Keys Quality Management

★★★★★
  • 302 Southard St

    Key West, FL 33040

    Map & Directions
  • 305-293-9730

About Keys Quality Management

Hours
Mon. - Sun. 24 Hours

Hotels & Travel

Hotels & Travel
More choices in Key West:
Resultset_next

Reach Resort

1435 Simonton St Key West, FL

Resultset_next

Spa At The Pier House Resort

1 Duval St Key West, FL

5.0 5
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Keys Quality Management was?
Write a Review
.

Smelly bed, broken elevator, inadequate air conditioning, followed by broken promises. \r
After 40 years of traveling Pelicans Landing was by far the worse overall experience. We stayed in the Penthouse with an elderly couple who were

3
★★★★★

Smelly bed, broken elevator, inadequate air conditioning, followed by broken promises. \r
After 40 years of traveling Pelicans Landing was by far the worse overall experience. We stayed in the Penthouse with an elderly couple who were

.

Don't stay here. The night manager is a horribly rude woman and she ruined our trip. My group (20 people) spent close to $3,000.00 for two rooms on a weekend stay. The night manager called the police on our entire group and attempted to

3
★★★★★

Don't stay here. The night manager is a horribly rude woman and she ruined our trip. My group (20 people) spent close to $3,000.00 for two rooms on a weekend stay. The night manager called the police on our entire group and attempted to

.

After paying for a 3 night stay in a 1bdrm., for $150 a night plus a $25 booking fee, and notifying them we would bring our 5 lbs Yorkie/Poo and a 14 ft dinghy. We were promptly called and told we had to pay and additional $75.00 to bring

3
★★★★★

After paying for a 3 night stay in a 1bdrm., for $150 a night plus a $25 booking fee, and notifying them we would bring our 5 lbs Yorkie/Poo and a 14 ft dinghy. We were promptly called and told we had to pay and additional $75.00 to bring

.

This property is now Managed by a new Company, and is working to make it a true resort. While we are sorry for your past experieces, we would love to show you what we can do for you now. Let us know how to Help!

2
★★★★★

This property is now Managed by a new Company, and is working to make it a true resort. While we are sorry for your past experieces, we would love to show you what we can do for you now. Let us know how to Help!

Pros: New Management is Fantastic

.

My family and 1other family stayed at Pelican Landing from June 20th through June 28th. We booked our stay last year and looked very forward to a wonderful stay in the 2 beadroom retreats. 3 weeks prior to our stay we received an email from property management advising that the condo was under minor construction on the other side of the building. We were advised that they were only replacing some sliding glass doors and railings. We were assurred that the construction was non invasive and would not interfere with our stay nor would it be in the area of our rooms.
1. On day one, we all woke up at 8AM Saturday morning to very loud jack hammering - this continued early every morning until Thursday - when we complained we were told there was nothing they could do and that legally they could begin this work at this hour
2. When I asked at the front office why we were not advised about this type of load construction activity we were told by the office worker that she did not communicate with renters about this - we would have to call the lady on the after hours sign.
3. When we finally had had enough and called this person I was advised that she had been addressing this since last October was tired of talking with renters!! Her exact words to me were "what, you want me to rent this place to you for a dollar"? All she kept saying was how much the units would rent for when the construction was done. I advised her that under the current condition she would be lucky to get 50$ a night. Much less than the $188 per night we were currently paying after the inconvienience discount. - They finally gave us the full 100$ a night discount - which is the same discount they were offering online.
4. The final straw was Wednesday when we woke to them grinding on the stairs that was our only access to the pool - electrical cords were laying accross the shallow end of the pool and laying in about an inch of water the contruction crew created from rinsing the stairs. When we approached propertly management about some type of alternative or compensation for all of this I was asked who was going to pay for the electricity and the clean up from my Kids........very un professional. She also advised me that the rest of our vacation was going to be spoiled if I continued to make comments about OSHA violations....and the pool was closed down......
5. we were not even given the full construction discount being offerred until after I spoke to PM on Wednesday regarding the safety issues by the pool. You had no ability to enjoy the condo ammenities due to the dust, noise and construction everywhere. it was just a place to sleep....
6. We were notified only 3 weeks before our stay which gave us no ability to cancel or make other arrangements. In addition, we were told in advance that if it was bothersome they would move us. When I requested this, we were told that they would move us but they could not accomodate our boats which would have to stay at the condo unattended. Did I forget to mention they were letting the contruction workers live in the condos they were renivating????
Last year before the contruction started it was a great place. Beware of the property management here as they are not professional. they lied in order to keep the place rented while under major construction and did not properly manage the construction crews in order to look out for the comfort and safety of their guests at all. To be fair, it rained nearly every day which also added fuel to the fire. However, I do not care where you go for vacation. Part of the enjoyment of your vacation is the comfort of your accomodations and the enjoyment of a quiet retreat.
None of which was a concern for this property management team.
This management team puposely did not notify us until 3 weeks prior and used the excuse that they thought things would be done as an excuse. .

