Herkimer Pub and Brewery

★★★★☆
  • 2922 Lyndale Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55408

    Map & Directions
  • 612-821-0101

About Herkimer Pub and Brewery

Categories
Hours
Monday To Friday From 12:00 PM To 02:00 AM Saturday To Sunday From 10:00 AM To 02:00 AM
3.8 20
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Herkimer Pub and Brewery was?
Write a Review
.

I love this place!
Great Brew! Tasty Food! Cool Vibe!

3
★★★★★

I love this place!
Great Brew! Tasty Food! Cool Vibe!

.

The Herk is a great place to eat. The food is So good. The micro brews are great. The service is decent. It's reasonably priced and has great happy hour specials. They have a small sidewalk patio which is lovely in the summer!

3
★★★☆☆

The Herk is a great place to eat. The food is So good. The micro brews are great. The service is decent. It's reasonably priced and has great happy hour specials. They have a small sidewalk patio which is lovely in the summer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Herkimer is a great Brew Pub. The food is fresh and delicious. We had the green bean app., Haus salad, fish and chips and the tacos. This was our second time going there as we just moved to the area and were very pleased twice. Service was great.

2
★★★★★

Herkimer is a great Brew Pub. The food is fresh and delicious. We had the green bean app., Haus salad, fish and chips and the tacos. This was our second time going there as we just moved to the area and were very pleased twice. Service was great.

Pros: Service, food

.

My girlfriend and I go to the Herk at least twice each month for dinner, and probably another two times in a month just to have a beer and watch the game. We don't go for the food, because the food isn't that great. We don't go for the beer, because the beer isn't that great either. And we certainly don't go for the service, because the service is consistently awful. We go because we live a few blocks away, and we like to support the neighborhood.

Well, that changed last night. We decided on the Herk, because we wanted burgers, beer, and a place to watch the Twins game. The bartender (the doosh-bag with the sad blonde mohawk. Ooooh, yr so pseudo-punk and stuff) refused to serve us, because, in his words, "One of the waitresses thinks you've had a few too many already."

What?

1. My girlfriend had just gotten off work.
2. He was the first person we'd encountered in the bar.
3. We were ASKING FOR DINNER MENUS.
And, most importantly...
4. We simply hadn't been drinking...yet.

Understand that my GF and I were ready to plunk down at least $50-60 plus tip, if not more (the beer is overpriced, and the food isn't exactly cheap). We are very good tippers, especially at establishments we frequent a lot. And, again, we hadn't been drinking before we walked through the Herk's front door. What gives?

The staff at the Herk has always seemed like a group of stuck up, lazy doosh-bags, but last night pretty much sealed it. My GF and I have both worked in restaurants in the past, so we know laziness and outright doosh-baggery when we see it, and we see it at the Herkimer A LOT.

Good riddance. We went to Figlio's instead. They have a better special on Tuesday nights anyway. We would have gone there in the first place, but it's further away.

To sum up: Avoid the Herk. Doosh-bags work there. The food kinda bl0ws, and the beer is overpriced. Thanks for your time.

0
★☆☆☆☆

My girlfriend and I go to the Herk at least twice each month for dinner, and probably another two times in a month just to have a beer and watch the game. We don't go for the food, because the food isn't that great. We don't go for the beer, because the beer isn't that great either. And we certainly don't go for the service, because the service is consistently awful. We go because we live a few blocks away, and we like to support the neighborhood.

Well, that changed last night. We decided on the Herk, because we wanted burgers, beer, and a place to watch the Twins game. The bartender (the doosh-bag with the sad blonde mohawk. Ooooh, yr so pseudo-punk and stuff) refused to serve us, because, in his words, "One of the waitresses thinks you've had a few too many already."

What?

1. My girlfriend had just gotten off work.
2. He was the first person we'd encountered in the bar.
3. We were ASKING FOR DINNER MENUS.
And, most importantly...
4. We simply hadn't been drinking...yet.

Understand that my GF and I were ready to plunk down at least $50-60 plus tip, if not more (the beer is overpriced, and the food isn't exactly cheap). We are very good tippers, especially at establishments we frequent a lot. And, again, we hadn't been drinking before we walked through the Herk's front door. What gives?

The staff at the Herk has always seemed like a group of stuck up, lazy doosh-bags, but last night pretty much sealed it. My GF and I have both worked in restaurants in the past, so we know laziness and outright doosh-baggery when we see it, and we see it at the Herkimer A LOT.

Good riddance. We went to Figlio's instead. They have a better special on Tuesday nights anyway. We would have gone there in the first place, but it's further away.

To sum up: Avoid the Herk. Doosh-bags work there. The food kinda bl0ws, and the beer is overpriced. Thanks for your time.

Pros: Close.

Cons: Staff.

.

