Tank Sushi

★★★★☆
Hip Lincoln Square sushi destination scores with creative Japanese-Latin fare.
41.9635 -87.6856
Map and Directions to Tank Sushi

773-769-2600

4514 N Lincoln Ave

Chicago, IL

60625

Get Directions

About Tank Sushi

Hours
Mon-Thu 11:30am-2:30pm, 5pm-10:00pm Fri 11:30 - 2:30 5pm-11:00pm Sat 1:00pm-11:00pm Sun 1:00pm-9pm

Food

Food
More choices in Chicago:
Resultset_next

Kabuki

2473 North Clark Chicago, IL

Resultset_next

Nan's Sushi & Chinese Restaurant

2360 N Lincoln Ave Chicago, IL

3.9 40
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Tank Sushi was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 40 of 40.
.

Granted my friend and I arrived right before dinner rush on a Saturday, but the service was slooooowwww. I am freaky and love the fried shrimp heads that come with Amae-ebi and when they arrived they were cold. Nobody likes a cold shrimp head, even when it is fried. Ah, well. We had a great bottle of saki which always makes the food better. I'll skip this place next time in lieu of better service. I like good food, not to be a part of a crowd.

3
★★★☆☆

Granted my friend and I arrived right before dinner rush on a Saturday, but the service was slooooowwww. I am freaky and love the fried shrimp heads that come with Amae-ebi and when they arrived they were cold. Nobody likes a cold shrimp head, even when it is fried. Ah, well. We had a great bottle of saki which always makes the food better. I'll skip this place next time in lieu of better service. I like good food, not to be a part of a crowd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I am not into Sushi that much but Tank Sushi has other options like the chicken or salmon, the latin heat with jalapeno was great, when in Chicago order this place yo will love it.

4
★★★★☆

I am not into Sushi that much but Tank Sushi has other options like the chicken or salmon, the latin heat with jalapeno was great, when in Chicago order this place yo will love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Great set-up. Everything felt so good and comfortable in there. The food is undeniably fresh and well prepared. The beef ramen had set a new standard for my taste.

6
★★★★★

Great set-up. Everything felt so good and comfortable in there. The food is undeniably fresh and well prepared. The beef ramen had set a new standard for my taste.

.

We were seated fairly quickly for a Friday night with a reservation, but the rude service began right after. We were hounded to order immediately and then ignored for 45 minutes while we waited for our food. About a minute after the so-so sushi finally appeared, the bill was dropped on the table. But our party of six was hungry, so we ordered a few more roles. The bill was updated and dropped off again, immediately. This time it was actually followed by the host/manager who wanted to let us know that another party of six had been waiting for about 45 minutes now and they kept asking him about when they'd be seated. He didn't want to rush us (yeah right) but just wanted to let us know what he was facing up front. Isn't that your job? I'll never be back to this pretentious place.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We were seated fairly quickly for a Friday night with a reservation, but the rude service began right after. We were hounded to order immediately and then ignored for 45 minutes while we waited for our food. About a minute after the so-so sushi finally appeared, the bill was dropped on the table. But our party of six was hungry, so we ordered a few more roles. The bill was updated and dropped off again, immediately. This time it was actually followed by the host/manager who wanted to let us know that another party of six had been waiting for about 45 minutes now and they kept asking him about when they'd be seated. He didn't want to rush us (yeah right) but just wanted to let us know what he was facing up front. Isn't that your job? I'll never be back to this pretentious place.

Pros: Ambiance, location

Cons: Extremely rude manager, so-so sushi, $20/bottle corkage fee

.

Try the lobster roll or the spider roll. My favorite! They make the miso soup from scratch and its really good too. I always eat my sushi with tempura. The only problem with Tank Sushi is that it's so hip its hard to get seated on Friday or Saturday with out reservations. I walked in once and waited 45 minutes. The price is reasonable.

4
★★★★☆

Try the lobster roll or the spider roll. My favorite! They make the miso soup from scratch and its really good too. I always eat my sushi with tempura. The only problem with Tank Sushi is that it's so hip its hard to get seated on Friday or Saturday with out reservations. I walked in once and waited 45 minutes. The price is reasonable.

Pros: Amazing menu

Cons: Hard to get seated on Saturday night

.

If you want to go to a layed back, trendy sushi restuarant this is the place for you. Although the atmosphere is enjoyable i find this place is a better lunch spot than dinner. They have half price sushi too which is amazing if you are on a budget. I totally recommend this place!

5
★★★★★

If you want to go to a layed back, trendy sushi restuarant this is the place for you. Although the atmosphere is enjoyable i find this place is a better lunch spot than dinner. They have half price sushi too which is amazing if you are on a budget. I totally recommend this place!

Pros: Half Price Sushi

.

I just had lunch at Tank Sushi! I thought that it was really really good; probably the best sushi in Chicago. I liked it better than the pretty popular Sushi RA. The Ocean Sundae was beautifully presented, and it tasted amazing. I also had the Escolar (super white tuna), and that was terrific.

Also, I did not have to wait long so that was a plus too. I will be going back soon!

