Animal Emergency Center - Novi

★★★★☆
  • 24360 Novi Rd A

    Novi, MI 48375

    Map & Directions
  • 248-348-1788

About Animal Emergency Center - Novi

Categories
Hours
Open 24/7

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Novi:
Resultset_next

Banfield Pet Hospital

17677 Haggerty Road Northville, MI

Resultset_next

Animal Cancer & Imaging Ctr

8560 N Canton Center Rd Canton, CT

4.0 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Animal Emergency Center - Novi was?
Write a Review
.

DO NOT USE Animal Emergency Center of Novi!

This has to be the absolute, beyond any doubt, worst veterinary service you can find. I strongly recommend that you make the longer drive to Michigan Veterinary Specialists, now BluePearl, on Inkster in Southfield. I only have good things to say about their services.

These sadists completely misdiagnosed my ten year old vizsla's symptoms. I don't think any of the vets actually examined him and they didn't spend more than a few minutes reviewing my dogs charts. They certainly had no clue what he was going through. The techs there must be too afraid to suggest to the doctors that their diagnosis isn't working out as it should.

When I checked him out, I was told by the night vet, the same one who checked him in, a squeak of a vet who seems to shoot him the hip, that he could do everything but stand up. She put him on restricted exercise. She said he could eat, drink and reposition himself. She said he should be fully recovered in a day or two. I didn't understand why I wasn't allowed to carry him out to the car.

As soon as they put him in my car I could see that not only could he not stand, he had no muscle control below the neck. His toes were curled under and his neck was hyper-extended. His head waved frantically back and forth in apparent fright. When I got him home I found his eyes wouldn't focus or react to a bright light, he couldn't eat or drink or respond to his name, he had no bladder or bowel control. He swallowed his tongue suffocating himself and died six hours after I took him home.

He was a lovable, kind and caring companion. He did not deserve to suffer like he did. There can be no excuses. These people just care about making money and will use your pet to maximize their return.

1
★☆☆☆☆

DO NOT USE Animal Emergency Center of Novi!

This has to be the absolute, beyond any doubt, worst veterinary service you can find. I strongly recommend that you make the longer drive to Michigan Veterinary Specialists, now BluePearl, on Inkster in Southfield. I only have good things to say about their services.

These sadists completely misdiagnosed my ten year old vizsla's symptoms. I don't think any of the vets actually examined him and they didn't spend more than a few minutes reviewing my dogs charts. They certainly had no clue what he was going through. The techs there must be too afraid to suggest to the doctors that their diagnosis isn't working out as it should.

When I checked him out, I was told by the night vet, the same one who checked him in, a squeak of a vet who seems to shoot him the hip, that he could do everything but stand up. She put him on restricted exercise. She said he could eat, drink and reposition himself. She said he should be fully recovered in a day or two. I didn't understand why I wasn't allowed to carry him out to the car.

As soon as they put him in my car I could see that not only could he not stand, he had no muscle control below the neck. His toes were curled under and his neck was hyper-extended. His head waved frantically back and forth in apparent fright. When I got him home I found his eyes wouldn't focus or react to a bright light, he couldn't eat or drink or respond to his name, he had no bladder or bowel control. He swallowed his tongue suffocating himself and died six hours after I took him home.

He was a lovable, kind and caring companion. He did not deserve to suffer like he did. There can be no excuses. These people just care about making money and will use your pet to maximize their return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Dear Mr. H, You have our sincere condolences for your loss, but your remarks do not accurately convey AEC’s efforts or your decision making. Your dog tested positive for a certain toxic substance. We explained what was happening to Rocky, and the need for him to remain hospitalized. You disagreed with that diagnosis and refused further treatment. Rocky went home against our recommendation, but with written and verbal instructions identifying signs of trouble to watch for. We explained that you could bring Rocky back at any time at no charge. Sadly, when Rocky's condition worsened you didn't return, go elsewhere, or notify us. We did everything we could to save Rocky, as we could not keep him hospitalized against your wishes. We understand that many times the comments expressed during the grieving process may not reflect an objective description of events, but you will always have our heartfelt sympathy for Rocky, yourself and your family. Sincerely, Dr. Heather Robertson
.

