Mali Restaurant

★★★★☆
  • 961 Amsterdam Ave NE

    Atlanta, GA 30306

    Map & Directions
  • 404-874-1411

About Mali Restaurant

Hours
Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm Monday - Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm Friday - 5:30 - 11:30 pm Saturday - 5:00 - 11:30 pm Sunday - 5:00 - 10:30 pm

Food

Food
More choices in Atlanta:
Resultset_next

Taka Sushi Cafe

385 Pharr Rd NE Atlanta, GA

Resultset_next

M F Sushi Bar

265 Ponce De Leon Ave NE Atlanta, GA

4.3 40
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Mali Restaurant was?
Write a Review
.

My husband and I love Mali because we live in Morningside and can take a leisurely stroll there. The food is consistently good but the customer service is getting worse. We've eaten here at least 10 times and the last straw for us was this past Valentine's Day. We waited over an hour for our appetizers. Our waiter didn't come back and check on us. We had to flag him down and ask for our food. He didn't even come back to check on my husband's and brother-in-law's drinks. My husband tried going to the bar to order another drink and they sent him back to the table because their was no bartender. They said the waiter makes the drink. I think it's very pathetic and an embarrassment when you have a bar with no bartender. Is that a good way to cut costs????? They have lost my business. Asian business owners (majority but there are a few exceptions) do not know the concept of good customer service. I can say this because I'm Asian and I frequent a lot of Asian restaurants and notice this re-occurring theme.

1
★☆☆☆☆

My husband and I love Mali because we live in Morningside and can take a leisurely stroll there. The food is consistently good but the customer service is getting worse. We've eaten here at least 10 times and the last straw for us was this past Valentine's Day. We waited over an hour for our appetizers. Our waiter didn't come back and check on us. We had to flag him down and ask for our food. He didn't even come back to check on my husband's and brother-in-law's drinks. My husband tried going to the bar to order another drink and they sent him back to the table because their was no bartender. They said the waiter makes the drink. I think it's very pathetic and an embarrassment when you have a bar with no bartender. Is that a good way to cut costs????? They have lost my business. Asian business owners (majority but there are a few exceptions) do not know the concept of good customer service. I can say this because I'm Asian and I frequent a lot of Asian restaurants and notice this re-occurring theme.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Had a reservation and still waited outside thirty minutes to get our table, it also took an hour and half to get my meal and another half hour to get my ticket, Was a waste of my time. The restaurant doesn't look like it does on the

3
★★★★★

Had a reservation and still waited outside thirty minutes to get our table, it also took an hour and half to get my meal and another half hour to get my ticket, Was a waste of my time. The restaurant doesn't look like it does on the

.

Great People and Place! It was one of the best that we have experienced so far . Thank you for the crew and for all the service.

4
★★★★☆

Great People and Place! It was one of the best that we have experienced so far . Thank you for the crew and for all the service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

If there??s one word that would describe this place, it would be FANTASTIC. The food and the service exemplifies excellence. I loved the tangy flavor of of my entree. It was perfectly prepared. The service was certainly one of the best we had. I had a very gratifying experience here at Mali.

2
★★★★☆

If there??s one word that would describe this place, it would be FANTASTIC. The food and the service exemplifies excellence. I loved the tangy flavor of of my entree. It was perfectly prepared. The service was certainly one of the best we had. I had a very gratifying experience here at Mali.

.

i like that Mali offers wine to go with the food, as i am an avid wine drinker. the staff was very friendly and the food was good, although the portions were smaller than what i expected, which i guess is why they can afford to have competitive prices.

2
★★★★☆

i like that Mali offers wine to go with the food, as i am an avid wine drinker. the staff was very friendly and the food was good, although the portions were smaller than what i expected, which i guess is why they can afford to have competitive prices.

Pros: good food, wine available

Cons: small portions

.

Cute restaurant located in Midtown/VH area. Outside seating over looks a beautiful neighborhood. The food is excellent. I come for the Sushi but also have had some of their Thai dishes which were quite yummy. Prices are good, service and staff get an A+ ...

