La Grotta Ristorante Italiano

★★★★☆
33.8267 -84.3867
Map and Directions to La Grotta Ristorante Italiano

404-231-1368

2637 Peachtree Rd NE

Atlanta, GA

30305

Get Directions Photos

Food

Food
More choices in Atlanta:
Resultset_next

Alfredo's Italian Restaurant

1989 Cheshire Bridge Atlanta, GA

Resultset_next

Chicago's Nancy's Pizza

265 Ponce de Leon Ave NE Atlanta, GA

4.0 34
Hi! Sign in to let us know how La Grotta Ristorante Italiano was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 34 of 34.
.

This is probably the best gnocchi I've had in Atlanta, and it was created specially for me when I couldn't find anything vegetarian on the menu (which is a little unusual for an Italian restaurant, though the emphasis here is on meat mains).

4
★★★★☆

This is probably the best gnocchi I've had in Atlanta, and it was created specially for me when I couldn't find anything vegetarian on the menu (which is a little unusual for an Italian restaurant, though the emphasis here is on meat mains).

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Wow!! For me, this is the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta. And probably the most expensive. But it is so elegant and the food is amazing. The waiters are the best. Some of them have been there for many, many years and they take pride in their personal and warm service.

5
★★★★★

Wow!! For me, this is the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta. And probably the most expensive. But it is so elegant and the food is amazing. The waiters are the best. Some of them have been there for many, many years and they take pride in their personal and warm service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Amazing place to enjoy a good time with friends and family, I love the food and wine selections.

4
★★★★☆

Amazing place to enjoy a good time with friends and family, I love the food and wine selections.

.

went to La Grotta again tonight. The food and service were amazing as usual and it made for nice ""people watching"" seeing as how Ashton Kutcher, Demi Moore, and Katherine Heigel were dining two tables over. An extra treat.

5
★★★★★

went to La Grotta again tonight. The food and service were amazing as usual and it made for nice ""people watching"" seeing as how Ashton Kutcher, Demi Moore, and Katherine Heigel were dining two tables over. An extra treat.

.

I visit the restaurant for special occasions and the staff have always exceedes expectations.\r
Wonderful Pasta !!! \r
The chef makes fresh pasta, and the goat cheese ravioli is outstanding. The waiters are friendly , and service is great. It's also very private area of Buckhead; if you're going for a romantic evening request a booth! Food always good. \r
I have been to many Italian places in Atlanta, If you want true Italian food, this is the place to go.\r

4
★★★★☆

I visit the restaurant for special occasions and the staff have always exceedes expectations.\r
Wonderful Pasta !!! \r
The chef makes fresh pasta, and the goat cheese ravioli is outstanding. The waiters are friendly , and service is great. It's also very private area of Buckhead; if you're going for a romantic evening request a booth! Food always good. \r
I have been to many Italian places in Atlanta, If you want true Italian food, this is the place to go.\r

.

This restaurant is just plain cool...hidden, almost, at the bottom of a condo complex. I have to say some of the best service that I have ever witnessed, and, of course, the food is good to boot. But what I think that I enjoyed the most is that this restaurant is unpretentious. No egos, just real people and real food.

5
★★★★★

This restaurant is just plain cool...hidden, almost, at the bottom of a condo complex. I have to say some of the best service that I have ever witnessed, and, of course, the food is good to boot. But what I think that I enjoyed the most is that this restaurant is unpretentious. No egos, just real people and real food.

Pros: great patio, service, food

.

