Paperbacks & Things

★★★☆☆
42.3458 -83.3853
Map and Directions to Paperbacks & Things

734-522-8018

8044 N Wayne Rd

Westland, MI

48185

Get Directions

About Paperbacks & Things

Categories

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Westland:
Resultset_next

Barnes&Noble

17111 Haggerty Rd Northville, MI

Resultset_next

Wayne Used Books

3127 S Wayne Rd Wayne, MI

3.0 12
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Paperbacks & Things was?
Write a Review
Reviews 1 - 12 of 12.
.

I sure do miss all of my fantastic, great customers, rather my friends. i have had a rough few years and now i am finally doing great, and sure miss doing business with all of you. i will never forget our great times we had, keep in touch with me. Hugs to all Joan rjadis@gmail.com

1
★☆☆☆☆

I sure do miss all of my fantastic, great customers, rather my friends. i have had a rough few years and now i am finally doing great, and sure miss doing business with all of you. i will never forget our great times we had, keep in touch with me. Hugs to all Joan rjadis@gmail.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

One of the best Independant book stores around. I love how the owner knows what you like just by you saying a few authors. Each time I have gone into the store, the owner NEVER fails to enlighten me to books that I may have missed. I now live over 50miles away from this book store and I still make several trips a year to go into the store. Well worth the trip!

5
★★★★★

One of the best Independant book stores around. I love how the owner knows what you like just by you saying a few authors. Each time I have gone into the store, the owner NEVER fails to enlighten me to books that I may have missed. I now live over 50miles away from this book store and I still make several trips a year to go into the store. Well worth the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I found both times I had been in this store, that the lady (owner?)
was extremely rude, would not help or tell me where anythng was.
Also had a bunch of ladies sitting aound AND THEY were the ones that helped me and from what I heard these ladies discussing I got the impression that they DID NOT work there, that THEY were friends.
I will never return to this store.
I also would NEVER recommend this store to ANYONE!!!!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I found both times I had been in this store, that the lady (owner?)
was extremely rude, would not help or tell me where anythng was.
Also had a bunch of ladies sitting aound AND THEY were the ones that helped me and from what I heard these ladies discussing I got the impression that they DID NOT work there, that THEY were friends.
I will never return to this store.
I also would NEVER recommend this store to ANYONE!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

I am sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. We encourage all our customers to sit down and review their book selections prior to purchase, and unless someone is using profane language we do not discourage discussions of books. If anyone is offended by something being said while in the store we encourage them to speak to a sales representative. As we greet all customers entering the store and have never had a complaint about the service we provide, I am at a loss as to this 'rude' person, and would ask that you come in and talk to someone. Thank you for your previous patronage and hope you will come in and discuss your comments.
.

I have been a loyal customer to Paperbacks & Things for over 20 years, I knew the previous owner & loved her. I also LOVE the new owner Melissa! She has made some changes to the store & has made it her own but has not compromised the quality customer service you expect there. My credits carried over from previous owner & Melissa does a great job with her monthly newsletter, you can get it emailed to you or pick it up at the store! Melissa & her staff are doing a great job & this will always be my favorite bookstore! Who needs Amazon! PB's does special orders & still offers discounts to regular customers.

5
★★★★★

I have been a loyal customer to Paperbacks & Things for over 20 years, I knew the previous owner & loved her. I also LOVE the new owner Melissa! She has made some changes to the store & has made it her own but has not compromised the quality customer service you expect there. My credits carried over from previous owner & Melissa does a great job with her monthly newsletter, you can get it emailed to you or pick it up at the store! Melissa & her staff are doing a great job & this will always be my favorite bookstore! Who needs Amazon! PB's does special orders & still offers discounts to regular customers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been a customer of Paperbacks and Things since I was in high school some 14 years ago. I love the store. I think that the old owners were wonder and Melissa and Tawny are just as wonderful now. I love the store. I did not experience the problem with the new owner dumping my credits. I did not get that feel from these ladies, they are very ethical. Plus their love for books and reading shines through.

5
★★★★★

I have been a customer of Paperbacks and Things since I was in high school some 14 years ago. I love the store. I think that the old owners were wonder and Melissa and Tawny are just as wonderful now. I love the store. I did not experience the problem with the new owner dumping my credits. I did not get that feel from these ladies, they are very ethical. Plus their love for books and reading shines through.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This bookstore was a GEM!!! I shopped there for years on a regular basis. the owner, her daughter and staff were the BEST!! Very knowledgable and helpful as well as VERY friendly. Unfortunatley the owner had to sell due to health issues and this store has gone down the tube! The owner is not at all helpful or friendly. She seemed caught up in only the erotica books she now carriers. Any credit that a former customer had was wiped clean by the new owner - she obviously did not want the business of Paperbacks n' Things former customers. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

PROS: ZERO! ZILCH! ZIP!
CONS: Unfriendly, Unknowledgable, Not at all helpful

1
★☆☆☆☆

This bookstore was a GEM!!! I shopped there for years on a regular basis. the owner, her daughter and staff were the BEST!! Very knowledgable and helpful as well as VERY friendly. Unfortunatley the owner had to sell due to health issues and this store has gone down the tube! The owner is not at all helpful or friendly. She seemed caught up in only the erotica books she now carriers. Any credit that a former customer had was wiped clean by the new owner - she obviously did not want the business of Paperbacks n' Things former customers. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

PROS: ZERO! ZILCH! ZIP!
CONS: Unfriendly, Unknowledgable, Not at all helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have to say, from an author's point of view, this store is wonderful! Melissa is welcoming, pleasant and throws a great booksigning. The customers who came in are obviously loyal and love books! The selection, especially of romances, is incredible.