5
★★★★★

Cute restaurant located in Midtown/VH area. Outside seating over looks a beautiful neighborhood. The food is excellent. I come for the Sushi but also have had some of their Thai dishes which were quite yummy. Prices are good, service and staff get an A+ ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Great Thai food, delicious sushi, attentive service, wonderful porch dining overlooking a tree-lined street in one of the more beautiful neighborhoods in midtown Atlanta. What's not to like?

We'll be back soon. Can't wait!

5
★★★★★

Great Thai food, delicious sushi, attentive service, wonderful porch dining overlooking a tree-lined street in one of the more beautiful neighborhoods in midtown Atlanta. What's not to like?

We'll be back soon. Can't wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This is by far our favorite Thai restaurant. The food is wonderful and the sushi is great too. Everything on the menu is great and the prices are reasonable too.

5
★★★★★

This is by far our favorite Thai restaurant. The food is wonderful and the sushi is great too. Everything on the menu is great and the prices are reasonable too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Its hard to single out a "Best" feature of this place. Friendly staff, attentive management, delicious food and all under the roof of this quaint Virginia Highland treat. I especially like the mix of outdoor and indoor space when temperatures permit.

2
★★★★☆

Its hard to single out a "Best" feature of this place. Friendly staff, attentive management, delicious food and all under the roof of this quaint Virginia Highland treat. I especially like the mix of outdoor and indoor space when temperatures permit.

.

I recently just moved to Great Atlanta area and was trying to expand my list of place to go and thing s to do in the new environment. I am a big fan of Asian food and one of my coworker recommend this Thai restaurant in virginia Highland area (which is a great place to hangout during the weekend). Mali restaurant is a bit of a pleasant surprise for me since it locates just a few mile from Surin (another great place). I really enjoy the food here as they also feature sushi as well. The service was great for the most part. The best part of the restaurant is the Patio that me and my friends really enjoy. It is now on the list of my favorite restuarant in town.

2
★★★★★

I recently just moved to Great Atlanta area and was trying to expand my list of place to go and thing s to do in the new environment. I am a big fan of Asian food and one of my coworker recommend this Thai restaurant in virginia Highland area (which is a great place to hangout during the weekend). Mali restaurant is a bit of a pleasant surprise for me since it locates just a few mile from Surin (another great place). I really enjoy the food here as they also feature sushi as well. The service was great for the most part. The best part of the restaurant is the Patio that me and my friends really enjoy. It is now on the list of my favorite restuarant in town.

Pros: Great Thai food, Reasonable price

Cons: If there is a nice bar or place tohangout after the meas would be perfect

.

This is a copy of the letter I send to the manager (although I had to edit out certain words, but be assured when I reference "insect", I am refering to kind you don't want to see in a restaurant) . Please read this before dinning here.

Dear Mali Restaurant

I dined at your restaurant last night and was appalled at what took place. While my girlfriend and I were eating, a large insect crawled up the wall adjacent to our table. This isn?t really the thing you want to see while trying to dine. My girlfriend jumped out of her seat to avoid being ?buzzed? by the creature. Our waitress made an attempt to exterminate the insect but proved unsuccessful after she was so disgusted by the insect, dropped it out of a towel and let it run back into the floorboards. My girlfriend and I indicated we would like the check and, although the waitress asked, a box for the majority of our diner wouldn?t be necessary. The waitress and the manager both quietly whispered an awkward ?sorry? as they handed us the bill.
The uninvited guest had clearly upset us and certainly evaporated all that remained our appetite, and all that was offered to us was a ?sorry?. We didn?t even finish our meal, and quite frankly after seeing that, who could. But instead of offering us a discount or a free meal in hopes of keeping the customer happy, the check was just placed on our table. If I had angered a customer like this at my job, I would have been fired on the spot. Apparently, your establishment thinks just saying ?sorry? is sufficient and that an apology that included phrases like ?we value your business?, ?this has never happened before?, ?our sincerest apologies? is unnecessary.
I wanted you to know that the ?sorry? that was offered wasn?t good enough, and I am offended that I was charged full price for a meal that was barely touched because of the pest control problem you have in the restaurant.