5
★★★★★

I just had lunch at Tank Sushi! I thought that it was really really good; probably the best sushi in Chicago. I liked it better than the pretty popular Sushi RA. The Ocean Sundae was beautifully presented, and it tasted amazing. I also had the Escolar (super white tuna), and that was terrific.

Also, I did not have to wait long so that was a plus too. I will be going back soon!

Pros: Really good

Cons: None

.

I went to Tank with a couple of friends, and have never tried Sushi before. Kinda hestitant in trying it out. But the several martini's that I had, made it alot easier for me to try it out. Anyway, I really liked the wait staff, which was very attentive to my needs & the kick back & comfy feeling I really enjoyed. We started off with the appitizers, which were really good, then to the sushi, the Dragon was the best that I have ever had, I also tried something w/a crusted banana & crab sushi, not sure of the name of it, but I highly recommend it to anyone who trys sushi for the first time. I also had the teraki chicken w/mashed potatoes, which was very good, i did also try a bite of the filet, and it just melted in my mouth. I will go again to Tank sushi & recommend it to all my friends. thanks for a wonderful experience.....

5
★★★★★

I went to Tank with a couple of friends, and have never tried Sushi before. Kinda hestitant in trying it out. But the several martini's that I had, made it alot easier for me to try it out. Anyway, I really liked the wait staff, which was very attentive to my needs & the kick back & comfy feeling I really enjoyed. We started off with the appitizers, which were really good, then to the sushi, the Dragon was the best that I have ever had, I also tried something w/a crusted banana & crab sushi, not sure of the name of it, but I highly recommend it to anyone who trys sushi for the first time. I also had the teraki chicken w/mashed potatoes, which was very good, i did also try a bite of the filet, and it just melted in my mouth. I will go again to Tank sushi & recommend it to all my friends. thanks for a wonderful experience.....

Pros: really enjoyed the ambience & attentiveness of the waitstaff

.

Tank Sushi is one of THE best places for sushi and drinks, hands down. I started the evening with a Key Lime Martini which was delicious. We started our dinner with chopstick rolls ( amazing little rolls stuffed with creamcheese, and shitake), edamame, and calamari. For dinner we had the Latin Heat, Robusata (a wonderful, exotic twist of lobster wrapped in bananna...very yummy). We concluded our evening with dessert - a spring roll stuffed with chocolate and cookie dough, with a strawberry dipping sauce. Simply delightful!
We enjoyed everything about Tank. The waitstaff was very friendly and very accomodating. The food was presented in a very contemporary and inviting display. We also agreed that the bar inside Tank would be a fun little hangout as well! Thank you to the restauraunts owner, Franco, for creating such an inviting and yummy restaurant that made us suburbanites very comfortable!!

5
★★★★★

Tank Sushi is one of THE best places for sushi and drinks, hands down. I started the evening with a Key Lime Martini which was delicious. We started our dinner with chopstick rolls ( amazing little rolls stuffed with creamcheese, and shitake), edamame, and calamari. For dinner we had the Latin Heat, Robusata (a wonderful, exotic twist of lobster wrapped in bananna...very yummy). We concluded our evening with dessert - a spring roll stuffed with chocolate and cookie dough, with a strawberry dipping sauce. Simply delightful!
We enjoyed everything about Tank. The waitstaff was very friendly and very accomodating. The food was presented in a very contemporary and inviting display. We also agreed that the bar inside Tank would be a fun little hangout as well! Thank you to the restauraunts owner, Franco, for creating such an inviting and yummy restaurant that made us suburbanites very comfortable!!

.

best sushi in chicago. i ate there with two girlfriends on sat feb 14th. we got there around 7:45 and was without a reservation and was told by the host it was going to be about 20-30 min for a table maybe less for sushi bar. at that time i was alittle disappointed because i was hungry. we where thinking of maybe trying some where else when he sent us to the drink bar. the bartender was very nice and curtious to us. he made us smile. he told us if we wanted he would put us in some apps if we would like, and we did. i felt bad for him he was busy back there but he was so nice about it. to anyone who likes to sit at a bar and eat with great service i recomend going to tank on sat nite. after about 15min the host had a table for us, so we sat down. after dinner i think from a service stand point bartender catered to us better then our server. and a bonus the bartender is cute. again the best sushi in chicago.
tracy

5
★★★★★

best sushi in chicago. i ate there with two girlfriends on sat feb 14th. we got there around 7:45 and was without a reservation and was told by the host it was going to be about 20-30 min for a table maybe less for sushi bar. at that time i was alittle disappointed because i was hungry. we where thinking of maybe trying some where else when he sent us to the drink bar. the bartender was very nice and curtious to us. he made us smile. he told us if we wanted he would put us in some apps if we would like, and we did. i felt bad for him he was busy back there but he was so nice about it. to anyone who likes to sit at a bar and eat with great service i recomend going to tank on sat nite. after about 15min the host had a table for us, so we sat down. after dinner i think from a service stand point bartender catered to us better then our server. and a bonus the bartender is cute. again the best sushi in chicago.
tracy

Pros: great sushi, cute bartender

Cons: very busy place,

.

