All Star Driver Education

★★★☆☆
  • 1011 S Main St Ste B

    Ann Arbor, MI 48104

    Map & Directions
  • 734-665-7374

About All Star Driver Education

Categories
Hours
Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
3.3158 19
Hi! Sign in to let us know how All Star Driver Education was?
Write a Review
.

We were so excited to find a drivers ed school that we didn't have to drive our daughter to and the class was right after school. One of the instructors took the time to come to speak with me after our daughter finished an hour of driving and gave us some pointer once we start practicing at home, thanks!

4
★★★★☆

We were so excited to find a drivers ed school that we didn't have to drive our daughter to and the class was right after school. One of the instructors took the time to come to speak with me after our daughter finished an hour of driving and gave us some pointer once we start practicing at home, thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

DO NOT SIGN YOUR CHILD UP FOR THIS CLASS!!!!!! I too experienced them canceling a class at the last minute and left me with no options due to my son's schedule with sports. There was another option for us at the time we signed up for All Star but chose All Star over that because the time and location was more convenient. Regretting that decision now!!!! They informed me that they canceled multiple classes in the area due to low enrollment (you'd think they'd combine the classes to a central location but no). I got an apology that does me NO GOOD and an offer to give me $20 off a different class in the future....ARE YOU KIDDING ME????? I WILL NOT BE TAKING ADVANTAGE OF A $20 DISCOUNT AND HAVE THEM CANCEL THE CLASS ON US AT THE LAST MINUTE AGAIN!!!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

DO NOT SIGN YOUR CHILD UP FOR THIS CLASS!!!!!! I too experienced them canceling a class at the last minute and left me with no options due to my son's schedule with sports. There was another option for us at the time we signed up for All Star but chose All Star over that because the time and location was more convenient. Regretting that decision now!!!! They informed me that they canceled multiple classes in the area due to low enrollment (you'd think they'd combine the classes to a central location but no). I got an apology that does me NO GOOD and an offer to give me $20 off a different class in the future....ARE YOU KIDDING ME????? I WILL NOT BE TAKING ADVANTAGE OF A $20 DISCOUNT AND HAVE THEM CANCEL THE CLASS ON US AT THE LAST MINUTE AGAIN!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We were so happy with our choice to go with All Star! I can't say they are the cheapest in our area but I have learned over the years "you get what you pay for" and even though we paid a bit more for All Star, it was well worth it!

I would recommend them to everyone!!!

5
★★★★★

We were so happy with our choice to go with All Star! I can't say they are the cheapest in our area but I have learned over the years "you get what you pay for" and even though we paid a bit more for All Star, it was well worth it!

I would recommend them to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My son and daughter have both attended all star drivers training.
My son is now a fully licensed driver, and a great one at that. He still talks about how much he learned and how great his instructor was.
My daughter just finished her segment 1 class and she is so excited to start driving with me. Ill admit I was a little more nervous with her but after seeing how much she learned and the skills she got from the classes, I have no worries at all.
Thank you All Star

5
★★★★★

My son and daughter have both attended all star drivers training.
My son is now a fully licensed driver, and a great one at that. He still talks about how much he learned and how great his instructor was.
My daughter just finished her segment 1 class and she is so excited to start driving with me. Ill admit I was a little more nervous with her but after seeing how much she learned and the skills she got from the classes, I have no worries at all.
Thank you All Star

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Boy am I more than happy that we decided to go with All Star. My student insisted that we go to sears with all of her friends, but the cost there was outrageous. All Star was kind enough to offer payment plans because I wasn't able to pay the full amount up front. Not only that but they sent out coupons and even offered us $5 for referring students to the class. My student loved the games and videos and spoke about this awsome character Captain Drivers Ed, I couldn't believe how much fun she had and we will definitely be a returning customer for segment 2

3
★★★☆☆

Boy am I more than happy that we decided to go with All Star. My student insisted that we go to sears with all of her friends, but the cost there was outrageous. All Star was kind enough to offer payment plans because I wasn't able to pay the full amount up front. Not only that but they sent out coupons and even offered us $5 for referring students to the class. My student loved the games and videos and spoke about this awsome character Captain Drivers Ed, I couldn't believe how much fun she had and we will definitely be a returning customer for segment 2

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Horrible Experience.
Very poor customer service- Rude and not helpful
Instructors do not teach State requirements- At All Star they have three packages (bronze, silver, and gold) This is only supposed to give an option to pay a little more to get more experience with one of their instructors. However, they will get their money from you in another way.

