Antietam Paving

★★★☆☆

About Antietam Paving

Categories
  • Masonry
  • Paving Contractors
Details
  • Parking Garage Construction
  • Parking Lot Maintenance
  • Pavement Marking
  • Pavement Sealing
  • Road Maintenance
Hours
M-F 9pm-5am, Sa-Su 24hr
Special Offer
Call Today !
Phones
  • Fax (301-223-7733)
Products
  • Parking Lot Sealing
  • Surfacing
  • Driveway Paving
  • Parking Lot Paving
  • Walkway Paving
  • Pavement Marking
  • Sealing
  • Sidewalk Sealing
  • Parking Lot Striping
  • Surface Preparation

Home Construction & Remodeling

Home Construction & Remodeling
More choices in Keedysville:
Resultset_next

Larry Trail Masonry

PO box 292 Middletown, MD

Resultset_next

Jeter Paving Company, Inc.

1445 Oak Ridge Pl Hagerstown, MD

3.4211 19
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Antietam Paving was?
Write a Review
.

My experience with Antietam Paving was excellent. I got four other quotes to have my driveway and an additional parking area excavated and asphalted and their price was the lowest by quite a bit. They did an excellent job and even a couple extra things I requested at no additional charge. Rod Smith was a great guy to deal with and their paving staff was very nice and polite to my wife while I was at work. They had the job completed in a very timely fashion. Highly recommended!!

5
★★★★★

My experience with Antietam Paving was excellent. I got four other quotes to have my driveway and an additional parking area excavated and asphalted and their price was the lowest by quite a bit. They did an excellent job and even a couple extra things I requested at no additional charge. Rod Smith was a great guy to deal with and their paving staff was very nice and polite to my wife while I was at work. They had the job completed in a very timely fashion. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

If you want a paving company with terrible service call Antietam Paving. The owner has been non responsive after paving my driveway as i wanted to go over his work as there are some issues that i want fixed. He was rude to the person at my house at the time and rude to his employees. Don't count on Antietam Paving!

1
★☆☆☆☆

If you want a paving company with terrible service call Antietam Paving. The owner has been non responsive after paving my driveway as i wanted to go over his work as there are some issues that i want fixed. He was rude to the person at my house at the time and rude to his employees. Don't count on Antietam Paving!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We had antietam paving put a cap on our driveway last year. We had some cracks that we wanted repair. They sent out an estimator who said that there would not be a problem to fix the cracks. I also talk to a gentleman in the office that asured me that they would not do the work unless they could correct the problem.

Within six week of the completion of the work, the cracks reapeared. After a year of trying to get the drive way repaired they told me it was my problem.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We had antietam paving put a cap on our driveway last year. We had some cracks that we wanted repair. They sent out an estimator who said that there would not be a problem to fix the cracks. I also talk to a gentleman in the office that asured me that they would not do the work unless they could correct the problem.

Within six week of the completion of the work, the cracks reapeared. After a year of trying to get the drive way repaired they told me it was my problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We have used Antietam Paving several times over the years, and they always provide great service at a fair price.

5
★★★★★

We have used Antietam Paving several times over the years, and they always provide great service at a fair price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We hired Antietam Paving to seal and re-stripe our parking lot. We contacted them on short notice, because we had an upcoming event, and even though they were booked up for a month, they worked extra hours to complete our job in the time frame that we wanted. They did a beautiful job, and really came through for us.

5
★★★★★

We hired Antietam Paving to seal and re-stripe our parking lot. We contacted them on short notice, because we had an upcoming event, and even though they were booked up for a month, they worked extra hours to complete our job in the time frame that we wanted. They did a beautiful job, and really came through for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Antietam did a very nice job at my mother's house, and they even hauled away a pile of branches that she had in her yard for free.

5
★★★★★

Antietam did a very nice job at my mother's house, and they even hauled away a pile of branches that she had in her yard for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Good work at a good price,my only complaint is that they were booked solid, so I had to wait about three weeks. I am very happy with my new driveway - Highly recommended

5
★★★★★

Good work at a good price,my only complaint is that they were booked solid, so I had to wait about three weeks. I am very happy with my new driveway - Highly recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I got Antietam to do my driveway because they did 2 others on my street last year. They did a great job on those 2, and they still look good. Mine turned out good too, and those guys are real nice to work with. I would recommend them to anyone.