Below is the dialogue exchange for a reservation I recently made at Tank Sushi.

Me: "Hi, I'd like to make a reservation for Valentine's Day."

Tank Sushi: "Hold please." "Someone wants to make a Valentine's Day reservation and I want to 'BLEEP'ing (editor won't allow me to use word opposite of hug) him!"

Word for word, that was what I heard when calling on January 30 at 5:27pm. Apparently, 'Randy' thought he put me on hold when making this obscene comment. After he realized the faux pas, he hung up on me. When I called back he tried making excuses and said there wasn't anyone I could speak to because he was the manager.

Needless to say, I won't be going there on Valentine's Day or any day after that.

Not sure how good their sushi is, but I recommend trying Rise, Wakamono, Mirai, Sushi Samba, Japonais, Kaze, Kamehachi or any other sushi restaurant in Chicago.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Below is the dialogue exchange for a reservation I recently made at Tank Sushi.

Me: "Hi, I'd like to make a reservation for Valentine's Day."

Tank Sushi: "Hold please." "Someone wants to make a Valentine's Day reservation and I want to 'BLEEP'ing (editor won't allow me to use word opposite of hug) him!"

Word for word, that was what I heard when calling on January 30 at 5:27pm. Apparently, 'Randy' thought he put me on hold when making this obscene comment. After he realized the faux pas, he hung up on me. When I called back he tried making excuses and said there wasn't anyone I could speak to because he was the manager.

Needless to say, I won't be going there on Valentine's Day or any day after that.

Not sure how good their sushi is, but I recommend trying Rise, Wakamono, Mirai, Sushi Samba, Japonais, Kaze, Kamehachi or any other sushi restaurant in Chicago.

.

I called to make a reservation for six at 8pm on a Saturday, I was told by the lady on the phone there was a $10/person cancellation fee, ok no problem. I gave my card number over the phone. When we arrived at 7:45 and were not seated until 8:30, I thought things couldn't get much worse. The gentleman at the front then seated six people at a table for four with a curt and very rude attitude . I really couldn't believe it! The food was fine....certainly not the best sushi in Chicago. Service very slow and uninvolved. I would definitely try others before going here again. Which is too bad because I live so close......

1
★☆☆☆☆

I called to make a reservation for six at 8pm on a Saturday, I was told by the lady on the phone there was a $10/person cancellation fee, ok no problem. I gave my card number over the phone. When we arrived at 7:45 and were not seated until 8:30, I thought things couldn't get much worse. The gentleman at the front then seated six people at a table for four with a curt and very rude attitude . I really couldn't believe it! The food was fine....certainly not the best sushi in Chicago. Service very slow and uninvolved. I would definitely try others before going here again. Which is too bad because I live so close......

Pros: NONE

Cons: Rude staff, strange reservation practices

.

My fiance and I ate the half price happy hour sushi for a late lunch/ early dinner yesterday, and a few hours after getting home we both started having lower abdominal pains, nausea, and frequent trips to the bathroom. I was up until 4 a.m. sick, and we have both been sick all day today. I have eaten sushi weekly for the past 10 yrs, and have never gotten sick from it. It makes me wonder if they clear out old fish during happy hour.

1
★☆☆☆☆

My fiance and I ate the half price happy hour sushi for a late lunch/ early dinner yesterday, and a few hours after getting home we both started having lower abdominal pains, nausea, and frequent trips to the bathroom. I was up until 4 a.m. sick, and we have both been sick all day today. I have eaten sushi weekly for the past 10 yrs, and have never gotten sick from it. It makes me wonder if they clear out old fish during happy hour.

.

Recommended by the hotel concierge on my last visit to Chicago and it was perfect. I had to entertain a few clients, so we decided sushi. In New York there are plenty of sushi places but I haven't enjoyed any as much as Tank Sushi. The hostess was very accommodating and the food was delicious and artful. The semi private rooms were perfect for my meeting and I would go back every time I'm in town.

5
★★★★★

Recommended by the hotel concierge on my last visit to Chicago and it was perfect. I had to entertain a few clients, so we decided sushi. In New York there are plenty of sushi places but I haven't enjoyed any as much as Tank Sushi. The hostess was very accommodating and the food was delicious and artful. The semi private rooms were perfect for my meeting and I would go back every time I'm in town.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Not in City Center

.

This place has the best flavors for their maki's than any other sushi restaurant in Chicago. I recommend going on the weekends before 6pm or during the week for lunch because the maki's are 1/2 price. GREAT TASTE AND 1/2 PRICE CAN'T BE BEAT. The TANK maki is my favorite - fresh salmon, yellowtail & jalapeno topped with strawberry - the perfect bite. The new HAWAIIAN maki - soft shell crab, topped with scallop and kiwi - perfect summer bite. Don't forget to try the chopstick appetizer or the crispy calamari - both to die for. Take advantage of the special offers because they are worth it.