At La Grotta we take both criticism and praise very seriously. It is for this reason (as well as the colorful language used) that we felt the need to respond to a previous review. We do appreciate feedback and utilize it to correct imperfections and improve the way that we do business in order to give our guests a better dining experience the next time that they visit with us. Maybe this is the reason that we have been here for thirty years now. It is difficult, though, to take someone seriously who compares their experience to someone afflicted with leprosy. Had we been made aware of their discontent, we would have eagerly replaced their meal with something else from the menu or even invited them back to join us on another evening with our compliments. \r
\r
On another note, the awards displayed on the wall include, among others, the DiRONA and AAA Four Diamond Awards which have both been given to us for the last fifteen years and are quite current. Lastly, we work very hard to give each guest dining with us a memorable experience, and it disheartens us immeasurably when someone has an unpleasant time and even more so when they proceed to trash us. We do sincerely hope that this guest returns and experiences La Grotta the way most individuals do, and we apologize for their dissatisfaction the last time that they dined with us. \r
Thank you for your time, La Grotta Management.\r

5
★★★★★

At La Grotta we take both criticism and praise very seriously. It is for this reason (as well as the colorful language used) that we felt the need to respond to a previous review. We do appreciate feedback and utilize it to correct imperfections and improve the way that we do business in order to give our guests a better dining experience the next time that they visit with us. Maybe this is the reason that we have been here for thirty years now. It is difficult, though, to take someone seriously who compares their experience to someone afflicted with leprosy. Had we been made aware of their discontent, we would have eagerly replaced their meal with something else from the menu or even invited them back to join us on another evening with our compliments. \r
\r
On another note, the awards displayed on the wall include, among others, the DiRONA and AAA Four Diamond Awards which have both been given to us for the last fifteen years and are quite current. Lastly, we work very hard to give each guest dining with us a memorable experience, and it disheartens us immeasurably when someone has an unpleasant time and even more so when they proceed to trash us. We do sincerely hope that this guest returns and experiences La Grotta the way most individuals do, and we apologize for their dissatisfaction the last time that they dined with us. \r
Thank you for your time, La Grotta Management.\r

.

I have been to La Grotta several times and I'm ashamed that I haven't written a review before now. There is no other restaurant like this anywhere else in the city. Upon entering the restaurant there is a long hallway adorned with 3 decades of well deserved awards and pictures of famous patrons from years passed. It doesn't feel stuffy like many other fine dining restaurants. Five minutes into my experience I felt like I had been dining there for years. The staff are all very chivalrous, savvy, and on point. \r
\r
The menu is vast and the food tastes as decadent as it looks. Try the snails, they are phenomenal, as is they venison served with a cranberry and port wine reduction. I honestly may have licked my plate had I known that no one was watching. \r
\r
When people inquire about good Italian, I would never recommend anywhere other than La Grotta. There is a reason why this restaurant has so many rave reviews?after all they have had 29 years to perfect it.

5
★★★★★

I have been to La Grotta several times and I'm ashamed that I haven't written a review before now. There is no other restaurant like this anywhere else in the city. Upon entering the restaurant there is a long hallway adorned with 3 decades of well deserved awards and pictures of famous patrons from years passed. It doesn't feel stuffy like many other fine dining restaurants. Five minutes into my experience I felt like I had been dining there for years. The staff are all very chivalrous, savvy, and on point. \r
\r
The menu is vast and the food tastes as decadent as it looks. Try the snails, they are phenomenal, as is they venison served with a cranberry and port wine reduction. I honestly may have licked my plate had I known that no one was watching. \r
\r
When people inquire about good Italian, I would never recommend anywhere other than La Grotta. There is a reason why this restaurant has so many rave reviews?after all they have had 29 years to perfect it.

Pros: friendly staff, great food, cozy atmosphere

Cons: I eat myself sick

.

