Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

★★★★☆
Call Today
38.9251 -76.6021
Map and Directions to Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

410-798-4776

439 W Central Ave

Davidsonville, MD

21035

Get Directions Photos

About Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

Details
Hours
Monday – Friday: 8am – 11am & 2pm – 6pm CLOSED 11am – 2pm Saturday: 8am – 4pm Sunday: 2pm – 6pm

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Davidsonville:
Resultset_next

Invisible Fence Brand of the Bay Area

3006 Solomons Island Road Edgewater, MD

Resultset_next

Crofton Veterinary Ctr

2151 Defense Hwy Crofton, KY

4.0 16
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 16 of 16.
.

I love Dogwood Acres and have been using them to board my dogs for the past 5 years during vacation time. One of my dogs was an abused rescue dog and always very anxious around strangers. I was concerned the first time I left her there that there would be an issue as the only other time I left her in a kennel (another facility), the people there wouldn't get anywhere near her because they were scared of her (she is 70 lbs dog) and obviously didn't know how to deal with an anxious dog. She didn't eat most of the week because she was so anxious and I was never notified. The other facility even made me go back and get my dog out of the back because they wouldn't get near her. When I picked her up from Dogwood the first time she was happy as a clam. The staff was professional and caring when dealing with her and the difference was evident right away. She was not stressed and is never anxious when I bring her back for another stay. They have no problems with her, she even lets them bathe her. I feel my dogs are in good hands when I leave them there, the people have always been nothing but friendly and cordial to both me and my animals. I recommend DA to anyone who asks.

5
★★★★★

I love Dogwood Acres and have been using them to board my dogs for the past 5 years during vacation time. One of my dogs was an abused rescue dog and always very anxious around strangers. I was concerned the first time I left her there that there would be an issue as the only other time I left her in a kennel (another facility), the people there wouldn't get anywhere near her because they were scared of her (she is 70 lbs dog) and obviously didn't know how to deal with an anxious dog. She didn't eat most of the week because she was so anxious and I was never notified. The other facility even made me go back and get my dog out of the back because they wouldn't get near her. When I picked her up from Dogwood the first time she was happy as a clam. The staff was professional and caring when dealing with her and the difference was evident right away. She was not stressed and is never anxious when I bring her back for another stay. They have no problems with her, she even lets them bathe her. I feel my dogs are in good hands when I leave them there, the people have always been nothing but friendly and cordial to both me and my animals. I recommend DA to anyone who asks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

There are a lot of gushing reviews about Dogwood Acres. Just be careful of the small print. I had my puppy boarded at their facility and they lost him within 24 hours. They had a horrible response procedure and we never recovered him. I found this was not a rare situation as you might think as many past owners contacted me after my story hit the newspapers. They did offer us the price of the dog for recompense. The contract you sign when entering stipulates they owe you nothing if your dog escapes. Try spending the money on a private pet/house sitting service. The fact is your dog will be caged 90% of the time just like any other kennel. Good luck

1
★☆☆☆☆

There are a lot of gushing reviews about Dogwood Acres. Just be careful of the small print. I had my puppy boarded at their facility and they lost him within 24 hours. They had a horrible response procedure and we never recovered him. I found this was not a rare situation as you might think as many past owners contacted me after my story hit the newspapers. They did offer us the price of the dog for recompense. The contract you sign when entering stipulates they owe you nothing if your dog escapes. Try spending the money on a private pet/house sitting service. The fact is your dog will be caged 90% of the time just like any other kennel. Good luck

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I spent weeks touring and reseraching various kennels withing a 60 mile radius of my home. For years I've heard such great things about DA. So this was my first choice. I just boarded my 7 mo. puppy yesterday for an overnight! It was her first time in a kennel. As you can imagine, I was a worried mom with a puppy in a kennel. When we arrived they gave me a tour and the place was immaculate! In all the tours I had of other places (at least 10), nothing was as clean as this. It was very safe and there were alot of very friendly attendants. Some one wrote that they aren't let out after a certain at night. THIS IS TRUE WITH ALL KENNELS!! That is the reason why I waited until my puppy was over 7 mos. to board her. BUT DA does have a puppy package where Ginger got an late night potty break. Even so, I would have never boarded her earlier because she did require constant potty breaks. Rule of thumb... for this and every kennel... don't board if your dog can't hold it that long over night... or pay for the extra breaks.

