St Petersburg

★★★★☆
  • 3610 France Ave

    Robbinsdale, MN 55422

    Map & Directions
  • 763-587-1787

Food

Food
More choices in Robbinsdale:
Resultset_next

Stella's Fish Caf�� & Prestige Oyster Bar

1400 W Lake St Minneapolis, KS

Resultset_next

Marla's Indian

1123 W Lake St Minneapolis, KS

3.619 21
Hi! Sign in to let us know how St Petersburg was?
Write a Review
.

The food is actually quite good for the most part although oddly some dishes are quite authentic (I lived
in Russia for 6 years in the 90's so have some exposure) while others seem to have no Eastern
European connection at all. Do NOT go to this restaurant if service is your main focus, you may well
leave in tears. If the menu was more clear cut and the staff could at least pretend they cared, the food and
atmosphere could actually make this place work.

1
★★☆☆☆

The food is actually quite good for the most part although oddly some dishes are quite authentic (I lived
in Russia for 6 years in the 90's so have some exposure) while others seem to have no Eastern
European connection at all. Do NOT go to this restaurant if service is your main focus, you may well
leave in tears. If the menu was more clear cut and the staff could at least pretend they cared, the food and
atmosphere could actually make this place work.

Pros: food/vodka

Cons: incredibly horrible service

.

We had one good experience here, so we went again, and it couldn't have been a worse experience. We even had reservations and we couldn't get seated! No one else was waiting at the host stand and we couldn't get any staff to glance our way. After we got the host's attention and told them we had reservations for two, we literally stood there for over 20 minutes and finally stormed out. It still cost us a few dollars, because my husband had put money in the tip jar at the mandatory coat check and when we retrieved our coats, the jar had already been emptied (go figure!)

We did notice that in the dining room there were some tables being waited on, but all of those customers seemed to be speaking perfect Russian. Guess we didn't get the memo.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We had one good experience here, so we went again, and it couldn't have been a worse experience. We even had reservations and we couldn't get seated! No one else was waiting at the host stand and we couldn't get any staff to glance our way. After we got the host's attention and told them we had reservations for two, we literally stood there for over 20 minutes and finally stormed out. It still cost us a few dollars, because my husband had put money in the tip jar at the mandatory coat check and when we retrieved our coats, the jar had already been emptied (go figure!)

We did notice that in the dining room there were some tables being waited on, but all of those customers seemed to be speaking perfect Russian. Guess we didn't get the memo.

Cons: Terrible Service

.

Maybe I would of liked this place more if I had been there for the dancing. The drinks were good and the food wasn't so bad. I had chicken and mine was tasty, but some of the other dishes my group had were not so great. I would reccommend that a person tries it at least once.

1
★★★☆☆

Maybe I would of liked this place more if I had been there for the dancing. The drinks were good and the food wasn't so bad. I had chicken and mine was tasty, but some of the other dishes my group had were not so great. I would reccommend that a person tries it at least once.

Pros: Drinks & Parking

.

One of the most horrible restaurant experiences in my life - lackadaisical attitude of waiters: we had to catch a passing waiter to get menues, water, cutlery, etc. Very rude and obnoxious manager. Cold food. Dried-up cold cuts. Long wait. In short, a great place to get rid of nostalgia for Russian immigrants - with every minute passing and every morsel of food you appreciate the USA more and more. One of my companions appreciated the vodka bar - as I do not drink vodka, I have to rely on his opinion.

0
★☆☆☆☆

One of the most horrible restaurant experiences in my life - lackadaisical attitude of waiters: we had to catch a passing waiter to get menues, water, cutlery, etc. Very rude and obnoxious manager. Cold food. Dried-up cold cuts. Long wait. In short, a great place to get rid of nostalgia for Russian immigrants - with every minute passing and every morsel of food you appreciate the USA more and more. One of my companions appreciated the vodka bar - as I do not drink vodka, I have to rely on his opinion.

Pros: parking

Cons: everything else

.

It's really too bad, because this place has all the potential in the word to do something with itself, but continues to disappoint. Here's some things that they could take to heart. FIRST, if the manager/owner is in a crabby mood... tell him to go home. I don't know what it is with this guy, but he either loves you or treats you like dirt (we're not coming back for that reason alone, but many exist). Second, the food is ok, some things are great, like the borscht, but others leave you scratching your head wondering "why did I order that" (crepes appetizer). Third, consistence... sometimes they are open on Saturdays... other times they are closed to the public. What is going on there???
All is not lost however, if you want a true Russian vodka, this is your place (you will pay the price - but it's worth it). The bartender, Johnny... very funny guy. Likes to go by Spicy, and will make you laugh...
Too bad his surroundings can't support more business.

