Fantasia Salon/Spa-Wig Speclst

★★★☆☆
  • 2756 Douglas Dr N

    Minneapolis, MN 55422

    Map & Directions
  • 763-544-9126

About Fantasia Salon/Spa-Wig Speclst

Reservations
Make A Reservation
3.0 13
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Fantasia Salon/Spa-Wig Speclst was?
Write a Review
.

I have Alopecia Areata (an autoimmune hair loss disorder that randomly presents). When I was diagnosed I was in a rush to get a wig and Fantasia was close by so that is where I went. I had no previous knowledge of wigs so I was relying on Fantasia's supposed expertise. Looking back (a couple years later) I see how poor the experience was. They put me in a very expensive ($1500) wig that didn't even come close to fitting me properly. The technique they showed me to wash the wig is all wrong and will damage the wig if you continue wash it that way. AND the woman who styled my wig who was supposed to be an expert wig stylist did an AWFUL cut. I later took it to another stylist who said it looked like someone just starting beauty school cut it... Overall, I feel that I was taken advantage of at a time when I was vulnerable and looking for guidance and expertise. I have heard similar stories from other people in the Alopecia community. If you have Alopecia or are going through chemo I would recommend going to see Ted at The Hair Shoppe on Lyndale.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have Alopecia Areata (an autoimmune hair loss disorder that randomly presents). When I was diagnosed I was in a rush to get a wig and Fantasia was close by so that is where I went. I had no previous knowledge of wigs so I was relying on Fantasia's supposed expertise. Looking back (a couple years later) I see how poor the experience was. They put me in a very expensive ($1500) wig that didn't even come close to fitting me properly. The technique they showed me to wash the wig is all wrong and will damage the wig if you continue wash it that way. AND the woman who styled my wig who was supposed to be an expert wig stylist did an AWFUL cut. I later took it to another stylist who said it looked like someone just starting beauty school cut it... Overall, I feel that I was taken advantage of at a time when I was vulnerable and looking for guidance and expertise. I have heard similar stories from other people in the Alopecia community. If you have Alopecia or are going through chemo I would recommend going to see Ted at The Hair Shoppe on Lyndale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have Alopecia Areata (an autoimmune hair loss disorder that randomly presents). When I was diagnosed I was in a rush to get a wig and Fantasia was close by so that is where I went. I had no previous knowledge of wigs so I was relying on

3
★★★★★

I have Alopecia Areata (an autoimmune hair loss disorder that randomly presents). When I was diagnosed I was in a rush to get a wig and Fantasia was close by so that is where I went. I had no previous knowledge of wigs so I was relying on

.

Feb. 23, 2012.\r
I don't know how the reviews below could even be the same Fantasia Salon I went to.\r
I just wanted to let everyone know how wonderful Fantasia Salon is. Cheryl was so kind and helpful. I am dealing with lymphoma and

3
★★★★★

Feb. 23, 2012.\r
I don't know how the reviews below could even be the same Fantasia Salon I went to.\r
I just wanted to let everyone know how wonderful Fantasia Salon is. Cheryl was so kind and helpful. I am dealing with lymphoma and

.

I recently received a manicure / pedicure from a nail tech whose initials are MLR. It was the best mani / pedi I had ever received, and I have had many in my 70 years. She was polite, fun, and attentive. I am certainly going back to MLR and I have told many of my friends about her. Keep up the good work!

5
★★★★★

I recently received a manicure / pedicure from a nail tech whose initials are MLR. It was the best mani / pedi I had ever received, and I have had many in my 70 years. She was polite, fun, and attentive. I am certainly going back to MLR and I have told many of my friends about her. Keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I called fantasia recently when I was looking for a place to get my nails done. It was quite an ordeal to make the appointment. I spoke to a lady named Micki, it was very hard to hear anything she said! I thought it took a very long time to even get the appointment scheduled. I couldn't figure out if she really didn't know what she was doing or if she was too busy talking to other people while on the phone with me. When I arrived for my service the place itself was very cute and pretty easy to find. Unfortunately when I got there Micki was to busy doing something on the computer to get up or even look up at me when I came in, she also had on a very inapropriate outfit for a business. If I owned a business I would certainly not let my employees wear skirts that short, very poor taste. Once I got to my service with Becky it was great. She did an excellant job and we had quite pleasant conversation. I would definately recommend Becky to others, the only unfortunate part is getting past the receptionist. Don't let her stop you from trying Becky, you won't regret it!! Thanks again Becky

0
★☆☆☆☆

I called fantasia recently when I was looking for a place to get my nails done. It was quite an ordeal to make the appointment. I spoke to a lady named Micki, it was very hard to hear anything she said! I thought it took a very long time to even get the appointment scheduled. I couldn't figure out if she really didn't know what she was doing or if she was too busy talking to other people while on the phone with me. When I arrived for my service the place itself was very cute and pretty easy to find. Unfortunately when I got there Micki was to busy doing something on the computer to get up or even look up at me when I came in, she also had on a very inapropriate outfit for a business. If I owned a business I would certainly not let my employees wear skirts that short, very poor taste. Once I got to my service with Becky it was great. She did an excellant job and we had quite pleasant conversation. I would definately recommend Becky to others, the only unfortunate part is getting past the receptionist. Don't let her stop you from trying Becky, you won't regret it!! Thanks again Becky

Pros: Good Service By BECKY

Cons: The receptionist

.