I have never been more impressed with a kennel than DA. Ginger was pooped when I picked her up and slept all night. I felt she was in great hands and didn't worry about her at all.

I'm sure we'll be back. Oh and their fees aren't any different from those surrounding but you get sooooo much more!!!
Thank you DA for taking such care of Ginger!

5
★★★★★

I spent weeks touring and reseraching various kennels withing a 60 mile radius of my home. For years I've heard such great things about DA. So this was my first choice. I just boarded my 7 mo. puppy yesterday for an overnight! It was her first time in a kennel. As you can imagine, I was a worried mom with a puppy in a kennel. When we arrived they gave me a tour and the place was immaculate! In all the tours I had of other places (at least 10), nothing was as clean as this. It was very safe and there were alot of very friendly attendants. Some one wrote that they aren't let out after a certain at night. THIS IS TRUE WITH ALL KENNELS!! That is the reason why I waited until my puppy was over 7 mos. to board her. BUT DA does have a puppy package where Ginger got an late night potty break. Even so, I would have never boarded her earlier because she did require constant potty breaks. Rule of thumb... for this and every kennel... don't board if your dog can't hold it that long over night... or pay for the extra breaks.

I have never been more impressed with a kennel than DA. Ginger was pooped when I picked her up and slept all night. I felt she was in great hands and didn't worry about her at all.

I'm sure we'll be back. Oh and their fees aren't any different from those surrounding but you get sooooo much more!!!
Thank you DA for taking such care of Ginger!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I cannot begin to tell everyone how fantastic Dogwood Acres is! My little man was so happy there and I will continue to use them always. Whoever is saying they are not happy with this place is crazy. They must need a butler and maid service for it to be any better.

LOVE the staff and the owners are always there and available for any questions or comments. Couldn't be happier with this wonderful place!

5
★★★★★

I cannot begin to tell everyone how fantastic Dogwood Acres is! My little man was so happy there and I will continue to use them always. Whoever is saying they are not happy with this place is crazy. They must need a butler and maid service for it to be any better.

LOVE the staff and the owners are always there and available for any questions or comments. Couldn't be happier with this wonderful place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Would not recommend. The front staff are very rude. Was never told when they had numerous cases of Kennel cough going around when I dropped my dog off. Found this out later after my dog came home very sick.

2
★★☆☆☆

Would not recommend. The front staff are very rude. Was never told when they had numerous cases of Kennel cough going around when I dropped my dog off. Found this out later after my dog came home very sick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Hi Teri, We regret you had a disappointing experience with us. We strive to provide great care and take every negative comment very seriously. We have not had any outbreaks of Canine Cough in quite sometime and are surprised to hear that your dog became sick. If we had known, we would have been more than happy to assist you in resolving this issue and ensuring that your dog received proper veterinary care. We encourage you to contact us so that we can resolve this situation to your satisfaction.
.

Thank you to all our supporters! We take great pride in the care & services we provide. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your pet's lives!

5
★★★★★

Thank you to all our supporters! We take great pride in the care & services we provide. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your pet's lives!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Not sure what issue Janice W. has with Dogwood Acres but we have used them for at least 4 yrs and our dogs love it. It is very clean and they are taken care of. Dogs need a bath after a week of playing with other animals in a different environment. They have a large play area that is NOT a mud hole. They were recommended to me by someone who could afford to put their dog anywhere and they chose Dogwood Acres

5
★★★★★

Not sure what issue Janice W. has with Dogwood Acres but we have used them for at least 4 yrs and our dogs love it. It is very clean and they are taken care of. Dogs need a bath after a week of playing with other animals in a different environment. They have a large play area that is NOT a mud hole. They were recommended to me by someone who could afford to put their dog anywhere and they chose Dogwood Acres