5
★★★★★

This place has the best flavors for their maki's than any other sushi restaurant in Chicago. I recommend going on the weekends before 6pm or during the week for lunch because the maki's are 1/2 price. GREAT TASTE AND 1/2 PRICE CAN'T BE BEAT. The TANK maki is my favorite - fresh salmon, yellowtail & jalapeno topped with strawberry - the perfect bite. The new HAWAIIAN maki - soft shell crab, topped with scallop and kiwi - perfect summer bite. Don't forget to try the chopstick appetizer or the crispy calamari - both to die for. Take advantage of the special offers because they are worth it.

Pros: Best sushi in Chicago

Cons: Parking can be tough on weekends

.

Tank Sushi is the best sushi on the north side if not in Chicago. When reading other's reviews, it makes me wonder if any of us should believe anything we read. I eat here at most once a month but every time it's perfect. Try the Latin Heat...I have been eating this roll since it's inception. Fresh fish mixed with jalapeno and cilantro with avocado...delicious. I can only believe that when negative comments are posted about any place, it's personal. The flavors here at Tank Sushi are spot on and for the 1/2 price during lunch and the weekends is well worth it.

5
★★★★★

Tank Sushi is the best sushi on the north side if not in Chicago. When reading other's reviews, it makes me wonder if any of us should believe anything we read. I eat here at most once a month but every time it's perfect. Try the Latin Heat...I have been eating this roll since it's inception. Fresh fish mixed with jalapeno and cilantro with avocado...delicious. I can only believe that when negative comments are posted about any place, it's personal. The flavors here at Tank Sushi are spot on and for the 1/2 price during lunch and the weekends is well worth it.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Parking Sometimes

.

Went on a doubledate last Sat night (4/26/08). Service was indifferent and slow (no one came by to fill water glasses until the end). Ordered cooked and uncooked dishes, and all were mediocre to bad. Worse, I was sick all night long afterward....won't go into details but clearly what I ate was involved. I'd stay away!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Went on a doubledate last Sat night (4/26/08). Service was indifferent and slow (no one came by to fill water glasses until the end). Ordered cooked and uncooked dishes, and all were mediocre to bad. Worse, I was sick all night long afterward....won't go into details but clearly what I ate was involved. I'd stay away!

.

First of all, I am huge fan of sushi. I have a hard time going out of my comfort zone as I have a sushi restaurant I already love that I go to all the time. One day I was feeling adventourous (sp) so I decided to give Tank a chance. The dining room is minimally decorated but I think that is part of its charm. Every sushi rest. I go to I have to try the miso. I love miso soup. I have noticed that the quality of the miso isn't always indicative of how good the sushi is going to be. At Tank, it was pretty bland and I had to add soy sauce for flavor, but that is where the dissapointment ended. I got two rolls that were fabulous. Not only was the fish fresh but the rolls were filing. Just enough spice. I actually couldn't finish them which is a first for me. All and all I have to say that my dining experience here was a very good one, I would definitely recommend Tank. The food is awesome and the service is even better!

4
★★★★☆

First of all, I am huge fan of sushi. I have a hard time going out of my comfort zone as I have a sushi restaurant I already love that I go to all the time. One day I was feeling adventourous (sp) so I decided to give Tank a chance. The dining room is minimally decorated but I think that is part of its charm. Every sushi rest. I go to I have to try the miso. I love miso soup. I have noticed that the quality of the miso isn't always indicative of how good the sushi is going to be. At Tank, it was pretty bland and I had to add soy sauce for flavor, but that is where the dissapointment ended. I got two rolls that were fabulous. Not only was the fish fresh but the rolls were filing. Just enough spice. I actually couldn't finish them which is a first for me. All and all I have to say that my dining experience here was a very good one, I would definitely recommend Tank. The food is awesome and the service is even better!

Pros: Filling and tasty rolls!

Cons: miso was bland

.

If I could eat at Tank Sushi everyday I would!!! I am actually pretty picky on the Sushi I eat and will usually try a place once and never go back...but with Tank I not only LOVE it but go there ANY chance I get. With half price Maki on Sat. who can't afford to try it!!! Try the Ocean Sundae...it will change your sushi life!!!

5
★★★★★

If I could eat at Tank Sushi everyday I would!!! I am actually pretty picky on the Sushi I eat and will usually try a place once and never go back...but with Tank I not only LOVE it but go there ANY chance I get. With half price Maki on Sat. who can't afford to try it!!! Try the Ocean Sundae...it will change your sushi life!!!

.

The atmosphere is trendy yet sophisticated. The energy is bustling. The staff is very friendly and prompt. And the food just melts in your mouth. Strange little neighborhood to find this fabulous treat. You wouldn't expect such a great find in such a yuppy neighborhood. Step right in, though, it's beyond worth it. Try the Ocean Sundae - it's totally unexpected.

5
★★★★★

The atmosphere is trendy yet sophisticated. The energy is bustling. The staff is very friendly and prompt. And the food just melts in your mouth. Strange little neighborhood to find this fabulous treat. You wouldn't expect such a great find in such a yuppy neighborhood. Step right in, though, it's beyond worth it. Try the Ocean Sundae - it's totally unexpected.

Pros: food

Cons: neighborhood

.