I just wanted to recount my last time dinning in your restaurant for you.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This is a copy of the letter I send to the manager (although I had to edit out certain words, but be assured when I reference "insect", I am refering to kind you don't want to see in a restaurant) . Please read this before dinning here.

Dear Mali Restaurant

I dined at your restaurant last night and was appalled at what took place. While my girlfriend and I were eating, a large insect crawled up the wall adjacent to our table. This isn?t really the thing you want to see while trying to dine. My girlfriend jumped out of her seat to avoid being ?buzzed? by the creature. Our waitress made an attempt to exterminate the insect but proved unsuccessful after she was so disgusted by the insect, dropped it out of a towel and let it run back into the floorboards. My girlfriend and I indicated we would like the check and, although the waitress asked, a box for the majority of our diner wouldn?t be necessary. The waitress and the manager both quietly whispered an awkward ?sorry? as they handed us the bill.
The uninvited guest had clearly upset us and certainly evaporated all that remained our appetite, and all that was offered to us was a ?sorry?. We didn?t even finish our meal, and quite frankly after seeing that, who could. But instead of offering us a discount or a free meal in hopes of keeping the customer happy, the check was just placed on our table. If I had angered a customer like this at my job, I would have been fired on the spot. Apparently, your establishment thinks just saying ?sorry? is sufficient and that an apology that included phrases like ?we value your business?, ?this has never happened before?, ?our sincerest apologies? is unnecessary.
I wanted you to know that the ?sorry? that was offered wasn?t good enough, and I am offended that I was charged full price for a meal that was barely touched because of the pest control problem you have in the restaurant.

I just wanted to recount my last time dinning in your restaurant for you.

.

Way better than Surin and Harry and Sons. They have a fabulous porch to sit and enjoy the nice fall weather we are having right now. I have been here numerous times and never had a bad meal. I had the lightly battered and fried soft shell crab with asparagus, peppers, and mushrooms in a hot chile sauce. It was fabulous. The flavors were perfect with some fresh basil thrown in- yummy. We also had a sushi roll with unagi- very good but the crunchy tuna roll and firecracker roll I have had in the past are better. Their Coconut soup is faboulous as is their Pad Thai. The prices are a bit steeper than other Thai restaurants but the food is worth it. I love this restaurant and am not sure why people pack out Surin and Harrys. Guess it's better for us who can go to the less full Mali.

2
★★★★★

Way better than Surin and Harry and Sons. They have a fabulous porch to sit and enjoy the nice fall weather we are having right now. I have been here numerous times and never had a bad meal. I had the lightly battered and fried soft shell crab with asparagus, peppers, and mushrooms in a hot chile sauce. It was fabulous. The flavors were perfect with some fresh basil thrown in- yummy. We also had a sushi roll with unagi- very good but the crunchy tuna roll and firecracker roll I have had in the past are better. Their Coconut soup is faboulous as is their Pad Thai. The prices are a bit steeper than other Thai restaurants but the food is worth it. I love this restaurant and am not sure why people pack out Surin and Harrys. Guess it's better for us who can go to the less full Mali.

Pros: Great food, Great Porch, Fast Attentive Service

.

I was in Atlanta for work, craving the South Asian cuisine that can be hard to come by in my area and decided to try Mali. Everything that I had read about the restaurant was spot on. The Thai food is incredible, and I was particularly impressed with the complex spicy and sweet flavors of the Masaman curry. The Larb, a dish that very few restaurants can get right, was perfect, with the right texture and blend of spice and lime flavors. The food was so good that I decided to try the sushi as well as was equally impressed, particularly with the Crispy Tuna roll, which was both fresh and delicately prepared. To top it off, the entire meal, including 2 glasses of wine, cost about $10 -15 less than I would have expected to pay.