First off, my wife and i are ex-New Yorkers and having been raised in NYC, are demanding ""Foodies"". We were told to go check out La Grotta, which is located in the basement of some 60-style apartment building. No view, but we were willing to give it a try. We booked a Saturday night reservation for 9 PM. We got there on time and were told by a dippy young hostess that it would be a ""few minutes"". Few minutes turned into 25 minutes. Not an impressive start. While we were waiting, I couldn,t help but notice most of the awards lining the walls. I noticed that they were all from many years ago --nothing current.\r
\r
When finally seated, we were given a great deal of attention by the staff. Not less than four staffers waited on us throughout the meal, asking if we needed anything, etc. making us feel like royalty.\r
\r
Unfortunately as our food experience unfolded, it was quite a dissapointment. I ordered the antipasto special, only to be served a Caprisi salad. When i asked the waitor about it, he told me that they had run out of the antipasto. It would have been nice, if he had informed me of this first and asked me for another selection. Did he think I wouldn't notice the switch? \r
\r
Next came the main courses. They were small portions and overcooked. I ordered the veal saltimbocca which had the consistency of the sole of my shoe. I was thinking about how I should have brought my McCullough chainssaw with me to cut it. My wife's meal was equally disappointing. \r
\r
My opinion is that La Grotta, should not try to make Italian cuisine ""fancy"" if they can't pull it off. They should also give better portions for the prices they are charging. If you want to be treated like a king, but fed like a leper, then La Grotta is the place.\r
\r
As a side note, I think it should be law that restaurants can only display food reviews on their walls going back no more than 5 years. La grotta obviously was once a top restaurant in Atlanta, but no more. \r
\r

2
★★☆☆☆

First off, my wife and i are ex-New Yorkers and having been raised in NYC, are demanding ""Foodies"". We were told to go check out La Grotta, which is located in the basement of some 60-style apartment building. No view, but we were willing to give it a try. We booked a Saturday night reservation for 9 PM. We got there on time and were told by a dippy young hostess that it would be a ""few minutes"". Few minutes turned into 25 minutes. Not an impressive start. While we were waiting, I couldn,t help but notice most of the awards lining the walls. I noticed that they were all from many years ago --nothing current.\r
\r
When finally seated, we were given a great deal of attention by the staff. Not less than four staffers waited on us throughout the meal, asking if we needed anything, etc. making us feel like royalty.\r
\r
Unfortunately as our food experience unfolded, it was quite a dissapointment. I ordered the antipasto special, only to be served a Caprisi salad. When i asked the waitor about it, he told me that they had run out of the antipasto. It would have been nice, if he had informed me of this first and asked me for another selection. Did he think I wouldn't notice the switch? \r
\r
Next came the main courses. They were small portions and overcooked. I ordered the veal saltimbocca which had the consistency of the sole of my shoe. I was thinking about how I should have brought my McCullough chainssaw with me to cut it. My wife's meal was equally disappointing. \r
\r
My opinion is that La Grotta, should not try to make Italian cuisine ""fancy"" if they can't pull it off. They should also give better portions for the prices they are charging. If you want to be treated like a king, but fed like a leper, then La Grotta is the place.\r
\r
As a side note, I think it should be law that restaurants can only display food reviews on their walls going back no more than 5 years. La grotta obviously was once a top restaurant in Atlanta, but no more. \r
\r

Pros: Very Attentive staff, makes you feel like royalty

Cons: Poor food preparation, small overpriced portions.

.

We met some friends for dinner at La Grotta and let me say...besides a wonderful setting....great tasting food...what I will always cherish is the wonderful way we were treated. The whole staff makes you feel so welcome. You truly feel like a part of the family. I plan to bring my NY family to La Grotta and show them we also have some GREAT Italian (authentic) Italian ristorantes here in Atlanta. Thank you La Grotta...for making dinner a wonderful experience. We will be back VERY soon.\r
\r
Diane and Dave Offutt\r
Woodstock, Georgia 30189

5
★★★★★

We met some friends for dinner at La Grotta and let me say...besides a wonderful setting....great tasting food...what I will always cherish is the wonderful way we were treated. The whole staff makes you feel so welcome. You truly feel like a part of the family. I plan to bring my NY family to La Grotta and show them we also have some GREAT Italian (authentic) Italian ristorantes here in Atlanta. Thank you La Grotta...for making dinner a wonderful experience. We will be back VERY soon.\r
\r
Diane and Dave Offutt\r
Woodstock, Georgia 30189

Pros: EVERTHING is great..parking, atmosphere, service, food, wine, value

Cons: I did not find any cons...this is a fantastic restaurant. Want to feel special; then dine there.