Went to the restaurant after seeing good ratings. As a person that loves and knows sushi from all parts of the world (Japan,Korea), I do not recommend Tank for a person that wants quality and complete sushi experience. They don't carry the high quality fish such as Toro (fatty tuna), and the rice was not seasoned enough. Rice is a crucial part of nigiri (sushi) and Tank's rice ruined the taste of the mediocre fish.

Enough talking about the bad sushi. We ordered some maki roles recommended by the waiter. Samurai and Soft Shell Crab were both tasteless and dry. Furthermore, the seaweed was too chewy (seems old), and let me just say that lettuce should not belong in any maki roles!

Service? People are nice but slow. We sat at the sushi bar but couldn't order from the sushi chef. I don't understand this concept! Why did they make the bar in the first place??? All dishes were expensive and we felt like we wasted money. =(

Good ambience, yes. If you must go to Tank, just go to other restaurants down the street for dinner and go back just for cocktail/drink.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Went to the restaurant after seeing good ratings. As a person that loves and knows sushi from all parts of the world (Japan,Korea), I do not recommend Tank for a person that wants quality and complete sushi experience. They don't carry the high quality fish such as Toro (fatty tuna), and the rice was not seasoned enough. Rice is a crucial part of nigiri (sushi) and Tank's rice ruined the taste of the mediocre fish.

Enough talking about the bad sushi. We ordered some maki roles recommended by the waiter. Samurai and Soft Shell Crab were both tasteless and dry. Furthermore, the seaweed was too chewy (seems old), and let me just say that lettuce should not belong in any maki roles!

Service? People are nice but slow. We sat at the sushi bar but couldn't order from the sushi chef. I don't understand this concept! Why did they make the bar in the first place??? All dishes were expensive and we felt like we wasted money. =(

Good ambience, yes. If you must go to Tank, just go to other restaurants down the street for dinner and go back just for cocktail/drink.

.

I am a recent convert to sushi - in fact, I don't eat fish at all. Tank provides plenty of vegetarian maki options as well as a variety of appetizers. The goat cheese tempura and Ocean Sundae roll are some of my favorites. The atmosphere is open and modern, and the martinis are wonderful. You will have to wait for a table on the weekends, but they are open very late, so consider a late dinner for quick & easy seating. There's also semi-private seating for larger groups if you call ahead.

4
★★★★☆

I am a recent convert to sushi - in fact, I don't eat fish at all. Tank provides plenty of vegetarian maki options as well as a variety of appetizers. The goat cheese tempura and Ocean Sundae roll are some of my favorites. The atmosphere is open and modern, and the martinis are wonderful. You will have to wait for a table on the weekends, but they are open very late, so consider a late dinner for quick & easy seating. There's also semi-private seating for larger groups if you call ahead.

Pros: great martinis, many vegetarian options, outdoor seating

Cons: a little pricey, variable service

.

The only thing keeping this place from Sushi perfection is the stuffy greeting you get from the host when you walk in the door. He's a little full of himself and doesn't know how to many the place. Here's a tip. If you go on a weekend and do not have reservations, multiply the waiting time he gives you by 6-8. He told us 15 minutes. We waited 15 minutes. Then he told us 45 minutes. By the time 45 more minutes had passed and we had already waited an hour, the host raised his hands and with not a clue how to run the place stated that it would be another 45 minutes to an hour. It's a shame and we took our business elsewhere this evening but I have been to Tank at least 8 times in the past six months because yes, it's that good and I love it that much. Being called the best sushi in Chicago is an honor well deserved.

5
★★★★★

The only thing keeping this place from Sushi perfection is the stuffy greeting you get from the host when you walk in the door. He's a little full of himself and doesn't know how to many the place. Here's a tip. If you go on a weekend and do not have reservations, multiply the waiting time he gives you by 6-8. He told us 15 minutes. We waited 15 minutes. Then he told us 45 minutes. By the time 45 more minutes had passed and we had already waited an hour, the host raised his hands and with not a clue how to run the place stated that it would be another 45 minutes to an hour. It's a shame and we took our business elsewhere this evening but I have been to Tank at least 8 times in the past six months because yes, it's that good and I love it that much. Being called the best sushi in Chicago is an honor well deserved.

Pros: Anything you can put in your mouth

Cons: The host is prone to put his foot in his mouth, has a huge ego and has no clue how to do his job.

.