There are plenty of other driving schools, with good ratings to choose from!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Horrible Experience.
Very poor customer service- Rude and not helpful
Instructors do not teach State requirements- At All Star they have three packages (bronze, silver, and gold) This is only supposed to give an option to pay a little more to get more experience with one of their instructors. However, they will get their money from you in another way.

There are plenty of other driving schools, with good ratings to choose from!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Segment 1 for Drivers Ed was worthless. No class room instruction. The teacher simply showed movies in class (the movies were techinically about driving, but pointed out the obvious such as where the steering wheel is located.) The videos also constantly made fun of people with disabilities, to the point where I was triggered, made deeply uncomfortable and felt sick in class. Class time was also spent playing games like musical chairs.
The first time behind the wheel I was sent down 55 mph roads, and told to drive from downtown Ypsilanti to Ann Arbor. I was terrified. The "teacher" texted while driving and complained that she could not drink on the job.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Segment 1 for Drivers Ed was worthless. No class room instruction. The teacher simply showed movies in class (the movies were techinically about driving, but pointed out the obvious such as where the steering wheel is located.) The videos also constantly made fun of people with disabilities, to the point where I was triggered, made deeply uncomfortable and felt sick in class. Class time was also spent playing games like musical chairs.
The first time behind the wheel I was sent down 55 mph roads, and told to drive from downtown Ypsilanti to Ann Arbor. I was terrified. The "teacher" texted while driving and complained that she could not drink on the job.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Seem short staffed, Brittany rude on the phone, untrained or uncaring staff?, long phone waiting on hold up to 9 minutes. Read on for details. My daughter was very close to the 14 year 8 month age for the time of the first class, so i e-mailed all star with her birthday to see if she was eligible. I was e-mailed back that she was eligible to take the class for that time. I wanted to make sure, so i called and spoke to someone at their office. The person double-checked and confirmed that she could take the class. I was told to simply sign -up on-line. When I went to sign-up on-line I wasn't able to. I called back and was told that the system on-line wouldn't allow the sign up because it was so close to the cut-off age, so she would have to manually sign her up from their office computer. They said i was all set. They only had 5 students @ that time, so possibility of cancellation. Told me to call back. Called back several times and they would not commit until days before the class. Finally got confirmation and paid them in full over the phone. Got a call that class was postponed 2 days due to election. No Problem. My daughter showed up for class after school at her high school and they kicked her out because she was 1 day short of the correct age and that was even after the 2 day postponement. Had to leave work early to pick up my daughter. No one from the company even called me to let me know that they just told my daughter she would have to leave the class. Again, they did all of the processing on their end and had all of the correct information. Called and explained to the Manager Cathy and was told that she doesn't know why her staff would do that and would talk to them. Not even an apology and didn't seem to care about all of my wasted time. Long hold times, rude staff, untrained staff. Not sure at this time if they are less expensive than other companies. I am going to find out, since i would not use this company in the future or recommend them. I would rather pay more, and hopefully deal wth staff that are more competent and have a lot less wasted time and frustration

1
★☆☆☆☆

Seem short staffed, Brittany rude on the phone, untrained or uncaring staff?, long phone waiting on hold up to 9 minutes. Read on for details. My daughter was very close to the 14 year 8 month age for the time of the first class, so i e-mailed all star with her birthday to see if she was eligible. I was e-mailed back that she was eligible to take the class for that time. I wanted to make sure, so i called and spoke to someone at their office. The person double-checked and confirmed that she could take the class. I was told to simply sign -up on-line. When I went to sign-up on-line I wasn't able to. I called back and was told that the system on-line wouldn't allow the sign up because it was so close to the cut-off age, so she would have to manually sign her up from their office computer. They said i was all set. They only had 5 students @ that time, so possibility of cancellation. Told me to call back. Called back several times and they would not commit until days before the class. Finally got confirmation and paid them in full over the phone. Got a call that class was postponed 2 days due to election. No Problem. My daughter showed up for class after school at her high school and they kicked her out because she was 1 day short of the correct age and that was even after the 2 day postponement. Had to leave work early to pick up my daughter. No one from the company even called me to let me know that they just told my daughter she would have to leave the class. Again, they did all of the processing on their end and had all of the correct information. Called and explained to the Manager Cathy and was told that she doesn't know why her staff would do that and would talk to them. Not even an apology and didn't seem to care about all of my wasted time. Long hold times, rude staff, untrained staff. Not sure at this time if they are less expensive than other companies. I am going to find out, since i would not use this company in the future or recommend them. I would rather pay more, and hopefully deal wth staff that are more competent and have a lot less wasted time and frustration

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

All Star cancels class at the last minute. They do not call anyone to let them know. When you call them down on it they make up excuses...oh my instructor was accidently double booked or someone called and cancelled your son from the class. It's all BS. Stay way from this company. All you get is the run around. If insider pages had a pathetic rateing this company would get it.