.

La Grotta was the first restaurant I went to when I moved to Atlanta 16 years ago. It is still just as fabulous now as it was then. I have never had a disappointing meal and the staff is extremely courteous...sometimes reminding me of a bad Saturday Night Live skit. That aside, after your first visit, you are always remembered and part of the family. A real delight that I hope everyone can experience. A+++

5
★★★★★

La Grotta was the first restaurant I went to when I moved to Atlanta 16 years ago. It is still just as fabulous now as it was then. I have never had a disappointing meal and the staff is extremely courteous...sometimes reminding me of a bad Saturday Night Live skit. That aside, after your first visit, you are always remembered and part of the family. A real delight that I hope everyone can experience. A+++

Pros: Food, waitstaff, FOOD!!!

Cons: Not for a romantic evening.

.

We love La Grotta....they have wonderful red wine selections (Amarone, Barolo)\r
I love the panna cotta for dessert. They also have delicious lobster ravioli. The waiters know there stuff, decant the wines when they should be; they often can accommodate a special request. The house totrelloni is perfection! I hate we overlooked it for so long, but we have been 4 times in the past year.

5
★★★★★

We love La Grotta....they have wonderful red wine selections (Amarone, Barolo)\r
I love the panna cotta for dessert. They also have delicious lobster ravioli. The waiters know there stuff, decant the wines when they should be; they often can accommodate a special request. The house totrelloni is perfection! I hate we overlooked it for so long, but we have been 4 times in the past year.

Pros: small dining room, great waiters

Cons: limited seatings/reservations

.

This place has been a favorite of mine since my parents started bringing me here at the age of 8 (which was quite some time ago!). I usually don't write reviews but felt compelled to do so after reading the previous one which I found utterly ridiculous...couldn't have been the same place. The staff here is old school (the ""rookie,"" as he sometimes calls himself, has been there for 13 years!) and will bend over backwards to make sure that you have an enjoyable evening. At any rate, I always love coming here and look forward to my next visit.

5
★★★★★

This place has been a favorite of mine since my parents started bringing me here at the age of 8 (which was quite some time ago!). I usually don't write reviews but felt compelled to do so after reading the previous one which I found utterly ridiculous...couldn't have been the same place. The staff here is old school (the ""rookie,"" as he sometimes calls himself, has been there for 13 years!) and will bend over backwards to make sure that you have an enjoyable evening. At any rate, I always love coming here and look forward to my next visit.

Pros: service staff, food, patio

Cons: small bar

.

Just a response to the that last review. Unfortunately it was the same place and yes I can even name the server. But I will not because I dont mean him any ill will. I understand its a local fav. I am a buckhead local, and have been for several years, so I do know a little bit about local places, but to say that this review was ridiculous, just makes you look very small. It would really do you and La Grotta good to write a review on your experience rather than a review of a review. Also if La Grotta was truely interested, they really need to try and see what was up that evening and fix that issue rather than dissing reviews

1
★☆☆☆☆

Just a response to the that last review. Unfortunately it was the same place and yes I can even name the server. But I will not because I dont mean him any ill will. I understand its a local fav. I am a buckhead local, and have been for several years, so I do know a little bit about local places, but to say that this review was ridiculous, just makes you look very small. It would really do you and La Grotta good to write a review on your experience rather than a review of a review. Also if La Grotta was truely interested, they really need to try and see what was up that evening and fix that issue rather than dissing reviews

Pros: Food tasted ok

Cons: horrible service , horrible ambience AVOID LIKE PLAGUE

.