5
★★★★★

I got Antietam to do my driveway because they did 2 others on my street last year. They did a great job on those 2, and they still look good. Mine turned out good too, and those guys are real nice to work with. I would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I couldn't be happier with the work antietam Paving did for me. There were some "gypsies" going around knocking on the doors in my neighborhood, saying they would beat anybody's price. They did my neighbor's, and did a TERRIBLE job. I only paid Antietam a tiny bit more, and mine looks WAY better. Beware of anyone who comes knocking on your door saying they're working in the neighborhood, especially Rafferty and Macafee.

5
★★★★★

I couldn't be happier with the work antietam Paving did for me. There were some "gypsies" going around knocking on the doors in my neighborhood, saying they would beat anybody's price. They did my neighbor's, and did a TERRIBLE job. I only paid Antietam a tiny bit more, and mine looks WAY better. Beware of anyone who comes knocking on your door saying they're working in the neighborhood, especially Rafferty and Macafee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We had left a negative review, but since then, Antietam came back out, and re- did our driveway. The owner apologized for not contacting us, he admitted to dropping the ball with us. The driveway looks great, and they said they would seal it for us in a few months. We have already recommended them to someone else.

Richard T.

4
★★★★☆

We had left a negative review, but since then, Antietam came back out, and re- did our driveway. The owner apologized for not contacting us, he admitted to dropping the ball with us. The driveway looks great, and they said they would seal it for us in a few months. We have already recommended them to someone else.

Richard T.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Antietam Paving did my driveway this month, and they did an excellent job. I happened to see this site and some of the reviews, and I felt compelled to leave one telling of my positive experience with the company. I run a business, too, and I realize that when you do good work, most of the time people don't think to leave a good rating -they got what they expected. But if there's a misunderstanding, or if a mistake is made, they are a lot more likely to leave a bad rating. I know several people who have had work done by this company, and were all happy with the results. That's why I chose them, and I'm very happy with the job that I they did for me. (P.S. I also had them back this year to seal the drive, and am very pleased with the additional work.)

5
★★★★★

Antietam Paving did my driveway this month, and they did an excellent job. I happened to see this site and some of the reviews, and I felt compelled to leave one telling of my positive experience with the company. I run a business, too, and I realize that when you do good work, most of the time people don't think to leave a good rating -they got what they expected. But if there's a misunderstanding, or if a mistake is made, they are a lot more likely to leave a bad rating. I know several people who have had work done by this company, and were all happy with the results. That's why I chose them, and I'm very happy with the job that I they did for me. (P.S. I also had them back this year to seal the drive, and am very pleased with the additional work.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I strongly recommend when dealing with Antietam that you get everything in writing; don??t ask them to do anything beyond paving ? even if its included in the contract; and don??t pay the bill until the work is done completely!

I asked them to provide an extra load of fill dirt but they ??forgot?? to put it in the contract. (I wanted to do additional landscaping because my yard slopes next to the drive.) In a response to my letter clarifying a couple of details they verbally promised the fill dirt was included. However, it took three weeks and multiple phone calls to get the dirt delivered.

In the last call reminding them of their obligation, they suggested bringing a small truck load instead of the tandem load that was promised. I agreed, with the condition that if I needed the additional fill dirt, they would deliver a second load at no additional charge. When I called to request the second load, I was told they had already delivered the full tandem load. I couldn??t dispute the size of the load and it cost another $150 to get that second load. It took another three weeks and many more phone calls to get delivery. And then it was after a week of rain so they tore up the yard dropping it. I??ll need to use most of that load to repair the yard.

Rob still hasn??t returned my phone call.

Greg B.

2
★★☆☆☆

I strongly recommend when dealing with Antietam that you get everything in writing; don??t ask them to do anything beyond paving ? even if its included in the contract; and don??t pay the bill until the work is done completely!

I asked them to provide an extra load of fill dirt but they ??forgot?? to put it in the contract. (I wanted to do additional landscaping because my yard slopes next to the drive.) In a response to my letter clarifying a couple of details they verbally promised the fill dirt was included. However, it took three weeks and multiple phone calls to get the dirt delivered.

In the last call reminding them of their obligation, they suggested bringing a small truck load instead of the tandem load that was promised. I agreed, with the condition that if I needed the additional fill dirt, they would deliver a second load at no additional charge. When I called to request the second load, I was told they had already delivered the full tandem load. I couldn??t dispute the size of the load and it cost another $150 to get that second load. It took another three weeks and many more phone calls to get delivery. And then it was after a week of rain so they tore up the yard dropping it. I??ll need to use most of that load to repair the yard.

Rob still hasn??t returned my phone call.