I don't know who posted the good reviews for this place here. I went there with a girlfriend on a Tuesday evening. We were seated promptly.That's about the only good thing I can say about the place and the decor is decent ,that's the other thing. First off we waited about 10 minutes just to be offered drinks.We should've left then and there. Our waiter didn't resurface for another half hour at least to take our order. Of course he had the nerve to ask if we were ready to order. By then we already had the darn menu memorized. We ordered appetizers which,of course,took forever to arrive.It took another lifetime for the main course of sushi
to arrive. The food itself is nothing to write home about. The awful service on the other hand gave me plenty to complain about. In the two hours that this ordeal took not once did the waiter bother to check up on our table. He just left the food and was gone until it was time to pay. AWFUL,AWFUL,AWFUL!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I don't know who posted the good reviews for this place here. I went there with a girlfriend on a Tuesday evening. We were seated promptly.That's about the only good thing I can say about the place and the decor is decent ,that's the other thing. First off we waited about 10 minutes just to be offered drinks.We should've left then and there. Our waiter didn't resurface for another half hour at least to take our order. Of course he had the nerve to ask if we were ready to order. By then we already had the darn menu memorized. We ordered appetizers which,of course,took forever to arrive.It took another lifetime for the main course of sushi
to arrive. The food itself is nothing to write home about. The awful service on the other hand gave me plenty to complain about. In the two hours that this ordeal took not once did the waiter bother to check up on our table. He just left the food and was gone until it was time to pay. AWFUL,AWFUL,AWFUL!

Pros: Ambience

Cons: Service

.

Yes, it was Saturday night but when we came in we were told it would be a 25 minute wait. After 45 minutes we asked how much longer could we expect (as the host completely ignored us while we stood there waiting.) He curtly replied that he was "doing the best he could" and basically dismissed us without giving any idea of how much more time we would have to wait. After one hour we asked again and then he obnoxiously said something like, "I can' make people leave". OK, yes, but how about being friendly, how about offering us something while we stood in the cold doorway, how about NO ATTITUDE (as he was the person who said 25 minutes NOT 1 hour). Then when we finally got seated it was a 45 minute wait for any sushi and the sushi was average - absolutely nothing special for the price paid. All in all a very bad experience. I will make sure to tell all my friends not to visit Tank Sushi.

2
★★☆☆☆

Yes, it was Saturday night but when we came in we were told it would be a 25 minute wait. After 45 minutes we asked how much longer could we expect (as the host completely ignored us while we stood there waiting.) He curtly replied that he was "doing the best he could" and basically dismissed us without giving any idea of how much more time we would have to wait. After one hour we asked again and then he obnoxiously said something like, "I can' make people leave". OK, yes, but how about being friendly, how about offering us something while we stood in the cold doorway, how about NO ATTITUDE (as he was the person who said 25 minutes NOT 1 hour). Then when we finally got seated it was a 45 minute wait for any sushi and the sushi was average - absolutely nothing special for the price paid. All in all a very bad experience. I will make sure to tell all my friends not to visit Tank Sushi.

Pros: none

Cons: Noisy, extremely long waits (far longer than what you will be told), and a host that is horrible and treats customers rudely

.

Dude, a 45mins wait for sushi is average, I've been to sushi restaurants (namely kamehachi) and have to wait for an hour and 50mins for sushi on saturday. Try going to Tank on the week day if you don't want to wait......and a question, did you have a reservation and had to wait an hour? or did you just walk in? I believe that they shouldn't make you wait more than 30mins WITH a reservation and about an hour if you DON'T have a reservation sounds right anywhere that's busy on a weekend, about the host being rude, why not try and get in contact with the owner and make a complaint.

I always try to dine out during the weekdays now as anywhere that's busy will make you wait and it's so uncomfortable eating when there's a ton of people packed around standing waiting for tables during the weekends. I've never had 1 single bad experience during the weekday at Tank, did wait almost an hour for sushi when I went one saturday afternoon to try out the half priced rolls tho, only about a 20mins wait when I go on tuesdays.

5
★★★★★

Dude, a 45mins wait for sushi is average, I've been to sushi restaurants (namely kamehachi) and have to wait for an hour and 50mins for sushi on saturday. Try going to Tank on the week day if you don't want to wait......and a question, did you have a reservation and had to wait an hour? or did you just walk in? I believe that they shouldn't make you wait more than 30mins WITH a reservation and about an hour if you DON'T have a reservation sounds right anywhere that's busy on a weekend, about the host being rude, why not try and get in contact with the owner and make a complaint.

I always try to dine out during the weekdays now as anywhere that's busy will make you wait and it's so uncomfortable eating when there's a ton of people packed around standing waiting for tables during the weekends. I've never had 1 single bad experience during the weekday at Tank, did wait almost an hour for sushi when I went one saturday afternoon to try out the half priced rolls tho, only about a 20mins wait when I go on tuesdays.

Pros: great food great service hip sence

Cons: music alittle too loud for my taste, but guess they want to draw in the younger crowd.

.

I enjoyed dining here. We had a great waitress. The food was excellent. The Ocean Sundae Maki, the Kobe Beef small plate (can't remember the name) and scallops were excellent. The Mochi ice-cream was great but have had better. They have a great sake list. I would definitely recommend this place!

5
★★★★★

I enjoyed dining here. We had a great waitress. The food was excellent. The Ocean Sundae Maki, the Kobe Beef small plate (can't remember the name) and scallops were excellent. The Mochi ice-cream was great but have had better. They have a great sake list. I would definitely recommend this place!

Pros: Good food, open late

Cons: Parking! Parking! Parking!

.