Twila takes advantage of the clients going through chemo.
She over charges by far!!!!! Doesn't have anyone that knows how to cut the wig I bought. And she says she is a christian?

0
★☆☆☆☆

Twila takes advantage of the clients going through chemo.
She over charges by far!!!!! Doesn't have anyone that knows how to cut the wig I bought. And she says she is a christian?

Pros: NONE

Cons: NONE

.

Various family member have had haircuts, color, and styling at Fantasia for many years. Our family all love the care taken by the staff. Every one of the staff has been warm and friendly while thoroughly professional. Because I've move a lot over the years, I've tried other salons and am so glad now to be back at Fantasia! I recommend people stop in. You'll feel the caring atmosphere right away.

5
★★★★★

Various family member have had haircuts, color, and styling at Fantasia for many years. Our family all love the care taken by the staff. Every one of the staff has been warm and friendly while thoroughly professional. Because I've move a lot over the years, I've tried other salons and am so glad now to be back at Fantasia! I recommend people stop in. You'll feel the caring atmosphere right away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Fantasia Salon/SapWig service is tops. I have the misfortune of being diagnosed with breast cancer and am losing my hair to chemotherapy. I have tried a couple of different wig places to get assistance and i have to say that Fantasia is heads about (excuse the pun) the rest. I was treated with the utmost respect, privacy and dignity. The wigs are high quality. The staff is knowledgeable in the process of fitting wigs and dealing with the other things that chemo does to your skin. I felt I was infromed and empowered when i left. i came back in 2 weeks for the final head shave and wig fitting. they have the cuitest selection of hats and caps (subdued colors that i can wear to work) - all rather reasonably priced. i had a fiacial to help me relax after the buzz job and an impromptu makeup session where the staff showed me how to compensate without eyelashes and eyebrows. i would recommned this place to anyone. It is a caring and thoughtful group of women who want the best for their clientele.

5
★★★★★

Fantasia Salon/SapWig service is tops. I have the misfortune of being diagnosed with breast cancer and am losing my hair to chemotherapy. I have tried a couple of different wig places to get assistance and i have to say that Fantasia is heads about (excuse the pun) the rest. I was treated with the utmost respect, privacy and dignity. The wigs are high quality. The staff is knowledgeable in the process of fitting wigs and dealing with the other things that chemo does to your skin. I felt I was infromed and empowered when i left. i came back in 2 weeks for the final head shave and wig fitting. they have the cuitest selection of hats and caps (subdued colors that i can wear to work) - all rather reasonably priced. i had a fiacial to help me relax after the buzz job and an impromptu makeup session where the staff showed me how to compensate without eyelashes and eyebrows. i would recommned this place to anyone. It is a caring and thoughtful group of women who want the best for their clientele.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

46 years in business is no accident! A salon does not stay in business that long with out great customer service and credibility. There is no "bait and switch" at Fantasia such as a customer being led to believe their donated hair is going to Locks of Love and sending it to Wigs for Kids instead. Both organizations are similar in what they do and yet there is a distinct difference. When a client comes in to donate hair, the hair is sent to their organization of choice. If they ask what the difference is between the two organizations--they would be informed. Ultimately, it is the customer's choice as to which organization will receive their hair.

2
★★★★★

46 years in business is no accident! A salon does not stay in business that long with out great customer service and credibility. There is no "bait and switch" at Fantasia such as a customer being led to believe their donated hair is going to Locks of Love and sending it to Wigs for Kids instead. Both organizations are similar in what they do and yet there is a distinct difference. When a client comes in to donate hair, the hair is sent to their organization of choice. If they ask what the difference is between the two organizations--they would be informed. Ultimately, it is the customer's choice as to which organization will receive their hair.

.

I have been going to Fantasia for about a year. I have had great service from the front desk and receptionists I have also had wonderful manicures,pedicures and facials. But,Idon't know who these two ladies are that I always see there. They may or may not work there but one lady dresses in big and frumpy ponchos with obnoxious jewelery, make-up and hair. She looks obscene! Then there is another one that has skunk hair. She's petite but boy does she have a steady mean face! You don't want to cross that skunk in a dark alley! Never have I seen either one of these ladies smile instead they walk around with bad attitudes! I still like going to Fantasia...as long as I don't have to set eyes on those two characters! They obstruct my view!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I have been going to Fantasia for about a year. I have had great service from the front desk and receptionists I have also had wonderful manicures,pedicures and facials. But,Idon't know who these two ladies are that I always see there. They may or may not work there but one lady dresses in big and frumpy ponchos with obnoxious jewelery, make-up and hair. She looks obscene! Then there is another one that has skunk hair. She's petite but boy does she have a steady mean face! You don't want to cross that skunk in a dark alley! Never have I seen either one of these ladies smile instead they walk around with bad attitudes! I still like going to Fantasia...as long as I don't have to set eyes on those two characters! They obstruct my view!

