Kurt's Bistro

★★★★☆
34.0189 -84.1655
Map and Directions to Kurt's & Vreny's Restaurant & Biergarten

678-367-0900

3305 Peachtree Industrial Boulevard

Duluth, GA

30096

Get Directions Photos

About Kurt's Bistro

Hours
M-Th 4:30pm-9:30pm, F-Sa 4:30pm-10pm, Su Closed
3.6667 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Kurt's Bistro was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 9 of 9.
.

Dined there last night with friends. The entire meal was very disappointing. The entree was overcooked, dry, and had mushy breading thrown on top of the veal. The spaetzle tasted like it sat in water for a week, soggy, mushy, no flavor. The red cabbage was absolutely pitiful, no flavor whatsoever. Being German, I expected it to be somewhat authentic. I was very disappointed. The strudel did not even arrive warm, the coffee arrived cold! Horrible meal, OVERPRICED. The wait staff could care less if you are satisfied. Not recommended if you want real German food, stay away!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Dined there last night with friends. The entire meal was very disappointing. The entree was overcooked, dry, and had mushy breading thrown on top of the veal. The spaetzle tasted like it sat in water for a week, soggy, mushy, no flavor. The red cabbage was absolutely pitiful, no flavor whatsoever. Being German, I expected it to be somewhat authentic. I was very disappointed. The strudel did not even arrive warm, the coffee arrived cold! Horrible meal, OVERPRICED. The wait staff could care less if you are satisfied. Not recommended if you want real German food, stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

humble response we attempt to be as authentic as possible. It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience and I urge you to give us a second chance. Since 1985, we strive to please every customer and sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
.

Kurt's is a very nice restaurant. It is clean and has a great menu. Service is great as well. Its great for a business lunch or a nice evening of dining!

5
★★★★★

Kurt's is a very nice restaurant. It is clean and has a great menu. Service is great as well. Its great for a business lunch or a nice evening of dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

thank you We truly appreciate the time you took to write your review and hope to see you often in 2009!
.

After reading the reviews, I just had to write one myself. If you want fast-food, then go to McDonald's. If you want something that is mixed up in a factory, pre-packaged, frozen, shipped to the restaurant and "nuked" to order, go to Olive Garden, Chili's, Applebee's, Longhorn's or any of the other CHAIN restaurants of your choice. When you dine at Kurt's, you are dining in the best little Continental restaurant on the planet. The Staff is wonderful and the food is out of this world! There's not one item on the menu that is bad! Europeans pride themselves on quality and service and Kurt's has proven it time and time again! If you want a dining experience that brings Europe to you with a flare, go to Kurt's. If you want to eat a processed "pile of goo" served to you in 15 minutes, go to a chain restaurant. I'm sure that everyone concerned will be happy you did so.

5
★★★★★

After reading the reviews, I just had to write one myself. If you want fast-food, then go to McDonald's. If you want something that is mixed up in a factory, pre-packaged, frozen, shipped to the restaurant and "nuked" to order, go to Olive Garden, Chili's, Applebee's, Longhorn's or any of the other CHAIN restaurants of your choice. When you dine at Kurt's, you are dining in the best little Continental restaurant on the planet. The Staff is wonderful and the food is out of this world! There's not one item on the menu that is bad! Europeans pride themselves on quality and service and Kurt's has proven it time and time again! If you want a dining experience that brings Europe to you with a flare, go to Kurt's. If you want to eat a processed "pile of goo" served to you in 15 minutes, go to a chain restaurant. I'm sure that everyone concerned will be happy you did so.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

PLEASE NOTE: The vast MAJORITY of the reviews on here are from before 2010. Kurt's Bistro opened its doors on March 11, 2011.

We were at a former location with a different concept and staff and we recognized our short comings...

6
★★★★★

PLEASE NOTE: The vast MAJORITY of the reviews on here are from before 2010. Kurt's Bistro opened its doors on March 11, 2011.

We were at a former location with a different concept and staff and we recognized our short comings...

