Mittie's Cafe Tea Room

★★★☆☆
Baby Showers to Cocktails, This 100 Year-Old Historic Cottage Hosts Your Most Special Events!
  • 25 Plum St

    Roswell, GA 30075

    Map & Directions
  • 770-594-8822

Food

Food
More choices in Roswell:
Resultset_next

Sugo

408 S Atlanta St Roswell, GA

Resultset_next

The Fickle Pickle

1085 Canton St Roswell, GA

3.3636 22
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Mittie's Cafe Tea Room was?
Write a Review
.

I called Mittie's Cafe Tea Room every day for a week trying to plan a birthday party for my daughter. I left 2 voice messages and 3 times talked to someone who assured me someone would return my call as soon as possible. I never received a

3
★★★★★

I called Mittie's Cafe Tea Room every day for a week trying to plan a birthday party for my daughter. I left 2 voice messages and 3 times talked to someone who assured me someone would return my call as soon as possible. I never received a

.

We booked this venue for a special baby shower. However, I advise you to look elsewhere if this is your plan. We were interrupted at the end of our shower and told we had to vacant the room our time was up. The owner told us we paid

3
★★★★★

We booked this venue for a special baby shower. However, I advise you to look elsewhere if this is your plan. We were interrupted at the end of our shower and told we had to vacant the room our time was up. The owner told us we paid

.

I just recently spent a week in Roswell during the holidays. I was pleased to know that Mittie's is finally back to it's original owner and management! Thank God. After about 2 years, Mrs. Lynn the founder, has the restaurant back. It's so much cleaner now, more space, and the service is much better. The whole atmosphere has changed to a much more laid back and peaceful place to eat. Let's not forget about the food though! Wow. The food is incredible. I can eat the original chicken salad and lobster bisque all day, every day. I hope all you guys who had a bad experience will go back and check it out now!

2
★★★★★

I just recently spent a week in Roswell during the holidays. I was pleased to know that Mittie's is finally back to it's original owner and management! Thank God. After about 2 years, Mrs. Lynn the founder, has the restaurant back. It's so much cleaner now, more space, and the service is much better. The whole atmosphere has changed to a much more laid back and peaceful place to eat. Let's not forget about the food though! Wow. The food is incredible. I can eat the original chicken salad and lobster bisque all day, every day. I hope all you guys who had a bad experience will go back and check it out now!

.

I chose to come to Mittie's after viewing their menu online. I normally do not go to places like this, because they usually cost more than I'm willing to pay for a sandwich, however this was a special occassion and wanted to have a nice dinning experience with my friend before she moved out of the country. I did read the reviews and was hoping our experience was going to be different than the previous customers. We were having a wonderful time and enjoyed our food until it came time for my party (3 in total) to pay the bill. We needed separate (2) bills and I had a coupon. Kate our server and soon to find out the owner told me that the computer wouldn't separate the bill and that she would add up my friend's part and then I would pay the rest. My friend's part of the check was correct, however my part seemed too high. I asked Kate if she had added a tip to my bill and she said she had, this bothered me because I didn't think the service was all that great. I tried going over the bill but not wanting to embarrass my company, I chose to pay the bill and leave. On my way out I asked Kate if I could have the original receipt. Later on that day I was able to sit and go over the bill and I as I had figured, I had paid too much! I even had my husband go over the receipt and he too came up with the same conclusion. The next morning I chose to drive over to Mittie's to talk to Kate about this matter. I arrived at 9:30 AM as the website states that's when they are open however they weren't and Kate wasn't there. When Kate got there almost at 10, she seemed to be nice until I explained my problem then she started acting "put out" and her demeanor changed! She explained that using a coupon gives her the right to add an 18% tip to my bill! But the amount I paid still wasn't adding up. What it came down to was that Kate added the 18% tip for the WHOLE bill onto my total!! After figuring it out and asked her about it, she rolled her eyes and was huffing and puffing. In the end I did get some of my money back but not all of it. I do have to say some of what happened was my fault, I had not read the fine print on the coupon and I should've gone over my bill right then and there. I know that I shouldn't get upset over a few dollars, however in these times every dime counts for my family! What was even more shocking Kate never apologized for over billing me! I'm not sure if she over charged me on purpose or not, but an apology would've been nice. The food was great however, be cautious when looking over your bill and using coupons!