Took my puppy in late one night due to some very odd behavior. After promises that they would call me and keep me updated, I had to call them every few hours to get updates. The cardiology side of this place is FANTASTIC, the Dr's and staff on that side are very caring and knowledgeable. However, after getting NO answers to why my dog was having this behavior, they sent me back home with her, with a $1000+ bill. Two nights later she was having the same problem, when i walked in, my dog was having what seemed to be seizures in my arms. The lady at the front was just nasty as soon as I walked in the door. She put me into a room so I could see a Dr. Now, mind you, I have my dog in my arms who is pretty much out of it, and is still shaking due to this "unknown" illness. This lady comes back in and asks me "why haven't you filled out your paperwork yet?" . Obviously I have my dog in my arms, so I told her, you should have everything on file, I was just here two nights ago. So again, being very rude, she told me that if I didn't fill out paperwork, the Dr would not see me. I told her that as soon as we got my dog under control and the Dr came in I would fill out everything. But no, that apparently was not good enough, she told me that I either had to fill it out or the Dr would not see us. She was rude to me the entire time I was there. Needless to say, I left and went to the animal ER at Maple and M5, were the staff was much more friendly and understanding of my situation. Would not recomend this vet to ANYONE, nor will I EVER be going back!!!!! Stay away!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Took my puppy in late one night due to some very odd behavior. After promises that they would call me and keep me updated, I had to call them every few hours to get updates. The cardiology side of this place is FANTASTIC, the Dr's and staff on that side are very caring and knowledgeable. However, after getting NO answers to why my dog was having this behavior, they sent me back home with her, with a $1000+ bill. Two nights later she was having the same problem, when i walked in, my dog was having what seemed to be seizures in my arms. The lady at the front was just nasty as soon as I walked in the door. She put me into a room so I could see a Dr. Now, mind you, I have my dog in my arms who is pretty much out of it, and is still shaking due to this "unknown" illness. This lady comes back in and asks me "why haven't you filled out your paperwork yet?" . Obviously I have my dog in my arms, so I told her, you should have everything on file, I was just here two nights ago. So again, being very rude, she told me that if I didn't fill out paperwork, the Dr would not see me. I told her that as soon as we got my dog under control and the Dr came in I would fill out everything. But no, that apparently was not good enough, she told me that I either had to fill it out or the Dr would not see us. She was rude to me the entire time I was there. Needless to say, I left and went to the animal ER at Maple and M5, were the staff was much more friendly and understanding of my situation. Would not recomend this vet to ANYONE, nor will I EVER be going back!!!!! Stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I JUST took our cat to this hospital last night. We are currently awaiting more test results. This was the first time we needed to utilize emergency care for one of our pets. We are amazed at how GREAT the staff of the hospital are, the organization, constant communication and added items to make things comfortable for both pet and owners. I too hope NO ONE needs a place like this, but if you do, rest assured you and your pet are in good good care.

5
★★★★★

My husband and I JUST took our cat to this hospital last night. We are currently awaiting more test results. This was the first time we needed to utilize emergency care for one of our pets. We are amazed at how GREAT the staff of the hospital are, the organization, constant communication and added items to make things comfortable for both pet and owners. I too hope NO ONE needs a place like this, but if you do, rest assured you and your pet are in good good care.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My cat Tony was a patient of the cardiologist Dr, Brown. Tony. got into crisis one weekend and ended up in Emergency. I had called and the staff was waiting for me, the ER doc (Dr.Matt Januszewski) had already reviewed the chart and was ready to help. Most of all the staff listened to me and was able to handle Tony in the least stressful way (Tony hated being placed on his back for anything - like xrays.) Everyone was attentive and compassionate. The ER fees were reasonable and they did not charge for every needle and piece of tubing seperately.

