary care does not equal good care for your pet. If you love your pet, pay the extra money and get quality care somewhere else.

2
★★☆☆☆

If you are just looking for an affordable vet for routine services, such as shots, etc. then this is the place. If your pet has a special or serious medical condition, such as cancer, etc. this is not the place. The veterinarians lack training, skills, and knowledge in many areas. You will leave their office with a hefty bill in medication and treatment charges that do not diagnose or address the problem.

The doctors can be quite rude. Very few of the clerks can be nice; however, there are a few that are very rude and will not hesitate to argue with the clients. Bringing any problems to their superiors is useless because they will back up their staff and has only served to re-enforce the bad behavior.

Affordable veterinary care does not equal good care for your pet. If you love your pet, pay the extra money and get quality care somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello ES, I am sorry that you feel you had a poor experience with the practice. While our doctors do have experience in many areas and special areas of interest, they are not certified as cancer specialists. Depending on the specifics of the case, most will refer to local speciality clinics, with whom we have established a very strong relationship. In terms of the care your pet received, we do adhere to the guidelines as indicated by both AAHA (American Animal Hospital Association), and the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association). Those guidelines focus on preventative measures and diagnostics, and are accepted industry wide. I am not certain specifically about the service difficulty you referenced, but I would be happy to discuss this privately if you prefer. Please feel free to call the practice and ask for the practice manager.
.

This clinic is a victim of its own success. The staff is super friendly and very knowledgable but they are usually overwhelmed by too many patients. The waiting room is as busy as a major city Emergency Room and customer patience suffers resulting in bad reviews. Nobody likes to wait especially when surrounded by dozens of cats and dogs but if you are going to wait this is the clinic to go to. The delays and difficulties are overcome by staff and doctors who seem to really care and great prices. No medical practice is perfect. If your pet needs a specialist they will tell you. This clinic suffers only from its success and there is a severe shortage of good clinics or affordable clinics in SW Florida. Consider yourself lucky to wait in this Vet's waiting room. Your pet will be better for it and so will your wallet.

4
★★★★☆

This clinic is a victim of its own success. The staff is super friendly and very knowledgable but they are usually overwhelmed by too many patients. The waiting room is as busy as a major city Emergency Room and customer patience suffers resulting in bad reviews. Nobody likes to wait especially when surrounded by dozens of cats and dogs but if you are going to wait this is the clinic to go to. The delays and difficulties are overcome by staff and doctors who seem to really care and great prices. No medical practice is perfect. If your pet needs a specialist they will tell you. This clinic suffers only from its success and there is a severe shortage of good clinics or affordable clinics in SW Florida. Consider yourself lucky to wait in this Vet's waiting room. Your pet will be better for it and so will your wallet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello Craig, Thank you for your comments! We certainly recognize the difficulties in managing a high volume of patients and the challenges you referenced certainly do include added stress for the patients. Please be assured that we are currently working to address each of those concerns and improve wait times, flow, and the overall experience for you and your pet. Every practice, and every business for that matter, certainly can improve and it's most helpful to hear comments from clients like yourself. We want you know that we do listen and take to heart what is said. Thank you again for taking the time to write about us!
.

I've been taking my pet here for 4 years, off and on. He has very bad allergies and has been on several medications and diets. The vets here, i have found, are not very compassionate and are rude. Recently, i moved into a new apt. The office needed documentation that my pet was up to date on his vaccinations. Not only did I have to fax the sheet to the vet 4 times, but it took over a week to get what i needed to my office. I find that the clerical staff is very nice, but medically, I find them lacking in skills. I would recommend this facility if your per needs shots or tags, but i wouldn't trust them with medical needs, they seem to be too busy to care.

PROS: price
CONS:

2
★★☆☆☆

I've been taking my pet here for 4 years, off and on. He has very bad allergies and has been on several medications and diets. The vets here, i have found, are not very compassionate and are rude. Recently, i moved into a new apt. The office needed documentation that my pet was up to date on his vaccinations. Not only did I have to fax the sheet to the vet 4 times, but it took over a week to get what i needed to my office. I find that the clerical staff is very nice, but medically, I find them lacking in skills. I would recommend this facility if your per needs shots or tags, but i wouldn't trust them with medical needs, they seem to be too busy to care.

PROS: price
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Response from this business:

Hello Jaclyn, It seems that the primary difficulty you experienced was related to the interaction with our sevice and administration staff. I do apologize for any inconvenience or confusion that may have resulted. I can assure you that we have been working hard to improve our service delivery and will continue to do so. Clients like yourself are invuable to that process as it is often difficult to identify the problems unless someone points them out. No practice or business is perfect, and we are certainly no exception, but I would like to think that we do care, and as a result, will continue to focus our efforts on improving and creating a much better experience for our patients and clients.
.

They were very nice.. But i dont believe they were very educated or at least didnt act like it.. Out of all the vets i called though they had the best prices around and from checking from others around town they had a very reputable service.. But i'm not sure if i'd take my animals there for anything major.. Maybe just shots and check ups... But the place for the most part was clean but i didnt have to wait, they were over booked

3
★★★☆☆

They were very nice.. But i dont believe they were very educated or at least didnt act like it.. Out of all the vets i called though they had the best prices around and from checking from others around town they had a very reputable service.. But i'm not sure if i'd take my animals there for anything major.. Maybe just shots and check ups... But the place for the most part was clean but i didnt have to wait, they were over booked

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Hello JS, Thank you for your comments. As to the price question, I know that we are not the highest in cost, nor the lowest. We do attempt to remain affordable for our clients. We also strongly advocate for the patients in terms of preventative care. We we do adhere to the guidelines as indicated by both AAHA (American Animal Hospital Association), and the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association). Those guidelines focus on preventative measures and diagnostics, and are accepted industry wide. We have a very strong group of doctors with special interests and certifications ranging from orthopedic surgery, to dermatology, to internal medicine, avian and exotic care, and eastern medicine including acupuncture.
.

my pet was realy sick. they had me bring him in right away. The vet was no good. all he kept saying was take him home and watch him in the mean time my dog is trying to get sick with nothing happening and putting his face in the corner like a bad kid. no test no nothing. so went home for 2nd opinion. got his records the vet put down I refused all treatment. the new vet gave him less then a year to live my dog was a medical case. put him on meds and is going strong 4 years later. he still acts like a puppie will never ever go back there again.

2
★★☆☆☆

my pet was realy sick. they had me bring him in right away. The vet was no good. all he kept saying was take him home and watch him in the mean time my dog is trying to get sick with nothing happening and putting his face in the corner like a bad kid. no test no nothing. so went home for 2nd opinion. got his records the vet put down I refused all treatment. the new vet gave him less then a year to live my dog was a medical case. put him on meds and is going strong 4 years later. he still acts like a puppie will never ever go back there again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Response from this business:

Hello Patti, I understand from your comments that you did not have a very positive experience with our clinic. However, I am not entirely clear on the chain of events which transpired. I am not sure if you brought your pet in to our clinic twice, or once, and if you refused the recommended care at our clinic or a second clinic. I am happy to hear that things did work out and have a positive end for your pet, and if you would like to call and discuss this matter privately, I would be very happy to listen. Please be sure to ask for the practice manager.