My other problem with Mittie's was the bathroom it was cluttered with junk and and there wasn't any soap! The base boards had black gunk on them! For this type of place I expected the restrooms to be in better shape!

1
★★☆☆☆

I chose to come to Mittie's after viewing their menu online. I normally do not go to places like this, because they usually cost more than I'm willing to pay for a sandwich, however this was a special occassion and wanted to have a nice dinning experience with my friend before she moved out of the country. I did read the reviews and was hoping our experience was going to be different than the previous customers. We were having a wonderful time and enjoyed our food until it came time for my party (3 in total) to pay the bill. We needed separate (2) bills and I had a coupon. Kate our server and soon to find out the owner told me that the computer wouldn't separate the bill and that she would add up my friend's part and then I would pay the rest. My friend's part of the check was correct, however my part seemed too high. I asked Kate if she had added a tip to my bill and she said she had, this bothered me because I didn't think the service was all that great. I tried going over the bill but not wanting to embarrass my company, I chose to pay the bill and leave. On my way out I asked Kate if I could have the original receipt. Later on that day I was able to sit and go over the bill and I as I had figured, I had paid too much! I even had my husband go over the receipt and he too came up with the same conclusion. The next morning I chose to drive over to Mittie's to talk to Kate about this matter. I arrived at 9:30 AM as the website states that's when they are open however they weren't and Kate wasn't there. When Kate got there almost at 10, she seemed to be nice until I explained my problem then she started acting "put out" and her demeanor changed! She explained that using a coupon gives her the right to add an 18% tip to my bill! But the amount I paid still wasn't adding up. What it came down to was that Kate added the 18% tip for the WHOLE bill onto my total!! After figuring it out and asked her about it, she rolled her eyes and was huffing and puffing. In the end I did get some of my money back but not all of it. I do have to say some of what happened was my fault, I had not read the fine print on the coupon and I should've gone over my bill right then and there. I know that I shouldn't get upset over a few dollars, however in these times every dime counts for my family! What was even more shocking Kate never apologized for over billing me! I'm not sure if she over charged me on purpose or not, but an apology would've been nice. The food was great however, be cautious when looking over your bill and using coupons!

My other problem with Mittie's was the bathroom it was cluttered with junk and and there wasn't any soap! The base boards had black gunk on them! For this type of place I expected the restrooms to be in better shape!

Pros: variety in the menu, food was tastey

Cons: might be over charged and bathrooms need cleaning!

.

I've been a regular customer at Mittie's for years. It's a favorite lunch spot of mine.

I have a mental illness and got a puppy several months ago; he's being trained as a psychiatric service dog.
My service dog is a 5.6 pound Maltese. I carry him in a tote bag. This works out well, as he can stay next to me for monitoring (him monitoring me to interrupt anxiety attacks.) It also allows him to keep a low profile and do his job. He's not a pet; he's a working animal. The staff at Mittie's knows this because we have had discussions about his abilities, about seizure dogs, and about how cool it is that dogs can help people this way. It's all been positive.

He was with me at Mittie's at least twice before. Last time he barked a few times; we were sitting outside. If his barking had escalated, I simply would have left - I am responsible for the dog's stewardship. With service dogs in training, occasional inappropriate barks are expected.

Yesterday when my friend and I arrived at the restaurant, the owner/manager (at least I think she is, as she's the one in charge) told us that the health inspector was coming, and we couldn't bring my service animal inside. When I said, "Oh, no - you're fine. We're protected by federal law," and presented a laminated copy of of the relevant sections of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the owner said something about him not being marked. I informed her that legally he doesn't have to be marked and that he was in a special harness.

Then she said he smelled. He was just groomed a week ago. I doubted it, and said "Really?" She said, "Yes, and it changes the taste of the food." At this point, she is standing in the door of the restaurant.

She asked it if it was okay if she sat us in this little room off the entrance. I was polite and said yes, because it was quieter. By this point, I was livid. If my friend had not had such a longstanding relationship with the restaurant, I would have left.