My fiancee and I were visiting Atlanta during the weekend of my birthday so we chose La Grotta as the place for our celebration dinner. The reviews said that it wasn't touristy and we were excited.\r
\r
This place was definitely NOT touristy. It seemed to be a hang out for conservative old-money types, so not necessarily our crowd but romantic enough... which is what we were hoping for. It would have been great to have a seat outside but they didn't have one for us. The food was delicious, the wine selections were decent and the owner even came to chat with us while we ate. There was one somewhat annoying busboy who kept interrupting our conversation to boast about the celebrities that eat at the restaurant... we just did our best to ignore him.\r
\r
I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

3
★★★☆☆

My fiancee and I were visiting Atlanta during the weekend of my birthday so we chose La Grotta as the place for our celebration dinner. The reviews said that it wasn't touristy and we were excited.\r
\r
This place was definitely NOT touristy. It seemed to be a hang out for conservative old-money types, so not necessarily our crowd but romantic enough... which is what we were hoping for. It would have been great to have a seat outside but they didn't have one for us. The food was delicious, the wine selections were decent and the owner even came to chat with us while we ate. There was one somewhat annoying busboy who kept interrupting our conversation to boast about the celebrities that eat at the restaurant... we just did our best to ignore him.\r
\r
I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Pros: food, friendly owner

Cons: annoying busboy and snotty (overworked) hostess

.

This is one of our favorite restaurants in atlanta. What a wonderful dining experience. Every visit you can expect consistency. The food is always well prepared and mouth watering. It's not too done nor it's too saucy. It's just right! Try their veal, you will know exactly what i'm talking about. The atmosphere is cozy and warm. The service is second to none and the staff's recommendations are highly accurate. If you want a perfect dining experience, this restaurant will be it!\r

5
★★★★★

This is one of our favorite restaurants in atlanta. What a wonderful dining experience. Every visit you can expect consistency. The food is always well prepared and mouth watering. It's not too done nor it's too saucy. It's just right! Try their veal, you will know exactly what i'm talking about. The atmosphere is cozy and warm. The service is second to none and the staff's recommendations are highly accurate. If you want a perfect dining experience, this restaurant will be it!\r

Pros: value, food, service

Cons: hope there were more tables available :)

.

I must say, I'm really amused at some of these reviews from people who don't really know anything about fine dining, or the real city of Atlanta. They don't know Peachtree St. from Peachtree Rd., or Lenox Square from Lenox Mall! Well, baby, take it from someone who does. I've been eating here with Sergio and his fine staff, for over twenty-five years, and it's the real fine Italian dining, born in this city. I won't even go out to Ravinia, only here to the Peachtree House. Long-time servers, long-time menu classics, and a real Southern charm. It dosen't get any better, and if you don't know, you never will. This restaurant in not located in a basement, but on the lower level, of Peachtre House, one of Atlanta's first high-end, low rise condo's, overlooking a beautiful interior garden. And it does not have a best kept secret status, everyone knows, this is the place for the best!

5
★★★★★

I must say, I'm really amused at some of these reviews from people who don't really know anything about fine dining, or the real city of Atlanta. They don't know Peachtree St. from Peachtree Rd., or Lenox Square from Lenox Mall! Well, baby, take it from someone who does. I've been eating here with Sergio and his fine staff, for over twenty-five years, and it's the real fine Italian dining, born in this city. I won't even go out to Ravinia, only here to the Peachtree House. Long-time servers, long-time menu classics, and a real Southern charm. It dosen't get any better, and if you don't know, you never will. This restaurant in not located in a basement, but on the lower level, of Peachtre House, one of Atlanta's first high-end, low rise condo's, overlooking a beautiful interior garden. And it does not have a best kept secret status, everyone knows, this is the place for the best!

Pros: The Classic Atlanta Italian Standard! Sergio!

Cons: None! Are You Kidding!

.