Many thanks to Melissa for hosting us...and yes, I encourage everyone to check it out for themselves.

Diana

PROS: friendly service, knowledgeable staff
CONS:

5
★★★★★

I have to say, from an author's point of view, this store is wonderful! Melissa is welcoming, pleasant and throws a great booksigning. The customers who came in are obviously loyal and love books! The selection, especially of romances, is incredible.

Many thanks to Melissa for hosting us...and yes, I encourage everyone to check it out for themselves.

Diana

PROS: friendly service, knowledgeable staff
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

New owners, unfriendly & uninviting; retained customer credits from previous owner only a short period of time, then dumped; I walked out, refusing to do business with a business owner who has these ethics; purchase price of business was no doubt determined, in part, by amount of outstanding credits, unfair to 'wipe the slate clean' at customers' expense;

1
★☆☆☆☆

New owners, unfriendly & uninviting; retained customer credits from previous owner only a short period of time, then dumped; I walked out, refusing to do business with a business owner who has these ethics; purchase price of business was no doubt determined, in part, by amount of outstanding credits, unfair to 'wipe the slate clean' at customers' expense;

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We actually KEPT everyone's CREDITS for a full year after the store changed hands. We kept all the previous owners policies and expanded on some such as increased discount on new book special orders which you now get 20-30% discount. The previous owner's policy which is our current policy for books on account are that you must come in at least ONCE per YEAR to keep your card active.
.

This is a warm and friendly place to shop. They have a lot to choose from and have a great selection of good condition used booksin stock. Great place to find some old editions of classic books. Staff is very freindly and they are very happy to help you out with finding a variety of materials. Not to many of these places left around so you have to apreicate the few that are still around.

4
★★★★☆

This is a warm and friendly place to shop. They have a lot to choose from and have a great selection of good condition used booksin stock. Great place to find some old editions of classic books. Staff is very freindly and they are very happy to help you out with finding a variety of materials. Not to many of these places left around so you have to apreicate the few that are still around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

IVE BEEN GOING TO PAPERBACKS AND THINGS FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SATISFIED. THE STAFF IS VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. PRICES ARE GOOD AND THE SELECTION HAS ALWAYS BEEN GOOD

4
★★★★☆

IVE BEEN GOING TO PAPERBACKS AND THINGS FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SATISFIED. THE STAFF IS VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. PRICES ARE GOOD AND THE SELECTION HAS ALWAYS BEEN GOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Anyone in the Westland, Livonia, Dearborn Heights area knows about Paperbacks & Things! The basic premise behind used book stores applies here. Bring a new release, get a new release for 1/2 off the cover price. Books that are older than 1 yr can be exchanged with a trade for a very nominal fee. What a wonderful way to support a reading addiction! The childrens section is small but this store is wonderful for those who love romance novels, drama, mystery and the like! The employees are always friendly and the store cat is an icon!

4
★★★★☆

Anyone in the Westland, Livonia, Dearborn Heights area knows about Paperbacks & Things! The basic premise behind used book stores applies here. Bring a new release, get a new release for 1/2 off the cover price. Books that are older than 1 yr can be exchanged with a trade for a very nominal fee. What a wonderful way to support a reading addiction! The childrens section is small but this store is wonderful for those who love romance novels, drama, mystery and the like! The employees are always friendly and the store cat is an icon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Latest reviews from Citysearch.

.

I walked in thinking I could get a stack of books for my classroom library (I teach high school English) and spend $20. I picked approximately 25 books; I was charged $75. SEVENTY FIVE BUCKS! FOR USED PAPERBACKS!

These are USED paperbacks- in decent condition, but come ON NOW! I may as well have ordered these books new on Amazon. That's what I get for trying to help a local merchant.

If you're looking for one or two used books, this might be okay for you, but it's still overpriced.

The person running the store was nice and polite.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I walked in thinking I could get a stack of books for my classroom library (I teach high school English) and spend $20. I picked approximately 25 books; I was charged $75. SEVENTY FIVE BUCKS! FOR USED PAPERBACKS!

These are USED paperbacks- in decent condition, but come ON NOW! I may as well have ordered these books new on Amazon. That's what I get for trying to help a local merchant.

If you're looking for one or two used books, this might be okay for you, but it's still overpriced.

The person running the store was nice and polite.

Pros: If you like to read romance novels- they have thousands

Cons: WAY too expensive.