Once at our table, I realized why we had never been seated in this room before - it was the employee breaks room. That also explained why someone sprawling at one of the tables left when we were seated.

I kept my cool and minded my manners. It's not like our server did anything to incur my wrath. Plus my mama raised me better than that. I wanted to have a nice lunch with my friend. Her mama raised her better than to make a stink, too. I just made a point to savor each bite of my quiche since I'm never going back.

It wasn't until afterward when I allowed myself to review the events that I saw the big picture. I *felt* the big picture as it was happening. I mean, I never even made it within 5 feet of the hostess stand. It was shocking to be greeted like this at the door of one of my favorite lunch places. I mean, didn't we settle this back in the 1960's?

We know that discrimination against people with mental illnesses occurs. The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is running the "Bring Change 2 Mind" campaign with Glenn Close in an effort to address the stigma. It just never occurred to me that it would cause me to be segregated in a restaurant - and especially not one where they know me.

I'm not launching a boycott or anything. I'm just not going back. And if you can't survive without their scones and creme fraiche, I certainly understand. I just want you to make an informed decision about where you vote with your dollars.

Incidentally, my dog never made a peep. He stayed quietly in his bag by my feet the whole time, just like a service dog is supposed to do.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I've been a regular customer at Mittie's for years. It's a favorite lunch spot of mine.

I have a mental illness and got a puppy several months ago; he's being trained as a psychiatric service dog.
My service dog is a 5.6 pound Maltese. I carry him in a tote bag. This works out well, as he can stay next to me for monitoring (him monitoring me to interrupt anxiety attacks.) It also allows him to keep a low profile and do his job. He's not a pet; he's a working animal. The staff at Mittie's knows this because we have had discussions about his abilities, about seizure dogs, and about how cool it is that dogs can help people this way. It's all been positive.

He was with me at Mittie's at least twice before. Last time he barked a few times; we were sitting outside. If his barking had escalated, I simply would have left - I am responsible for the dog's stewardship. With service dogs in training, occasional inappropriate barks are expected.

Yesterday when my friend and I arrived at the restaurant, the owner/manager (at least I think she is, as she's the one in charge) told us that the health inspector was coming, and we couldn't bring my service animal inside. When I said, "Oh, no - you're fine. We're protected by federal law," and presented a laminated copy of of the relevant sections of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the owner said something about him not being marked. I informed her that legally he doesn't have to be marked and that he was in a special harness.

Then she said he smelled. He was just groomed a week ago. I doubted it, and said "Really?" She said, "Yes, and it changes the taste of the food." At this point, she is standing in the door of the restaurant.

She asked it if it was okay if she sat us in this little room off the entrance. I was polite and said yes, because it was quieter. By this point, I was livid. If my friend had not had such a longstanding relationship with the restaurant, I would have left.

Once at our table, I realized why we had never been seated in this room before - it was the employee breaks room. That also explained why someone sprawling at one of the tables left when we were seated.

I kept my cool and minded my manners. It's not like our server did anything to incur my wrath. Plus my mama raised me better than that. I wanted to have a nice lunch with my friend. Her mama raised her better than to make a stink, too. I just made a point to savor each bite of my quiche since I'm never going back.

It wasn't until afterward when I allowed myself to review the events that I saw the big picture. I *felt* the big picture as it was happening. I mean, I never even made it within 5 feet of the hostess stand. It was shocking to be greeted like this at the door of one of my favorite lunch places. I mean, didn't we settle this back in the 1960's?

We know that discrimination against people with mental illnesses occurs. The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is running the "Bring Change 2 Mind" campaign with Glenn Close in an effort to address the stigma. It just never occurred to me that it would cause me to be segregated in a restaurant - and especially not one where they know me.

I'm not launching a boycott or anything. I'm just not going back. And if you can't survive without their scones and creme fraiche, I certainly understand. I just want you to make an informed decision about where you vote with your dollars.

Incidentally, my dog never made a peep. He stayed quietly in his bag by my feet the whole time, just like a service dog is supposed to do.

.

I have been to Mittie's Cafe in Alpharetta several times for lunch. The food and service are great. I have taken friends with me each time and they love it too. The only down side is that it is in an old restored house and if it is crowded it is very noisy. But it is worth it . The food is awesome they also serve breakfast all day and the French Toast is wonderful. Never had a bad meal! Try this place out!