Greg B.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Our experience with Antietam Paving and their personnel was very good. They added an area to our driveway, extended a culvert and overlaid it all. They did what appears to be an excellent job and they took pains to blend it into an new concrete extension our front walkway. It required making a short shallow ramp to be level with the garage slab and the new walk which is slightly higher than the garage I am getting ready to call to have them seal the driveway.

4
★★★★☆

Our experience with Antietam Paving and their personnel was very good. They added an area to our driveway, extended a culvert and overlaid it all. They did what appears to be an excellent job and they took pains to blend it into an new concrete extension our front walkway. It required making a short shallow ramp to be level with the garage slab and the new walk which is slightly higher than the garage I am getting ready to call to have them seal the driveway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I don't know who these other reviews are talking about (I noticed they're a couple years old), but my experience with Antietam Paving couldn't have been better. I did some research and found out that they do a lot of work for the City of Hagerstown, the City of Williamsport, and the Town of Boonsboro. They also did several jobs near my neighborhood that looked great, so when I found out that they were a local family business that had been around for 25 years, it was just an added bonus. The price was good, and quality of work was excellent. The owner, Nick, was very friendly, and made sure that the job was done the way I wanted it. Highly recommended.

5
★★★★★

I don't know who these other reviews are talking about (I noticed they're a couple years old), but my experience with Antietam Paving couldn't have been better. I did some research and found out that they do a lot of work for the City of Hagerstown, the City of Williamsport, and the Town of Boonsboro. They also did several jobs near my neighborhood that looked great, so when I found out that they were a local family business that had been around for 25 years, it was just an added bonus. The price was good, and quality of work was excellent. The owner, Nick, was very friendly, and made sure that the job was done the way I wanted it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I had them come give me an estimate along with 4 other local companies. They were cheaper than the others but some were only a couple of hundred dollars more. I was not made aware of the lesser grade of asphalt that they use. They told me it was in their contract but unfortunately, I am not an asphalt specialist and I don't know the difference between the grades much less did I know there was a difference! I asked them why they were cheaper and Rob said that they had lower overhead than the other bigger companies. They said that they would do a quality job and guarantee my satisfaction. Well... I had blacktop marks on my garage door, blacktop foot prints on my concrete by the entrance of the garage, I had 3 different places in the driveway that had sticks embedded in the blacktop (they had it in the blacktop mix and just rolled it in), there was a very noticeable valley down the center of the driveway where they had to hand fill because my driveway was wider then their machine could handle, the surface is far from flat (smooth) in fact from the side it is wavy. So wavy that my neighbors asked me when I got home the first day when the paving company was coming back to finish! They left chunks of dirt piled up beside the new driveway for me to clean up.

The salesman Rob has been very difficult to get in touch with. He did finally meet me to go over the problems. He acknowledged my findings but said that they couldn't really fix them as it would only made it look worse. He told me that he would give me a free seal coat for my trouble. I told him that I didn't want it because it would not make the problems go away. He told me that he would talk to the owner (his brother) to see what they could do. He never returned any of my calls and made no effort to contact me again.

Yesterday, (more than 8 weeks after the installation) the owner stopped by to pick up their sign that they had unfortunately for them, left in my yard. I had put a circle with a line through it on both sides and hand wrote my complaints on it for everyone to see. He threw it into the back of his truck and verbally attacked me. He asked why I had given him the bad advertising. He argued with me that there was no problem and that I was "obsessed" over things that everyone else in the world didn't care about. He was rude to me and even insulted my intelligence. I am a general contractor in the area and know the difference between a good asphalt job and a bad one! He even lied to me saying that one of my neighbors saw my driveway and called him for as estimate because they liked the job. He didn't know that I am friends with all of my neighbors and they said that they never even were considering a new driveway as theirs was still in good shape!

I recommend that everyone stay away from this company. If you need a good quality paving company, I would recommend Jeter Paving (They did my first driveway and it turned out great! not perfect but really nice work and great follow up service).

1
★☆☆☆☆

I had them come give me an estimate along with 4 other local companies. They were cheaper than the others but some were only a couple of hundred dollars more. I was not made aware of the lesser grade of asphalt that they use. They told me it was in their contract but unfortunately, I am not an asphalt specialist and I don't know the difference between the grades much less did I know there was a difference! I asked them why they were cheaper and Rob said that they had lower overhead than the other bigger companies. They said that they would do a quality job and guarantee my satisfaction. Well... I had blacktop marks on my garage door, blacktop foot prints on my concrete by the entrance of the garage, I had 3 different places in the driveway that had sticks embedded in the blacktop (they had it in the blacktop mix and just rolled it in), there was a very noticeable valley down the center of the driveway where they had to hand fill because my driveway was wider then their machine could handle, the surface is far from flat (smooth) in fact from the side it is wavy. So wavy that my neighbors asked me when I got home the first day when the paving company was coming back to finish! They left chunks of dirt piled up beside the new driveway for me to clean up.