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Dogwood Acres did such a great job caring for my drama queen of a dog while we were away. She is a very spoiled dog, that loves to be loved as much as possible. And that is what she got when she stayed there. I am not sure what Janice W. below is talking about but my dog was signed up for potty breaks and she went out at 7:30 pm and came back in at 7:45pm. How do I know this because my dog stayed in a suite that had a camera on her the whole time she was there 24 hours a day and I got to watch her any time I wanted(you have to pay extra for this but it was worth it) and I got to see her go out at 7:30 and come back in at 7:45. It was very refreshing when I picked her to find she was super clean because I know she can play hard in the yard and get muddy. I must say if you are lokking to board your dog you should check out Dogwood Acres, they are the best.

5
★★★★★

Dogwood Acres did such a great job caring for my drama queen of a dog while we were away. She is a very spoiled dog, that loves to be loved as much as possible. And that is what she got when she stayed there. I am not sure what Janice W. below is talking about but my dog was signed up for potty breaks and she went out at 7:30 pm and came back in at 7:45pm. How do I know this because my dog stayed in a suite that had a camera on her the whole time she was there 24 hours a day and I got to watch her any time I wanted(you have to pay extra for this but it was worth it) and I got to see her go out at 7:30 and come back in at 7:45. It was very refreshing when I picked her to find she was super clean because I know she can play hard in the yard and get muddy. I must say if you are lokking to board your dog you should check out Dogwood Acres, they are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Dogwood Acres is a wonderful facility. It is very popular, so it can be difficult to get a reservation, especially around holidays and during the summer. Dogs have their own "runs" to go to the bathroom whenever they want, plus a large indoor area with "sling" bed. My dog always comes back from D.A. very happy.

5
★★★★★

Dogwood Acres is a wonderful facility. It is very popular, so it can be difficult to get a reservation, especially around holidays and during the summer. Dogs have their own "runs" to go to the bathroom whenever they want, plus a large indoor area with "sling" bed. My dog always comes back from D.A. very happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

The dogs are not given a late night potty break unless you pay EXTRA for this. Sorry...but making a dog go from 6:30 PM to 6:30 AM -- 12 hours is INHUMANE. This also means that they have no human contact during the evening. Kennels that require your dog to be bathed (at your expense) the day you pick them up are trying to hide the mess the dog has been living in during his/her stay.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The dogs are not given a late night potty break unless you pay EXTRA for this. Sorry...but making a dog go from 6:30 PM to 6:30 AM -- 12 hours is INHUMANE. This also means that they have no human contact during the evening. Kennels that require your dog to be bathed (at your expense) the day you pick them up are trying to hide the mess the dog has been living in during his/her stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We regret that you have received some incorrect information. Our staff is caring for our guests from 6am- 8pm everyday. If there is a guest that is uncomfortable or regularly has accidents overnight, we give him/her our late night potty break service for free and notify the owner for future stays. The care of the pet always comes first. However the avg. dog needs approx. 16hrs of sleep each day. After a busy day at Dogwood Acres most of our guests are more than happy to catch up on their sleep overnight. In addition, we would never keep our facility unkept. Anyone is welcome to come for a tour at anytime to see the pride we take in our cleanliness. Our bath policy is part of that standard of care.
.

I found this kennel about 2-3 years ago when our original boarding kennel was not available. We made an appointment for a tour and were quite impressed! The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The facilities and grounds clean and well kept. Since then we have left our dogs there a number of times and have been pleased with how happy they are when we pick them up. As an added bonus, they have a vet available should your pet need medical care and they are very good about keeping you informed about your pet's issues and progress!!! I strongly recommend Dogwood Acres as an excellent boarding facility for your pet!