.

We've always been big fans of Kurts and Vrenys (and their deck) but this was our first time going for New Years Eve.
When we arrived we were immediately offered champagne. The food was delicious, especially the homemade sausage strudel, the salads and the citrus sorbet.
My petite filet was perfect and the Bearnaise sauce was the best I've had in a very long time.
We had the wine pairing which was good value, however we were surprised that we were both drinking the same wines with my husband having the sausage strudel and me the crab cake. Though there were no wine pairing with the dessert we were offered an additional glass of champagne which was nice.
The service was OK but we felt a bit rushed.

4
★★★★☆

We've always been big fans of Kurts and Vrenys (and their deck) but this was our first time going for New Years Eve.
When we arrived we were immediately offered champagne. The food was delicious, especially the homemade sausage strudel, the salads and the citrus sorbet.
My petite filet was perfect and the Bearnaise sauce was the best I've had in a very long time.
We had the wine pairing which was good value, however we were surprised that we were both drinking the same wines with my husband having the sausage strudel and me the crab cake. Though there were no wine pairing with the dessert we were offered an additional glass of champagne which was nice.
The service was OK but we felt a bit rushed.

Pros: Food, Deck

Cons: Service

.

Just had another memorable birthday dinner, with 12 of my best friends, last night. This place keeps evolving and keeping up with the times. Year after year I look forward to dining at Kurt's & Vreny's, and they don't dissapoint. Thanks to the owners, staff and all the extras which makes this one of my favorite places in all of Atlanta!

5
★★★★★

Just had another memorable birthday dinner, with 12 of my best friends, last night. This place keeps evolving and keeping up with the times. Year after year I look forward to dining at Kurt's & Vreny's, and they don't dissapoint. Thanks to the owners, staff and all the extras which makes this one of my favorite places in all of Atlanta!

Pros: Hidden Gem

Cons: Hard To Find (but worth it)

.

About 2 years ago, I ate at Kurt?s & loved it. This visit, I could not believe that I was at the same restaurant. Due to the reasons below, nobody should ever eat at this restaurant, unless they need a good reason to call in sick to work.

* Sanitation:
- we found the food inspection report of a B-87% - mostly due to time and temperature issues and not cleaning produce ? this is nasty. The previous rating was an 86 ? not much of an improvement.

* Bad service:
- waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged at door
- waited 45 minutes at table to order food
- waitress forgot our drinks 4 times
- never got the free birthday dessert, as promised
- waitress had an attitude and was very slow
- were not thanked for dining at the restaurant upon departure

* Availability of menu:
- ran out of 2 types of beer that we ordered
- tiny liquor selection even though they claim to have a full bar
- ran out of giant pretzel appetizer
- almost no wine selection by the glass

* Food quality:
-Chicken Schnitzel was bland & not pounded thin at all
- Spaetzle was bland
- Everything else was overly coated with a poultry seasoning-very strange

* Look & Feel:
- tasteless 1980?s posters everywhere, including men?s restrooms.
- There was a combination of stinky cheese and body odor smells
- Temperature was about 90 degrees with no circulation

1
★☆☆☆☆

About 2 years ago, I ate at Kurt?s & loved it. This visit, I could not believe that I was at the same restaurant. Due to the reasons below, nobody should ever eat at this restaurant, unless they need a good reason to call in sick to work.

* Sanitation:
- we found the food inspection report of a B-87% - mostly due to time and temperature issues and not cleaning produce ? this is nasty. The previous rating was an 86 ? not much of an improvement.

* Bad service:
- waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged at door
- waited 45 minutes at table to order food
- waitress forgot our drinks 4 times
- never got the free birthday dessert, as promised
- waitress had an attitude and was very slow
- were not thanked for dining at the restaurant upon departure

* Availability of menu:
- ran out of 2 types of beer that we ordered
- tiny liquor selection even though they claim to have a full bar
- ran out of giant pretzel appetizer
- almost no wine selection by the glass

* Food quality:
-Chicken Schnitzel was bland & not pounded thin at all
- Spaetzle was bland
- Everything else was overly coated with a poultry seasoning-very strange

* Look & Feel:
- tasteless 1980?s posters everywhere, including men?s restrooms.
- There was a combination of stinky cheese and body odor smells
- Temperature was about 90 degrees with no circulation

Pros: None

Cons: Service, Food, Sanitation, & Ambience

.