1
★★☆☆☆

It's really too bad, because this place has all the potential in the word to do something with itself, but continues to disappoint. Here's some things that they could take to heart. FIRST, if the manager/owner is in a crabby mood... tell him to go home. I don't know what it is with this guy, but he either loves you or treats you like dirt (we're not coming back for that reason alone, but many exist). Second, the food is ok, some things are great, like the borscht, but others leave you scratching your head wondering "why did I order that" (crepes appetizer). Third, consistence... sometimes they are open on Saturdays... other times they are closed to the public. What is going on there???
All is not lost however, if you want a true Russian vodka, this is your place (you will pay the price - but it's worth it). The bartender, Johnny... very funny guy. Likes to go by Spicy, and will make you laugh...
Too bad his surroundings can't support more business.

Pros: Bar & Borscht

.

This joint looks really run down on the outside. Most of the parking lot is old cars with rust on them. My first impression inside was many people at the bar with casual dress. My party was reluctant to eat here because it seems like the type of place that we would "get the stare". It's really too bad. Some other restaurant got my $200 instead.

1
★★★☆☆

This joint looks really run down on the outside. Most of the parking lot is old cars with rust on them. My first impression inside was many people at the bar with casual dress. My party was reluctant to eat here because it seems like the type of place that we would "get the stare". It's really too bad. Some other restaurant got my $200 instead.

Pros: We decided to leave

Cons: Negative Ambience

.

The previous review for this restaurant was written by one of their employees. Look at all the other unhappy dining experiences. Spend your money at a restaurant that actually cares about their customers (especially when charging top dollar for entrees). You'll be glad you did.

1
★★☆☆☆

The previous review for this restaurant was written by one of their employees. Look at all the other unhappy dining experiences. Spend your money at a restaurant that actually cares about their customers (especially when charging top dollar for entrees). You'll be glad you did.

Pros: Parking

Cons: You could get a lot of the same entrees at happy chef for a fraction of the cost

.

I wasn't sure what to expect. I thought it was a working class bar with some food on the side. I couldn't have been more wrong. You can wear jeans but you will be more comfortable in something more upscale. This would be a great place to dress to the 9s on a budget. The restaurant has bright and well-maintained crystal chandeliers, flocked wallpaper and heavy velvet drapes that tell you that you have traveled to somewhere beyond your backyard.
Our service was a delight. Olga was from Southern Russia and quite helpful. If you want to practice your Russian, I expect you could do it with any of the wait staff but Olga took time to try to understand our broken phrases. This is not a restaurant where you want to get in and get out quickly. Plan to spend the evening if you have the time. Olga was willing to get our orders in when we asked her, but in retrospect I wish we had taken our time. An hour and a half is not enough.
To get the real Russian experience you need to start with some Vodka. We tried a sampler. It is interesting to taste the many flavors. The food was all very good and reasonably priced ($13-20). Lots of starters and salads in the $3-8 range, but for the big spenders, there are the high-end caviars that goes into the stratosphere.
We were there on a Saturday night. One end of the dining room is a stage and dance floor. A male/female singing duo did a pop-eclectic montage for the first half hour. At about 8:00 they turned on the disco ball and all of the selections were in Russian. This would be a great place to sit, drink your Vodka, and dance into a cold winter night.
My only complaint would be the coat-check. It was not until I came to claim my coats and tried to tip $1 for 2 coats that he produced a sign that said $1 a coat. It was the only part of the evening where I would say I encountered a less than pleasant attitude. Maybe it adds to the authentic Soviet experience?