The salesman Rob has been very difficult to get in touch with. He did finally meet me to go over the problems. He acknowledged my findings but said that they couldn't really fix them as it would only made it look worse. He told me that he would give me a free seal coat for my trouble. I told him that I didn't want it because it would not make the problems go away. He told me that he would talk to the owner (his brother) to see what they could do. He never returned any of my calls and made no effort to contact me again.

Yesterday, (more than 8 weeks after the installation) the owner stopped by to pick up their sign that they had unfortunately for them, left in my yard. I had put a circle with a line through it on both sides and hand wrote my complaints on it for everyone to see. He threw it into the back of his truck and verbally attacked me. He asked why I had given him the bad advertising. He argued with me that there was no problem and that I was "obsessed" over things that everyone else in the world didn't care about. He was rude to me and even insulted my intelligence. I am a general contractor in the area and know the difference between a good asphalt job and a bad one! He even lied to me saying that one of my neighbors saw my driveway and called him for as estimate because they liked the job. He didn't know that I am friends with all of my neighbors and they said that they never even were considering a new driveway as theirs was still in good shape!

I recommend that everyone stay away from this company. If you need a good quality paving company, I would recommend Jeter Paving (They did my first driveway and it turned out great! not perfect but really nice work and great follow up service).

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

ken m We did not use "inferior asphalt", we used SF, just like everyone else.Why would we tell a customer that we use "inferior" product? As for not driveway being level, ken was crawling around on the drive w/a level, trying to find a spot that wasn't perfect. He asked us to bring in extra fill for his yard, that's why we left the dirt there. he only had trouble getting us to respond after we had been out 3 times, and realized that he was obsessed, and nothing we did could make him happy. we tried to give him a free sealcoat, but he refused. I checked the drive a year later & it's fine.
.

I pulled Antietam's name out of my weekly coupon mailer. I needed a small section 10X30 paved between an existing driveway and a cement pad I had poured last fall. I also wanted my existing pavement seal coated after the paving. Hmmm....lets see what went wrong:

*Took forever to get them to quote and never returned phone calls.
*Had to call and call to get a schedule of work.
*Didn't find out until after I signed the contract that they sub out the sealing.
*Left the pavement with roller marks/grooves.
*I had to call the sealing contractor myself and set up his part of the job. He knew nothing about it even 2 weeks after the paving was done.
*I had to do all the edging of the driveway myself and get it clean.
*They spray applied the sealer so thin it didn't even fill the pores of the pavement in places.
*Ended up with sealing tar 6' up the side of my brick home, all over my brand new downspouts and all over the side entrance door to my garage and they left it that way. I couldn't see that part of my house for 2 days while it was baking into the brick and they just left it there for me to find.
*They helped themselves to the use of my garden hose, covering it in tar sealer, then dragging it over top of my white vinyl fence.
*They stripped the paint off my garage door when they came back out to try and clean the sealer off the side of my house. Whatever they used also took with it the sealer on the driveway, 12" wide, 40' out to the street.
*They used a "cold pour" crack sealer that cracked itself in less than 2 days.
*To this day, I have yet to physically meet a representative of Antietam Paving Co.

They left their "Paved by..." sign in my front yard. I'm going to change it to say "Screwed by..." and put it back out. Don't ever, ever, ever use this company for anything other than a competive bid. They're cheap, both in price and quality of work.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I pulled Antietam's name out of my weekly coupon mailer. I needed a small section 10X30 paved between an existing driveway and a cement pad I had poured last fall. I also wanted my existing pavement seal coated after the paving. Hmmm....lets see what went wrong:

*Took forever to get them to quote and never returned phone calls.
*Had to call and call to get a schedule of work.
*Didn't find out until after I signed the contract that they sub out the sealing.
*Left the pavement with roller marks/grooves.
*I had to call the sealing contractor myself and set up his part of the job. He knew nothing about it even 2 weeks after the paving was done.
*I had to do all the edging of the driveway myself and get it clean.
*They spray applied the sealer so thin it didn't even fill the pores of the pavement in places.
*Ended up with sealing tar 6' up the side of my brick home, all over my brand new downspouts and all over the side entrance door to my garage and they left it that way. I couldn't see that part of my house for 2 days while it was baking into the brick and they just left it there for me to find.
*They helped themselves to the use of my garden hose, covering it in tar sealer, then dragging it over top of my white vinyl fence.
*They stripped the paint off my garage door when they came back out to try and clean the sealer off the side of my house. Whatever they used also took with it the sealer on the driveway, 12" wide, 40' out to the street.
*They used a "cold pour" crack sealer that cracked itself in less than 2 days.
*To this day, I have yet to physically meet a representative of Antietam Paving Co.