5
★★★★★

I found this kennel about 2-3 years ago when our original boarding kennel was not available. We made an appointment for a tour and were quite impressed! The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The facilities and grounds clean and well kept. Since then we have left our dogs there a number of times and have been pleased with how happy they are when we pick them up. As an added bonus, they have a vet available should your pet need medical care and they are very good about keeping you informed about your pet's issues and progress!!! I strongly recommend Dogwood Acres as an excellent boarding facility for your pet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

We are a family that never boards our beloved Shih Tzu. This vacation, we had to based on travel plans that did not accommodate our 10 year old furry family member. She seems to have loved the experience. She came home exhausted, clean, and happy. We were very impressed with Dogwood Acres - very clean, and very enthusiastic young staff members. We checked in every few days while gone and never felt like a bother. We will go back whenever the need arises without hesitation!

5
★★★★★

We are a family that never boards our beloved Shih Tzu. This vacation, we had to based on travel plans that did not accommodate our 10 year old furry family member. She seems to have loved the experience. She came home exhausted, clean, and happy. We were very impressed with Dogwood Acres - very clean, and very enthusiastic young staff members. We checked in every few days while gone and never felt like a bother. We will go back whenever the need arises without hesitation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

I have to say I had been a loyal customer (for three years ago) until recently. I dropped my pet off this weekend and was treated very rudely by staff. In addition, I was told the weekend rates are PER day so my dog was at the kennel for a bit over 24 hours and we were charged $110 (which is more than I spent for my stay at the Hilton in DC).

I will not be bringing my dog back based on this experience. Word to the wise--- be sure to read the ENTIRE contract and clarify how you will be charged!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have to say I had been a loyal customer (for three years ago) until recently. I dropped my pet off this weekend and was treated very rudely by staff. In addition, I was told the weekend rates are PER day so my dog was at the kennel for a bit over 24 hours and we were charged $110 (which is more than I spent for my stay at the Hilton in DC).

I will not be bringing my dog back based on this experience. Word to the wise--- be sure to read the ENTIRE contract and clarify how you will be charged!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We are so sorry to hear of this misunderstanding. To clarify, our charging policy is similar to that of a hotel. We always charge for the check-in day. Upon check-out, if you have not picked up your pet by 11am (our check-out time) then there is another days charge. That being said, we would hate to lose a loyal customer like you because of this issue, please feel free to contact us further to resolve the issue.
.

You have to see this place to believe it. Beautiful, well-tended grounds; caring staff; happy-looking pet guests. My dogs love this place and I think you will, too.

PROS: Professional, caring staff
CONS: Sometimes hard to get a reservation

5
★★★★★

You have to see this place to believe it. Beautiful, well-tended grounds; caring staff; happy-looking pet guests. My dogs love this place and I think you will, too.

PROS: Professional, caring staff
CONS: Sometimes hard to get a reservation

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

This is a great kennel for you your pet. The staff is very helpful and really enjoy what they do. You can go in and take a tour before deciding if this the place for your pets. However, they are booked way in advance, especially around holidays. So planning ahead is a MUST

3
★★★☆☆

This is a great kennel for you your pet. The staff is very helpful and really enjoy what they do. You can go in and take a tour before deciding if this the place for your pets. However, they are booked way in advance, especially around holidays. So planning ahead is a MUST

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

Compared to other facilities, I was astounded by how clean the place was. Staff seem to be caring & compassionate people. My dog got one of the activity packages & had a blast! I was also impressed by the feedback I got when I picked up my

6
★★★★★

Compared to other facilities, I was astounded by how clean the place was. Staff seem to be caring & compassionate people. My dog got one of the activity packages & had a blast! I was also impressed by the feedback I got when I picked up my

Message from Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

OUR MISSION



We are compassionate, knowledgeable pet lovers leading the industry in providing superior pet care based on sound medical practices and positive behavioral philosophies. We value the individuality of the pets in our care, and we share our love of animals through an active engagement with our community.



Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is uniquely trained and certified by the Pet Care Services Association to ensure that every guest receives the care, attention and love he or she deserves.

More about Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

At Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat we’ve gone to great lengths to create the region’s premiere pet lodging, daycare, training and spa facility Our goal is to create a fun and safe environment where pets love to come and play and where owners can confidently place their trust in our standards of care for their pets.With 10,000 sq. ft. of state-of-the-art interior space and acres of wooded grounds, along with our full complement of customizable care options, we offer our guests a superior experience every visit.