I also agree with the reviews that suggest that the atmosphere does not match the food. While I enjoy a low-key atmosphere, the decor is more "friendly neighborhood" than the modern chic that that I think they are trying for. That said, the outdoor patio in the summer can't be beat. At the end of my meal, I had a glass of wine at the bar which is worthwhile since the friendly owner decided to chat me up, which was a fun way to cap off the night.

2
★★★★★

I was in Atlanta for work, craving the South Asian cuisine that can be hard to come by in my area and decided to try Mali. Everything that I had read about the restaurant was spot on. The Thai food is incredible, and I was particularly impressed with the complex spicy and sweet flavors of the Masaman curry. The Larb, a dish that very few restaurants can get right, was perfect, with the right texture and blend of spice and lime flavors. The food was so good that I decided to try the sushi as well as was equally impressed, particularly with the Crispy Tuna roll, which was both fresh and delicately prepared. To top it off, the entire meal, including 2 glasses of wine, cost about $10 -15 less than I would have expected to pay.

I also agree with the reviews that suggest that the atmosphere does not match the food. While I enjoy a low-key atmosphere, the decor is more "friendly neighborhood" than the modern chic that that I think they are trying for. That said, the outdoor patio in the summer can't be beat. At the end of my meal, I had a glass of wine at the bar which is worthwhile since the friendly owner decided to chat me up, which was a fun way to cap off the night.

Pros: Food, Food, Food - Amazing Thai and Sushi

Cons: Atmosphere not as upscale as food

.

Last night, Sunday Night, was one of those early warm Spring evenings. We wanted Thai, and over to the Highlands, our visit to Mali was just perfect. Not overly crowded, but the outdoor patio, was small, romantic, and just the right amount of candlelight. They have a very nice, well-rounded menu, including Sushi. Somehow, the Sushi, just didn't fit into our Thai palette. We immed. ordered the Yin & Yang app, which was heavenly crispy Wontons, filled with Ricotta Cheese, w/ a tangy Sweet and Sour dipping sauce. Although it was warm outside, we could not resist splitting the Spicy Seafood Soup, w/Shrimp, Scallops, Grouper and Lemon Grass. We ordered it Thai hot, and that it was. Service is very friendly, since this is a family owned establishment. I had to have the Grilled Long Island Duck w/Thai Red Curry, Bamboo Shoots, and Basil. Excellent. My companion had the Soft Shell Crab, battered and fried, and served with a hot chile sauce and asparagus. The whole experience was excellent, and priced reasonalbly, compared to high-end Thai establishments, that serve the same quality food. We will be back on a Sunday night again!

2
★★★★★

Last night, Sunday Night, was one of those early warm Spring evenings. We wanted Thai, and over to the Highlands, our visit to Mali was just perfect. Not overly crowded, but the outdoor patio, was small, romantic, and just the right amount of candlelight. They have a very nice, well-rounded menu, including Sushi. Somehow, the Sushi, just didn't fit into our Thai palette. We immed. ordered the Yin & Yang app, which was heavenly crispy Wontons, filled with Ricotta Cheese, w/ a tangy Sweet and Sour dipping sauce. Although it was warm outside, we could not resist splitting the Spicy Seafood Soup, w/Shrimp, Scallops, Grouper and Lemon Grass. We ordered it Thai hot, and that it was. Service is very friendly, since this is a family owned establishment. I had to have the Grilled Long Island Duck w/Thai Red Curry, Bamboo Shoots, and Basil. Excellent. My companion had the Soft Shell Crab, battered and fried, and served with a hot chile sauce and asparagus. The whole experience was excellent, and priced reasonalbly, compared to high-end Thai establishments, that serve the same quality food. We will be back on a Sunday night again!

Pros: Excellent, Creative Thai Menu! Personable Family Service!

Cons: Parking Can Be Tight!

.