.

I think Fantasia is a phony place! A friend was in Fantasia & overheard that the owner-Twila- is a fake! She lies to the Locks of Love donation clients! She tells them that she will send it to the organization but instead she gives it to Wigs for Kids! I was looking forward to going to Fantasia for wigs but after I heard of this type of behavior -- no thank you! Ms. Twila you should be ashamed of yourself!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I think Fantasia is a phony place! A friend was in Fantasia & overheard that the owner-Twila- is a fake! She lies to the Locks of Love donation clients! She tells them that she will send it to the organization but instead she gives it to Wigs for Kids! I was looking forward to going to Fantasia for wigs but after I heard of this type of behavior -- no thank you! Ms. Twila you should be ashamed of yourself!

.

Don't even bother. Customer service is something this salon DOES NOT have. On 09/04 I had a 9:00 am appointment for a cut and color. At 9:20 am I finally left the salon, why you ask, the stylist never showed up!

No one offered to have one of the other stylist cut/color my hair. The receptionist apologized and then would say this is so not like such and such. Something must have happened to her.

They were more concerned with the hair dresser missing than the fact that they screwed me out of a cut and color. No compensation was offered, only apologies, followed by a but this is unlike so and so.

Very rude. So my time off of work to get my hair cut and colored isn't worth anything. Waiting 20 minutes for someone to not show up and not get the services I had scheduled doesn't mater.

Very disrespectful of my time. Now I have to schedule another cut and color, not to mention the 40+ minutes out of my day they wasted. 20 minutes waiting at the salon and travel time to salon and home.

I would not recommend to anyone. Very disrespectful to clients.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Don't even bother. Customer service is something this salon DOES NOT have. On 09/04 I had a 9:00 am appointment for a cut and color. At 9:20 am I finally left the salon, why you ask, the stylist never showed up!

No one offered to have one of the other stylist cut/color my hair. The receptionist apologized and then would say this is so not like such and such. Something must have happened to her.

They were more concerned with the hair dresser missing than the fact that they screwed me out of a cut and color. No compensation was offered, only apologies, followed by a but this is unlike so and so.

Very rude. So my time off of work to get my hair cut and colored isn't worth anything. Waiting 20 minutes for someone to not show up and not get the services I had scheduled doesn't mater.

Very disrespectful of my time. Now I have to schedule another cut and color, not to mention the 40+ minutes out of my day they wasted. 20 minutes waiting at the salon and travel time to salon and home.

I would not recommend to anyone. Very disrespectful to clients.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Not entirely true... Megan we offered to compensate you for the inconvenience of this. You were leaving town and going to call upon your return. We never heard back from you. Our offer to make this right still stands. You may be interested to know that Britanny no longer works for Fantasia, she has been gone since September of 2007.
.

Don't even bother. Customer service is something this salon DOES NOT have. On 09/04 I had a 9:00 am appointment for a cut and color. At 9:20 am I finally left the salon, why you ask, the stylist never showed up!

No one offered to have one of the other stylist cut/color my hair. The receptionist apologized and then would say this is so not like such and such. Something must have happened to her.

They were more concerned with the hair dresser missing than the fact that they screwed me out of a cut and color. No compensation was offered, only apologies, followed by a but this is unlike so and so.

Very rude. So my time off of work to get my hair cut and colored isn't worth anything. Waiting 20 minutes for someone to not show up and not get the services I had scheduled doesn't mater.

Very disrespectful of my time. Now I have to schedule another cut and color, not to mention the 40+ minutes out of my day they wasted. 20 minutes waiting at the salon and travel time to salon and home.

I would not recommend to anyone. Very disrespectful to clients.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Don't even bother. Customer service is something this salon DOES NOT have. On 09/04 I had a 9:00 am appointment for a cut and color. At 9:20 am I finally left the salon, why you ask, the stylist never showed up!

No one offered to have one of the other stylist cut/color my hair. The receptionist apologized and then would say this is so not like such and such. Something must have happened to her.

They were more concerned with the hair dresser missing than the fact that they screwed me out of a cut and color. No compensation was offered, only apologies, followed by a but this is unlike so and so.

Very rude. So my time off of work to get my hair cut and colored isn't worth anything. Waiting 20 minutes for someone to not show up and not get the services I had scheduled doesn't mater.

Very disrespectful of my time. Now I have to schedule another cut and color, not to mention the 40+ minutes out of my day they wasted. 20 minutes waiting at the salon and travel time to salon and home.

I would not recommend to anyone. Very disrespectful to clients.

Pros: Very rude, not coustomer service

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Fantasia Salon/Spa-Wig Speclst, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review