2
★★★★★

I wasn't sure what to expect. I thought it was a working class bar with some food on the side. I couldn't have been more wrong. You can wear jeans but you will be more comfortable in something more upscale. This would be a great place to dress to the 9s on a budget. The restaurant has bright and well-maintained crystal chandeliers, flocked wallpaper and heavy velvet drapes that tell you that you have traveled to somewhere beyond your backyard.
Our service was a delight. Olga was from Southern Russia and quite helpful. If you want to practice your Russian, I expect you could do it with any of the wait staff but Olga took time to try to understand our broken phrases. This is not a restaurant where you want to get in and get out quickly. Plan to spend the evening if you have the time. Olga was willing to get our orders in when we asked her, but in retrospect I wish we had taken our time. An hour and a half is not enough.
To get the real Russian experience you need to start with some Vodka. We tried a sampler. It is interesting to taste the many flavors. The food was all very good and reasonably priced ($13-20). Lots of starters and salads in the $3-8 range, but for the big spenders, there are the high-end caviars that goes into the stratosphere.
We were there on a Saturday night. One end of the dining room is a stage and dance floor. A male/female singing duo did a pop-eclectic montage for the first half hour. At about 8:00 they turned on the disco ball and all of the selections were in Russian. This would be a great place to sit, drink your Vodka, and dance into a cold winter night.
My only complaint would be the coat-check. It was not until I came to claim my coats and tried to tip $1 for 2 coats that he produced a sign that said $1 a coat. It was the only part of the evening where I would say I encountered a less than pleasant attitude. Maybe it adds to the authentic Soviet experience?

Pros: Mini Russia in Robbinsdale

Cons: Not so much

.

Group experience: AWFUL customer service!!!
Management can truly ruin a party if they want to. Watch your bill, as they will jack up prices if they want to...doubling the on-line menu price. I asked for the official price list and got the following response from the manager" These are guidelines, the price is what i say it is"...
We decided to celebrate a birthday party there - what a mistake!!!
We spent well over $500 on a party for about 15+ people and at the end they did not allow us to bring in a birthday cake for the celebration telling us they will charge an enormous fee for doing so on our bill. We did put the cake away, but I guess it wasn?t enough. Following this incident, the waiters rapidly collected all of our dining utensils and refused to serve us coffee or any other food, as this "will teach us a lesson"....They also gathered up all our food and cleared the table?.We had to leave....
I am stunned. I cannot believe this way of conducting business could be possible in USA. This is a true Soviet mentality...The owners certainly do not believe in customer satisfaction. If they continue on this path, i don't think they will last in the restaurant business. ?. And I am hoping someone will open a nice Russian restaurant with truly world-class customer service that would put St. Petersburg out of business.

Private Dining: Food is not so good!
The menu at St. Petersburg?s is boring, fish and steak dishes are better at upscale restaurants downtown/uptown Minneapolis. Authentic dishes are cafeteria style. Honestly, Kramarchiuk's deli could serve you a better authentic meal. Not worth it.

1
★★★☆☆

Group experience: AWFUL customer service!!!
Management can truly ruin a party if they want to. Watch your bill, as they will jack up prices if they want to...doubling the on-line menu price. I asked for the official price list and got the following response from the manager" These are guidelines, the price is what i say it is"...
We decided to celebrate a birthday party there - what a mistake!!!
We spent well over $500 on a party for about 15+ people and at the end they did not allow us to bring in a birthday cake for the celebration telling us they will charge an enormous fee for doing so on our bill. We did put the cake away, but I guess it wasn?t enough. Following this incident, the waiters rapidly collected all of our dining utensils and refused to serve us coffee or any other food, as this "will teach us a lesson"....They also gathered up all our food and cleared the table?.We had to leave....
I am stunned. I cannot believe this way of conducting business could be possible in USA. This is a true Soviet mentality...The owners certainly do not believe in customer satisfaction. If they continue on this path, i don't think they will last in the restaurant business. ?. And I am hoping someone will open a nice Russian restaurant with truly world-class customer service that would put St. Petersburg out of business.

Private Dining: Food is not so good!
The menu at St. Petersburg?s is boring, fish and steak dishes are better at upscale restaurants downtown/uptown Minneapolis. Authentic dishes are cafeteria style. Honestly, Kramarchiuk's deli could serve you a better authentic meal. Not worth it.

Pros: Parking

Cons: Service, Prices, Terrible Group Party experience

.

Food took over an hour after we had sat down. Elements of our meal were "forgotten" (the potatoes) and our entrees were cold. They don't even have most of the beers listed on their menu. My girlfriend's vodka martini was awful because the bartender had "run out" of one of the ingredients. No apologies from the staff/management.
I also tried booking a wedding event to no avail. It seems as though they are not interested in the business since they don't return calls, and when you do try to set something up-you never hear back from them.
I heard this used to be an extremely good restaurant, but I would recommend spending your money elsewhere.