Probably my favorite restaurant in Atlanta, and it's the perfect place for date. It's situated in the beautiful, relaxed Virginia-Highlands area, yet the inside of the restaurant is beautiful, dimly lit, and very romantic. The food is INCREDIBLE and they are all reasonably priced. Enjoy a glass of wine with your meal and it's the perfect evening!

1
★★★☆☆

Probably my favorite restaurant in Atlanta, and it's the perfect place for date. It's situated in the beautiful, relaxed Virginia-Highlands area, yet the inside of the restaurant is beautiful, dimly lit, and very romantic. The food is INCREDIBLE and they are all reasonably priced. Enjoy a glass of wine with your meal and it's the perfect evening!

.

I'm a huge MF fan but I tried Mali after seeing them on the "best of" list and WOW.. they were right. The Sushi here is really good. My friend and I asked for tuna tartare ( it's not on the menu) and it was fabulous. All the rolls we've tried there were incredible, as well. We haven't tried the Thai yet but it smelled and looked delicious. Also, be sure to try the icecream dessert.
We got the raspberry ice cream covered in white chocolate. Amazing. My friend tried the capachino ice cream covered in chocolate.. she said it was amazing, as well. We'll definitely be going back. It's also a good bit cheaper than MF.

2
★★★★★

I'm a huge MF fan but I tried Mali after seeing them on the "best of" list and WOW.. they were right. The Sushi here is really good. My friend and I asked for tuna tartare ( it's not on the menu) and it was fabulous. All the rolls we've tried there were incredible, as well. We haven't tried the Thai yet but it smelled and looked delicious. Also, be sure to try the icecream dessert.
We got the raspberry ice cream covered in white chocolate. Amazing. My friend tried the capachino ice cream covered in chocolate.. she said it was amazing, as well. We'll definitely be going back. It's also a good bit cheaper than MF.

Pros: Sushi, dessert

.

My boyfriend and I went there on our anniversary and it was just perfect. The atmosphere, the food, and the lighting. I had the best experiance and the food was yummy!

2
★★★★★

My boyfriend and I went there on our anniversary and it was just perfect. The atmosphere, the food, and the lighting. I had the best experiance and the food was yummy!

Pros: Romantic

.

I LOVE this restaurant!! I love curry, and I have NEVER had better curry than what I had at Mali. The basil rolls and tempura vegetable appetizers were amazing too. I didn't try the sushi, but it looked incredible on everyone else's plate! Best part: It's cheap!! We had 2 appetizers and 2 entres for about $35 total!! and I had enough leftovers for 2 more meals!

The atmosphere and service are also incredible. It's very elegant, but jeans and a t-shirt are more than acceptable attire. This is my kinda place!

2
★★★★★

I LOVE this restaurant!! I love curry, and I have NEVER had better curry than what I had at Mali. The basil rolls and tempura vegetable appetizers were amazing too. I didn't try the sushi, but it looked incredible on everyone else's plate! Best part: It's cheap!! We had 2 appetizers and 2 entres for about $35 total!! and I had enough leftovers for 2 more meals!

The atmosphere and service are also incredible. It's very elegant, but jeans and a t-shirt are more than acceptable attire. This is my kinda place!

.

Mali is the best Thai restaurant in Atlanta. They offer a wide selection of authentic Thai cuisine and fresh sushi. My favorite dishes are Mali's Own Grilled Chicken, Seafood in a Claypot and Majestic Catfish. Mali's Tom Yum soup is unbelievably delicious. OMG....my mouth is watering right now! The servers are friendly and attentive. The owner..."Joy"...is very beautiful :)

PS: Don't tell them "Thai Spicy" unless you can handle it!

2
★★★★★

Mali is the best Thai restaurant in Atlanta. They offer a wide selection of authentic Thai cuisine and fresh sushi. My favorite dishes are Mali's Own Grilled Chicken, Seafood in a Claypot and Majestic Catfish. Mali's Tom Yum soup is unbelievably delicious. OMG....my mouth is watering right now! The servers are friendly and attentive. The owner..."Joy"...is very beautiful :)

PS: Don't tell them "Thai Spicy" unless you can handle it!