1
★☆☆☆☆

All Star cancels class at the last minute. They do not call anyone to let them know. When you call them down on it they make up excuses...oh my instructor was accidently double booked or someone called and cancelled your son from the class. It's all BS. Stay way from this company. All you get is the run around. If insider pages had a pathetic rateing this company would get it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My son loved the instructor he had for his segment 1 class. The learned so much information and he said played games and had fun while doing it. He always had great stories. Thanks so much. I will be back for Segment 2!

5
★★★★★

My son loved the instructor he had for his segment 1 class. The learned so much information and he said played games and had fun while doing it. He always had great stories. Thanks so much. I will be back for Segment 2!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for your response Beth. Can't wait to see your son again for Segment 2.
.

My son had a great experience with All Star. The company was highly recommended through our community center. The instructor was great with the kids and when my son was finished with the program, I even learned a few things from my son. Way to go All Star! My daughter will certainly take your program next year and I will recommend you to my friends.

5
★★★★★

My son had a great experience with All Star. The company was highly recommended through our community center. The instructor was great with the kids and when my son was finished with the program, I even learned a few things from my son. Way to go All Star! My daughter will certainly take your program next year and I will recommend you to my friends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for your response Kathy. It is nice to know that the teaching continues outside the classroom.
.

I was reluctant at first, I received a call that they would have to cancel a class because not enough students were enrolled. I decided I would wait until the next month when they offered classes again; I am glad I did.

My student was treated with patience and respect. The instructors treated my teen like she was an adult, and allowed her to make her own decisions. I feel as if she grew-up a little in driver's ed. She seems to be more responsible now.

She received her license, and loves to drive. Now when I'm tired after a lond day of work, she can drive.

5
★★★★★

I was reluctant at first, I received a call that they would have to cancel a class because not enough students were enrolled. I decided I would wait until the next month when they offered classes again; I am glad I did.

My student was treated with patience and respect. The instructors treated my teen like she was an adult, and allowed her to make her own decisions. I feel as if she grew-up a little in driver's ed. She seems to be more responsible now.

She received her license, and loves to drive. Now when I'm tired after a lond day of work, she can drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for your response Marlene. I am glad that you stuck with us, even after the class cancellation. We are glad to hear that your daughter gained more responsibility and independence after taking our program.
.

we had a great experience with All Star! our instructor in Walled Lake was Hillard and he was so great to my son. He worked with our very busy schedule to see to it that our driving lessons were all done before his basketball season started. He even showed up on a Sunday to do one of the lessons...on his day off. Thanks Hillard and All Star!

5
★★★★★

we had a great experience with All Star! our instructor in Walled Lake was Hillard and he was so great to my son. He worked with our very busy schedule to see to it that our driving lessons were all done before his basketball season started. He even showed up on a Sunday to do one of the lessons...on his day off. Thanks Hillard and All Star!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for your response Brad. Hillard is a great teacher.
.

They not only cancel at the very last minute but they will lie when asked if they called to say that they were canceling. Also they do not do a good job teaching basic car ownership skills, as described on the website ( the website is also hard to navigate and READ). As a graduate of all star drivers ed I can also say that my instructor was unsafe and rude on almost all of the drives. Letting me run a stop sign in a very dangerous stretch of road and never telling me ( it was my second time driving a car in an area of town I was not familiar with). In conclusion if you want an unsafe and unreliable school go right ahead with all star.

1
★☆☆☆☆

They not only cancel at the very last minute but they will lie when asked if they called to say that they were canceling. Also they do not do a good job teaching basic car ownership skills, as described on the website ( the website is also hard to navigate and READ). As a graduate of all star drivers ed I can also say that my instructor was unsafe and rude on almost all of the drives. Letting me run a stop sign in a very dangerous stretch of road and never telling me ( it was my second time driving a car in an area of town I was not familiar with). In conclusion if you want an unsafe and unreliable school go right ahead with all star.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Emma - I am sorry that you feel this way about your experience. Sometimes things happen and we do have to cancel classes last minute. However, we keep notes to ensure that each student is called in a timely matter. Often we encounter families with multiple phone numbers, and lots of different family members answering their phones, sometimes messages do get missed. As far as the instructor who was "unsafe and rude" did you report it to us? If you haven't please feel free to call our office and discuss your experience with us so that we can make improvements to our program.
.