Thank you for taking the time to list a review but I don't believe you were in our restaurant. Samples of wine are given in wine glasses always, we do not have crab cakes on our menu or as a special, we do not have a NY steak on our menu. As far as the wine goes, we serve the guests whatever they ask for. If they would like white wine with steak then we give them white wine with steak. We know how wine pairings work quite well but the guest is always right. A majority of our guest also choose the wine before ordering dinner so the red wine will have time to breath. Obviously, we hope they have looked over the menu and chosen according to their dinner choices. We find it disappointing that you had a bad dining experience and we are sure there is much more to it than the review that was posted. I would like to point out that both of our locations have a very diverse menu. If the chef at our other location, which I have a feeling you dined there, chose to do crab cakes as a special, then he must believe that it could be found in Italy. I did find a recipe on Italian cooking & living for crab cakes in my first search. I have passed your review on to our other restaurant to take note of. Obviously, there were some issues. \r
Thank you,\r
La Grotta Management

5
★★★★★

Thank you for taking the time to list a review but I don't believe you were in our restaurant. Samples of wine are given in wine glasses always, we do not have crab cakes on our menu or as a special, we do not have a NY steak on our menu. As far as the wine goes, we serve the guests whatever they ask for. If they would like white wine with steak then we give them white wine with steak. We know how wine pairings work quite well but the guest is always right. A majority of our guest also choose the wine before ordering dinner so the red wine will have time to breath. Obviously, we hope they have looked over the menu and chosen according to their dinner choices. We find it disappointing that you had a bad dining experience and we are sure there is much more to it than the review that was posted. I would like to point out that both of our locations have a very diverse menu. If the chef at our other location, which I have a feeling you dined there, chose to do crab cakes as a special, then he must believe that it could be found in Italy. I did find a recipe on Italian cooking & living for crab cakes in my first search. I have passed your review on to our other restaurant to take note of. Obviously, there were some issues. \r
Thank you,\r
La Grotta Management

.

When was the last time you were served wine samples in a short glass? When was the last time you were offered wine before your meal selection? After making your selection (beef in our cases) when was the last time you were offered white wine with your NY steak? Not done yet, when was the last time you saw crabcakes on the special of the evening at a genuine Italian restaurant? If you aren't a fan of fine Italian food, enjoy poor service and inflated prices, this is the place for you.

2
★★☆☆☆

When was the last time you were served wine samples in a short glass? When was the last time you were offered wine before your meal selection? After making your selection (beef in our cases) when was the last time you were offered white wine with your NY steak? Not done yet, when was the last time you saw crabcakes on the special of the evening at a genuine Italian restaurant? If you aren't a fan of fine Italian food, enjoy poor service and inflated prices, this is the place for you.

.

I can't say enough about this restaurant...I dine here frequently. Definately my fav. restaurant in the city. The food, service, as well as ambiance are consistantly amazing, as well as a great value. Highly recommended!

5
★★★★★

I can't say enough about this restaurant...I dine here frequently. Definately my fav. restaurant in the city. The food, service, as well as ambiance are consistantly amazing, as well as a great value. Highly recommended!

Pros: service, ambiance, food

.

I am really critical of customer service and food quality. This establishment definitely surpassed my expectations. Wonderful alfredo sauce, the chicken breast that was tossed with it was perfect, the ravioli with goat cheese was superb, the bruschetta--------- ahh, bruschetta, the portabella mushroom appetizer was perfectly flavorful, the tartuffo was exceptional, and the ricotta cheesecake was extraordinary.

Be sure to bring cash for valet driver.

5
★★★★★

I am really critical of customer service and food quality. This establishment definitely surpassed my expectations. Wonderful alfredo sauce, the chicken breast that was tossed with it was perfect, the ravioli with goat cheese was superb, the bruschetta--------- ahh, bruschetta, the portabella mushroom appetizer was perfectly flavorful, the tartuffo was exceptional, and the ricotta cheesecake was extraordinary.

Be sure to bring cash for valet driver.

Pros: Excellent food, Excellent service, Great menu variety

Cons: Valet parking only

.