5
★★★★★

My cat Tony was a patient of the cardiologist Dr, Brown. Tony. got into crisis one weekend and ended up in Emergency. I had called and the staff was waiting for me, the ER doc (Dr.Matt Januszewski) had already reviewed the chart and was ready to help. Most of all the staff listened to me and was able to handle Tony in the least stressful way (Tony hated being placed on his back for anything - like xrays.) Everyone was attentive and compassionate. The ER fees were reasonable and they did not charge for every needle and piece of tubing seperately.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My 13 year old dog reached a crisis point at 3:00 AM. We knew he was going to need to be euthanize and were grateful that AEC was available. They have a really comfortable place where they allow you to say goodbye. Though it was a very difficult time , the atmosphere and their compassion did make it easier.

5
★★★★★

My 13 year old dog reached a crisis point at 3:00 AM. We knew he was going to need to be euthanize and were grateful that AEC was available. They have a really comfortable place where they allow you to say goodbye. Though it was a very difficult time , the atmosphere and their compassion did make it easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This is only an emergency hospital, so the Vets don't know your pet, but they make you feel like they do. The staff is so caring and helpful during a horrible time with a sick pet. While my cat passed away there, they even sent a condolence letter signed by the staff. That really was meaningful, and it is comforting to know they are always open.

5
★★★★★

This is only an emergency hospital, so the Vets don't know your pet, but they make you feel like they do. The staff is so caring and helpful during a horrible time with a sick pet. While my cat passed away there, they even sent a condolence letter signed by the staff. That really was meaningful, and it is comforting to know they are always open.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I was very impressed with this emergency veterinary hospital. The staff is very professional, caring and understanding. Although, my incident was an overreaction, they made me feel like a wonderful and loving pet owner who did not overreact. The hospital is VERY clean and appeared to be up-to-date on technology. My wait time was minimal and I was never just forgotten about while in the exam room. I hope nobody has an emergency with their pet but if you do, I highly recommend this veterinary hospital!

5
★★★★★

I was very impressed with this emergency veterinary hospital. The staff is very professional, caring and understanding. Although, my incident was an overreaction, they made me feel like a wonderful and loving pet owner who did not overreact. The hospital is VERY clean and appeared to be up-to-date on technology. My wait time was minimal and I was never just forgotten about while in the exam room. I hope nobody has an emergency with their pet but if you do, I highly recommend this veterinary hospital!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Review Partner
.

My husband and I had a mishap when clipping one of our rabbits late on a Sunday night, and felt it best to have a slight cut checked out. We've been referred to the Animal Emergency Center by the Michigan Rabbit Rescue as one of the few

2
★★★★☆

My husband and I had a mishap when clipping one of our rabbits late on a Sunday night, and felt it best to have a slight cut checked out. We've been referred to the Animal Emergency Center by the Michigan Rabbit Rescue as one of the few

.

I was very impressed with this emergency veterinary hospital. The staff is very professional, caring and understanding. Although, my incident was an overreaction, they made me feel like a wonderful and loving pet owner who did not

2
★★★★★

I was very impressed with this emergency veterinary hospital. The staff is very professional, caring and understanding. Although, my incident was an overreaction, they made me feel like a wonderful and loving pet owner who did not

Message from Animal Emergency Center - Novi

Our quality care and experience has helped thousands of pets since we opened in 2002, but it is the forethought, warm-heartedness, and proficiency of our entire staff that makes AEC your best choice for any pet emergency.



AEC's commitment to providing excellent veterinary care has enabled us to create valuable relationships with the veterinary community and the public. We partner with in-house, board certified cardiologists that are available to assist in cardiac emergencies, and we also routinely collaborate with other specialized diagnostic and rehabilitation providers to ensure the best possible continuity for treatment.

More about Animal Emergency Center - Novi

When your pet is sick or injured, you cannot risk waiting for a veterinarian's regular office hours. You need immediate, quality care. The Animal Emergency Center (AEC) provides full service emergency and critical care for dogs, cats, birds, rabbits, small mammals / pocket pets, reptiles and other exotics. In fact, AEC is the only 24 hour emergency animal hospital in Southeastern Michigan with staff specifically trained and experienced in providing emergency care for exotic and avian species. Our facilities are also the only 24 hour emergency hospitals in the area that are AAHA certified.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Animal Emergency Center - Novi, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review