They have classes available and then they cancel at the last minute. They were going to put a soon to be young driver in the backseat of a mustang with two others belted in and a third one not belted. It was amazing that these are the folks training our young drivers maybe they need to take segment 1.

1
★☆☆☆☆

They have classes available and then they cancel at the last minute. They were going to put a soon to be young driver in the backseat of a mustang with two others belted in and a third one not belted. It was amazing that these are the folks training our young drivers maybe they need to take segment 1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Tracy - I am sorry about your experience. If you would like to call us and talk about what happened we would be happy to take your call. The office is open 9am-5pm Mon-Fri.
.

All three of my children have been though All Star Drivers Education, in all different Michigan locations. Dee Braden did road training with each one and I could not be more pleased. Highly recommended!

5
★★★★★

All three of my children have been though All Star Drivers Education, in all different Michigan locations. Dee Braden did road training with each one and I could not be more pleased. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you Tammy. I wish you could write a review for each child! Just kidding =) I am glad they all enjoyed the program.
.

I put my teenager through All Star and I have to say I am very pleased with them. My son had a great time in class and the activities were interesting for the students. Drivers Ed is a lot of money these days, but All Star was well worth it. The students get to keep their book, they learn through games and activities, like the All Star Board Game, and they are very flexible with our schedules. Some of Andrews friends took Drivers Ed elsewhere and did nothing but complain about how boring it was, and how dull the teachers were. I'm so glad I went with the All Star program, we will definitely go back for the second portion.

5
★★★★★

I put my teenager through All Star and I have to say I am very pleased with them. My son had a great time in class and the activities were interesting for the students. Drivers Ed is a lot of money these days, but All Star was well worth it. The students get to keep their book, they learn through games and activities, like the All Star Board Game, and they are very flexible with our schedules. Some of Andrews friends took Drivers Ed elsewhere and did nothing but complain about how boring it was, and how dull the teachers were. I'm so glad I went with the All Star program, we will definitely go back for the second portion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you for the review Kathy. I hope that Segment 2 has been equally as rewarding for your son.
.

What a great time my kid had at All Star this summer! The instructors were excellent, and very patient with my child, which is exactly what he needed. He told me that the classes were very interesting and he really enjoyed the games and activities that the instructor had them playing. He even said something about this hilarious character Captain Driver's Ed? I don't know, but as long as my child had a good time, and has learned how to be a safe driver, that's all that matters to me!

5
★★★★★

What a great time my kid had at All Star this summer! The instructors were excellent, and very patient with my child, which is exactly what he needed. He told me that the classes were very interesting and he really enjoyed the games and activities that the instructor had them playing. He even said something about this hilarious character Captain Driver's Ed? I don't know, but as long as my child had a good time, and has learned how to be a safe driver, that's all that matters to me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks for the review Robert. I am glad your teen had a good time in our course.
.

Our daughter has attended Phase 1 at All Star Driver Education, and we have found the instructor to be excellent as far as teaching her the basics of how to be a good, safe driver. I would reccomend this driving school to anyone in the Howell area. The classes were taught at Cleary College, and the kids really did learn a lot. They provided our daughter with ample time behind the wheel, and now I hardly ever scream and clutch the door handle while driving with her! (Just kidding)

If I remember correctly the price was about $300 for her driving instruction. A little expensive, but I feel that she has been well prepared for the road, and any emergencies that may arise. The class size was small, and we liked that.

I don't know why this guy doesn't have more grey hair LOL.

PROS: Good instruction, ample class and driving time, individual attention
CONS: A little expensive, but worth it

4
★★★★☆

Our daughter has attended Phase 1 at All Star Driver Education, and we have found the instructor to be excellent as far as teaching her the basics of how to be a good, safe driver. I would reccomend this driving school to anyone in the Howell area. The classes were taught at Cleary College, and the kids really did learn a lot. They provided our daughter with ample time behind the wheel, and now I hardly ever scream and clutch the door handle while driving with her! (Just kidding)

If I remember correctly the price was about $300 for her driving instruction. A little expensive, but I feel that she has been well prepared for the road, and any emergencies that may arise. The class size was small, and we liked that.

I don't know why this guy doesn't have more grey hair LOL.

PROS: Good instruction, ample class and driving time, individual attention
CONS: A little expensive, but worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you for the review Roy.
 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used All Star Driver Education, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review