Pros: Delicious food, reasonable price, prompt service

Cons: N O N E

.

Initially I was impressed with this restaurant. The menu had some variety and we ordered sushi. The food did not taste as good as it would have if we hadn't seen a certain six-legged creature. This situation was not handled appropriately by the staff. The sushi was also a bit pricey.

1
★★★☆☆

Initially I was impressed with this restaurant. The menu had some variety and we ordered sushi. The food did not taste as good as it would have if we hadn't seen a certain six-legged creature. This situation was not handled appropriately by the staff. The sushi was also a bit pricey.

.

Nicely priced restaurant with great food and plenty of parking. Have been for lunch and dinner during the week and there is never a wait. One of my fave Thai places.

2
★★★★☆

Nicely priced restaurant with great food and plenty of parking. Have been for lunch and dinner during the week and there is never a wait. One of my fave Thai places.

Pros: Food

Cons: Service can be spotty

.

I'm beginning to love this restaurant. I've been twice and loved what I've ordered both times. The seafood in a claypot was possibly the most delicious thing I've ever tasted. I was surprised and impressed with the sushi both times. Being such a small restaurant, I didn't expect such great quality. People complain that the patio is too tight, I'm amazed they even care after such great food. Maybe taking out one or two tables on the patio would be more comfortable but, hey, it's a business, I don't blame them for trying to maximize their sales in such a small overall space.

2
★★★★★

I'm beginning to love this restaurant. I've been twice and loved what I've ordered both times. The seafood in a claypot was possibly the most delicious thing I've ever tasted. I was surprised and impressed with the sushi both times. Being such a small restaurant, I didn't expect such great quality. People complain that the patio is too tight, I'm amazed they even care after such great food. Maybe taking out one or two tables on the patio would be more comfortable but, hey, it's a business, I don't blame them for trying to maximize their sales in such a small overall space.

Pros: Large menu, Delicious food

.

I brought couple friends from out of town to this restaurant for a Thai dinner. Although we didn't make any reservation, the staffs helped us to get seated in a very short time. But when the food comes, it is worth the wait (and considering how busy the restaurant was at the time, we can understand). The servers are very friendly, the service is great!!! I will definitely bring my friends over again.

2
★★★★★

I brought couple friends from out of town to this restaurant for a Thai dinner. Although we didn't make any reservation, the staffs helped us to get seated in a very short time. But when the food comes, it is worth the wait (and considering how busy the restaurant was at the time, we can understand). The servers are very friendly, the service is great!!! I will definitely bring my friends over again.

.

The patio was nice, but the uneven table and plastic chairs crammed up against the wall made the experience less than pleasant. The staff was resistant and generally unwilling to move us when we asked. The food was brought out too quick (less than 2 minutes) and entrees came out at different times. Service was poor and unresponsive. The food was decent, but small portions, definitely not worth the price.

1
★★★☆☆

The patio was nice, but the uneven table and plastic chairs crammed up against the wall made the experience less than pleasant. The staff was resistant and generally unwilling to move us when we asked. The food was brought out too quick (less than 2 minutes) and entrees came out at different times. Service was poor and unresponsive. The food was decent, but small portions, definitely not worth the price.

Cons: Over-priced

.

A mid-size average-tasting panang curry should never cost $15. I asked for it "not spicy" and it came spicier than any panang I have ever had. When I mentioned this to the server, she just stared at me and offered nothing to fix it. There are better Thai restaurants in Atlanta. I do not recommend this one.

0
★☆☆☆☆

A mid-size average-tasting panang curry should never cost $15. I asked for it "not spicy" and it came spicier than any panang I have ever had. When I mentioned this to the server, she just stared at me and offered nothing to fix it. There are better Thai restaurants in Atlanta. I do not recommend this one.

.

the place looks nice, but the food is expensive. the portions don't fit the prices at all, compared to other places. the service and food is ok, but not on my list of favorties.