4
★★★★☆

I have been to Mittie's Cafe in Alpharetta several times for lunch. The food and service are great. I have taken friends with me each time and they love it too. The only down side is that it is in an old restored house and if it is crowded it is very noisy. But it is worth it . The food is awesome they also serve breakfast all day and the French Toast is wonderful. Never had a bad meal! Try this place out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We were shopping in downtown Roswell the other day and stopped in to Mittie's for a quick bite and a cup of tea. This place is a hidden gem in the area. I tried a tasty blt and a cup of green tea. Quick service, great food- cool place. I'll be back.

2
★★★★★

We were shopping in downtown Roswell the other day and stopped in to Mittie's for a quick bite and a cup of tea. This place is a hidden gem in the area. I tried a tasty blt and a cup of green tea. Quick service, great food- cool place. I'll be back.

.

I tried a mixed Tea blend that I loved while living in Aus...It was Lemon Grass and Jasmine and it came it quite well. Kate the owner spent a good deal of time with me making sure that I was happy with the blend.

2
★★★★☆

I tried a mixed Tea blend that I loved while living in Aus...It was Lemon Grass and Jasmine and it came it quite well. Kate the owner spent a good deal of time with me making sure that I was happy with the blend.

Pros: Helpful and Knowledgeable

.

I have really tried to like ths place, it is very close to where my children go to school, but really!!! Last time was the last straw, when, after our meal, one of the ladies that run the place hunted me down at a near by coffee shot to tell me that I hadn't left enough tip???? I explained that I in fact left more that a 25% tip. She said "Oh, maybe I've made a mistake". No, "I'm sorry for embarassing the crude out of you" or any apology of any kind. My Daughte (6 years old) put it best when she said "Mom, this place is creepy!"!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I have really tried to like ths place, it is very close to where my children go to school, but really!!! Last time was the last straw, when, after our meal, one of the ladies that run the place hunted me down at a near by coffee shot to tell me that I hadn't left enough tip???? I explained that I in fact left more that a 25% tip. She said "Oh, maybe I've made a mistake". No, "I'm sorry for embarassing the crude out of you" or any apology of any kind. My Daughte (6 years old) put it best when she said "Mom, this place is creepy!"!!

Pros: I think the kitchen is trying?

Cons: The two ladies that run this place are rude!!!!

.

Great sandwiches and tea. A great place to bring out of town guests for an authentic, old Roswell-type feel and experience. Friendly, family staff, good with kids.

4
★★★★☆

Great sandwiches and tea. A great place to bring out of town guests for an authentic, old Roswell-type feel and experience. Friendly, family staff, good with kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed yourself, as did you family, hope to see you soon!
.

Mittie's Team Room was a wonderful dining experience; the chicken salad croissants were to die for. However, there was a big birthday party going on and it was quite noisy. But other than that, our server was very friendly, the restaurant was very nice and clean, and I would go back again.

4
★★★★☆

Mittie's Team Room was a wonderful dining experience; the chicken salad croissants were to die for. However, there was a big birthday party going on and it was quite noisy. But other than that, our server was very friendly, the restaurant was very nice and clean, and I would go back again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The first few times we went were on a weekday. The chicken salad and salmon were delicious and the service excellent.
Sunday was like a totally different restaurant. Though the restaurant did not seem that crowded, we waited an hour to be served and the food was not nearly the quality that we experienced on a weekday either in looks or in taste.

3
★★★☆☆

The first few times we went were on a weekday. The chicken salad and salmon were delicious and the service excellent.
Sunday was like a totally different restaurant. Though the restaurant did not seem that crowded, we waited an hour to be served and the food was not nearly the quality that we experienced on a weekday either in looks or in taste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Don't confuse this with the Roswell Mittie's - not the same and not NEARLY as good - Mittie's in Alpharetta is awesome - the chicken salad is my favorite and the lobster bisque is to die for - the serving sizes are what serving sizes should be - not huge but enough that you know you have had a good lunch!! Great place!!