They left their "Paved by..." sign in my front yard. I'm going to change it to say "Screwed by..." and put it back out. Don't ever, ever, ever use this company for anything other than a competive bid. They're cheap, both in price and quality of work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

In April 2007, Antietam Paving estimator Rob came to my home and provided a signed contract proposal to asphalt my driveway off my garage to:
"grade area to be paved; add cr-6 stone if needed, compact graded area using vibratory roller, spray weed killer, apply 3" hot sf asphalt..."
May 9, 2007, the skid load trying to grade tore up my driveway and left large rock chucks in the driveway and large shale rocks and tore up sod on the grass in my yard. When the prep crew workers arrived, the driveway was a 4 year solid base. My, wife, who was 100ft away in the horse barn, waved at the workers and they acknowledged her.
Owner Nick Russell came later, stayed for about 10 minutes and then he and the crew and equipment left in a rush without saying anything.
I was just arriving home when I saw the trucks leaving down the road and my wife and I wondered what happened.....did they go to lunch?
But they didn't return so I called the Antietam Paving office and the receptionist said they went to another job and couldn't do my job.
However, they left the driveway in a mess. With the roughness, it was hard to walk and surely not for elderly people coming this Sunday for Mother's Day. This is where they would park to get to our handicap ramp to our front porch.
Mr Russell was very rude when I finally was able to talk to him that afternoon and ask him to come back and return my driveway to its original condition. He refused. I explained about Mother's Day and elderly people.. He refused unless I paid additional to do a major overhaul to prep and prepare my driveway for paving and then pay again at the contract price for paving.
He said "I'm not coming out to fix your driveway unless you pay for it" and then he disconnected the phone line.
I now have the work and expense to repair my driveway to its original condition. Bob H

1
★☆☆☆☆

In April 2007, Antietam Paving estimator Rob came to my home and provided a signed contract proposal to asphalt my driveway off my garage to:
"grade area to be paved; add cr-6 stone if needed, compact graded area using vibratory roller, spray weed killer, apply 3" hot sf asphalt..."
May 9, 2007, the skid load trying to grade tore up my driveway and left large rock chucks in the driveway and large shale rocks and tore up sod on the grass in my yard. When the prep crew workers arrived, the driveway was a 4 year solid base. My, wife, who was 100ft away in the horse barn, waved at the workers and they acknowledged her.
Owner Nick Russell came later, stayed for about 10 minutes and then he and the crew and equipment left in a rush without saying anything.
I was just arriving home when I saw the trucks leaving down the road and my wife and I wondered what happened.....did they go to lunch?
But they didn't return so I called the Antietam Paving office and the receptionist said they went to another job and couldn't do my job.
However, they left the driveway in a mess. With the roughness, it was hard to walk and surely not for elderly people coming this Sunday for Mother's Day. This is where they would park to get to our handicap ramp to our front porch.
Mr Russell was very rude when I finally was able to talk to him that afternoon and ask him to come back and return my driveway to its original condition. He refused. I explained about Mother's Day and elderly people.. He refused unless I paid additional to do a major overhaul to prep and prepare my driveway for paving and then pay again at the contract price for paving.
He said "I'm not coming out to fix your driveway unless you pay for it" and then he disconnected the phone line.
I now have the work and expense to repair my driveway to its original condition. Bob H

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We used them a couple of years ago to get a quote on paving our driveway. They were so friendly and gave us a good quote quickly. We were really torn between using them and another service. We ultimatley went with another service because they were a bit cheaper but I wish we had used Antietam because the company we used messed up the first time around.

4
★★★★☆

We used them a couple of years ago to get a quote on paving our driveway. They were so friendly and gave us a good quote quickly. We were really torn between using them and another service. We ultimatley went with another service because they were a bit cheaper but I wish we had used Antietam because the company we used messed up the first time around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Review Partner
.

The drive way cracked six weeks after they capped it. They kept saying they would make it right but a year later they said it was my problem.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The drive way cracked six weeks after they capped it. They kept saying they would make it right but a year later they said it was my problem.

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Antietam Paving, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review