1
★★☆☆☆

the place looks nice, but the food is expensive. the portions don't fit the prices at all, compared to other places. the service and food is ok, but not on my list of favorties.

Cons: expensive

.

The food was good from what i remember when my gf and I went. However, the seating arrangements they got there is ridiculous. When we got there, they tried to seat us right near the door, which my gf did not want and asked for other seating. We then get seated at a table but all of the seating is very cramped. I dont know bout you, but when i go out to eat, i like to have some room to eat and not be all next to another couple. So in short, good food, but crappy seating arrangements.

1
★★★☆☆

The food was good from what i remember when my gf and I went. However, the seating arrangements they got there is ridiculous. When we got there, they tried to seat us right near the door, which my gf did not want and asked for other seating. We then get seated at a table but all of the seating is very cramped. I dont know bout you, but when i go out to eat, i like to have some room to eat and not be all next to another couple. So in short, good food, but crappy seating arrangements.

Pros: Decent Food, Friendly Staff

Cons: Inadequate seating, Not Spacious

.

It is around the corner and off the main st, but very good. We eat a lot of Thai and liked everything about the place.

2
★★★★★

It is around the corner and off the main st, but very good. We eat a lot of Thai and liked everything about the place.

.

If you are looking for a fancy place, Ma Li is not your choice. But if you want great food and a relaxed atmoshere with excellent service then it can not be beat. Have tried all the Thai restaurants in the Highlands and when I get the urge for Thai food, Ma Li is always my choice.

2
★★★★★

If you are looking for a fancy place, Ma Li is not your choice. But if you want great food and a relaxed atmoshere with excellent service then it can not be beat. Have tried all the Thai restaurants in the Highlands and when I get the urge for Thai food, Ma Li is always my choice.

Pros: Food, Service, Value

.

This was the first time my husband and I had Thai food. I am so glad that this was the first place we went. The appetizers came out quickly as did our meals. The food was perfectly spiced. If you are not fromt his area do not be concerned if it seems like you are driving forever through neighborhoods. The parking lots was very full but parking was avaliable across the street.

2
★★★★★

This was the first time my husband and I had Thai food. I am so glad that this was the first place we went. The appetizers came out quickly as did our meals. The food was perfectly spiced. If you are not fromt his area do not be concerned if it seems like you are driving forever through neighborhoods. The parking lots was very full but parking was avaliable across the street.

Pros: quick seating, great food, fast service

Cons: parking

.

Great food (both the Thai and Sushi), patio, service, and with reasonable prices. All things considered, Ma Li is probably my top choice for a relaxed evening of dining.

I've never had an issue with finding a place to park, but this may be the only potential drawback I can think of.

2
★★★★★

Great food (both the Thai and Sushi), patio, service, and with reasonable prices. All things considered, Ma Li is probably my top choice for a relaxed evening of dining.

I've never had an issue with finding a place to park, but this may be the only potential drawback I can think of.

Pros: Great Food, Great Service, Great Patio

.

After having so many mediocre Thai meals in Atlanta, Mali was a very nice surprise. We recently moved to the area and I was very impressed by their appetizers and main entrees. Although it is a little pricey, it is definitely worth the extra $$.

2
★★★★★

After having so many mediocre Thai meals in Atlanta, Mali was a very nice surprise. We recently moved to the area and I was very impressed by their appetizers and main entrees. Although it is a little pricey, it is definitely worth the extra $$.

.

This place is the best. I could eat the Tom Kha cococnut soup everyday. The Pad Kee Mow and Masaman are also very good. Service is always friendly & fast.

2
★★★★★

This place is the best. I could eat the Tom Kha cococnut soup everyday. The Pad Kee Mow and Masaman are also very good. Service is always friendly & fast.

.

Ma Li's is by far the best Thai restaurant in Atlanta. If you've ever eaten at another Thai restaurant and then eat at Ma Li's you will understand what the other restaurants were trying to achieve. The place is a party to you taste buds. The atmosphere is lovely and romantic. Sit on the inside for extra ambiance. Have your run of the menu, you will not be dissappointed.