1
★★★☆☆

Food took over an hour after we had sat down. Elements of our meal were "forgotten" (the potatoes) and our entrees were cold. They don't even have most of the beers listed on their menu. My girlfriend's vodka martini was awful because the bartender had "run out" of one of the ingredients. No apologies from the staff/management.
I also tried booking a wedding event to no avail. It seems as though they are not interested in the business since they don't return calls, and when you do try to set something up-you never hear back from them.
I heard this used to be an extremely good restaurant, but I would recommend spending your money elsewhere.

Pros: Ambience, parking

Cons: Poor service all around

.

The reservations I made for my party were forgotten, upon our arrival the waitress and owner had to scramble to put tables together. We sat at the table for an HOUR until our water was poured and menus were given. Our party witnessed a couple sitting next to us get up and leave 45 minutes after we arrived....they DIDN"T GET SERVED!! An hour and a half later, the food came out in waves, the person we were celebrating for that evening.....her order didn't even get entered.....she didn't get her food until 15 minutes after we done eating, no apologies! After giving her name to the waiter for the song request......THE MC SAID THE WRONG NAME!!! It was very embarrassing. As far as I'm concerned, the whole tab should have been comped, or at least a portion.... It was a horrible experience, I will NEVER go back!

1
★★☆☆☆

The reservations I made for my party were forgotten, upon our arrival the waitress and owner had to scramble to put tables together. We sat at the table for an HOUR until our water was poured and menus were given. Our party witnessed a couple sitting next to us get up and leave 45 minutes after we arrived....they DIDN"T GET SERVED!! An hour and a half later, the food came out in waves, the person we were celebrating for that evening.....her order didn't even get entered.....she didn't get her food until 15 minutes after we done eating, no apologies! After giving her name to the waiter for the song request......THE MC SAID THE WRONG NAME!!! It was very embarrassing. As far as I'm concerned, the whole tab should have been comped, or at least a portion.... It was a horrible experience, I will NEVER go back!

.

St. Petersburg is hands down one of my favorite places in the Twin Cities. My husband and I have visited St. Petersburg on several occassions while I've also enjoyed dinners with my girlfriends. Always top notch service and excellent, excellent food. It's a must if you haven't been there!

2
★★★★★

St. Petersburg is hands down one of my favorite places in the Twin Cities. My husband and I have visited St. Petersburg on several occassions while I've also enjoyed dinners with my girlfriends. Always top notch service and excellent, excellent food. It's a must if you haven't been there!

Pros: Everything is great!

.

5 of us had a ladies night out and chose St. Petersburg. We were there on a weekday afternoon, so it was quiet for us. The chef and staff seemed to be waiting for us though. We had a great time.
We ordered a variety of appetizers to share so we were able to sample quite a few different things.
Everything was wonderful! Our server was attentive and helpful with the menus, checked our needs regularly and made us feel very special.
I will go back, and I'll take more of my freinds.

2
★★★★★

5 of us had a ladies night out and chose St. Petersburg. We were there on a weekday afternoon, so it was quiet for us. The chef and staff seemed to be waiting for us though. We had a great time.
We ordered a variety of appetizers to share so we were able to sample quite a few different things.
Everything was wonderful! Our server was attentive and helpful with the menus, checked our needs regularly and made us feel very special.
I will go back, and I'll take more of my freinds.

Pros: Food, Service, Ambiance

Cons: none

.

From the outside it doesn't look like much - I didn't even want to go in at first, but we did and it was very classy. Out waiter was very good and friendly and helped with questions about the menu. It was a very fun atmosphere, there was live music (russian) and a dance floor, very classy but laid back and fun. The food was absolutely awesome, my boyfriend had the steak with vodka butter, and I'm not a meat eater but I could have ate the whole thing! I cant get over how good it was!

2
★★★★☆

From the outside it doesn't look like much - I didn't even want to go in at first, but we did and it was very classy. Out waiter was very good and friendly and helped with questions about the menu. It was a very fun atmosphere, there was live music (russian) and a dance floor, very classy but laid back and fun. The food was absolutely awesome, my boyfriend had the steak with vodka butter, and I'm not a meat eater but I could have ate the whole thing! I cant get over how good it was!

Pros: ambience, food

Cons: expensive, exterior

.

The decor inside the restaurant is quite beautiful. The foods are also excellent, and most are very affordable. Waiters are friendly. This is one of the places you should try to go to.