The family that owns this restaurant truly contribute to the overall experience. The Favalli clan have over 25 years experience providing authentic Italian cuisine to the Atlanta area and they have not missed a step since I first discovered their restaurant.

Papa Favalli sources some phenomenal wines and offers them at unbeatable prices when one considers the value of some of these bottles.

5
★★★★★

The family that owns this restaurant truly contribute to the overall experience. The Favalli clan have over 25 years experience providing authentic Italian cuisine to the Atlanta area and they have not missed a step since I first discovered their restaurant.

Papa Favalli sources some phenomenal wines and offers them at unbeatable prices when one considers the value of some of these bottles.

Pros: wine, food, service

Cons: I don't get to go, as much as I , would like

.

In a city with many wonderful options for food, it is sometimes difficult to find a stand out. La Grotta is that stand out. The food was amazing- the escargot delicious and the veal so tender... My husband's dish (the capalinni) was the best pasta creation I have ever had. However, it was the quiet ambiance (rare in this city) and the personal attention by the staff that made our evening perfect. I would reccomend this restaurant to anyone who truly appreciates food and is seeking a classic dining experience.

5
★★★★★

In a city with many wonderful options for food, it is sometimes difficult to find a stand out. La Grotta is that stand out. The food was amazing- the escargot delicious and the veal so tender... My husband's dish (the capalinni) was the best pasta creation I have ever had. However, it was the quiet ambiance (rare in this city) and the personal attention by the staff that made our evening perfect. I would reccomend this restaurant to anyone who truly appreciates food and is seeking a classic dining experience.

Pros: Food, Service, Ambiance

.

Service was wonderful. Very helpful and attentive waiters. Food was great. Not your typical italian with heavy sauces, but very good. Would definatly go back.

4
★★★★☆

Service was wonderful. Very helpful and attentive waiters. Food was great. Not your typical italian with heavy sauces, but very good. Would definatly go back.

.

This is my favorite ""special occassion"" restaurant. I always recommend it when friends ask where to go for a birthday or anniversary. The food is phenomenal and the service attentive without being too much.

It is pricey so we only get there about once a year but we've never had a bad experience.

5
★★★★★

This is my favorite ""special occassion"" restaurant. I always recommend it when friends ask where to go for a birthday or anniversary. The food is phenomenal and the service attentive without being too much.

It is pricey so we only get there about once a year but we've never had a bad experience.

Pros: Excellent food, Nice Atmosphere, Difficult to find

Cons: Expensive, Weird location

.

What a great evening...BEST MEAL & Service we have seen in a long time. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND to the most descriminating diner. You just cannot go wrong.

5
★★★★★

What a great evening...BEST MEAL & Service we have seen in a long time. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND to the most descriminating diner. You just cannot go wrong.

Pros: excellent food, great service, nice wine selections

.

The best Italian restaurant in Atlanta and our favorite overall. Both food and service are exceptional.

5
★★★★★

The best Italian restaurant in Atlanta and our favorite overall. Both food and service are exceptional.

Pros: food, service, ambiance

.

I've tried a lot of Italian places in Atlanta, but I never tasted Italian until La Grotta. By far and away the most authentic Italian food in the city, served by Italians. A very classy restaurant, without the pretentiousness of some places and the value is excellent.

5
★★★★★

I've tried a lot of Italian places in Atlanta, but I never tasted Italian until La Grotta. By far and away the most authentic Italian food in the city, served by Italians. A very classy restaurant, without the pretentiousness of some places and the value is excellent.

.

A first timer to the La Grotta. Had reservations but I got lost on the way to the restaurant and showed up an hour late. They were courteous and understanding and seated us promply. The service was as excellent as the food and atmosphere. The La Grotta Ristorante Italiano is my wife's most memorable and romantic restaurant.