This place is great and has one of the best burgers around and great fries too. If you are a Packer fan planning on watching a game there, you have to get there a couple hours before a game to insure a spot with a decent view of a TV. I'd say a couple more TVs are called for in order to be considered a real Packer Bar. You know all of us Packer fans need to have a good view of our beloved Favre working his magic!

2
★★★★☆

This place is great and has one of the best burgers around and great fries too. If you are a Packer fan planning on watching a game there, you have to get there a couple hours before a game to insure a spot with a decent view of a TV. I'd say a couple more TVs are called for in order to be considered a real Packer Bar. You know all of us Packer fans need to have a good view of our beloved Favre working his magic!

Pros: Burgers, brats, fries, beer, Packer fans

Cons: views of TV's, parking

.

This place has the best beer I have had. while I will drink almost any kind of beer, the Herkimer beer selection is the top. This is not you average "Macro Beer" it has flavor and color. the food has been good enough to great every time I have been there. Enjoy!

2
★★★★★

This place has the best beer I have had. while I will drink almost any kind of beer, the Herkimer beer selection is the top. This is not you average "Macro Beer" it has flavor and color. the food has been good enough to great every time I have been there. Enjoy!

Pros: BEER, food, Juke Box

Cons: Parking

.

The Herk always has a number of different brews and ales to choose from, and I haven't had one I didn't like. I also haven't had a meal there that I didn't like--from a basic sandwich to surf and turf. I recommend the Herkimer for their beers, but it's also great for lunch or dinner too.

2
★★★★☆

The Herk always has a number of different brews and ales to choose from, and I haven't had one I didn't like. I also haven't had a meal there that I didn't like--from a basic sandwich to surf and turf. I recommend the Herkimer for their beers, but it's also great for lunch or dinner too.

Pros: beer, food, never too crowded

Cons: parking is limited

.

Ive been to this place twice to eat with friends. The first time we alright. Service was slow, but the food was satisfactory. The second time I walked out before ordering food. The place had three tables filled (including ours), however the waitress spent more time flirting with the bartender than helping her customers. After we got our glasses of water to start, we were ready to order food. After waiting nearly 30 minutes, and eventually asking the bartender for our own drinks, to which we were scoffed at, we decided to leave.

1
★★★☆☆

Ive been to this place twice to eat with friends. The first time we alright. Service was slow, but the food was satisfactory. The second time I walked out before ordering food. The place had three tables filled (including ours), however the waitress spent more time flirting with the bartender than helping her customers. After we got our glasses of water to start, we were ready to order food. After waiting nearly 30 minutes, and eventually asking the bartender for our own drinks, to which we were scoffed at, we decided to leave.

Cons: Poor service

.

Dive bar (which I sometimes like)! They brew their own beer- It was only okay. They didnt have redbull, what they had was some substitution energy drink & it was awful! Service was terrible- he acted like he was way too good to be serving us- and then he refused to split our bill (between 5 people) and had the nerve to roll his eyes when we wanted change. The only good thing I can think of is they have a lot of outdoor seating.

1
★★☆☆☆

Dive bar (which I sometimes like)! They brew their own beer- It was only okay. They didnt have redbull, what they had was some substitution energy drink & it was awful! Service was terrible- he acted like he was way too good to be serving us- and then he refused to split our bill (between 5 people) and had the nerve to roll his eyes when we wanted change. The only good thing I can think of is they have a lot of outdoor seating.

Pros: Outdoor Seating

Cons: Service

.

Great place! Cool, hip, yet still has class. The food is fantastic. One of the only places in town that will do your burger as rare as you like.

2
★★★★★

Great place! Cool, hip, yet still has class. The food is fantastic. One of the only places in town that will do your burger as rare as you like.

.

I can't get enough of this place! The food is incredible, the bartender said they change the menu seasonally, he also said they have at least 5-6 taps going at all times now. I think the best part of this brewery was the fact that it is SO obvious that THIS is the neighborhood place TO BE! I've lived in Lyn-Lake for close to 5 months now - and I saw practically everyone from my street at one point or another that night!! It's got such a great vibe and the service is great! I got the impression that the Herkimer has the kind of staff that IS friends with alot of their tables - simply from almost everyone there being a "regular". Me and my friend's are sure going to add ourselves to the "regulars" list at the Herkimer - I'm also excited about joining shuffleboard league.

2
★★★★★

I can't get enough of this place! The food is incredible, the bartender said they change the menu seasonally, he also said they have at least 5-6 taps going at all times now. I think the best part of this brewery was the fact that it is SO obvious that THIS is the neighborhood place TO BE! I've lived in Lyn-Lake for close to 5 months now - and I saw practically everyone from my street at one point or another that night!! It's got such a great vibe and the service is great! I got the impression that the Herkimer has the kind of staff that IS friends with alot of their tables - simply from almost everyone there being a "regular". Me and my friend's are sure going to add ourselves to the "regulars" list at the Herkimer - I'm also excited about joining shuffleboard league.