5
★★★★★

Don't confuse this with the Roswell Mittie's - not the same and not NEARLY as good - Mittie's in Alpharetta is awesome - the chicken salad is my favorite and the lobster bisque is to die for - the serving sizes are what serving sizes should be - not huge but enough that you know you have had a good lunch!! Great place!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Visited June 2008 - Extremely disappointing! This establishment should NOT advertise as a Tea Room. The tea is bagged and almost choiceless! To get a proper serving of tea - you must pay an extra price above and beyond the High Tea price listed. Outrageous. The food was minimal, the sweets were frozen treats that you can buy from Sams Club. The service was even worse! ! ! Having a tip automatically added in is quite a ploy on the restaurant part as it's probably the only method a server can obtain a tip. Slow service, rude service, no followup.
DO NOT GO HERE IF you want good food, good service, clean atmosphere. DO GO HERE if you want to be avoided, eat poorly prepared frozen food, and like a musty moldy atmosphere.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Visited June 2008 - Extremely disappointing! This establishment should NOT advertise as a Tea Room. The tea is bagged and almost choiceless! To get a proper serving of tea - you must pay an extra price above and beyond the High Tea price listed. Outrageous. The food was minimal, the sweets were frozen treats that you can buy from Sams Club. The service was even worse! ! ! Having a tip automatically added in is quite a ploy on the restaurant part as it's probably the only method a server can obtain a tip. Slow service, rude service, no followup.
DO NOT GO HERE IF you want good food, good service, clean atmosphere. DO GO HERE if you want to be avoided, eat poorly prepared frozen food, and like a musty moldy atmosphere.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Entire Experience

.

Like another reviewer, I too have visited Mittie's for many years and have always felt their chicken salad might be my choice for my "last supper" one day. However, last spring I sat down with one of the assistants and got quotes and general information for Mittie's to provide the food for a wedding shower I was hosting for 30 guests. The event was OVER 2 months away. At the end of the meeting, I was asked to leave a $100 deposit to reserve their services. I was planning on researching other vendors and would NEVER have left a deposit if I had been told it was "non-refundable". As the other reviewer indicated, less than 24 hours later, my plans had changed and I phoned to cancel and ask that my deposit check be either returned or torn up. I tried to have a pleasant conversation with the owner, but she accused me of lying and assured me that I HAD been informed that it was non-refundable. I had signed nothing and did not even leave my meeting with a written quote...just my scribbled notes on my own paper. As a consumer I have never been spoken to as I was. Rude hardly describes it. I WILL NEVER GO TO MITTIE'S AGAIN AND WILL CONTINUE TO ADVISE MY FRIENDS AND ACQUAINTANCES TO DO THE SAME.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Like another reviewer, I too have visited Mittie's for many years and have always felt their chicken salad might be my choice for my "last supper" one day. However, last spring I sat down with one of the assistants and got quotes and general information for Mittie's to provide the food for a wedding shower I was hosting for 30 guests. The event was OVER 2 months away. At the end of the meeting, I was asked to leave a $100 deposit to reserve their services. I was planning on researching other vendors and would NEVER have left a deposit if I had been told it was "non-refundable". As the other reviewer indicated, less than 24 hours later, my plans had changed and I phoned to cancel and ask that my deposit check be either returned or torn up. I tried to have a pleasant conversation with the owner, but she accused me of lying and assured me that I HAD been informed that it was non-refundable. I had signed nothing and did not even leave my meeting with a written quote...just my scribbled notes on my own paper. As a consumer I have never been spoken to as I was. Rude hardly describes it. I WILL NEVER GO TO MITTIE'S AGAIN AND WILL CONTINUE TO ADVISE MY FRIENDS AND ACQUAINTANCES TO DO THE SAME.

Pros: great chicken salad

Cons: unprofessional, condiscending and rude management

.