5
★★★★★

A first timer to the La Grotta. Had reservations but I got lost on the way to the restaurant and showed up an hour late. They were courteous and understanding and seated us promply. The service was as excellent as the food and atmosphere. The La Grotta Ristorante Italiano is my wife's most memorable and romantic restaurant.

Pros: Warm, Professional, Delicious

.

This place rocks! The best food and drink that can be had. Reservations are not required all the time (I've gotten in without them) but definately recommended!

5
★★★★★

This place rocks! The best food and drink that can be had. Reservations are not required all the time (I've gotten in without them) but definately recommended!

Pros: Multilingual Servers, Great food, Great deserts

Cons: location

.

I had booked a table for 9pm, we arrived at 9:10 and the host said the table wasn't ready yet. Five minutes later we were escorted to our table, but then we noticed the outside patio and asked if we could be seated there. This seemed to annoy the host and he curtly whisked us back. Ten minutes later he called us to our table and wasn't very pleasant about it. After that fiasco, however, the service was great, the food fantastic, and the atmosphere very pleasant. Overall, a very good restaurant!

5
★★★★★

I had booked a table for 9pm, we arrived at 9:10 and the host said the table wasn't ready yet. Five minutes later we were escorted to our table, but then we noticed the outside patio and asked if we could be seated there. This seemed to annoy the host and he curtly whisked us back. Ten minutes later he called us to our table and wasn't very pleasant about it. After that fiasco, however, the service was great, the food fantastic, and the atmosphere very pleasant. Overall, a very good restaurant!

Pros: Great food, Great service, Great atmosphere

Cons: Host was curt

.

The pinnacle of not only Italian dining in Atlanta, but of fine dining. Always a great experience.

5
★★★★★

The pinnacle of not only Italian dining in Atlanta, but of fine dining. Always a great experience.

Pros: wine list, service PROFESSIONALS, food

.

WOW....is all I have to say!! The food, service, and ambience is CONSISTENTLY GREAT!!! I have been eating here since I was a lil' girl (20 yrs or so), a truly romantic and authentic Itallian restraunt! I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND IT!

5
★★★★★

WOW....is all I have to say!! The food, service, and ambience is CONSISTENTLY GREAT!!! I have been eating here since I was a lil' girl (20 yrs or so), a truly romantic and authentic Itallian restraunt! I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND IT!

Pros: Great food, GREAT SERVICE, Personable staff

.

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant. This is where I want to go for every special occasion or just if we decide we want a romantic night out. I've never had anything at La Grotta that was anything less than perfect. They consistently provide good quality food. It's not always fancy-schmancy (a lot of the dishes are sort of rustic Italian), but it is always fabulous. My favorite part of dinner is always the sweet 60-year old Italian waiters who flirt shamelessly with the female clientele. I absolutely adore this place and always recommend it when people ask where to take someone for a special night.

5
★★★★★

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant. This is where I want to go for every special occasion or just if we decide we want a romantic night out. I've never had anything at La Grotta that was anything less than perfect. They consistently provide good quality food. It's not always fancy-schmancy (a lot of the dishes are sort of rustic Italian), but it is always fabulous. My favorite part of dinner is always the sweet 60-year old Italian waiters who flirt shamelessly with the female clientele. I absolutely adore this place and always recommend it when people ask where to take someone for a special night.

Pros: Great Food, Perfect service, Complementary Valet

Cons: Not so easy to find, Somewhat expensive

Editorial from

Patrons in the mood for romance will hardly find a more apt spot than this edition of La Grotta, where gentlemen popping the question are a frequent event and the positive responses they get equally common. Gentle lighting and fineā€¦

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    Pasta Vino Buckhead
    4% ★★★★☆ 20 reviews
    0.45 mi
  2. 2
    Via Restaurant
    5% ★★★★★ 3 reviews
    0.85 mi
  3. 3
    0.87 mi
  4. 4
    Varasano's Pizzeria
    4% ★★★★☆ 13 reviews
    0.95 mi