This is by far the best place for sushi in the city. My fiance and I live in the River North area and we make to Tank ritualistically each Friday or Saturday night. Our regular order consists of Maguro Sashimi, tuna/avacado roll, philly roll, OCEAN SUNDAE****Highly recommended, beef wrapped asparagus, seaweed salad and house salad. The fish is by far the freshest I have had in Chicago. I have been to Rise, BobSan, Naniwa, Matsuya, Kamehachi, Kizoku, Wabi, Japonais, Mirai, Tsunami, etc. etc. etc.....Mirai and Japonais are strong contenders. HOWEVER, the combination of the EXTREMELY fresh fish, which practically melts in your mouth when you eat it, and the WARM RICE (which makes makis MUCH better), there is nothing that compares to Tank. Highly recommended. (PS They have a waiter there that looks alot like Lloyd from Entourage).

5
★★★★★

This is by far the best place for sushi in the city. My fiance and I live in the River North area and we make to Tank ritualistically each Friday or Saturday night. Our regular order consists of Maguro Sashimi, tuna/avacado roll, philly roll, OCEAN SUNDAE****Highly recommended, beef wrapped asparagus, seaweed salad and house salad. The fish is by far the freshest I have had in Chicago. I have been to Rise, BobSan, Naniwa, Matsuya, Kamehachi, Kizoku, Wabi, Japonais, Mirai, Tsunami, etc. etc. etc.....Mirai and Japonais are strong contenders. HOWEVER, the combination of the EXTREMELY fresh fish, which practically melts in your mouth when you eat it, and the WARM RICE (which makes makis MUCH better), there is nothing that compares to Tank. Highly recommended. (PS They have a waiter there that looks alot like Lloyd from Entourage).

.

came to tank for half price sushi- i'm glad, because if it were full price i'd be a lot more disappointed than i was already. the sushi was good, but not fantastic and was definitely worth the half price-- i.e., 6-8 for rolls instead of 12-18. the waitstaff were pretty rude, the host particularly. the sushi chefs seemed to rely on lots of wasabi for the flavor in their rolls, not the fish.

3
★★★☆☆

came to tank for half price sushi- i'm glad, because if it were full price i'd be a lot more disappointed than i was already. the sushi was good, but not fantastic and was definitely worth the half price-- i.e., 6-8 for rolls instead of 12-18. the waitstaff were pretty rude, the host particularly. the sushi chefs seemed to rely on lots of wasabi for the flavor in their rolls, not the fish.

Pros: half price maki, good location

Cons: expensive, rude host.

.

Tank is not afraid to think outside the box. The rolls are pristine and the menu is creative. I love the ambience and the service is great.

5
★★★★★

Tank is not afraid to think outside the box. The rolls are pristine and the menu is creative. I love the ambience and the service is great.

Pros: Beautiful delicious exotic

Cons: Parking can be difficult at weekend unless you park on busy Western

.

Well, we went for the attraction of 1/2 priced rolls on Sat&Sun, what we received was mediocre sushi, an hour and forty-five minute wait for our order and what had to have been the worst service I'd ever recieved in a chicago retsaurant...the helpful folks at Wiener circle had more class than our waitress! Not only was she rude to all of the surrounding tables, but when we received a couple of rolls we didn't order, she proceeded to argue with us to pay for them anyway. Not once did we get a quality check (a "how is everything"), nor a stop by to ask if we'd like refills on our drinks. Everyone in the restaurant waited a minimum of 1.5hrs for food and almost all were dissapointed! Finally, when we finished the waitress had nerve to pull a "drive-by" check drop off by throwing it on the tab;e without saying a word.

Upon leaving, I spoke to the manager in the hopes that maybe she was unaware of the poor service...her only response was a fake smile and thanks for letting me know. We will never go back!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Well, we went for the attraction of 1/2 priced rolls on Sat&Sun, what we received was mediocre sushi, an hour and forty-five minute wait for our order and what had to have been the worst service I'd ever recieved in a chicago retsaurant...the helpful folks at Wiener circle had more class than our waitress! Not only was she rude to all of the surrounding tables, but when we received a couple of rolls we didn't order, she proceeded to argue with us to pay for them anyway. Not once did we get a quality check (a "how is everything"), nor a stop by to ask if we'd like refills on our drinks. Everyone in the restaurant waited a minimum of 1.5hrs for food and almost all were dissapointed! Finally, when we finished the waitress had nerve to pull a "drive-by" check drop off by throwing it on the tab;e without saying a word.

Upon leaving, I spoke to the manager in the hopes that maybe she was unaware of the poor service...her only response was a fake smile and thanks for letting me know. We will never go back!

Pros: 1/2 price rolls on Sat&Sun

Cons: Horrible and rude service. Food takes at least 1.5hrs

.

Great Sushi, fresh tasting, creative presentations. I recommend the Ocean Sundae Maki, Soft Crab Maki, tried the "fragrant type" saki and was not disappointed. The Mochi icecream was good but have had better. Cream brulee was OK, nicely presented though. Overall great dining experience, will definitely return!

4
★★★★☆

Great Sushi, fresh tasting, creative presentations. I recommend the Ocean Sundae Maki, Soft Crab Maki, tried the "fragrant type" saki and was not disappointed. The Mochi icecream was good but have had better. Cream brulee was OK, nicely presented though. Overall great dining experience, will definitely return!