I chose Mittie's for a Mother's Day brunch for two. One of the few places I hadn't yet tried in the Roswell Square area and thought a tea room would be a sweet idea for Mother's Day. The management is ungracious (if not down right rude) towards patrons - you'd think they'd never dealt with a lunch rush before. The food isn't anything special and the establishment not particularly charming. My recommendations to their mgmt follow:

1. If staff is unable to greet a caller when answering the phone, then they shouldn't answer. If someone is calling to make a reservation is it rude to not acknowledge them and expect them to listen to you finish up another side-bar conversation before saying "hello". 2. If staff feels they have to yell into the phone or repeatedly tell callers to "speak up", turn the the music down. 3. Remove one of the two-top tables along the bench. While I expect most establishments in this area to be quaint and cozy, this place packs you in to the point I was constantly being bumped by the waitstaff and patrons walking past. Perhaps if you're seated at a stand alone table for 4 or more along the perimeter you'd have more room, but the bench tables are ridiculous...you might as well be dining with the people sitting next to you. 4. If a party arrives without a reservation, a calm, friendly "we don't have any tables available, but you may dine outside if you'd like or we can put you on the list" is an appropriate response. An eye roll and a put upon "shoot, well I'll see if I can find something" or a "geez, this is a bad time" is not, especially from the manager. Patrons are your livelihood. Be courteous and learn to deal with the stress of a rush time. 5. The tea was good (though the do-it-yourself press seemed a little odd) and the quiche was tasty, but much of the french toast was soggy, not cooked through, and inedible. 6. Tea time shouldn't be rushed

1
★★☆☆☆

I chose Mittie's for a Mother's Day brunch for two. One of the few places I hadn't yet tried in the Roswell Square area and thought a tea room would be a sweet idea for Mother's Day. The management is ungracious (if not down right rude) towards patrons - you'd think they'd never dealt with a lunch rush before. The food isn't anything special and the establishment not particularly charming. My recommendations to their mgmt follow:

1. If staff is unable to greet a caller when answering the phone, then they shouldn't answer. If someone is calling to make a reservation is it rude to not acknowledge them and expect them to listen to you finish up another side-bar conversation before saying "hello". 2. If staff feels they have to yell into the phone or repeatedly tell callers to "speak up", turn the the music down. 3. Remove one of the two-top tables along the bench. While I expect most establishments in this area to be quaint and cozy, this place packs you in to the point I was constantly being bumped by the waitstaff and patrons walking past. Perhaps if you're seated at a stand alone table for 4 or more along the perimeter you'd have more room, but the bench tables are ridiculous...you might as well be dining with the people sitting next to you. 4. If a party arrives without a reservation, a calm, friendly "we don't have any tables available, but you may dine outside if you'd like or we can put you on the list" is an appropriate response. An eye roll and a put upon "shoot, well I'll see if I can find something" or a "geez, this is a bad time" is not, especially from the manager. Patrons are your livelihood. Be courteous and learn to deal with the stress of a rush time. 5. The tea was good (though the do-it-yourself press seemed a little odd) and the quiche was tasty, but much of the french toast was soggy, not cooked through, and inedible. 6. Tea time shouldn't be rushed

Pros: Good tea, location

Cons: unprofessional mgmt, crowded, ambience not charming

.

A friend and I met up at Mitties new location at 25 Plum Street. At first glance I loved it. Cute little stone house with it's own parking. We ordered the High Tea and it was delightful. The young girl who served us did an awesome job getting everything we needed in a timely manor and the staff as a whole were very kind. I would definutly recomend eating at their new location.

2
★★★★★

A friend and I met up at Mitties new location at 25 Plum Street. At first glance I loved it. Cute little stone house with it's own parking. We ordered the High Tea and it was delightful. The young girl who served us did an awesome job getting everything we needed in a timely manor and the staff as a whole were very kind. I would definutly recomend eating at their new location.

.

My husband and I had lunch there this week and it was absolutely wonderful. Possibly the best chicken salad I've ever eaten and the Lobster bisque was delicious. We'll be back on a very regular basis! Oh, and our server was just soooo sweet too.

5
★★★★★

My husband and I had lunch there this week and it was absolutely wonderful. Possibly the best chicken salad I've ever eaten and the Lobster bisque was delicious. We'll be back on a very regular basis! Oh, and our server was just soooo sweet too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

i worked at mittie's tea room when i was a teenager and i was delighted to find out that there is a loation opening in norcross (where i just moved to). i look forward to being reaquainted with the deserts, delicious scones and the best sweet tea in georgia.