Pros: great sidewalk patio, great food, great German beer

Cons: wish it was bigger

.

Herkimer Pub & Brewery is a great spot to grab a burger and a beer. They have a great selection of Handcrafted beers which are delicious and go wonderfully with their food. Everything I have tried on their menu is top notch but you can't go wrong with any one of their burgers. They also have a sweet jukebox to select some dining music and an outdoor patio for nice days.

4
★★★★☆

Herkimer Pub & Brewery is a great spot to grab a burger and a beer. They have a great selection of Handcrafted beers which are delicious and go wonderfully with their food. Everything I have tried on their menu is top notch but you can't go wrong with any one of their burgers. They also have a sweet jukebox to select some dining music and an outdoor patio for nice days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I live near the Herkimer, and if I'm entertaining polite company I have on reservation about asking them to meet me there. Some things about the place suggest casual atmosphere, mostly the patronage (and an exceptionally excellent jukebox selection), but the food is very elaborate with complex, exotic ingredients and innovative design. Very tasty, a little pricey but actually worth it. They mix decent drinks, if memory serves, and they're accustomed to hosting moderately large groups of people. I have no interest watching the sports on TV, and sometimes the other people annoy me, but the waitstaff are generally very hot so... life's a series of tradeoffs, isn't it. But the salient feature to this place is that it's a microbrewery: a large glass room in the dining area houses five huge metal vats in which are brewing a selection of beers you can order right then and there! That part just trips me out. The beers change with the seasons, but the five brews they make always range from light to dark, the better to catch every palate. If you're a fan of well-crafted beer, you have to check this place out, you cannot miss out on this treat. As good as the food is, it may arguably only serve to complement the beer.

PROS: Jukebox features excellent alternative rock and classics. Great bathroom!
CONS: Frequently crowded with hipsters, a few lonely old men.

4
★★★★☆

I live near the Herkimer, and if I'm entertaining polite company I have on reservation about asking them to meet me there. Some things about the place suggest casual atmosphere, mostly the patronage (and an exceptionally excellent jukebox selection), but the food is very elaborate with complex, exotic ingredients and innovative design. Very tasty, a little pricey but actually worth it. They mix decent drinks, if memory serves, and they're accustomed to hosting moderately large groups of people. I have no interest watching the sports on TV, and sometimes the other people annoy me, but the waitstaff are generally very hot so... life's a series of tradeoffs, isn't it. But the salient feature to this place is that it's a microbrewery: a large glass room in the dining area houses five huge metal vats in which are brewing a selection of beers you can order right then and there! That part just trips me out. The beers change with the seasons, but the five brews they make always range from light to dark, the better to catch every palate. If you're a fan of well-crafted beer, you have to check this place out, you cannot miss out on this treat. As good as the food is, it may arguably only serve to complement the beer.

PROS: Jukebox features excellent alternative rock and classics. Great bathroom!
CONS: Frequently crowded with hipsters, a few lonely old men.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

McDonald's like french fries except always fresh and hot, perfectly cooked, crispy yet not overcooked, served with a chipotle aioli! You will LOVE them!

2
★★★★★

McDonald's like french fries except always fresh and hot, perfectly cooked, crispy yet not overcooked, served with a chipotle aioli! You will LOVE them!

.

Talk about value. Reasonably priced food, great beer, and a nice atmosphere. They've got a new menu that is a big improvement over the old menu - and I thought that was excellent too. The steaks are good, the sandwiches are very unique (portabella philly) and the pastas are excellent (plum chipotle pasta is my favorite). The new baked brie is worthy of fine dining establishments. And the tuna steak with wasabi mashed potatoes is to die for.

The desserts are also good, but be prepared to wait - they sometimes have a problem making desserts a priority.

PS - For the guys who panned the "cloudy" beer, check out true German beer (that would be from Germany), not corporate American brew pubs. Dave, the brewmaster, will be happy to give you a lesson. If you want filtered beer, ask your server. There are options.

2
★★★★★

Talk about value. Reasonably priced food, great beer, and a nice atmosphere. They've got a new menu that is a big improvement over the old menu - and I thought that was excellent too. The steaks are good, the sandwiches are very unique (portabella philly) and the pastas are excellent (plum chipotle pasta is my favorite). The new baked brie is worthy of fine dining establishments. And the tuna steak with wasabi mashed potatoes is to die for.

The desserts are also good, but be prepared to wait - they sometimes have a problem making desserts a priority.

PS - For the guys who panned the "cloudy" beer, check out true German beer (that would be from Germany), not corporate American brew pubs. Dave, the brewmaster, will be happy to give you a lesson. If you want filtered beer, ask your server. There are options.