2
★★★★★

The decor inside the restaurant is quite beautiful. The foods are also excellent, and most are very affordable. Waiters are friendly. This is one of the places you should try to go to.

Pros: price, portions

.

My wife and I chose St. Petersburg for our wedding reception and we couldn't have made a better choice! We didn't want to spend too much money but still wanted the most important day in our lives to be beautiful. The food was great - my wife just loved the crepes with caviar! The place itself is just amazing - beautiful mirrors, curtains and paintings made the place feel very warm... Great service! We didn't have to worry about anything - all we had to do is show up. Our guests were happy and so were we! Oh, I forgot to mention that there was a live band which was awesome! My wife was planning "the big day" since she was a child and she said that this was her dream come true... We recommend it to everyone who is planning a wedding reception or just going out for dinner!

2
★★★★★

My wife and I chose St. Petersburg for our wedding reception and we couldn't have made a better choice! We didn't want to spend too much money but still wanted the most important day in our lives to be beautiful. The food was great - my wife just loved the crepes with caviar! The place itself is just amazing - beautiful mirrors, curtains and paintings made the place feel very warm... Great service! We didn't have to worry about anything - all we had to do is show up. Our guests were happy and so were we! Oh, I forgot to mention that there was a live band which was awesome! My wife was planning "the big day" since she was a child and she said that this was her dream come true... We recommend it to everyone who is planning a wedding reception or just going out for dinner!

Pros: exquisite service, free parking, reasonable pricing

.

I had a very pleasant experience at St. Petersburg. The food was original and tasted great. The service was very professional and upscale. I will definitely go back there and advise it to all my friends

2
★★★★★

I had a very pleasant experience at St. Petersburg. The food was original and tasted great. The service was very professional and upscale. I will definitely go back there and advise it to all my friends

Pros: free parking, vodka variety, original menu

.

I have been to St. Petersburg Restaurant a few times now and I have never been dissatisfied with food or service there. I have never had to wait for a table for more than a couple of minutes and the servers are always very attentive. Considering reasonable pricing, this is the best value out there. I will definitely keep bringing my friends and family to the restaurant and recommend it for wedding receptions or birthday parties. I hope you enjoy your visit to St. Petersburg Restaurant as much as I did!!!

Natalie

2
★★★★★

I have been to St. Petersburg Restaurant a few times now and I have never been dissatisfied with food or service there. I have never had to wait for a table for more than a couple of minutes and the servers are always very attentive. Considering reasonable pricing, this is the best value out there. I will definitely keep bringing my friends and family to the restaurant and recommend it for wedding receptions or birthday parties. I hope you enjoy your visit to St. Petersburg Restaurant as much as I did!!!

Natalie

Pros: Inexpensive, Good parking

.

Went there last night. The restuarant was not busy but the bar was lively. The food was top notch. The most flavorful dishes I've had in years from appetisers to deserts. the waiter was friendly and stopped to chat with guests. We took alomst three hours fo complete our diner and i never felt rushed or kept waiting. this is a very special place indeed. Downtown eating at a suburban location.

2
★★★★★

Went there last night. The restuarant was not busy but the bar was lively. The food was top notch. The most flavorful dishes I've had in years from appetisers to deserts. the waiter was friendly and stopped to chat with guests. We took alomst three hours fo complete our diner and i never felt rushed or kept waiting. this is a very special place indeed. Downtown eating at a suburban location.

Pros: Parking, food variety, Service

.

I love to visit this restaurant again and again. The food is great. The service is friendly and fast, and the drink selection is second to none. Very friendly, courteous staff...probably my favorite thing about the experience overall. The ambience is unique too...if you're lucky, you can catch a live vocalist act during the evening. I haven't tried the lunch menu, but I understand that it is very good. Large group friendly -- call ahead for great group service.

2
★★★★★

I love to visit this restaurant again and again. The food is great. The service is friendly and fast, and the drink selection is second to none. Very friendly, courteous staff...probably my favorite thing about the experience overall. The ambience is unique too...if you're lucky, you can catch a live vocalist act during the evening. I haven't tried the lunch menu, but I understand that it is very good. Large group friendly -- call ahead for great group service.

Pros: LOTS of free parking, Great service, Great vodka selection

.

The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was great. Will plan on going back. Reasonably priced

2
★★★★★

The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was great. Will plan on going back. Reasonably priced

Pros: quality of food, atmosphere, good service

Cons: smokey

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used St Petersburg, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review