2
★★★★★

i worked at mittie's tea room when i was a teenager and i was delighted to find out that there is a loation opening in norcross (where i just moved to). i look forward to being reaquainted with the deserts, delicious scones and the best sweet tea in georgia.

.

I have grown up in the Roswell area and have gone to Mittie?s sense I was a child. They catered my mother?s 50th birthday party, hosted many bridesmaid?s luncheons I have attended, and have been a favorite stop for me when entertaining out of town guests. Their chicken salad is legendary and the pin-wheels are one of my favorites. A good friend of mine is pregnant and a few of us got together to give her a shower. Mittie?s immediately came to mind. I called to reserve a spot for a small group and trustingly made a deposit. I was told this deposit would go toward reserving a place and would go towards the final bill. At no point was I informed that this deposit was non-refundable. Because of some unforeseen events, I had to cancel my reservation at Mittie?s. I called two weeks before the reserved date and was informed that my deposit would not be returned, this was company policy. I informed the owner that I was not told this at the time of the deposit and she told me that she could not verify that my statement was true. Clearly, after being accused of lying, I was not pleased. I continued to try to explain the situation and come to an agreement, but was only given a quick, unkind, and unprofessional response. I am very sad that the tearoomI have enjoyed all my life has turned into an unfriendly place that does not appreciate or respect their faithful customers. Needless to say, I will not be returning.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I have grown up in the Roswell area and have gone to Mittie?s sense I was a child. They catered my mother?s 50th birthday party, hosted many bridesmaid?s luncheons I have attended, and have been a favorite stop for me when entertaining out of town guests. Their chicken salad is legendary and the pin-wheels are one of my favorites. A good friend of mine is pregnant and a few of us got together to give her a shower. Mittie?s immediately came to mind. I called to reserve a spot for a small group and trustingly made a deposit. I was told this deposit would go toward reserving a place and would go towards the final bill. At no point was I informed that this deposit was non-refundable. Because of some unforeseen events, I had to cancel my reservation at Mittie?s. I called two weeks before the reserved date and was informed that my deposit would not be returned, this was company policy. I informed the owner that I was not told this at the time of the deposit and she told me that she could not verify that my statement was true. Clearly, after being accused of lying, I was not pleased. I continued to try to explain the situation and come to an agreement, but was only given a quick, unkind, and unprofessional response. I am very sad that the tearoomI have enjoyed all my life has turned into an unfriendly place that does not appreciate or respect their faithful customers. Needless to say, I will not be returning.

.

Mittie's in Roswell has moved again to a new location. Had lunch there a few weeks ago. One of the worst dining experiences I've ever had; extremely slow service, bad food. If you must eat at Millie's go to the Alpharetta location. The service and food is much better in Alpharetta.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Mittie's in Roswell has moved again to a new location. Had lunch there a few weeks ago. One of the worst dining experiences I've ever had; extremely slow service, bad food. If you must eat at Millie's go to the Alpharetta location. The service and food is much better in Alpharetta.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Terrible Service, Bad Food

.

My friend and I were planning to enjoy a quiet afternoon tea but were surprised when there was a baby shower and a bridal shower going on at the same time. It made for a noisy room full of women celebrating! We chose to sit outside where they had a few bistro type tables set up. The tea and food was very good but our service was not great. My impression was that this is a nice place but make sure to make a reservation and check to see what else is going on while you'll be there. This was located in downtown Roswell in a quaint shopping area but I have heard they've moved so maybe the new location will allow for better service.

3
★★★☆☆

My friend and I were planning to enjoy a quiet afternoon tea but were surprised when there was a baby shower and a bridal shower going on at the same time. It made for a noisy room full of women celebrating! We chose to sit outside where they had a few bistro type tables set up. The tea and food was very good but our service was not great. My impression was that this is a nice place but make sure to make a reservation and check to see what else is going on while you'll be there. This was located in downtown Roswell in a quaint shopping area but I have heard they've moved so maybe the new location will allow for better service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hey Wendy, we have moved and have much more seating, while still in cute 100 year old cottage setting. Try us again please, I believe that you will be pleasantly surprised!
 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Mittie's Cafe Tea Room, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review