2
★★★★★

Ma Li's is by far the best Thai restaurant in Atlanta. If you've ever eaten at another Thai restaurant and then eat at Ma Li's you will understand what the other restaurants were trying to achieve. The place is a party to you taste buds. The atmosphere is lovely and romantic. Sit on the inside for extra ambiance. Have your run of the menu, you will not be dissappointed.

Pros: Excellent Food, Great Service, Reasonble prices

.

The appetizers were of an exciting variety. We ordered 4 types and all were great. We were very disappointed with Masamman chicken -it was made to be very sweet unlike other restaurants. That was the only disappointment. Would like to revisit and try other entrees. The servers are not so friendly. Their expressions show no enthusiasm.

2
★★★★☆

The appetizers were of an exciting variety. We ordered 4 types and all were great. We were very disappointed with Masamman chicken -it was made to be very sweet unlike other restaurants. That was the only disappointment. Would like to revisit and try other entrees. The servers are not so friendly. Their expressions show no enthusiasm.

Pros: great appetizers, good dessert, decent parking

Cons: service is not great

.

Great atmosphere, good food and a friendly staff. We tried the fried wontons filled with ricotta cheese, chicken coconut soup, sushi rolls, the beef satay for starters and they were all delicious! Great flavors. For entrees we ordered the Pad Thai, Lamb, Ma Li chicken and the vegetarian massaman.
If you are looking for good Thai food and a relaxing atmosphere, give this place a try. You will not be dissapointed! Oh...and did I mention that everything is very fresh!?

2
★★★★★

Great atmosphere, good food and a friendly staff. We tried the fried wontons filled with ricotta cheese, chicken coconut soup, sushi rolls, the beef satay for starters and they were all delicious! Great flavors. For entrees we ordered the Pad Thai, Lamb, Ma Li chicken and the vegetarian massaman.
If you are looking for good Thai food and a relaxing atmosphere, give this place a try. You will not be dissapointed! Oh...and did I mention that everything is very fresh!?

Pros: Outdoor Patio, Friendly Service, Bold flavors

Cons: A little Noisey

.

This place has great Thai food that not too many people know about. Service is always great. The Sushi there is ok, nothing great.

2
★★★★★

This place has great Thai food that not too many people know about. Service is always great. The Sushi there is ok, nothing great.

.

We had dinner at MA Li and found the food and service just wonderful. Unlike most restaurants, you are not served by one person but by all employees. Anytime you needed something, someone would be around to serve. A wonderful restaurant where you are getting more for the money!

2
★★★★★

We had dinner at MA Li and found the food and service just wonderful. Unlike most restaurants, you are not served by one person but by all employees. Anytime you needed something, someone would be around to serve. A wonderful restaurant where you are getting more for the money!

.

This restaurant combines friendly service with outstanding food and a wonderful location. They will customize dishes for you if you choose. What more could you ask for?

2
★★★★★

This restaurant combines friendly service with outstanding food and a wonderful location. They will customize dishes for you if you choose. What more could you ask for?

.

Just off of well-beaten North Highland lies this absolute jewel of a restaurant that never gets any of the attention it truly deserves. In an area packed full of Thai places, Ma Li distinguishes itself with absolutely incredible service and food that at least as good as any of the more well-known places. Try the soft shell crab -- delicious. As an added bonus, there's a little sushi bar in case not everyone in your group is interested in Thai.

2
★★★★★

Just off of well-beaten North Highland lies this absolute jewel of a restaurant that never gets any of the attention it truly deserves. In an area packed full of Thai places, Ma Li distinguishes itself with absolutely incredible service and food that at least as good as any of the more well-known places. Try the soft shell crab -- delicious. As an added bonus, there's a little sushi bar in case not everyone in your group is interested in Thai.

Pros: impeccable service, low-key atmosphere, sushi bar

Cons: no liquor

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Mali Restaurant, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review