Pros: Good food

Cons: Parking

.

You can't argue with the quality and taste. Seriously. Every time is perfect. One of the BEST in the city!!! Service, taste, prices, etc....

5
★★★★★

You can't argue with the quality and taste. Seriously. Every time is perfect. One of the BEST in the city!!! Service, taste, prices, etc....

.

The sushi is good and the spicy tempura mushrooms are excellent. The martinis are also highly recommended and the scene is warm and welcome yet minimal.

4
★★★★☆

The sushi is good and the spicy tempura mushrooms are excellent. The martinis are also highly recommended and the scene is warm and welcome yet minimal.

Pros: Martinis, Scene, Spicy tempura 'shroom

Cons: Price

.

AMZING sushi-- but also exemplary selections for those who are hesitant about sushi/seafood (though that resistance will not last once the presentation of transcentantly decorated sashimi plates are placed on the table!) Goat cheese tempura salad, spring rolls, crab rangoon are magnificent! Generous Drinks, modern decoration and incredible service compliment the creative and colorful atmosphere. Do stay and try the 4-square creme brulee- with rich chocolate, green tea, sesame seed and delectable coconut to share with someone special!

5
★★★★★

AMZING sushi-- but also exemplary selections for those who are hesitant about sushi/seafood (though that resistance will not last once the presentation of transcentantly decorated sashimi plates are placed on the table!) Goat cheese tempura salad, spring rolls, crab rangoon are magnificent! Generous Drinks, modern decoration and incredible service compliment the creative and colorful atmosphere. Do stay and try the 4-square creme brulee- with rich chocolate, green tea, sesame seed and delectable coconut to share with someone special!

Pros: Service, Inventive presentaion, FOOD!

Cons: Parking on weekend

.

Its only about a year old and it one of the best new finds from 2004.
Superior Sushi, Extremely Fresh, Great Atmosphere and much cheaper than Downtown. Its on par with Rise in Lakeview.
With the Davis Theatre a block away, its also a great pre or post movie stop.

5
★★★★★

Its only about a year old and it one of the best new finds from 2004.
Superior Sushi, Extremely Fresh, Great Atmosphere and much cheaper than Downtown. Its on par with Rise in Lakeview.
With the Davis Theatre a block away, its also a great pre or post movie stop.

Pros: Very Fresh Sushi, Great Service, Hip Atmosphere

.

Great sushi - both standards like spicy tuna, and unusual maki (we got one that was smoked salmon, jalapenos, cilantro).
I was wary of the martini when they told me they had Effin (sp?) vodka, but it was good too.
Everything tasted extremely fresh, and was beautifully presented.

5
★★★★★

Great sushi - both standards like spicy tuna, and unusual maki (we got one that was smoked salmon, jalapenos, cilantro).
I was wary of the martini when they told me they had Effin (sp?) vodka, but it was good too.
Everything tasted extremely fresh, and was beautifully presented.

Pros: sushi

.

Went to Tank on a Tuesday with friends, had a great time. Sushi was ultra fresh, told they get deliverires everyday by our server. My favorite was the Ocean sunday, and a maki spicy tuna. My non-sushi friends especially enjoyed the shrimp cakes, goat cheese salad and the martini's. Fun place to hang out. Great addition to the neighborhood.

5
★★★★★

Went to Tank on a Tuesday with friends, had a great time. Sushi was ultra fresh, told they get deliverires everyday by our server. My favorite was the Ocean sunday, and a maki spicy tuna. My non-sushi friends especially enjoyed the shrimp cakes, goat cheese salad and the martini's. Fun place to hang out. Great addition to the neighborhood.

Pros: tasty, good music, long martini list

.

I've been half a dozen times and always enjoy the experience. Some of the best maki I have ever had---very inventive and flavorful. The black cod in miso sauce (entree) is wonderful, too. I'm very happy this place is in the neighborhood!

5
★★★★★

I've been half a dozen times and always enjoy the experience. Some of the best maki I have ever had---very inventive and flavorful. The black cod in miso sauce (entree) is wonderful, too. I'm very happy this place is in the neighborhood!

Pros: food, food, food

.

Thought that the service was outstanding and the fusion of flavors that are offered on this great menu was wonderful! Too many great choices for one visit - definitely make this place a stop on your dining adventures!

5
★★★★★

Thought that the service was outstanding and the fusion of flavors that are offered on this great menu was wonderful! Too many great choices for one visit - definitely make this place a stop on your dining adventures!

Editorial from

The Scene
Young, trendy locals gather at this buzzing storefront restaurant, whose blond-wood floors and brushed-aluminum chairs combine with ambient club music to set a stylish, minimalist scene. Banquettes stretch the length of…

Similar Nearby

Similar Nearby

  1. 1
    T Spot Sushi & Tea Bar
    4% ★★★★☆ 5 reviews
    0.83 mi
  2. 2
    Sanook Sushi & Thai
    3% ★★★☆☆ 1 review
    0.98 mi
  3. 3
    0.98 mi