My wife and I have eaten at Kurt's and Vreny's in the past, but had not had a chance to visit since they had combined, so decided to check their website to see what were their plans for Valentine's evening. The web page was admittedly a bit hard to read but once we fiddled with the contrast if was clear that this would be a fixed-price menu with optional wine pairings, and we liked the looks of the selections, so decided to give it a go. When we called for reservations we were again reminded that this was a limited menu, so I guess the first advantage was that we had an idea what to expect.

Now, we arrived slightly early for our six-o'clock reseration and were seated promptly. After looking at the menu and the standard wine pairings, we decided instead to opt for a bottle of Riesling Kabinett (Rheingau), which we found to have a good balance and which subsequently proved a good pairing with the food. (Yes, I know that in addition to the seafood, there was beef involved, but we are less finicky about such things than some.)

For starters my wife chose the lobster bisque going to the salad, and I the lump crab going to the tomatos. These were absolutely tasty. For the main course we had the lobster tail and the chateaubriand, both of which were cooked perfectly. I have had lobster too many times when it has been dry, but this had perfect texture and taste -- I am from Maine and can claim some experience in this regard. And lastly we found the dessert "just right" -- a little something for every taste.

Our server was young but obviously experienced. Although she was not personally familiar with the wine list, she found answers for our wine-related questions; and these answers led us to a wine which we thoroughly enjoyed. She did not "hover" but always seemed to be present whever she was wanted, and the courses seemed to arrive at exactly the right time.

All-in-all, it was one of the best dining experiences we have had.

5
★★★★★

My wife and I have eaten at Kurt's and Vreny's in the past, but had not had a chance to visit since they had combined, so decided to check their website to see what were their plans for Valentine's evening. The web page was admittedly a bit hard to read but once we fiddled with the contrast if was clear that this would be a fixed-price menu with optional wine pairings, and we liked the looks of the selections, so decided to give it a go. When we called for reservations we were again reminded that this was a limited menu, so I guess the first advantage was that we had an idea what to expect.

Now, we arrived slightly early for our six-o'clock reseration and were seated promptly. After looking at the menu and the standard wine pairings, we decided instead to opt for a bottle of Riesling Kabinett (Rheingau), which we found to have a good balance and which subsequently proved a good pairing with the food. (Yes, I know that in addition to the seafood, there was beef involved, but we are less finicky about such things than some.)

For starters my wife chose the lobster bisque going to the salad, and I the lump crab going to the tomatos. These were absolutely tasty. For the main course we had the lobster tail and the chateaubriand, both of which were cooked perfectly. I have had lobster too many times when it has been dry, but this had perfect texture and taste -- I am from Maine and can claim some experience in this regard. And lastly we found the dessert "just right" -- a little something for every taste.

Our server was young but obviously experienced. Although she was not personally familiar with the wine list, she found answers for our wine-related questions; and these answers led us to a wine which we thoroughly enjoyed. She did not "hover" but always seemed to be present whever she was wanted, and the courses seemed to arrive at exactly the right time.

All-in-all, it was one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Pros: Wine list; food taste and presentation; atmosphere; service

Cons: Price may discourage some.

.