1
★★☆☆☆

My family and 1other family stayed at Pelican Landing from June 20th through June 28th. We booked our stay last year and looked very forward to a wonderful stay in the 2 beadroom retreats. 3 weeks prior to our stay we received an email from property management advising that the condo was under minor construction on the other side of the building. We were advised that they were only replacing some sliding glass doors and railings. We were assurred that the construction was non invasive and would not interfere with our stay nor would it be in the area of our rooms.
1. On day one, we all woke up at 8AM Saturday morning to very loud jack hammering - this continued early every morning until Thursday - when we complained we were told there was nothing they could do and that legally they could begin this work at this hour
2. When I asked at the front office why we were not advised about this type of load construction activity we were told by the office worker that she did not communicate with renters about this - we would have to call the lady on the after hours sign.
3. When we finally had had enough and called this person I was advised that she had been addressing this since last October was tired of talking with renters!! Her exact words to me were "what, you want me to rent this place to you for a dollar"? All she kept saying was how much the units would rent for when the construction was done. I advised her that under the current condition she would be lucky to get 50$ a night. Much less than the $188 per night we were currently paying after the inconvienience discount. - They finally gave us the full 100$ a night discount - which is the same discount they were offering online.
4. The final straw was Wednesday when we woke to them grinding on the stairs that was our only access to the pool - electrical cords were laying accross the shallow end of the pool and laying in about an inch of water the contruction crew created from rinsing the stairs. When we approached propertly management about some type of alternative or compensation for all of this I was asked who was going to pay for the electricity and the clean up from my Kids........very un professional. She also advised me that the rest of our vacation was going to be spoiled if I continued to make comments about OSHA violations....and the pool was closed down......
5. we were not even given the full construction discount being offerred until after I spoke to PM on Wednesday regarding the safety issues by the pool. You had no ability to enjoy the condo ammenities due to the dust, noise and construction everywhere. it was just a place to sleep....
6. We were notified only 3 weeks before our stay which gave us no ability to cancel or make other arrangements. In addition, we were told in advance that if it was bothersome they would move us. When I requested this, we were told that they would move us but they could not accomodate our boats which would have to stay at the condo unattended. Did I forget to mention they were letting the contruction workers live in the condos they were renivating????
Last year before the contruction started it was a great place. Beware of the property management here as they are not professional. they lied in order to keep the place rented while under major construction and did not properly manage the construction crews in order to look out for the comfort and safety of their guests at all. To be fair, it rained nearly every day which also added fuel to the fire. However, I do not care where you go for vacation. Part of the enjoyment of your vacation is the comfort of your accomodations and the enjoyment of a quiet retreat.
None of which was a concern for this property management team.
This management team puposely did not notify us until 3 weeks prior and used the excuse that they thought things would be done as an excuse. .

Pros: Great Location/Dockage for Boaters

Cons: Poorly Managed - Under Major Construction - Dishonest MGMT

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Keys Quality Management, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review