Pros: inexpensive, great location, cheap valet parking

Cons: crowded on weekends, no good area to stand

.

the beer is for the most part vary good. I need to remind people this is not bud light so if you can't handle it go to the 'burbs. my suggesten is try the amber and dark beers, such as the Märzen or the Vienia, and the Schwertz, the lager is ok esp. if you are into straight up amarican beer the kölsch is great too. don't try the weise beer, yuk! other then that the food is great, the staff is great for the most part, the managment leaves a little to be desired though, vary rude and crude esp the young girl, not friendly at all, no biusness sence at all.
cheers
form the shadows

2
★★★★★

the beer is for the most part vary good. I need to remind people this is not bud light so if you can't handle it go to the 'burbs. my suggesten is try the amber and dark beers, such as the Märzen or the Vienia, and the Schwertz, the lager is ok esp. if you are into straight up amarican beer the kölsch is great too. don't try the weise beer, yuk! other then that the food is great, the staff is great for the most part, the managment leaves a little to be desired though, vary rude and crude esp the young girl, not friendly at all, no biusness sence at all.
cheers
form the shadows

Pros: tina, beer, jut box

Cons: parking, management, yup-sters

.

I like the Herkimer. Theres always a nice crowd in there, cheap happy hour eats (try the spinach dip - its very good) and reasonable beer. I'm no beer expert but i think the other reviews on this site were a bit harsh. The beer is just fine. Its a great place to go on happy hour.

2
★★★★☆

I like the Herkimer. Theres always a nice crowd in there, cheap happy hour eats (try the spinach dip - its very good) and reasonable beer. I'm no beer expert but i think the other reviews on this site were a bit harsh. The beer is just fine. Its a great place to go on happy hour.

Pros: good location, good happy hour

.

I went here this summer with a sandwich-loving friend. We had the Metropolis (shredded chicken with enchilada sauce) and the El Puerco (pulled pork of some sort). Both were huge and very tasty. The beer selection confused my friend, who could not, even with help from the waitress, figure out what they had on tap that night. I opted for root beer and that was the best decision of the night. We two in our late 30s felt a bit out of place here, but the sandwiches were worth the drive.

1
★★★☆☆

I went here this summer with a sandwich-loving friend. We had the Metropolis (shredded chicken with enchilada sauce) and the El Puerco (pulled pork of some sort). Both were huge and very tasty. The beer selection confused my friend, who could not, even with help from the waitress, figure out what they had on tap that night. I opted for root beer and that was the best decision of the night. We two in our late 30s felt a bit out of place here, but the sandwiches were worth the drive.

Pros: Big Portions

Cons: Limited Parking

.

Beer this bad must come from rusty water taps!

But, the location seems to pull'm in. I like that 'burb place for beer/ales made right - Sherlock out in the western burbs.

Maybe new management could kick this place in the right direction...who knows....

Til then...... rusty tap water to blame huh...

1
★★☆☆☆

Beer this bad must come from rusty water taps!

But, the location seems to pull'm in. I like that 'burb place for beer/ales made right - Sherlock out in the western burbs.

Maybe new management could kick this place in the right direction...who knows....

Til then...... rusty tap water to blame huh...

Pros: location

Cons: beer, beer

.

I've visited hundreds of brewpubs across the US. The Herkimer easily produces and sells(!) the worst beer I've ever tasted.

I'm not sure you can even call it beer. If you've ever homebrewed yourself, the Herk beer is similar to what is produced after initial fermentation--cloudy, unrefined and uncarbonated. You'll also get a nice headache caused by the yeast floating through the beer...lovely. If you enjoy real beer, stay away from the Herkimer until they learn some basic homebrewing techniques.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I've visited hundreds of brewpubs across the US. The Herkimer easily produces and sells(!) the worst beer I've ever tasted.

I'm not sure you can even call it beer. If you've ever homebrewed yourself, the Herk beer is similar to what is produced after initial fermentation--cloudy, unrefined and uncarbonated. You'll also get a nice headache caused by the yeast floating through the beer...lovely. If you enjoy real beer, stay away from the Herkimer until they learn some basic homebrewing techniques.

Pros: Nice location

Cons: Horrible beer

Message from Herkimer Pub and Brewery

Awarded ??Best Fries? & ??Best Burger? by City Pages; Best Jukebox by City Pages 2012; Best Happy Hour by City Pages and CBS/WCCO ?? 2012

More about Herkimer Pub and Brewery

Daily Happy Hour 3pm??6pm; Late Night Happy Hour 10pm??1am; Weekend Brunch Sat & Sun 10am??3pm; Shuffleboard & Bean Bag League; Annual Bockfest & Oktoberfest Celebrations

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Herkimer Pub and Brewery, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review