1) Website said nothing about a "price fix" menu for Valentine's day
2) Website showed "expanded menu, since Kurt's and Vrenny's were combined.
3) We have eaten here before and had good meals, although consistently slow service
4) Service was horrible, we had a couple come in to sit next to us 20 minutes after we got there and we were all eating our dessert at the same time.
5) Menu - Appetizer - one of the choices was "International Cheese Plate" - Ok, can you say.....KROGER?
6) Bread was good, but cold
7) Salads - 2 choices, Ceasar and Mozzerella/Tomato Vinegarette - 1 piece of Mozzerella and a whole plate of badly chopped tomatoes. YUCK
8) Only 5 main courses to chose from - One was supposed to be Chateaubriand. OK, it was Skirt Steak or Flat Iron Steak. It was NOT Chateaubriand. My husband's New York Strip was more tender!!!! It was Medium Well! It took 35 to 40 minutes from Salad to Main course.
9) They did (grudgingly) take $25 off the check even though I only had 4 small bites of the 2 pieces of meat on my plate. It had so much gristle in it even my husband thought it was bad and the Bernaise sauce was horrible and I spent 30 minutes in the bathroom when I got home. I was told "Well, no one else has complained tonight" I asked my husband what he thought and he said it was bad.
10) Dessert - Kroger Bakery - Cheesecake
2 Words: NEVER AGAIN.
Since they made the change, they do not care about Quality, about their customers.
We got there at 7:00pm and we left at 9:45 - that is how long it took us to get served. Also - we ordered a bottle of white wine, no wine bucket to keep it cold, it was warm by the time we finished it.
I would never ever go here again.

1
★☆☆☆☆

1) Website said nothing about a "price fix" menu for Valentine's day
2) Website showed "expanded menu, since Kurt's and Vrenny's were combined.
3) We have eaten here before and had good meals, although consistently slow service
4) Service was horrible, we had a couple come in to sit next to us 20 minutes after we got there and we were all eating our dessert at the same time.
5) Menu - Appetizer - one of the choices was "International Cheese Plate" - Ok, can you say.....KROGER?
6) Bread was good, but cold
7) Salads - 2 choices, Ceasar and Mozzerella/Tomato Vinegarette - 1 piece of Mozzerella and a whole plate of badly chopped tomatoes. YUCK
8) Only 5 main courses to chose from - One was supposed to be Chateaubriand. OK, it was Skirt Steak or Flat Iron Steak. It was NOT Chateaubriand. My husband's New York Strip was more tender!!!! It was Medium Well! It took 35 to 40 minutes from Salad to Main course.
9) They did (grudgingly) take $25 off the check even though I only had 4 small bites of the 2 pieces of meat on my plate. It had so much gristle in it even my husband thought it was bad and the Bernaise sauce was horrible and I spent 30 minutes in the bathroom when I got home. I was told "Well, no one else has complained tonight" I asked my husband what he thought and he said it was bad.
10) Dessert - Kroger Bakery - Cheesecake
2 Words: NEVER AGAIN.
Since they made the change, they do not care about Quality, about their customers.
We got there at 7:00pm and we left at 9:45 - that is how long it took us to get served. Also - we ordered a bottle of white wine, no wine bucket to keep it cold, it was warm by the time we finished it.
I would never ever go here again.

Pros: Location

Cons: Everything else

Message from Kurt's Bistro

Housed in a charming restored farmhouse circa 1930's, Kurt's & Vreny's now offer the best of both worlds by combining both its casual and formal menus into one - providing a fun, authentic dining atmosphere with plenty of European charm and ambiance without sacrificing any attention to detail . The menu offers a variety of Seafood and Steaks along with European Specialty Dishes with an emphasis on Traditional German specialty dishes including Wienerschnitzel, Bavarian Sausages, Sauerbraten and Schweinshaxen. We also specialize in German Draft Biers, a large variety of specialty bottled biers, a complete wine list and an extensive Full Bar.

Our Catering Department hosts unforgettable Weddings and Rehearsal Dinners along with private facilities for corporate events, family gatherings, exclusive celebrations and holiday dinners.



Since 1985 - we continue to offer all of Gwinnett & Atlanta The Most Unique Dining Experience Around



5 Private Rooms * 2 Distinct Dining Rooms * 1 Unique Menu

. . . endless opportunities

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    Vreny's Biergarten
    4% ★★★★☆ 2 reviews
    0.03 mi